There was a time – and it still is for many – the popular management instruction was that the sole purpose of a business was to create shareholder value. For this reason financial institutions and others for decades have used this single performance indicator to determine the success of the business.

In recent years a more enlightened management theory promoted is that a company must balance the needs of ALL stakeholders which include customers, employees, suppliers and the community it serves. However from observation such a noble position is practised in the breech.

The bottomline is that business owners everywhere have expectations largely influenced by the size of the profit margin and all the flowery language in management text books will not change the thinking. Milton Friedman’s hypothesis that the only responsibility of a business is to utilize its resources to increase profits mindful of operating within the law is alive and well decades later.

In a COVID 19 world the operating and business models have been significantly compromised given the unprecedented prevailing environment. Very few companies have been unaffected. The sorry state of affairs can be confirmed in the local landscape by reviewing unaudited statements of accounts of public companies published to date. If local blue chip companies are failing to perform in the current environment what does it mean for small and medium sized businesses?

From all reports the most optimistic projection is that an effective COVID 19 treatment or vaccine will be available in early 2021. How the vaccine is distributed will then have to be prioritized. It may take several months for mass production to ramp up and distributed across the globe. The point therefore – when a vaccine is developed AND the time it takes to be distributed has implications for service and tourism dependent economies like Barbados.

At the last report Barbados is operating at 5% tourism traffic with 40 thousand unemployment claims reported to have been submitted to the NIS – the solvency of the scheme is content for another blog. The harsh reality is that in an environment of uncertainty business owners cannot effectively and effectively plan. Very few businesses after more than 10 years operating in a depressed market have access to the cash flow to ride out a protracted period of low sales activity. It means as a country we will have to find a way to stoke the circular economy. This will present a huge challenge given the fragile state of the local economy.

Surprising on an island that boast about the effectiveness of the tripartite arrangement. Head of the BCCI called out government this week. The Barbados Workers Union called out retail players. The Opposition parties and partisans to be expected are calling out government. The usual…

In this very challenging environment, Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program, while expanding critical investments in social protection. International reserves, which reached a low of US$220 million (5-6 weeks of import coverage) at end-May 2018, are now in excess of US$1 billion. All indicative targets for end-June under the EFF were met. The targets for international reserves, net domestic assets and the primary balance were met with some margin, which bodes well for meeting the end-September EFF targets.

IMF Staff Concludes Virtual Visit to Barbados

The parliament of Barbados is scheduled to resume on September 15, 2020 after prorogation. All of Barbados anticipate government’s strategy to lead the country in the short and long term will be made known when the Governor General delivers the Throne Speech. What this blogmaster knows is that once COVID 19 exist and global travel remains a trickle earning foreign exchange in the short to medium term will be impossible in significant amounts. A plan how we produce and consume must be high on the agenda. COVID 19 confirmed what many have been advocating for a long time. We need to fashion an economic model that is sustainable given the means of production located in our domain.

It is not all doom and gloom as the recent IMF Staff report concludes. We are meeting targets!

364 responses to “Barbados Economy… Next Steps”

1. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Putting the focus on creating shareholder value and finding balance with the needs of all stakeholders and profits is the spiel of people only interested in the money and greed and is wrong. Any business that focuses on that first will fail sooner or later.

The sole and only purpose and reason for the existence of any and all businesses is the offer some useful products and services of tangible value to its customers. All the profits, shareholder value, etc are only there to support the business’ continuing effort to keep offering its products and services and satisfying its customers.

It has taken the tripartite members and most other business dinosaurs too long to realise every single business model was nuked in March 2020 and they are long past overdue to critically examine every last one of the products and services they offer and figure out which ones they need to change, need to be eliminated and new opportunities they need to get a jump on.

2. The preamble was directed at the BWU and their simplistic offering last press conference.

3. David

We renew our demand for prime minister Mugabe to desist from this illegal, immoral and dictatorial action on which she is embarked. You must call a general election forthwith.

She might not have the vision to see how an election benefits her but we guarantee that Mugabe will come we rue the day she took this action.

If your mandate is made impossible you MUST go back to the people for new one. Not engage in manoeuvres unknown to the Constitution.

4. @Pacha

We have travelled this road already. What are the options? We have no opposition as it stands. The BLP will win 40-0 should an election is called. It must be some kind of political lacuna we have to address.

5. David
    This goverment could go throgh the fiction of the re-opening of Parliament but is right, in your view, to not do that thing which gives a proper re-opening its real meaning.
    This smells like dictatorship to us.

Because we talked about this before cannot end this matter of immortality

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

All players appear to be making simplistic offerings that are inadequate to the situation obtaining in the economy. It is not business as usual. Therefore unusual decisions have to be made. Stakeholders in this society should not be fighting old battles.
    @ David Bu
    Are the targets still relevant? How is that possible in an economy that has recorded drastic declines in key areas of the economy?

7. We should stop with the illusion that there is a solution and that the population will continue to live as it has done since 1966.

We have only one industry for mass employment, tourism. There is no substitute for it. We have been in crisis for half a year now and have reached 0% diversification. The COVID19 Council is obviously a failed project. The masses are in their mental slavery incapable to think independently and to found own enterprises. They will therefore return to the tourism sector as employees after the crisis.

The Barbadian workers are much too demanding and the wages much too high. The trade unions act as if we had full employment. The fact is that we are now heading for 50 percent unemployment. The “outspoken senator” is a great demagogue, but on this point he remains silent.

My recommendation: Instead of presenting the population half-baked and unworkable ideas, we should pay unemployment benefits until the date when the tourists come back to Barbados in masses.

In the meantime, of course, we must not remain inactive. Our leader should regard the parliamentary vacations as an opportunity to take the fate of the nation into her own hands. The emergency legislation gives her the power to do so. Therefore I recommend:

the abolition of the Senate

the detention of persons who destabilize democracy through false allegations

the halving of wages

a temporary ban on trade unions

8. David

How do you know with such certainty about a 40 love result.

This is not about results. It is about a matter of law.

The government got a mandate based on its manifesto. There is a social contract in place with the people of Barbados. Did we not learn anything from Richie Haynes and the DLP circa 1991?

9. @Vincent

Dr.Greenidge will tell you the target of 6% was reduced to 1% re primary surplus which frees up 500 million. Also there is latitude to flex in a covid environment should the government decide. You are the economist, tell us!

10. @Pacha

Yours is a moral argument and not law. The BLP won the last election period and it stands for the constitutional period.

11. IMF states that Barbados has 1 billion in foreign reserves
    Sounds fiscally sound only if these funds could stand alone all by themselves are were not borrowed
    Which begs the question how would those funds be repaid within in timely manner which does not incur fees

12. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@ Mariposa August 28, 2020 6:43 PM
    What does 1 billion in foreign reserves really mean? Is that rainy day saving or working capital the country has to spend on day-to-day expenses or something else completely?

13. Yes, the blp won the last election with a result which this writer accurately forecasted 5 years beforehand.

That election was won based of a set of promises, pledges. A social contract.

That the government cannot keep to the terms, for whatever reason, it MUST return to the people otherwise its very legitamacy is brought into question.

You are warned.

Now, you may have the last word.

14. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Pachamama
    You either have to be an idiot or a strong DLP supporter hoping to get at least one seat in Parliament to talk more nonsense under the protection of parliamentary privilege.

A election now will not change the party in power and will waste money the country does not have to waste.

People fighting to keep from drowning and you talking nonsense about calling an election before it’s time.

The only election talk I want to hear about is a constitutional amendment to permanently set the election date to the last Thursday in October every 5 years similar to how the Americans have a fixed election dates.

15. Lastly, it was this writer who sought to warn this goverment that a depression was ahead, and did this two years ago. Of course, our warnings were ignored.

16. Crtical
    That is govt call
    From govt last talk on infrastructure spending govt made a call to govt employees for help in financing hence Boss was rolled out as incentive
    So as to how and what govt purpose with that money it is a call govt would have to mek

17. Truth here is simple so here goes.

We are in the worst recession any of us have ever seen.

With 40,000 unemployed consumer spending will be way down over the next 6 months, especailly over the Xmas period.

Unemployment benefits will run out over the next few weeks, hence we would then see the true value of our new post covid economy.

With a massive fall in tourism revenue along with other of our trading sectors performing poorly, where will we make up the loss in tourism income?

These are just a few issues our leaders now need to turn their attention to. We need open and logic driven discussions here based solely on financial reality. Bragging that we have met IMF targets means absolutely nothing to the Barbadian public, unless they can benefit from these gold stars in their day to day lives.

18. @John A

In your summarization of the sorry state Barbados and many countries find themselves there will be winners and losers. Government reflects its people, poor governments, poor plans equate to current state. All are tuned to September 15, 2020. Will the real leaders please stand up!

19. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Mariposa
    You misinterpreted my question. I have constantly hear we have x millions in foreign reserves but I am asking what is the intended purpose of foreign reserves when talking about a country’s economy?

Is it like my primary bank account where all the money I make going into and my bills, food, rent, etc comes out of ? or
    Is it like a separate saving account I can use to top up my primary account starts to run low and my cheques are in danger of bouncing?

The answer to those questions tells us if we are really in good standings or not with 1 billion in foreign reserves.

20. @ John A August 28, 2020 7:09 PM

There is no new post covid19 economy, but poverty.

Government must extend unemployment benefit at ANY cost. Otherwise we will face extreme crime and riots. We could easily finance the extension of unemployment benefits by reallocating from the salaries of civil servants to the unemployed masses. The civil servants are too lethargic and too fat anyway. A small financial diet certainly does no harm them.

BOSS was a good start. But our government should finally strike with the demon hammer if it has to, including a temporary ban on rebellious unions and the internment of rebellious union leaders. Those who cooperate with the government may of course continue to operate. We are not yet China. Not yet … LOL.

21. David
    Have you heard of disaster capitalism. In the USA Amazon and a few other companies are doing better than ever.

Rich people all over are storing nuff cash in basements because they fear what is ahead. Bank s may go belly up.

A recession or depression presents a unique opportunity for unusual profits for the few.

22. @Pacha

It is always a zero sum game. Amazon, Apple and a few mega companies have business models that have been presented in all academic texts. They are the outliers.

23. Jeff Bezos is now set to be the world’”s first trillionaire within 4 to 5 years

24. GAIA
    The Ministry of Tourism and International Transport, in collaboration with the Board and Management of the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) Inc., is seeking to position the facility as the premier southern aviation hub.
    https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/247427/aim-gaia-southern-aviation-hub

25. @ Pachamama
    It’s very evident that you’re one of those DLP hardliners That won’t concede. What the heavens are you reaching for “That the government cannot keep to the terms, for whatever reason, it MUST return to the people otherwise its very legitamacy is brought into question”. Please, reference David’s post August 28, 2020 6:25pm. Our Government has no JOB OFFERS FOR YOU.

26. TronAugust 28, 2020 5:59 PM We have only one industry for mass employment, tourism. There is no substitute for it. We have been in crisis for half a year now and have reached 0% diversification.

Because when the world was booming and some Barbadians living large, no money was put aside and none invested in diversification by the then administration. That was roughly the 2000-2008 period. In fact, diversification was totally ignored.

There were and are alternate opportunities, but one needs imagination and intent and interest in advancement of the general populace. Mediocre management.

I have no intent to advance pragmatic ideas for diversification. We spent plenty of time on that in past years on these forums. What is the point anyway. Let those who are getting huge consulting fees work for it.

27. @ Mariposa

You continue to ask the right questions. If Barbados has Bs$2bn in foreign reserves, and is not paying its debt (remember White Oaks and the credit default is still not resolved), is this real money or just savings to pay off debt?
    But there is a deeper macroeconomic issue that is either ignored in Barbados among the commentariat, or is just not realised, and that is the performance of the Greenback on the currency markets.
    Since CoVid, the Greenback has been plummeting on the currency markets and, the price of the traditional safe haven, gold, had been rising to an astonishing US$2000 an ounce. This depreciation has been speeded up the global pandemic, but the trajectory was always in that direction.
    Half of global trade is done in euros, the Russians and Chinese now invoice in yuan.
    Either our policy-makers do not know this unknown, or it is an unknown unknown. The reality is that the performance of the Bajan dollar performs exactly as does the Greenback. Which means that for the most of 2020, the Bajan dollar has been devaluing. This means that our imports have suddenly become more expensive; or, in other words, the dollar-denominated debt we have accumulated over the years is now more expensive to service than it was two years ago. We are going round and round in circles.
    Then we get the smoke and mirrors. We talk about fiscal space, then we allow zombie businesses to walk away without paying VAT, national insurance or income taxes, when in reality all those companies should have been forced to pay or be shut down.
    With 40 per cent official unemployment (which means in reality about 50 per cent), there is no fear that to close these mainly family-owned and run companies will increase unemployment. Nonsense. New businesses will replace the failed ones; that has always been the evolution of commerce in the Western world.
    Further, the obsession of using the Greenback as a vehicle currency is fast passing its use by date; central banks now warehouse 58 per cent of their foreign currency reserves in the Greenback, another way of saying that 42 per cent are stored in other currencies. Banks use it for only 50 per cent of their cross-border trade.
    In short, despite the propaganda about foreign reserves, it is mickey mouse money, Monopoly. What would help is if the minister of finance, the elected politician, came to the nation and t ell us what her economic policy is and what policies she has put in place to get us there.
    The postponement for the Queen’s Speech is just a delaying tactic. The world does not stand still until September 15.

28. Hal, you say ”then we allow zombie businesses to walk away without paying VAT, national insurance or income taxes, when in reality all those companies should have been forced to pay or be shut down.
    With 40 per cent official unemployment (which means in reality about 50 per cent), there is no fear that to close these mainly family-owned and run companies will increase unemployment. Nonsense. New businesses will replace the failed ones; that has always been the evolution of commerce in the Western world.”

Agree with you on this. Statutory deductions are called statutory for a reason. The companies are legally obligated to pay these over to government. But somehow, some companies get away with not paying, shut down owing millions, then reopen under a different name.

I know a word for that.

As for businesses shutting, of course new ones will open. If nineteen coffee shops open a week after someone has a bright idea to open one, of course when there is a vacuum, there will be people to rush in to fill the void.

No one business is above the country.

29. Understanding a govt touting billions in reserves and seeing the economic stagnation of a country dries up
    Makes for asking what difference does it make when much is being stored in the warehouse and the people are on the brink of starvation
    Govt came in to office with several purposes in mind one was to pay debt another was to put money in the people pocket
    So far only one thing has been accomplished a nation having to take money out of their pocket to help pay debt
    The IMF has become the newest slavemasters releasing news that benefits their own interest sending a false message with a direction that would appeal to the less susceptible of their motives
    Motives grounded in getting much more out of the financially drained barbados household in the most clever fashion to pay barbados debt
    A debt which now surpasses the debt left behind by previous govt

30. Poverty
    Homelessness would be the hallmark of this govt if nothing is not done in quick fashion to help the 50percent unemployed
    Also another troublesome issue is the high level of crime which govt has been eerily silent having an AG missing in action

31. The company directors game the system. They are con artistes and know precisely what they are doing. That is why I have said the companies’ legislation, created in the 1920s, should be overhauled and made fir for the 21st century.
    The notion that a company is a legal entity in its own right is nonsense. A company is inanimate. We need legislation that follows the owners and directors wherever they do and holds them responsible for the debt of the company.
    With such legislation we will see immediate improvements and a new kind of integrity in the management of firms. We also need to prosecute the directors and management teams of firms that withhold VAT and national insurance. VAT is paid by consumers at the point of service; it is money already in the possession of the service provider as agent for the government. To not pass it on to the government is theft. Directors found guilty of not passing on VAT should be barred from being company directors for long periods, or even for life.
    National insurance not only deprives government of revenue, it also denies the employee of their rightful state benefits. Once deductions have been made the directors should be held personally responsible for that money. Once a few directors lose their gated family homes there will be vast improvements.
    Of course, the Motley government will never do this, not while she is in the pockets of the Social Partnership.

32. The veil of incorporation can be lifted in certain circumstances. Wherein the veil has been used to abuse the system or act in a criminal manner, that veil can be lifted.

So, I would not assume that just because the company is a separate legal entity, that the directors do not have some liability.

This is why one does not accept directorships without careful thought. A person can easily end up in deep trouble.

Specific legislation, such as the anti-money laundering legislation, actually includes penalties for the directors, where malfeasance takes place.

Possibly people have not been prosecuted in the past, where companies have fallen foul of statutory obligations, is because many, possibly even authorities, misunderstand the role and responsibility of the directors and where the veil may not be a protection for their acts or omissions.

https://www.lawteacher.net/free-law-essays/business-law/article-on-lifting-of-the-law-essays.php

33. @Tron

Patience is a virtue and it’s slowly coming around to your draconian/realistic visions for the future economy. Unemployment of 50% is inevitable if not already present, the tourism economy is in the dust bin both short and long term, government thinking on RESOLUTIONS is non-stop existent etc etc. Your idea of boosting unemployment sounds good, however the funds to support this plan are in extremely short supply. Static down sizing of the civil service as you point out would save some funds, however they’d just be transferred to payment of unemployment to the same individuals. Therefore nothing gained or lost. What has to be readjusted is the countries overall lifestyle to be online with revenue generation. Poverty for the masses is the likely outcome. Government no longer has the mother country or masse to bail them out, FAILURE as one of bloggers states is here to stay. Tomorrow’s reality is not TV, it’s reality for which the country is not prepared and does not have any ideas to mitigate.

To use DAVID’S term, SAME OLD SAME OLD.

34. if they cant run the country call in Kirpalani

35. @Hal Austin August 29, 2020 6:32 AM,

spot on

36. Some of you behave the predicament Barbados finds itself is an easy problem to solve. We have the short term challenge of high unemployment caused by the pandemic. In the hospitality sector there are workers who have not received a paycheck for months and have been feeding off unemployment. As Pacha remeind3d us The pandemic has exposed the inability of government to address structural flaws in the economy.

The reality is that TODAY there is a big hole in the revenue bucket and as Vincent been suggesting we have to find strategies to keep the circular economy going. Bare in mind we are talking about short term measures o prevent implosion. There is no blueprint for managing the situation the country finds itself. Some of you share your views in a manner to suggest there are known approaches. The global economy is struggling and there is a reason why an open economy like Barbados will struggle also. Some of you need to park your partisan hardheaded nonsense and take onboard that Barbados is between a rock and a hard place. It therefore requires constructive national debate if we are to assist with the Herculean effort required to navigate obstacles before us.

37. @ Blogmaster August 29, 2020 7:17 AM

Man stop with the emotional melodrama. The Barbados economy has been struggling long before CV19. The pandemic has not revealed anything about the economy that we have not known for many years. What it has done though, is to shine bright light on the weak spots of our economic model; and to cut off the traditional life boats. We can not be the tourists to come and bail us out now.
    So we are forced to think for ourselves and devise home grown, bespoke solutions. Which circles back to one of the core issues. Can we? Does our educational system provide the tools for Bajans to spot the opportunities in the pandemic and chart new paths forward? I believe we all know the answer to that.

The writing is on the wall. There will be no return to normalcy. The best this gov’t could do so far was to co-opt PLT’s nomad visa idea, slap the Barbados Welcome Stamp badge on it and hope for the best.

Hope is a road in St. Lucy!

38. @ Tron

You talk about the unemployment rate, but this is one area where governments cook the books. How do we define unemployment. Until the 1970s unemployment was defined as anyone who wanted a job; then that year it became something called the economically active; recently, post-CoVid, it has now become people leaving payrolls, which conveniently ignores the self-employed and those working in the gig economy.
    But, official figures ignore the long-term sick, those in prisons and mental institutions, the homeless and destitute, those boys and girls on the block who do not ‘actively’ look for work, in other words, those frustrated with rejections and decide to say late in bed in the morning.
    It also ignores the bloating public sector pay roll with thousands of under-employed people and pensioners desperate for more income. Official statistics can mean what you want them to mean.

39. Critical Analyzer Avatar

We have wasted 5 months praying and hoping gimmicks like BOSS would get us through this self-inflicted depression because we let fear of a virus cause panicked reactions and irrational thinking.

The national debate should have been completed every since April while the lockdown was in full effect based on a worst case scenario of our main bread winner tourism not returning until March 2021.

Major changes they should have started and be much further along on are
    1) VAT filing system should be tweaked so companies only pay in or receive the net amount oustanding at the due date. I see no sense in a company paying in VAT when they have refunds outstanding.
    2) Basing the restructuring of our economy around increased Food Production, Infrastructure Improvement and Health Services Efficiency i.e. the core things required for our survival food, shelter and health.

40. all this Govt has is talk talk talk , photo ops, back door shenanigans, friends and family opportunities and nothing else. murders on the rise and you cant hear a word from the otherwise loquacious MAM.

41. @Dullard

What have you written that conflicts with what the blogmaster wrote? We are in a period of so-called normal anyway. At minimum Covid should force intelligent citizens to exercise some commonsense. Just look at some in this discussion so far who are intent on squeezing the partisan position when all admit we are here as a result of years of neglect by successive governments. It is hopeless.

42. didnt this Govt commit to fixing all that? yet it indulged from the outset in partisan political nonsense and chose to reward family and friends and the private sector to the detriment of the people. and it continues? we deserve the govt we get.

one thing about the BLP- problems in Govt are the fault of both parties but good news or successes of Govt is placed only in the domain of the hivers.

they said “gimme the vote and watch muh”. we are watching watching watching and waiting waiting waiting….

43. @Greene

We are trying emphasis on trying to have a dispassionate debate.

44. @ David,

Up until the last election there was a constant and relentless attack on PM Freundal Stuart and the DLP government and its supporters on BU.

There was no dispassionate debate but I concede this is a different time and we could forget the past and focus on the present and future.

The BLP can blame the DLP and now Covid 19 for the contining decline in the economy.

Buh doan mine me. I just writing my usual spotters and skinners while watching F1 Q2 .

Time for a second cup of coffee.

45. @Hants

Let us continue along that line then see where it gets us.

If COVID 19 does not force the tipping point, so be it!

46. you seem to want to shift the debate to Absolution, since Covid as you say. have you seen such a change in approach from this Govt?

47. https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=guillotine+outside+bezos+house&docid=13826936743923&mid=57789EAE0A111714B4E857789EAE0A111714B4E8&view=detail&FORM=VIRE

Contrary to news reports in other sections of the press, it is not true that Pachamama had anything whatsoever to do with this instrument of social transformation being erected in front of Jeff Bezo’s house.

48. I would estimate that over 80% of government projects have failed to meet stated objectives and this mainly has to do with a lack of research, poor management, bad ideas, corruption, and other negative factors. That wasted money has to have lead to us being in the hands of the IMF. Another problem government has failed to look at tourism as properly and I do not think they know if it is making money for the country or nor.

49. It is probably more political opportunism in a country where citizens have been unable to hold the political class accountable. A case of the tail wagging the dog.

50. @Pacha

Good one, go to the front!

Seriously, do you blame Bezos or the capitalist system that gave him room to work.

BTW, how much was his divorce settlement.