Unfolding in Barbados, is the by-election in St George North with Ms. Toni Moore as the candidate for the Barbados Labour Party. In her response at the public announcement, she stated that she is going to “help labour.” It makes absolutely no sense at all because her job description is to “help labour,” and in addition she also sits as a Senator and is a member of the Sub- Committee of the Social Partnership.
Has Ms. Moore forgotten what a labour union is? By definition, it is an organized association of workers, trades or professions, formed to protect and further their rights and interests.
In fact, if the union needed advancement or a political voice to protect them in today’s Barbados, my argument is that the General Secretary of the largest workers union in Barbados, the Barbados Workers Union should not have accepted an offer to be candidate of a political party when she has the capacity to form her own political party.
The trade union movement has been at the cross roads in Barbados for some time and perhaps forming a worker’s party is the requirement to inject new life into this entity.
We all know the old adage, if only the lion knew its strength, then it would rule the world. In 2020, why would the leader of the largest workers union in Barbados accept the candidacy to be a part of political party and not create their own? Is it that there is a lack of vision?
In my opinion, there being no real labour parties left in Barbados, the onus on her should have been to realize this and form a labour party. Sadly Ms. Moore did not see this opportunity.
What is a labour party? It is simply a political party formed to represent the interests of ordinary working people. Based on their performance, both the BLP and the DLP have long since departed the model.
There are tremendous benefits that can be derived for the ordinary workers of Barbados if a worker’s union formed its own political party. An increase in the minimum wage, redirecting the emphasis of government to the ordinary working class instead of big business, redirection of government contracts, the development of housing for the working class, the development of workers co-operatives and business development that serves as a platform for black economic enfranchisement and the list goes on.
If she wins the by-election, the conflict of interest that will arise for Ms. Moore goes far beyond which hat she wears to ultimately which voice takes precedence, that of the Prime Minister or that of the members of the Barbados Workers Union. Based on her recent acts of conceding to government demands, it is unlikely that this will change. Most likely members of the workers union will not be confident about an altered relationship which will be perceived as the union in bed with the government.
One can be of the opinion that Ms. Moore was quite shortsighted. It is hoped that she has not dropped her bone for a reflection. However, there is scope for someone to take the trade union movement to new and greater heights than it has previously achieved.
BU is the best. The BU crew argues that Caswell is an expert on civil service matters. He says the PM offers him a job to oversee all Permanent Secretaries and BU crew now cussing the PM. I thought all yuh say the civil service needs revamping? I thought all yuh argued all persons, regardless of their political stripes should be used? The fact he said the PM said it openly tells us what? Only last night the PM spoke about the need for similar posts. Is the current government the most anti-worker as the Senator claims or not? A few months ago, the senator was stated:
“It is bordering on corruption that this man is going home in less than a year, and is being promoted to deputy so he would get the pension based on the deputy commissioner’s salary……..It has nothing to do with any efficiency in the police force. What will someone responsible for personnel do in crime fighting. The police does not need a person who is trained at the level of deputy commissioner to do personnel work. They could have gotten a senior personnel officer from the Ministry of the Public Service. You don’t need an HR person at the level of Deputy Commissioner”. Wasn’t that insulting to Oral Williams? In that same article the senator is referred to as “representing the People’s Party for Democracy and Development”. All yuh are hypocrites.
Mia needs to talk about all the tens of millions of dollars = BILLIONS stolen from the treasury and pension fund over the last 50 years, she needs to talk about all the elderly that got robbed their estates and their beneficiaries of their futures, she needs to talk about the 1 billion dollars the minority business people stole IN VAT and she wrote it off like if it was hers instead of LOCKING UP THE MINORITY THIEVES WHO ROBBED BLACK BAJANS..
..she needs to talk about the old man’s body, Mr. Steele, that was STOLEN FROM THE QEH and hurriedly buried, and his estate robbed, they even stole his car and attempted to process letters testamentary ROBBING HIS BENEFICIARIES living in UK, while judge(s), registrar, police, the Afghan dude who is a convicted felon in London and Deidre Alleyne a civil servant and neighbor of Mr. Steele, her victim… thought they were free and clear until they got the shock of their lives..and had to RESCIND the letters testamentary…
TALK ABOUT THAT…
The million dollar question of the day
Was OSA right?
I believe so
The higher Mia climb the more her tail becomes exposed
Mia made a big mistake attacking Caswell
There is a ground swell if support across social media
Many branding Mia as a despot
Again i ask was OSA right about Mia character
Well well Ms Mottley is disgraceful for exposing the hypocrisy of Mr Franklyn which he has not denied but he can get up and lambaste people and the BU group has no problem.The old people had a saying what is good for the goose good for the gander.In other words if you can, t stand the heat stay to hell out the kitchen.I wonder where this outrage was when the Dems spent a whole night cussing Ms Mottley.It was so disgraceful that it was condemed in and outside Barbados to the point they had to remove the entire thing.Now that is disgraceful and they are yet to apologise for it.
@ Mariposa or AC
The whole issue here is that Senator Caswell Franklyn is seen as the single man in Barbados who is willing and able to fight Mugabe Mottley
Look around the island Mariposa and call another person’s name who has had the intestinal fortitude to stand up to this Dictator Mugabe Mottley
And that is why all this noise to try and discredit this man with integrity!
http://imgur.com/a/IrfYadG
But it does not matter whu Mugabe does, Caswell Franklyn gine un mek she at the polls!
Leh de ole man give wunna a strategy.
Call a meeting with Verla and announce it in the news.
Sign what would be a “non aggression agreement between the PdP and the DLP!
Put it to the test in St George North
I, Piece the Prophet, prophesy dat it will destroy ANY BLP BRIBERY CAMPAIGN DEM PLANNING!
De ole man will give you gents strategy!
Let the natural synergies of Bajan community and word of mouth word for your joint effort AGAINST ALL THE MILLIONS THE BLP HAS!
https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2020/10/01/floyd-reifer-gets-dlp-nod-as-st-george-north-candidate/
PM’s political playbook ‘fixated on optics’
A senior academic and social scientist is urging Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s political “handlers” to rethink the strategy of pushing her constantly before the international press in what appears to be a case of “profile building” and a “fixation on optics”.
The position has been outlined by head of the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute for Social and Economic Studies (SALISES) at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies (UWI) Dr Don Marshall, who linked it to regional political strategist Hartley Henry and slammed the tactic as “tone deaf”.
Writing on his Facebook page, Marshall said: “Last week the Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley herself was at the receiving end of an inconsiderate question by a British journalist.
She responded well but I posted elsewhere that her handlers should rethink having our Prime Minister routinely appear before the international press circuit as it’s not the place for her Office and the demands of the job.
Her campaigns for the cause of SIDS [Small Island Developing States] at international summitries and conferences have already raised her profile.”
The UWI academic added: “We also had a Throne Speech mid-term replete with partisan rhetoric and reminder of the Party’s Manifesto pledges.
This detracted from what ought to have been a post-lockdown, post-COVID call to action with a coherent, budgeted, Development Renewal Plan with key performance targets and clear signposts.
“I well recall the BERT [Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation programme] which spoke more to fiscal rebalancing than transformation touching such chords as with appeals to ‘stay the course’.
“All of the above causes me to ask after her handler/s. I am attempting here something that may be unprecedented and that is to question a political strategy based on building the profile of the leader as key to regime consolidation.”
Marshall charged that the current Mottley political strategy translated to all ministerial successes being so attributed to her, while “all failures deflected elsewhere”.
The SALISES head questioned the effectiveness of Mottley’s “decorous silence” on many important issues such as “violent gun crime and violence against women” and the lack of details on “finance and developmental strategy behind assigning $300 million for tourism”.
Marshall went further.
“All we are having [is] a fixation with optics and that optics is around Prime Ministerial performance. It dovetails with a swerve towards populist leadership internationally but as we observe – the austerity and inequalities, and the effects of COVID on livelihoods are leading to great social unease.
“The impacts of what’s happened to the existing model of development, the meltdown of the working majority, and the many years of drift among large swathes of our youth exposes the Hartley Henry obsession with promoting the personality and aura of the Prime Minister as palpably, tone deaf.”
Marshall added: “Surely if the end game is to win elections then such strategists need to hone a better craft. You can win an election and lose legitimacy. Occupying office even with a 2/3 majority still means you preside over collapse and decay.
“Time [for] Hartley and others who so advise, pack a purposive model of development to augment the statecraft they seek to advise.”
In his posting, the social scientist described Mottley’s attack on trade unionist and Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn during a political meeting last weekend in St George North as “an unfortunate episode in the life of our Prime Minister”.
He suggested that Hartley Henry’s playbook had “gone awry”. (IMC1)
(From Barbados Today )
Dr. Don Marshall is s Barbadian living overseas who don’t know a damn thing about Barbados. Who the hell give he rights to say the PM is an attention grabber? He needs to stay where he is and left people who live about here to talk. He just want the country to fail.
@William
Can you accept that BU is an open forum and commenters will share different views which are motivated by wide considerations? Just make your point and let it contend with all the others
Steupse.
@ William
All the views expressed by Don have been aired on BU. Watch the predators coming out, those who have been fed by Mottley and owe her a thank you.
Politely , why are you directing such a comment at me?
Because you always have to attach that it is people on the island making a similar point to respond to commenters who throw barbs at Bajans overseas. It is not necessary. Those people are in the minority on the blog.
https://www.facebook.com/CBCBARBADOS/videos/1679149232261869
What Don Marshall say is true
Mia handlers are too occupied with making her a celebrity
Instead of having her focus on the nation economic and social problems
Meanwhile in gets on stage behaving in yardfowl fashion and attack a fellowman
Hope some one sending copies of her SGN performance to the international media for prosperity
Oh , I see. Thanks. It’s your blog ,I will refrain from exposing their puerile offerings . Message given . Message taken.
@ William
Stop it. You left the island and now you are attacking us for everything we do or say. The moment you got on that plane you lost your Barbadian-ness. Stop it and go away. Send your remittances, otherwise forget us.
From what the public can discern INDEPENDENT Senator Toni Moore made her contribution in the Upper House yesterday.
dAVID
Thanks for putting that childish refrain to an end
@ Hal
For over five years or more , the jokers were never told to deal with the subject and forget the puerile nonsense. All I did was just turn around to expose their silliness and that rattled the Blogmaster. He cannot claim innocence here because he too joined the nonsense when convenient. In his world calling people JAs and RHs is just fine.
The irony of the situation is that I expected that response but from my earliest days at Bay Primary, I was taught to respect other people’s property. It’s his blog.
I am still a rabble rouser and strife maker , who lives overseas and don’t know one crap about what goes on in Barbados.I just want the country to fail and I hate Mottley.
@William
Rattled? Trying to help septuagenarians and octogenarians from engaging in repeated childish behaviour.
@Greene
You are what is called a galusbait…LOL. you are transparent.
Damn
i have never come across a grown man that so touchy. SOME old women usually exibit that trait.
@ William
The smartest of us remained in Barbados. Only the failures left. Now they want to talk about how the country should be run. Fools. Send the remittances and forget about Barbados, you foreigners.
Go away. I am busy talking about Trump and Brexit.
@William, Hal
foreigners go home.
First let me dispose of the “puerile” offerings.
The DLP attack on Ms. Mottley at that first meeting of the 2018 elections was disgraceful. Any respect I had for any of the participants died on that night. Nasty men.
As far as I know, Caswell Franklyn was not one of the participants and was not and still is not a member of the Democratic Labour Party. A little birdie told me that he was most recently a member of the BLP. That, I hear, is how he managed to qualify for the $400 crumb.
Next puerile offering – the mere fact that Caswell, knowing Ms. Mottley well, felt uncomfortable accepting the more than $400 position she offered him should indicate what he believed to be her motive.
Furthermore, if Ms. Mottley wished to avail herself of his “expertise” she could get it by way of his interventions and through their interactions in his current position as head of the union.
Now to grown up talk – we concur wholeheartedly with Dr. Don Marshall who actually is agreeing with most of BU, both overseas and stay at home contributors.
Wuhlaus!
P.S. I am especially concerned about the $300m to the tourism industry. I want DETAILS.
@Donna
There is a good article by Simon in BT a couple weeks ago which dealt with the 300 million. Will try to locate it.
From what i have read/heard about the 300M for the hotels i am ok with it for the fact that it is to
1. keep the workers employed
2. It is a loan to the hotels which has to be paid back when the tourist arrival pick up.
Even if any hotel goes bankrupt and is unable to pay back then at least the workers would have profited.
This is the time of the year that the hotel workers would have been coming back to work for the season and earning their pay.
I will find out who Simon is, I suppose, when you post the article. I would need to know his position in the administration that authorizes him to speak on its behalf before I play Simon Says.
@Donna
Very funny, he is Dr.Simon Naitram. The president of the BES.
@Donna
Here is the link.
https://caribbeanempowerment.wordpress.com/2020/09/21/barbados-economists-consider-government-proposals-for-economic-renewal/
@John 2, if I do not recall the entire $300M being a loan. My contention with BEST was that a labour government should never have conceived or a labour union consider such a package that does not offer severance or a bailout for the workers.
Keeping persons employed did not work as many were lay offs and some unemployment benefits ran out, while many have difficulty getting unemployment benefits. There was no equity in the distribution. I do not even think that all of it must be paid back.
@ Heather
There is a lot of hocus pocus about the proposed Bds$300m bailout for the hotel sector. First, will it be a grant or a loan? How will it be decided? Will this be based on an analysis of revenue over the two/three last financial years? Will any of the beneficiaries be disqualified if they are outstanding with VAT, income tax or national insurance payments to government? Will jobs be guaranteed?
We also want to know if this is the best way of spending $300m of taxpayers’ money or could it have been better spent? There are also wider economic questions, such as the damage t o skills inflicted by the pandemic and the absence of any publicly known epidemiological model.so want to know how this $300m spend fits with the government’s plans fora the medium and long-term development of the country, the post-CoVid development?
We know that the difference between some models can be hundreds of millions of dollars; and that ALL governments have a system of pricing life which they use for the allocation of scarce resources. What is the model in Barbados?
There is a game of smoke and mirrors, in which our academic economists remain silent, and government and retired (ie DeLisle Worrell) have nothing to say. Par t of the conspiracy are the media who continue to go to the same people who say the same things over and over again.
The result – and it is intended – is that ordinarily intelligent people go around talking nonsense about foreign reserves, which they do not understand, but which the t rained minds and politicians say are a good metric; and, more recently, economic voodoo about fiscal space.
We cannot get a proper economic debate because it is the continuing reproduction of mediocrity: professors who continue to teach from their 1960s and 70s notes; younger students who do post-graduate work supervised by these same out of touch professors; and then these young people graduate and become academics in their own right and the vicious circle continues.
These young people also have an interest in perpetuating these false economic doctrines since their professional reputations rest on their supposed knowledge of these out-of-date doctrines and, by definition, to deny the legitimacy of these doctrines will be to undermine their very academic status. Turkeys do not vote for Xmas.
Davidt
I am confused on what to believe is an honest opinion put forward by the professional class in Barbados. Is this the same Dr.Naithram who was appointed a member of the Central Bank Board? .I am not doubting his integrity, but the Government appoints the members of the Board. Will a person say something negative about a government policy if they are on a government board? In light of Mr.Franklyn saying he was offered a top post by this majority government, should it not follow a logical conclusion that the government wants to neuter all persons in important positions.Eg Head of BES,Head Of BWU,Head of NUPW etc. Just asking for a friend
@Lest we forget
Mia is borrowing from Arthurs playbook it seems, include the brightest around on her team.
#politicsofinclusion
Barbados’ ability to attract foreign investors is still at risk.
And Minister of International Business and Industry Ronald Toppin isn’t happy.
The minister announced yesterday that the island’s fate was hanging in the balance as it could be facing a possible financial downgrade next week.
He was speaking via Zoom during the launch of the Barbados International Business Association’s Global Business Week 2020.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/10/01/dr-hosein-shes-smart-and-savvy/
@ Lest we forget
He was a student until recently. Before him there was Straughn.
But @Hal he has a Phd so he must be an expert and everything he says must be true. Right?
Is this the same Dr.Naithram who was appointed a member of the Central Bank Board? .I am not doubting his integrity, but the Government appoints the members of the Board. Will a person say something negative about a government policy if they are on a government board?
Nope. the hand that feeds is not often bitten. In a country the size of Bim there tends to be very few dissenting voices because the govt directly or indirectly puts $ in pockets. The good fellow in question is also employed at teh local govt funded university so I am not sure how impartial his voice might be.
I can remember Ryan Straughn as the Head of the BES and the opposition to the then Government policies.He was then nominated to run as a candidate against Ronald Jones..I always wondered why there are so many economists employed in the Ministry of Finance and the Government still hires consultant economists. These economists are career civil servants who go from administration to administration and therefore would be exposed to all the good or bad policies of the government
@ Lest We Forget at 12 :08 PM
Professional persons, when appointed to the boards of Public Corporations , are appointed because of their perceived professional competence. Why are you presuming that their opinions are not honest?Because they are appointed by the GOB does the act introduce bias and lack of professional integrity? Your logic escapes me.
brightest? uhmmmmm
more like politics of collusion
@ Dullard at 12:52 PM
Once more you have disappointed me.I think you need to change your Moniker.
Do you really think that attendance fees that are hardly enough to put petrol in one’s car to go to meetings and take up a lot of energy and time of professionals can buy their professional integrity?
These appointees are doing National Service. I can assure you ,that without them, this country will achieve the Jeremiad state predicted by Hal Austin and Wiley. It is a blessing that BU has a special and minor audience.
Are lawyers professionals? Do they take their clients money? Is that professional integrity? How about the professionals on the ICBL Board? Were they not the bribees, if that is a word. To me there must not be 100% trust in man. They all have their weaknesses.
@ Dullard
So if he has a PhD then he is a doctor, so he is an expert. If so, he must have left it at home when on CBC following the Queen’s Speech. If he was a sixth former I was teaching I would give him fresh reading material. He appeared lost.
How about the professionals on the ICBL Board?
Lest we Forget
Who are the board members of ICBL that were the bribers? As far as I read, it wasn’t Tasker and Innes that the US charged for helping to bribe Donville Inniss? I can’t remember hearing about no board members?
Lest We Forget at 1 :38 PM
You need to do better. All humans fall short of the moral standards set by society. Please do not misinterpret my intervention. I was responding to assertions you made in the cited intervention where you claim that a person ,because he is appointed to a Board of a state corporation , automatically is neutered and gives a bias unprofessional opinion. Your reference to a small percentage of lawyers is a non sequitur. It does not address the issue under consideration.
Donville never knew he was going to be charged until he set foot on US soil. They say time is longer than twine. Every wanted person by the US is on every immigration computer terminal via the database. Once you have bought a ticket and check in on a flight,they are waiting for you.
HC
On the video at Clarke’s retirement meeting, MAM explained that the loan was to be repaired when thing return to normal for the hotel industry – that can probably mean in a few years if/when arrivals return close to pre-covid, is my guess.
She also explained that for the first year the interest on that loan will be low and for each year after that the interest rate will be increasing. this she said is to encourage the hotel to pay back the money asap.
Also
i think i read someplace where it said it was up to the workers to come back to work for the 80% of their wages or to accept severance
A lot of the lowest paid hotel workers are seasonal workers. i do not know if the will be allowed to have severance after unemployment run out.
Additionally
i think it is also up to the hotels if they want to take part. i already read one is going out of business.
So long as the workers are to benifit and the people money is to be repaid i am ok with it.
the same thing is going on here in the usa with the airline industry.
“And Minister of International Business and Industry Ronald Toppin isn’t happy.
The minister announced yesterday that the island’s fate was hanging in the balance as it could be facing a possible financial downgrade next week.”
wonder who will take the blame for this one..
Once more you have disappointed me.I think you need to change your Moniker.
Do you really think that attendance fees that are hardly enough to put petrol in one’s car to go to meetings and take up a lot of energy and time of professionals can buy their professional integrity?
@ VC
It goes beyond board fees though. Surely you see the correlation between toeing the line and eating, especially in a highly partisan environment.
@ Dullard at 3:47 PM
I see no correlation between “toeing the line and eating”. That is for liquorish people with no sense of self respect.
@ Mr. Codrington
I often wondered why would chairmen and board members of SOEs compromise their integrities for a measly $1,500 and $110 per month respectively.
Transport Board’s former chairman is a reminder that perhaps it gives them a sense of power and being in control……. giving themselves more clout than the appointed CEOs and general managers.
@Artax
the remuneration may be inconsequential. However, you can ring up the expenses? Travel, hotels, meals etc etc. Some can even get further education or memberships as a ‘perk’. It’s all of who you know and what you are allowed to do. You think the former TB Chair was paying for all those trips to Miami to ‘buy’ parts, tools etc etc.
Skinner the only person i see rattle is you behaving like a 5 year old certainly not the blogmaster.Your costant repeating certain things said to you shows immaturity.Some clown jumped on your bandwagon claiming thst i wanted to intimidate you.Since when stating facts amounts to intimidation ? Let me restate 1 you lost your deposit in 1991 as an NDP candidate 2 you are a Dem apologist and 3 you do not live about here.These are facts as far as i am concerned.Again i ask the Dems on here like Greene, Austin , Skinner and the newest Lest we forget what is the difference between Ms Moore running for the Bees and persons like Sir Roy Mr Greaves and Mr Morris who sat on the Dems back bench for years? Did it stop them from representing workers?As for the by election it self the Dems choice of Mr Reifer a hometown guy is a good choice in my viewIt will be an interesting tussle although i believe Ms Moore will win.
Not trying to be funny. Just wondering when this Simon became such a superstar that he should be recognised by a single name like Rihanna.
Still waiting for the details through the appropriate representative of the administration. I’m afraid this “Simon” does not qualify to call Simon Says.
Dear leader of the Caribbean,
dear future president of Barbados for life!
Happy birthday, dear Mia Mottley!
Without you, Barbados would not be Corona-free.
Thank you very much for everything! May your reign last forever.
https://youtu.be/84Js2nGodO8
DONNA
START AT ABOUT 2:05 IN THAT VIDEO
2hrs 2mins with Mia talking
2hrs 5mins
@ Lorenzo
I said from day one that opposing Ms. Moore running is nonsense. How can any reasonable person oppose that when the same has already obtained with Trotman Walcott Greaves Morris etc.You need to read what I write. Go back and read what I write, I know that you are literate. Thank you.
I also said that I hope the voters vote for anybody except the BLPDLP candidates. Once again I know you are literate. Thank you again.
A very happy weekend to you and yours wherever you are.
John 2,
I’m afraid that the mouthings by a BLP party leader on a BLP election platform in St. George North do not an official government statement to all citizens make.
Donna
If she goes on CBC as PM and give the same information it is still the same information.
I thought you wanted detail.. was not aware that it should have been an official presentation
My man, one can say any shite on a political platform while wearing a red shirt. An official statement is what we can hold her to.
Steupse, man!
Thats your view to which I do not agree.
She is expanding on the throne speech in a public meeting that is viewed all over the world live.
She is not sharing a personal opinion.
And even if she gave a personal opinion it would still be taken as coming from the PM of Barbados (any time she speak in public/ on government policies or business is ofical to me)
when she get on the the political platform tonight and announce the date of the by election…….
She will be speaking to St. George North and telling them first. I would expect an official announcement to follow.
Whatever anybody gets under the $300 million hotel aid is considered a share. The details have not been clearly represented. So, if you get 300 000 it is considered a type of share. The gray area is to determine what type of share. Some say it is just a sophisticated slush fund underwritten by the taxpayers. As always the devil is in the details.
Some independent economists have already concluded that the taxpayers will end up holding the bag because the tourism industry is not expected to rebound under three to four years. They are predicting that the funds will just evaporate or disappear into some black hole. Although I personally consider their position a bit too pessimistic it is still food for thought.
She is speaking at a SNG north political meeting. not only to SGN but to the media/ and all Barbados. You would probably be the only one in Barbados that wait for an official announcement to take it as being only official then. the media will be announcing it as official from the time the date fly out of her mouth.
@Hal Austin October 1, 2020 6:20 AM “@ William “those who have been fed by Mottley and owe her a thank you.”
Been feeding myself long before she was born.
Long lived family.
Expect to outlive her.
Expect to be feeding myself long after she is resting in the sweet arms of Jesus.
WC
if that black hole is the workers pocket and not the owners or politicans then i can go for that.
@Hal Austin October 1, 2020 7:24 AM “Send your remittances, otherwise forget us.”\Reminding all that remittances are sent NOT to Barbados, but primarily to left behind children [who are being cared for day by day by left behind wives and girlfriends]; by left behind elderly parents who cared for you from before birth to adulthood, and to buy property for YOURSELF.
If it is not your job to provide SOME financial support to your own children [it was you who enjoyed the sex act that caused the conception of these children] and if it is not your job to assist in the support of your elderly parents, then whose job is it? If it is not your responsibility to provide financing for your retirement home, then whose job is it?
And please do remember that those of us wives, girlfriends, siblings, grandparents who care for your children and your elderly parents, while you are absent do NOT receive any pay for our WORK.
Remittances are NOT gifts to BARBADOS.
@ john2 October 1, 2020 8:56 AM “Damn. i have never come across a grown man that so touchy. SOME old women usually exhibit that trait.”
You have a problem with old women?
Old men especially the ones who have become impotent tend to be as miserable as yesterday’s piss.
CB
SOME in caps was especially for for you.
you have a problem with old men? u just said old men/ all men not some men are miserable.
@Dullard October 1, 2020 12:52 PM “…the govt directly or indirectly puts $ in pockets. The good fellow in question is also employed at teh local govt funded university so I am not sure how impartial his voice might be.”
Correction: It is the hard working taxpayers of Barbados who puts money into everybody’s pockets, into the pockets of the GG, the PM, the Cabinet, the parliamentarians, the judges, the police, the defense force.the private sector, etc., etc., etc.
Am I the only person who has noticed that now that the workers are not working everybody is scared sh!tless?
The workers of Barbados are the milch cows who keep everybody fed.
Don’t get tie up.
@Lest we forget October 1, 2020 2:23 PM “Donville never knew he was going to be charged until he set foot on US soil.”
He ought to have know.
it is my belief that he isolated himself from people whom he did not wish to hear.
it is never wise to do that.
John2 I’ve know young men and i’ve known old men.
I prefer young men.
I don’t even like the word remittances
Traditionally the word was used to mean money sent by wealthy English families to their failed sons who had been sent “out to the colonies” and who could not figure own how to earn their own living.
So the term was remittance man=a failed migrant, an adult dependent on his parents for support.
In 20th and 21st century Caribbean we should not even use that term, because the situation is so different.
The people who receive “remittances” in the Caribbean are typically mothers of young children and daughters of elderly parents. These women work like dogs raising the children of absent fathers, and minding the elderly parents of absent sons and daughters.
Completely different form the traditional “remittance man” who was essentially a bum.
We should call the money sent EXACTLY what it is.
CHILD SUPPORT
or
.PARENTAL SUPPORT
Or just call it support payments.
@john2 October 1, 2020 8:06 PM “And even if she gave a personal opinion it would still be taken as coming from the PM of Barbados.”
True.
The only time a President or Prime Minister speaks privately is when their bedroom is closed and they are in the presence of a highly trusted loved one…and maybe not even then.
Because in all the history of the world, plenty, plenty “bedroom business” has found its way into the public domain.
CB
I have send a lot of “remittance” to help family, friends and the needy beside support for the immediate family.
just saying it dont alway be for those two supports
Remittances include money sent to buy land or build a retirement home.
@SS
‘He ought to have known’.
I disagree. He knew what he did.
However, it was an internal investigation within ICBL’s PARENT Company that discovered the two cheques and where they went, and they put two and two together, and to save their own corporate ass, they went to the US Authorities fessing up and paying a fine equal to their profits from the deal (disgorgement)
You can’t go and play “we ent know what our subsidiary did” to the US authorities to avoid prosecution; and then tip off those involved who will face charges?
Other people outside of ICBL knew.
@john2 October 1, 2020 9:34 PM
Bless you.
Earlier Skinner quoted some opinion of Dr Marshall.Is this the Dr .arshall who is known to be a Dem sympathizer who defended a lot of the policies of the last government?Dr Marshall used to be a host of a call in programme years ago and based on his views back then persons knew where his loyalties lie.Therefore what would you expect from him?Then you appear to try to compare bim with Mr Henry who is a respected regional political strategist chalk and cheese in my view.On another note John 2 i agree with you once Ms Mottley speaks whether on a political platform or in Parliament the information presented is viewed by most as an official position.Therefore to talk about waiting for an official statement is in my view nonsense.
I hear the roosters crowing. It is that time of the morning.
So… when all the mud is slung I guess we should take that as official also.
Steupse!
Wait, David! The “independent” senator/BLP candidate took her seat in the Senate!
Wow! She did not hand in her resignation? They taking lessons from Trump?
I gi Mia my vote an’ I watchin’ she good. This is not in order! I have given her enough benefit of the doubt. This is highly irregular!
@Donna
One has to assume there is some process or convention being observed.
They just can’t seem to get the colonial political slave system out of their own system….and Mia plans to keep it right there…or at least that’s what she’s telling herself.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/30/eu-threatens-to-blacklist-barbados-in-one-week/
watch muh nuh..
Enough said
By Sylvan Greenidge
This Government promised transparency, integrity and fairness. After five consecutive weeks of being dismissed and absent from the Senate the Government has said nothing about whether former Minister Lucille Moe is still a Senator and will be continuing her role.
Additionally after being selected as a candidate to contest the SGN seat made vacant from today by former Minister Clarke of the wuk for wuk and other wuk fame, Senator moore still turned up as an Independent senator yesterday. Isn’t something wrong with that picture? Is she saying that she is still Independent from government while she is depending on capturing the seat? But this is the way they behave, there is also another so called Independent Senator who is employed by the government as an envoy. Don’t forget the former Minister whom the PM discarded and who was crying asking why them but who is now a special envoy.
I call them the reversal government. Imagine they had to wait for Senator Franklyn to tell them that the
Minister of Education does not have the authority to transfer secondary school principals. You mean the PS did not know that? Are they trying to sabotage the Minister and make her look bad? What will they do next? Offer Caswell $40 mil to shut up and rig this country of all the good trade unionists??
You can call rooster or whatever you like you are talking pure shite.I know you are not the brightest bulb on here but when Ms Mottley speaks on matters most sensible bajans take it as the policy going forward.It does not matter where she is she is the Prime Minister of the country whether you and the other bellyachers like it or not.Nothing you can do about it until an election is called pea brain.
Not the brightest bulb but brighter than you and that even Enuff knows!
https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=340586297200750
Still pretending they don’t know that the island is a well known old money laundering hub, just like they pretended for decades that both political parties did not practice. condone and enable corruption, with the capture of Donville everyone went quiet and instead pretended that it didn’t happen.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/03/possible-dirty-money-moving-through-barbados/
we await many of them, starting in the parliament get reeled in, for money laundering, then they will have something new to pretend about…..frauds..like they are pretending they are not thisclose to being blacklisted AGAIN by EU.
land of pretenders.
Donna
Is the mud concerning the programs or policies of Barbados?
When the mud is flung it is flung by the PM of Barbados
When will the Barbados police arrest this thief and all her accomplices, this is not a civil matter, it’s grand theft, theft of the man’s body from QEH, fraud etc..
“Winston Clarke
7tSrponussoredh ·
On the 14th of September, 2020, I had the privelege of having an audience with the Registrar of the Supreme Court. As a result of that meeting I was then informed that the Letters Testamentary that Desiree Regis-Alleyne was using were null and void and had been recalled. It baffles me how this woman who was no family to Ishmael Steele and was only what could be considered “hired help” should feel that she is entitled to all of Mr. Steele’s worldly possessions and that his close relatives should have nothing. The other neighbors would also have assisted this gentleman and we do not see them claiming his car or house. How can one woman be so greedy? She even had tenants in the house and was renting it out as if it was already hers. She is not even a registered landlord. All I want is to show the court the documented evidence and the numerous witnesses we have to all the fraud that was committed and the lies that were told. She is in for a big surprise.”