Submitted by Jolly Green

LIAT has been traded for many years while making massive losses, and those losses were compounded by the gigantic taxes lodged against local air travel by the shareholder governments, despite many warnings about the excessiveness of those taxes. But each time LIAT got into financial difficulties, the shareholder governments put money in to make up the shortfalls. Which meant staff wages got paid, along with creditors. So, people stayed with LIAT, because they knew, or thought they knew that the shareholders would always bail out LIAT. Everyone thought their job was safe, and the creditors thought their money was safe. But LIAT was bought by the shareholders as an insolvent company and was knowingly traded by them ever since as an insolvent company. Now when it suits them, they want to walk away leaving a trail of debts.

The employees and creditors of LIAT were lulled into a false sense of security for many years past. I remember in 2013 a Bajan lady journalist called Beverly Sinclair, interviewed prime minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Dr Ralph E Gonsalves. She did so on a range of issues, including LIAT, in which St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda, and, to a lesser extent Dominica, are the major shareholders.

Gonsalves who was then and is now the Chairman of LIAT’s shareholder governments he was or is also CARICOM’s lead spokesperson on air transport. Therefore, people would expect to be able to believe any statements a man described as the Honourable Prime Minister of SVG made as head of authority in both those positions. He was the man who everyone regarded as the spokesman, the leading authority even, for both CARICOM and LIAT on matters of local and regional air travel.

Gonsalves always had plenty to say about everything, and he certainly had plenty to say about LIAT. He must have had the full backing of the shareholders and CARICOM because none of them objected or protested at the statements he made or the actions he took, he was acting on their behalf as their official spokesman, administering their policies.

LIAT had made more massive losses, and the shareholders were putting in more money to keep it running. In the interview, Ms Sinclair opened with “It is generally good business sense to only invest in viable enterprises.” Gonsalves seemed to be unsettled by the question. But he argued that more countries needed to invest in LIAT.

To which she replied, “But, Dr Gonsalves, if you have a business and you are asking investors to come and put money in it, it should be a business that’s viable.”

Gonsalves reply may surprise many people now because it did then. “With respect, you completely misunderstand air transport.” “Ma’am, ma’am, ma’am, you completely misunderstand regional air transport.” She then accused the Prime Minister of assuming what she knows.

In his usual belligerent way, he went on to say “From that comment. Let me tell you why you don’t know. You don’t know because air transportation inside of the eastern Caribbean is not anything of the luxury type of investment. It is an absolute necessity — an absolute necessity for islands”. He further stated that when his Unity Labour Party government decided to invest in LIAT shortly after coming to office in 2001, he told Parliament that he was investing in an insolvent company.

There, right there, is the killer for Gonsalves ‘he told Parliament that he was investing in an insolvent company’. Because now he has told everyone he invested in a company knowing it was insolvent.

Gonsalves told Ms Sinclair that he told lawmakers then that if LIAT didn’t exist, it ought to have been invented “and that the important thing is for us to get involved in that company, put money in it to try to make it better”. He said that “until this recent problem, we have made LIAT better than what it was in 2001.

Gonsalves continued “This is why I make the point with crystal clarity. A regional airline of this kind, this is not anything which is going to make money. This is a service that must be provided, and we seek, if we can break even with this service, fine. But you cannot make money out it.”

So, there was an admission that they continued trading LIAT, knowing it was losing money, hoping it would break even, but not expecting to, reflected in his nonchalant style of reply. Gonsalves said that the same investment criteria as for a hotel or a beer factory could not be used in relation to regional transport.

All this supportive rhetoric by Gonsalves built false confidence in all the creditors and employees, much as I suspect it was designed to do.

Please read the whole article; it was a sterling piece by IWitness News SVG and will be a significant contribution to the historical records of SVG and the region. Be sure to read the comments they are all exposing and genuinely relevant.

Under the direction of Dr Ralph E Gonsalves, PM of SVG, who is also Chairman of the Shareholders, spokesperson and for CARICOM on air transport. LIATS shareholder governments have been directing LIATS board of directors for years, the directors with the full knowledge of the company being insolvent, they have been trading the company while insolvent.

Therefore, the directors and certain politicians from shareholder government who have proven to be, and acted as de-facto directors, may perhaps be held in law responsible for the debts, due to knowingly trading the company and in doing so incurring further obligations, liabilities and debts. Misleading the public, the staff and workers of LIAT and all the creditors, including the bankers and aircraft lessors into believing the shareholder governments would keep funding LIAT whenever they got into financial difficulties. So, unless the shareholder governments announce they are paying all debts in full the shareholders, directors, including de-facto directors, should perhaps be held liable and responsible for paying all debts in full and sued for the same by everyone who lost money in LIAT.

Talking of de-facto directors, perhaps we should also remember the hiring of Jean Holder, who did that? The buying of new aircraft which at the time everyone said were an unsuitable choice, who approved that? Was it the board of directors or the Chairman of the shareholders?

There is so much written about who said what out there that it would take a hundred pages to list it all, I could do that, and perhaps I will, at some other juncture.

What I am saying is that the shareholder governments cannot hide behind liquidation, where everyone loses money except them. They are the culprits in trading while insolvent and as such are responsible for the losses. They acted as de-fact directors. They provided the mouthpiece that fooled creditors and employees, so they should pay up.

As the director of an insolvent company, you have specific duties and responsibilities you must meet. If you fail to uphold those responsibilities, then you could be accused of wrongful trading and held personally liable for company debts. Engaging in any of the following practices while you are in control of the affairs of an insolvent company will significantly increase the risks:

Carrying on trading with no intention of repaying

You must not continue to enter new contracts and trade when you know you have no reasonable prospect of repaying your creditors.

Attempting to repay debts through fraudulent means

If you try to repay debts through dishonest transactions, you cannot fulfil or using misleading information to obtain loans; then you could be convicted of fraudulent trading. Unlike wrongful trading, fraudulent trading is a criminal offence that could lead to a custodial sentence as well as personal liability for company debts.

Selling assets for less than market value

You might think that selling assets at a reduced price to raise funds quickly and repay your debts would be an accepted practice. However, it could lead to your creditors receiving less of the money they are owed on liquidation. The court can reverse such transactions and order you to refund the proceeds of the sale.

Repaying some creditors and not others

Company directors are obliged to act in the best interests of the creditors. Making payments to some creditors, and not others are called showing ‘preference’. As an example, you may choose to repay a personally guaranteed loan or pay a supplier you know personally. The court can reverse such payments and order the creditor to refund the money.

A Danger for LIAT creditors

A possible danger for the creditors of LIAT, one and all, is that some of the shareholder governments leaders control the insolvency laws in their own countries. Some [at least one] have even been known to make or alter laws [not insolvency laws] overnight which could protect themselves, colleagues, and wrongdoers. Taking the bill to Parliament in the morning, giving it three readings, and then walking away, and allowing others to do the same, scot-free of any liability, or prosecution under the law. That was when the honourable went in a different direction.

153 responses to “Shareholders, Directors and Defacto Directors Should Pay LIAT (1974) Ltd Debts”

1. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TronJuly 9, 2020 8:55 AM “This shows once again that the region cannot survive without its high lords in the north.”

For hundreds of years the high lords in the north OWNED these islands, OWNED the people, and OWNED the land, didn’t have to pay ANY WAGES, and still managed to phuck up the place.

What evidence do you have that they can get it right this time?

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Point taken.
    But for the Caves, it is free. It is not accounted for as repayable 0% interest loan. It is a gift. Maybe it’s your gift, but nonetheless a gift.
    All those ‘ordinary Bajans’ who work there, and the ‘less ordinary’ who consult or charge exorbitant professional fees can thank you for your kind consideration in paying tax.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    Find that communication on the RFP for the Caves, or the Chukka deal yet? Chukka has an active website and they make no mention of Bdos or Caves, and have had several recent news items

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I couldn’t have done my job without LIATT so I am truly sorry to see LIAT go.

LIAT had too many flights to too many islands, and that was a large part of the problem. I am not at all sure that the “private sector” will get it right. Sadly all too often the so called “private sector” are just a bunch of people who spend most of their time figuring out how to get more milk out of the tax payers tired breasts. In these small islands with small passenger loads, LIAT should have been telling passengers that “you get a morning flight, and you get an evening flight; that’s it.” But sending 4 or 5 flights a day to small islands, especially a particular small island whose government won’t put a cent in the pot, how did that ever make sense? And permitting liard, theiving Allen Stanford to compete against LIAT, when Allen was operating with tens of millions of thive money and LIAT was barely surviving on tax money, and on airfares from ordinary Janes. How did that ever make sense? But i suppose that Allen Stanford is one of Tron’s WHITE, MALE LORDS FROM THE NORTH WHO CAN DO NO WRONG.

Until they are caught doing MAJOR, MAJOR wrong…

As usual.

5. @ Cuhdear Bajan July 9, 2020 4:46 PM

Once again she takes my rhetorical provocation at face value. But Tron is not John. He knows very well that the USA and the UK are the biggest s… holes right now and that we could wait a thousand years for help there. At some point the old story about slavery had to fire back. We’re witnessing that right now.

Just wait and see. You’ll see Barbados sending aid packages to England! LOL.

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=157656655870970&id=108141250822511&sfnsn=scwspwa&extid=iwzY5ijoedNSjhOY

Caribbean people have to be very careful….especially the majority population in Barbados…we are now seeing first hand why Jamaica wants nothing to do with Caricom….you have St. Vincent, Dominica, Barbados….who it is being said their leaders CANNOT BE TRUSTED…well their people already know that…

we have always known caricom to be an expensive joke for Caribbean people, we always knew that the members are merely uppity colonial governments who have no interest in uplifting their own people, only interested in enriching their big belly selves….and not one of them have have a sliver of intelligence nor integrity..

taking taxpayer funded entities and SELLING THEM behind each other’s backs without CONSULTING THE PEOPLE… who owns these entities…..in those island who fund Liat….told yall to check and see who they are selling you out to now, check which airlines and their players these known dishonest leaders are getting in bed with again…AT YOUR EXPENSE…one leader already discribed the new airlines trying to take Liats’ place as rinky dink….or some such..

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@NorthernObserverJuly 9, 2020 11:52 AM “Also they will not open the air routes to the USA.”

The Canadians must not yet open the air routes to that disease ridden shit hole country to their south.

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Caricom should be disbanded, just look at the trash this year alone claiming to chair the group…two of the PMs with the absolute worst reputations in the Caribbean, lack of ethics and morals, do not care anything period about their majority balck populations….love to take the people’s money to maintain slave socieites and keep them undereducated, no progress and wealth creation in the majority populations…too many server jobs, low paying jobs, very little BLACK BUSINESSES ….insulting and disrespectful to their own people, insulting other peoples of the Caribbean…NO OBSERVANCE OF THE HUMAN RIGHTS OF THE BLACK POPULATIONS..and the list goes on…both arrogant and 1950s style very obsolete….and both called corrupt repeatedly…..time to take out la basura..

shame and disgrace for Caribbean people.

9. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@gilbertsnutsJuly 9, 2020 1:59 PM “.But after all that the shareholder governments are fully responsible for paying all of LIATS debts, they allowed the airline to continue trading and in doing so incur massive debts. They are therefore liable to pay all the debts, not 50% haircuts, or wipe outs, they should pay every cent.”

O dear. Another suggestion to move money from the tax payers pockets, into the hands of the “private sector”

When will it end?

Please remember, governments don’t wu’k nowhere.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    You see your sunny ways BF, who awarded a sole source contract to a charity ‘WE’ during Covid, which has since been cancelled, has been found that both his mother (250k) and his brother (32k) were given “speaking contract engagements’ by WE. The lot of them are all the same.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    As an alumni of Harvard of the North, and mother to a current student, did you see the PM told the Nation on a 343$B deficit, “we took on the debt so you did not have to”.
    No different to Caves grant. Is he to make us think anybody other than taxpayers are on the hook for the country’s Debt?
    Now some workers, like a few who work for one of my boys, telling him “the free money is good, we are not coming back to work til it’s over.” Most of them haven’t figured out bec the GoC didn’t deduct tax, Cpp etc that the money IS taxable.

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@NorthernObserverJuly 9, 2020 4:51 PM “All those ‘ordinary Bajans’ who work there, and the ‘less ordinary’ who consult or charge exorbitant professional fees can thank you for your kind consideration in paying tax.”

Well nobody had better not try thanking this tax payer face to face…

Unless perhaps I discover that I have COVID19

13. The Daily Telegraph is also promoting working from home in Barbados. @PLT idea has now become the government’s only economic policy post-CoVid.
    After ten years in opposition and two years in government, the government is now depending on an idea slipped in a note to a minister by a BU commenter.

14. If you’ve ever dreamed of living in an island paradise, that fantasy could now become a reality.

As remote working becomes the new normal, Barbados is hoping to turn its beaches, adjacent to crystal-blue waters, into your new outdoor office.

The Caribbean country is set to introduce a “12-month Barbados Welcome Stamp,” which would allow visitors from overseas to stay for an entire year and work remotely, according to a speech made by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley last week.

“You can come here and work for a couple months at a time; go back and come back,” she said.

Mottley acknowledged the difficulty of short-term travel, with coronavirus restrictions and mandated quarantines, but a yearlong stay could help jump-start the island’s economy, Insider reported.

Tourism makes up a significant portion of the country’s gross domestic product (GDP) — 40%, to be exact — with more than 2.4 million travelers going to and from Barbados each year, typically spending $1.1 billion on the island. But due to COVID-19 restrictions and fewer people traveling, tourism has come to a screeching halt in Barbados and other Caribbean countries. Beaches, resorts, restaurants and local businesses are virtually empty, but the 12-month stay proposal comes at the perfect time, as flights in and out of the country are set to resume July 12.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, however, still warns against nonessential travel to any country, as it increases the risk of virus transmission. But if travelers are looking to take Barbados up on its offer of a 12-month staycation, the government recommends they be tested for COVID-19 72 hours prior to their departure.

While fears of traveling are still present as the virus continues to ravage many countries, Barbados’ statistics stayed relatively low overall, with only 98 cases and seven deaths, according to Johns Hopkins University.

The country’s 12-month welcome plan has yet to launch, and an official date remains unclear, but Barbados is not the only place offering visitors travel incentives and perks.(Quote)

15. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I read what your PM has been saying about the $343 B deficit.

SMH.

When at the beginning of the epidemic our Minister of Education talked about schools opening in a few weeks, I told Little Susie to expect that the little ones will be out of school until September 20, or maybe September 21.

I also told my kids that this COVID19 will take value [reduce the standard of living] of all of us [or almost mostly all of us] that COVID19 is a category 5 hurricane that has hit the whole world at the same time, and that it may take a generation to fully recover, and that it will mark their lives and the lives of their children and grandchildren forever. They will tell their grandchildren about COVID19.

When I hear people here, there and everywhere talk about bounce back, I shake my head.

And it is unlikely that COVID19 will be the last epidemic in the lives of our children and grandchildren.

Although it may well be the last in ours.

16. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

For the workers in the great white north?

Wash your hands 6 to 12 times per day.

Wear a mask when is public and even at home if your home is over crowded and you are in the same room as others.

Keep your physical distance, 3 to 6 feet from others.

The CERB will end.

The youngest has now graduated.

Hallelujah!

Workers everywhere in the world will be repaying this COVID19 debt for a long, long, time. Many will be poorer than their parents.

17. I have flown LIAT since the 70s and used it up to last year, so I am not unaware of the services it provides. I remember when one could go to Antigua return for $290 bajan now its nearly $1000. My point is throwing money at inefficiency can never solve the core problem. Mind you we are no different here either. We increased bus fares and water rates but left both inefficient entities to continue as is. If LIAT did not have political shareholders it would run as a business, resulting i would bet you in lower fares. Now that may come with a reduced schedule to some islands as well, but ask yourself this. Which business you kmow would send a 44 seater into an island to collect 3 people? Total politics ruling decision making. If LIAT is to come back let it come as LIAT 2000 Ltd made up of private sector ownership only.

18. Since when has OSA actually been placing advertisements on BBT? I had to laugh out loud when I read there: “have arguably made Owen Arthur the greatest leader the party has had since Sir Grantley. Some might argue even greater than the late National Hero.”

Let us look at the facts. Isn´t OSA, as the great chairman of former LIAT 1974, responsible for the multi-millions-dollar mess? Whether he’s personally liable, I’m happy to leave it up to the courts. And wasn’t it OSA who blew up the elections in Guyana as an “observer”? Just asking.

The editor of BBT must finally accept that there is only one living national heroine in Barbados. Her first name begins with “M” and her last name ends with “Y”.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

After ten years in opposition and two years in government, the government is now depending on an idea slipped in a note to a minister by a BU commenter.” 😂🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣

“@WW&C
    You see your sunny ways BF, who awarded a sole source contract to a charity ‘WE’ during Covid, which has since been cancelled, has been found that both his mother (250k) and his brother (32k) were given “speaking contract engagements’ by WE. The lot of them are all the same.”

ah can’t keep up Northern….Lawson got all the inside info…

20. @ WURA-War-on-U July 9, 2020 7:32 PM

This shows once again that swarm intelligence in the cloud makes real bureaucrats redundant.

If I were Mia, I would build a quantum computer in Barbados (some kind of Cahill 2.0, LOL), feed it with AI, and settle the purchase price with the public servants in the ministries as a cleaning squad in the USA. It is enough if we have a prime minister, more than 20 cabinet ministers and secretaries. Basically, we do not even need the police any more, because Charles Jong, with his excellent contacts to China, will be able to set up mass surveillance by biochip. Every citizen gets an implant, so that every crime is detected within a nanosecond.

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yeah…that slave society construct again, but the people will know what to do with you vote begging nobodies soon enuff.

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

As i said…not a trend but a revolution….yall corrupt nobodies UNDERESTIMATED Black Bajans again…

https://www.facebook.com/troy.yearwood/videos/10157370146237919/?t=4

23. @ Hogging the Blog

I see yuh starting uhready. But let me remind yuh, this blog bout LIAT. I hope you don’t come here to water it down with you usual foolishness, posting the SAME IRRELEVANT STUPIDNESS DAT YUH DOES POST TO EVERY SINGLE BLOG.

You sick, yuh need help and yuh need to get a life beyond BU and Facebook.

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

People are now doing their research to see which CROOKS…they are planning to introduce to the various treasuries now…this time they should all go to prison, cause in all their arrogance they are telling themselves that they are NOT BEING WATCHED……

we gathering 2020…wuhloss…fyah in ya wyah…lol

the black cocksuckers organization really appeals to me….lol

25. A

TB sent home workers and a few (30 i think i read) solar buses come in.

If you were mariposa i would be telling you you lying to suit your agenda.

26. All Wily can say without being exasperated is LIAT DEAD, any attempt at resurrection is DEAD, let the poor state sponsored airline DIE an honorable BANKRUPT DEATH.

27. @John2

Bringing in 30 solar buses does not mean that the entity is being restructured. Just get 2 pieces of information and judge for yourself if true restructuring has taken place.

Expenses and income yearly when the board had 230 buses on the road.

Expenses and income yearly with 70 buses on the road

Look at just those 2 figures and tell me if the board expenses have fallen 66%. If not then what have they fallen? That my friend is restructuring.

28. Expose the liars to the world, they are frauds, stealing from the majority and propping up and supporting thieves and racists with your money, they have been doing it for decades and decades and this useless government don’t plan to stop….let the world see and know what they are doing to the people, still exploiting, still oppressing, still selling out the black majority….no taxpayer entity is safe from any of them, they are deceitful liars…

https://www.facebook.com/tbajanman/videos/10217189694550328/?t=65

29. This row is becoming undignified and will lead, inevitably to the break-up of CARICOM. Her is a post from Gaston Browne’s Facebook. There is a need for an outstanding statesman to arbitrate between the warring factions.

“Deep divisions in the Caribbean Community, CARICOM, became even more evident Friday. Outspoken Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, Mr. Gaston Browne, publicly humiliated CARICOM Chairman, Dr. Ralph Gonsalves, who is also Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Browne, in a Facebook post ,implied the embattled Vincentian leader is a liar.

“Ralph, Out of respect and deference for you as a senior Caribbean Statesman, I will not venture to call you a notorious liar,” Browne wrote in his post. Earlier Thursday, Gonsalves falsely claimed that all four shareholders of beleaguered airline, LIAT, had agreed to liquidate the company at the end of June. This, however, is not the case. Antigua and Barbuda and Dominica did not.

Browne and his Dominican counterpart, Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit, support the formation of a new LIAT. They have made a commitment to invest millions of dollars in the new entity. Implying that Gonsalves was dishonest. Brown called out Gonsalves for his dishonesty.

Browne’s full response to Gonsalves reads: “Ralph, Out of respect and deference for you as a senior Caribbean Statesman, I will not venture to call you a notorious liar, but I must signal my disappointment with your deception. A partial story to suit a recriminatory narrative, could never be considered as the truth. My Dear Comrade, let’s bury the intellectual subterfuge and recriminations. You are fully aware, that I never and will never, support the liquidation without the creation of a new LIAT. Let’s unite and reorganize LIAT for the benefit of the Caribbean people.”

It is said that Gonsalves’ son part owns a new airline which intends to compete against LIAT’s name “One Caribbean Airlines” which commences flying on July 15. Apparently Gonsalves and Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottely are the driving force behind the closure of LIAT. Brown previously accused the two leaders of making a deal to form another entity.

Gonsalves, who heads a one seat majority government and faces a tough reelection has also been at war with Guyana ‘s ruling APNU+AFC coalition party after he interfered in the ongoing election impasse to claim that the opposition PPP won the election and told incumbent President David Granger to take his licks like a man. Granger’s party and elections authorities say that they are thousands of fraudulent PPP ballots that cannot be counted.” (Quote)

30. @ NorthernObserver July 9, 2020 4:56 PM

You’re right. Once again, a rash announcement. Apparently the Jamaicans have audited the books and concluded that the deal is not worthwhile. Last time I was there, two out of three elevators were out of service. That was typical once again: Everything more complex than a donkey cart with wooden wheels breaks down in Barbados after 3 years at the latest. It’s just because of the unfavourable environmental conditions and the lack of money, which doesn’t allow any maintenance.

But apart from that the caves are world class in international comparison. LOL.

31. A
    Wont get into no capitalist argument with you.
    You said nothing was done at the two boards. That statement is false !

The raising of the bus fares allow the 30 busses to be brought in. The fact that they are solar will reduce expences for parts, repairs/service and gas .

Busfare in Barbados was/is way below what it should have been.

The increase in water rates was more or less for SSA whe was able to bring in the need trucks.

Everything to you is expense and income. what about the social benifits?

Are the commuters still complain like before? Can the none profit areas still get a late night bus?

Is the garbage being collected in a timely manner?

Everthing to you is profit and lost, what about social responsibilities / social benifits (profits)?

How much is the three entities now drawing from the public purse compared to before the rise in rates?

i will admit that there is still more work to be done (and especially at BWA).

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Apparently the Jamaicans have audited the books and concluded that the deal is not worthwhile.”

if that is about the Caves…they have all been robbing that entity for decades…when ya see that particular JA company wants nothing to do with it, ya done know things are ugly, i had posted on here that the company is indeed credible and would never touch a mess if they find one…obviously they did……am sure Foster and Ince are happy to carry on their colonial bullshit while everything degrades further and further…

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Trong
    Lol…a rash announcement? by whom?
    The JA’s didn’t have to audit a thing, that was done by Deloitte’s. Between ’12-16 annual revenue averaged +/- Bds$5.4. Grants were +/- $8.4M/yr. You do the math.
    Memory says Caves had a very expensive consultant a few years back.
    Has the DoF, you know the former GM of NIS, submitted an update on White Oaks? Are they still on retainer, and how much have they been paid, including “success fees”, thus far.

34. @ WURA-War-on-UJuly 10, 2020 11:30 AM

VERY GOOD VIDEO POST.

THIS LOCAL MAN IS SPOT ON WITH THE TRUTH.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ALSO THE LAST VIDEO ABOVE WITH GONSALVES OF ST VINCENT IS ALSO VERY GOOD.

SHOWS THAT GASTON BROWNE OF ANTIGUA IS A BULLSHITTER ON LIAT AND HAS TO LIE TO HIS PEOPLE AS MOST POLITICIANS DO AS NOT TO DEAL WITH REALITY.

35. Wasting time debating nonsense. Browne is talking rubbish.

Let Independent Authorised Transport operate between the islands.

Cash strapped islands trying to play bigshot, stupse.

If Trinidad with all its oil could not run an airline profitably, how could the rest?

Even if the Trinidad airline had monetary integrity challenges? Not saying they did, but if they did.

36. @Bajan in NY

Thanks for posting the video. Very informative. How is it the vote to liquidate was unanimous and Browne is denying?

37. David
    Who is responsible for paying the Antigua-based LIAT workers them outstanding salaries, severance etc? Does Antigua have an unemployment benefits or severance pay system? How many Antiguans employed at LIAT? Remember when Gaston was grandstanding some months ago and the usual suspects on BU were going after Mottley?

38. @enuff

LIAT orderly liquidation or not will be a mess. One would have to guess LIAT employees are regulated under Antigua law and legally Antigua is responsible BUT Caricom has a moral responsibility to be involved.

39. David
    Good luck to Gaston.

40. Oh to be a fly on the wall at Monday’s meeting. Hope he heard Ralphie’s request that he wants to see a workable plan, not a concept.

41. The employees of LIAT had a good life for 50 years at the taxpayer’s expense.

No one has a moral obligation. It would be better if the employees would apologize for the fact that they have been pawing around for half a century at the expense of Barbados and living like maggots in rotten flesh.

42. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I thought some would have remembered by now who the 2 plane airline operating out of St. Vincent taking over from liat is, the wide bodied plane that was registered in Barbados last year is directly tied to this one man operation connected to Gonsalves..

43. @ David

Wasn’t it Gaston Browne who first announced to the public “From all indication, LIAT will be liquidated and a new entity formed in its place?”

44. @Artax

That is what was reported and can be corroborated from the Board minutes if it is an issue in dispute. Why would Gonzales publicly state it was a unanimous decision if it was not?

45. @ David

It is extremely disturbing that Gaston Browne wants to force the taxpayers of BGI and SVG into investing in a new company, LIAT (2020) Ltd.

If the PMs of SVG and BGI have indicated they are no longer interested in investing taxpayers money in LIAT, what is preventing Browne from establishing LIAT 2020 Ltd. as proposed and seeking other regional government and private sector investors………

………. rather than displaying an “inexplicable, poisonous, destructive, hateful form of behaviour,” similar to what has been described as the “Bajan Condition.”

Perhaps he’s suffering from a mild form of the ‘disease’……. the ‘Antigua Condition.’

46. @Artax

Browne maybe concerned about the financial obligations his country must be a part based on LIAT being incorporated in Antigua.

47. @David (BU)
    @Bajan in NY
    Thanks for posting the video.

yw…will contribute anytime I have something useful to.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Well…i saw a clip where Browne convened parliament to discuss the Liat corruption..