Submitted by Grenville Phillips, Leader of Solutions Barbados

I listened to our Prime Minister give an interview on ABC Australia, part of which was carried on CBC-TV news on 17 Sep 2020.  In it, the Prime Minister explained that Barbadians will not be allowed a referendum, to decide on whether they support Barbados becoming a Republic.

Our Prime Minister must know that she cannot do that.  Our Attorney General, all the lawyers in the BLP and DLP, our Governor General, and all our judges should know that she cannot do that.  Yet, she noted that she will follow NIKE and “just do it”.

Our Prime Minister is not a dictator, so she must have a proverbial ‘Ace’ up her sleeve.  In the interview, she revealed it.  She justified her approach by explaining her belief that Barbadians elected her to do it.  Let me quote her.

“We certainly campaigned on it in the manifesto, that while we committed to referendum on other issues, we did not on this one, and we made it clear that this is where we believe the country must go.”

WAS IT CLEAR?

As the leader of the third largest political party in Barbados, and on behalf of the thousands of Barbadians who voted for Solutions Barbados in the last General Election, I had to investigate this claim.  Because either I was suffering from some sort of memory loss and had to resign, or our Prime Minister inadvertently misspoke.

I reread the BLP’s 2018 Manifesto.  There was no mention of any plan to make us a Republic.  On the matter of referenda, page 45 states:

“Introducing National Dialogues, National Referenda and consulting with Barbadians on major national issues, such as the decriminalisation of recreational marijuana.”

Is changing our system of government to a Republic, not more of a major national issue than decriminalising recreational marijuana?

I then read the BLP’s 2016 Covenant of Hope.  Again, there was no plan to make us a Republic.  On the mater of referenda, Page 22 states:

“We support the use of People’s Initiatives, as well as the mechanism of Referenda, to ensure that our citizens may influence the work of our Parliament and our Executive. This permits our people, and not only Parliamentarians, to have an appropriate role in decision-making on fundamental issues affecting the stability and cohesion of our nation. This must always follow an intensive public education programme.”

If fundamentally changing our system of government to a Republic, does not qualify as a fundamental issue affecting the stability and cohesion of our nation, then what does?

WHAT WENT WRONG?

So, where could our Prime Minister have gotten the idea, that a Republic plan was in their campaign manifesto?  I decided to investigate.  I read the BLP’s 2013 Manifesto, but there is no mention of a Republic plan.  So, I read the BLP’s 2008 Manifesto, and there it was, on page 77:

“Update the Constitution Review Commission recommendations on replacing the Crown with a Barbadian President and proceed to consult the public fully by way of a referendum”

Clearly the BLP’s stated intent was to measure the public’s support, of our politicians’ desire for a Barbadian Republic, by a national referendum.  So, what happened?’

One possible explanation is that a plan to make Barbados a republic without a national referendum, was in an early draft of the BLP’s 2018 Manifesto.  Since the BLP cannot force Barbados to become a republic, that plan was abandoned.  Whatever the explanation, the BLP does not have a mandate to make us a Republic.

Without a mandate from the people to make us a Republic, the BLP needs to go back to the drawing board.  To become a Republic, there must be support from both the Government and the Public.  The public’s support is normally measured by a national referendum.  No referendum, no republic.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-09-17/barbados-prime-minister-phil-williams-republic-mia-mottley/12675372?nw=0

330 responses to “No Referendum, no Republic!”

1. … or in the words of the old timers, why spend a penny when a cent will do?

But on this one I agree with Fidel!!

Not one red cent!!

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheoGazerts
    Very often the two dollar word is very very effective. It conveys meaning more accurately. What do you think our Education System is about?It has an Intelligentsia objective.

3. @VC
    But you and John A are two guys I enjoy reading. Both do not resort to two-dollar words when a one-dollar would do.

I was tempted to cut and paste the paragraph that ‘knocked me out’, but I suspect it would start an unnecessary exchange with the blogger

4. David,

My soul brother, Adrian Greene. You should have posted last week’s column as well.

I believe the psychological rehabilitation has been entrusted to Trevor Prescod.

I will wait to see if it is a serious portfolio or to quote a Barbados Today editorial – “Finding work for the boys”.

We need sustained comprehensive community programmes to accomplish the rehabititation.

“Penny wise and pound foolish” is a saying that comes to mind when people keep talking about the cost.

Do we wish to keep limping along as walking wounded? Physical therapy costs money and causes pain but we fund it and endure it to restore our bodies.

Psychological and cultural rehabilitation should be seen in precisely the same way.

We know “De country sick. De country en well”. Some speak daily of some Bajan Condition but still we baulk at spending money on trying a new cure. We want to continue taking the same medicine that is not working

John the Racist would latch on to the SIR Ronald Sanders utterances and promote the idea that it is a waste of time. But he would, of course, have the opposite opinion of Trump’s new “Patriotic Education” school programme intended to counteract the new awakening to the true story of the racist history of America that was glossed over up until now.

One can afford to be “Conservative” when one has something worth preserving.

Otherwise it is change or die!

5. @Donna

How refreshing it would be to see the likes of Prescod, Commisiong et al replaced with more authentic agents for the cause.

6. “There are pros and cons to every decision.”

just as UK found out with Brexit..

don’t know if to call this Barxit…but ya can be sure it will be preserved as mis mascotas pequenas y las aves esclavas tambien cometi el mismo error….🤣😂😂.

private joke, those who know will get it, they may not be amused but they will get it……🤣

7. DonnaSeptember 20, 2020 11:09 AM Your penultimate line.
    ++++
    Indeed, THAT is a phrase with deep meaning and wide ranging consequences. I suspect that the pandemic has significantly increased the relevance of that phrase. Therein lies the Rub-ublic.

Some like change, some do not, for the very reason that you stated.

8. DavidSeptember 20, 2020 10:08 AM @Crusoe It is a judgement call by government….Is this a seminal moment in time to take the decision?
    ++++++++++++

As I replied to Donna, the pandemic has put the status into one of flux. When a wire is heated, is the easiest time to bend it. The question is, do you need a priest or an exorcist? One will persuade and guide, the other will remove the ghosts of the past, ushering in a new light.

Is that too dramatic? Perhaps not. Consider PLT’s reference to the plantation mentality, surely that is enough to tell you which is required?

One more thing, as the world has entered into direct trade jostling between US,UK and China, is it better to be able to make decisions, with no barriers as to which ‘side’ to choose in each singular decision?

9. @David

Didn’t you pooh pooh my comment that Gline Clark was coming to Canada to take over from Farley?

10. @Sargeant

The blogmaster does not Pooh Pooh comments from the BU elders.

@Crusoe

There is the possibility of a US Venezuela skirmish.

11. DavidSeptember 20, 2020 12:20 PM@Crusoe There is the possibility of a US Venezuela skirmish.
    +++++
    Interesting thought. But hopefully those who would start such a thing would understand that sometimes a cockroach takes more than one hit with a shoe to crush. You never seen one of those? You think it dead and up it gets and comes again? And again?

Some things are easier said than done.

12. David,

Agreed. People don’t trust Commisiong. Not sure about Prescod. William Skinner seems to have time for him.

The problem is that he kicked up dust recently and promised to put us in de know. Now of course, he will go silent. If Mia had the position in mind for him and if she meant it to be a serious portfolio, one would imagine she would have spoken to him before she removed him from his ministerial post.

All this has cast doubt in my mind as to whether it is just a matter of buying his silence. So his any credibility he had has taken a hit and along with it the portfolio.

Is this an afterthought by Mia? If it is then how serious is she? And if she had it in the plans all along then it was another inept roll out.

Either way it does not look good on him or her.

Who do these people have as political advisors and managers? My lowly ass could do a better job!

13. @Donna

Always keep in mind we are observing politicians. Especially cast in a Caribbean context.

14. @David
    Its all about squelching dissent; Commisiong was taken out early and Prescod has a job that was invented for him, we haven’t heard from George Payne could he be the first President of the Republic of Barbados?

Let the speculation begin……

15. Rise Sir Payne ,,,oops Sir George!

16. Buh looka muh crosses doh!
    Yuh mean nuhbody ent gots nuh integrity nuhmore?
    Yuh mean nuhbody atall, atall, atall?
    Yuh duz jus bribe people tuh keep the traps shut?
    Dem jes supposed tuh smile and wave while you squeezing duh balls?
    Wuh I duz be really hearing doh?

What manner of honourable men are we electing?

17. @Raw Bake

You know this has always been the case however of recent we have seen the rise of social media and a bright light lit …

18. Have you ever turned on a light and seen cockroaches scampering for places to hide?
    What do you do?
    Turn off the light and go on your way, or get the flick can?

Social media only highlights, flick cans… out yuh lights.

19. @Raw Bake

This is the point, we have no excuse now. We know. As you correctly stated it is about next steps.

20. The rise of social media has made it easier for politicians to massage the message. These days one can never be really sure who is the arsonist and who is the firefighter.

21. @Raw Bake

This has always been so, one has to rely on the cognitive skills. We will not always get it right but we must try.

22. David,

Young roosters do not sit on the paling crowing all day and night forever. One day they decide enough is enough, and challenge the old roosters for control of the yard. No?

There comes a time when the social media advocates must enter the trenches if they are really serious about the issues they constantly highlight. The problem we will face then though is; how do we prevent the old blood from subsuming the new.

Too many in the past, thinking they could make a difference from inside, joined organizations only to realize that they were powerless, irrelevant and still on the outside.

23. @Raw Bake

This blood aware of several who are in the trenches who are or were active on this platform. People are working, we need more to join us.

24. That is the problem. If one tries to make a difference from the inside of The Beast one gets chewed up and spit out. There is a political culture within these organisations that is not easily changed. Nobody really believes it can be done. Look what happened when Walter decided to link back up with the Dreaded Lying Party. Everybody thought he was just looking to cash in.

25. It coughed him out like an ackee seed.

26. I will take your word for it.
    Commander… Engage!

27. @David September 20, 2020 6:21 AM ” BY-ELECTION? MP Gline Clarke to drop bombshell at meeting today.

I am not sure why MY government insists on appointing elderly loyalists. If I was a well educated, bright, young, foreign service officer [and there must be at least a dozen of them in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs] with a reasonable expectation of being appointed to a career ambassadorship, I would be pissed.

28. So many opportunities to force change but our politicians prefer to the comfort of appeasing the party faithful and greasing the party machinery.

29. And remember “boys of BU” late 60’s is NOT, repeat NOT relatively young.

The life expectancy of a Bajan man is 73.1 years.

Don’t sh00t me because i did not make up the data

https://www.worldlifeexpectancy.com/barbados-life-expectancy

30. @Cuhdear yours@3.12pm

Read what I wrote about squelching dissent, don’t forget that Gline’s nose was out of joint when he didn’t receive a Ministerial appointment and when he got the job as Deputy Speaker he raised a stink about wanting a pay increase.

Ottawa is a diplomatic plum second only to NYC or London and when he retires from Parliament he receives his Parliamentary pension and the High Commissioner’s salary.

Life too sweet.

31. When the old men whose pockets should already be full take all the jobs what happens to the young men?????

32. @Donna

This is where politics trump everything else. Gline is occupying prime real estate.

33. That is why I could never be a politician.

34. The constitution does not recognize political parties, but it seems like political parties controlling we treasury and spending our taxes securing the futures of party members, their friends and family.

That shit ain’t pretty and it stinks.

35. Not everyone drinks the koolaid

Imagine being a republic, and the leader doing worst than before, because she is unaccountable to an one, imagine you marching and nothing changes, that is what you can expect under mia , no change, just more open corruption, laws passing with out your input, which is happening now anyway, A republic is not for a leaders self interest, same shitty ideas, same shitty advisors, same borrowing, same shitty results, just a republic

Fb

36. That is why I could never be a politician.
    (~_~)

Sometimes, if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself. Yes?

37. The nerve on these colonial creations and traitors.

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/videos/704267100161655/?t=0

38. Decriminalisation of marijuana is a daily occupation
    Creation Rebel
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddnTNIbs2yQ
    Creation Dub
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FeprwB3Prfs

39. MariposaSeptember 20, 2020 4:06 PM

Mari, you are taking your assumptions and throwing them to the wind, with no substance.

A republic does not mean that absolute power is concentrated in one individual. It means that the state is run autonomously, including ceremoniously.

Yes, some would argue that Barbados is run autonomously as it is. But that is not really the point, because there is still an overriding position, even if only ceremoniously.

The structure of a republic should include checks and balances, methods of control, to ensure that the ideals at first instance are implemented and transacted in accordance with the intent of the designers.

Bear in mind, that any particular leader would be beyond foolhardy, to design the structure purely to benefit themselves. Consideration should always be made for the event that they are, for one reason or another, not the person in charge and particularly, that a despot may get their hands on the reins.

While both Trinidad and the USA have checks and balances, each in a different form, any new republic should not just copy one or the other, but assess what distinctions may be made, in ensuring that controls are effective, to prevent any one person absconding with the direction of the country.

This is a matter of design and we should expect that whatever design is implemented, it adheres to the strictest methods of controls that may withstand scrutiny.

This is why your rants on this are without substance. Maybe, you will throw DLT at me. Yes, he has run off with the US position somewhat, but you must understand, that is only because his accomplices, such as Mitch , are enabling this, not because of any weakness in the design of the US system.

The forefathers clearly envisaged the position wherein a despot would take the reins, unfortunately, they may or may not have envisaged that other self-serving, hypocritical, despotic creatures would support such despot.

40. DonnaSeptember 20, 2020 3:44 PM
    ++++
    And that is where we have an issue. Idle hands and all that.

41. A Commie Spokes Person for Barbados… His comments about Nelson were Blatant Lies…the Barbadian public was keen to commemorate his life, work and death and so initially, the statue was a monument to Admiral Nelson from the people of Barbados; not the Planter Class. He wants to Erase History and Rewrite it in his image!

Trafalgar Day 1905 Nelson’s Statue

http://westindiana.com/store/catalog/images/Trafalgar%20Day%20Barbados%201905%20Nelson%20statue.jpg

NELSON WAS A HERO TO BARBADIANS

Admiral Horatio Nelson Popularity came because of the impression he made on Barbadians at the time, resulting in them purchasing the statue and land when he died, naming it Trafalgar Square and paying tribute to the Admiral by erecting the statue because they felt Grateful they were saved from the French by Nelson. Barbadians Cannot Dismiss that Lightly because we have a Different Present Narrative, that we want to Fill with our Opinion!

There’s a plaque on the statue that reads: “This statue in honour of the hero the inhabitants of this island erected A.D. MDCCCXII”….

https://c8.alamy.com/…/statue-of-admiral-lord-horatio-nelso…

42. DC looking old.

Guess it happens to us all.

43. Is Commissiong a Barbadian? Should he have a say in this important decision? Only Barbados born voters should be allowed to vote in any referendum.

44. Crusoe given Mia modus operandi of impulsive narcissistic behaviour anything is possible
    Her actions of trying to by pass legal and descriptive avenues to wheel in legislation has given rise for her to be called out by Senator Frankly
    Now knowing that she does not have the Queen and officialdom looking over her shoulders the attempt to do as she pleases would be magnified
    This Republic issue has many legs but the one most seem to be of worry is reflected in this govt past actions

45. Comissiong has already done his part one of being the legal advisor to govt when in opposition
    His role that of placing roadblocks in the way
    Now that the tide has turned he has become tongue tied
    Recently i read a statement from him covering govt actions for not removing Nelson in a specific time period
    Next time anyone asked of Commissiong goggle “twofaced” and that is where u would find a description and an image of his picture

46. Only Barbados born voters? My man, that would exclude me! Yuh mad???

47. The queen does not look over anybody’s shoulder.

48. “Only Barbados born voters should be allowed to vote in any referendum.”

are nonborn british citizens allowed to vote in referenda.

“There is one such law which currently denies British citizens the right to vote after leaving the UK for more than 15 years. As one of those citizens, I believe it should be challenged and ideally changed to allow all British citizens the right to vote all their life.”

as i see it, as long as you have not spent more than 15 years out of UK you are allowed to vote in anything…it was the EU citizens living in UK were not allowed to vote in anything regarding Europe..

ya such a shit..

49. I take it somebody don’t like what Comissiong said, wuh is he said it……🤣😂..am sure he got evidence Enuff to back up that talk…am sure to save their own asses, they will produce it too….ha!!!

50. @ Raw Baje :
    ”Too many in the past, thinking they could make a difference from inside, joined organizations only to realize that they were powerless, irrelevant and still on the outside.“

Correct.Comrade Prescod is a perfect example !