The average Black West Indian should be aware of the The Middle Passage. As a youngster the blogmaster recalls his effort to visualize Africans shackled and crammed into boat to be transported from Africa to the West Indies and sold into bondage.  It case we forget there was a dark period in the history of the world Blacks were legally regarded as ‘chattel’, no better than a mule or donkey.

The lineage of Black people living in the Caribbean means there will always be an inextricable connection between the West Indies and Africa. It is unfortunate our people have allowed North American and Eurocentric influences to permeate our psyche to wreak havoc to our identity.

It was reported last week that 54 African countries signed a letter asking the United Nations Human Rights Council to schedule a debate on police brutality against Black people around the world. It is a matter of record the killing of George Floyd in the USA has triggered a Black Lives Movement reminiscent of the 50s and 60s when MLK, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey and others were at the forefront of the fight for civil and political rights of our people.

…In a letter written on behalf of 54 African countries, Burkina Faso’s ambassador to the UN in Geneva asked the UN’s top rights body for an “urgent debate” on “racially inspired human rights violations, police brutality against people of African descent and the violence against the peaceful protests that call for these injustices to stop…

As a proud Black man the blogmaster must share his disappointment at the lack of a strident response to the killing of George Floyd by CARICOM. All reasonable people agree it is a manifestation of institutionalized  racism in the USA and global citizens have been galvanized to protest the need for urgent reform.

A scan of the official website of  Caricom.org reveals no adequate communications posted to capture the prevailing sentiment of the people living in the region. Our Caricom leaders under the current chairmanship of Mia Mottley have failed us at a pivotal moment in the history of the world. Our nexus to Africa created the opportunity to add our voice to those of the 54 African countries who represent the Mother Country. How are we expected to forge and improve relations with African countries but are miles apart on how to correctly react to the matter of the Black Lives Movement? This has nothing to do with jumping on any bandwagon. Again the idea of cognitive dissonance keeps recurring. What message are our leaders sending to the masses?

It is no wonder we have to tolerate individuals who lack the understanding of the moment by insisting we should let the USA fight this matter alone. Why are White people protesting around the globe? Some of us have family residing in the USA. Some of us have relatives studying in the USA. Some of us may have reason to travel to the USA. Most of us are Black. Most important, a strike against humanity is simply that and should evoke the same response in humans everywhere.

Even the Germans are protesting for crissakes!

The poor response by Caricom to describe it mildly is a disappointment and although the perfect scenario is to strike when hot, it is not too late to offer redress. Now is not the time to be apolitical. Now is not the time to engage in racial distancing.

210 responses to “Caricom Engaged in Racial Distancing”

1. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

BAJE June 17, 2020 9:11 PM “JAYZ A BLACK AMERICAN MUSIC BILLIONAIRE MADE RIHANNA.”

He didn’t make her Bajan accent though.

I would bet you a million dollars that Jayz can’t do an authentic Bajan accent.

Barbados made Rihanna’s Bajan accent.

2. @ Tee White June 17, 2020 4:39 PM

I therefore hope that our former Rhodes Scholarship holders from the Caribbean and especially from Barbados will pay back their grants. With interest, of course. It would be totally dishonest to dismantle the old racist Rhodes in Oxford on the one hand and to profit from the proceeds of his crimes on the other.

3. So when is the majority Black population take control of their country Barbados which they have funded for centuries, the same old system of oppression of the majority cannot continue, who gives a shit about this government and their problems, they created those problems themselves outside of globals shocks etc…so no sympathy here.

Now that everyone KNOWS THEIR RIGHTS UNDER INTERNATIONAL LAW…it is your duty, your responsibility to your current and future generations TO TAKE CONTROL……after knowing what we all know now, how can anyone NOT ORGANIZE….to REMOVE the toxic government that continues to enable racist minorites to rob the majority population, rob the island generationally….how could you even THINK of allowing the Syrian Cartel to continue managing and controlling the SECOND ECONOMY on the island of drug trafficking, gunrunning and money laundering, how could you allow a USELESS BLACK GOVERNMENT to continue these crimes against you and yours…..why would you even think about allowing the Mia government to continue the GENERATIONAL POVERTY of one segment of the majority population to enrich a tiny segment of theives and racists..

you have all the information and tools you need to work with to get rid of all the trash and basura.

4. Another piece of shit racist killer cop charged, i hope the arrest exhilarates his psycho self too just as it has been reported that he claimed shooting a black man twice in the back did..

https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/ellievhall/atlanta-police-garrett-rolfe-charged-murder-rayshard-brooks?ref=bfnsplash

“The Atlanta police officer who fatally shot Rayshard Brooks, a black man who was found asleep in a car in a Wendy’s drive-thru line, has been charged with felony murder.”

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    Ignoring the lag, GDP will plunge, automatically worsening the debt/GDP ratio, even without additional debt. What do you do?

6. Ghana removed Ghandi’s racist statue since 2018….the shit he spewed never sounded genuine to me, sounded just like that other racist and fraud who was clearly on a mission to promote herself one mother teresa.

there are more African heroes to replace racist statues than there is room to put them up.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-46552614?fbclid=IwAR0b42R__RIkBWTDSSje7iDhmvZSIviL1dnoy9tR7kBkBN0F_yH3uokHigQ

“A statue of Mahatma Gandhi, the famed Indian independence leader, has been removed from a university campus in Ghana’s capital, Accra.

University of Ghana lecturers began a petition for its removal shortly after it was unveiled in 2016 by India’s former President Pranab Mukherjee.

The petition said Gandhi was “racist” and African heroes should be put first.

In the wake of the row, Ghana’s government at the time said the statue would be relocated.”

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Black Bajans must learn that they HAVE THE POWER TO MAKE DEMANDS….AS THE MAJORITY POPULATION…..you control the government, they have NO RIGHT TO CONTROL YOU…you elect them and can in the same breath tell them GO TO HELL SERVANTS…

The evil, racist criminal thief Rhodes is coming down…yippee!!!

“The controversial statue of Cecil Rhodes at a University of Oxford college is set to be removed following anti-racist protests.

Oriel College’s governing body announced its wish to remove the statue of the 19th century British imperialist and said it was launching an independent inquiry into the key issues surrounding the monument.”

8. Cuhdear BajanJune 17, 2020 8:37 PM

Good advice.

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This is what your sell out black face government prefers to hear about so they and their tiefing racists can practice it on the Black population too..

https://trib.al/0JYtFXp?fbclid=IwAR2RNmjYgumUPjIMyGWGBNLjTQ7aj1Pq1VptnqKynVJTqEwkMvaRaiGnDAc

“The widow of the black man fatally shot by a white cop outside a Wendy’s in Atlanta says it was agonizing to learn new details of his death as prosecutors announced criminal charges Wednesday.

Tomika Miller broke down in tears as she described hearing for the first time that one cop kicked her husband Rayshard Brooks and another stood on his shoulder as he lay dying on the ground with two bullets in his back.”

10. Once again, it is telling how the emigrants on BU are upset about problems that have no meaning for Barbados. What do we in the Caribbean care about racism in the USA when unemployment in our country is around 40 percent and GDP per capita is around 5000 dollars? These jokers get upset about a single death in the USA, while here in the Caribbean many people are starving due to unemployment.

The native masses in Barbados cannot afford such luxury problems. When you’re almost starving to death on the island, Trump is the last thing on your mind.

It would be far better to seriously consider recruiting government advisors from Botswana or other successful African nations to help us rebuild with little or no tourists.

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Your stupid, backward PM does NOT know the difference between a TREND and a REVOLUTION but nevertheless proclaims herself as your leader and a world class lawyer punching above her delusional weight class…

and let’s not get started on Ambassador Plague…sitting her fat ass in the UN and pretending not to know that international laws, if known by Black Bajans, which is their HUMAN RIGHT will FREE THEM FROM BLP TYRANNY of which she is a part…but she would not want you another Black person like herself to know about any of that…..another deceitful stinking sell out lawyer…

that is nothing for the African descended in Barbados to be proud of…only low intellect, emptyheaded fowls will see nothing wrong with that…

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Meet a real lawyer, not the hand to mouth tiefing self promoting shitehounds ya have in Barbados promoting themselves as lawyers, thieves, sell outs, enablers of racists and nothing else….they have no substance, never did, never will, can’t, not when you are a creation of the colonial construct.

https://womensagenda.com.au/latest/nyadol-nyuon-is-a-lawyer-a-former-refugee-an-incredible-advocate/?fbclid=IwAR3By1NJQLDOYRqI58XKxQwph5e2LEa6lHzhoQRkZ8-sjEMpdOoohiFhge0

“Nyadol Nyuon is a commercial litigator at a prestigious Melbourne law firm Arnold Bloch Leibler. Her path to a career in a corporate firm could not be further from the path more commonly travelled.

She was born in a refugee camp in Ethiopia in 1987. She was separated from her mother at a young age and was raised by extended family in the Kakuma Refugee camp, home to 90,000 displaced Africans, in Kenya.

“Mum came to Kenya and found me when I was about 14 and she later moved the rest of my siblings to Kakuma to be together. My mother, six siblings and I all lived in a flat mud house with grass on top. There was one room that we all shared and slept in. Us kids spent most of our days in school and playing in the dry riverbed,” Nyuon told the Law Society Journal last year.”

13. King not on board with dumping Nelson

MINISTER OF CULTURE John King is not in support of the wholesale removal of Lord Nelson’s statue in The City.

He told the media yesterday his opinions on Nelson and race on the whole were personal and he would stick by them, even if they cost him.

“There are a number of papers I am now studying, from about 2009, on discussions various Cabinets would have had on this issue, but on a personal note – and I know what I am about to say is going to upset a lot of people – I would agree that if you’re talking about Heroes Square,there are validations to the varied opinions. But I will not – and it could cost me everything – be a part or party of trying to do to others what we say has been done to us,” he said.

Calls for the removal of the statue were made again during last Saturday’s protest march through Bridgetown in support of the Black Lives Matter movement in the United Sates and across the world.

King said he did not believe in “stripping down everything and throwing it away”, saying there was a history before slavery and it was now time for a new mindset.

“If you are saying that during enslavement and the colonisation process, that our history, culture and way of life were wiped out and we came into places like the Americas as minorities, why would you now turn around and advocate to do the same thing to somebody else? The discussion we should be having is, if we want to remove this statue, where do we put it?

“How do we recognise the collective history of Barbados is not relegated solely to Barbadians of Afro descent? How do we also incorporate the history of the indigenous people who were here [first]? How do you incorporate

all of the groups that make up Barbados? Let us look at these things for what they are and use them to inspire ourselves to change our prejudices and look at each other as human beings,” he urged.

King said the Parliament Buildings

and the Wharf were around during slavery and played a part in it, asking if those too should be thrown away. He said the Nelson statue should be utilised to the advantage of Barbados while not disadvantaging anyone.

As for the Black Lives Matter movement, King, who as a calypsonian and Pic-O-De-Crop monarch performed social commentaries such as

Fool’s Paradise, How Many More? and I Want A Plantation, said he was accustomed to speaking out against social injustice on his own and would only join any group if and when he felt it necessary.

“I’ve always been advocating against racism, as an entertainer performing overseas and from growing up in England, so I know it well. What is going on in the Unites States has been going on for eons but it is now easier to see due to social media.

“[However] there are other issues right here I don’t hear people talking about, issues some people don’t want to protest, such as classism, which is also a knee on people’s necks. We need to talk about the violence in our own communities . . . and I don’t hear anyone talking about the history of the people we call ‘red legs’ in St John. I hope our future generations find themselves in a different place,” he said.

(CA)

Source Nation Newspaper

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now who would even listen to an anti-black jackass like John King a racist enabler ….as soon as the government was elected and he saw a regular salary, more money than he had ever seen in his life before…when the hardships generated and created by both corrupt governments started to bite the majority black population and manifested itself in poverty…jackass John King with his new taxpayer funded salary told them to stop complaining, so who would kisten to colonial created half human idiot like that talking about poverty, racism, removing a racist statue stuck in the faces of the descendants of African slaves or anything else…he sucks on taxpayers by talking shite making himself part of the problem, not the solution,.goats like him only sing about 2 Barbadoses and oppression of the people…WHEN THEY ARE BROKE…just like Comissiong.

You have a loser for a prime minister in Barbados, bet ya she told her limited intellect self that as long as she backed Justin Canada would win……..losing streaks tend not to end for years and years.

“Canada has officially lost its bid for a seat on the United Nations Security Council, which it contested with Ireland and Norway, despite an extensive lobbying campaign led by PM Justin Trudeau.
    UN officials met in New York to cast their votes on Wednesday. Canada, which under Trudeau has billed itself as a model of multilateralism and global citizenship, was pipped at the post by Norway and Ireland in a three-way race for two temporary seats at the UN’s most powerful table.”

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Jackass John King is so backward he is too dumb to understand…

red legs have a voice

the descendants of UKs REJECTS pretending to be white ….have voices

No black person on the island owes any of them anything….. BUT UK DOES…

Jackass John King is neither redleg nor Bajan white…they are supposed to take up their GRIEVENCES WITH UK…no African descended on the island deported their ancestors from UK..,.so he needs to mind his own black ass business. That is all these sell out negros of parliament are good for….NEVER looking out for their own BLACK PEOPLE….and are always concerned about the welfare of those who hate black people…..idiots.

What he should be doing is DISMANTLING THE STINKING RACISM, APARTHEID, RACISM, SLAVE SOCIETY AND GENERATIONAL THEFTS FROM BLACK BAJANS, the continous RAPING OF THE ISLAND by the same tiefing minorities henus so concerned about, DISMANTLE THE CORRUPTION and the crooks sitting beside him in the parliament and bar association and take down the SYRIAN CARTEL that they are all friends and business partners with….if he can’t do any of these things HE IS JUST ANOTHER BLACK FACE FRAUD, sucking on taxpayers..

..he is not saying a word about the minority thieves like the cows bizzys bjerkhams and the wannabe maloney robbing his own people generationally, robbing generations of black children their birthrights and killing their futures, not a word about all the elderly and others being ROBBED THEIR ESTATES AND BANK ACCOUNTS…by the same thieves for decades, NOT A WORD ABOUT ANY OF THAT but he got talk to preserve a racist statue.and acting as though the Black majority are responsible for the halfassed racist minorities on the island…no, they are not shithead Johnnie King…they belong to UK.

This is why blacks like him and them MUST REMAIN OUTCASTS…because of their treacherous, sellout nature.

I could never put my welfare and lives and those of my family in the hands of these useless WORTHLESS colonial house negros.

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Minister of Culture John King is embarrassingly and utterly wrong when he implies that removing the Nelson monument from Heroes Square is “… trying to do to others what we say has been done to us.” What was done to us was a genocide which cost tens of millions of Black lives. What was done to us was torture. What was done to us was lifelong theft of our labour. What was done to us was …

It is ludicrous and profoundly insulting to assert that the removal of the Nelson monument from our Heroes Square is comparable to the way “… that our history, culture and way of life were wiped out.”

We have already told him where we want to put it… in the Barbados Museum with appropriate interpretive signage. It is up to him to get on with the job.

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

PLT…John King is an idiot who needs putting in his place, if am not mistaken, he sang about the 2 Barbadoses, the oppression, racism, crimes they are allowed to commit against HIS PEOPLE and everything else, now he gets to suck on taxpayers money, it’s a different tune, again, if am not mistaken he is the one sang about that, i know Gabby sang some songs too…but these days he got a little useless shite title so he is successfully muzzled too, don’t see him being an activist anymore…the MENTALLY WEAK BLACK BAJAN MAN….is an EMBARRASSMENT…

In saying that, who is going to get this ball rolling so THAT THE BLACK MAJORITY CAN EXERCISE THEIR HUMAN RIGHTS…to own businesses and control the economy and WEALTH in their own country that they have FUNDED FOR CENTURIES..and when it gets started and the envious, covetous tiefing minorities try to SABOTAGE it as usual with their sell out negros…i hope fraudulent Johnnie the Jackass King will be the first to open his mouth and not to defend the jealous minded thieving minorities, but defend his own people. He is now guaranteeing never to be elected to the parliament again, he turned me off after his first 2 paychecks.

Barbados NEEDS BLACK BUSINESSES, not minority crooks and price gouging businesses, not the Syrian Cartel and their criminality in every business..BLACK BUSINESSES owned and operated by the African descended majority population is what must be created on the island going forward.

https://www.chron.com/local/article/Houston-real-estate-broker-developer-collaborate-15336183.php?fbclid=IwAR3IJsjRj61-uwmByMf4sR-_t6ku06qS2hrHQpJwDljhpA1zt9SJ_OYSi1E

“What inspires Houston real estate broker Jay Bradley is to serve, strengthen and give back to his community. It’s that drive that helped forge a plan with developer Chris Senegal to renovate and revitalize blocks within Houston’s historic Fifth Ward.

“When you end up finding someone who has a similar passion, the path becomes its own,” Bradley, owner of Equinox Realty Group said. “The path at this point is to help the community.”

Bradley is in collaboration with Senegal and Cocoa Collective Xchange to bring black-owned businesses into Fifth Ward neighborhoods, calling the mission Buying the Block.”

18. Wily detects a lot of BLACK ANARCHY slipping into the conversation lately, are Bajan’s finally waking up from their eternal sleep. Second thought it’s more likely some black left back rebel rousers talking shit.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I should have clarified..

In saying that, who, meaning ANYONE FROM THE BLACK MAJORITY, is going to get this ball rolling so THAT THE BLACK MAJORITY CAN EXERCISE THEIR HUMAN RIGHTS…to own, build businesses and control the economy and WEALTH in their own country that they have FUNDED FOR CENTURIES.

the thieving minorities have no place in this, we already know that clowns like Johnny King and the other sell outs in the parliament will try to involve them in and do anything to sabotage Black rights, steal ideas and creations…they are NOT INVITED…this is not meant for any of them….STAY AWAY..

20. @ Wily Coyote June 18, 2020 6:46 AM

Some commentators hallucinate. They pretend that since 1966, Barbados has had exclusively white politicians who have forced the native masses with a gun to their head to make their cross with the DLP. Rather, the fact is that for many decades the masses have opted for social transfers through debt-making in order to feign a level of prosperity that far exceeds national productivity.

21. @Peter

We have to respect the minister’s right to have a different opinion, therefore calling him names is not helpful. Note he was careful to state he was sharing a personal opinion. The blogmaster suspects it was a kite flying exercise. Could King be an echo chamber for Mottley? They are very close.

22. @ black BU bloggers.

Think of what happend to your ancestors as if they were alive today.

There is nothing worse than slavery. Death to a slave was a relief.

Bajans have seen the damage done by slavery. They are living with it.

Maybe there is something wrong with me but when I see the knee on George Floyd’s neck I see my relatives and friends who look like him.

23. @ Wily

What it shows you is how easily people can be distracted from the massive issues we have here at home, which will affect thousands of black lives. All you need to do is play the race card and watch the distraction occur from what we need to focus on, hence I will say this.

“Black lives matter here too.” So find employment for the 40,000 unemployed and tell us what as a government wunna doing so as to exist on a massively smaller economic income base. Folks left out all the distractions and focus on our own people. In other words what can we do to put Mr Floyd Brathwhaite who loss his job at hotel X back to work so he can feed his family? How can we help his wife who sold tee shirts by Trevors Way to make a dollar till the tourist return?

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

No one wants to hear any personal opinions of any sell out negro in the parliament that is sucking on taxpayers on a monthly basis ….especially when that opinion is so destructive and meant to keep the slave society and racism intact AGAINTS HIS OWN PEOPLE…calling him names may wake his dumb ass up…

am still trying to remember if it was King Johnnie Fool or Adonijah sang about the two Barbadoses, don’t want to blame him for singing the truth and now he is TALKING PURE SHITE..

25. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I did not call the minister any names. I labelled his OPINION “embarrassingly and utterly wrong” and his words as quoted in the Nation as “ludicrous and profoundly insulting.” I am correct. Minister King has a right to free speech, but when he says that removing the Nelson monument from Heroes Square is “… trying to do to others what we say has been done to us…” he is dead wrong. In no moral universe is moving a monument to the culture which dehumanized enslaved people in any way comparable to the historical crimes against those enslaved people. It is a disgusting and degrading comparison to make.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

John A…don’t know if Wily is paying attention, but this is the right OPPORTUNITY to remove the dirty racist system the negros of parliament are trying to keep alive into another generation, the same system that will ALWAYS work against their own BLACK people, the majority population…it too HAS TO BE DISMANTLED AND TAKEN DOWN…just like the blighted racist statue of nelson…or NOTHING WILL EVER CHANGE..

i see Mia is twisting herself into knots trying to keep it going and never ending…. AND FAILING SPECTACULARLY….

there are only so many different ways to say that without going nuclear….so i will only say it once..

27. “Wily detects a lot of BLACK ANARCHY”

The opposite of #BLACKLIVESMATTER is Black Lives Don’t Matter aka White Supremacy Racism
    Nelson’s statue should become EXHIBT 1 in the evidence in a Reparations Case
    The purpose of the removal of Statues from legacy of white supremacy racism is to remove the Nelson Devil that still lurks inside them

Evil Man Loose In The World (Radio Edit)

Shocks of Mighty
    Evil Man Loose in The World
    Pirate Hawkins of Black Hawkings
    Evil Man Talking
    Listen to Devil
    He knows not what he thinks
    There is a man so evil sold his soul for Money and Cash
    Forgive the Devil
    They know not what they do
    Evil can not do God
    Evil is Evil

28. Minister King is entitled to his personal opinion. having read what he said, on the face of it, it makes no sense. i dont quite understand what he is trying to convey.

perhaps he misunderstood MAM’s message, if, indeed, she is speaking thru him

29. @Peter

The name calling reference was not directed at you.

30. @ Wura

I am indeed worried for my own people right here on the rock. From all that I have read and based on the comments from guys like Northern, Hants and Sarge who are on the ground there, recovery will take longer than expected for tourism. What happens to our peole when the unemployment benefits come to an end? I need to see more urgency on the restructuring of our economy. What are all these committees led by luminaries like Sinkyuh doing? Why have we not been told of the plans government have in place for the NEW economy for example? They need to give our people hope and a sense that change is coming in a good way for
    post covid Barbados. What for example are the mandates given to these committees and why haven’t they been published in the press?

Yes if you can’t guess I am frustrated!

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, my next door neighbor was true craftsman with kite making and as memory serves we did most of the kite flying around Easter… that our Culture Minister is enjoying it this late into the year is good on him to continue to popularize such a wonderful Bajan tradition, indeed…. or I could have simply said re your noisy mid-morn, clammy-cherrie stuck together, noisy ‘buzzing’ kite: yuh mekking real sport! 🙂

Seriously bro, Min. King is out on to sea; where the Admiral spent lots of his time …@PLT is absolutely correct he is “embarrassingly and utterly wrong” and his words as quoted in the Nation as “ludicrous and profoundly insulting.”

I am shocked that a man who rightly acknowledges his strong advocacy on vexxing social issues in his earlier years could as PLT says make the ludicrous and absurd remark that “that removing the Nelson monument from Heroes Square is “… trying to do to others what we say has been done to us…”

‘How Many More Must Die’, thought performed for a different plight (non-police directly) is still, in my view, a stirring and deeply emotional song when heard in context of a George Floyd or Philando Castile or Abijah Holder… that the creator of that deep message could get so tongue-twisted into such an annoyingly ridiculous public statement tells me that he had to be flying his political BS… not kites… he is better than that!

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

ERROR…’thought performed’… let’s try ‘[AL]THOUGH performed’

33. No doubt this Johnnie still wants a plantation at ANY cost and is sucking up to those who can give him one!

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Well said , John King. Many of us are not thinking. Some of us just react. But with your life experiences and coming from a different school ethos ,I am not at all disappointed. We need to think and think clearly.

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I wish the black colonial CLOWNS in parliament would stop OPENING THEIR STINKING MOUTHS…unless they are saying that they will now WORK ASAP at DISMANTLING the RACIST SLAVE SOCIETY THEY ALL DEVELOPED AND MAINTAINED WITH THE BLACK POPULATION’S MONEY…against them…

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/jun/18/lloyds-of-london-and-greene-king-to-make-slave-trade-reparations?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_source=Twitter&fbclid=IwAR39dglL6HmKVL_zoJAu7zjC8MDX6BzI0q4B-tU-TIbrOEilMFXoYMUEBAM#Echobox=1592440218

“McKay/Reuters
    Two major British firms have pledged to make payments to representatives of black people, as well as those of other minority ethnic backgrounds, as they seek to address their founders’ roles in the trans-Atlantic slave trade.

The pub chain and brewer Greene King and the insurance market Lloyd’s of London both revealed on Wednesday evening that they would be making the reparations.

The news, first reported by the Telegraph, comes as people outraged by the killing of an African American man in Minnesota, George Floyd, as well as continuing racial discrimination closer to home, demand that the UK recognise the ongoing legacy of the British empire’s extensive role in the enslavement of millions of Africans.”

36. “I need to see more urgency on the restructuring of our economy. What are all these committees led by luminaries like Sinkyuh doing? ”

It seems like years but it has been 3-4 long months since this plague outbreak took hold of every economy….an intelligent government would have IMMEDIATELY DIVERSIFIED after seeing that tourism is a NO GO for some time to come, but no, these with all their taxpayer paid consultants cannot find not ONE area in which to diverisfy because i can see them clearly crawling around trying to keep the majority black population in BONDAGE…trying to keep the minorities and their racism ON TOP…trying to keep the Syrain CARTEL ON TOP…of their own people…all in a bid to enrich themselves…anything they come up with they FEAR will ENRICH THE MAJORITY POPULATION…free them and give them control of their own island…none of these dirty people want that….they are trying to MAINTAIN THEIR TOXIC EVIL STATUS QUO…at the expense of the population…but they will all GO DOWN…

37. @Vincent

could you please tell me what he is trying to say?

38. John A…if you think the shite that the Johnnie of the parliament said was too insulting to US AND OUR ANCESTORS…check out all of them with their tongues and hands stretched trying to get REPARATIONS in the NAMES OF OUR MURDERED, ROBBED AND BRUTALIZED ANCESTORS….pretending to be our representatives…those thieves and sell outs…

but i want the british when they do pay out any reparations to not PUT ONE DIME in their hands…find another way, just like Lloyds of London has…..and if they do, knowing how htey like to tief…ah hope they all get locked the hell up….they are the lowest scum to ever crawl the earth…..and i would not want any of them representing me in anything..

39. William Skinner Avatar

I think that Mr. King the Minister of Culture ,has spoken quite clearly as is his Democratic right. Even if he is at odds , there is nothing wrong with that. We do recall that Dr. Estwick, frequently distance himself from the DLP’s economic policies.
    There is no need for you or anybody to cover for Mr. King. De man ain’t flying no kite or trying a thing- he just does not feel that Nelson should be removed.You need to Stop the pathetic attempts at PRO for the administration. It is quite capable doing that on its own and quite frankly is very competent at it.
    I think that PM Mottley wants Nelson removed . Arthur wanted it moved too and Sandiford shocked us all by just turning him around. So Johnny Ma Boy has nothing to be ashamed of. I don’t agree with him but democracy is democracy.

40. lol…if i did not know certain things about myself, i would tell Vincent about his evil ass ancestors…

41. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD at 9 :03 AM

I think you have missed the point that Minister King has made. Social justice is social justice. It has no colour.Hatred is hatred whether it is of White ,Black , Brown or Yellow hued human beings. Similarly,exploitation is exploitation. It does not come in colours.
    Those of us who have and are fighting for social justice are not seeking to replace one dominant group with another. John King is against erasing History. History is a record of what actually took place. We can only erase the social and psychological consequences of historical events when we know the origin of our malaise. We cannot remove Lord Nelsons statue in the vain hope that it would remove the consequences of slavery.
    He who does not remember history is condemned to repeat it.
    Two wrongs do not add up to one right. That is bad Algebra.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent
    I have not missed minister King’s point. You have.

He compared the defacing or degrading of an inanimate object made of bronze, to the degrading and genocide of millions of Black human beings. He is so afraid to bruise White feelings that he makes this immoral and monstrous comparison. Shame!

When Minister King says that removing the Nelson monument from Heroes Square is “… trying to do to others what we say has been done to us…” he is dead wrong. In no moral universe is damaging a monument to the culture which dehumanized enslaved people in any way comparable to the historical degradation and genocide against those enslaved people. It is a disgusting and degrading comparison to make.

43. that makes little sense. in that removing Nelson is not removing history. the history that is written about Nelson is still.

if removing Nelson is changing history, isnt knocking down buildings etc the same?

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent CodringtonJune 18, 2020 10:18 AM
    “History is a record of what actually took place.”
    This is complete bullshit Vincent. History is a composition by the victors in a historical conflict. Period. The people in Barbados who led the effort to erect a monument to Nelson were enslavers and merchants who were grateful to Nelson for defending their property and profits. They were the victors so they wrote their version of history in Bronze.

Time has passed since then. Racist enslavers are no longer victors to the extent they were in 1813. So now Barbadians are faced with the decision of how they wish to write their history at this point in time. Do we simply want to reinscribe what the enslavers and merchants wrote in 1813, or do we wish a different composition?

45. @William

Please accept the blogmaster’s apology, Minister John of I want a plantation fame is your confidant we see.

46. Next question fro Vincent…how does removing a racist statue, a symbol of slavery in a Black majority country and putting it in a museum so that people can pay to see and hear all the crimes it’s likeness committed against African slaves…..how is that showing hatred to racists…

ya right, you and that idiot certainly went to the same school for sure……a slave school…

ah can’t wait to hear the answer…

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Wura at 10 :17 AM

I know all I need to know about my “evil ass ancestors “. I get the feeling that you share the same ancestors.. Unlike you ,I do not sit in judgement upon them. They did the best they could under the prevailing circumstances. I have tried to learn from their experiences. I hope that wherever they are they are proud of my efforts on this side of Eternity. I will not apologize for them . I seek only to understand.

Wura

You need to take some time out. You are out of control.

48. Removing Nelson does not remove history. Didn’t the Financial Times article posted a few days ago deal with this matter or is it true black people do not read.

Across the globe in majority White countries we have been witnessing symbols that reflect oppression to the Black race being remove from the glare of the public in recognition of the prevailing and watershed moment the world finds itself. Yet in a majority Black country we have to suffer this debate. Even NASCAR tore down the confederate flag for crissakes.

Enough!

49. @ William

I am terrified of mobs. I know Barbados has not got a history of mob violence, but in the UK during the football season we get it every Saturday. It is horrifying.
    What we do have in Barbados is a history of hostility to views we do not share. Somehow we see it as a challenge if someone has a different view about anything to ourselves.
    Minister King has a aright to his opinion and, like him, I am not yet convinced about moving the Nelson statue no more than I am about Codrington College should become Bussa College or Harrison College should become the Barrow Academy.
    This Barbadian muscular nationalism is reactionary and primitive. It is the intravenous drip towards a dictatorship and mob rule. All you need is the flag, the national anthem, and hands on heart singing This is Who We Are. Nonsense. It is the sound track of stubbornness and an empty head.
    What worries me about Minister King is that he is the minister of culture and seems not to be able to articulate a proper position on Nelson, or any other statue from the colonial days, and what they represent.
    But all this is a debate for another time. I want us to concentrate on the immediacy of what has come out of the George Floyd public lynching – police brutality – which happens in Barbados.
    We MUST talk about the Everton Gittens murder of his neighbour; this somehow remains off the table. Is Gittens on paid leave? When is he going to face the courts? Was the gun a police issue weapon or his private own?
    This case speaks right to the heart of the amorality and cowardice of our value system than the Nelson monument or an inarticulate minister of culture.

50. Relocating a statue to a museum is not erasing history. It is simply putting history in its correct context. Nelson is not our hero. He should be removed from his pedestal. If Nelson is still the hero of the minority whites then that tells us they are still in favour of what he stood for. That would not surprise me at all.

And that is precisely why he needs to come down as a signal to them that we shall no longer tolerate their economic domination.

People here speak nonsense about hatred and not doing to them what they did to us and race doesn’t matter. This has nothing to do with hatred of anybody. It is just a matter of healing our psyche. This has nothing to do with trying to dominate them. It is just a matter of reversing their dominance. We want equality, not dominance.

Anybody who says that race doesn’ t matter must be living in an alternative universe because they show us EVERY DAY that it matters to them.

And it the root cause of many of our problems, including our economic problems.

Sigh! Some people bend over backwards to seem reasonable at the expense of reason.