There was a time – and it still is for many – the popular management instruction was that the sole purpose of a business was to create shareholder value. For this reason financial institutions and others for decades have used this single performance indicator to determine the success of the business.

In recent years a more enlightened management theory promoted is that a company must balance the needs of ALL stakeholders which include customers, employees, suppliers and the community it serves. However from observation such a noble position is practised in the breech.

The bottomline is that business owners everywhere have expectations largely influenced by the size of the profit margin and all the flowery language in management text books will not change the thinking. Milton Friedman’s hypothesis that the only responsibility of a business is to utilize its resources to increase profits mindful of operating within the law is alive and well decades later.

In a COVID 19 world the operating and business models have been significantly compromised given the unprecedented prevailing environment. Very few companies have been unaffected. The sorry state of affairs can be confirmed in the local landscape by reviewing unaudited statements of accounts of public companies published to date. If local blue chip companies are failing to perform in the current environment what does it mean for small and medium sized businesses?

From all reports the most optimistic projection is that an effective COVID 19 treatment or vaccine will be available in early 2021. How the vaccine is distributed will then have to be prioritized. It may take several months for mass production to ramp up and distributed across the globe. The point therefore – when a vaccine is developed AND the time it takes to be distributed has implications for service and tourism dependent economies like Barbados.

At the last report Barbados is operating at 5% tourism traffic with 40 thousand unemployment claims reported to have been submitted to the NIS – the solvency of the scheme is content for another blog. The harsh reality is that in an environment of uncertainty business owners cannot effectively and effectively plan. Very few businesses after more than 10 years operating in a depressed market have access to the cash flow to ride out a protracted period of low sales activity. It means as a country we will have to find a way to stoke the circular economy. This will present a huge challenge given the fragile state of the local economy.

Surprising on an island that boast about the effectiveness of the tripartite arrangement. Head of the BCCI called out government this week. The Barbados Workers Union called out retail players. The Opposition parties and partisans to be expected are calling out government. The usual…

In this very challenging environment, Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program, while expanding critical investments in social protection. International reserves, which reached a low of US$220 million (5-6 weeks of import coverage) at end-May 2018, are now in excess of US$1 billion. All indicative targets for end-June under the EFF were met. The targets for international reserves, net domestic assets and the primary balance were met with some margin, which bodes well for meeting the end-September EFF targets.

IMF Staff Concludes Virtual Visit to Barbados

The parliament of Barbados is scheduled to resume on September 15, 2020 after prorogation. All of Barbados anticipate government’s strategy to lead the country in the short and long term will be made known when the Governor General delivers the Throne Speech. What this blogmaster knows is that once COVID 19 exist and global travel remains a trickle earning foreign exchange in the short to medium term will be impossible in significant amounts. A plan how we produce and consume must be high on the agenda. COVID 19 confirmed what many have been advocating for a long time. We need to fashion an economic model that is sustainable given the means of production located in our domain.

It is not all doom and gloom as the recent IMF Staff report concludes. We are meeting targets!

364 responses to “Barbados Economy… Next Steps”

1. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hal Austin August 31, 2020 7:42 AM
    They could do that arrangement for the Too Big to Fail companies but government has a super bad track record managing companies they have some say in and a debt for equity will give them some say. It is better to loan them the money, have them agree to higher levels of scrutiny than private companies normally have to comply with as part of the conditions and treat them no different than creditors and banks would treat them.

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    Here is the full paragraph:
    “ That’s why I have said on BU at least five times that we need to bail out the companies that are cash strapped but have pre COVID created sustainable jobs and show the capabilities of doing so now if given the funds. These jobs could be found in new agricultural enterprises, fishing and the creative arts. We also need to pump money into those producing services and products that can replace those we currently import. The only way we can survive is to stop talking about earning forex and start talking about saving forex. The only way to do it is by getting people back to work and ensuring that their earnings are spent on what we produce. Anybody who feels that rich people in Villas and Tourism are going to save us is living in a fools paradise. And if we lay off public servants, the economy would falter more.”
    You will note I pointed out the industries. Obviously you did not read the entire paragraph.

3. jOHN A.

Fvery month ur expenses to run the rum shop in the bush is $5000,
    because you have been a good customer for 100yrs banks will defer your payments of $ 500 in beers to you.
    so for next 4 month you have $2000 less in expenses for those 4 months
    You can now take that $2000 that you had already budgeted for and fix the dam leak in your roof.

Your $2000 is the fiscal space created for you and will allow you to do the repairs without borrowing. You expenses will increase after the 4 months – hopefull with a new roof you will get more customers/revenue and will be able to handle the 4 months increase in expences before you return to the normal $5000/month

the donation from banks = donation from workers (BOSS)
    fixing the roof = capital works.

Now you can pretend you dont understand that

e

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner August 31, 2020 8:31 AM
    “These jobs could be found in new agricultural enterprises, fishing and the creative arts.”
    ++++++++++++
    Thanks William.

Agriculture and fishing have the potential to replace some products that we currently import, but it is very difficult to do so because we do not enjoy the economies of scale that large producers do. Take avocados for example… Mexican producers can grow and export them at a tiny fraction of what it costs to produce one locally. They have about 1,350 sq miles of avocado plantations and produce millions and millions of tons of the crop. Since the government cannot prohibit import without breaching WTO rules, it is up to us as consumers to simply refuse to purchase such imported crops no matter how attractive the price is.

5. The sale of icecream is a success story too 🙂

To this The Dullard would add:
    – The sale of Kool Aid
    – The sale of bridges

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson August 31, 2020 8:48 AM
    What you said has to be countered and justified using the same total cost of ownership arguments used to justify the higher upfront cost or certain projects like the electric buses.

For agriculture and locally produced items, we need to present a economic model and fund supporting studies structured to show yes it is more expensive initially but in the long run more money circulates to locally increasing our foreign reserves for purchasing other stuff and show a study showing e saving in health care due to increased NCDs and toxicity from the pesticides the other countries use.

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    I hope none of these interventions finds its way into the Throne Speech. If that happens our goose is cooked. We spent quite a few submissions trying to define fiscal space and the other half on trying to measure it. Who cares what a generally accepted definition of fiscal space is ? What do we want to measure it for? Because one cannot measure it ,does that mean that it does not exists? Any way optics breed these kind of futile debates. Commenters love these debates to which there can be no sensible conclusions.

8. @Vincent

Now maybe a good time to stretch the definition of another economic term (jargon)- externalities LOL

9. Critical Analyzer and William Skinner,

You have sorted many of the moving parts for me. That is what I would have said if when the brain fog cleared.

Thanks.

10. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Agriculture is super easy to jump-start since our biggest problem here is people willing to farm not having land to farm. All the support in terms of concessions are technical know-how is all ready there in the Ministry of Agriculture (I know that ain’t the right name).

All that is required is to pass a land use policy where plantations and persons with land not currently being utilised can be encouraged to lease 1/2 acre subplots for a period of 1 year at a set rate either directly via the Ministry of Agriculture or otherwise with both parties complying with certain stipulated conditions as set out in the policy and signing a standard agreement contract document downloadable from the ministry.

From there, you will be surprised to see how fast agriculture comes back.

11. we have to cull the monkeys for agriculture to work seriously

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene August 31, 2020 10:02 AM
    “we have to cull the monkeys for agriculture to work seriously”
    Not just the monkeys but the human thieves and vandals as well.

What we need to do is to combine agriculture with solar photovoltaic energy production because there are many parts of Barbados that are topographically suitable. This is because good research (see below) has established that the most productive places to generate solar power are over croplands. Solar panel efficiency falls the hotter the panels get; but agricultural land use moderates the local microclimate and boosts panel efficiency, furthermore the shade created by the solar panels can increase agricultural productivity in a water scarce environment like Barbados. The innovation is to mount the photovoltaic panels 8 ft off the ground and space them out a bit to create good growing conditions underneath (this does not have a significant effect on capital cost). Furthermore, the steel support infrastructure for the panels provides a solid support for fencing to defeat both human and monkey predial larceny (electric fences, since you’re producing the electric power).

The downside is that the whole thing could turn out to be ugly as sin… but that is the direction the money is flowing at the moment.

Elnaz H. Adeh et al. Solar PVPower Potential is Greatest Over Croplands, ScientificReports 9, Article # 11442 (2019)
    Hassanpour Adeh E, Higgins CW, Selker JS. Remarkable solar panels Influence on soil moisture, micrometeorology and water-use efficiency. PLoS One (2018)

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

You are indeed a disruptor. I am sure in the Throne Speech we will be reminded of the external shocks and how competently this Administration have dealt with them. The plans for dealing with these external factors going forward will be exposed .
    Of course they will be based on assumptions. What else can they be based on? We are scientists not God. The requirement is that they be reasonable and have their geneses in most recent information and on a Model that has traction. A model that is fit for purpose. It has to be short term…. say three years. By then COVID will be under control world wide. So this will have to be a Survival Plan.

14. There is so much to ensuring a jumpstart of agriculture is done efficiently to ensure success can be sustained. The use of technology is key as well as the framework to manage it. It will not be a case of lease land and throw seeds in the ground. Vincent will soon chime also to point out a significant amount of the inputs have to be imported. We have a MOA that should be qualified and experienced to lead this project, however, we allow politics to get in the way.

15. If the inputs to be imported cost less than the imported finished product then foreign currency is still saved.

16. Of course but this onlyone duck to be lined up. The success of a national push to address food security must be holistic. Fixed and variable cost will fluctuate based on individual circumstances. The MOA needs to ensure an attempt is made to level the playing field.We know what happened when concessions were given to the sector years ago, we witnessed the explosion in the sale of L200 trucks to non farmers.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 11:20 AM

During World War 2, 80 years ago, we reached a level of self sufficiency in agriculture. We can reach that level again. There was no significant need for imported inputs into agriculture. Why should we not do it now when there is a drive towards greening of the planet.Those plantations need not be leased to anyone. They are owned by The GOB and already have labourers. They need competent managers. Agriculture in Barbados always used leading edge technology most of it developed locally. This is no time for amateur agriculturists.

18. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson & @David
    Both of you are going a little too deep with agriculture, solar and MOA micro managed projects, etc. They are all good idea and I am most sure the MOA and or BADMC have already done projects over the years with farmers to develop and research various types of produce and farming techniques.

The biggest problem is farmers with no land to farm or having to lease huge lots of land or lease at high rates. I currently know someone that is in farming and wanted to go on their own but does not have the land.

Like Mia said ‘Gimme the vote and watch ma’, I say ‘Lease the idle land cheap and watch the farmers’

19. @Vincent

To be clear you are suggesting the project to increase food production be done within the existing framework i.e. that which we refer the legacy of the plantocracy?

20. @ Don’t you guys get tired talking around in circles?

Since the birth of BU, the talking points have not changed. I put it to the BU chatterati that 20 years from now the tone of the conversations will be exactly the same. With the exception of shocks like pandemics, wars etc. a blog today can be used ‘as is’ in 20 years time with only minor changes to names and dates.

The issues in Barbados are chronic, deep-rooted and cultural. There is little appetite to change anything. What’s more, many of Barbados’ problems are faced by everyone else, globally.

There is little that Mugabe et. al can do to solve anything and they have 0 solutions. None at all!

21. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Vincent and @David
    The existing framework, technology and expertise has always been there and is freely available from the Ministry of Agriculture technocrats and library.

All that is needed is to start by changing from the plantation model where a manager employs the labourers to an entrepreneur model where the plantation leases small subplots and the plantation can provide access to services such as plouging or use of their equipment as part of the lease or at a special rate if they so desire.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Critical Analyzer
    Nobody has done any experiments here with combining agriculture with photovoltaic power production. BL&P and Williams Industries have both put up solar projects on land that could be agriculturally productive, thereby taking the land out of agriculture permanently. A couple of thousands dollars worth of steel and a little foresight is all that was needed to avoid this mistake by raising the panels by six feet. Then you have already built the infrastructure to take care of the monkey problem as well as the predial larceny problem; furthermore you have increased the efficiency of your solar panels as well as improved the productivity of the land.

It is a win, win, win, win, situation.

23. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Dullard August 31, 2020 10:49 AM
    Most of us don’t have the ear of politicians so this is the best forum to reach them. They love a good piece of gossip and political fights.

You would to ask Peter Lawrence Thompson if his Work from Barbados Stamp program was first floated on this or one of the other blogs or if he did a formal presentation to the BTA before talking about it on the blog comments.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Only pseudo- intellectuals get agitated by nomenclature. A plantation is a farm involved primarily with production of foods.In the survival mode, society should employ the most productive organization of inputs.Plantations are small farms.

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    I told James Paul via Brasstacks, about three years ago, that we are at least forty years behind in terms of agro based export industries. He said that I knew not of what I spoke.
    My whole idea is to use agriculture for employment; food security; land reform; import substitution and saving Forex. We cannot catch up with those whose products are now and have been in the major retail stores- Walmart etc for over 30 years. Right now a dry coconut on the shelves of major reatailers is from Costa Rica.
    I know the intellectual big wigs on BU don’t like to talk about looking inward. However if we don’t eat more of what we produce and get our local economies firing on all six cylinders, we are in deep trouble.
    As @Donna and others constantly say : we need to understand that if we don’t get back to basics we just spinning top in mud.
    It’s not too late but every second that goes by the realistic clock is ticking.
    That’s why they jumped on your excellent idea of the Home Stamp. I’m just waiting on the throne speech to determine if they are totally bankrupt of ideas or have found creativity and innovation.
    I hope that they have.

26. @Vincent

You are aware such an approach will blunt the opportunity to expand ownership of the sector?

27. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson August 31, 2020 10:56 AM
    I have done alot of the research on the same topic and you can really only do solar panels on the scale you are talking about alongside agriculture in a greenhouse setting. In open fields it is going to present problems for ploughing when used on a large scale.

What is more feasible is on a smaller scale to supplement farmers where they use one or two lines of solar panels mounted on trailers or other movable poles and structures about 4-6 feet off the ground they can in turn use to power electric fencing, lights, cameras and other needs on the farm with the excess feeding into the grid to help supplement operating costs. When plouging is needed, move the panels to another area.

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 11:19 AM

That model of development is an anachronism. Land owned or in control of GoB, is owned by all its citizens. We have experimented with the model of land lease and it was a drain on the public purse,reducing GoB fiscal space. I am going to use that phrase until John A comprehend it.

29. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The future of agriculture is Organic Farming. i.e. farming without the use of hazardous unnatural chemicals. Certified organic food is where the big money is and we already have the framework to go into that in a big way.

There has been a concerted effort by the Monsantos of the world to suppress the dangers posed but more and more studies are showing the chemicals and other unnatural practises are a factor in the increase of NCDs like cancer.

30. @Vincent

Thanks for the clarification, the blogmaster was under the mistaken impression here was an opportunity to empower citizens displaced by the old dispensation.

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    Are you sure the citizens want to be empowered ? And through the allocation of land in micro portions? How economic is this? Farming as a hobby will not achieve the National objective of self-sufficiency in food. There are enough examples of failure in Barbados.

32. @Critical

They could do that arrangement for the Too Big to Fail companies but government has a super bad track record managing companies they have some say in and a debt for equity will give them some say. It is better to loan them the money, have them agree to higher levels of scrutiny than private companies normally have to comply with as part of the conditions and treat them no different than creditors and banks would treat them….(Quote)

You have raised an interesting point that has now become part of the Barbadian political narrative. So embedded is it that it simply rolls off the tongue: that private sector management is good, which it is not; and public sector management is bad, which does not have to be the case.
    This is a system created and encouraged by local party parties that have no purpose other than to enrich their leaders and supporters. I made the point that the debt for equity projects should be under the management of a sovereign wealth fund, and the legislation of that would remove ministerial control, reporting annually to parliament.
    In short, the portfolio will be managed by a meritocratic management, and not political stooges as is the case for the majority of our statutory organisations.

33. VC,

correct. commercial farming unless heavily subsided and or otherwise supported by Govt would fail for the more part especially if mono-culture. small to mid sized seasonal food farming can work tho but has to be in some measure assisted by Govt policies and local preferences. i think this what most people envision when they say get back to farming in Bim

34. William Skinner Avatar

No wonder we are stuck. Imagine @Vincent Codrington asking @ David: Are you sure the citizens want to be empowered.
    Well, that says all about how we think!
    In a Black Country , where it has been established , even by the current government, that there is need for such empowerment , we have that kind of question arising in what us supposed to be a sensible debate on the economic way forward.
    I have no choice now other than to hope that our Prime Minister is not in line with that type of thinking because if she is, we could as well sell the country to the highest bidder .
    I will not wait on the throne speech.

Things get curiouser and curiouser….,,,,

35. William Skinner Avatar

Should read I will “now”wait. Not “not”. My apologies.

36. Let us agree that there are several different ways to count unemployment and that there is no right or wrong way. There is Not one way.

One of the sad things about the prison system is that prisoners are often made to work and the compensation bears little resemblance to the value of what they produce. Should that be counted as employment? No!

On the other hand, they Are not free to go and look for a job elsewhere. I would not count them as employed.

In my opinion, they do not go on any side of the ledger.

The link was to show that some do not count them among the unemployed (as you do), but being the ass you are, you made all about the link. If someone does not share your opinion does that makes them a fool.

I think it makes you an arrogant ass.

37. We have done two exchanges.
    You may have the last word.

38. @ Vincent Codrington August 31, 2020 10:38 AM

We would already save 50 percent of food if our population did not eat so much. On average, our population is clearly much too fat. Therefore we urgently need a STARVE program that reduces the number of calories per person per day.

The government could, for example, warn civil servants of dismissal if the BMI does not drop to 25 within 6 months. I estimate that the average BMI of civil servants is somewhere between 40 and 50. Since many civil servants cannot manage the weight reduction, this would have the welcome side effect of finally reducing the bloated bureaucracy.

This would have two advantages: a healthy population and less expenditure on food imports.

39. On the other hand, they Are not free to go and look for a job elsewhere. I would not count them as UNemployed.

40. “No wonder we are stuck. Imagine @Vincent Codrington asking @ David: Are you sure the citizens want to be empowered.”

that’s why I would not want anyone in Barbados speaking on my or my family’s behalf….NO ONE…..they all have this slave mentality and like to decide what each other needs and it has nothing to do with people empowerment…it’s a slave society, all of the slaves need to DIE OFF…..

…..do not expect any apology you will be shit outta luck….and if any fowl slave comes out asking for one, I will tell you where to go for it….

41. The point Vincent is making is that the people may not want the responsibility. Life as a child seems nice sometimes. Somebody else has to do the thinking and most of the working. Empowerment entails taking responsibility for your own life and having nobody but yourself to blame for your failure. Nobody to complain for or to when things don’t go your way.

Some people do not wish to be empowered. They are content for corruption to continue as long as they can get by reasonably well. In other words, “Yuh could cyah way some once yuh doan cyah way all.”

Empowerment brings responsibility.

42. Thanks Donna, preferred for another to explain it. It is this linear thinking that makes debate a challenge with some.

43. William Skinner Avatar

I assure you that if black people hated responsibility and spurned whatever empowerment crumbs were thrown at us , not one of us would be breathing now. This negative view of our race where we identify the minority as the benchmark is one of our greatest tragedies. In all races there will be those who do not always exhibit the attitudes that are needed.
    For anybody to ask me if poor Black people want empowerment and a bigger piece of the pie , is an insult to my intelligence. Quite frankly , it is about the most unbelievable thing I have ever read on BU or anywhere else.

44. WC

You need to read the questions VC asked again.

And relax

45. William Skinner,

I speak to you of what I have heard with my own ears. I am not stating it as a certainty for all of our people.
    Many of us do want empowerment but there is a sizeable segment of our society who do not want the responsibility of thinking. They want the Government to think. Our grandparents and parents were not like that at all.

As for the quotation-it IS a quotation.

46. For instance, how many people read or watch a documentary? How many people can you engage in meaningful conversation? How many do something other than party on holidays of national significance?

A bigger piece of the pie does not drop from the sky. (Until maybe when we die by and by?)

47. Two examples- how vibrant is our population participating in the governance system including placing the x on Election Day?

What about our unwillingness to be involved in consumer organizations?

48. It is like some women who would rather have their husbands think for them. Even I get tired of figuring things out sometimes and being responsible for everything.

But then I get over it.

49. So because “some do not wish to be empowered” does that mean that the government should not promote empowerment?
    Since when do anecdotes, hearsay and personal experience represent facts?

In what version of reality does it make sense for a nation that has had minority rule and slavery for most of its modern history (> 300 years) not to promote economic empowerment as a meaningful objective?

50. “The point Vincent is making is that the people may not want the responsibility.”

People born and raised in slave societies with an inadequate miseducation system are never encouraged to think independently and they are DISCOURAGED from asking ya halfassed, corrupt leaders any questions.

.. there was this dude on voice note just months ago telling Bajans to mind their business and don’t ask ministers any questions about the mismanagement of the country, that recording was played everywhere to display the stark backwardness and ignorance still prevailing in a self-proclaimed educated society…..people who know better were horrified at the stupidity still posing as educated bajans.

the likes of Vincent believe they know what the less knowledgeable need because that is how he was socialized to look down on those whom he knows would be afraid to tell him where the hell he came from and what he is a product of, unilke me,, he would never, ever say that shit to or about any of the tiefing corrupt minorities on the island…

People should be educating each other on ways to DEMAND SELF-EMPOWERMENT….i don’t have the time to mollycoddle as*holes.