The following note was received from the civic minded Peter Lawrence Thompson with the link to a 122 page Barbados Development Plan pitched to potential investors to transform and modernize Barbados while maintaining those things that make it special. Given the robust discussion about Hyatt Hotel, Blue Horizon and other development initiatives across, the document serves as a good resource.

Many have asked to see the official development plan that provides the context for the proposed Hyatt branded development on Bay Street. The linked document is from Barbados Tourism Investment Inc., not from the planning office, but it clearly has the PM’s endorsement so I believe we can treat it as an official plan for Bridgetown development.

Relevant Link

Barbados Development Plan

222 responses to “Open for Business – Barbados Development Plan”

1. @TLNS

I will reserve my views on the plan until I have read all 122 pages. But, from a casual read through, it has the hallmarks of Canary Wharf. Remember when Canary Wharf was first built by the Reuben brothers it fell it in to financial problems and was for a time a white elephant. Then it was rescued.
    Then we had the issue of where was the UK’s financial centre; was it the City of Canary Wharf. That is still unresolved. Now the Chinese have moved in East of Canary Wharf and in the City (Fenchurch Street) where they have applied for planning permission to develop both East Canary Wharf and the City as financial and entertainment centre.
    Toa certain extents, the Chinese are moving back to that part of East London we used to call China Town, before it moved to the West End.
    Has he Barbados Development Plan been debated in parliament? Which government department is officially responsible for it progress?
    It is full of a lot of hyperbole, such as the majestic Carlisle Bay and nonsense about rooms and suites. But, as an outline plan, we must wait for further details. Have you noticed the Pierhead Strategic Reinvestment Area has a proposal for a 25 storey building (Pierhead Tower) and another for up to 18 storeys (Bay Street Gateway Tower), which is planned for private ownership. Then there is the 15 storey Hyatt proposal. Then two more towers in Hincks Street.
    It is important to note that it appears most of the rooms/units in this fantasy plan are meant to be commercial and if so, it will repeat the Canary Wharf/City conflict; the new proposals will make the administrative centre at Warrens redundant. Will government be renting any of these offices? Have you noticed t hat there is no mention of the Nelson Street and surrounding areas, ie the residential areas? This is no oversight, it is deliberate.
    There must be a proper discussion since this development, if it gets the go-ahead, will transform the city of Bridgetown for a century.

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David December 12, 2019 7:41 AM
    “6 notches is a big jump!”
    ++++++++++++++++
    To call this a 6 notch jump is smoke and mirrors. It is a tiny forward step for which the BLP administration deserves credit (no pun intended).

Look at the history of the Barbados credit rating with S&P below. The last rating under the disastrous DLP regime was CCC+ in March 2017. The step from CCC+ to B- is only ONE notch.

It is disingenuous to call it a six notch jump when it was the BLP decision to go DOWN 5 notches by declaring selective default in June 2018. Don’t get me wrong… selective default was the correct decision, but don’t fall for the spin.

So we have recovered to the credit rating of September 2016… this is no big deal… in September 2016 we were in deep shit and we are still in deep shit now. In the words of S&P we face “major ongoing uncertainties or exposure to adverse business, financial, or economic conditions that could lead to the obligor’s inadequate capacity to meet its financial commitments on the obligation.”

Rating   Outlook     Date

S&P B- stable Dec 11 2019
    S&P SD n/a Jun 06 2018
    S&P CCC+ negative Mar 03 2017
    S&P B- negative Sep 23 2016
    S&P B negative Dec 19 2014
    S&P BB- negative Nov 20 2013
    S&P BB+ negative Jul 18 2013
    S&P BB+ stable Jul 17 2012
    S&P BBB- negative Nov 21 2011
    S&P BBB- stable Oct 22 2010
    S&P BBB negative Nov 13 2009
    S&P BBB stable Jun 10 2009
    S&P BBB+ negative Apr 08 2009
    S&P BBB+ stable Jul 26 2006
    S&P BBB+ negative Jul 29 2005
    S&P BBB+ stable Aug 05 2004
    S&P A- negative Aug 20 2003
    S&P A- stable Dec 17 1999

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NO at 12 :29 PM

The one- eyed man becomes king only if a one- eyed king is acceptable. Please note that the Hilton arrangement was conceived in the mid 1960s and retains ownership for Barbadians.
    Its profitability is another issue.

@ John A , what is the ROI to the GoB investment in the Hilton Hotel?
    Should we not have had a Hilton up- to- date financials for the year 2018? What is the excuse?
    @ NO

Each capital investment should be preceded by a project evaluation which would include an analysis of the economy in which it is located.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@MTA
    never worry about Ms Fenty….with her marketing/strategy team assembled, the Hyatt Fenty or the Ritz Ri Ri, maybe closer than one thinks. But the islands will not be the focus, the dollars are elsewhere. She/they have an excellent olfactory sense for money.

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    I’m in broad agreement with your analysis of the BTI planning document. It has not been debated in Parliament as it surely should be (have been).

6. @ John A December 12, 2019 12:39 PM
    “Pictures look similar to the ones Arthur presented around 20 years ago when it was called I believed The Pierhead Redevelopment Project. Lol..”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Good one there, John A! A nice way to jog the memory in order to put this new plan into its revised pictorial perspective.

Why not dust off the dirt of 20 years electronic paint and pass it off as a recent birth of creative imagination?

Whose’ red’ leaning consultancy services is the BTII going to engage to promote this second hand new plan for Bridgetown to prove there is nothing new under the Bajan Duopoly sun?

Last time around the Quisling Boyce made his fortune. Who would it be this time around if not some friend of a red friend with an Oblong head?

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT at 1:12 PM

Well said. We have a duty not to mislead,unintentionally.

8. “Another is saying the Africans need to be made aware of corrupt Bajans while another screams Mia looking to get in bed with the corrupt Africans”

so why alyuh don’t want the Africans to know how corrupt alyuh ARE …and that they are NO MATCH for alyuh when it comes to being corrupt…not only that…they must also be made aware that alyuh…the Palace Negros are OWNED BY a tiny gang of RACIST THIEVES, the descendants of INDENTURED SERVANTS who have been robbing Black Bajans for DECADES…even those in the Diaspora…with alyuh help AND for your CUT….no Black person is safe from you criminals……in case alyuh pretending not to notice..Africans are BLACK PEOPLE like alyuh pretentious dangerous selves…who to this day don’t believe ya are Black let alone African….because you were nurtured and socilaized that way by the same criminal racist thieves to act like that and alyuh like it so much… that is all you do…

.so why did Mia not mention any of that in Kenya and Ghana…what’s the big secret…what are alyuh hiding and WHY??

why don’t you think Africa should know….too bad…THEY KNOW NOW…

9. “The island will become too expensive to live on for the majority of her citizens.”

that’s the plan, your leaders are evil and dangerous and only take directions from their equally evil minority masters.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    “The step from CCC+ to B- is only ONE notch.” excellent point, well documented.

11. @Peter

Point taken.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    who built Canary Wharf….Reuben Bros or the Reichmann Bros?

13. @ PLT

There is a lot wrong with this fantasy of a proposal. If as it appears the BTMI is the lead agency, is that legal? Can this unelected body have responsibility for the development for a large part of the City?
    Where is the DLP? Where are our academics? Has there been an economic assessment study? Every time I talk about developing Weymouth the loudmouths ask where is the money going to come from. May I ask the same question about this proposal?
    I do not want to call this voodoo because voodoo is a great Haitian belief system.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    “The one- eyed man becomes king only if a one- eyed king is acceptable.”
    You realise you would have made an excellent politician?

15. Did you peruse the document? It was and no doubt continues to be pitched to investors.

16. @ Northern Observer

I stand corrected. Of course, the Reichmann bros are Canadians. The Reuben bros are Brits, and are developing Paddington, the so-called new Canary Wharf. Both are big property developers. Freudian slip.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    The BTI planning document is valuable because it serves as a starting point for discussion. We desperately need deep discussion about this but even here on BU there are few who engage with the issues seriously.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    easily appreciated, both Jewish and both beginning with ‘R’.
    I see you finally got the rid of your Cdn central banker.
    I hope you have a safe and incident free election day.

19. @Peter

We have become a politically polarized people. The political class will do what suits them. The rank and file will care less.

20. A couple hours ago the cry was for Barbados to clean up its unhealthy dilapidated environment
    Less than 24 hrs later a picture is launched on BU compliments of BU and maybe Charles jong in an effort to squash the nagging question on how and when is govt going to clean up Bridgetown
    Now all have jump into the fray of discussing a smoke and mirror project that will never happen
    Fuh Christ Sake govt has been struggling for more than two years over how high the Hyatt should be built
    Can’t see govt ever being able to pull off such a massive project in any one lifetime
    Dream on fools

21. @Peter

We need to hear the professionals, the environmentalists and other key stakeholders to inform public debate.

22. @ Northern Observer,

I have sent a correction, but it has not appeared. The Reichmann bros built Canary Wharf; of course they are Canadian. The Reuben bros are building Paddington Basin, the so-called new Canary Wharf. Apologies.

23. Wily notes the RBC SALE, did Wily not forecast all the MAJOR BANKS, Barbados and Caribbean would be sold and departing. Caribbean is now in financial dis-array, finacial stability of the major Canadian Banks is now GONE and being replaced by several un-coordinated consortiums with widely differing objectives. Barbados government is trying to introduce their own controlled RED HERRING BANK(African) into the mix, where do you think this is headed ?

FAILURE MUST BE an obvious conclusion. Wily is waiting to see how present Barbados FINANCIAL CONTROLLER(IMF) is going to react.

24. @PLT

We have some urgent business here in the UK today, but when this is over and (hopefully) Boris returns to his bad journalism, I will give the development plan closer as attention.

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 1:45 PM

It is “pitched to the investors”.
    Do we the citizens have no say in what we want our built environment to be? Where is the sensitivity to the issues raised about our ecology and our culture in the Hyatt Affair? Is it fit for purpose? Are we to be pushed aside by the pipe dreams of a graphic designer and ignore aesthetics? Why are we changing the upper bound of 10 stories height of buildings?

@ dpD

This is another case where the Bajan saying of : “Follow pattern kills Cadogan” applies. Our attraction is our uniqueness. Why not ask our repeat visitors? Why not ask the ordinary Bajan what he thinks?

@ David BU

“Political polarization”.? Big joke! The only real source of political polarization is in the minds of those who want to have a political electioneering campaign for 5 years,punctuated by a poll.

26. @Vincent

You know the answer to your question, of course! However many of us are happy to cede it to the political class with the outcomes we are now grappling.

27. Can someone please let me know when the Supreme Court in Barbados ACTUALLY STOPS PRACTICING DISCRIMIATION AGAINST BLACK BAJANS…

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/judges-magistrates-being-taught-remove-bias-courtrooms?fbclid=IwAR3HeFjzx6WwtV81QCVHtIq_r09dJInM4h05sSE4zthWm1PJPrGC-0BA-2g

And in case yall are wondering about Mia’s new found romance with Africa…well let me tell ya..she is pretending to reinvent the wheel..

Rebecca Theodore And especially at a time when the Caribbean hold only one seat in the ACP. African countries hold 4 and the Pacific region holds one seat. There are only 6 seats on the ACP. How powerful will the Caribbean vote be to stand against the onslaught of African nations. Former CARICOM secretary general Shridath Ramphall warned against it and kept away, but Mia is blindly leading her people and the Caribbean down the cliff of corruption. The Caribbean is my home and I have a right to speak, regardless of Belnando Weekes accusation of I wanting to be the loudest voice. So what if I am the loudest voice? Who will speak for me if I don’t speak?

No wheel is being reinvented here…many have trod that same road before and saw the precipice..

Rebecca Theodore . I implore them all to read P J Patterson, My political journey. The book can be found at UWI press. If I come across as condescending, I am always wiling to apologize but a simple google search on the African countries that Mia is developing bilateral relations with in the name of the ACP will lead one to nothing but corruption. Maybe her next port of call will be Nigeria. Watch and see… Muhammadu Buhari is waiting for her with open arms. If she brings in Ghanaian nurses to our Caribbean shores, why not bring in Nigerian teachers?

Rebecca Theodore Former Jamaican Prime Minister P.J. Patterson, deliberately stayed away from the ACP. The post- colonial hatred of Europe towards the Caribbean still prevails. Is professor Hilary Beckles still seeking reparation packages from Europe by using the ACP to consolidate Caribbean unity? Somebody please answer my question. I am red hot for answers.

28. https://shridathramphalcentre.com/research-page-src/research-areas/ongoing-trade-negotiations/post-cotonou-acp/?fbclid=IwAR0eJVn85UvNTiywPO9HEYzPZm8OqUwuAiAEd6D0IAe9SxKBmy-Jd75ewjI

and then got the nerve to be invoking the UN too….and involving them in her shite.

the above poster thinks it’s “blindly”, won’t she be shocked to find out it’s all very deliberate.

29. 6 notches is a big jump!BU??
    @@@ 6 is an up from Fraud and Fraud is still going on , when the Crime Minister bring in all the investors and all seem to be white only in Barbados, Africans will ask where are the Black investors, And if all who have money are Minister and crooks lawyers and all their money will show coming from offshore accounts, Remember Africa don’t need Barbados, it’s Barbados that needs Africa,30 down 30 to go Again,

30. @ Vincent.

You know when those at the Hilton were asked about their financials they said they would be available “shortly”.

The thing with this “shortly thing” though is a minister in the last government also had said that 20 garbage trucks would be here “shortly.” So I not sure what the hell shortly really mean to be honest. Then i hear things like the Four Seasons will shortly be starting too so I little uncertain as what dat mean in terms of a calendar reference!

But I going get back to you shortly on the matter!

31. @Hal

Yes it looks like BTMI IS going to be at the forefront of this “vision”.

But wait the BTMI wasn’t the same entity involved in the acquisition of Mrs Ram rat infested beach front lot too?

So I wonder if the “Ram Plan” will be used again by government now to public acquire the land for this glossy picture, at what government feels like paying the owners to then vest it in the hands of our latest property broker none other than BTMI?

Got to say I smelling a rat here but it might just be one that get away from Mrs Ram warehouse dat dead by me.

32. Enuff some of these persons on here just criticize for criticizing sake.Take Mariposa for example whose Dems could not get ONE UPGRADE in 10 years but on here talking shite as usual.The other clown Austin wants to know where the DLP is ? My short response to him hopefully keeping a low profile since few wants to see or hear them anytime soon since in my view they are 90% responsible for our current situation.The cut and paste guy Hants brings a link about flying fish costing 3.50 but nothing about the upgrade as he highlights only negative stories never anything positive.I know he supports the Dems but this is rediculous.Just to state my congratulations to the government for taking the tough decisions the Dems refuse to take and starting to see so.e light at the end of the tunnel basef on stabilization first and then hopefully growth.

33. @ John A

You must stop eating bread from the Purity – or is it taking government development plans seriously?

34. Isn’t there some ethic standard Accountants are to follow? Should the firm signing off on the financials be muscular qualified comment?

35. Should the accountants signing off these very late financials not be required to record a very muscular qualified comment?

Enough is enough!

36. @Hal

We shall see what role BTMI and the public acquisition act play going forward is this reborn Pierhead plan.

Thing is if we take off the rose coloured glasses one can see how this will play out. Government is broke and the IMF is holding their cheque book so their investment is not possible. Plus the last bunch catspraddle the NIS with worthless paper so count them out too. So what’s left?

Well if we take how the Ram Saga played out I think we all know why BTMI is up front and centre here now. They basically will be the “Facilitator” on this project with the backing of the land Acquisition act if need be.

When you open a can of worms only God know where dem will crawl.

37. All that own property in this “deisgnated development area” please remember the going price for beach front rat infested land in that area is only $70 a square foot based on Mrs Ram offer, so the land side with bigger rats must be around $20 a square foot!

Lord looka mah crosses!

38. “Just to state my congratulations to the government for taking the tough decisions the Dems refuse to take.”

wuh i would congratulate them too IF:

they had not wrote of 1 Billion dollars in VAT that their crook friends stole…..that the people now need to stop starvation

wrote off hundreds of millions in taxes, that the people now need to stop starvation..

ah would even congratulate them if they had locked up their FELLOW THIEVES…in DLP that should go to jail for stealing so much..

ah would congratulate them if they had NOT promoted Justin Robinson for helping Cow rip off NIS Pension Fund and now causing pensioners and people with disabilities to be suffering unnecessarily because they were ROBBED by minority racist thieves thanks to both governments and their corruption….and has had very little access to money to survive…

so keep congratulating and i will continue to show you why i would too…IF…

39. Living the live in Barbados, the good life!

img-7img-6img-5img-4img-3img-2img-1

40. Am looking at the bright side, at least Africa now knows that they got much bigger, much more dangerous crooks than them that can be found right in the Caribbean…lol

41. The Kenyans are coming.

“Yesterday, we had the good fortune of being hosted by the Governor of the Central Bank and the indigenous banks of Kenya and some of the fin-tech companies.

“And we will host your indigenous banks within six weeks in Barbados to begin to explore the opportunities of them investing into our part of the world.”

Mottley continued: “I believe that this is the beginning of a true, true partnership that can make the difference not just to the people of Kenya and to the people of Barbados”

42. @ David

Them prices in Guyanese dollars don’t worry over it! Lol

43. Don’t mind them, that good life always causes me a lot of agony the next day and for days after, you pay for that…it’s very nice at the time, but only at the time.

44. @ John A

I hope I am wrong, but it is going to end in tears. The president is much cleverer than Stuart and she does not want more than one term to sell out Barbados.
    It is a government without vision, no desire to get to grips with the fundamental problems facing Barbados and she is forced feeding a populace that in the main do not know any better.
    The silence is deafening. Where is the voice of the business community? Why don’t the property owners in the targeted area organise? Where are the environmental impact reports, the economic assessment reports?
    And, as I have already mentioned, what is this nonsense about rooms and suites. Smoke and mirrors. It is only an outline plan, but what about residential property, and in particular social housing? Where are the shops and restaurants, or will they feature in the more detailed plans? Are we designing out poor people from the centre of Bridgetown? Is there going to be a public inquiry?
    The minister responsible is the president, is she just going to rubber stamp these proposals?

45. Lorenzo
    Go back from whence yuh came
    The reality of this upgrade is the high cost for barbadians
    Maybe your pantry is full and your bills are paid cause i see no sense in jubliation when a few can rest well at night off the pain and suffering of the majority
    Bro wheel and come again and on your return bring some ,real good news for the people instead of this grand illusion of make belief and pretense that one upgrade is something to holler about
    The fact remains that without growth no matter how many upgrades the pain would worsen .

46. @ Hal

Every single question you have asked is a valid one and like the true cost of the debt restructuring, you will never hear the full story.

As I said from the time the public acquisition act was used to come between 2 private sector entities, that was a dangerous precedence set. The fact that the Ram land was then vested in the BTMI and the BTMI it seems is the featured player in this grand plan, should give you an idea of what will come.

As usual the seat warming opposition will say little and the press will ask even less. They will probably have a few town hall meetings for the sake and that Will be it.

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ all uh wunna here.

De ole man been busy wid a few tings dem so I ent posting too regular.

And whereas I would read the whole blog first, I ask wunna to forgive me cause…

I wonder ef wunna does look at dese fly by night ideas of Mugabe Mottley and she Regeneration Fallacies

So leh de ole man explain dis to wunna simply HOW AN INVESTOR SEES BARBADOS

1.Barbados is a cuntry that has had half as many downgrades AS IT HAS HAD MURDERS.

2.IT HAS DEFAULTED ON external debt to the tune of millions of dollars easily 1/2 billion

3.it has scalped its local population of 20% of their bond holdings

4.It therefore shows THAT IT WILL NOT HONOUR ITS DEBT COMMITMENTS

5.it is in the arms of the IMF a state which few recover from

6.it is a corrupt government and it’s current leader has been in government for 20 years. During which time things that she touched Failed e.g EDUTECH

7.She changes the laws and the Constitution on the drop of a hat.

8.She forgives her family, father $1 million in taxes

9.she in 18 months into a recovery plan which is not working

10.and MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL, BARBADOS IS A ONE HORSE ECONOMY where Tourism is responsible for 40 % of GDP

in a country of 166 square miles and 53 murders, shy$e problems, corruption, constitutional changes, and a one pony economy WOULD I BE RH RIGHT IN MY MIND to come and sink billions of dollars into this shy$e??

What is my RH ROI? when am I going get back my money?

Do I like Mugabe pooch so RH bad?

STEUPSEEE

48. @ John A

This looks like the death of Barbadian democracy.

49. Mariposa it would have helped us if your Dems were not so inco.petent in blowing the reserves they found with nothing to show not one bus nor garbage truck to help collect the garbage you are now so concerned about or when they were sending home thousands in 2013 to suck salt without their cheques.All we got was downgrade after downgrade to junk bond status.You seem to be suffering from amnesia so i will remind you hyprocrite.All these problems can be traced back to your try a thing government which cannot be solved in 18 months so reel and come again.

50. Sad news. It looks as if the lying, cheating Boris Johnson has won. Leave me alone to cry on my own.