G4S has agreed to pay a minimum wage of $8.79 per hour, with a minimum of 40 hours per week. As part of the agreement, it seems that the Government must force their competitors to adopt a similar standard. It is important when setting government policies, that all perspectives be examined.

It is normal for large businesses to want to maintain their dominant market position. This is done in two ways; namely, offer better service, or damage competitors.

Those who choose the method of offering a better service, tend to view obstacles to their growth as challenges to overcome. They tend not to concern themselves with their competition. Instead, they focus on continually improving their quality of their service, by improving the management of: competent staff, quality input materials, and quality and low-maintenance equipment.

ARTIFICIAL STANDARDS.

One common method that dominant players use to harm their competitors, is to adopt an artificial standard, that has little to do with the quality of the service. Then they influence the government to make that standard mandatory for their competitors.

A minimum wage is an artificial standard. It has nothing to do with the quality of service. Paying someone a higher salary does not magically improve that person’s competence or productivity.

Established companies who compete on quality, normally reward their productive employees with higher salaries. Therefore, a minimum wage is not an issue for them. A minimum wage is an important issue for many newer companies, who have to compete on cost.

A dominant company can harm newer companies, if they can entice them to match the salaries of the dominant company. But new companies are not normally that stupid. They would never agree to such madness that would immediately make their companies uncompetitive.

Uncompetitive businesses normally accumulate high debts. This then leads to the closure of the business, and the dismissal of all employees – who then earn no wages whatsoever.

When the government meddles unnecessarily in the commercial market, the results are normally disastrous for everyone – employees, employers and the Government. A high minimum wage is a win for the dominant business, and the unions who represent entry level employees. It can be political abuse for everyone else.

POLITICAL ABUSE.

Entry level positions are not designed to be permanent for an employee. They are designed to give all employees an opportunity to demonstrate their competence and productivity, so that they can earn a higher salary.

Employees who have qualified for a higher salary, but are underpaid, are being robbed by bad employers. Unlike our physically enslaved fore-parents, we have options. Good employees can leave bad employers and offer their services to a competitor, or they can start a rival business.

Employees demonstrate their mental enslavement, when they stop trying to be better. In my opinion, one of the most tragic sights, is to see a person comfortable in an entry-level position for their entire careers – and being lauded as a loyal employee.

High minimum wages allow bad employers, to keep employees in entry level positions for longer periods. It can also make employees comfortably mentally enslaved. So what is the solution?

THE SOLUTION.

Government may mandate a minimum wage with the following attributes:

a) it it high enough to prevent mentally enslaved workers from being exploited;

b) it is low enough to allow new businesses to be competitive;

c) it is low enough to give entry level workers an incentive to qualify for higher-paying positions.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

179 responses to “Grenville Phillips Speaks : Difficult Conversations – Barbados’ Minimum Wage”

1. @enuff

The blogmaster listened to Lisa Cummins in the Senate and was interested in legislation promised to make beneficial owners of companies expose themselves. Long overdue.

Is a pity it has to be forced on us!

2. Keep avoiding the situation in Barbados and believe that ignoring it will make it go away, make everything about the US, at least they got food pantries, and with all my ramblings ya should ask yaselves why am always the one laughing at outcomes..if people haven’t been running from lack of opportunities in Barbados for decades, yourself incluced, your nonargument may hold some water, but as things stand, you are lost, cause yall always forget the mention why you left the island, if things were all sunshine and roses…and why did you stay in other countries, is it because ya don’t want anyone to know that ya are another escapee from that viper’s nest.

3. @ Carson C Cadogan December 18, 2020 10:35 AM

CCC sounds like Idi Amin. He proves once again that he is a disciple of the economics illiterate Barrow.

It is not the prices that are too high in Barbados, but the Barbados dollar that is overvalued. The fact is that GDP per capita is currently at mid-African levels in Barbados. The population was not able to build up any industry besides tourism. We need a currency devaluation of at least 50 percent to bring back in line the low productivity of our locals and the currency as a reflection of the local economy.

Had Barrow not decided on a currency peg of 1:2 in the 1970s after a night of rum with the then central bank chief and economy minister, we would have been spared much suffering.

4. WW
    Ramble ramble ramble

You is who made thing about the USA and now wanta switch it on me

I would like the minimum wages workers to get as much as their can
    But go back to my first statement
    There are pro and con and must be done in a balance way

As for me in the USA
    I tell that story in pieces here on bu already
    I was bought here in my early teen
    So again you are rambling and don’t know what you talking about

5. Why you suggested putting the minimum wage in Barbados at $15 if wasnt copying those states? Why not $20 or 30 or 100?

Isn’t it because you know that 100 is too high and would cost an economic mess?

6. Any minimum wage will destroy the local economy. First we need devaluation down to 1:4 then we can talk about a minimum wage of 10 BBD.

7. nextparty246 December 18, 2020 4:03 PM

“Let me agree with Donna, who noted:”

“If I had to work at an entry level job, I would determine to do so for as short a time as is possible. I would do a side gig that utilises my real talents with a view to making it my own fulltime endeavour or acquire some skills to enable me to move onward and upward.”

@ nextparty246

That’s your opinion and Donna’s as well, which I respect. But, because some people may think otherwise, does not necessarily mean you’re correct and they’re incorrect, vice versa. It’s just a matter of your opinion.

The hotel industry would make an interesting case study in respect of entry level jobs. I worked in the Human Resources Department of a ‘five star’ hotel group, where I saw guys, for example, who were promoted from Pool & Beach Maintenance to Bellman, to Concierge, to Front Office Clerk, to Accounts Receivable Clerk. And, ironically, all those positions are entry level. There was one guy in particular, who went on lay-off from Pool & Beach and subsequently established his own pool maintenance business.

Additionally, you would come across situations where some men and women made a career out of being a waiter or waitress, having worked at several hotels in those positions and never aspiring to become Supervisor, Maître D’, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager or Food & Beverage Manager. They supplement their incomes by working at wedding receptions, functions, sporting events, staff and private parties.
    On the other hand, a school mate of mine worked at Sandy Lane Hotel as a Barman, went to the then ‘Hotel School’ at BCC, to ‘further his education’ and was subsequently promoted to Bar Manager.

You and Donna may want to ask what motivated those people to remain in entry level jobs for several years. Some people believe moving from a hotel such as Cobbler’s Cove to Sandy Lane Hotel or Fairmont Royal Pavillion or a private house is an achievement.
    The wages and service charge rates at a ‘five star or five diamond’ hotel are higher than rates at Group A or B hotels. Supposed a waiter’s/waitress’ wages is $500 per week, with 10 service charge points. Let’s assume, for example. service charge for a particular week paid $45 per point. This means their wages for that week, would be $500 + $450 ($45 x 10 points) = $950. You could imagine what his/her ‘pay pack’ would look like if they worked Christmas Day, Christmas Bank Holiday, Old Year’s night and New Year’s, when the service charge rate is at its highest.
    When I was in the industry during the mid 1990s, the wages for the Butler at the private house that was owned by the hotels I worked for, was $1,200 per week, plus service charge.

I’ll give you another example. There’s a guy I know, who began his career in the hotel industry as a Bellman at Paradise Beach Hotel. He moved on from there to work at a ‘5 star’ hotel in a similar position, where he spent the past 25 years. In addition to his wages and service charge, he receives ‘tips’ from guests when he takes their luggage to and from their rooms, delivers messages and any chore that is asked of him. He operated a small bar in Bridgetown and was able to ‘throw’ $400 per week to a ‘meeting.’ I remember, in 2018, his ‘meeting turn’ was $11,000.

8. @ Enuff

Thanks for the clarification.

9. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Tron

I know you are here to promote the interest of and enhance the GRIP of WHITE Barbados. Nothing you say is of any value or interest to BLACK PEOPLE. WHITE BARBADOS IS OF PRIMARY MERIT TO YOU. Your only concern is to maintain the stranglehold of WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS ON BLACK PEOPLE.

I only the other hand am interested in uplifting BLACK BARBADOS.

10. “I only the other hand am interested in uplifting BLACK BARBADOS.”

You wrote you’re “interested in uplifting Black Barbados,” because white Bajans and Indians have maintained a stranglehold on Black people.

What puzzles me is the fact that for the past few months, no matter what topic is posted to BU for discussion, all your contributions concentrates specifically on what you call ‘3% white Bajans and Indian population’ having a controlling interest in Barbados for a number of years.

Bear in mind, this “stranglehold” would have been facilitated by successive BLP and DLP administrations.

If you’re so interested in “uplifting Black Barbados,” why did you REMAINED SILENT on the issue, from January 15, 2008 to May 24, 2018, only to SUDDENLY RESURFACE on BU shouting ‘Black power’ and showing false concern for Black Barbadians?

What were you interested in UPLIFTING during that 10 year, 4 month period?

Or, is it that you become CONCERNED about this so called “stranglehold” you referred to, ONLY when the BLP is ‘in power?’

My friend, are you a FRAUD and a HYPOCRITE, whose interest in Black people wanes and resurfaces according to which political party is ‘in office?’

11. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

I just WASTED two seconds of my life reading your drivel.

12. You’ve been WASTING even much more time of your life posting NONSENSE to BU all day long.

But, yuh got to admit the drivel is TRUE.

13. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Life is TOO IMPORTANT to waste time on OREOS.

14. Artax,

I was specifically speaking about those who are claiming exploitation. I believe I said that if one is satified then there is no worry. I also said that one can also supplement one’s income or use one’s talents to set up a business.

But one cannot expect to raise five children from birth to adulthood single-handedly on entry level wages.

15. WOW!! I guess your life must be pathetic, because you wasted 2 MORE seconds of it reading my response.

You were NOTICEABLY ABSENT from BU for over 10 years and suddenly RESURFACED showing some sort of concern for Black Barbadians.

Therefore, in the interest of clarity, all I did was to ask you a few simple questions.

If you’re so INTERESTED in “uplifting Black Barbados,” why did you GO INTO HIDING and REMAINED SILENT on the issue between January 15, 2008 and May 24, 2018?

Didn’t Black Barbados need uplifting during that 10 year, 4 month period?

Would it be unreasonable for anyone to assume you were an OREO during the time you remained silent?

How comes your CONCERN for Black Barbadians WANES and RESURFACES according to which political party is ‘in power?’

16. ARTAX

Get lost.

Shoo!!!!

17. There yuh go……….. wasting another 2 seconds of your pathetic life reading my drivel.

Hahahahaha!!!

18. Do only Indians do these things?????

Artax,

I get the sense that something is not quite right with this individual.

But don’t worry! Everybody who reads newspapers knows Triple C and where he is coming from. They will take his posts with a bucket of salt.

He is famous!

19. You wanted me to take notice of you????

Ok, I have notice your useless comments.

Feel better now?????

20. While you’re PRETENDING to be interesting in “uplifting Black Barbados” and focusing on what’s happening in India, here’s what’s been happening in Nigeria.

“Some 337 students are still unaccounted for after gunmen attacked a school in northern Nigeria over the weekend, a government official told CNN on Monday.”

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/12/14/africa/nigeria-school-kidnapping-337-missing-intl/index.html

“Boko Haram kidnaps 330 boys: ‘No child should have to choose between their education and their life’.”

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/world/2020/12/16/boko-haram-kidnaps-330-boys-nigeria-outcry-uses-bringbackourboys/3919404001/

And, not one word from you on those developments.

How about discussing the “Rwanda genocide: 100 days of slaughter?”

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-26875506

21. @ Donna

I hate hypocrisy. We have this character who was noticeably absent from BU for over 10 years, only to now resurface to ‘talk’ about “uplifting Black Barbados,” since the BLP is the ruling political administration.

Perhaps Black Barbadians were not a PRIORITY for him during the tenure of the former DLP administration.

I posted three (3) articles for his perusal. Unfortunately, they are “awaiting moderation.”

@ David BU

Your assistance with a contribution, please.

22. Christmas is just 7 days away. Up till now the displaced WORKERS OF BARBADOS have not been PAID their monies that they are legally entitled to.

But their former employers are spending money so that themselves and their families can enjoy A WHITE AND MERRY CHRISTMAS.

23. CCC

Have you offered$ to uplift at least one of those black family that are in need?

24. Offered to pay a light bill?

25. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

John2

Let their former employers set the example.

26. @ Carson

Are you a fraud. Is fraudulence a criminal offence in Barbados? Bullying is an addiction, the perpetrator must find a victim.

27. What is bullying exactly? Pointing out hypocrisy?

This Triple C may have left BU for ten years but he was all over the Nation and BT online comments and ALWAYS in defence of the DLP.

Now he resurfaces on BU to spend his days whining about poor black people as though they did not exist before May 25th, 2019.

Neither the DLP nor the BLP has done enough to move things along with respect to social justice.

But people like CCC have no credibility and therefore can not advance the cause. The average person will not trust what he says even when he has a point.

28. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Oh my!!!!!!

The worst thing one can do is to speak on the behalf on BLACK PEOPLE. Other BLACK PEOPLE WILL HATE YOU. For them BLACK PEOPLE must always be at the bottom of the social, financial, and societal ladder as long as they live. They must not seek to better their position in life. They must always be hewers of wood and drawers of water.

That is why so many of them are in the unfortunate position the they find themselves today. Unfortunate indeed where thy are penniless while they watch in desperation at others while they are jobless, with children to feed, bills to pay, some have lost their homes. Their former employers with MILLIONS AND MILLIONS OF DOLLARS they have made over the yeas refuses to pay them. Thus breaking the law, but not enough is being done. Tghe Barbados Trade Union movement who they have put their trust in, has badly let them down. They have to take the the side of the road to vent their frustrations. Not that you all care.

That is why the other races treat them like something they scrapped off their shoes. They can do that because they know that the other BLACK PEPEOLE don’t give a damn. They will soon forget about this and carry on with their sorry lives.

We are 7 days from Christmas and they have not been paid monies legally theirs, but who cares, no one ,they are dispensable.

29. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Black people must never ever seek a bigger slice of the pie. They must be always at the bottom of the Totem pole. That is the way some Black people see it.

https://twitter.com/SheriVeronica/status/1339182664373440514/photo/1

30. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Is the Govt going to make the returns from the Treasury that was promised to be made before Christmas????? Or is this another fair promise?????

31. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

There is a problem with chickens here in Barbados. but chickens are being sold by the thousands.

Should not production be halted in the face of an unknown ailment????

Or just carry smartly???

32. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

should be “on” on line 3

33. CCC

The white look after the whites
    The Indians look after the Indians

Can’t we look after one of our brother/sister for the season?

34. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Of course we can, but former employers have to set the example. No letting them off the hook.

35. Why you don’t tell BU about the constituency council you were part of, the credit union and the unfinished building in six roads?

36. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Everybody is on your case. You dont want me too.

37. I read today where Caswell chastise govt for handing out awards but not paying enough attention to creating an environment for people to get jobs

38. Have our birds been spinning around in circles and bleeding from the nostrils like the swans in the UK? Did we not halt the importation of broilers etc. and poultry from the UK?

Is this not what we always do when there are outbreaks of diseases in livestock in other countries?

Nothing has changed in this respect since May 24th, 2018.

You are beginning to sound like a damn looney!

39. CCC

I not saying that the employees are not to pay the ex workers what is due to them

But as you can see it don’t seem like they get anything before Xmas

It up to us to be our brothers keeper

Your words without deed …………

40. O white or Indians ain’t to set to example to no blacks

Yes they have to pay them what is due to then

It is us to look after one another

Try and go and give someone a hamper

41. Hamper and envelope

42. Donna December 19, 2020 5:20 PM #: “What is bullying exactly? Pointing out hypocrisy?”

Could you please explain?

RE: “But people like CCC have no credibility and therefore can not advance the cause. The average person will not trust what he says even when he has a point.”

I agree with you 100%.

I’m sure you remember when employees of Beautify Barbados were retrenched in 2014 and had to wait over three (3) years before being paid their severance payments that was “legally theirs.”

During that period CCC was not interested in how many days it was before Christmas and that they were “not paid monies legally theirs.” He did not care, because “they were dispensable.”

This same CCC did not utter one word in defense of those former NCC employees who, after having their case heard by the Employee Rights Tribunal, were awarded less severance pay than they were due.

Instead, he was more interested going on BU and other social media platforms to defend the Democratic Labour Party’s actions, while cussing Mia Mottley and the BLP.

But, it seems as though some people believe coming to BU on a daily basis, to see who could shout Black people and Africa the loudest, are more Black than anyone else and are advancing a cause.

43. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

I know that you are VEX that the 97% of the Barbadian population is being defended.

44. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

By the way, I wont be encouraging anyone that I know or my family to consume any local chicken until this situation is amicably resolved.

45. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

People with such a serious situation as Variant Corona Virus which is a matter of life and death will place a Vacation high on their list or at all???? People are being treated in Ambulances because there are not enough Hospital beds. Yet MIA AMOR MOTTLEY is saying to our people that they have nothing to worry about Tourism wise?????

You think?????

46. Artax,

Big Bad Hal Austin comes out to drop remarks about bullying when someone points out the hypocrisy of someone with whom he has formed an alliance. Apparently “Hal’s Law for BU Behaviour” states that one must allow such obvious hypocrisy to remain unchallenged.

Pity it is not his blog! 😊

But don’t worry, CCC’s initials alone make him unforgettable. People remember his comments prior to May 25th, 2018. And everybody knows AC is Mariposa. She too is known to wear an eyepatch like a pirate. People know that they see through one eye.

Can’t take them seriously even when they stumble upon a good point.

47. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Confucius says:

The object of the superior MAN is TRUTH.

48. Mia comes up with new gimmick
    “Barbadian by choice”
    Is that a new and improved version of Citizenship by passport
    I knew that one of her many plans is to have an immigrant force of 80thousand living in barbados

49. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

She is bare gimmicks. Swallowed up by her yardfowls.