For decades, this week has traditionally marked the start of the critical winter season where visitor arrivals and occupancy soar and when many of our hotels and tourism enterprises achieve their most lucrative rates, which during normal times, significantly contributes to absorbing operational costs during the longer softer summer season.

While the introduction of a Covid-19 vaccine has offered hope for a return to some normality in months to come, it will clearly be some time until visitor numbers return to anything like we have almost taken for granted in years past.

Consolidation of flights from major markets continue with the ongoing disruption this causes to the traveller, hotels and other accommodation options. I would imagine now that our tourism policymakers are now looking very carefully at the demographic make-up of what might become the ‘typical visitor’ to our shores over the next few months, so they can best target any promotional and marketing efforts into appealing to those most likely to travel.

There is a real danger that price may be deemed as the greatest incentive to drive arrival numbers and for many in the tourism sector that could seem the easiest option, if only just to create some vitally needed cash flow and attempt to pay the mounting bills and financial obligations.

This approach seems to have been adopted by the cruise sector, whose major players are currently offering rates as low at US$28 per person per day for sailings set to resume from US ports as early as 1st August 2021.
This, while tens of thousands of would be passengers are still awaiting refunds for cancelled cruises over the last eight months.

Ultimately, we all know it will be the taxpayer that picks up the ‘national’ cost of the pandemic. But in the interim, is there anything more that Governments’ can do to speed recovery?

I believe the answer to that is a definite YES!

Despite all the various lobbying, at the least from what has been our largest single market, the United Kingdom, over half the cost of flying on the lowest cost return economy ticket from Gatwick, Heathrow or Manchester is taken up in taxes. First the APD (Air Passenger Duty) amounting to a minimum of GB Pounds 80 rising to a staggering GB Pounds 528 per person for business and first class fares. It is estimated that APD contributed over GB Pounds 3.7 billion to the British Treasury last year.

Secondly, the two departure taxes ‘we’ impose of at least BDS$195 per person for all flights. With the single exception of those wholly within CariCom, that are BDS$70 less.

Government has to decide if it just the private sector who are expected to absorb the significant losses to the entire tourism industry during 2020 and beyond. Or are they going to share that enormous burden to help speed recovery?

133 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Need to Share COVID 19 Cost”

1. You don’t get tired?

2. Isnt govt doing enough as it can possibly do for the hotel industry
    If govt keep relieving the tourism sectors of their obligations where do u think the make up in that responsibility goes
    Yes to the lowly tax payer
    Why dont u write a column expressing views about the rogue hotelier who takes govt funding and squander its
    Also those who refuse to pay the Nis dues to govt on behalf of workers

3. @ Adrian
    What more do you want the government to do. Have the hoteliers in Barbados never made any money when the good times were rolling ?
    In one voice you say that you know the taxpayers ,and more so the workers, would feel the full weight of the collapse and then you expect more from them.
    This is totally archaic reasoning that you guys want everything and you still refused to pay in the workers NIS and now claim you can’t find their severance pay and have them lining up in the papers crying and begging for their monies.
    Apparently you guys will not be happy until you rape this country bare and leave it like it was before it was 1937.

4. Apparently Adrian does not care about equity or sharing
    Govt recently allocated 300million dollars to the hotel industry
    Meanwhile in bridgetown the black business catching hell struggling in the COVID environment
    Not one penny being set aside to help them and if so the bureaucratic tape becomes a hindrance
    Really Hands out begging for more
    Give me a fikng break

5. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Can you get the other Hotel owners to pay their Laid off workers???

The unemployed workers are suffering.

6. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

And by the way Hotel owners are always begging. They are the biggest beggars in Barbados. You all have MILLIONS UPON MILLIONS of dollars stashed away.

Dip into some of it!!!!!!!!

7. David where are your views i remember how you spent the last ten years agreeing with Adrien articles on begging govt for more help during the global melt down that began in 2008 followed by the Ebola crisis both components in derailing the barbados economy for close to seven years

8. The truth is EVERYONE involved in tourism is hurting not just the hotels. The jet ski guys, the hair braiders, the taxi drivers and I can go on and on. Where do you suggest the charity stops?What goverment should be doing is diversifying the ecomomy and reducing the dependancy on tourism. That way many of the laid off could find work in other areas.

The fall out from covid will not end with a vaccine either. The economies in our home markets have been devastated by the layoffs and business closures. All this will take time to repair long after the virus is gone, if indeed it does ever disappear. In other words tourism will be under severe strain for at least another 2 years and even that is being optimistic.

9. @ John A who wrote ” In other words tourism will be under severe strain for at least another 2 years and even that is being optimistic.”

You could be wrong. It is possible that there will be a surge in travel and tourism ” after Covid ” and Barbados could benefit massively. Barbados could get lucky.

Vaccinations starting in Toronto and Ottawa,

10. @Hants

A quick bouncy will be welcomed,however, what John A a saying is that given the state of the economy pre COVID following Sinkyuh a good performance even when times were good will not ensure a recovery. We need to do more.

11. Adrian represents sector interest, one he has been involved all his life. It is up to others to advocate different positions that operate in other sectors.

12. Perhaps I have not explained this week’s column so well, as clearly most of you responding do not appear to understand the objective. Lowering airfares will help EVERYBODY involved in tourism on Barbados, as and when travel becomes safer. If Government reduces or eliminates the varies taxes on airfares then we become more competitive as a destination and the taxes lost on airline tickets will be more than made up in other taxes, VAT and the various tourism levies.

13. @ David yes we need to do more. We need to diversify the economy which we all have been saying for the last 15 to 20 years.

14. How is lowering air fares going to impact the stated objective of being carbon free by 2030? Long haul flights are damaging to the environment.

15. ADRIAN LOVERIDGE EXPLANATION MAKES SENSE.

@ HAL

CARBON FREE BY 2030 SAME AS MINIMUM WAGE IN 6 MONTHS UPON BEING ELECTED.

OVER 500,000 AMERICANS IN THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS HAVE FLOCKED TO MEXICO RESORTS WHERE THEY DON’T REQUIRE COVID 19 NEGATIVE TESTS AND NO QUARANTINE.

16. Baje

When you say it say it all

And the rate of covid in Mexico is increasing and probably feeding back into the USA

17. Adrian in your last response
    All have heard that view before except that when things return to normal hoteliers continue to cry bellyache and the usual resolution is for govt to give more while locals hold the bag

18. You could go to You Tube and search “Barbados” or “Barbados Vlogs” or “barbados welcome stamp”

19. With all the millions poured into the industry
    Wunna should not be even suggesting help
    The hoteliers have been the most favoured from govt policies through good and bad times
    About time wunna start standing together as a group and find solutions instead of depending on govt help
    Until i see changes coming from the hotel industry along such thinking
    Hell No would be my calling card when hoteliers ask for govt welfare

20. @ Hants

From a sentimental side we would love to see tourist flock to Barbados like geese heading South. My point is the economic post covid reality in our main source markets are not conducive to this happening.

The USA I read yesterday has the highest rate of homelessness since the depression. People are now begging the state to extend the ” no eviction” rule to later in the year, as it is due to expire in a few days time.

The UK is battling high unemployment and has been printing sterling to keep things going for months now, which again they have admitted is unsustainable for much longer.

My point is if things in our source markets are so bad with assistance there from their governments, what will happen when that expires at these said source markets have to ” brek fuh yuself” as we say here?

We will see the true damage covid has done to the global economy only when state aid is suspended to these same markets. To the person who is unemployed, or even the person employed who is now helping an unemployed relative or friend survive, how high on their list you think a Caribbean holiday is?

Stop and think about how tourism suffered the 2 years immediately following the 2008 crash globally and that was nothing compared to what covid is doing.

21. Stimulus package coming soon in the USA
    By summer air travel will be back to about 80% and increasing with the distribution of the vaccine
    Usa economy should recover most of the covid jobs.

Diversify ? Yes
    But can agriculture and green energy provide 40k jobs next year ?

22. Another strain of Covid is in the UK
    Now what you want govt to do now

23. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Don’t mind if the tourists are loaded with the virus, we should let them come to the Country. As long as we make MONEY. It doesn’t matter how many BLACK PEOPLE gets killed from catching the Virus..

We are not even using Grenada as an example, they are in real trouble now.

24. TORONTO — The Ontario government will no longer provide free COVID-19 tests for those looking to be cleared for international travel.

The cost of a COVID-19 test at Shoppers Drug Mart for international travellers is now $199, plus tax.

25. Go to You Tube and search

“Nation Update: Water Park woes at Brandon’s”

26. Don’t mind if the tourists are loaded with the virus, we should let them come to the Country. As long as we make MONEY. It doesn’t matter how many BLACK PEOPLE gets killed from catching the Virus..

Xxxxxxxxxx

NOT ARGUING ONE WAY OR THE OTHER HOWEVER NOTE PLENTY BLACK PEOPLE ON THE ISLAND ARE DYING BY STRESS AND FINANCIAL POVERTY ADDING TO RECORD MURDERS.

27. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

And they are two things going against Barbados.

(1) There are a limited amount of beds in the Health Care sector.

(2) Barbados has a very large amount of senior citizens among the population. The head people who are susceptible to Corona
    virus.

An outbreak here in Barbados will decimate the population. I wonder how many of the WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS will get it as a result. I know for sure that the White Bajan population is dwindling, but that is not true of the Indian population. They are breeding like Rabbits.

28. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Maybe that is the thought all along. Bring in as many tourists with the Corona virus, when they get down, put them in the Hotels slash Hospitals. Either way the Hotel Managers will make MONEY.

But what about the staff??????

29. Your hignorance knoweth no bounds.

30. You will see who is “hignorance” if the Virus gets away in Barbados and it is not controlled like it is right now.

31. Some people have contingency plans if there is a forseeable potential problem.

32. America everyday is showing more and more cases, UK is in various tiers, Italy is in various forms of lock down, Spain is in various forms of lock down, France is in various forms lock down, Germany is going back into lock down, Cruise liners every attempt they made, they have had to close down the virus has been found on board, areas of Canada on lock down again.

Why these people haven’t used “contingency plans”?????????

33. Vaccine or no vaccine
    This virus not going away any time soon
    There are two many forms of this virus that have not been traced or hatd to identify
    The borders remaining open wouod contribute to more mutation of this virus as people travell and contamination become a highly suspected source

34. New restaurant opens at former Cin Cin location
    MONTHS AFTER a popular restaurant closed its doors, a window of opportunity was opened for a group of restaurateurs who jumped at the chance to expand.
    And although the future is uncertain, the owners of Cala Roca restaurant in Prospect, St James, hope their investment pays off.
    The restaurant is situated in the building which once housed Cin Cin by the Sea, but their spot has been branded as a modern international restaurant, with a Spanish flair.
    In an exclusive interview yesterday, one of the directors, Chris Els, told the DAILY NATION that his family, who also owns a restaurant in Spain, has been travelling to Barbados for more than 16 years.
    And after opening Blue Pineapple and Baby Doll restaurants on the South Coast with his partners Wendell King, a local businessman, and Michael Hutton, Els said they were interested in expanding to the West Coast of Barbados.
    “Our restaurant is located just outside of Barcelona so we were looking for somewhere in the world to open a restaurant during the slow period of the year when we aren’t that busy back home. So after looking for about five years we found Blue Pineapple and then very shortly after the Baby Doll spot became available,” he said.
    Els was in Barbados in March when Chaps Restaurants Ltd announced that its three properties, Primo Bar & Bistro, Hugo’s Barbados and Cin Cin By The Sea, would be closing due to financial difficulties.
    During that ordeal, Els said he paid attention as the situation unfolded, and after careful consideration, they decided to take the opportunity.
    “We knew that all of the Chaps locations closed and we heard through the grapevine that this building was going to go up for rent again so I kept an eye on it and it became available. . . and after quite a lot of deliberation and negotiations we decided to give it a go.”
    When Chaps closed, about 149 workers were placed on the breadline, and although Els said they flew in some staff to get the new restaurant started, he said they currently employ over 20 local staff at Cala Roca and over 60 across the three restaurants, with that number due to increase over the following months.
    “We brought in staff from our restaurants in Spain to set up the restaurants for us, but more importantly to train local staff. When we started Blue Pineapple the first year we had seven foreign staff. Now, Blue Pineapple has now reopened and we have one foreigner, everybody else is local. At Baby Doll we also have one foreign staff member and the rest are all local, and that’s our intention here at Cala Roca.” (TG)

35. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

We have more than $9 billion dollars sitting in Banks in Broad Street. The Govt. ought to confiscate about $1 billion of that money and use it for the greater good of Barbados.

It makes little sense welcoming the use of LIGHTS AT THE GARRION SAVANNAH. The Barbados Turf Club owe the Country OF BARBADOS in excess of $10 million in unpaid taxes. That’s one example at this PRESENT No time for the RICH AND FAMOUS TO PLAY.

The Barbados private sector has been Million upon Million in tax revenues by the Barbados Labour Party Govt. Why not take back some of those Millions as a another example at this junction of time.

36. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Why is ADRIAN hot recommending this?????

37. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Confiscate the money FROM THE RICH AND FAMOUS WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS for the greater good of Barbados the same way the Barbados Labour Party Govt. confiscated MRS. RAM property on Bay Street.

38. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

It should be in the above comment “”not””

39. @ Carson

At the height of the Cyprus crisis, the government confiscated about 20 per cent of bank deposits – most of it from Russian Oligarchs. We do not have Russians, but we have the dishonest, thuggish, murdering Irish gangsters driven out of Dublin and London to the Caribbean.
    What you are dealing with are central bankers who are under tight control and fear for their jobs, and politicians who are out of their depth. Because someone has been elected to parliament does not mean they suddenly get wisdom.
    @Carson, watch out for the political trickery. A year ago this month we were told that White Oaks had reached a PROVISIONAL agreement with our external creditors. To this day there has not been a FULL AND FINAL settlement. Why?

40. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

For decades The 3% of the population has been given MILLIONS AND MILLIONS of dollars in no bid contracts by the various Govts. of Barbados, start a special TAX TARGETING THEM. They are always begging and getting what they want, let them give back something out of their profits.

41. You are quickly assuming the #1 position on the blog.

Do you know who are responsible for the majority of savings in the financial system? The same Blacks you are always braying about daily.

People with money like the Irish gangsters do not save in soft currencies a la deposits.

42. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Nice comment OREO.

43. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

If ERROL WALTON BARROW was here he would know what to do. Why do you think the 3% of our Barbados population hate him so much?????

By the way I don’t want to be no. 1 anywhere. Just saying what needs to be said.

44. Have you paid the womans light bill yet?

45. @Hal Austin December 15, 2020 6:43 AM “…we have the dishonest, thuggish, murdering Irish gangsters driven out of Dublin and London…”

Any dishonest, thuggish, murdering gangsters of Scottish heritage?

46. @Carson C Cadogan December 15, 2020 7:03 AM “If ERROL WALTON BARROW was here he would know what to do. Why do you think the 3% of our Barbados population hate him so much?????”

So how does it help anybody to hate half gill of duppy dust?

47. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

When you some how find out, let me know.