This morning the blogmaster entered the local newsfeed from traditional media to be swamped with the predictable-news about the selection of General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) Toni More to represent the BLP in St. George North in the upcoming by-election. The proposal by the government to rename the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill in Owen Arthur’s name. The pros and cons of going republic and others. Some if us do not forget that the traditional media has a weighty responsibly to report news as it happens AND to present issues of the day to the general public. A professional and educated cadre of journalists has the awesome power to influence the citizenry.

However, one of the biggest threats to a stable society is rising CRIME, in the case of tiny Barbados; increasing gun violence. Both political parties have been targeted in the fight against crime and today the country is reaping the whirl wind. Successive governments AND private sector have not harmonized policies to sustain the economic well being of the country to address the economic and social needs of Barbadians, especially our young people. Many Barbadian families have not managed households well enough to inculcate wholesome values because they lack meaningful support.

The late Randy “Nutman” Selman

In recent hours the blogmaster updated the Murder Tracker in the sidebar to 33 to include the body found last week on the rocks at the Animal Flower Cave and last night the random killing of a young man know as ‘Nutman’. Barbadian pedestrians and motorists should recall the mannerly young man who sold nuts at the junction of Pine Road. From all reports he happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

The effect of crime on working class neighbourhoods like the Pine, Silver Hill and others must be given priority by the society. The consistent high unemployment in working class neighbourhoods in Barbados because of a lack of economic opportunity has created an underclass. Yesterday members of the BU intelligentsia reiterated a call to gentrify Bridgetown. We need similar calls to implement programs to uplift our working class neighbourhoods; improve the economic opportunities, improve the housing, eliminate the crime bosses who take advantage of this vulnerable class of society. Recently Zack Robert Nadur, an upper class 74 year old man was arrested and charged with possession of 50 rounds of .32 ammunition at his residence without a licence. We need to see more!

Shopkeeper Shirley Lynch is pleading for help as she watches her livelihood fall victim to crime. The pensioner has been operating a shop in Golden Rock, The Pine, St Michael, since 1994. (Video by Sandy Pitt)#MeAndMyNation#YourNewsYourTimeYourWay#Barbados#LoveMyNation

The Nation Barbados

Just last month the blogmaster read the impassioned cry from Shirley Lynch (quoted above) who operates a village shop in the area where ‘Nutman’ was reported to be liming outside his home last night. So many Barbadians including our politicians live in an alternate universe. There must be a fit for purpose Crime and Social Plan to arrest what is playing out at Golden Rock the Pine and similar working class neighbourhoods across Barbados. The social and economic cost is rising a la inner city Chicago. The time has come for Barbadians to reject the usual platitudes from the police, politicians, pretend social practitioners and NGOs et al. We allocate millions of dollars to implement trite projects and forget about the importance of developing meaningful social programs to assist our most vulnerable. What do we think will happen eventually if so many of our children underperform in the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination? What do we think will happen if our parents who need help are not supported?

Rising crime affects us all people.

119 responses to “What About CRIME Stupid”

1. Reading all those glowing tributes about that man who died senselessly at the hands of a murderer makes for wonder once again who are the movers and shakers behind the gun trade that exits in Barbados
    A young black entrepreneur trying to make a living is dead

2. @However, one of the biggest threats to a stable society is rising CRIME, Many Barbadian families have not managed households well enough to inculcate wholesome values because they lack meaningful support.”

David it does not take any complicated household management to teach one’s children right from wrong.

Our barefoot, poverty, stricken, semi-literate grandmothers managed to do it.

If we wait on political and economic movers and shakers to tell us how to raise our children we will forever be lost, because many in our political/economic “elite” have little or nothing to do with their own minor children, although some of them have the audacity to show up for the first time at the university graduation of the same neglected children.

And you will note that when a young man is murdered–and it is almost always a young man– or when a young man is charged with murder–and it is almost always a young man–there is NEVER a man in the cemetery yard or the courtyard to say.

This young man is my son.

ALWAYS a mother or grandmother, as though these young men were born through immaculate conception.

3. Too many of our men have failed our sons.

And this includes our economic supermen.

And our political supermen.

4. I remember as a child my mother told me about her best friend, they remained friends for more than 80 years.

Ma told me that her friend’s plantation owning father lived in luxury on the hill above [east of, and uphill from] our village, and that while his white children were chauffeur driven to private schools in Bridgetown, his daughter by the black girl, walked barefoot 2 or three miles to school. And the child and her mother lived in a 16 x 10 smoke filled hut. The mother of that child gave birth before the age of consent.

Our men have learned only too from their white master’s how to disrespect black women and their black or mixed race children.

So get a black girl from the nigger yard pregnant, and then spend a lifetime pretending that the child is not yours.

Our men WHITE and black have sown the wind, we are all reaping the whirlwind.

5. @David “Recently Zack Robert Nadur, an upper class 74 year old man was arrested and charged with possession of 50 rounds of .32 ammunition at his residence without a licence.”

Wen a young man from the Pine or Haynesville or Silver Hill, or St. Lucy is charged with “with possession of 50 rounds of .32 ammunition at his residence without a licence.” do you refer to him as upper class, and if not why not?

What if Robert Nadur is NOT upper class? What if he is exactly the same as the men from Haynesville or the Pine, or Silver Hill etc.?

6. Once again, our leader and president of our heart proves the right instinct for power by appointing a trade unionist as a candidate.

In doing so, we are corrupting the trade unions so that they will settle for low wages in the long term when the pandemic ends, in line with my STARVE program. Very nice.

7. @Simple Simon

The family structure from the days of old tonwhich you referenced has changed. The extended family has virtually disappeared. There is a heavy cultural penetration with the advent of the WWW etc etc. Do not simplify the issue please!

8. These results are being shared around for 3 schools….there is more, but lets see what lies they come up with in an attempt to cover up….watch it blow up on them given the other information i have.

“5 minutes ago
    [9/24, 12:49] LUX 🤍🤍🤍: Springer has 9 scholarships
    [9/24, 12:49] LUX 🤍🤍🤍: Hc has 3… 1 scholarship and 2 exhibitions
    [9/24, 12:49] LUX 🤍🤍🤍: Qc has 0
    [9/24, 12:50] LUX 🤍🤍🤍: This really seemed deliberate.”.

9. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 24, 2020 1:03 PM

Well said. Another example of where the plantation era has impacted adversely on life today. Nothing comes from a vacuum. This ties into the cultural issues of sexual relationships, whether heterosexual or homosexual.

A lot of pretense and hypocrisy. No doubt that plantation owner accompanied his wife to church on Sundays, the pastor probably cow towing to the wonderful Mr.X.

The wife probably enjoyed her tea every weekends at a club, chatting happily with her society friends.

Remember, Bajans took the plantations and cane to the Carolinas. Not the other way around.

That hypocrisy has flowed down well, only now coming apart at the seams, only coming apart since independence because people are not raised stupid anymore and have world views.

But you are right, many have learnt the if they can do it, I can too.

10. Wait for the lawsuits MFs, hope yall got money.

“Dear Parents,

Subsequent to the release of the CXC results on Tuesday, we have been receiving reports (mainly from CAPE candidates) of students’ grades being vastly different to what was expected. Unfortunately, we were, at the time unable to assess the overall school’s results to gauge the extent of the situation, since the result’s broadsheet was not accessible. I eventually accessed the broadsheet last night and would say that the results are unprecedented in the history of our CAPE results. Our initial analysis of the CSEC results also raises concerns in certain subjects. It is our view that these results, in no way, reflect a true indication of our student’s performance and we intend to issue correspondence to both CXC and the Ministry of Education to this effect. I have already been in contact with the Local Registrar this morning and am aware that this situation is not unique to St. Mary’s, but literally all schools in the country, and across the Caribbean. It is my intention to do all that is possible to ensure that this debacle is addressed and corrected, and with the support of other principals the extent of our dissatisfaction will resonate.

A memo was sent out by the Ministry reminding persons of the query/review procedure, which I have attached. Although this is the only official way to query a grade, I am uncertain as to its benefits given that the exams consisted of multiple choice questions (marked automatically), and the SBA (marked in house and then moderated by CXC). I leave it up to you parents to decide, but should you be interested, please follow the instructions and we will be available to receive your queries from tomorrow, Friday.

I also urge you to stay close to your sons at this time. they have been on a traumatic roller coaster ride since March, and now have to deal with this. They need all the support they can get. Let them know that we are addressing the matter and to stay positive as much as possible and pray.

Nigel Joseph
    Principal
    St. Mary’s College
    75 Frederick Street
    Port of Spain
    Trinidad”

11. There is an alternative. Students are allowed a re-sit in November. All the dissatisfied schools have to do is to take a re-sit with Cambridge International or Edexcel or some other examining body. Bypass the CXC. Just keep tutoring the students until November.
    By the way, a student does not need CAPE/A levels to go to university.

12. “Children at Combermere got G’s didn’t know that profile exist.”

13. @David September 24, 2020 1:45 PM “@Simple Simon. The family structure from the days of old tonwhich you referenced has changed. The extended family has virtually disappeared. There is a heavy cultural penetration with the advent of the WWW etc etc. Do not simplify the issue please!”

Devid, pleas back off do.

I understand far more about family structure than you do.

The extended family was NEVER supposed to be the principal raiser of children.

Biologically the parents who brought the child into world are its principal caregivers.

But if the father has been taught to hold his female partner in contempt,because anybody, including the plantation owners and managers and overseers can phuck she what then? And once Christianity taught that once a woman has been phucked by others is wutless and that her children are bastards, children on no man, what then?

Do you really understand how many Bajan men have never spent a week in the home of their fathers?

And do you understand the harm that that does to a man-child?

14. dAVID

I remember that Dale was AG before but what he said or did it i do not know. i never used to follow politics so closely back then. My interest in politics was sharpened during the lost decade.

The port scanners can also be considered as propaganda – you are doing a fine job at countering greenes 🙂 you dont need my help. i said what i wanted to.

15. @Simple Simon

You have shifted the debate. The point restated is that the extended family back in the day served to do a job. We have not compensated for the change as at today. This cannot be refuted.

16. @John2

It is not about countering at all. We are info/knowledge sharing hopefully motivated with a singular purpose in mind.

17. @Tron September 24, 2020 1:28 PM “by appointing a trade unionist as a candidate.”

I don’t live in St. George North, but if I did I would not vote for Independent Senator Toni Moore.

Because she did not tell me when she ceased to become Independent.

So unless she had a Pauline moment yesterday???

Nope.

No vote.

P.S. I did vote for the BLP in 2018

18. We do not want to go here.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

19. Those uppity colonial slaves at CXC won’t be so uppity anymore when both the regional governments and parents start suing their asses off….bring them down to everyone else’s level for a change.

20. David I hope that you are not like Froon, who seemed to believe that grandmothers had a job to do.

When a child is born, it is not because a grandmother foop anybody.

Bajan men white and black have to stop acting like foopsters and start behaving like daddies; and RESPECTING the women who have given birth to their children.

That, and only that wil strengthen the family.

21. Tere should be a criminal investigation and CXC should not be allowed to investigate itself…Jamaica and Trinidad have people who can carry out proper investigations.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/247817/bradshaw-calls-urgent-probe-concerns-cape-csec-results

“The disquiet among students who recently received the Caribbean Examinations Council’s CAPE and CSEC examinations is definitely cause for concern. I am of the view that an urgent investigation must be carried out by CXC into this matter to preserve the integrity of the examinations,” Bradshaw said in a statement.

“I know that the Council has already responded to indicate the procedure to initiate the review process by Friday, October 23. And while there must be respect for process, I do feel, however, that given the unprecedented number of students who have raised concerns, particularly those online, I would strongly urge CXC to move swiftly to investigate and also to consider the waiver of fees associated with the review.”

22. Children are already talking about dropping out of school and committing suicide across the region…..CXC is NOT getting away with this, oh hell no….these children live in societies that are disenfranchised, oppressed and exploited by corrupt black face leaders, this is the end of that shit or watch muh nuh.

23. Barbados is inviting people to spend a year living and working in the tropical paradise we call Bim.

Shootings and murders can be a deterrent to relocating.

24. @Hants

The most of the shooting is occurring in the housing schemes and working class hoods.

25. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 24, 2020 1:03 PM

At the risk of appearing naive, I wish to say a few words to your advice re fathers.

I fully support this, but more than that, the people, from every man and woman on the street to every community leader, from school teachers, to sports coaches, to members of Parliament, ALL have to commit to a new Barbados.

Discipline and respect, in behaviour, in caring for our surroundings, in our work, in our interactions with others, should be the watchword.

Not any thing about the Bible said. Straight up discipline and respect. It ALL starts at that. There cna be no successful country without that.

If every person commit to an improvement in behaviour, in cleanliness, no littering, no public loud and disruptive music, courtesy on the roads, that is the start.

Is it achievable? Probably a very unlikely thing to do, given how we have run rampant for so long. But without this, THE COUNTRY WILL NOT MOVE FORWARD!!!!

This is the only way that there will be a future. Unfortunately, efforts at this will be undermined by those who seek the easy dollar aka drug lords mentioned above etc. Because a disciplined and respectful society cannot be exploited. By society, I mean that the culture is pervasive, embodied in the behaviour of the significant majority of the populace.

But we need to take that step. This is absolutely necessary and it starts with the leaders telling the populace that this is the aim, this is the goal.

I do not think that this was in the throne speech, but it should have been. All of the programs to assist society cannot work if there is no discipline and respect.

That is where it starts. With those two things as the core attitudes, the sky is the limit.

26. DavidSeptember 24, 2020 4:50 PM @Hants The most of the shooting is occurring in the housing schemes and working class hoods.
    +++++

No doubt socioeconomic issues, but yes, I have previously read of studies positing that apartment style multi-housing blocks encourage anti-social behaviour.

This is where the social workers, finance department and the architects must come together with designing effective housing schemes. A maximum number of units per black, appropriately spaced and designed, for both efficiency and psychological impact.

Up to now, the remedy for housing has been to slap a block here and there, with no aim for a beneficial atmosphere. This has to change.

Despite some of the ignorance that Thompson did, he was right about one thing, a country is more than an economy, it is a society.

That is what the approach needs to consider.

27. Errata, a maximum number of units per block.

28. @ Crusoe,

In addition to the holistic solutions there must be action by the police to find and arrest the drug lords and gang leaders including the importers of guns and drugs.

29. @wura
    Are you doing comedy?

“Children at Combermere got G’s didn’t know that profile exist.”

I would be mad if my son couldn’t
    even get an F. They messing with children’s heads!

30. @cuhdear
    “Many Barbadian families have not managed households well enough to inculcate wholesome values because they lack meaningful support.”

I was going to pass on it, but as you touched it, here is my comment.

Pretentious bullshit. You telling me that because people poor they don’t have values. Carry ya …

31. @cuhdear
    “Many Barbadian families have not managed households well enough to inculcate wholesome values because they lack meaningful support.”

I was going to pass on it, but as you touched it, here is my comment.

Pretentious bullshit. You telling me that because people poor they don’t have values. Carry ya …

32. HantsSeptember 24, 2020 5:11 PM

Hants, I agree, because those are the ones poisoning the chalice of the society’s lifeblood…the youth and morals.

33. Perhaps, I was too hasty. But the phrase irritated me. But I was too hasty. Apologies, BM

34. David
    There are visible–scanners, jobs first, expanded youth service, free tertiary tuition, trust loans, blockpreneurs and the completed kiosks at Ivy, Silver Hill, Parkinson Field and Bonnetts; FEED programme; court reform and more. Secondly, measurement after 24 months, especially considering Covid and how it would have constrained the programmes?

35. Almost 40 murders plus other crimes of violence
    Yet there are people still taking comfort that these murders are being committed in areas which are prone to violence
    The saying that there are two barbados continues at a low level of ineptitude and a disregard for black lives

36. “They messing with children’s heads!”

among other things, they believe since they are divorcing Elizabeth that they’ll be free to keep their slimy little small island prison industry and little slave society intact, but there are parents who know how TO MESS BACK….

….ah told them already the colonial system does not belong to the slaves in Barbados, although they were allowed to control it for 60 years, it still belongs to Elizabeth…and it has to be dismantled……they are not going to enjoy their crimes against the young people or against the majority population without dire consequences and now they have involved the entire region in their plans…ah hope they know they have to take it to its logical conclusion..or they will know who is their maker……

.told yall the bullshit about marijuana and gay unions were all distraction….

37. WURA
    You love commess, mix up and of course melodrama. 🤣🤣🤣

38. Right…tell that to the Jamaican parents and Trini parents and on and on ….. when they come looking for alyuh…yall got a lot of people unhappy right now, but that is all ya know, messing with people’s lives. of course you won’t find anything wrong with any of it because in the minds of fowls it’s ok to destroy young people.. mentally ….it’s all one big joke for you……

until you find out that nobody fcuks with the minds of my relatives..

have you asked yourself if some relative(s) of mine might be impacted and i have had to listen to them all day go on and on and on… which will see me pick at CXCs bones until there is nothing left…..and you know how i love picking at bones….

have you seen the petition…

…all i got to do is THROW GASOLINE..

39. David
    There are visible–scanners, jobs first, expanded youth service, free tertiary tuition, trust loans, blockpreneurs and the completed kiosks at Ivy, Silver Hill, Parkinson Field and Bonnetts; FEED programme; court reform and more. Secondly, measurement after 24 months, especially considering Covid and how it would have constrained the programmes?

Xxxxxxxx

ALL OF THIS AND ADD RECORD MURDERS SANCTIONED 2019 BY MIA AND BLP INCLUDING MAJOR DRUG LORD LOCALLY IN THEIR COLLUSION FOR VOTES AND FUNDING.

INVITING 5 MAJOR DRUG LORDS AND KNOWN DRUG MAN/FRAUDSTER REGGAE PROMOTER FREDDIE HILL WAS A WAY OF CONDONING CRIMINAL ACTIVITIES AND THE WAY FOR OPENING A CAN OF WORMS OF DEATH AND DESTRUCTION OF LOCAL BAJANS.

BLP HAD ALL THE ANSWERS WHEN IN OPPOSITION TO SOLVE CRIME I GUESS BEING A VISIBLE PART OF THE CRIMINAL UNDERWORLD WHEN INVITING THEM TO OPENING OF PARLIAMENT WAS THEIR SOLUTION.

“O WHAT A WEB WE WEAVE WHEN WE SEEK TO DECEIVE”.

40. GASOLINE…a class action lawsuit should drag CXC into the 21st century.

https://newsroom.gy/2020/09/24/qc-mulls-injunction-at-ccj-to-block-declaration-of-csec-cape-results/

41. CXC believes it’s an occupying force, but occupiers can be REMOVED BY PARENTS…

“We are not prepared to accept the position that CXC has taken and we intend to pursue this matter vigorously with the view to salvage whatever they have done to destroy our students’ mental and emotional capacity.”

42. Told yall a full criminal and regional investigation is warranted regarding CXC, it don’t even want to investigate itself because they are fully aware of what they did…..don’t budge, an example needs to be made in the Caribbean anyway, so that the leaders can also see that none of their low vibration agendas will be tolerated by the people either….it’s time for CXC to go, they were always useless as shite with their backwardness..

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/247823/cxc-resisting-grade-investigation

“Educators are calling on the Caribbean Examination Council (CXC) to investigate the alarming results for the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) and Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examinations that appear to be dashing students’ hopes for prestigious scholarships.

But CXC doesn’t appear to be budging in the face of thousands of irate students and parents signing online petitions against grade discrepancies and Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw asking for a probe.”

43. Mugabe has some blame in this growing crime though her predecessors, including herself, are more proximate to causes.

But with marijuana she missed a chance to use economy and a radical land reform to transform the criminal element into a corporate force.

We had suggested that the legalization of cannabis should have redowned to the benefit of those, exclusively, who were victims of its use previously.

But Mugabe only understands how to mek the entrenched White and Asian elites richer.

44. Pacha.. the crooks calling themselves judges on the bench involved, the ranking police involved, the dirty lawyers, the registrar of the court involved …all tiefing an old man’s body from the QEH and robbing his UK born children of their birthright, did not tell us that ….

” Estate of Ishmael Steele Letters Testamentary granted to SURBIR SINGH GOGAR and DESIREE ALLEYNE on 26th February, 2020 and issued on February 28, 2020 were recalled on the the 13th day May 2020.”

none of the frauds were related to the man, Desiree Alleyne the poor man’s neighbor took it upon herself to bring in some Afghan man living in UK, set up cameras in the victim’s house UNKNOWING TO HIM and watched him from UK, as soon as he croaked they ran off with the body and buried him and claimed to be the beneficiaries of his estate…

All that’s left is for UK TO ISSUE WARRANTS FOR ALL OF THEM…am sure there is more than enuff to charge them all with…stinking thieves….am glad his daughter came in from UK and FIXED YOUR REPULSIVE ASSES…SCUM..

ah found out who is behind CXC the occupying force…evil fcukers..

45. Fraudsters should be jailed. Anyone who forges names on documents should be shot in public.

46. Have a look at BU Murder Tracker in the Sidebar. Treat 2019 as an outlier. The trend of 30+ unders in Barbados points to a problem.

47. The thought that judges, police, registrar, lawyers and civil servants think it’s ok to do something so despicable to people looking just like them is very worrying, even worse they have done is consistently to the people on the island for over 60 YEARS, they made it a generational thing….and they cant deny it, their signatures are on everything and some of them even turned up at the funeral and are in photos pretending to be the man’s family members when neither him nor his family knew any of them, they can’t say a soul is lying..

48. Ah guess the “we gathering” thing is out of the question now that the WHOLE WIDE WORLD is being warned to stay away from the frauds in Barbados….what an ugly reputation..

may as well stop trying to distrat the people with same sex unions, marijuana and republic, everyone is on to all of you…..and to seal the deal…a repulsive CXC entity that believe they are untouchable….but watch we nuh…