The average Black West Indian should be aware of the The Middle Passage. As a youngster the blogmaster recalls his effort to visualize Africans shackled and crammed into boat to be transported from Africa to the West Indies and sold into bondage.  It case we forget there was a dark period in the history of the world Blacks were legally regarded as ‘chattel’, no better than a mule or donkey.

The lineage of Black people living in the Caribbean means there will always be an inextricable connection between the West Indies and Africa. It is unfortunate our people have allowed North American and Eurocentric influences to permeate our psyche to wreak havoc to our identity.

It was reported last week that 54 African countries signed a letter asking the United Nations Human Rights Council to schedule a debate on police brutality against Black people around the world. It is a matter of record the killing of George Floyd in the USA has triggered a Black Lives Movement reminiscent of the 50s and 60s when MLK, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey and others were at the forefront of the fight for civil and political rights of our people.

…In a letter written on behalf of 54 African countries, Burkina Faso’s ambassador to the UN in Geneva asked the UN’s top rights body for an “urgent debate” on “racially inspired human rights violations, police brutality against people of African descent and the violence against the peaceful protests that call for these injustices to stop…

As a proud Black man the blogmaster must share his disappointment at the lack of a strident response to the killing of George Floyd by CARICOM. All reasonable people agree it is a manifestation of institutionalized  racism in the USA and global citizens have been galvanized to protest the need for urgent reform.

A scan of the official website of  Caricom.org reveals no adequate communications posted to capture the prevailing sentiment of the people living in the region. Our Caricom leaders under the current chairmanship of Mia Mottley have failed us at a pivotal moment in the history of the world. Our nexus to Africa created the opportunity to add our voice to those of the 54 African countries who represent the Mother Country. How are we expected to forge and improve relations with African countries but are miles apart on how to correctly react to the matter of the Black Lives Movement? This has nothing to do with jumping on any bandwagon. Again the idea of cognitive dissonance keeps recurring. What message are our leaders sending to the masses?

It is no wonder we have to tolerate individuals who lack the understanding of the moment by insisting we should let the USA fight this matter alone. Why are White people protesting around the globe? Some of us have family residing in the USA. Some of us have relatives studying in the USA. Some of us may have reason to travel to the USA. Most of us are Black. Most important, a strike against humanity is simply that and should evoke the same response in humans everywhere.

Even the Germans are protesting for crissakes!

The poor response by Caricom to describe it mildly is a disappointment and although the perfect scenario is to strike when hot, it is not too late to offer redress. Now is not the time to be apolitical. Now is not the time to engage in racial distancing.

210 responses to “Caricom Engaged in Racial Distancing”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“A scan of the official website of Caricom.org reveals no adequate communications posted to capture the prevailing sentiment of the people living in the region. Our Caricom leaders under the current chairmanship of Mia Mottley have failed us at a pivotal moment in the history of the world.”

Some are saying that some Caricom leaders are too busy setting up NONEY LAUNDERING BANKS, AGENCIES ETC to continue stealing taxpayers money, pensioners money, loans designated to the people to care about what happens to African brothers and sisters in US or anywhere else.

….recently i spoke to some African brothers and got a much better understanding of what continues to transpire and why….do you think those black face wretches in the parliament would even care outside of what they can tief from their own people AND LAUNDER AROUND THE WORLD….

2. Good article and point. If I may go on a partial, but not irrelevant tangent. Re this paragraph of yours, ”It is no wonder we have to tolerate individuals who lack the understanding of the moment by insisting we should let the USA fight this matter alone. Why are White people protesting around the globe?………. Most important, a strike against humanity is simply that and should evoke the same response in humans everywhere.”

That is a major point. Apart from the undeniable matter of systemic racism, there is the matter of global humanity, a situation very similar to the Nazi rise in Germany, that concerned not just the German Jews, but all of the globe, because such racism spreads beyond the borders of a nation, especially a nation that is of such influence.

By definition, this cannot be a matter concerning Americans alone, or people of color alone. It concerns the world, of all races and creeds.

Back to the main point, yes, Caricom should issue an appropriate statement. Such can be done diplomatically without attacking the country, but addressing the systemic issue.

While there seems to be concern at the economic state and not offending the wrong group, there are some things that cannot be priced.

Again, that is why it is called diplomacy, one can speak candidly to a friend, but remain a friend, because the issue is the intent of the discussion, not the fact that you are having the discussion. Having the discussion indicates maturity and a willingness to be honest and a willingness to continue to discuss the hard issues that face the world.

3. @David ”Even the Germans are protesting for crissakes!”

Ouch, I cringed. I know that you did not mean this in a mean way, but to my knowledge, Germany has strived against the horror of the 1930’s and 1940’s. Even if, as with any country, there are extremist elements.

Also to my knowledge, many Bajans have made Germany their home, over the years and have been welcomed, especially musicians.

Therefore, may I suggest a retraction or clarification on that phrase. As I said, I know that you did not intend this in a mean way.

4. The absence of empathy with Black Lives Matters from the Barbados political directorate and from CARICOM comes from the top. CARICOM is a regional body with the vast majority of its citizens being descendants of the African slave trade. All these nations have citizens living in the US, and even more have relatives and friends living there.
    Despite all this, the president of Barbados has resisted making any statements about the George Floyd lunching, making some obnoxious excuse about being leader of the regional union and statements could have wider implications.
    Every civilised leader had condemned the killing – notably certain regions and nations were missing. The president did not even send a message of support to last Saturday’s march organised by David Denny. Her first mention of the Black Lives Matter movement was when she made a brief statement announcing changes to the curfew.
    Now she is going cap in hand to Trudeau (who himself took a kneel) asking him to support the renewal of flights from Canada. The long-term health of the people must be sacrificed on the alter of the tourist dollar.
    The CoVid crisis has exposed the flaws in the story of our leader as dynamic, world class, clever and had a Midas touch. The reality is that she does not like details, is not as informed as her fans claim, and is urgently in need of good counsel.
    But she operates in a political climate where she does not see it necessary to inform, explain or apologise to the people.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The demons in Barbados’ parliament continue to tell themselves that they will be allowed to continue their oppressive, racist, apartheid slave society against their BLACK people on the island, if they KEEP QUIET about the atrocities meted out to Black people in the US…that is how devoid of compassion and empathy for their own Black people and SELF-HATING these criminal thieves are…but they have outdone themselves this time.

Everyone is crying shame. it had to reach to this for people TO SEE the frauds who have polluted that parliament and the pretend Caricom group of do nothings and go nowhere for over 50 years.

6. ” Prime Minister Mia Mottley issued an invitation to Canadians to “come home” to Barbados “.

I suggest to my fellow CanBajans to ” stay home ” in Canada and send money to your family and friends.

Remittances are needed more now than ever.

Black lives matter.

7. Good morning Barbados
    @Hal
    A very good piece. When you move from personal exchanges your submissions are excellent.

It is very easy to get into one-on-one situations; I try my best to avoid them, but every now and then I find myself engaging in a ‘fight’. The sad thing is that afterwards when full of regrets I know ‘the spoken word cannot be recalled’.

Have a great day Barbados

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    The Cda-US border remains closed until the end of July, while various provincial borders also remain closed. Besides dousing the economy with a bevy of newly printed dollars, Trudeau has no control over the airlines. Int’l travel cannot open, when internal flights are grounded.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Hal is correct.
    Mia Motttley’s tepid response to the global outcry against White supremacist ideology has been appalling. She owes it to the people of Barbados to add our passionate voice in an official capacity to those crying out for justice. Her lack of leadership is a betrayal of the Barbadian people. She makes a travesty of the words that we mouth when we sing our national anthem… she is cowering from joining the Black peoples of the world to “write our names on history’s page…” she has abandoned all pretense to being among the “strict guardians of our heritage” and instead is crawling to Canada in the hope that THEY will be the “craftsmen of our fate.”

10. @ Northern

From where you sit what is the view of Canadians with regard to future travel after July? Do you get the feeling that it is in their top 5 todo list or do you see the economic reality of Canadians being effected to the point where travel will be off the list for a while?

Curious to hear your view as a man on the ground there. In other words how bad has the average Canadian been set back?

11. @PLT

Thanks.

12. A lot of Canadians may staycation and travel within Canada.

There could be lots of incentives to vacation in Toronto and Vancouver.

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    What more are you expecting PM Mottley to do? Your African brothers are very late to the table. Who is it that facilitated and encouraged the Triangular Trade? You are indeed a man of optics.Most of us prefer meaningful action.Have you any ideas how we at this distance can eradicate the ideology of racism in the USA? I want more than the usual shallow,empty narrative.

14. @ Hants

Has The Canadian government rolled out and local promotions for staycation as of yet? I have heard the USA are getting ready to do it as well.

15. From my vantage point it seems that the Canadian Gov’t is in no hurry to open the border with the US as long as cases of COVID 19 in the US continue to spike. The US has to get its house in order before things return to semi normal but the man in the WH is anxious to return the economy to its previous position in time for the Election and he may create some sort of issue to force the Canadian Gov’t’s hand.

16. @John A,

The Canadian private sector will give incentives. The Government will be focused on “bailouts” of Airlines etc.

17. @ Sarge

You think we may see an extension for Canadian borders after July then?

While we are all focusing on what is happening overseas I have to tell you that I am becoming very concerned for our people here. Especially those in the tourism market. If Canada keeps its borders closed past July and trump pushes his travel within USA plan to places like Miami, California , Puerto Rico and the Carolinas, we better start worrying about the effect that will have here for our own people.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent asked “Have you any ideas how we at this distance can eradicate the ideology of racism in the USA?”

The ideology of racism is not confined to the USA; it is a global problem which is deeply embedded in all of eurocentric (ie “western”) culture, politics, philosophy, and history. It’s roots are over 500 years old, but the global struggle against this White supremacist ideology has been ongoing for all of your lifetime in everything from anti-colonial struggles to Bob Marley’s cry to “emancipate yourself from mental slavery…”

The failure of PM Mottley has very little to do with changing the USA, and very much to do with changing Barbados. The “mental slavery” which inhibits us from clearly seeing, identifying, speaking out, and acting against White supremacist ideology is at the root of our government’s disappointing response.

19. @ Hants

I am not sure the authorities here understand what we are up against. If a prolonged return to travel is experienced hotels will be forced to make layoffs permanent. This will deal a serious blow to the Barbadian workers in that sector. Right now all hope is on a return to travel by September in some form. If what you guys are seeing comes to past this will not happen. I worry for my people that’s the truth.

20. The WHINNING and BEGGING continues…..

“send money to your family and friends.
    Remittances are needed more now than ever.”

The whole WHITE WORLD in coordinated RACIAL PANDEMIC against BLACK population and BLACK government’s and organization supporting this pandemic, hummmmm.

It’s time for the BLOGMASTER to look INWARD and ask some serious questions about what appears to be happening and start sole searching for the answer rather than for someone to BLAME. If this NOT ME school boy attirude continues, the precieved injustice will prevail. This US/THEM attitude never results in conflict resolution. The go to the “BLAME” idea always goes to the SLAVERY issue for the Caribbean and North American black populace. Well SLAVERY still exists today and is practiced in several world jurisdictions on millions of non black populations and is obviously condoned by numerous organizations worldwide.

Mankind through eternity has always had the HAVES and HAVE NOTS, those who had FIRE and those who did not, those who had GUNS and those who did not. There has always been INEQUALITIES and there will always be in the future. The black Caribbean after SLAVERY put their hope for better future equality in the EDUCATION BASKET, one might want to evaluate this PHILOSOPHY and see how it’s working.

COMPLAINERS complain, those of influence quietly move forward with advancement.

21. @NA
    The land border is closed but if you are prepared to fly you can travel to the US and vice versa.
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/business/u-s-travel-restrictions-covid-19-land-border-fly-1.5607741
    In the previous post I should have made it clear that it was the land border I was writing about.

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT

What is the thrust of today’s moot? Did we read the same article? I prefer to discuss what is proposed. May I suggest you reread?

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT

You are not the only commenter who has merely used the space as a launching pad for his/her pet peeve. It would be more enlightening if we were all singing the same hymn.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent
    The failure of Mottley’s response to the global outcry over George Floyd’s murder is about confronting White supremacist ideology on a global scale, not simply changing USA police tactics. That is why it has provoked the toppling of imperial monuments which have immediate bearing on the behavior of law enforcement personnel in Minneapolis. May I suggest you reread.

25. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“which have NO immediate bearing”^

26. Cut the PM some slack, wasn’t it just a few days ago when the “Boy Wonder” was informing us that any statement by the PM would upset delicate negotiations on the International front.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent

I do wish that White supremacist ideology was merely my “pet peeve.”

I suggest that you read Jamaican born philosopher Charles Mills, the most important political philosopher of our lifetime (in my opinion). “The Racial Contract” is a good place to start.

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT

Unlike you , Hal and others , I do not think PM Mottley has “failed”. I commend her for doing her best with the paucity of resources at her disposal.

29. From the desk of a protagonist in the BU sponsored yesterday melodrama:
    The CoVid crisis has exposed the flaws in the story of our leader as dynamic, world class, clever and had a Midas touch. The reality is that she does not like details, is not as informed as her fans claim, and is urgently in need of good counsel.
    But she operates in a political climate where she does not see it necessary to inform, explain or apologise to the people.
    She owes it to the people of Barbados to add our passionate voice in an official capacity to those crying out for justice. Her lack of leadership is a betrayal of the Barbadian people. (Unquote).

Out of the very mouth of his yesterday’s intellectual bête noire.

Mia Motttley’s tepid response to the global outcry against White supremacist ideology has been appalling. She owes it to the people of Barbados to add our passionate voice in an official capacity to those crying out for justice. Her lack of leadership is a betrayal of the Barbadian people. She makes a travesty of the words that we mouth when we sing our national anthem… she is cowering from joining the Black peoples of the world to “write our names on history’s page…” she has abandoned all pretense to being among the “strict guardians of our heritage”… (Unquote).

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Wow! Wow, indeed!

Oh, what a day makes, 24 little hours!

The two big gunners are, today, in tandem in this barrage of fusillade targeted at La Presidenta.

Where is the mutt of a whippersnapper when his Red Mistress, the Eva Peron of his child-like eyes, needs him most to protect her from this rapid onslaught of harsh criticism?

Muttley the little Koochie Koo, where are you hiding when your mistress needs you to defend her geopolitical stance in this ‘BOSS’ of silence?

“Millsy” your old darling has taken ‘her’ defeated place in the back row watching the heavyweights in action and holding hands with your sweet friend the ‘salmon-tot retriever’ nicknamed “Silversleeves”.

30. @ Miller June 17, 2020 8:36 AM

Oh, what {a difference} a day makes, 24 little hours!

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent
    “I commend her for doing her best with the paucity of resources at her disposal.”
    Fair enough. I myself think that PM Mottley is by far the best candidate for her post at the moment.

However, I am curious to know what resources are not at her disposal to do as Burkina Faso did to issue a statement something like we as Barbadians are vehemently opposed to “racially inspired human rights violations, police brutality against people of African descent and the violence against the peaceful protests that call for these injustices to stop…” and then lead CARICOM to issue a parallel declaration?

32. @ Sargeant June 17, 2020 8:24 AM
    “Cut the PM some slack, wasn’t it just a few days ago when the “Boy Wonder” was informing us that any statement by the PM would upset delicate negotiations on the International front.”

Well spotted!
    Hypocrisy at the apex and morality at its nadir!
    The overly loquacious little jump-up has been put back into his red toy box and told to sing only ‘Silent Night’.

Poor Freundel must now stir from his extended period of slumber and justify in no uncertain terms why he preferred to remain ‘deliberative’ in his SILENCE.

At least his style of leadership as a ‘sleeping giant’ has a new convert.

“In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

33. Just saw Mia & Justin on CBC Canada TV.

34. @PLT
    You’re on point. 400 years after we were brought here in shackles and 50 years since ‘independence’, there are stil too many of us with the shackles on our minds. It’s a sorry state of affairs that this country which has been disfigured by racism from the time the Portuguese started enslaving the small indigenous communities on the island; which today still operates the apartheid economic dictatorship inherited from slavery; which still celebrates racist crimes and criminals through things like the Holetown festival and Nelson’s statue and whose population is over 95% African descendants is incapable of adding its voice to the global ourtrage against racism.

Maybe, it’s the fact that any discussion on structural racism and unjustified state violence against citizens would spot an uncomfortable light on how things actually run in the Caribbean of 2020 that accounts for this government’s and CARICOM’s deafening silence on the matter.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, I get concerned about your thinking at times like this… because I agree with you completely 🙂 ! What @Austin and too @PLT said are still valid but your thrust was also my initial reaction….

I get the Blogmaster (and Austin n PLT) clearly made point that the regional leaders need to step up and use this ‘once-in-a-life-time’ moment to push serious racial change but you are very much on point when you question the long standing motivations of our African brethren who have tip-toed over the years on these vexing issues in US and beyond…yes, they are indeed “very late to the table.”

And one very small, weenie, tiny, point @David Blogmaster… others can correct me if I am wrong but was Garvey really a big trending name during the high times of the Civil Rights…. he had burned some bridges (as we discussed previously) with the Black movement in US many years earlier and although his mantra for self-governance and a Pan-Africanism new homeland was championed by many I am not aware that he was heralded that significantly at THAT time…. I am NOT DETRACTING from the SIGNIFICANCE of the man’s impact in US or globally …simply putting in context your comment re “… reminiscent of the 50s and 60s when MLK, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey and others were at the forefront of the fight for civil and political rights of our people”

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“send money to your family and friends.
    Remittances are needed more now than ever.”

the same remittances and people who send them both toxic useless governments always looked down on and pretended that their contributions were not important to the economy, when it can be calculated in the BILLIONS OF DOLLARS in contributions over the decades that actually kept FAMILIES ALIVE….but no, the thieves only wanted to promote racism and dependency tourism and force it on their people generationally so that they can brag and boast…while tiefing everything…

Vincent…we will never be on the same page regarding the daylight robbery of the people and island generationally by these two dangerous lying governments….you will never find that many slaveminded yes people on BU…

especially when we know that the no good in the parliament are DELIBERATELY REFUSING TO SEE OR USE THIS OPPORTUNITY ….to create a new system that benefits the majority population…..and wean the island of dependency tourism by introducing a whole new concept of JOBS CREATION….and in time the tourism that they believe is their savior will be a sideline income generator….but THIEVES CANNOT SEE THAT FAR…

i saw an article yesterday where so far there are 22 BLACK OWNED BANKS in the US..

…in direct CONTRAST.. Barbados where there is a 95% BLACK POPULATION…ya CAN’T find a BLACK ANYTHING….despite the same population FUNDING THE WHOLE ISLAND FOR THE PAST 60 PLUS YEARS…post emancipation .

and that is despite the US fighting racists demons for centuries…..but there is still FREE ENTERPRISE…which is always CRUSHED by the black criminals in Barbados’ parliament if the people DARE TRY TO RISE FINANCIALLY..

37. Blacks express and communicate their messages to each other in art, music, poetry, film.
    Politically they protest and campaign for righteous causes and human rights everyday of their life.
    One important aspect is Education of all issues to wise up and be armed in knowledge.
    “Prejudice is a burden that confuses the past threatens the future and makes the present inaccessible” — Maya Angelou

Black Politicians work in a pit of snakes and are conservative in criticism of racism rife in all western nations and colonies worldwide.
    Same dog that bites you in the morning will bite you again in the evening. Once bitten twice shy so please don’t ask me why.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Remittances are needed more now than ever.”

In 2017 remittances to Barbados from the USA alone added up to US$112 million. This is considerably more money than the Cruise ship industry earns for Barbados. People in Barbados also get significant remittances from the UK and Canada,

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ 555dubstreet at 9:42 AM

Thank you very much of that reminder from Maya Angelou. “Prejudice is a burthen that confuses the past,threatens the future, and makes the present inaccessible”. As a people we have to guard against adopting other people’s prejudices and/or creating our own.

40. “… reminiscent of the 50s and 60s when MLK, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey and others were at the forefront of the fight for civil and political rights of our people”

Marcus Garvey is a black prophet and his teachings are a foundation of Rastafari movement. Garvey proclaimed that black people should look for the Black King who would be crowned in the East, because this King was the Black redeemer and deliverer.

41. Working on the Guide Line

Jah Guide

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Very good piece, Comrade Austin.

43. @ William

Thank you.

44. Are we going to concentrate on the president’s political failings and ignore the huge gap in her economic bumbling? Some time ago, the president appointed a CoVid economic council, and sometime after announced eight chairpersons of sub-committees, including Owen Arthur and Chris Sinckler.
    The sub-committees were given four weeks in which to come up with proposals. It is now nearly two months. In the meantime, she went ahead with BEST, and later BOSS.
    We are yet to know the members of the various sub-committees and, so far, no proposals have been made public by the president. It looks as if the media’s short attention span means they cannot, or are unwilling to, hold the president’s feet to the fire. Maybe Sanka Price can make this a priority at CBC.
    Is begging Trudeau the new economic policy?

45. @ Hal

The questions you have just asked are the ones we need answers about. What is the economic plan going forward especially in light of the comments from Hants and Sarge. Are we pinning our hopes on a hotel on Bay Street only?

We have serious issues here that need our urgent attention and response. What exciting new idea has Sinkyuh come up with since his elevation to financial leadership under the MOF’s new committee?

46. @Crusoe

Germany stands out because of its history and a dominant White population. The reference was not meant to disparage present day country.

47. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Caricom silence is disappointed to say the least. Are they afraid of upsetting the madman Trump? or because we are afraid of being called out for hypocrisy, knowing the region has one of the highest murder rate in the world?

48. THIS MAN IS SAYING IT ALL!!!

Black Lives Matter & Hypocrisy (by @harbirnain)

https://www.facebook.com/carolyn.lewis.35/videos/3587460217935156/

49. Crusoe…..if you watch the above video, it gives the true definition and fully outlines of what it means to be the MAJORITY POPULATION..IN A DEMOCRACY…. it has signficance…..that is why 8 years ago when i came on here and saw some of the posts promoting the Black majority as minorities in Barbados, i took great offense because i knew it was the dutty no good minority clan of thieves calling themselves white and whatever and the Syrian cartel trying to convince a mentally fatigued people that they were the minorites and subservient to a criminal organization class of lowlifes aided and abetted by both black corrupt governments.