Submitted by Andrew Nehaul

Carlisle Bay and Bimshire.

These are the names of the two offshore blocks obtained by BHP Petroleum for oil exploration. These blocks are located between 40 km to 140 km Southeast of Barbados collectively encompass an area of 5,000 km2 in area and sitting in water depths ranging from 1,200 meters to 2,000 meters.

These depths are deep but with today’s technology, not impossible for the extraction of oil and gas. With the recent finds off Guyana, a greater possibility exists for Barbados to soon become a member of this exclusive club.

There is no guarantee that oil will be found during BHP’s exploration but if it is, now is the best time to prepare for that possibility. If their work bears fruit, there will be an influx of other players rushing to our shores and so the Government must be knowledgeable and well prepared to negotiate with all interested parties.

Before we all jump up and down in glee and hope that Barbadians will all now be rich, increased revenue for the treasury does not mean gas at 5 cents a litre and money for all. On the contrary, any funds received should be spent wisely. Preferably on improving the islands infrastructure, health and welfare along with the creation of a wealth fund for future generations.

So, if oil is in our future, what happens next?

1) We need to be ready to create a Barbados Oil Ministry with qualified lawyers, engineers, visionaries and consultants who could advise the current and future methods of negotiating any and all gas and petroleum contracts. We must learn from what happened in Angola.

2) Investment possibilities for local Barbadians. 40 km offshore will mean from helicopter services to boats taking food and supplies on a 24 hour basis, to increased private air traffic at the airport, increased cargo handling at the port along with more tugs and pilots etc Let us not also forget that institutions like the Barbados Community College may need to be expanded as they will need to provide technical training in industrial welding both above ground as well as undersea, commercial electricians, and pipe fitting.

3) The creation of a wealth fund staffed with the best investment bankers with specific safe (conservative) long term investment strategies.

4) The creation of a new port on the east of the island to exclusively service the oil and gas industry. This should include a state of the art centre for an expanded coast guard and a new quick response long range marine fire fighting service.

5) Improvements to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital to include a helicopter pad for emergencies and an expanded surgical section to include but not limited to a specialized burn unit.

6) The training of Barbadians in the oil industry from non skilled workers to providing scholarships for persons interested in the oil and gas industry.

Careers in Oil and Gas There are countless jobs within the industry, each of them requiring different levels of skill and education. The most advanced jobs require degrees while the entry- and mid-level jobs require more basic training and education. Today there are over 1.700 Guyanese citizens working in their oil industry and we can expect that 20 – 30% of the working population in Barbados will find jobs in this industry when production commences.

The Government would be wise to have an exploratory committee formed and ready. To many the above scenario may sound like a dream but I can assure you that when the first discovery is announced by BHP or others, it will be one day too late to start planning.

178 responses to “Oil – a dream or reality?”

1. The sky is falling, the sky is falling……

Pie in the sky……

Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall…..

Counting your chickens before they hatch…..

LETS MOVE ON WITH SOME REAL ISSUES

2. @Wily

The reality is that Suriname, Guyana Trinidad and further afield Venezuela have discovered oil/natural gas. What is wrong with Barbados pursuing this option? Covid is a game changer, a one leg economy will not sustain, neither can import substitution. We have the option to rein in our lifestyle but this is wishful thinking,

3. This is all bullshite.

We have been here last time the blp was in powah. When the dlp took over David Thompson told this writer that “there was no oil”.

And we go down this cul-de-sac again. Fool’s gold we say.

The writer, Nehaul, then pretends that even if oil is found in Barbados’ territorial waters that the government could have effective control over it beyond royalties of about 2 percent of what the oil majors tell them was retrieved.

That is if the geo-politics of oil do not demand that such oil or gas remains in the ground as a price inflation or stabilization measure.

Next, the depth that he’s talking about would require certain favourable economies to interest an oil major.

We’ll have much to say later. But Nehaul had no ideas about what he writes.

4. Another one of David bull whips to have the sheep running down the rabbit hole
    As usual many would follow the path
    Pipe dream politics
    Why not
    Smoke and mirrors showered with gran illusions have been the order of the day by this govt

5. @Pacha

Not following you at all. The blocs were purchased by BHP and therefore the resources to support the effort are effectively outsourced. Are you saying our deal with the exploration company rivals Guyana? We should forget about this transaction?

6. David

We would have hoped that you would have learnt something from the last time the blp approached this issue.

The oil business is highly opaque and cannot be reduced to normal understanding. Especially, if your not a specialist.

Do you know how many oil blocs, cargoes etc have been sold which never existed?

What we are saying is that the last government which needed money badly determined that there was no oil and now 12 years on we should not be back here.

It this why the PPP were able to hijack the elections in Guyana, so that Barbados could make this oil play?

7. @Pacha

Are you saying Barbados should not pursue oil exploration? Make yourself clear for the record.

8. David

Is this what is meant by a blue economy. Oil and gas are not blue at all.

Yours are not the pertinent questions. You should be asking this blp goverment whether we were misled last time around. They intentions are more valuable than the mere opinions of this writer.

We have said that Thompson told us that there was no oil. The existence of documents saying there is cannot be enough to serve as proof, in the circumstances.

9. @Pacha

How would Thompson have known there is no oil? Did he share geology reports? Allow the exploration to continue. We cannot have our cake and eat it. If tourism is going nowhere what can we turn to in order to fill the gdp hole?

How can Blue and Black coexist, good question- you know this is not a binary problem to solve.

10. David

He was a David tooo. Who happened to be the prime minister and minister of economic affairs as he spoke.

Should we not assume that he was the one person who would have known best?. Or should our team have been speaking to Mia Mottley from the opposition benches?

If you were him, in his position, where an outgoing government made nuff noise about oil and gas would you not have that high on your agenda? He might have subsequently made a similar statement in parliament as well.

David, this reckless pursuit of a saviour will end badly. Our instincts tell us that success, especially in the oil and gas business, is never so determined.

11. well we have wasted lots of money before, why not waste some on oil exploration?

even the idea will give people hope and lord knows we need some right about now.

hope we discover some notwithstanding the World seems to be more concerned with renewable energy instead of dirty fuel.

12. Woke up this morning to the news that the foreign reserves will now be used to refinance visionless hoteliers………Now I am reading that we are getting into the oil business and a “ tourism” expert is giving advice.
    NIS sinking
    Foreign reserves under attack
    Oil back in the news
    Well it’s 5:00 O’clock somewhere

“Things get curiouser and curiouser”

13. @Pacha

Nothing wrong with being sensitive to your instincts, it takes more to a make the deal stick.

From the day Thompson waved a blank piece of paper in Queens Park his integrity was compromised.

14. Who is getting into the oil business William. It is an opinion piece submitted by a BU family member for crissakes.

15. David
    This is the man you supported then. One part of my life has to do with dealing with political leaders over the world. If needs be, the same would be true for Mugabe.

Think of this writer like you do of Cow Williams and his usury of your polititians.

Unlike you, we currently have no particular leanings to this administration. Leanings which are clouding your otherwise fair journalistic judgement.

16. At this stage, hoping for Oil holds more promise, & financial potential, than flogging the dead-horse of Tourism!

We keep reading the “non-professor” spin financial ideas that revolves around ‘money tying to make money’!!! Won’t work!! With no tourists, it’s a pipe dream…. ask PLT.

These hot-air spoutings by Consultants have been uttered many times before…… the money goes down the drain but the Consultants still collect their high salaries & perks.

Time to invest in something real & productive ….. agriculture, fishing, s&t, entertainment, computer software, etc…….. the youths!

17. David

This guvment was warned that shiite was coming down the pike, two years ahead of time, but rested on BERT,s inefficiencies.

Now that these have been shown to be insufficient, like a headless chicken, is now throwing itself hither, tither and yon.

18. @Pacha

This blogmaster has no leaning more a preference given the available options. Unfortunately turning water into wine remains elusive for the moment.

19. gREENE

How are we wasting money on oil exploration when we are being paid by the explorers for the rights to explore?

20. David
    We understand and share the country’s predicament. You recall this writer was a solitary warner to this guvment.

Even so, your primary interests can never be the party political at the expense of the recent historical context as you are tending to so do today.

21. Steupse!

What is challenging my thought processes this morning is the mouthings of that Persaud fellow.

I am trying to understand what the hell he is saying. I understand staff training and upgrading and payment for undergoing such rather than unemployment benefits. I understand upgrading of faculities and attractions. What I do not understand is tourism without tourists and where the foreign reserves fit into it.

Can somebody please help me to understand?

22. Don’t see anything about EDUCATION UPGRADES nor the DEPROGRAMING of the nastiness, pure evil and destruction associated with centuries of the African descended colonized mind, which will translate to ridding the island of the corruption and all the lowlifes feeding off the majority population…if that does not happen, you are going nowhere and already lost the battle.,

“Before we all jump up and down in glee and hope that Barbadians will all now be rich, increased revenue for the treasury does not mean gas at 5 cents a litre and money for all. On the contrary, any funds received should be spent wisely. Preferably on improving the islands infrastructure, health and welfare along with the creation of a wealth fund for future generations.”

23. @David

Has the details of the offshore oil contracts been published for public review? If the answer is no then none of us know whats in it for Barbados

Secondly what shite is Persaud talking now about using my dam reserves to promote a non existent industry?

I going stop reading the news cause all it does is vexify me first thing pun a morning.

24. surprised that Hal has commented on Persaud’s mouthing, such as they are

25. “Unlike you, we currently have no particular leanings to this administration.”

miseducated, misinformed, corrupt jokers who only live to wield small island manmade powerbecause they have a law degree or some other piece of paper given to them by establishment, they know nothing else and don’t possess the mental acuity to educate themselves, they will all shortly be given a once in a lifetime opportunity to see what REAL POWER LOOKS LIKE…but knowing how self-absorbed they are while promoting corrupt, tiefing nobodies like Cow and other minorities, they are sure to miss the whole event..

shite politicians and shite leaders never impressed me and never will…

26. Professor Persuad and Dr. Greenidge were not elected by the people. After they have given their advice, especially in times like these, the MOF, should be the person addressing the country. Nobody went in a polling booth and voted for them nor Dr. Mascoll.
    This political PR hocus pocus is not in the interest of transparency. Dr. Persuad is the same joker, that the last administration said was going to get Four Seasons sold. On numerous occasions he assured the country that deals were made. They all failed. He was castigated by then opposition but then just so they also employed him-
    similar to the Mark Maloney move.
    There is none so blind as he who refuses to see.

27. @ Wily Coyote September 4, 2020 5:57 AM

The sky is falling, the sky is falling……
    Pie in the sky……
    Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall…..
    Counting your chickens before they hatch…..
    LETS MOVE ON WITH SOME REAL ISSUES
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The writer is effectively telling us that tourism is dead in the water.

It seems the man in living in a 1970’s world and not in the 21st century.

Oil has NO major place or role in a future carbon reduction world currently struggling with the birth pangs of global warming.

Where is the demand for these ‘new’ offshore sources of heavy crude deposits with no ‘known’ gas fields of economic potential?

The coral island called Barbados is too ecologically vulnerable to ever ‘mix’ its beach-based tourism industry with offshore exploration for hydrocarbons.

How can Barbados (old Bimshire) be talking of being “Carbon Neutral” by 2030 and yet be thinking about getting rich from hydrocarbons where the economics of the exploration venture off Barbados are ‘clearly’ opaque and, therefore, extremely risky in an industry which has had its day in the sun?

What is going to happen when Venezuela returns as the ‘biggest’ producer in the region?

Even the ‘kingdom of oil’, Saudi Arabia, is moving away from fossil fuel exploration and production.

28. I did not go on FB before I posted the above, but look how they are viewed by the same minorities they promote and elevate and help them rob their people on the island, this one was being pretty kind, yall should hear some of the things said about the house negros aka ministers, lawyers etc… in private discussions in Bathsheba and other places even when they help the minority crooks rob the treasury and pension fund, rob generations of the youth and steal, money land and estates from the elderly.., ya would want to know if they are talking about the lowest crawling animals or people….🤣😂🤣..i actually know this person insulting this King person on FB…

“Manasseh King you could have spared yourself the monumental cutass I gave you by simply accepting the fact that a donkey like you with an Ass Hons from UWI is just another educated ass who has no business running with a thoroughbred. Go back to your research work of twisting our national historical facts to create your self hating version”

29. Somebody said, they are writing a book about Barbados’ corrupt leaders and inserting the above insult in it…🤣😂🤣😂🤣….

ah glad this happened, they love to cuss me for telling them off and the truth about themselves,, but look how they are perceived…..ah want them to send out their fowl slaves on FB for that one, it will be PURE LIVE ENTERTAINMENT TODAY….i will take the rest of the day off just to enjoy cause I know dude got a very RICH VOCABULARY even better than mine……lol

30. And the insults keep coming…..🤣😂😂 that person is lucky that the pool called..

“HOW does UWI create so many dummies from the Arts stream??”..

“a sad reflection on our educational system…..off to pool.”

31. David

When our buddy, Miller, a lover of MAM, starts to put licks in yuh, crappo smoke yuh pipe.

32. @John A

The Persaud mouthings reported in the press is baffling. It is being sold as a six months protection for the sector with the option to rollover.

We know that the hospitality sector will take more than a year to recover to 50% of 2019 output. What do the numbers look like? Is the assumption by government that 6000 hotel workers and supporting services is deemed to be too catastrophic to ignore? Why touch the reserves to support. Over to you.

33. @ John A

I’m at a loss as to why you’re ‘asking’ if “the details of the offshore oil contracts (have) been published for public review?”

As far as I understand from reading the article, it was written by Andrew Nehaul and appears to be a summation of HIS thoughts and ideas.

But, then again, I learnt by rote.

34. @Pacha

Let all views content.

35. Well let me follow Persaud logic here now.

So we going take up we hard currency reserves, most of which is borrowed money, to prop up the sector that suppose to earn we hard currency, so we dont use the NIS funds to extend the unemployment benefits to the said same people even though all you really doing is extending benefits anyhow. So why would you not let the NIS do their job and top up the NIS fund using Bajan dollars? Why use hard currency reserves that you may need to buy tuna and rice with down the road if this virus reappears? Or the plan is to use up the reserves paying unemployment benefits, then go and borrow more money to prop back up the same reserves?

Look a jackass no matter how you dress it up and paint it cant win no race against race horses. Wunna stop playing de ass and tell the people the NIS brek and wunna now going start spending we USD to keep propping up tourism, that in it self dont exist. Why wunna aint take the same money and expand we agricultural and alternatice energy base and put people to work there instead? You putting money into a sector that there is no demand for in the short to medium term when you could put that same money into 2 other sectors that would save us FX from day one. What i really missing here?

If this is the best all these committees could come up with then i going advise the MOF to put a shovel in all dem hand and let them go and stir concrete at Maloney hotel.

Stupes

36. OIL A DREAM OR REALITY?
    ++++++++
    In a word- DREAM

37. What a desperate and embarrassing read!
    Things must be very grim indeed when grown men resort to fantasy as a solution to real an present economic problems.

Ideas like “Improvements to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital to include a helicopter pad…” and “helicopter services to boats taking food and supplies on a 24 hour basis” are direct from La La land and have no basis in reality at all.

38. @Miller

In Ambassador Liz Thompson the government has a local resource qualified to advise on this matter.

39. @ John

Let us start from the beginning. This is an announcement that should have been made by the minister of economic affairs, or one of the two junior ministers. But, of course, the president has been too busy on CNN to talk to the people of Barbados.
    Second, the recent reshuffling of the Cabinet was in reality a threat to any one who wants to step out of line, so taking the so-called proposals to the Cabinet does not say anything. All members of the Cabinet will rubber stamp the idea.
    Third, Persaud talks like a three card trickster. He does not say what form this subsidy will take. Will it be a secured loan, unsecured, a grant, equity for debt, or in the form of tax waivers.
    We do not know if businesses that owe VAT and income tax and national insurance will be eligible for the new assistance; or if to quality they must first explain their business plans to an appropriate body.
    Nothing of substance has been said. What we do know is once again wealth is being passed from the poorest to the well to do and wealthy in Barbados. This is Mafia capitalism, robbery.
    These jokers, masquerading as economic consultants, are advising the government to pass taxpayers’ money on to incompetent hoteliers, many of whom are family-owned businesses.
    I am tired of pointing out how that money used for the warehousing of foreign reserves could have been better used in infrastructural development, or a balance sheet bank, which would benefit the nation across generations.
    The government and its economic advisers are without ideas, their are hopeless, behaving like con artists, and the ordinary people, those households with long-term unemployed, sometimes with two, three generations under the same roof, are the ones suffering.

40. Drill Mia, drill! Do not worry about environmental problems, just dump the polluted sand and water in the Lost Parish of St. John.

41. The rabbit hole keeps getting bigger

42. ” Renewable energy capacity is set to expand 50% between 2019 and 2024, led by solar energy. This is according to The International Energy Agency (IEA)’s ‘Renewable 2019’ report, which found that solar, wind and hydropower projects are rolling out at their fastest rate in four years.”

I am just adding white rice to the pot.

Renewable energy capacity is set to expand 50% between 2019 and 2024, led by solar energy.

43. While you are Dreaming of oil others are chasing the sun.

https://www.emera.com/about-us/our-approach/innovation

44. @ John A

The Dullard said months ago that the horde of Ministers/ Consultants/ Czars/ Advisors has 0 ideas and there will be an intense doubling down on the familiar comforts of our cap-in-hand tourism model.

Avi’s suggestion encapsulate, explicitly or otherwise, almost all of the main areas of distress and dysfunction in the economy – NIS, foreign reserves (lack, misuse); tourism (dependence, pandering), unemployment, limited funding options, lack of ideas, etc.
    The IIMF will be around for a long time.

45. @ David September 4, 2020 9:16 AM

The first thing she, the oil exploration guru, ought to find out is whatever became of the US$ 6 million signature bonus the MOF under the previous administration received, allegedly, from BH Billiton.

Has any progress been made in the exploration of the oil and gas sector except the attempt to offload the BNTCL for a mess of forex pottage?

46. @Miller

We need the minister responsible to provide an update, what is governments position on oil exploration.

47. Oh good! Wuhnuh telling me that I am not such a dummy after all. I thought it was too high for me to understand.

48. @JohnA
    What you are missing is the IMF, as ‘senior’ lender, sets the limits. Don’t mind all their sweet talk, about progress and meeting targets, and home grown solutions.
    One cannot do whatever you want.

49. 🤣😂😂turns out the senate of exchanges was going on for quite a while and thoroughly enjoyable as someone sent me the whole thing…lol..

“u r suffering from an inferiority complex and u can be considered a house negro. Thats all i am seeing of u.”