Some of us are looking to the upcoming Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) later this month with more than a little interest. It is after all the other half of the duopoly that has ‘ruled’ Barbados without serious challenge for the last 60+ years. Since its decimation at the polls in 2018 the electorate has observed President Verla De Peiza struggling to keep pace with her counterpart. All agree De Peiza was dealt a bad hand, however, she accepted the job and it is what it is. The AGM will give Barbadians the opportunity to acquire a more informed position.

The DLP brand despite the unprecedented defeat in 2018 is ‘seared’ into the political psyche of Barbadians. This has made it difficult for a third political party to create a foothold to offer serious challenge to the duopoly. In the short term the electorate will have to make do with the main combatants being DLP versus BLP contest in 2023 when the next general election is constitutionally due.

To the surprise of many including the blogmaster there has been the appearance of the ‘old guard’ offering themselves as candidates for posts. Of interest is the contest between George Pilgrim who will challenge Verla De Peiza for the presidency of the party. Pilgrim was the long standing general secretary of the DLP during an unflattering time. As hard as the blogmaster tried to apply logic to Pilgrim’s decision to challenge De Peiza, there is no logic except to state the obvious- it is his democratic right to run if he satisfied the nomination criteria of the party.

The blogmaster anticipates De Peiza will overcome Pilgrim’s challenge, she must because he is a weaker candidate. Pilgrim represents everything the electorate rejected in the DLP two years ago. There is no credible alternative on show with the 2023 general election appearing in the political rear view mirror. You may recall the result of the vote in the DLP stronghold of St. John between Charles Griffith and George Pilgrim. The final result Griffith 2,963 to Pilgrim 1598. Should the performance in a general election influence internal nominations and elections? Political parties are in the business of harvesting popularity. The DLP needs a president guaranteed to inspire members of the party and to be the architect of a good strategic and tactical plan. Members of the DLP have hobson’s choice, what gives De Peiza the edge is that the DLP headquarters located at George Street was literally allowed to rot under Pilgrim’s watch.

A political party is defined as an organised group of people with at least roughly similar political aims and opinions, that seeks to influence public policy by getting its candidates elected to public office.

The Electoral Knowledge Network

Given the design of our political setup the DLP is a private entity and is permitted to manage its affairs as outlined in its constitution. Decisions taken at party conference however have implications for the country especially in an entrenched duopoly. We have an inkling what is De Peiza’s plan – see link. There is no recent update on Pilgrim’s Facebook page to indicate he is politically active.

In both parties over the years we have seen a tendency to recycle the same old, same old. Rising apathy should be a barometer for political parties that the public is expecting more or expect to be punished with laughter at the polls. Unfortunately a vibrant democracy requires more from citizens than placing an X every five years.

131 responses to “Verla or George, Verla or George…Verla it Must be”

1. how about neither

2. These are two running for the position, are there others?

3. i would support Quaker John before i support either of these two

4. A very good hatchet job.

5. Another Rabbit hole for the blp yardfowls to run down
    Gonna sit front row and watch them fall all over themselves

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, this is political IRRELEVANCE.

It matters to the DLP and NO ONE ELSE who leads the party 2 plus years from an election …

Yes there is serious ground work to be done and although the leader can hinder or help significantly those making that effort it is yet a viable and practical strategy to execute in the background until the next year or two and then move to the front lines.

As you have suggested on numerous occasions abd alluded to above if fresh, dynamic ‘new’ Tudors, powerfully challenging Haynes or even strong switch-hitter type Blackmans CANNOT push through in this party at this time of their operational dysfunction then they are doomed to second rate status for a very long time.

Of course none of those type personalities are appearing to start other parties either … so the DLP as an institution perceive that they can continue the status quo.

So again … who the hell cares which old-stager leads the DLP now!

7. @Dee Word

Stick to commenting on Trump.

You are aware the quality of the people presented by the duopoly ultimately manages the affairs of state?

8. (Quote):
    The DLP needs a president guaranteed to inspire members of the party and to be the architect of a good strategic and tactical plan. Members of the DLP have hobson’s choice, what gives De Peiza the edge is that the DLP headquarters located at George Street was literally allowed to rot under Pilgrim’s watch. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The president (leader of the party) is usually the person chosen to take the party into general elections with the ‘reasonable’ expectation of becoming the primus inter pares; if the party is so favoured by the electorate.

The last DLP administration treated Barbados in the same fashion its party top dogs treated their own Headquarters.

If the current physical state of the DLP HQ is any barometer of the competence of its leaders, why would Bajans want to take another risk to have their country deteriorate further unless the DLP leaders get their own house in order?

In light of the millions in kickbacks funnelled from the taxpayers to the DLP grandees and their friends during those 10 years of feeding from the once fatted calf is that what the past and current big boys and girls can show as the HQ of graft.

What a crying shame of dilapidation and wanton neglect is that DLP HQ!

Is that what EWB left in his political will to the people of Barbados?

Maybe it should be renamed the Donville Inn of Bribery & M/L!

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

The quality of the people put up for political offices is determined by the quality of the population of Barbados as well. I think you should continue your quest to improve their understanding of the political issues and their avoidance of “shenanigans”. These offices should not be “rubbished” nor “trivialized”. Please show some respect for the candidates.

10. @Vincent

It maybe a deeper issue, why are our best and brightest not attracted to be politicians these days? From all reports we have individuals commg forward to benefit from the financial package and other fringe benefits rather than to satisfy the bare requirement of the office which is to be a good and faithful servant to the people.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @David… I will if there is nothing else interesting to comment on. Trump ALWAYS is!

But this one caught my attention so stay calm…

BTW bro what exactly is your point re “You are aware the quality of the people presented by the duopoly ultimately manages the affairs of state?”

Quality is determined 1) by the people’s interpretation and most importantly 2) by the policies and programs executed by the persons so elected and too their character in governance.

As we see for example with our esteemed blogger @John true quality of possible “governance” cannot simply be some ballyhooed academic standard or high achievement … nor can it simply be about outstanding business success.

But first and foremost if DLP members perceive that either or both of these people are quality standard bearers for them then who are you or who am I to pompesette on their choices.

The Bajan electorate has spoken resoundingly about DLP quality … so let the DLP reset how they will and soon enough they will get another answer from all Bajans … maybe we have changed our minds about BLP QUALITY !

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    I answered that in my intervention.
    Able politician’s efforts are “rubbished” and “trivialized” by commenters who have not a clue either of politics nor the art and science of managing an educated society that is evolving at a rapid rate. What intelligent human beings want to willingly subject themselves to that level of torture? The costs are high. Look at the NCDs that our post independence leaders have suffered from and their relative early deaths. Even in death many grudgingly pay them tributes. In short these detractors discourage the brightest and the best from entering politics. If we change our attitudes they will emerge.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@VC, a hearty “hear yee, hear yee” and a quieter 😂!

I think you should tell the blogmaster … ‘have some respect for the people electing them’…. that’s the quiet LOL.

David can we STOP this “It maybe a deeper issue, why are our best and brightest not attracted to be politicians these days”.

This is as plain as day follows night or as narratively intriguing as an ‘Animal Farm’ redux.

I much prefer the simple and ANYONE who spent more than a day reading and studying politics and psychology must understand the fundamental dynamics of the whys of your rhetorical.

BTW, can you identify three RECENT (last 20 years) politicians who you can unquestionable say “satisfy the bare requirement of the office which is [JUST] to be a good and faithful servant to the people.’

And as you rush to answer that 😂 … I remind you of the deeply, devoted man of the people Lionel Craig (way past last 20 years, mind you) who is ‘alleged’ to have opined that when he travelled out of lil Bim on behalf of his nation and his people he demanded that his “faithful” service be spent in the (much more expensive) first-class section and in the first-class lounges.

Seriously David .. .political representation is not the rose-glass tinted palaver we make it out to be!

I gone.. Trump must have done something interesting by now!

14. @ dpD

I’m surprised at the comments you made in your September 11, 2020 8:48 AM contribution. For you to dismiss an article about who is contesting to be president of Barbados’ second oldest political institution as being irrelevant is simply fascinating.

I care “which old-stager leads the DLP now.”

I remember mentioning I’m not really interested in USA politics, which, judging from your responses, seemed to have drawn your anger. You mentioned things happening in the USA should be of some concern or importance to me, since those occurrences influence world events. You even mentioned something about if I don’t want teach my children about the USA. In other words, you ‘stopped short’ of calling me a fool because of my personal opinion.

However, ‘to each his own.’ Although your comments have also drawn my anger, ‘I won’t go down the same line as you.’

15. A tropical wave is located a few hundred miles south of the Cabo
    Verde Islands and is producing a large area of disorganized showers
    and thunderstorms. Development of this system is forecast, and a
    tropical depression is expected to form within the next few days
    while the system moves generally westward at 15 to 20 mph across
    the eastern and central tropical Atlantic.

* Formation chance through 48 hours…high…70 percent.
    * Formation chance through 5 days…high…90 percent.

https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo.php?basin=atlc&fdays=5

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@VC… interesting comment re “Look at the NCDs that our post independence leaders have suffered from and their relative early deaths.”

Is there meat you have already cooked onto this sprat you tossed out!

Its interesting to me as I never reflected on it bcz there appeared no correlation to their deaths and their leadership posts that was notably outside the ‘normal’ death rate for older Bajan men.

Do you have details to say otherwise!

@Artax, no I could and would NEVER call you a fool or even stop short of doing same …. surely, I’ll disagree with you strongly but you of all folks here are definitely not foolish!

But do revisit what I said re DLP leadership and irrelevance of the NOW.

Let me put it in that US context 😎 … the leader of the RNC or DNC (national party leader) is LOOSELY akin to this DLP leadership thing – work with me here re ‘loosely’ .

That US leader is the one to drive the party apparatus (candidate selection, fund raising, messaging etc) just as the DLP leader would be expected to … now sir I would also say that it’s irrelevant on who is RNC chair NEXT year if POTUS loses… for the same reasons I noted above re DLP… that being that the two years immediately preceding the NEXT election is when that RNC leader would be a true King Kong.

Now that said, surely the rank and file of the party or in your case 🙃 a passionate Bajan elector will be invested in who leads the DLP NOW…. I am not in either case.

So generally the REAL politics is the time of imminent elections and who is controlling the mechanisms THEN … unless we meld that to REALITIES of the political cycle we’re just having pretty palaver … so need to get angry bro.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD

One of my purposes of my participating on this blog is to encourage fellow bloggers to think. All the relevant information is there for you to deduce your own conclusion re the correlation and causes of NCDs ,early deaths and the stress attendant upon accepting public office. Simple Simon has provided the life expectancy metric for males in Barbados. The health issues of politicians in leadership positions and their age at death are public knowledge. Please do some data mining.

18. @Vincent

Thanks for the clarification.

19. @Dee Word

You should have taken note the point of contention is the unwillingness of our brightest to offer themselves to serve as politicians. We can pad the argument about Animal Farm etc but we have to plan our business with a positive mindset, if we do not why not jump from the near building and bring our problems to a quick end?

20. @ David are you predicting a snap election ?

A new Leader of the DLP will emerge in time for the next elections.

The DLP needs to should keep most of their plans ” under wraps ” until the real campaigning starts.

I read the online versions of Barbados every day and watch some of the videos. Lisa Cummings is very articulate.

Barbados is in deep doodoo and sweet talk is nice when you are in pain.

An if de hurricane come (at the right time) there will be alot of ” International Aid ” to secure votes.

Buh doan mine me. I just writing my usual irrelevant spotters and skinners.

21. If they earn my tribute I will give it to them WHOLEHEARTEDLY. If they do not deserve my tribute, I shall NOT pay them any – GRUDGINGLY OR OTHERWISE.

One thing I will not do is routinely cuss them in hell right up until the death announcement and sing their praises to the heavens until after the burial.

Crap does not turn into chocolate at death.

I have often been told that if you are going to do something good for somebody, do it for the sake of its goodness, not seeking reward or thanks. There is joy and satisfaction in giving.

We want people in office who suscribe to the above. The others would be no better than what we already have.

So …if the fact that I may not pay them tribute is stopping them, I say,

“Who needs ’em!!!!!!!!!”

22. @Hants
    Don’t put your contributions down. You are among the few who keep it real and relevant.

Some think it is a debating society and often introduce concepts that have little or no relevance to Barbados (my opinion).

That may be the issue, we run after strange ideas which are not solution to our problems.

23. Do you think Barbados can absorb 80,000 people without addressing unemployment, water, roads, etc.

This is like a person wanting to take advance calculus without knowing basic mathematics. A genius or an idiot.

Here is a new phrase… Thinking above their IQ..

24. 5hrs and only 23 comments
    I guess the dlp party is doing something right which leaves the blp yardies with nothing to complain about

25. Question though
    Can barbados absorb eighty thousand more people
    At times i think Mia drinks too much Alleyne and Arthur

26. As a nation, we have to know what our limitations are. When confronted with the whims of others we should be able to say.. “that is not in the cards.”

Instead we go down a partisan route.. decrying an idea because it was proposed by A, then embracing the idea because it is supported by B.

27. @Blogmaster

What is the point of this article bro? The DLP were thrown out 2 years ago, by 30-0 mind you. What do you expect from them at this time?

The BLP must step up to the plate and back up all the fancy talk with action.

Are you having buyers remorse? lol

28. Wrong again! We do not have time for the lame DLP circus right now. We are busy at the BLP main event.

We very obediently gave Mia our vote and we are very obediently watching her.

But we watch her trusting our own eyes – without your tinted spectacles.

29. If this well-prepared war of aggression happens on Venezuela it would have been through the instrumentalization of the useful idiots in the Bajan duopoly.

These would have included MIA AMOR MOTTLEY and OSA supported by CARICOM, the OAS and the CCJ. And it would have been a war both for oil and to get a jackass in the USA re-elected.

We contend that their misguided electoral shenanigans in Guyana would have turned Georgetown into no more than another front for such a war. As soon as the PPP took over in Guyana, Washington unknown to their newly-minted placemen in Georgetown, was announcing that Guyana was supporting their policy of regime change in Venezuela. We had warned all and sundry that Washington was preparing for war against Venezuela for decades. Now, they have an mendicant in the White House who wants to deliver an October surprise of some sort.

Now Venezuela is surrounded by enemies on all sides. War strategy 101. Uncle Sam is a master at such, while the useful idiots in CARICOM can do no more than to suggest to us that they have lost, and did not deserve, the authority to be the sole user of force in their countries.

Meaning that populations can now deploy legitimate force to depose them.

30. @Hants

Holiness in Jamaica and Rowley took some flack because their elections were called during Covid and affected turnout. There is this reality that should dissuade Mottley from a snap election.

31. @Pacha

You give Caricom way too much credit to influence geopolitics of the USA.

32. David

All a useful idiot has to be …. Is to be

Certainly, no credit should be given for merely having a pulse.

33. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

“5hrs and only 23 comments”

Like de Mighty Dribbler said..it is political irrelevance at this point. Nobody cares right now how the DEMs go about trying to win 2 more boxes among the constituencies in the next general election!!!!!!!!!!

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

Surely the purpose of political parties is not to win elections. We send the wrong message when we subscribe and promote that notion.Parties are formed with the intention of formulating and implementing policies that secure peace and prosperity in the society. It is that kind of thinking that promotes apathy and corruption in the society. I am disappointed to see you going down that rabbit hole. Please avoid these gallows baits.

35. @ Vincent Codrington,

You have to win an election to form a government that will “secure peace and prosperity “.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

The package of policies have to come before any sensible voter will elect a party. And here in lies the problem is it not?. Parties concentrate so much at winning an election that when they win they do not know what to do. As one blogger says they make it up as they go along.
    I hope you get the substance of my argument. Here it is midterm and David BU thinking of next election.

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ DL& P TV at 4:33 PM

Thanks for putting it so succinctly. It is really “a political irrelevance”.

38. I want to see Lowest, Big Sinck and Inniss at the head of the party:

Lowest draws the hatred of the black masses, Big Sinck confirms every conceivable racist prejudice of minorities and foreigners, and Inniss shows how morally rotten the Barrow cult is.

With this combination, the DLP receives neither campaign contributions from the White Shadows nor the votes of the black masses. Very good.

39. Dlp Tv
    Like the Mighty Mariposa say nobody cares except you couldn’t help but dig yuh snouse in the conservation

40. Mariposa aka ac the reason for so few comments is obvious, as others have stated.The Dems are irrelevant now with little chance of victory in under 15 years.Therefore it does not matter which of the two perinial losers Ms Depeiza or Mr Pilgrim wins.Neither will inspire confidence in the electorate going forward. As leader Ms Depeiza has been a dismal failure having failed to do anything but to criticize Ms Mottley at every turn mostly for the sake of it further tutning off even some of her own supporters anf as for Mr Pilgrim the least said the better.

41. Mariposa aka ac the reason for so few comments is obvious, as others have stated.The Dems are irrelevant now with little chance of victory in under 15 years.Therefore it does not matter which of the two perinial losers Ms Depeiza or Mr Pilgrim wins.Neither will inspire confidence in the electorate going forward.

Xxxxxxxxxx

TO BE HONEST NEITHER BLP OR DLP INSPIRES CONFIDENCE WITH ANYONE WHO CAN THINK FOR THEMSELVE AND DON’T FOLLOW OTHERS.

BOTH PARTIES HAVE BEEN GIVING OUT SHIT OVER THE YEARS WHILST THE FOOLISH VOTING MASSES HAS BEEN EATING THIS BROWN SHIT FOR CHOCOLATE.

42. THEMSELF

43. Ok
    Lorenzo yuh said enough after 10 years in the wilderness yuh deserve a voice
    But look at the two year disaster present govt heaped on bajan household
    Yuh think bajans going fall for the same ole koolaid recipe again

44. Please! The ten years before were worse!

In politics one usually has a choice between bad and worse.

Very few countries in this world have good government. The governments are as good as the electorate demands.

45. The ten years were worse
    Lets compare
    Ten years unemplotyment compare to two years
    Two years 40 per cent
    Ten years unemployment never reach or came close to that numbers
    Ten years NIS checks were not delayed
    Two years to get a check takes weeks or months or plenty back and forth
    Ten year crime and violence levels
    Two year dismal failures
    Ten year poverty levels remain stable
    Two year off the chain
    Worst or wust u do the figures
    Oh them buses no transparency with the smell of corruption ozzing out the rear end

46. Gee, you got me wishing for the bad old days…

Play nice..

47. If Verla De Peiza commanded the support at a critic juncture in the rebuild the elders of the party and others with influence would have chased away George Pilgrim. Having two candidates with a losing record vying for the top job should concern DLP party faithfuls.

48. Mariposa you are a dishonest indivisual.Firstly the unemployment figure of 40% s a direct result of covid 19 in March of this year which shut down tourism.This resulted in hotel workers and connected attractions and areas like car rental companies laying off workers making up the 40 %.This happened since March this year.Prior to this unemployment was way down and you know this.As for income tax refunds people were waiting for their tax refunds for years under the dems and do not speak of the beautify workers who had to beg for their money.All of this you know hyprocrite.To speak of crime a lot of the guns entered Barbados under the wstch of in my view the worst AG in the history of Barbados and hence the problems we have now.It seems you are suffering from amnesia but i will refresh your memory.

49. concerned unemployed bagan Avatar
    concerned unemployed bagan

Are Board of Management been put in place for those ministries that has been reshuffled by the PM. That is the question that should be answered and how transparent are all the boards in this challenging covid time. This is no time to be stealing form the coffer purse or corrupt practices.

50. Are Board of Management been put in place for those ministries that has been reshuffled by the PM. That is the question that should be answered and how transparent are all the boards in this challenging covid time. This is no time to be stealing form the coffer purse or corrupt practices.

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

THERE IS NO WAY TO STOP STEALING FROM THESE CLEPTOMANIACS.