It is mid term and the political temperature just went up after Prime Minister Mia Mottley executed  a shake up to her management team – see Prime Minister Mia Mottley Changes Cabinet.

Unlike her predecessor Freundel Stuart who preferred to hideaway on the hilltop of Mount Olympus and descend to talk to the people only if poked and cajoled- Mottley in stark contrast has commanded regional and international attention in her short tenure as prime minister – see Barbadians Take Pause to Watch Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s CNN Interview.

On Wednesday of this week (22/07/2020) the blogmaster listened to an interesting discussion on VOB’s Down to Brasstacks between David Ellis and Dr. Ronnie Yearwood. Both gentlemen agreed that Mottley has been successful in resurrecting the international profile of Barbados BUT the job of monetizing (Yearwood’s word) this intangible will be the challenge.

Relevant Link: Brasstacks Podcast (click 22 July 2020)

The blogmaster has broached this subject many times, the importance of a leader effectively communicating, even if it means OVER communicating. The effect it has on the psyche and confidence level of the people being led is one benefit. Especially during crisis situations that have led to economic and social fatigue of a people. There is a reason political communication is studied in political science.

…in Political Communication in America characterize it as the ways and intentions of message senders to influence the political environment. This includes public discussion (e.g. political speeches, news media coverage, and ordinary citizens’ talk) that considers who has authority to sanction, the allocation of public resources, who has authority to make decision…

The blogmaster concedes there is a dark side to the discipline of political communication. The responsibility rests with civil society to apply its collective intelligence to filter the noise and propaganda from the grist of the points at issue.

This preamble serves notice to readers that Barbados joins small open economies at an unprecedented time in the history of the world. Bold decisions will have to be made to sustain an acceptable standard of living. Old ways of doing business will have to be replaced. Different approaches to educating our people, constructing buildings and homes. The use of technology; digitization. Enhance governance in every sphere of endeavour must spike.

The masses however are reminded the political class in Barbados is a secondary class, there are a few who operate in the economic class; the primary class sitting as gatekeepers and ultimately the greatest influence on decision making and execution of policy in Barbados. While this scenario is no different to what obtains in other countries, some argue the degree of influence exerted by the primary class in Barbados is above the global median.

It is unfortunate the influence of Mia Mottley on the Barbados space looms large and has had the effect of sucking the opposition- political and others – from our space.

This is not Mottley’s fault.

The fault is ours.

How will we respond?

Are we able to strip away the political ragga ragga and use God’s gift to citizens – social media – to  intelligently  respond?

217 responses to “The Spectre of Mottley”

1. Greene
    Someone pointing at a Mercedes that was already in possession of the government, talking about inanity? Referencing a PM knighting their father, talking about inanity? A PM ain’t knight his deputy’s father? And so what, both are deserving and that is the defining factor. An aspiring DLP candidate talking about taxes but fails to mention the reduction in income tax, expansion of reverse tax credit and the introduction of the compensatory income credit? The impact of taxes cannot be analysed in vacuum i.e. by focusing solely on the taxes imposed. You need to also look at where they were removed and reduced. The GST is $547.50 per HOUSEHOLD annually. The reverse tax credit has been moved back to $1,300 per PERSON and expanded to a maximum annual income of $24,999. This is after Sinckler reduced it to $650 and still didn’t paying it. With CIC, those at $25,000 but under $35,000 can receive a tax rebate up to $1,350. The GST is still only $547.50 per HOUSEHOLD. Moreover, because the ultimate goal must be to determine impact on households and individuals, then other issues like free tertiary level tuition must count. The government should look at those households receiving the reverse tax credit and CIC, free tertiary education, takes public transportation and robustly interrogate the data to destroy the DLP taxation argument. What you need to answervis whether Bdos is better off now than before May 2018. Yuh should tell BU about these new white faces that emerging. I ain’t no former, current or aspiring politician but laaaawd yuh game weak. I am just a Google expert.🤣🤣

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

A National Art Gallery? And we wonder were an antique statue will end up…lol De museum and the careenage bottom gine loss out.

3. @ robert lucas July 25, 2020 12:44 PM
    “A people with superior technology will always dominate one with lesser technology. A fact of history. It is in the interest of those with lesser technological know-how, to make an effort to improve their technical know-how and stop the bs about blaming others for all of the perceived injustices encountered by them.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Your argument is sound.

The pivot of technology is the one which determines generally who exercises control over the planet’s resources.

That’s why so-called nations have large armies with both defence and offence capabilities.

That can explain Israel’s dominance in the ME.

But it cannot explain the defeat of Germany and to a lesser extent (Italy’s) defeat in WW2.

How about the role of ideology (including religion)?

Doesn’t the effectiveness of any technological advantage require leadership of ‘higher’ morals?

Blacks are too easy to brainwash and to be deprived of their resources.
    How then can they to be in the front row of both the technological and ideological classes?

How else can you explain black people pretending to believe in a god given to them by a race of people who enslaved and brutalized them for hundreds of years?

4. @ Miller July 25, 2020 4:12 PM

“But it cannot explain the defeat of Germany and to a lesser extent (Italy’s) defeat in WW2.”

Do not forget that the Americans and Brits cracked the nearly all codes of the Axis powers! The Allied had TOTAL information superiority from 1942/43 onwards.

Information is everything. Imagine if you knew the exact stock price a week in advance. With that, you could turn a thousand dollars into a billion dollars within a year with leverage products.

I therefore believe that our government should install an application on every mobile phone so that our security forces can better respond to crimes, riots (such as the recent Nelson riots), and inappropriate statements made in the social media.

5. Addendum: Our government should first install a corona application on every mobile phone. Charles Jong could then use his China connection to download better software in the background, which links the audio and video system of the mobile phone with the central computer of our government. So that our leader can understand us even better.

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Greene July 25, 2020 9:54 AM “- the entire Bim population who have Govt water is paying for a sewage plant on the south coast”

Granted.

But how otherwise would you suggest it be paid for?

I don’t live on the south coast, but when i visit the south coast i don’t bring my “urgent business” back home. I use the toilet at some south coast home or business place.

I don’t have any children in elementary, secondary or tertiary education either. Would you suggest that my taxes be reduced because of that?

In my whole life I’ve spent just 36 hours in the QEH. 45 minutes for the surgery and the other hours resting up. Would you suggest that a person with a difficult chronic expensive illness which requires frequent hospitalization be made to pay more? And should I ask for a refund because I have been such a light user of medical services?

I haven’t had a car for more than 2 decades should I get a refund of the taxes paid to keep bridges and roads vehicle worthy, because I tread so lightly by foot on Barbados’ soil?

If so let me know then when my refund check is ready.

7. @Greene July 25, 2020 9:54 AM

VERY DETAILED.

GO TO HEAD OF THE CLASS, THE BLP Bullshitters AND DECEPTIVE BAJANS DON’T LIKE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE TRUTH.

8. “- the entire Bim population who have Govt water is paying for a sewage plant on the south coast”

Cuhdear Bajan, Greene is grasping at straws. This is a weak idiotic argument and does not look on an aspirant. We pay a health levy but all of us don’t use the polyclinics or QEH. A sewerage system, like a hospital, is part of national infrastructure. It is not an amenity!! Imagine if we were allowed to pick and choose what infrastructure we contribute to based on what we use?🤣🤣

9. do we pay a specific tax for the Bridgetown sewage plant or for any other sewage plant used by one sector of Barbados?

I dont live or use any disposal system on that particular part of the south coast so why should my water bill double to support such.

if we are so strapped for cash why not try to collect 10 cents on the dollar to forgive VAT and other taxes?

10. Removing symbols that represent slavery/oppression won’t succor our ability to comprehend the reality as a people who are opportunistic. We are so far up the colonialists “A” to see our hands in front of our faces. I pray that Our PM liberates us…..?

11. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Greene July 25, 2020 7:13 PM “if we are so strapped for cash why not try to collect 10 cents on the dollar to forgive VAT and other taxes?”

I agree with you that any government anywhere should work hard to collect all taxes as they become due, and all outstanding taxes. But that said too many governments both “B” and “D” have let tax collection lapse. I gather that some of the taxes due was from the 1960’s and that the the tax payers are dead and maybe their children are dead too. I mean how was that allowed to happen?

In nearly 70 years I have never called the police, nor has anybody ever called the police for me…at least not yet. Lol!! Should I, and people like me ask for refunds of that part of our taxes which covers policing?

And I have never used marijuana, cocaine or any other illegal drug so why should I pay for the coast guard. If the drug dealers dropped a lump of cocaine as big as Mount Everest on Barbados I would pass it like a full bus, as I have zero interest in that substance or any other. So should I ask for a refund of that part of my taxes which pays for Coast Guarding services?

All sensible people understand that even though there are multi government services that we never or only rarely use we all have to pay for them, that’s how society works, that’s how government works, otherwise why bother to have government at all?

I don’t understand what you are saying, unless you are just being partisan.

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Greene July 25, 2020 7:13 PM “I dont live or use any disposal system on that particular part of the south coast so why should my water bill double to support such>”

So Greene, when you are at the airport, or at a home, business etc. and you urgently need to do a “P” do you use the ai the toilets on those south coast locations or do you do it in the nearest bushes?

That must have been you I saw doing a “P” in the bushes just outside of the airport in February just before the COVID19 shutdown.

Not nice to do that. Not nice at all.

13. Green

Your water Bill mY have almisser double
    But when u say that you have to bring all the infomation or you Exposé you agenda

The majority of the increase on the Bwa Bill
    Was infact for the SSA

Ur campaign going down the wrong Lane and the bajan public aint going to buy into it

The sewage potion of the Bill is to keep the Two sewage plants operations and not have a repeat of the shirt in the streets because there is no money to replay broken down Equipment

And dont forget Bridgetown sewage plant was about to Explode.

At least the public can see where some of the increase in taxes is/was being spent

14. “Yes, the god-like Egyptian born Christian man was called Saint Maurice or Moritz.

A black saint venerated by pale-skin people of the many militaristic old kingdoms of western and central Europe.”

Miller…when all the hoopla about dismantling statues broke out recently the Germans said straight up that there was no way in hell they were getting rid of the statue of their Black Saint…the dude is revered by them and he is actually a symbol they do not want removed….it just reinforces our lack of knowledge of our own history….

i saw some information about the Black Madonna and Child, but will have to revisit that as well

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

they needed to hire your girl from Holland. Do they ever sound test anything? I couldn’t get past the 2 minute mark.

16. BOSS ON TARGET

By Colville Mounsey

More than ten thousand public servants have signed on in the first month of the Barbados Optional Savings Scheme (BOSS), putting Government well on target for achieving its goal of $110 million in fiscal space.

This was disclosed by the programme’s architect, Government’s senior economic advisor Dr Kevin Greenidge, who also told the Sunday Sun that the Barbados Central Bank was oversubscribed in terms of the requests for the high-yield bonds that were not taken up by the public workers.

Bond allotment

He said that around 50 per cent of those who completed the option form had opted to keep their full bond allotment, while the others opted for part or all to be converted to cash. He further explained that as a result, Government issued $4.6 million in bonds, $1.2 million of which was retained in full allotments by the civil service, while $3.4 million was obtained by the secondary market.

“The programme started in July, and we had about 10 500 signing on to theprogramme at this stage via the option forms. Close to half of those persons opted to keep all of their bond allotmentwhile others opted to convert all or part ofthat bond allotment to cash. We had expected this, as it more or less

reflected the fact that a lot of persons would be consuming most of their paycheque at this time. So as a result, for the month of July, Government issued $4.6 million in BOSS bonds, the workers got $1.2 million and the other $3.4 million went to the Central Bank on the secondary market,” Greenidge said.

The programme, which shaves the public sector wage bill, was designed to create fiscal space in order to redirect budgeted funds towards a capital works programme, as part of efforts to stimulate the economy, which has been severely impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. However, the economist noted that the programme, which has a monthly cap of $8.5 million over an 18-month period, was just about $400 000 shy of their expectations for the first month.

“The secondary market was oversubscribed by private citizens, creditunions and other institutions. So that $3.4 million that went to the Central Bank was immediately snatched up. In the legislation, we go up to a maximum

of $8.5 million per month; this was the maximum we could carry to create the fiscal space necessary,” he said.

Greenidge said that requests to the Central Bank for next month’s bonds were already high. He also anticipated that the number of people who would be retaining their bonds was also expected to increase as there were a few stragglers from this month. He also reminded individuals to ensure they receive their statements from the Central Bank via email or mail as this was their receipt.

“We are on target, because anyhow you look at it, 10 500 is a big buy-in, with Government issuing $4.6 million in the very first month. The demand was so high on the secondary market that the CentralBank had to stop taking subscriptions, and in fact they have already

opened subscriptions for the August bonds and people are already expressing a high degree of interest in those,” he said.

“I suspect that we are going to surpass $4.6 million in August because in the first month persons are just trying to organise their paycheque in a way that could accommodate it. Some persons would also have loans that that might come to an end soon and would then put them in a position to get some bonds. So we are well on target to where we want to be and, in my view, the programme is heading towards major success.”

Source: Nation Newspaper

17. people in St John, St Joseph, certain parts of St Andrew and St George have to pay Water bill inclusive of the sewage tax when they get no water and do not benefit from the sewage system on the South Coast for which the tax was implemented. the people living on and businesses that utilise that specific system should bear the brunt of the cost to run and maintain it.

to install water toilets in those areas and most of Bim we pay a digger around 2000-2500 pounds . is there a specific tax for that? so why should there be a national tax for the benefit of a specific group and or area? the bridge town sewage plant is different for obvious reasons

that was only one of the several points for which i criticised this govt by the way

18. @David

the opening sentence in that piece is quite misleading. the onus is on the civil servants to indicate that they want cash instead of the bonds not for the civil servants to sign on. that civil servants will be paid n bonds is the default position in other words.

a better picture would have been how many civil servants have indicated to the Central Bank that they want to be paid in cash.

i suspect that many will not opt out in the first instance

i suspect that the secondary market demand is strong for the simple reason that investments need somewhere to go and Govt bonds (until recently) were viewed as safe

19. @Greene

Tax policy of the government is obviously informed by the bad current state of financial affairs. As you are aware the government picked up an economy/treasury in the red, junk territory. Your point may have merit in normal times, we are not in normal times.

20. @Greene

Agree, the proof after month 2 and 3 is what is the accumulated savings had from the wage bill.

21. i think that BOSS will work however gimmicky it started out. the reasons for so stating are that 1) MAM guaranteed to a large extent Govt will not default and 2) the demand in the secondary market for the reason i expressed above is strong, in fact very strong.

the civil servants are incidental to BOSS and are only relevant to the matter of the wage bill.

i have spoken to many and they knew they had no choice but to accept. many have no disposable income and cannot afford to take-home pay cut as this is. some have borrowed or tried to against the bonds. some fear that if they indicate they want the money they will be targeted so they will wait to see how it plays out.

those who can afford the cut revealed that to them it is a savings (cemented by the MAM guarantee), better than they would have got in the banks or credit unions

22. And the fact secondary market is strong suggest a surprising confidence in government paper.

23. @MGreene

MAM guaranteed to a large extent government will not default? Two words: White Oak.

24. gREENE 634am

What is different about the Bridgetown plant?

How much from the increase levvy/tax goes towards the sewage coffers?

If i had no kids i would still be paying for school in Barbados from primary to university.
    My kids are schooled in Barbados and for every house i own in the USA (even if i dont live in it/them) i am taxed for schooling on each home( kid or no kids).

The homes and businesses in the sewer areas ( S. coast and Btown) do carry the brunt of the cost for the sewerage plants. When they were hooked up they all pay a “sewage charge” that would be on their water bill. I am not sure if the new levy would have cost an increase to that charge or if that charge was replaced by the new levy.

Point taken that nobody likes to pay more for anything than they they think they should.

However BWA need the funds for the up keep of the plants and those fund will come from the tax payers one way or the other. either by the sewage levy going directly to the BWA or central government (our taxes) when BWA comes running to it to help make up it shortfall

So sir – like it or not your taxes were and still is supporting the sewages plants.

IMO you are flogging a dead horse

When the sewage plants were in a mess it was the whole country that were negatively affected not only the people on the south coast or Bridgetown.

25. 654am

26. @John2

Some BU commenters live overseas where the country in managed differently compared to a 2×3 island.

27. @John 2

i could rebut but i wont. time to move on as i indicated this was but one of the several criticisms i made. we will agree to disagree

28. @ Hal Austin July 26, 2020 7:36 AM

explain please

29. greene

i am curious as to what makes the Bridgetown plant different

30. @ Greene

We are in the mess we are because of a previous unnecessary default. Would you take her at her word now? It is a Ponzi scheme.

31. We were in a mess BEFORE the default.

32. Because COVID is imaginary. SMFH

33. Bored of working from home, wishing you were on a beach instead?

That could be a real prospect under a new scheme launched by the government of Barbados.

The Barbados Welcome Stamp, which has just started taking applications, gives international visitors the opportunity to work remotely on the island for up to a year.

Palm trees, sun, and blue skies sound like a dream to many, but even stunning locations have their pros and cons, especially during a pandemic. So what can remote workers expect if they take up the tempting offer?
    ++++++++++++
    The lead in to the above link

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

“suggest a surprising confidence in government paper.”
    Desperation fool’s gold. All the attentive ones, while most realizing the high risk, previously opted for TBills instead of Bonds. The former are not usually touched in a default. Guess what? They guessed wrong, and ended up with a reduced investment in longer term Bonds. The publicly traded firms are in deep doo doo for the most, dividends will drop, and a subsequent share price tumble. Bank account rates for savings have not yet gone negative, but are on the edge. Between property taxes, and the high cost of transferring title, little money in real estate, even if you can find distress sales. Sooooo…wha left? Convert your $Bds and find some foreign destination to invest in international markets? Or GoB paper. Or invest in “some” other opportunity?

35. @Northern Observer

Where are the opportunities to soak the 9 billion in deposits?

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

You are providing the answer to why the surprising confidence in GoB paper!!! Mistaking confidence for ‘en got nah choice’.

37. @NO

Just checking. Hobson’s choice?

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Not quite, you can still convert and invest on international markets. Every Bajan has ‘family’ and friends in free markets.

39. @Northern Observer

Most Bajans are illiterate about investing and this is made worse by our risk averse nature. How are they to get local dollars converted?

40. @NO
    Not quite, you can still convert and invest on international markets. Every Bajan has ‘family’ and friends in free markets
    ++++++++++++
    You joking right?

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

Hobsons is NO OTHER CHOICE. Investment literacy, risk tolerance or currency supply are merely obstacles.
    Sarge…I rarely joke about money. I merely call the options as I see them. Others can accept them or reject them. Life is about choices.
    One underlying challenge, is due to the normal democratic cycle, Covid, or self inflicted issues like our GoC, many of the countries with the wealth to offer/provide assistance are very inwardly focused these days. They are in a battle for their own political life. Even the notoriously liberal Lagarde, while opening the taps of the ECB, has been mum of any subsequent redirection of funds. The IMF seems to have no policy. All are trying to keep their ahead above water, in a fast rising tide.

42. Meanwhile the murders continue.

The Royal Barbados Police Force is investigating the shooting death of a man at Rowans, St George today.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/246884/update-st-george-shooting-victim-dies

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wonder why it is Royal or Force. Do they act by Force? What the RH does the British monarchy have to do with our police? The Barbados Police is fine without the appendage at either end.

44. @NO
    How about RCMP? Don’t forget there are no titles in Canada excepting Conrad Black 😊

45. @ NorthernObserver July 26, 2020 2:01 PM

Anyone who has been betting on relatively safe stocks in the USA since April 1, 2020, has already achieved a profit of around 20-25 percent in the current year. Plus dividends.

Only the poor, who cannot afford a stock portfolio at a proper international bank, invest locally.

46. @NO
    You have included a good escape clause “relatively safe stock”.
    Do you include airlines, cruise line and hotel in that category. I will anticipate your answer and ask you “when did you consider them as not safe’ pre-covid, or during covid.

Some of us with relatively safe stocks still got a little sting.

Side note:
    I think MB could be useful here but he gets distracted with Trump and other matters.

47. You would trust advice from MoneyBrain????

Man, if that dude told me to stand still I would run!