The climate developing countries have to manage affairs of state appears to be very challenging at this time. Barbados the former colony can no longer expect to hide or be protected by England. There was a time we benefited from preferential trade treatment which seemed fair in a dog eat dog world where the ‘strongest’ always has the best chance to navigate challenges.

In a post 54th independence period sensible Barbadians are forced to reflect and to ask – where do we go from here?

Some debate whether the decline of the Barbados economy (and society) started in the 70s, what is for certain is that the decline accelerated after the 2008 global recession. The structure of our economy with an over reliance on services made us extremely vulnerable to significant slowdown in the world economy. Unfortunately we have been unable to patch the vulnerability which has been exposed again by the Covid 19 pandemic.

Reading many comments on BU and listening to commentary elsewhere, it has become painfully obvious despite the dark challenges facing Barbados there are unrealistic expectations the leadership of the country has not address. Barbadians for many years have enjoyed a reasonable standard of living supported by deficit financing in the post Barrow period. There is nothing wrong with spending more than you earn but it is a practice which cannot be sustained. Successive governments in the last four decades have borrowed heavily to pursue national budget objects. We can continue to quibble about who to blame and see where that get us.

The blogmaster is palpably aware from walking among Barbadians on a daily basis that many are suffering from a form of ‘Alice in Wonderland Syndrome’. At a household level commonsense would dictate that supporting a lifestyle of spending more than one earns will lead eventually to a problem. Why do Barbadians expect a different outcome if successive governments continue to engage in reckless financial management? We have spent billions on education, should citizens possess the awareness to translate it to a strident lobby against the establishment to ensure realistic policy decisions are implemented? What about other key stakeholders in civil society like media houses/practitioners and NGO groups?

In the 54 Not Out blog there is a cursory discussion about local media. We have a David Ellis who has been the standout media person in Barbados over the years but a single journalist will not do it. Also we do not have the columnists of the past who provoked deep thought in the population the likes of Oliver Jackman, Gladstone Holder, Leonard Shorey to name only three. Active NGO groups are important as well because interest can be more forcefully represented in numbers. We are at a place in Barbados all problems must be solved by the government. To move forward we must implement a fit for purpose governance model. The reactionary approach to managing our affairs will not deliver meaningful long term results. We fail to plan, we plan to fail.

This morning as the blogmaster sips from a cup of peppermint tea alone with his thoughts, it is clear the country is suffering from a ‘fatigue’, especially wrought by the post 2008 period. This was compounded by a severe policy prescription that has decimated the hopes and dreams of the middleclass forced to witness a manhandling of nest eggs in the most unprecedented way. Finally came Covid 19.

The unprecedented times in which we live demands a degree of planning and collaboration between stakeholders in civil society never envisaged. The blogmaster is unable to reconcile conversations emanating from the mouths of key actors given what the national imperatives should be. Propping up a lifestyle fuelled by conspicuous consumption must be addressed. Calibrating our educations system to produce citizens who can compete to support themselves. Dismantling sub cultures and replace with initiatives to nurture national pride. The forgoing should positively impact crime. Last but not least the environment. We have to care about the space in which we have to exist.

No more tea…

Discuss for 15 marks.

267 responses to “Message to Barbadians”

1. To put things in perspective.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

A reasonable summary of the fears of the pseudo-intelligentsia of the society. Barbados from day one was a vulnerable society to which most of us have become reconciled. We expect good times and bad times. The Good Book of Fables has conditioned our minds to expect no different. It also taught us that in the end we will be victorious. We have traveled this road several times in our history. That is why we teach local history in schools.
    Successive governments have always done their best with the resources at their disposal. If we fail, it would be a result of knee jerk ,panic , half- thought- through decisions.

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

You have admitted that More Developed and Larger Countries than ours are experiencing the same maladies ,yet you expect us to do better. We are in a World of Greater Interdependency, so expect no different.We will continue to try our best.

So, more words of encouragement and less whining please.

4. (Quote):
    The blogmaster is unable to reconcile conversations emanating from the mouths of key actors given what the national imperatives should be. Propping up a lifestyle fuelled by conspicuous consumption must be addressed. Calibrating our educations system to produce citizens who can compete to support themselves. Dismantling sub cultures and replace with initiatives to nurture national pride. The forgoing should positively impact crime. Last but not least the environment. We have to care about the space in which we have to exist. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Should we bring along our umbrella or parasol today?

Is this a showery ‘shade’ of pearly wisdom (constructive criticism) or heat from the ‘shaded’ sun of righteousness called the Truth?

Any change for the socio-economic ‘betterment’ of the country must be treated like a job similar to how ‘soil technicians’ carry out their duties; by starting from the top.

Adrian Loveridge, on another blog, highlighted what is ‘basically wrong’ with Barbados.
    A lack of leadership which must set the examples for the people to emulate.

Why should the foreign money borrowed from the IMF to prop up the country’s Balance of Payments tottering position be used to import stale water in plastic bottles destined to despoil the environment in their millions?

As Hal Austin likes to harp on: ‘Talking and waving of hands would not cut it in the Covid-infected brave new World.

Neither would threats of reading the riot act to the pied piper of international business do the trick of turning a blacklisting into a whiter shade of grey.

At 54 and going 55 Barbados is no longer a baby state in need of some ongoing motherly monarchical protection; as can be seen by ‘her’ standing up to cut the umbilical cord to signal her arrival in the world of Republicanism.

Let the leaders in Bim stop the long ‘baby’ talk and walk the ‘real’ walk of adulthood!

‘Those who seek equity must come with clean hands.’

5. William Skinner Avatar

You talk about Jackman, Shorey and Holder and journalists of their calibre being missed .
    Just imagine@ Pacha, @ John A, @ Northern Observer, @ Piece@ DPD writing in BU under their real names and the reading public following their erudition.
    So, you are hard ears and have contributed to the drift by failing to carry BU to the next level. I assure you that if the advice to change course and make BU a blog that would knock the jokers in the traditional media upside down, had been taken, you would not be crying , crocodile teardrops , into your peppermint tea this bright morning.
    You constantly call on the political class to improve their governance . You need to apply the same expectations to matters you control.
    Judge Cumberbatch, Hal Austin, Caswell Franklyn , Kammie Holder, David Commisiong, Peter Wickham and others have not suffered by revealing themselves and they have all written in and contributed to BU over the years. In other words they have revealed themselves to the public. That is what idiots like me call integrity.
    It’s time for BU to become a more formidable player in public discourse.

6. @William

The names you mentioned will not pen articles using their names.

7. @Vincent

No made system is perfect, tension must continually be exerted to attempt to maintain equilibrium at minimum.

8. Oh well, being racist is taking a hit, some of these scamps slither into the Caribbean smiling fake smiles at Black people and are racist as hell, both them and the ones on the island who practice this demon activity, also need exposing, it’s clean up time, the backward government won’t want to do it, but others can, yall love to copy all of UK’s negative, copy the positive for a change.

https://youtu.be/tYtgim_aODM

9. RE It’s time for BU to become a more formidable player in public discourse.

DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR!
    IN A MBBS SHORT CASE SECTION IN THE FINAL EXAM IN MEDICINE, THE EXPECTED ANSWER TO THE ABOVE BOVINE EXUDATION WOULD BE DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR!

FAILURE TO GIVE THIS ANSWER CONFIDENTLY AND QUICKLY WOULD CAUSE AN ABRUPT TERMINATION OF THE EXAM.

DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR!

10. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

The Barbados Labour Party Govt. ill conceived notion to house Cruises from the SeaDream yacht cruises has backfired on the whole Cruise industry.

Now the whole World knows that they have bare idiots in Govt. down here.

11. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Even the Blog master too frighten to Blog under his real name.

12. @ Carson

It is not just anonymous bloggers, but when people use anonymity to be obscene and threatening then it becomes a serious problem. I am surprised the police have not yet intervened.
    One person comes on every day and nine out of ten of his/her contributions are threatening, abusive or downright vile. The other one out of ten is to talk about him/herself.

13. @ WURA-War-on-U December 2, 2020 9:14 AM

Sainsbury is just exploiting the opportunities of materialism offered by the black people to spend the little money they have at Xmas.

In the interest of ‘racial inclusion’ why can’t the same Sainsbury (and others) put on Xmas ads aimed at the ‘growing’ larger ethnic minority group(s) from the Indian subcontinent?

14. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

The Barbados Labour Party Govt. should be placed on the EU black list because it has failed to carry out the principals stated by the EU. The Govt. has been in power for nearly three years and has not done enough.

The EU is not being hard, it simply standing behind its regulations. As it should be.. It has given the Govt. a fair amount of time which it has squandered. Like so many other things.

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Hal

Anything goes in Barbados.

And many of the anonymous bloggers are so vile. In this they are encouraged by the person who runs this Blog.

16. @ Carson

Why is it that you can get it but our top lawyers and politicians cannot? Obey the agreed rules; get rid of the moneylaundering on the West Coast; stop the Irish gangsters from buying up our property.
    The EU may be racist; the OECD might be racist, the reality is that we are incompetent and just cannot stop whining and special pleading.
    Get your house in order.

17. William…it’s better that people who want to write articles on matters pertaining to Barbados, use international forums when attaching their real names, where the small time crabs have no power to retaliate…it’s also more effective given the short memory syndrome that abounds..

18. @ Carson C Cadogan December 2, 2020 9:41 AM

How about blacklisting the same BLP for not following through with the recommendations contained the AG’s most recent annual report which would effectively bring about the prosecution of those who managed the financially beleaguered entities under your destructive deceitful lying party from 2008 to 2018?

Why can’t you get it through your thick skull that there is not even a scintilla of light to tell the difference between the DLP and BLP except the capacity to lie with a convincing voice?

Why must you continue to fail to see that they are all a bunch of incestuously cursed friends and you are nothing but a yellow-breasted yardfowl in the arena of a make-believe blood sport called Bajan partisan politics?

19. “In the interest of ‘racial inclusion’ why can’t the same Sainsbury (and others) put on Xmas ads aimed at the ‘growing’ larger ethnic minority group(s) from the Indian subcontinent?”

maybe because they have their own culture and don’t practice the pagan shit that Black people adopted and forgot they have their own Kwanza…..real culture….

20. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

What is it she is going to the EU to do????

The EU needs to stick to their ground. Her Govt. was half hearted in its approach. Major things they need to do and have not done. For example there is man living here from the UK who the stole money form the company he owned, run down here , bought up many properties with the same money and nothing was done . When I told a WHITE BAJAN friend he said to me , that he knows “”that ever since, That is stale news.””

21. Then why are you here, Mr. Pretend Prig???????? Ain’t nobody following your directions!

Leave David King’s blog and blow him out of the water with your brilliance! Figuratively speaking, of course. I wouldn’t want to be accused of inciting violence!

🤣🤣🤣

P.S. I see you have not yet learnt what constitutes a threat under the law. Nobody on BU threatens anybody.

22. The usual suspects are mounting their boring soap boxes with their tired refrains📣📣📣

Yawn…

David, do what your mind tells you to do with your own blog! Let them do what they are telling you to do! Nothing is stopping them, is it?

23. @Donna

Boring is a good word. The same people who call for a raising of the bar shatter their message by posting rubbish.

24. Here is an example of rubbish with no fear of being corrected by the more intelligent on the blog because it suits a narrow agenda. The previous government were handed 10 items by the EU to complete in a reasonable time frame. The incumbent government gave priority to making the changes but the EU stuck to the original timeframe given read the 10 changes should have been completed by 2018.

The purpose of this comment is to emphasise the importance to being honest IF we want to advance.

25. @ David,

Did you see Ninja man ” replacing ” Nelson ? Bajan creativity ? lol

Back page of Barbados Today online.

26. @ WURA
    I must agree with you that there is a whole lot of victimization going on in Bim. Believe me, I was a victim and it is real. However, you writing under your name will help to break down this fear.
    The reason I may appear to be constantly going back to this issue, is because I honestly think that BU can be a real force. I must say that this is not, in my case about lip service to David.
    However I respect your take on the matter.
    Peace

27. @ WURA-War-on-U December 2, 2020 9:56 AM
    “..maybe because they have their own culture and don’t practice the pagan shit that Black people adopted and forgot they have their own Kwanza…..real culture….”

You said it!!!

Just didn’t want to mention any thing ‘black’ out of fear of incurring the wrath of the slave Quaker Johnny, the two GPs and VC.

Not even the Jews in the UK fall for that Northern European Winter Solstice pagan celebration in recognition of the annual ‘birth’ of a new Sun to light their new year ahead.

Barbados needs to earn forex (not borrowing) to justify this annual flagrant flight in materialism and conspicuous consumption.

There is nothing ‘wrong’ with celebrating Xmas but please don’t make it look like it has anything to do with Yahweh and his “only begotten son” Lord King Jesus.

28. @Blogmaster

You said,
    There is nothing wrong with spending more than you earn…

But then added,

*At a household level commonsense would dictate that supporting a lifestyle of spending more than one earns will lead eventually to a problem. *

Which one do you believe?

29. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Hal

The hat like it fitting “”donna””. Because she is pulling the string.

30. William…got ya…more concern should be shown for the people who can”t FEED THEIR CHILDREN ANYMORE….instead of the shite who now have to face EU and trying to make the people shut up while they suffer from HUNGER and can’t PAY THEIR BILLS……..they had 2 years to get it right since the clowns before them ignored their jobs….who cares if EU sanctions a liar…

31. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Governance of an Island is a continuum The same technocrats are in position..

It all a matter of priories.

32. @Dullard

Please reread. You chopped a bit.

33. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

should be “”priorities”” on line two.

34. RE I honestly think that BU can be a real force.

MANY OF US THOUGHT SO ONCE TOO.
    I CAME HERE SHARING MY EXPERTISE, FROM MY VERY FIRST POST ON STATINS AND MEDICAL MATTERS…………..AND WAS MOCKED!

I HAVE INVITED MANY HERE (BOTH YOUNG AND OLD AND WELL EDUCATED AND SOME IN LEADERSHIP POSITIONS) WHO RETREATED AND RECOILED IN HORROR AT THE VILE VICIOUS VIOLENT VITUPERATIVE VIBES WHICH WAS CALLED “CHALLENGING”

I REMEMBER ROK COMING TOO—ALL HOT AND SWEATY. HE WAS GOING TO USE BU TO CHANGE THE WORLD, BUT HE SOON WAS MOCKING AND CHALLINGING TOO.

MANY HEAR LIKE MOCKING AND CHALLENGING BUT THEY DONT LIKE TO BE MOCKED OR CHALLENGED, BY THOSE WHO CAN MOCK AND CHALLENGE MORE EFFECTIVELY THAN THEY.

I SPENT 6 YEARS TRAINING 20 YEARS PRACTICISING AND 10 YEARS TEACHING AND REALLY FULLY UNDERSTANDING WHAT I HAD LEARNED IN THE PAST, AND HERE TO BE MOCKED BY ILLITERATES IN ALL THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES.

HILARIOUS!
    SO WHY NOT MOCK TOO?

35. @ Carson C CadoganDecember 2, 2020 10:51 AM
    “Governance of an Island is a continuum The same technocrats are in position..”

Is that why the present administration refuses to recover the duties and taxes on a luxury vehicle that were waived during the previous ‘corrupt’ DLP?

The same conspicuous car driven around by a ghost employed for the past 3 years as a Sales Director’ at an imaginary hotel?

You are nothing but a blind jackass pulling a cart laden with crooks wearing red blue and yellow hats.

Don’t you think the EU and OECD are aware of the government’s blatant refusal to collect revenue from ‘certain’ sources but still want to approach the same EU with a begging bowl in one hand while holding a dirty stick of corruption in the other?

36. Nike is facing a backlash in Japan over an advert which highlights racial discrimination in the country.

The video shows the “real life experience” of three young soccer players from mixed heritage.

It has about 25 million views on social media and almost 80,000 shares.

But it has sparked fierce debate as Japan is unaccustomed to openly discussing sensitive issues such as race, with some questioning whether a foreign brand should have waded in.

Nike Japan said the ad highlights how people “overcome their daily struggles and conflicts to move their future through sports”.

37. When you rob your own people to give to minorities and leave Black people and their children to starve…deal with the fallout and stop trying to cast blame on EU to everyone else….you caused this, you are the culprit…call CNN, ABC, NBC and tell them what ya did….run to international news agencies now…they are waiting..

“Describing the current labour relations climate as the “lowest” in his 62-year lifetime, Franklyn contended that with the trade union movement “neutralised”, Barbados’ traditionally “docile” working class was not expected to fight back.

“It is [Mottley]’s actions that have caused this. The workers are just reacting to her behaviour… This is a labour party that has no regard for labour, forgetting that it was the masses who put her in power in the first place and it is her actions that have caused the problems in the country. The workers are only reacting to it and she is trying to throw blame away from herself when the buck stops at her,” Franklyn argued.

“What the Prime Minister has complained about will continue to happen, and God forbid that the police would try to force the people into submission, because from there things will erupt.

“The best thing for the police to do when they see the people demonstrating is to let them do it peacefully, because it will not go down well because people are hurting.

“People are coming into my office and just crying. You have parents out there with children and they have nothing to feed them with, and if that is not addressed something will happen. So the Government has to take measures to prevent any kind of uprising because they are the ones that have caused it,” the labour leader added.”

38. “Don’t you think the EU and OECD are aware of the government’s blatant refusal to collect revenue from ‘certain’ sources but still want to approach the same EU with a begging bowl in one hand while holding a dirty stick of corruption in the other?”

genieass crooks never believe that anyone can see through their fraud…

Ah don’t know why they don’t dial up African Diaspora channel and tell them all about it…they were hot to showcase removing nelson, this is much, much bigger news…

39. I could swear she boasted around the time of the bi-election “big works can’t happen without me?

so Black people and their families starving on the island because of NO JOBS and NO MONEY while marijuana slave plantations are sitting waiting to reenslave them….ARE ALL YOURS….OWN IT…

40. There are many other forums where Mia, her gang, all the racists and thieves on the island, can be effectively exposed internationally, just find them..

41. A story in today’s Advocate highlights the deep rooted problems in broken Barbados.

Next to Two Sons funeral home you will see our decrepit National Stadium. For all of its faults it is a building which has been utilised over the years by the large majority of the public.

Imagine my surprise when I read in today’s Advocate where it was announced that the first phase of development had commenced on the construction of a HOCKEY stadium!

The project has been part sponsored by government funds. This story highlights the priority of development in Barbados. It is focused on a tiny minority of the population at the expense of the majority.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/sports/boa-breaks-ground-construction-hockey-federation-pavilion-wildey

42. Here we go with that story again! What’s up with old men???? Yuh cyan remember to zip yuh fly but you can remember every time some anonymous person failed to stroke your overblown masculine gonads!

Get over yourselves! You aren’t that important.

Do I come here every day complaining about how you insulted my parents???

Or how some of you imply that I am a whore???

I kick yuh dumb asses and then I’m done. You ain’t rich enough to own space in my brain. You can only pay rent for a day and then…..EVICTION!

Soon Hal Austin will furnish us YET AGAIN with his lament of who called him a Roman Catholic, an insurance salesman and a financial advisor and how somebody (I don’t know who) threatened to make him curl up and die.

Man, you guys need to wear diapers to hold your shit!

43. Once again I read the usual postcolonial clichés. Nothing points to the future.

Barbadians have become too accustomed to the alms of the deep welfare state. That is the problem. It is absolutely clear that in order to restructure public finances and to boost the private sector, we need lower salaries at 1990 levels, fewer social transfers and lower taxes for the top-performers of society.

Only our present government of national unity and democratic revolution will be able to relaunch the economy and to transformer the island.

44. As for the sheep who once was lost but now is found, was blind but now doth see…. but still suffering from amnesia …

Yes, I pulled the string that Hal Austin left for me. Unfortunately for him, it was tied around his neck.

Oops!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

45. And it is DONNA, not “”donna””.

From BIRTH!

46. Every day, everywhere, women walk into offices crying because they have nothing with which to feed their children.

It is a serious problem that needs to be addressed because every child deserves to eat.

I don’t think that this government is as focussed on this as they should be at this time as many people can no longer beg or borrow from their family, friends or neighbours since they are also in the same boat.

This situation is far more dire. The usual support structures have been smashed to bits.

When are the promised projects going to begin?

Something literally has to GIVE!

47. @Donna

Investment is positively related to global indicators.

48. @ Chancellor David

Nuff food fuh taught.

As a Barbadian. I will say this in layman therms “stop trying to compete with those who are wealthy or pretend to be”. It’s a simple case of trying to keep up with the Joneses. Build yours from the inside out, not outside in.

I have a friend who lives in Maysonhall street and work in Bridgetown. She drives to work every day and park her car in Independence square.

A ten minute walk from her house vs 30 minute drive

Obviously it’s her decision to drive..She need to stop borrowing money fuh gas..

49. The issues are more complicated.

50. Vaccine..

UK becomes first country to approve Pfizer’s Covid-19 vaccine, first shots roll out next week