Reproduced from the IMF Website David, Blogmaster

December 9, 2020
  • The Executive Board of the IMF concluded the fourth review of the IMF’s extended arrangement under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) for Barbados. The completion of the review allows the authorities to draw SDR 65 million (about US$94 million). Access under the extended arrangement has been augmented by SDR 48 million (51 percent of quota, or about US$69 million) to help accommodate the shock.
  • Despite the challenges posed on the economy by the pandemic, Barbados continues its strong implementation of the comprehensive Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) plan aimed at restoring fiscal and debt sustainability and increasing reserves and growth.
  • The prolonged global coronavirus pandemic poses a major challenge for the economy, which is heavily dependent on tourism, and is expected to have a large impact on the balance of payments and the fiscal accounts.

Washington, DC: The Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) concluded the fourth review of the IMF’s extended arrangement under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) for Barbados. The completion of the review allows the authorities to draw the equivalent of SDR 65 million (about US$94 million), bringing total disbursements to the equivalent of SDR 271 million (about US$390 million).

The four-year extended arrangement under the EFF was approved on October 1, 2018 (see Press Release No. 18/370). Including the augmentation approved by the Executive Board today, the extended arrangement is for an amount equivalent of SDR 322 million (about US$464 million).

Barbados continues its strong implementation of the comprehensive Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) plan aimed at restoring fiscal and debt sustainability and increasing reserves and growth. The prolonged global coronavirus pandemic poses a major challenge for the economy, which is heavily dependent on tourism, and is expected to have a large impact on the balance of payments and the fiscal accounts.

Following the Executive Board discussion, Mr. Tao Zhang, Deputy Managing Director and Acting Chair said:

“The Barbadian authorities continue to make excellent progress in implementing their Fund-supported Economic Recovery and Transformation plan and have swiftly responded to address the impact of the pandemic . Prospects for continued strong program performance are good, but downside risks will continue to pose challenges in the period ahead.

“A primary balance target of minus 1 percent of GDP for fiscal year 2020/21, revised down from a surplus of 1 percent at the time of the third review, is appropriate to accommodate worse-than-anticipated revenue losses and support spending on public health and social protection. The new fiscal target is financed by additional resources from international financial institutions, including a second augmentation under the Extended Fund Facility.

“The fiscal accommodation will be compensated by higher primary surpluses in the medium term to ensure achievement of the long-term debt target of 60 percent of GDP. Medium-term fiscal adjustment will be supported by continued reform of state-owned enterprises (SOE) to secure space for investment in physical and human capital. Transfers to SOEs need to decline through a combination of stronger oversight, cost reduction, revenue enhancement, and mergers and divestment. Pension reform and introduction of a fiscal rule will also support medium-term fiscal sustainability.

“Progress in restoring fiscal sustainability will further be safeguarded by a new central bank law aimed at limiting financing of the government and strengthening the central bank’s mandate, autonomy, and decision-making structures.

“A strong recovery from the global pandemic will hinge on accelerating structural reform, including improving the business climate and promoting economic diversification. Strengthening resilience to natural disasters and climate change will be key to long-term sustained economic growth.”

252 responses to “Fourth Review – IMF’s Extended Arrangement under the Extended Fund Facility for Barbados”

1. The Barbados of yore is fading and quickly. What is Bajan has been diluted due to many factors. The question asked about who we are must be replaced with what do we want to become.

2. “Waru jackass i do not go on other platforms.”

you CAN’T go on other platforms other than as a spectator, ya can’t even write a coherent sentence, what the hell will you being doing on other platforms………….to embarrass yaself and the whole damn island…..🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂

Fraudulent Fowl Slave Enuff…it’s all tumbling down and that’s the best you can do, when am not the worldwide laughing stock, ya should see what some are saying about the sellouts of parliament…..

“Has anybody noticed the UK Guardian newspaper has despatched two journalists to Barbados to investigate the Drax’s family plantation house and the families history on the Island.

This story is escalating in the UK.”

it’s needs to escalate even further, the marijuana slave plantations in Barbados must be exposed for the world to see, there has been a level of exposure already, but even more is needed.

3. The fowl slaves should be more worried about what is coming at them in 2021, they ain’t seen nothing yet, the beauty is, they may not even really see it until 2022, just in time for 2023….🤣🤣🤣 tik tok..

when ya see stinky burnt Fowl Enuff and Big Lips Lorenza out sniffing around, something happened and they think they can cover it up or stop the blog from finding out..but i will make sure to make a bigly international splash…when it finally comes out…yall frauds..

4. Lorenzo December 13, 2020 11:50 AM #: “The best present she could give this blog is to take her leave for about a year make most of us happy.”

@ Lorenzo

Anyone has a right to contribute to BU and it would be unreasonable for us to ask the Blogmaster to ban them or suggest they take a leave of absence from the forum.

Rather than fret yourself with people whom you do not share any personal acquaintance, sometimes the best method is to scroll pass their contributions.

It works for me.

5. This is how easy it is to get community spread when pimping after tourist dollars…..small islands need to do much better and reduce the dependency shit significantly…this will not be the last plague..

“The Ministry of Health informs that a cluster of 26 positive COVID-19 cases have been diagnosed, originating from the Sandals resort. The positive cases include guests and employees, as well as their contacts.

The discovery was made following proactive testing of employees and guests on Friday and Saturday, as part of the Ministry’s continuous testing of frontline staff in sectors directly related to tourism, travel and health.

Given the health emergency that this situation warrants, the Government of Grenada, through the Ministry of Health, has deployed all efforts, including personnel and resources, to address this grave threat to public health, safety, order and the maintenance of medical and other supplies and services essential to life in Grenada. Unprecedented, aggressive efforts have been taken to further contain this outbreak of COVID-19.

The Sandals resort has now been deemed to be a place of screening and assessment. Entire households related to the confirmed cases have also been quarantined, and contact tracers are actively working to source other potentially exposed people in other areas of public life and activity.”

6. Artax i usually scroll past the crap Mrs Mitchell aka Waru writes but she has become an annoying nuisance on the blog all day everyday.She seems to believe she has accomplished something in her 8 or so years on this blog but for me she is reslly a laughing stock on here as few people respond to anything she says even the blogmaster.IN MY OPINION WARU IS A MAD WOMAN AND NEEDS HELP . This is my last response to anything she says as i will take your advice.

7. Big Lips Lorenza…i accomplished more than you or Fowl Slave Enuff to have yall really, really worried today…what have any of you fly by nighters accomplished, show me??? i dare you

anyway, yall sellouts only getting what ya deserve, ya can’t even write a coherent sentence, so how are ya expected to see what i accomplished…..🤣🤣😂…even if it falls and hits ya in ya empty heads….ya ain’t even got no shame and i can get you to respond anytime damn time i want, ah own ya dumb ass.

8. Minimum wage appeal
    by TRE GREAVES tregreaves@nationnews.com
    EXTENSIVE RESEARCH should be carried out before any national minimum wage policy is put in place. If not, companies in Barbados may end up collapsing.
    That was the view of economist Professor Michael Howard yesterday in response to Government’s announcement last week that a policy was in the works.
    Howard, who supports an increase for lowerincome workers, however told the DAILY NATION in an interview that it could not be exorbitant.
    “A national minimum wage should not be too high because that would put pressure on firms’ costs and revenue and could increase unemployment. So one has to be careful whether it is blanket minimum wage or based on sectors. The increase would protect workers at the bottom of the scale against inflation, allow them to be able to spend some money, and it can also increase consumption and sales because people would have more money if it is placed at the right level. But if it is too high, it could cause unemployment and if it is too low, it might not allow people to spend,” Howard said.
    He therefore suggested that any policy should be based on the productivity levels recorded in specific industries, the National Insurance Scheme and severance payments.
    “I feel each sector should have a national minimum wage which reflects its productivity. You don’t want a sector which has low productivity to have a minimum wage which would be inconsistent with that productivity.
    “It’s just not a matter of sitting down in a meeting and talking. People have to research wages, productivity and employee preferences on what the minimum wage is. It should not be a political wage; it has to rely on research because these other matters are intimately interwoven with wages, unemployment and productivity,” Howard added.
    Meanwhile, president of the National Union of Public Workers Akanni McDowall said it was necessary to centre the discussion around a living wage.
    “We believe that the establishment of a minimum wage threshold is something that we support because there are some unscrupulous employers out there who have been paying employees less than what they deserve and what they need to meet basic needs. However, we are of the view the discussion needs to be taken beyond the establishment of a minimum wage, into a realm where we are now discussing a living wage.
    “That’s the amount of income to sustain a decent standard of living. We are talking about the income that would be adjusted for the employees based on the country’s inflation rate. That is why the Government must follow through on the establishment on a prices and income policy, so that you can control the prices of goods and services so that they would never be outside of the reach of those persons who may be working for a basic salary,” McDowall said.
    President of the Barbados Private Sector Association, Edward Clarke, said the prices and income policy was being looked at by the Social Partnership.
    He said any increase had to be handled carefully because of the impact it would have on businesses.
    “The people at the lower end of the scale must be given a fair pay that they can live a certain standard of life in Barbados; I see nothing wrong with that. But we need to be realistic because there is only so much money to go around in a business without having to increase pricing.
    “Because if there is no increased revenue in the volume, and you are trying to retain employment, the cost is going to go somewhere. You are either going to go into a loss or the companies are going to go out of business and we can’t afford that,” Clarke said.
    Following protests last week and a second meeting on Thursday, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley announced that an agreement was reached between management of G4S Secure Solutions Barbados and staff on correcting a pay imbalance.
    She also said a group within the Ministry of Labour had already prepared draft legislation for a national minimum wage. The draft would go to the National Minimum Wage Board for review. In addition, retired Chief Justice Sir David Simmons would head a committee to examine the minimum wage currently which is at $6.25 an hour for shop assistants. It is expected to report to Cabinet by February 1.
    Last Friday, president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry Trisha Tannis said an increase to $8 per hour across the board would be perilous for retailers who were operating on slim margins. Economist Jeremy Stephen however said he supported an increase as high as $12 per hour as it would result in increased spend, which would redound to the benefit of businesses.

9. Readers concerned about $1b in loans from IMF
    THE GOVERNMENT of Barbados has borrowed almost $1 billion from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
    Last week, the agency approved another $188 million, bringing the total disbursed under its Extended Fund Facility to $780 million since the programme started in October 2018.
    By the time the four-year cycle is completed, the Government would have $928 million in IMF loans.
    Online readers are concerned about paying back such a massive debt and whether this will mean an increase in taxes in 2021. Nomathemba Pat Edwards:
    Where is the billion going? And what is the difference between printing your own money and borrowing a billion?
    Meanwhile, I paying taxes grandmurrh like I name taxie patsy. We have to wait and see what will happen in 2021.
    Will NIS (national insurance) go up again? How do we plan to repay this money with nothing substantial on the horizon? But ah forget. Marijuana coming! Sebastian Da Costa:
    Yup lots of talk, let’s hope we can find positives and a way out. How did we spend this money? Carolyn Gill Humphrey:
    Well, another way to look at it is to be grateful we have access to those resources. It’s been a horrendous year and we’re not going to be back to “normal” for a long time. Michael King:
    We need the foreign exchange, but I am a bit worried about borrowing a $1 billion from the IMF.
    I hope we don’t find ourselves in the IMF debt trap. John Yarde:
    One billion dollars in the last two years from IMF. How much in the last ten years? This is very concerning we are in full time. The social engineering required will be less than comfortable. Fabian Medford:
    We just got to produce a billion dollars in medical marijuana; work the land. Kevin Alleyne: How much years this country gine be in the IMF hands now? Derrick Millington:
    I hope for those who still have a belt there is room for it to draw in another notch because things will get tighter. Troy Worrell:
    One billion from IMF and how much from IDB (Inter-American Development Bank), CDB (Caribbean Development Bank) etc? Our children and grandchildren will still be paying them off. Ronda Norville:
    So does this mean we are on the path of Venezuela? Adebowale Isosteve Ushnidi:
    One billion, guess interest included. Dear Lord, I pray that as a result of this loan these IMF people don’t try to suck the life blood out this small island. We already reeling from one of the highest costs of living in this hemisphere or perhaps the world. Out of 135 countries surveyed on the COLI (cost of living index) we stand at No. 11. I can almost hear massa’s whip cracking again. (SAT)

10. Ask yiu self the billion dollar question what does barbados produce that can help ease the boulder of repaying such loans off the shoulders of the tax payers
    Not even counting local ongoing govt debt

11. We use to ask Sinkyuh the dame.

12. @ TLSN

Have you seen Barbados Today lifting the Guardian’s story on Drax Hall? When one talks about the paucity of Barbadian journalism people think one is being harsh. But think of it.
    A story about Barbados and the leading paper on the island lifts a try from a UK publication lock, stock and barrel, even the picture. This is not only poor, awfully poor, journalism, it is humiliating.
    What is more, the readers either do not understand, or do not care. But this is who we are.

13. A more stark observation is that a former journalist having spotted the journalistic lacuna would not seize the opportunity to offer remedy.

14. Who does not know that journalism is a joke in Barbados?

15. The big question should be asked is why did the tiefing minorites and both governments get away with TIEFING one billion dollars of VAT….yes, they stole the billion dollars too because they REFUSED TO COLLECT IT from business people…..and don’t expect it to follow them as a deficit, and expect the Black population they STOLE THE VAT FROM to now be slaves on marijuana slave plantations…when it should be the thieves working their asses off to repay what they stole from the people…not one black person on the island should turn up as any plantation slave to repay what the black faces and their wicked minority masters stole from them..

“Will NIS (national insurance) go up again? How do we plan to repay this money with nothing substantial on the horizon? But ah forget. Marijuana coming!”

BTW…so who has been farming the Drax caricature’s slave plantation, they never stopped growing sugar and subsidizing it with taxpayer’s money belonging to the descendants of the enslaved at Drax plantation. Black people will have to be crazy to even consider going near any of these savages…..of course no one minds if yardfowls are put in shackles and chains, i would pay good money for that event..

“Our children and grandchildren will still be paying them off. Ronda Norville:”

it’s up to the parents on the island to MAKE SURE that their children and grandchildren DON’T PAY BACK ONE DIME…let alone a billion of what those criminals stole, not a dime, use your brains.

“Our children and grandchildren will still be paying them off. Ronda Norville:”

“I can almost hear massa’s whip cracking again. (SAT)”

that’s what the black face leader’s worked hard to achieve over decades, pushing the population into poverty and slavery.

16. @ David December 14, 2020 6:41 AM

Aren’t those home-grown patriots throwing a bit too much shade on poor Bim and her political administration?

Is that what the many consultants cum economists like Mascoll, Persuad and Ram (and even Kevin) have been hired to do?

To advise the MoF (with two economists for assistants) how to borrow in order to keep the greedy beast of conspicuous consumption fat and lazy.

Hope you are not going to be too upsettingly surprised when the BWA et al find themselves on the Privatization block as the loan-shark IMF starts to exact its pound of ‘payback’ flesh.

“THE GOVERNMENT’S HIGH DEBT IS CHOKING THE LIFE OUT OF OUR ECONOMY AND LIMITING NATIONAL GROWTH. WE WILL WRESTLE WITH THE NATIONAL DEBT AND BREATHE LIFE BACK INTO THE ECONOMY.”

17. There is more than one way to skin sellouts, watch muh nuh….when they can’t repay the billion dollars they stole, watch how gray and old they will all suddenly look..

18. @Miller

Did we have a blue print for the arrival of covid 19 on top of what all agreed – including you – was an economy in the pits? How do you expect the government to operate in this period? Printing monopoly money perhaps?

19. “Aren’t those home-grown patriots throwing a bit too much shade on poor Bim and her political administration?”

everyone needs to take a look at the emerging BIG PICTURE..

in this current environment that they helped create, opportunity knocks for savages a la the spectre of Drax, sellouts of parliament and minority leeches, but NOT FOR THE BLACK POPULATION.

can’t say it enuff, but Black people now have the power in their hands to make them all CRASH AND BURN spectacularly…they are not to rise financially and socially on the blood, sweat and tears of our ancestors nor us, in these , nor at any other time….and if the population will take care of each other, spend your money with each other, develop opportunities ONLY FOR EACH OTHER, and rise together…those human pestilence will never rise again at Black people’s expense.

.but it’s up to the people to see it and implement.

20. @ David December 14, 2020 8:42 AM

Your counter / defence would have more impact if the government was taking meaningful steps to curb the greed for imported conscious consumption like limiting the importation of ICE-powered vehicles for private use over 1300 c.c.; and even carrots from Canada or stale water in plastic bottles.

Let the importers and consumers of those luxury products find their own forex to pay for them and not rely on the borrowed IMF foreign money to prop up the country’s balance of payments position which only turn into millstones around the financial necks of future generations as many of those ‘shade-throwers’ are fearing.

21. Really not interested in the Drax Hall story cause the outcome will be a Hell No answer to Barbados
    Heard some one asked if Kamala father would be next
    His Father owned slaves also and have land and property in Jamaica
    Why isnt Hilary Beckles fighting the guyanese govt for the rights and proper treatment of blacks in Guyana

22. @Miller

Have to agree with you on this point. There is so much room to do better. The government can say effective midnight tonight it will not be purchasing fossil fueled vehicles.

23. The Drax’s family received compensation from the British government /tax payer after slavery was “abolished”.

How is it possible that the Drax’s family to still have claim to the old Drax’s Hall plantation? The government should intervene. The land should be turned over to those families whose ancestors would have toiled the land on that infamous plantation prison.

24. TLSN…those house negros won’t dare touch the Drax slave plantation, have you ever been out in that area, everything about it gives off an evil aura…they took black people’s tax money and subsidized that crime scene, for how long is anyone’s guess.

the spectres would’ve been maintaining and upkeeping all this 150 years later, in one form or another after they fled with what they stole from African slaves, there are still descendants of those slaves living in and around the plantation environs.

..in my mind the sellouts see the Drax spectre as competition to their marijuana slave plantation scam they got going now, he may have to pay to play according to what Comissiong and Professor Reparations are saying in all their fraudulent outrage and anger….cause am yet to hear them say one word against these marijuana plantations springing up all over the place and none headed by blacks, or point out and resist Mia importing all foreign crooked whites as slave masters, not hearing them speak out against any of that total disrespect…but they expect sensible people to take either of them seriously..

the dude Drax got some nerve to speak about registering business etc on the island, let’s see how much respect Black people have for themselves…we already know the parliament sellouts have none

Miller…by the end of Dec i will have the fowls crowing and cryin real life tears..

25. @ LSNDecember 14, 2020 9:36 AM
    “The Drax’s family received compensation from the British government /tax payer after slavery was “abolished”.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How about the “Cumberbatch” family?

And that’s the fulcrum on which any claim(s) for reparations must pivot.

If the owners of those properties (including their black slaves which were considered chattel) were told by the British Government to “F-off” since the possibility of losing investment in such a risky venture was very high then the owners would have to lick their commercial wounds while the ex-slaves ought to accept the moral scars since their African ancestors aided and abetted in their enslavement.

26. @ TLSN

Come on. The £20m compensation was for the loss of the slaves, not the property, even though legally slaves were considered property.
    Of course, by concentrating on the Drax family we are missing the big picture. In 1834, the majority of slave owners in Barbados were ‘coloured’ people, the descendants of many of them are still around and active in Barbadian public life.
    W£e have had this long discussion before.
    Plantations were owned by black people, and there was a thriving black business class that continued up until the late 1950s/early 60s.
    We must also ask why when negotiating independence the question of reparations was not raised. Reparations is an issue now mainly because of our post-independence economic failure, not because of any raised political consciousness.
    And some of us suspect that Hillary Beckles’ involvement is focused mainly on the UWI getting any largesse, similar to the deal it had done with Glasgow University.
    We must not forget the all-important question when these issues are raised: who benefits? Will reparation, if any, benefit the ordinary man and woman in the street? Or is it just a moral issue.

27. Flindt is back in business, the cakes are still as good as ever, left turn BEFORE the white royal westmoreland sign on the same left heading north on the highway, not the coast road, the one above….quaint little building, kinda cart roadish….

28. Have been watching for the past couple months a very beautiful tribute African youngsters are putting together for our ancestors stolen and brought across the atlantic and enslaved, it’s so out of this world as it emerges, am still trying to come to terms with the ingenuity, thought, care and creativity involved, while they are hard at work paying tribute and creating a beautiful monument that will resound across the earth, Barbados is trying to reenslave the descendants and survivors to cover up the billions of dollars they and the minority thieves robbed from the people and country over the last 30 years,…..good going, i’ll be sure these hardworking youngsters hear all about it..

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

But wait, Carsten is a white man? I thought you only supported black owned businesses.

30. The government shouldn’t have borrowed a cent. Let everyone go home, businesses shut and beg for PPE etc. I bet yuh we happy owing the bank for cars, airline tickets and accommodation and house though? Bajans head like um bad.

31. @ Enuff December 14, 2020 3:47 PM

So why were you cussing the previous administration left, right and centre for borrowing and fiscal bullying?

Remember the Credit Suisse loans, the SWT and NSRL?

But the previous administration made a cardinal mistake by not taking OSA’s timely advice to ask the IMF for a financial bailout just like how the current one has done.

32. Uh huh cuz the two are similar. Wunna continue to underestimate the economic impact of Covid. You get in goood yuh heeeaaaar!

33. “But wait, Carsten is a white man? I thought you only supported black owned businesses”

Northern…I didn’t say i bought the cake, it was offered to me and i ate it, I said that Flindt is back in business and the cake is still really good….do you know how expense those things are and if someone wants me to eat expensive cake, who am i to say no, a girl has to show some manners you know….and yes, i go out of my way to shop black, because it’s the right thing to do since this government pulled a nasty on the people, just like the last government and helped crooks rob the treasury and pension fund, so the right thing to do is try to uplift the black people who do business…

34. Northern….life is strange, some time ago someone made friends with an acquaintance of mine, and only found out recently that this acquaintance is a die hard racist, they were appalled to find out, so now they know i got racist acquaintances too, am a friendly gal…

35. We can only hope the people in US get to move on now, despite 300,000 deaths….apparently all the drama has offically ended, today is the 14th..

https://www.huffpost.com/entry/joe-biden-electors-46th-president_n_5fd7d5f0c5b62f31c1ff8809

36. Miller….don’t tell me that repulsive Fowl Enuff is trying to convince yall that Mia is doing the people some favor by digging a bigger and deeper debt trap that she fully expects Black people to repay, ya should ask the fowl when she is going to lock up those who stole the billion dollars in VAT and those thieving hoteliers/employers trying to get away with not paying workers severance, and the DLP crooks who also helped rob the country and people……the know it all should have an answer…

37. Beg or BORROW

Barbados appears close to securing $200 million in concessional funding from the World Bank after 27 years of being cut-off from such financing.

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/12/15/barbados-may-get-world-bank-loan/

38. Problem of rising debt
    THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC continues to have farreaching and major negative consequences for this country. If anyone doubted the pervasive nature of this deadly virus, which first reached Barbados in March, they only have to take a look at the fact that between January and September, tourism’s financial inflows fell by $963.5 million when compared to the same period last year.
    Increased borrowing and higher debt is another related aspect of the big fallout that many Barbadians may not be paying attention to. Given such a drastic drop in revenues from Barbados’ main breadwinner, the Mia Amor Mottley administration has had to turn to international financial institutions, and the Barbados-based Caribbean Development Bank, for funding. In other words, we have been getting more loans, money which has to be repaid, even though the interest would be lower than if the borrowings were on the open capital market.
    The Central Bank reported in its third quarter economic review that Government relied primarily on foreign sources for its financing during the first half of its 2020-2021 financial year, which is the period April 1 to September 30. Barbados received $375 million over that six-month period and the bank reported that almost all of this, 91 per cent, represented policy loans to supplement the revenue shortfalls induced by the pandemic.
    The remainder was for project funds specifically earmarked for ongoing capital works.
    Barbados’ debt-to-gross domestic product ratio, which fell after the debt restructurings, and as Government reduced the arrears it owed individuals and businesses, increased to 131 per cent at the end of September 2020, which the bank attributed to reduced economic output.
    The increased borrowing is also linked to the healthy state of the foreign reserves, which reached more than $2 billion at the end of the third quarter. About $554 million was added to the reserves in the first nine months of the year, and most of this was via loans from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and Inter-American Development Bank (IDB).
    The Ministry of Finance has revealed that Government will have to pay $117 million more in debt than previously budgeted for. Recently, the IDB approved a $240 million loan for Barbados. Then the IMF approved a further $188 million, and its numbers indicate that it will end up lending Barbados $928 million.
    It is no wonder, therefore, that Prime Minister Mottley has been repeatedly lobbying for international debt relief for Barbados and other small nations. While the repayment terms are better, Barbados still has to repay money borrowed from the IMF, IDB and others. This is why the country not only requires debt relief, but also needs to have a big turnaround in tourism, while also protecting its vital international business and financial services sector from repeatedly unfair blacklists.
    Everything must be done to ensure that Barbados does not again end up with an unsustainable mountain of debt. The average citizen cannot afford that burden.
    It is no wonder, therefore, that Prime Minister Mottley has been repeatedly lobbying for international debt relief for Barbados and other small nations.

Nation Editorial

39. “Beg or BORROW.”

wuhloss…yardfowls got even more to celebrate…more debt, deeper wider debt trap, wonder who’s going to repay all of that, the majority better get with the program, they don’t owe anyone anything, stop the nationalism and patriotism bullshit (it has long been a trap that too many black people are eager to fall into) or yall and ya children, grandchildren future generations will be repaying these loans, while the usual suspects continue TIEFING everything….let them go to hell, and find a way to pay back what they stole…they are the thieves, they always got a scam ready, let them use a few to find the money…..

40. https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/15/waiting-in-vain/

looks like the cliff restaurant lied to these workers, expose them worldwide, they don’t intend to pay severance, they were the first to try to get away with not paying workers in March, they had some kinda inside infor about what was coming, these crimes against workers and their families should be indictable and carry 20 and 25 year prison sentences….

“Marlon MaddenPublished on
    December 15, 2020
    Months after being promised severance payments from the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), dozens of former workers at the Cliff Restaurant are yet to be paid and vowed continued protests outside the benefits agency.

On Monday, placard-bearing ex-workers gathered outside the Sir Frank Walcott Building at Culloden Road to protest under the watchful eyes of police.

The group’s spokesman, Jerome Farley, later told Barbados TODAY that they were simply fed up of the “run around” they were being given.

“We were too silent for too long. We need our money,” said Farley.

He explained that they have been promised payment from the NIS since August when they delivered their severance claims there, but to date, they are still awaiting this promise to be fulfilled although he was aware of several workers from other businesses who handed in their forms since they did have already received their severance payments.

Farley said: “If we don’t get word by tomorrow we will be back at the Cliff and the NIS on Thursday to protest again,”

The workers were laid off in March from the upscale St James restaurant, but it was in July that they were informed they were made redundant.”

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Barbados does not again end up with an unsustainable mountain of debt”
    The author speaks as though the debt restructuring magically made the Nation’s debt sustainable? Maybe they should examine the expenditures which are producing that debt, and the associated cash flow issues.

42. Only in barbados if yuh steal a 65 cent of loaf bread yuh would be hauled before a judge forthwith and sentenced
    Onlyin Barbados the big hoteliers get a free pass from justice when they steal from govt and the workers
    Along with govt handing over the treasury to these one armed bandits in back taxes owed
    Then if that was not enough govt straps the losses owed to the treasury known as debt to the lowly citizens shoulders
    This is who we are

43. @Northern Observer

Maybe we should examine the underlying reasons for the debt, successive governments pandering to unbridled conspicuous consumption by the population. What did Michael Jackson sing about?

#maninthemirrow

44. @ Mariposa
    I have heard the nonsense about conspicuous consumption before. It is now a mantra and it seems to explain everything. Ignore it.
    The author has nothing sensible to say. Maybe he (if it is a he) can explain how conspicuous consumption (current account deficit) will impact government debt, apart from equal nonsense about foreign reserves and even that is contentious.
    We are in the position we are in because of poor management of the economy from independence to now.

45. What is an economy?

“The production, consumption, and distribution of goods and services are used to fulfill the needs of those living and operating within the economy, which is also referred to as an economic system.”

You always know everything.

Here is another for you:

“An economy is the large set of interrelated production and consumption activities that aid in determining how scarce resources are allocated.”

A pity when you are on Michael Howard Facebook page and he posits the same vire you are as quiet as a Rh mouse. If you continue the blogmaster will just lift some of your comments to support.

#hypocrite

46. Talk about restructuring barbados economy is an exercise in futility
    The big wigs who control like it this way as long as there end is sweetened by govt hands and the poor pays the debt
    The talk of restructuring would be an elusive dream as elusive as turning sawdust into gold

47. Hi Braniacs,
    Any thoughts. I believe in having a universal minimum wage and then sectors can do more then so be it.
    Disagree with first section. Agrees with the second.

DofBU 6:49 a.m.
    “I feel each sector should have a national minimum wage which reflects its productivity. You don’t want a sector which has low productivity to have a minimum wage which would be inconsistent with that productivity.
    “It’s just not a matter of sitting down in a meeting and talking. People have to research wages, productivity and employee preferences on what the minimum wage is. It should not be a political wage; it has to rely on research because these other matters are intimately interwoven with wages, unemployment and productivity,” Howard added.

48. Every decision is soaked in the political in Barbados, this is our problem. it goes without saying a minimum wage must be driven by the numbers and how we want to drive productivity etc. Howard is on point.

49. Latin America and the Caribbean Will Have Positive Growth in 2021, but It Will Not Be Enough to Recover Pre-Pandemic Levels of Economic Activity

In its Preliminary Overview of the Economies of the region, ECLAC forecasts an average contraction of -7.7% for 2020 – the largest in 120 years – and a rebound of 3.7% in 2021.

The Latin America and the Caribbean region will experience a contraction of -7.7% in 2020 but will have a positive growth rate of 3.7% in 2021, due mainly to a statistical rebound that will nonetheless be insufficient for recovering the economic activity levels seen prior to the coronavirus pandemic (in 2019), ECLAC indicated today in a new report.

ECLAC released its Preliminary Overview of the Economies of Latin America and the Caribbean 2020 – one of the United Nations organization’s flagship annual reports – during a virtual press conference given by its Executive Secretary, Alicia Bárcena.

According to the document by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), in a context of global contraction, Latin America and the Caribbean is the region in the developing world that has been hardest hit by the crisis stemming from COVID-19. In the decade prior to the pandemic, the region was on a low-growth trajectory, and in 2020 it faces an unprecedented combination of negative supply and demand shocks, which is translating into the worst economic crisis in the last 120 years.

Although the significant fiscal and monetary efforts made by countries have served to mitigate the effects of the crisis, the pandemic’s economic and social consequences have been exacerbated by the structural problems that the region has suffered historically. In 2021, ECLAC foresees a positive GDP growth rate that will fundamentally reflect a statistical rebound, but the process of recovering pre-crisis levels of Gross Domestic Product (GDP) will be slow and will not conclude until 2024.

“The growth dynamic in 2021 is subject to high uncertainty related to the risk of renewed outbreaks of the pandemic, the agility with which vaccines are produced and distributed, and the capacity to maintain fiscal and monetary stimulus to support aggregate demand and productive sectors. Making progress on sustainable and inclusive growth necessitates a productive transformation towards environmentally sustainable sectors, which would favor job creation and technological innovation,” Alicia Bárcena stated.

The region’s weaknesses and structural gaps, its narrow fiscal space, inequality, limited coverage and access to social protection, elevated labor informality, productive heterogeneity and low productivity are central to understanding the extent of the pandemic’s effects on the region’s economies, their difficulties for implementing policies that would mitigate those effects, and the challenges they face in undertaking a sustainable and inclusive economic reactivation.

Before the pandemic, the region already had low economic growth: 0.3% on average in the 2014-2019 period, with a 0.1% rate notched in 2019. With the arrival of the pandemic, this low economic growth was compounded by negative external shocks and the need to implement policies aimed at confinement, physical distancing and the suspension of productive activities, which meant that the health emergency ended up prompting the worst economic, social and productive crisis that the region has ever lived through. The contraction in economic activity has been accompanied by a significant rise in the unemployment rate, which is forecast at around 10.7% in 2020; a steep fall in labor participation; and a considerable increase in poverty and inequality.

According to the projections released by the United Nations organization, South America is seen contracting by -7.3% in 2020 and growing by 3.7% in 2021; growth in Central America is expected to shrink by -6.5% in the current period and expand by 3.8% next year; while the Caribbean is seen contracting by -7.9% in 2020 and growing by 4.2% in 2021.

ECLAC’s document emphasizes that to keep the region from perpetuating its low-growth dynamic, expansionary fiscal and monetary policies are needed along with environmental and industrial policies, all of which would enable the structural transformations that the region requires and would promote sustainable development.

It also poses the need to prioritize spending on the economic and social reactivation and transformation by fostering employment-intensive and environmentally sustainable investment in strategic sectors; to extend the basic income to people living in situations of poverty; provide financing to Micro, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (MSMEs); offer incentives for productive development, the digital revolution for sustainability and clean technologies; and universalize social protection systems.

The report contends that beyond national efforts, the region’s economic reactivation and transformation will require financing and international cooperation. In this area, it stresses the need to utilize instruments such as the issuance and reallocation of the International Monetary Fund’s Special Drawing Rights (SDRs) to strengthen the reserves of the region’s countries and regional agreements; include vulnerable middle-income countries in the G20’s debt moratorium initiative (DSSI) and also set in motion the debt for climate change adaptation swap in the case of the Caribbean, along with the creation of a resilience fund; and capitalize multilateral, regional and national credit institutions.

More information:

50. Use the positive to spur growth
    With the Barbados economy making as much progress as is possible after COVID-19 struck, it is barely possible to make an informed judgement about where we will end up once the virus has been conquered or at least abated.
    But no matter what happens, the verdict is in – we will have to fight our way back to growth. And there are some encouraging signs on the horizon.
    Simon Cowell and other celebrities like centenarian Sir Tom Moore, who are spending this Christmas here with us, is good publicity for the island as a tourist destination. It is also testimony that Barbados has done exceedingly well in containing the virus.
    Remarkably, our Best-dos Santos centre, a certified Level 3 testing laboratory has tested 57 835 samples since March. This Herculean effort supporting the national policy of second tests has proved itself to be a pearl of wise scientific judgement.
    We have been able to impede the spread of the virus principally because the second test has shown its worth and utility as a scientific detection tool. And by and large, the public has followed the protocols.
    Our mantra
    That we are still open for tourism must be our mantra for the immediate future. If a picture is worth a thousand words, then the remarkable photographs of Simon Cowell recovering in the warm seawater of Barbados after he had broken parts of his back, and had to undergo six hours of surgery a few months ago, is a priceless endorsement of the hassle-free peace and quiet that obtains here.
    Equally worthwhile is the sight of World War II veteran Captain Sir Tom Moore spending Christmas here. He has handsomely praised the great welcome and said he felt “very safe here” because of the rigid protocols.
    We need to capitalise on these positive items so as to accelerate the economic rebound which the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean thinks will come next year. Its latest report tells us that the overall Caribbean region expects to grow by 3.7 per cent next year. The report also tells us that there was a contraction of growth of -7.7 per cent during 2020, and that it was the largest contraction for 120 years.
    Push feasible ideas
    That grim statistic speaks to the economic and social pain experienced during the past 12 months, but it should also energise us to get on with pushing every feasible idea and project that can help us back on the growth path.
    That is one good reason we need to build on these strong positive messages sent by global celebrities who are spending Christmas on our island at the end of a most challenging year.
    The Government should be complimented on the ongoing effort to ensure that this country is not blacklisted. These connected events raised by us matter because we need to fight back on a variety of policy issues to ensure that as conditions for recovery improve in a post-COVID-19 atmosphere that we will be better able to fire on all cylinders.
    We have done well in the face of extremely difficult events which threatened to destroy most of the economic progress achieved since our Independence. But with all that has happened, recovery beckons. We must now grasp the nettle of recovery.
    The sensible objective hence forward must be the renewal of economic growth.