On the 54th anniversary of our Independence as it is referred to signify the slashing of our navel string from former empire, several issues floated around the fertile mind of a lowly blogmaster about what to blog.
We will read, listen view the usual scripting by program directors at the media houses. Barbadians everywhere will share on social media platforms things barbadianna. This is a good thing. The BU household is proud of what our tiny 21×14 little rock has been able to achieve with negligible natural resources. Like many countries across the globe, we are experiencing challenges that come with having to survive in a competitive space.
Some of us reflect on where we have come and try to visualize the road ahead still to be travelled. It is to be regretted that the some who are moved to engage in such reflections do not represent the majority. A reasonable observation is that the vast majority of the population is easily influenced by messaging from the establishment. Should this be the case given the billions of dollars allocated to education since 1966? A definition of the purpose of formal education “is to provide a knowledge source to enhance students’ skills, methods to capitalize and motivate their curiosity (BU emphasis) to improve their wellness and understand how their environment works...”. Hold this thought!
Barbados Underground (BU) was born after Adrian Loveridge had to sit in a separate VOB studio because it was the condition imposed by then minister of tourism Noel “Barney” Lynch. Several Loveridge columns were severely edited by the Nation newspaper were posted unedited to BU. The same courtesy was extended to Peter Wickham when the Nation declined to publish articles they considered to be defamatory. BU posted the articles unedited. Last and not least the same courtesy was extended to Senator Caswell Franklyn. The blogmaster is happy that today the individuals mentioned appear to have overcome whatever challenges existed with Starcom Network and Nation Publishing which denied them access.
To use another definition- a well functioning mass media should “inform, persuade, entertain and transmit culture“. Can we honestly opine that local media if evaluated on these four measures pass the test?
@ David I read some of the press comments you posted and will say just this. Anytime someone says the NIS Fund is sound cause it has 4 or 5 billion dollars in assets stop reading the article. It equated to me saying I have a $50,000 car cause that is what I paid for it, don’t mind it’s ten years old and has a market value of $5000.
John A
The quote inspired this blog for what it indirectly condemns as an irresponsible media, dishonest heads institutions and prominent others whose agenda is to protect the establishment at all cost. Why are we not having constructive engagement from the thousands of Barbadians educated at Cave Hill and elsewhere? Why has there been no commitment to remove the fog that has enveloped the National Insurance Fund? Why has traditional media given token coverage to this matter?
The topic of the NIS has to be the most posted topic on BU. Despite assurances by successive governments, it has become crystal clear to this blogmaster the time has come for all issues good and bad affecting the NIS fund to be laid bare and as a people agree to a palatable way forward.
On this 54th birthday of our Independence this is the matter top of the mind of a lowly blogmaster. The ask therefore is that 54 not out is a good time to mark fresh guard.
@John A sadly Covid 19 is a respiratory thing, and hastily removed all the breathing space they thought they had gained. And then exposed that, with a prior serious underlying condition.
Northern Observer
Smallness can be a good thing BBD has a lower population that Brent or Barnet (which are in UK)
RE a well functioning mass media should “inform, persuade, entertain and transmit culture
IT CAN NOT BE DENIED THAT BU IS A GOOD SOURCE OF ENTERTAINMENT
IT IS CERTAINLY SO FOR ME
@ David Bu
An anniversary is usually a time for celebrating a country’s achievements. In the previous year the perceived ills of the NIS were analysed in several postings of Bu . In todays issue of the Sunday Sun an article by the Employers Confederation summarizes quite adequately where we are on the viability of the fund. Those remarks were made at sundry times in BU. So you have done a good job.
Even the reason for failure to produce published accounts for over 10 years was put forward in this forum.
54 years not out
Tough times ahead in tourism
Article by
sherrylynclarke@nationnews.com
Tough times ahead in tourismPrime Minister Mia Mottley and hotelier Gordon Seale. (Picture by Sandy Pitt)
A veteran hotelier says COVID-19 could be the worst crisis to have ever hit the tourism sector in Barbados and it will be rough going for the next six to eight months.
Gordon Seale, the owner of Sugar Bay Barbados Resort was speaking at a press conference on Saturday to address issues within the tourism sector, including the industrial relations climate.
Prime Minister Mia Mottley hosted the more than hour-long session which included representatives from the Barbados Workers’ Union, the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, the Ministry of Tourism and the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.
Seale said he was optimistic the industry could rebound on the hopes of vaccines in the works, but was expecting more shocks in the interim.
“I don’t think we are seeing the end of the spikes in this COVID pandemic. I am certainly under the impression that what they have done in England and other parts of the UK is intended to ease the pressure on the hospitals rather than to actually deal a knockout blow to COVID, and if that’s the case, then basically we may see additional lockdowns in the future,” he said.
As a result, he sees the tourism industry as being very fluid, so he was pleased they could tweak the stimulus package, known as the Barbados Employment and Sustainable Transformation (BEST) Plan. About 40 properties have signed on.
555dubstreet
Generator English Pop 12” V
You’re of a (HigherEchelon) ?
I tried fruitlessly at times to comprehend. Maybe it’s the height (weed) @ 80…
Peace ☮️
@Vincent
A one article will not cut to achieve the awareness required by the masses.
“Seale said he was optimistic the industry could rebound on the hopes of vaccines in the works, but was expecting more shocks in the interim”.
Are we optimistic?
UK ‘at risk’ of third wave that could force another national lockdown.
Lucy Middleton Sunday 29 Nov 2020 11:33 am The UK could face a third wave of the pandemic if it fails to get the balance of restrictions ‘right’ over Christmas, the Foreign Secretary has warned. Appearing on the BBC’s Andrew Marr Show today, Dominic Raab refused to rule out a third national lockdown in the New Year. When asked about another peak of the virus, he said: ‘There’s a risk of that if we don’t get the balance right. But so far the R level is coming down, that’s really important.’ He went on to add that the government’s new tier system, which is more restrictive than the first time it was introduced, will allow rules to ‘ease up’ when there is confidence the virus risk is decreasing.
Andrew Marr then interjected, asking if there could be another lockdown in 2021 if the government does not get the ‘behaviour’ it would like from the public over Christmas. It was announced this week that families would be allowed to form bubbles with two other households between December 23 and 27. Visit our live blog for the latest updates Coronavirus news live Raab said the government are doing ‘everything we can’ to avoid the heaviest restrictions returning in January, but refused to say whether he would back the measures if necessary. The current nationwide lockdown in England is due to end on December 2, with areas across the country then plunged back into a tier system. The tiers will be reviewed in two weeks.
But earlier this week Boris Johnson wrote to Conservative MPs offering them another chance to vote on the restrictions next year, saying the tier system will have a ‘sunset of February 3, 2021..
Tourism & Reality..
Big brother is coming..💉
Are you ready?
What about your kids?
Most people around the world 🌍 said they probably will take the vaccine when it becomes available. When asked if they will allow their kids to take it. No responses were given. We are very protected of our kids. Well, alike most vaccines for kids are associated with immunisation prior to school.
Our adopted parents :
Moderna – USA 🇺🇸
Canzoni Biologies – China 🇨🇳
Inovio – USA 🇺🇸
BioNTech – Germany 🇩🇪
Pfizer. – USA 🇺🇸
Univ of Oxford
AstraZeneca – England 🏴
Italy 🇮🇹
Novavax – Canada 🇨🇦 & GlaxoSmithKline England 🏴
Gamaleya Research – England 🏴
CureVac. – Germany 🇩🇪
Clover Biopharmaceuticals
China 🇨🇳
Sanofi – France 🇫🇷
Merck – USA 🇺🇸
Johnson & Johnson – USA 🇺🇸
Sputnik V – Russia 🇷🇺
Good luck peoples….
Cost per units are approximately 32. 6 EUR – 5. 8 EUR..
A happy Independence day to all. May you have a safe and happy day.
This is a disappointing list.Once more our most outstanding living historian, Professor Keith A.P. Sandiford, has been overlooked. There is a routine tendency to overlook overseas Barbadians, and in particular those who have done outstanding work in the communities they live in and in their occupations/professions.
How can Hillary Beckles get a knighthood and not Kamau Brathwaite or KAP Sandiford? Ridiculous.
First of all did you submit a nomination form?
Was a nomination form submitted?
Weâre they nominated and declined to accept the recognition?
Facts please!
My Top Honours goes to the people
There are times when differences can and should be put aside and look at the bigger picture
What i see is a people who have been resilient against all odds through thick and thin
Families shaken but not broken time and time again fighting long and hard to make things work even when stumbling blocks are put in the way
I also see a country even at times when divided people rely on prays to be answered by God to lift there spirits and help them through the tough times
I also see a wounded and hurt people yet willing to forgive and forget
Wrapped in every disappointment i see a country never willing to give up
A brave. A strong and determined people
You have earned your wings to soar like eagles
Happy Independence Day Barbados
Happy Independence Day Barbados.
Happy Independence Day Barbados
Great post, Mariposa.
Beginning to wonder if you have plans for 2023.
Great post.
What is this order of freedom. What freedom have these people extended? Have there been any wars at home or abroad which have escaped our notice? What are the measurements of levels of this socalled freedom? Why distribute honours on an entirely fictitious basis in the service of a petite nationalism? Is it so impossible to find other means of rewarding elite blp yardies?
@Pacha
A system of reward and recognition is one that is useful to encourage participants. The challenge like most things is its abuse.
@ Mariposa
Well said and exactly what needs to be said. Errol Barrow once said: “The only resource we have is our people.”
Regardless of circumstance they always show deep love for our country.
Happy IndependenceDay , Mariposa.
Indeed, what is this independence. Where is this independence? Would it not be less timid to suggest that this independence socalled was more akin to delivering the keys but changing the lock? Has the repatriation of the constitution from Washington as Barrow demanded been won? How are the Bajans of 2020 fundamentally different to those of 1966?
Like the great Afrikan-American, Frederick Douglas, this is your indendence not ours. As a result we are bound to demure from engagement in your trifling assertions.
@ David November 30, 2020 12:41 AM
Is the country Barbados going to continue with the Knighthood lark into the new Republic where every man can be a ‘Sir’ of distinction and woman a ‘Lady’ of merit?
When are some good hardworking Barbadians from the coalface of charity going to be awarded the ‘Order of the Flying Fish (and Cou-cou)’?
How about the Order of the Sugar & Rum to memorialize RPB’s Ode “Sugar Made Us Free?
How about the ‘Medal of the Pelican’ just like the T&T Republic has the Medal of the Hummingbird with no knights (or dames) from St. Andrew to shoot at it?
You should soon see if the current administration is really serious about the Republic thingy for 2021.
Are you awaiting the announcement of another round of distribution of ‘Muttley’ medals in the form of ‘Queen’ counsels (QCs),as opposed to SC’s, to make the judicial system look more like it is being ‘manipulated’ by an incompetent troupe of circus-performing monkeys under the tutelage of Hal Austin?
@Miller
There was a time Barbados was regarded as a model Black country. Until we rediscover our gumption and mojo to walk an unchartered path to give rise to new possibilities it means we have to follow the old scripts.
No Sir David!
It is a system which consolidates the status quo. A system which elevates elitism in ways which sideline the collective imagination of all Bajans at home and abraod. These metrics make our society as colonial at its core, still.
@Pacha
There nothing wrong with a system that promotes reward and recognition. In the existing arrangement there is the opportunity to tweak to make it relevant. Encourage behaviour by participants to push more aggressively to achieving national objectives.
Congratulations to all the honorees and also to those not so honoured but undoubtedly who did tremendous service to protect their fellow Bajans over the particularly difficult early days of cov19.
A grand happy independence to all … wherever we roam, wherever we lay our heads Barbados remains unquestionably our HOME at heart!
Yours cannot be the outer limits of what independence, development, as a nation project should mean.
David.
@Pacha @Miller
Of course not, the comment was confined to the importance of having a reward and recognition system that is ‘fit for purpose’.
https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
https://youtu.be/2_BndvlHqPU
Happy Independence Day to all lets forget the politics this one day, a deserving round of applause to all the honorees.
Happy Independence Day
Happy 54th Barbados
https://youtu.be/XE5xaKgcOSQ
Yours we recognize will regretably be the dominant position, argument, popularly accepted.
A position unassailable however dead ended it has always been and will forever be.
https://youtu.be/NyomMdRXpnA
@Pacha
A recognition well deserved?
Theo
Thank u
William
Thank u
Wrapped in all our political differences and criticisms we all have one thing in common that is our love of Barbados
The noise makers and haters would say different
But we known different
Love yuh Barbados
Peace and love
Sir Wes was brought up by his grand mother, Beryl, in Sister Waithe’s church in Mayer’s land, My Lord’s Hill. He has gone back to his childhood religion.
His grand mother, Don Blackman’s mother, and my grand mother used to walk to church religiously together. They are all now in Heaven looking down.
https://www.instagram.com/p/CIN59KbJ9xX/
ALWAYS NICE TO HEAR THE POLICE BAND PLAY NO MATTER WHAT GENRE OF MUSIC
WE ARE STILL SINGING THE NATIONAL ANTHEM INCORRECTLY AND SING A DOTTED NOTE IN THE CHORUS THAT IS NOT WRITTEN IN THE SCORE
WE TOO LIKE A CHURCH SERVICE IN BARBADOS
MAKES US FEEL GOOD, NUH…………THEN THE PARTICIPANTS GO OUT AND FORNICATE AND COMMIT ADULTERY AND ROBBERY AND RAPE, AND ALL MANNER OF LAWNESS NESS IN CLUDING CURSING LIKE PIRATES, AS IS THE NORM HERE ON BU
DO WE REALLY STAND ON THE PROMISES? WE DONT
BUT WE CERTAINLY HAVE A FORM OF GODLINESS THOUGH DENYING THE POWER THEREOF AS TAUGHT IN 2 TIM :5 AND AS HAS BEEN WITNESSED AND ALLOWED ON SSS SINCE OCTOBER 23RD 2019
@ Hal Austin November 30, 2020 10:45 AM
You were once following in Sir Wesley’s footstep rather well.
From walking through the alleys of the Ivy and its environs to St. Giles and naturally on to Combermere under the strict tutelage of Major Noot; and then what, Hal?
To Tudor’s Funeral Home with Bottleneck as your chauffeur on your last journey to your final resting place in the St. Barnabas garden of tranquillity with your epitaph:
‘If only I had become a Bajan politician instead of a ‘Limey’ journalist I would have been a ‘white’ King instead of ‘black’ Knight!’
PS:
Don’t worry too much about ‘regrets’. You were born and raised in a ‘district’ which produced the likes of Sir Grantley Adams, Florence Springer, Joe Tudor, and even your hero of Bajan economics, Dr. Delisle.
What is a curse word really? Just a colourful insult. No different is a “jackass” from a “moron”.
Or a rasshole asshole from a brimler or illiterate etc. etc. etc.
All with the same sentiment or purpose.
Does the Bible decry the use of these particular words or the sentiments that lead to their use, and the purpose for using them?
Big long Bajan steuuuuupse!
Spot on!
@ Hal
On occasion my cricket club , has invited Sir. Wesley as our guest of honor , at our annual awards dinner. There are few that can match him in speaking at such functions. He has so many stories to tell. One of his famous jokes is on Brian Lara:
Apparently , Lara told Wes, that he named his daughter Sydney after some great innings in Australia. Wes said to Lara: It’s a good thing you didn’t make that innings in Lahore India.
Peace 🇧🇧
@ William
As a speaker he took after old Beryl. She had a deep and powerful voice and was very articulate. She was a character in the church and I remember it well.
The Ivy has produced, and continues to, some of the most outstanding young sports men and women. I remember Sir Wes as a wicketkeeper.
give some more big long Bajan steuuuuupses
BUT I SAY AGAIN AND IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
1-WE TOO LIKE A CHURCH SERVICE IN BARBADOS
2- MAKES US FEEL GOOD, NUH…………
3- THEN THE PARTICIPANTS GO OUT AND FORNICATE AND COMMIT ADULTERY AND ROBBERY AND RAPE, AND ALL MANNER OF LAWNESS NESS IN CLUDING CURSING LIKE PIRATES, AS IS THE NORM HERE ON BU
NOTE THAT WE DONT ONLY CURSE AND SWEAR
4 WE REALLY DONT STAND ON THE PROMISES BUT HATE AND MOCK THOSE WHO EVEN MENTION THEM
5 WE CERTAINLY HAVE A FORM OF GODLINESS THOUGH DENYING THE POWER THEREOF AS TAUGHT IN 2 TIM :5 AND AS HAS BEEN WITNESSED AND ALLOWED ON SSS SINCE OCTOBER 23RD 2019
give some more big long Bajan steuuuuupses NOW
True, it cannot be refuted ….. as long as the “we” was a real real “we”!
Unfortunately, you often seek to seperate yourself from the “we” by extolling your “profanity” free vocabulary. So I doubt it.
And so it falls to me to put you in your place wid de res’ uh “we”.
Welcome to the club!
Tee hee!
Begging yuh pardon!
Correction – a big Bajan belly laugh.
Wuhlaus, muh belly!
Murdaaaaaaah!
“I want on the behalf of the Government and people of Barbados . . . to salute you and to say to all of the others who helped to create that moment, that we will do all in our power as a Government to continue to ensure that you will not only be honoured, but that the legends of Barbados will not just remain as a cricketing legacy. We must merge the legacy of the legends with the current requirement of what we must do to earn,” she said
(~_~)
I guess that finally puts to rest the “any idiot could play cricket” notion. No?
@Skinner
You messed up the punch line 😊
Lahore is in Pakistan
@ de pedantic Dribbler November 30, 2020 9:23 AM
“A grand happy independence to all … wherever we roam, wherever we lay our heads Barbados remains unquestionably our HOME at heart!”
Aye aye Captain…
@ Sargeant
Thanks 😊
@ Donna.
Be Jovial on this given day…
Lol 😂
On the 54th day of Independence Mia blew kisses at the front liner workers
Workers that she place in the frontline of the deadly virus called COVID
It would have been nice if Mia had told cabinet that she was calling on cabinet to initiate a policy that would supply financial funding for these workers if they got infected with the virus whilst on the job in order to reduce their financial stress of being unemployed
On the 54th day of Independence
Mia took the opportunity to roll.out a long drawn out political speech
A speech which was numbing to the ears and full fledged optics riddle with excuses all but which told barbadians that in order for the country to succeed the people must suffer
In other words expect more of the same govt policies that have put them through the ringer
Of course Mia knows that bajans are idiots and love tripe
Some interesting quotes;
At the same time (PM Mottley) she called on employees to” recognise that sometimes it is not the loudest voice or the easiest way to make a spectacle that brings on (reflects on) yourself , the community or the country”.
” There is no neeed to shout even if somebody starts to do us wrong”.
” There are ways of dealing with these matters and we know how to do it and can do it without undermining the confidence that those who may be watching from outside have in us literally, because they see all of these examples of what they view as wildcat action taking place in this nation” Nation Newspaper Tuesday December 1st. 2020.
Imagine a Prime Minister making such anti-worker sentiment in a Independence Day address. This is the same politician who was marching up and down Barbados less than three years ago. Question: Who are these “outside ” people who watching us ?
But the following quote says it all:
” However , I must caution the unions that they must be very careful who they choose as bedfellows. It is prophesied that a time will come when the lion shall lie down with the lamb . But I must warn them that the time has not yet come and they are in danger of becoming lamb chops.” Caswell Franklyn , Monday July 24th 2017, barbados Underground.
Broke and desperate workers who have been robbed of their severance and other National Insurance benefits are now being told not to shout and don’t make spectacles of themselves and keep a happy face for people from “outside” their country. A very dark cloud is slowly covering our island state.
THIS IS AMAZING!
SIMPLY AMAZING.
MIA CARES INDEED! BUT FOR WHOM? IT SEEMS SHE CARES MAINLY FOR those who may be watching from outside
IN HER INCOHERENT RANT MIA INDICATES HER GROSS INCOMPETENCE AND INEPTITUDE
WHAT IS AMAZING TOO IS THAT THE BLOGMASTER PROMOTES AND DEFENDS THIS IDIOT BUT CURSES WITH A GREAT DEAL OF FERVOUR A LEADER WHO WAS SUCCESSFUL IN ACHIEVING MUCH FOR HIS COUNTRY—–SOMETHING THAT MIA WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO DO FOR A BARBADOS THAT MARCHES RELENTLESSLY TO ITS DEMISE
https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
COME ON STRUGGLING BAJANS
HELP THE UNITED NATIONS WITH THEIR PLEAS
SEND A BILLION US DOLLARS
Tony,
I guess you are new to the blog otherwise you would know that I do not take kindly to men telling me what I should do, who I should be and how I should behave. THEREFORE…. I will be jovial when I see fit.
I forgot my lol. 😊
Wait! I thought the USA is also marching to its demise.
Signed,
Covid free in Barbados unlike Covid riddled America.
P.S. 1 in 6 Americans food insecure.
275,000 Americans dead. Hospitals overflowing. Patients being turned away.
Looks like we all struggling in different ways. I prefer our way. I am going out today to shop. I will put some money in the Salvation Army tin. I will buy from the hawkers/vendors and black businessess and spread the money around.
We will live to fight another day.
It is interesting that now we have celebrated our 54th anniversary of independence, we are not as keen to reflect on the fact that ALL our official archives of our external affairs from the 1960s to 80s have gone missing.
Is this carelessness, incompetence or another example of a failed state? Were those the lost decades?
If David Ellis has not been honoured at the national level, I believe it is about time he was.
He has maintained a standard of excellence in journalism and public education, day in and day out, for more than a generation.
@Walter
Agreed.
He was honored by BARJAM in the weekend.
@ Walter
We only recognise an elite – political, business and social.
@ Walter
We only recognise an elite – political, business and social.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
@ Hal
DAVID ELLIS DOES NOT HAVE THE PETTY-GREE,
Donna ?
Barbados Women Squad / Players 2001
Donna-Marie Layne
Current Age:
52 years 198 days
Major Teams:
Barbados Women, Hertfordshire Women
Batting: Left-hand bat
Bowling: Right-arm fast-medium…
Wow 😯 all rounder..
That’s my Girl…
But how come the Barjam shoulder has been given a cold shoulder on BU no rabbit hole on this one
Mia has recevied stinging Criticism across social media
BU dont let the brigade call out as a Mia undercover supporter or is that a truth
Mia used the media to win the election
Now she is through with them
She throws that lot under the bus
Lol
Yes 👏
Bus dum Mia, they ain’t no F…..g good..
Some how. a part of me feels good about these recent turn of events
This same Barjam lied about not being in cohoots with Mia in colloborating the media bi election debate
That much should have said that Mia nor Barjam had no respect for the bajan intelligence
Barjam lies have now come back to bite them in the arse by Mia
Makes for a good belly laugh .lol
Pingback: Message to Barbadians | Barbados Underground
@ Mariposa
Are you suggesting that the reason why David Ellis was not given an Independence Award was because he turned down the St George North by-election TV debate?
Are you suggesting the president is vindictive?
RE Are you suggesting the president is vindictive?
PERISH THE THOUGHT HAL. SHE IS AS PURE AS A LILLY AND LIKE THE VIRTUOUS WOMAN OF PROVERBS 31
I will hear nothing negative said about the president.
THANK YOU SIR
AS A LOYAL BAJAN YOU ARE TO BOW AND WORSHIP HER
AND REGULARLY APROXIMATE YOUR LABIAE ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE THAT OVERLIE HER GLUTEI, FOR LENGTHY PERIODS
I do not know what you have said, but it sounds nice.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/28/lawyers-who-break-bond-of-trust-will-get-no-sympathy/
I like the phrase … You are “a trustee, never a beneficiary”
Translation: Stop acting like a damn thief and be a lawyer.
The President is like St. Paul all things to all people
Can take a waffle and make sweet bread
I heard she took a jug of koolaid gave it to the people and told them it was sweet bread
The last of her miracles was to convince the media that a debate was a correct road to transparency and accountability for the candidates never mind that she was not included
The media gracefully bowed to her wishes and the rest is history
Presently the media is feeling the last remaining remnants of her white wash and they are angry
Congratulations to Mighty Gabby. Hopefully the ticker is in good shape …LOL.
Gabby 72 not out
How many of yuh old men on BU can say that at your age 70 plus can begin a new marriage to some one much younger than yuhself
RE Hal AustinDecember 2, 2020 5:37 PM
i SAID SHE WANTS YOU TO KISS HER BACKSIDE
@ Mariposa at 7:24 PM
And why would we, old men. want to do that?
THIS IS HOW THE WHITE BUSINESSES TREAT BLACK BAJANS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND AND GET AWAY WITH IT.
“WHO SAID MASSA WAS DEAD”
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Shocked employees meet closed gates
Employees of Ready-Mix Ltd will spend the Christmas season with a bitter taste in their mouths, after being laid-off abruptly and subsequently locked out of their place of employment while attempting to collect the documents necessary to file for their unemployment benefits.
The surprise actions have also raised suspicions among workers about the breakdown of ongoing salary negotiations between management and the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU).
President of the union’s Ready-Mix division Andre Sealy explained that the 61-member staff is usually laid off annually around December 18th until early January. This year however, they were shocked to receive notification as they were leaving on Wednesday, of the company’s intention to lay them off from Thursday, December 3rd.
“They laid us off without any notice. They just gave it to us in the evening, in the blink of an eye, and trust me, the men don’t feel good,” Sealy explained.
In the correspondence, General Manager Graham Proverb told staff that the company had “no alternative” given the “current circumstances at this time”.
Their shock then turned to anger when they found a locked gate at the Lear’s, St. Michael compound around 7 a.m. as they arrived to collect their National Insurance Scheme (NIS) “green paper”. Security officials, reportedly acting on the instructions of management informed employees that they would not be allowed to enter.
Simultaneously, approximately 12 workers who had arrived around 6 a.m. were locked inside, and in response, scores of angry workers outside, drove their vehicles up to the gate blocking all exit and entry.
“The men got angry and they drove up to the gate and parked by the gate. So nobody could get in or out until the union came and spoke to us,” the union president further explained.
During a brief interview in the afternoon, BWU General Secretary Toni Moore declined to comment on the matter.
Barbados TODAY later learned that some employees have not had a raise of pay for almost ten years, and this was among matters being discussed. In fact, the union president suggested that a recent breakdown in negotiations might have been responsible for the company’s behaviour.
“Right now, negotiations are going on in terms of salary increases and those negotiations broke down between the union and the management, so all of this is a part of it,” he said.
Efforts to reach the general manager were unsuccessful.
Meanwhile, outspoken employee Michael John explained that workers were concerned about the wording of the letter informing staff of the layoff as well as the abrupt manner in which the information was relayed.
“For the five years that I have been there, they would say that they are shutting on the 18th and you would come to work to receive your green papers, because that is the last day of work. If they changed the date to the 3rd shouldn’t the same procedure stand?” asked John.
“Why, after they told us after 3 o’clock yesterday that the company is closing on the 3rd, then today when you have come to collect the documents, you can’t enter the premises? Why wasn’t my green paper attached to it as well? Once the green paper was attached to the card yesterday, then I would have known definitely that yesterday was the last day,” he continued.
The impasse continued until around 11 and according to the frustrated employee, the general manager did not come out to address them.
“He sent the sales manager Andrew Lewis to ask us to move our vehicles from blocking the gate… He did not come to say a word, so we waited patiently until the union representatives showed up to give us a better understanding of what is going on. From my understanding, they spoke with management so that the guys can get their green papers, and then we dispersed as necessary,” he added.
The 61-member staff complement comprises mechanics, forklift drivers, and truck drivers, and up until Wednesday, the concrete-making company was said to be working on numerous projects including at a branch of Chefette Restaurants, Sam Lord’s Castle and others.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/04/shocked-employees-meet-closed-gates/
What a gawd awful color coordination of a design of a dress Mia was wearing on Independence Day
One resembling a parrot
Oh what a tangle web we weave when we practice to deceived
Millions of taxpayers money gone and some more heading down the drain
For years these hoteliers were sucking off govt nipples
Now crying poverty and asking govt to do more
Lick them up they owe more than what they are asking
The workers have to pay their bills too
Now other business to whom theses workers are indebted are locked up in this quagmire of dispute because of poor governance
Yeap the bottom has finally fell out of the leaking basket
It was just a matter of time
I give up
I does read these long pieces and at the end I have no idea of the point(s) made.
Does a school established in 1818for people of color admit blacks or is it for massa sons and daughters? I believe people of color had a different meaning back then.
I cannot read these color blind article of 1800 to 1850