Submitted by Ironside

The rhetoric of the Barbados Today 29th October editorial entitled: No time for Party. Not now is as silky and as sanitized as an educated Barbadian can get. I suppose that as an “above-ground” newspaper, the Barbados Today editor has no choice. And to be fair, the editor did as good a job as he /she could…in the circumstances.

But in this country, I doubt that the sanitized rhetoric of the article, replete with biblical parallels, will get the attention of the intoxicated, money hungry faction of this country that calls itself the BLP and the government into whose hands stressed and reactionary Barbadians committed the next five years of its life back in May 2018.

So, dear BT editor, let me help you…let me take a crack at these SOBs here on BU, no holds barred!

Corruption Endemic
One of the critical issues in the last election was the matter of corruption in government. The BLP promised integrity legislation. (See:
https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/blp-promises-new-integrity-legislation).
As I expected, the BLP government went through the motions of passing integrity legislation knowing full well that that would not hinder corruption where it mattered most.

Corruption is endemic to Barbadian society. Translated, this means that all of us practice and tacitly support corruption…every day! You beg to differ? OK!

• In general, how many of us ask for favours knowing well we were not qualified to receive them?
  • How many of us have asked for exceptions to be made to the entry of our children to schools where they are not qualified to enter?
  • How many of us feel no compunction in jumping the queue of people waiting in line for a service?
  • How many of us rely on friends “in high places” to bale us out of trouble rather than throw ourselves on the mercy of those in authority?
  • How many of our “business people” bribe customs officers to get reduced charges or illegal items out of the port?
  • How many of sold our vote to the first bidder during the last election…and the one before?

What do you call those practices? Still beg to differ? Go phart on yourself…in the mirror!

Corruption is so endemic in Barbados that we have a motto that expresses it all; “Boy yuh got to have a grandfarder to get by in Barbados!

We, the so called masses, are as guilty of corruption as the relatively few demagogues that we elect to rule this land from time to time. Therefore, the logical and ethical solution to the problem of corruption in Barbados lies in dealing with our own corruption FIRST.

Time to Repent

My submission is that we ordinary people need to repent of the corruption in ourselves. And I mean REPENT and in the biblical sense. Until we do so, we are in no position to wield any moral power to demand the end of corruption in government.

And make no mistake about it; the politicians know this; they know that we ourselves are as corrupt as they are. That is why the Sutherland Dynasty is laughing all its way to the bank. The Sutherlands know that sooner or later some self-despising, mentally enslaved, “corrupt” Barbadian will knock at their constituency office door and beg for the crumbs that fall from their table while they and their family, close friends and bodyguards continue to dine sumptuously and travel lavishly. On OUR blinking taxes!

BERToldian Betrayal (With Impunity)

Imagine that: we are asked to pay a 2.5% health levy on top of all the other taxes and the first thing that the BERToldian Labour Party – they can’t be Barbadians, right? – spend it on is a $200,000 plus salary a year (over $16,000 per month) for a minister’s wife – IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH.

Do you know that this salary is just circa $1,000 shy of a Minister’s salary? An eighteenth minister without a ministry? What a betrayal of trust! What gross disrespect for Barbadians! Did we vote you in with this understanding in mind? Or are you “overstanding” the matter as Rastafari would say?

But I wonder: how many votes is the Sutherland Dynasty worth in the next election? You know, there is a kind of arrogant “pharticidal” idiocy about nepotism and cronyism that really boggles the mind!

But look at it…there are no protestors in the street, far less rioters! Today is indeed a very funny night! And that is because too many of us are full of existential shiite!

So, where are all the new garbage trucks promised? Don’t be surprised if Jose and Jose gets a contract to “do the garbage” in Barbados! If you don’t know who really owns Jose and Jose (We are No1 in the No.2 Business) get off this frigging island!

Proportional Representation Now

Excuse the hell out of me; but this political system that we have needs to be drastically reformed or dismantled! I don’t know that there is a fundamental flaw in the concept of democracy itself but the political system – meaning the number of parties, system of representation, elections rules etc – is a bare joke.

It should never have been possible for one party to win all 30 seats! Under proportional representation this would have been virtually impossible! So there goes your first reform….if we are going that way!

It is time that Barbadians called for a referendum on the matter of the implementation of proportional representation and let’s see what this government will do with it. I think I know how the Bertoldians will react but screw them!

2023 Ah Coming!

In the meantime, let us prepare, come next election, not to forget how the Bertoldians are pharting on us now with the acrid smell of heartless corruption. Let us prepare to help MAM make more history …the first woman PM in Barbados with a one-term government!

P.S. Perhaps, I will speculate on how we can ensure this in the next edition of the Phartford Files.

84 responses to “The Phartford Files: The Sutherland Dynasty & Bertoldian Betrayal”

1. The article started out on very good grounds, especially where it listed the endemic corruption practiced by ordinary folks. The list of facts can’t be argued with. The part on proportional representation is full of ambiguity. One can conclude on one hand that there is a genuine concern for the lack of representation in parliament for those persons who voted for the DLP.. Then again one can construe that it is the ramblings of a partisan political hack, who is full of resent. This however, doesn’t gainsay that valid points were made which deserve the attention of concerned citizenry.

2. Correction: where it reads “resent should be resentment.

3. The notion of proportional representation is legitimate, since it deals in par t with majoritarianism, but it also leads to chaos. Look around the world where there is PR and see the mess: Israel, Italy, Germany, etc.
    First past the post has its problems – just look at the UK where 17m voted to leave the EU and 16m voted to remain, yet the leavers behave as if they won all the votes. The result is a divided nation.

4. @ Hal
    You are correct about the chaos. In the UK, it would be better if the populace stopped voting in Etonians and vote for people who have actual experience of the real world.

5. @ Robert

I cannot tell the populace who to vote for. What I do know is that the general election will become a de facto referendum on Brexit and that is where it becomes very complex.
    My view is that we should abandon Brexit and remain in the EU, but what do I know.

6. Hal
    Brexit will happen. The EU is undemocratic and wants to be like USA, China or Russia. Too many countries involved. Refusal to fix borders with migrants. Some very silly laws eg: people or are refugees or migrants can commit acts of terrorism ,but can’t be sent back to their country of origin for fear that persecution might take place.

7. @ Robert

I am afraid you do not understand the EU, so let us not continue this discussion. The threat from Jihadism is not the same as the threat from immigrants. Which Caribbean immigrant is a threat to the UK or EU?
    I like your confidence about the outcome of the general election; we have had a referendum, a general election and a European election over the last three years and the matter is still undecided. I admire your foresight.

8. People voted for David Thompson because the preached a message of change. Thompson with Hartley validated the change message by borrowing from the Obama campaign. BU commenters may recall they visited the campaign.

People voted for Mia because the DLP was an incompetent lot led by a socially insecure introvert. She also promised change.

With the appointment of Bynoe-Sutherland, forgiveness of back taxes, appointment of Party faithfuls, a top heavy front bench etc etc etc.

Is it too early to say nothing has changed?

9. @ Hal
    I understand that it is stupid to say you can’t deport either migrants or terrorists to their country of origin, if it is suspected that they will be persecuted The whole concept reeks of being utopian. Not going to work, just like the Tower of Babel..

10. @ Robert

Is this a deliberate misrepresentation. Yes, people can and have been deported, even if they claim they will be persecuted. The government, like all of us individuals, has to prove it case in court. That is what we used to call democracy and the rule of law.
    I do not know what you mean by the whole concept reeks of being utopian; but your original claim was the following:

Brexit will happen. The EU is undemocratic and wants to be like USA, China or Russia. Too many countries involved. Refusal to fix borders with migrants. Some very silly laws eg: people or are refugees or migrants can commit acts of terrorism ,but can’t be sent back to their country of origin for fear that persecution might take place.(Quote)

I pointed out you are not familiar with the issues, as is obvious from the above statement. Again, you are talking about a subject with which you are not familiar. How do you know Brexit will happen, can you see in to the future?
    You talk about the EU being undemocratic, but failed to say in what way. So the recent elections we had were not worth the paper we wrote on? Every job vacancy, every contracted has to be advertised throughout the 28 member states. When last did you vote in a CARICOM election?
    And, further, the EU wants to be like the USA, China or Russia. Really? In what way? Too many countries involved? But the EU has 27(8) member states, while the US has 50 states. Refusal to fix borders with migrants? Some very silly laws?
    Let us be rational and not sink in to diatribe.

11. Before others chime in the blogmaster has allowed some leeway to discuss a non related matter. Please come back to the issues raised by the author or look for a topic better suited.

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

A few observations Ironsides

This is about 5 separate topics AND EACH ONE IS A BLOG IN ITSELF!

There is a danger with multi tentacled topics here on BU.

NOT ONE of your many SUBSTANTIVE POINT GETS THE ATTENTION THAT IT DESERVES and, even though you delivered 5 good cuffs, you will fail to knock out the opponent.

Watch as your topic is going to elicit several different threads of discourse and more than likely CLIMAX IN NONE!

The temptation is to get it all out there but Sutherland is a topic by itself and how you developed the nepotism and cronyism especially the pivotal point about this lady’s salary being short of a minister while bajans are paying for a Health Levy at a decrepit QEH

De ole man would have done a Stoopid Cartoon but it was threatened that all memes are to be stopped on Barbados Underground

The Stoopid Cartoons are going to be hosted somewhere else and that info will be shared in due course

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    and here I was expecting an exposé on the DEregulation of the building and fire safety codes in London. In this sense, the UK had already exited the EU, because most of the EU had far more stringent requirements on the use of combustible claddings, and their composition, on a multi story building.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside “stressed and reactionary Barbadians.”

I know for sure that I am no reactionary.

But you bet that I was stressed when I was in the polling booth in May 2018.

That stress was caused ENTIRELY by the DLP.

And the thing is at heart I am an old fashioned Barrow “D”

But those folks in office during 2008 to 2018 were certainly no Barrow “D’s”

I look forward to being able to vote for the DLP again.

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@DavidOctober 31, 2019 9:47 AM “forgiveness of back taxes”

There has been NO FORGIVENESS ob back taxes. Only forgiveness of interest and penalties.

However the Barbados government (all parties) were charging 12% interest on taxes due, in circumstances where banks were paying one quarter of one percent in interest.

What gives any government anywhere the right to behave like Mafia loan sharks?

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside “In general, how many of us ask for favours knowing well we were not qualified to receive them?”

A Simple Response: I have NEVER done so.

@Ironside How many of us have asked for exceptions to be made to the entry of our children to schools where they are not qualified to enter?

A Simple Response: I have NEVER done this. I would have been ASHAMED to do so. In any event my kids, and my nieces and nephews too bright as shite, all legitimately got into “big” schools AND did well once they got there.

@Ironside How many of us feel no compunction in jumping the queue of people waiting in line for a service?

A Simple Response: I have NEVER done this. In fact if I am not in any particular hurry, I DEFER to others, and invite them to get in line ahead of me

@Ironside How many of us rely on friends “in high places” to bale us out of trouble rather than throw ourselves on the mercy of those in authority?

A Simple Response: I don’t have any friends in high places. People in high places don’t like people like me, because I ask no favours, and give no favours. MERIT, MERIT, MERIT all the way.

How many of our “business people” bribe customs officers to get reduced charges or illegal items out of the port?
    A Simple Response: I am not in business so i don’t know, but I have heard the rumors, and I have seen customs officers with lifestyles that cannot be supported on their salaries of about $5,000 per month. And “no” I don’t do the illegal items thingy. I have NEVER used illegal drugs. And I will NEVER do so. I have NEVER owned a gun, legal or illegal, and I don’t EVER want to own one.

@Ironside How many of sold our vote to the first bidder during the last election…and the one before?
    A Simple Response: You mean the “highest” bidder right? I have NEVER sold my vote. I will NEVER sell my vote. I would rather die first. When my kids were small I would hear about MP’s holding Christmas parties for the little kids in the constituency. My kids were NEVER invited. Never invited by the BLP, never invited by the DLP.

One of my kids applied for a job, was promised it on MERIT. Then the government changed. The kid heard nothing from the State Owned Enterprise (SOE). But then became aware that the job went to the child of a former DLP Cabinet Minister. I am cool. My kid is cool. On MERIT kid found WORK, WORK (not a job, but WORK) which pays about twice as well as the job at the SOE.

MERIT WORKS.

But maybe Barrow was right, maybe we are a nation of thieves.

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The Christmas election in the not so United Kingdom will be indecisive (again)

Boris will NOT get a great enough majority to get a decent Brexit.

18. The critical issue is, how do you know whether any of the 12 political parties in Barbados will keep their campaign promises to Barbadians.

We have has over 50 years of disappointments. What can a Party actually do (not say) to convince Barbadians that they will do what they promised?

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

There will likely be no Brexit at all.

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside “intoxicated, money hungry”

ALL political classes, everywhere are intoxicated and money hungry. Why I even heard a jJapanese friend complain about their politicians, same damn thing. Some of them know nothing but politics. Can’t earn their living outside of politics or political connections. Pick them up and send them 1,000 miles away where they know nobody and they couldn’t even run a successful sno cone cart.

So why you want us to pretend otherwise?

Stupseee!!!

21. re What can a Party actually do (not say) to convince Barbadians that they will do what they promised?

how will you granville fillips convince Barbadians that you and your likkle autocratic one man party will do what you promised?

can your apologists help?

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside “Therefore, the logical and ethical solution to the problem of corruption in Barbados lies in dealing with our own corruption FIRST.”

No Ironside. You are WRONG. None of this business of you repent and correct yourself first and then i will come behind you.

We need to deal with all corruption SIMULTANEOUSLY.

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside “But look at it…there are no protestors in the street, far less rioters!”

I know that you would love to see us rioting in the streets while the political class hide behind their high gates. But nope. We ain’t teking nah bullets fah none of the political class, B nor D.
    You like you forget already that 70% ah we vote B this time. But don’t let the B’s get too complacent. You B’s; yah still on probation. Lolll!!!

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside “but this political system that we have needs to be drastically reformed or dismantled!
    It should never have been possible for one party to win all 30 seats! ”

One party won all 30 seats because the PEOPLE so decided.

You D’s want a quick proportional representation quick fix? You want a quick-fix to permit you to suck at the bubbies of the taxpayers again? It ain’t happening.

There will be no proportional representation quick-fix.

if you want to be elected again, you will have to WORK for it. Go out into the highways and hedges, go to the people and WORK for it.

In my constituency I saw a couple of elderly DLP campaigners ONCE in ten years. Once. Once.

If the DLP wants to get back in office you will have to WORK for it.

No proportional representation coming in the short term.

We ain’t teking na bullets fa wunna neider. Don’t expect a Hong Kong. You like you forget already that one o’ wunna while the head was hot with power get in the house and talk about shooting we?

Shooting the people you does pay you salaries and pension?

Madness.

Shooting won’t do it, but HARD WORK might.

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I might have been persuaded if the DLP had proposed proportional representation while they were in office. But they NEVER did. So their current proportional representation proposal seems entirely too self-serving coming now.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    murdah…ya pun fire today.
    I am confident that anybody who has frequented the BU halls, for even a month, is well aware you are a model citizen, who hails from a model family (at least in your opinion). You even approach miracle status upon occasion, as for someone who works hard in the market garden, you hire another to do a little lawn work, and pay them an above market wage, despite only having $5.56 in your account. Hence, the frequent need to remind the blog that you have never engaged in any untoward activities or behaviour is expected and unchallenged.
    Possibly you might become more aware of the actual behaviour of those around you, more than your own? If you did you might realise, there are very few model citizens, they are not the norm.

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Yes we all do things that are contrary. Me too. I don’t like using weed whackers and lawn movers. I don’t like loud noises. And besides young people need to work as well. No point we old folks hogging all the work. So yes. I pay the young man what may be considered above market rate. So what? Very likely some people are paying him below market rate, and “what he loses in the Lord’s prayer, he will gain in the Belief” as the old people used to say.

There is a time to earn, a time to save and a time to spend. So what if i only have $5.56 in my bank account? Have my utilities been paid? Yes. Do I have food in the house, and in the land? Yes. Am I planning to steal from my neighbor? No. Am I planning to prostitute myself? No. Am I planning to sell drugs or guns? No.

I brought NOTHING into the world, and it is a certainty that I will take nothing out.

So if I die today with $0.01 in my bank account, so what? If somebody dies today with $100 billion in their bank account, aren’t they just as dead as I am?

My kids are smart, hard working, well educated people. They can take care of themselves. They HAVE to take care of themselves.

28. @ Hal October 31, 2019 7:47 AM

I understand quite well what is going on. The European Commission is a point in question. There is the fact that the whole thing started as an economic union and it worked okay as such. The political union which you would like to see work will not in the final analysis work, unless room is made for individual countries national agendas. With twenty-odd countries involve one has to be very optimistic in outlook. Previously, else where on this blog site I have stated that for your sake I hope I am wrong in my assessment.

29. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Raining very heavily here today, for which I am grateful. I cannot do much outdoor work, so maybe I have a little too much time on my hands.

30. (Quote):
    So, where are all the new garbage trucks promised? Don’t be surprised if Jose and Jose gets a contract to “do the garbage” in Barbados! If you don’t know who really owns Jose and Jose (We are No1 in the No.2 Business) get off this frigging island! (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Looks like your Betrayal Lying Party has made a rather smooth transition to the seat of corruption where your other Deceitful Lying Party was forced to vacate recently.

Have you conveniently forgotten the role played by the Hal the Galloping god-horse in the financial raping of the Bajan taxpayers?

What you ought to be calling for is the confirmation that the $223,400 in VAT extracted from the financially-wounded BWA was indeed paid over as a contribution towards the acquisition cost of the new garbage trucks which have been on order since the introduction of the NSRL.

Don’t you think such a confirmation of collection would go a long way in allaying the fears of those who believe that the appointment of the minister’s spouse would not make an iota of difference to the effective management of the QEH?

If the recommendations contained in the Doctor Haynes (a former medical practitioner, politician and minister of finance) have been as effective as drinking a snow cone in hell to quench one’s thirst, do you really think the appointment of another political hack would make any difference in the wind speed of managerial destruction of the QEH equivalent to the flap of a mosquito wing in a category 5 hurricane?

The day-to-day management of the QEH must be removed entirely from the ambit of the partisan political class.

Until this inoculation against the virus of political tribalism is administered then the main function would not be one of healing the sick but would turn into an all-inclusive place where there is an imaginary façade between the A&E and the morgue.

31. I was reading this piece thinking this is really getting at the meat of the matter,

then you allowed your political being to take over.

You spoilt a good start, very sad.

32. @ Robert

As I said, you clearly do not understand the EU. It seems as if your knowledge comes from Googling. The idea of the EU is the grandfathering of regulations, standards and qualifications and the sharing of best practice. Try all these on CARICOM.
    Individual states have powers to shape, tweak or redesign directives coming out of Brussels; they all have internal self-government. You mention the European Commission, but fail to say what is wrong with it.
    All 27(8) nations must agree a new policy before it becomes a directive and all are democratically elected governments. All signed the Maastrich Treaty, or joined knowing the aims of the union.
    Then you go on to talk about political union, which makes me laugh at the idea of a Barbadian telling the 500m people in the EU what is best for them, in fact the overall concerns about Brexit. You are yet to state a logical argument about the functioning of the EU and why you believe it would not work.
    How does the EU block individual members’ agendas? Plse say. You said for my sake, you hope you are wrong. That is very kind of you since I do not have any such concern.
    To re-state what I have already said, you quite clearly do not have any knowledge about the EU, apart from what you read on newspaper and BBC websites.
    I say again, we should get rid of Brexit, play a central role in the EU and press for greater union, a United States of Europe. This is the future as the US continue to decline and China asserts itself.

33. We are a myopic bunch pretending to be intellectually woke. We’re the same folks who daily get hookups through, and for, friends and family. Now complaining because the government has amended the Act and made a political appointment of a DESERVING individual. There is some level of folly in saying she is higly qualified but because her husband is a Minister she should be ruled out. But hey, we love to transplant ideas (when it suits our agenda of course) wholesale even when it makes absolutely no sense. We have children of former DLP Ministers who sat on Boards during the last DLP administration, who now sit as Independent senators in the current Senate and to be fair I find that they discharge their duties very independently. We can hire a non-Bajan pay dem a wash pan ah money, then dem and two of their fellow senior managers can resign abruptly under questionable circumstances. But JBS, as qualified as she is, ain’t deserving because she’s a Minister’s wife? JBS appointed and I am just hoping she proves all wunna wrong.

34. @enuff

People want to see the appearance of transparency. Bear in mind context context context to use your words coming after 10 years of a DLP government where they did as they liked.

35. Just saw a story on lawyers in the news.
    The first blog on “lawyers in the news” was in 2007.

Now look at the below 20018-2019 story. Eleven to twelve years, same old story

The 74-year-old attorney from Bagatelle Gardens, St Thomas, was not required to plead to stealing £347 660.96, equivalent to BDS $855 000, from British national Errol Hewitt between November 12, 2018 and May 4, 2019″

There must be a way to separate lawyer’s fees from a client’s money.

36. “We ain’t teking na bullets fa wunna neider. Don’t expect a Hong Kong. You like you forget already that one o’ wunna while the head was hot with power get in the house and talk about shooting we?

Shooting the people you does pay you salaries and pension?”

don’t let them forget Jackass Jones wanted to shoot black bajans and crack their skulls.

…don’t let them forget that as soon as new negros get a little small island power, access to the treasury and pension fund along with diplomatic passparts and too many perks.. given to them by THE PEOPLE..whose votes they BEG….they turn into the sell out animals, criminals and control freaks that they have proven themselves to be …that is their true nature..

Never let them forget.

The last DLP clowns cared nothing about the people and their human rights…

these current BLO clowns are openly ignoring recommendations by their caricom heads and viciously forging ahead to violate the human rights of black bajans…but let those wretched of the earth in that parliament keep it up….they will see.

37. @TheOGazerts who wrote ” There must be a way to separate lawyer’s fees from a client’s money.”

There is a way but I not telling you. lol

38. Theo…more smoke and mirrors, it will get worse, the lawyers are being handpicked for disbarment when at least 99% of them all particularly the ones in the parlament and bar association…SHOULD BE DISBARRED ALSO..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1153790004830537/?t=4

39. When it RAINS…IT POURS.

“31st day of October 2019

Prime Minister Rt. Hon. Boris Johnson MP

IT IS TIME FOR THE UNITED NATIONS AND LONDON FOREIGN AND COMMONWEALTH SECRETARY TO TAKE ACTION AGAINST BARBADOS OUTRAGEOUS DISREGARDS FOR LAW DEPRIVING TOO MANY OF THEIR PROPERTIES AND ESTATES.

Prime Minister, times have rapidly changed. England Black Caribbean Nationals will no longer stand idle whilst the Commonwealth Secretary along with the Commonwealth Caribbean Team continue ignoring their requests for the Commonwealth Intervention into the woeful unquestionable Caribbean Corruption.

Barbados Government following the Island November 1966 Independence has engaged themselves in outrageous fraudulent activities requiring urgent intervention such as Barbados removal from the Commonwealth.

Mr Prime Minister, failing this request to you for intervention by the Commonwealth Office Investigations be assured that we, the Black Nationals will organize marches against Caribbean Corruption, and personally against “Your Government Failure” and shall VOTE overwhelmingly for Labour.

Former Prime Minister Treasera May was more interested in the destruction of England Black Nationals when she was the Commonwealth Secretary and legal action should have been taken against her. Recently, you were also the Commonwealth Secretary and did absolutely nothing regarding this appalling situation.

Following Barbados 1966 Independence, vastly corrupt officials have amassed over a billion dollars in stolen properties through corrupt Government Officials that had included the Island Governor-General, Solicitor General, Attorney General, Director of Public Prosecutions, Crown Solicitor, Supreme Court Registrars and numerous crooked lawyers.

Barbados corrupters also need to appear before the International Court of Human Rights following 54 years of outrageous Human Rights Violations. Basically, for this reason, Barbados broke from London Privy Council that brought about the Caribbean Caribbean Court protecting their corrupt government officials from true justice.

Barbados has arrogantly continue violating United Nations Treaty and continues its arrogance fooling its nationals by keeping (Murderers) in prison for up to five years and long before their cases appear before the Supreme Court. In so doing it far exceeds the five (5) year period that Barbados signed before the United Nations that a person will not be held on Death Row / in Prison for five years and long before that prisoner receives the Death Penalty.

The Prisoner must be Executed before the expiry of the five years period. In Barbados, the scam is keeping those charged with murder in prison for years before their cases are completed before the Law Courts thereby exceeding the five years time period and the prisoner will not be executed. Attorneys at Law then makes a puppy show Appealing the prisoner sentence at costly expenses.

Understandably, wiping out Caribbean Corruption, numerous Caribbean families will permanently depart England of their own free will.
    Yours truly

JERRY MERVRIEL NURSE
    Caribbean Voice”

40. @Simpleton Simon

+++ One party won all 30 seats because the PEOPLE so decided.+++

If this is your best response to Proportional Representation we can safely say you are ignorant as shiite! You don’t understand one shiite about PR. You say that 70% voted for the Bees. Presumably 20+ voted for the Ds?

Then under PR, both main parties would have gotten seats; so also SB! (see https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/06/03/parliamentary-democracy-under-the-microscope-agenda-for-change/)

Stop talking B&D shiite and go and learn something new for a change! You sound like a person with mental rigor mortis!!

41. @Simpleton Simon

And PR would have saved Barbadians from committing the inadvertent folly they perpetrated on themselves…they would have removed the DLP from power without saddling themselves with a one party government!

You know, for whatever other reasons he may have done it, Bishop Joseph Atherley has done us a favour and washed some of the mud spatter off our simple-minded, two-party faces.

Time to show some frigging appreciation!

42. @Nextparty246

+++What can a Party actually do (not say) to convince Barbadians that they will do what they promised?+++

For starters, Grenville: let not that party do what you did!

You came to fight the 2018 election with two entrenched parties and rather than fire laser canons and howitzers, you fired .22 barettas! Why? so that you would not offend anyone and get a job after the election…after all, a man got to eat, you figure. So it was no surprise that you were seen in the party at Graeme Hall trying to help fix the sewerage problem.

If you are going to change things in this ossified society, you WILL have to be forceful and suffer temporarily. You say you are a Christian? Have you not learnt anything from the sufferings of Christ, or Martin Luther King or Nelson Mandela? Get frigging real!

You lack passion. It comes out in your writing. It is always apologetic. Nobody is asking you to cuss but yuh got to get some passion. Leaders MUST have passion! I can write fluent, high brow English but you can’t always be so coldly cognitive!
    You betrayed the electorate. At a time in 2018 when people were seriously open to a third party for the first time, you let your gigantic ego step in the way and got mired with ¼ million dollar penalties and all the irrelevant shiite about crossing the floor; which floor you had never even walked on!. You dropped the frigging ball! Still SB got 14% of the vote; the highest of any of the third parties. Ceteris paribus, under Proportional Representation, SB would have gotten one seat!
    I know for a fact that someone with both qualifications and skills in Marketing offered you free help with the 2018 election. That person specifically mentioned the mental space for a third party and how to position yourself to capture it. Anyone with a knowledge of Marketing knows the importance of mind share and positioning for new products. So apart from being an expert on ISO 9000, you are also presumably an expert on Marketing! Ergo, between you and Paul Gibson, you squandered that Marketing help!

In summary, Grenville, you and SB under your “leadership” are spent forces. Behold, you have missed your visitation!

43. @Ironside

There is a reason why Tom Adams, Mia Mottley et al are described as political animals. There is a reason why politics is described as a blood sport.

44. David
    November 1, 2019 5:54 AM

@Ironside
    There is a reason why Tom Adams, Mia Mottley et al are described as political animals. There is a reason why politics is described as a blood sport.(Quote)

What does this gobbledegook mean and how does it contribute to an intelligent conversation?

45. @ Hal October 31, 2019 6:38 PM

“I say again, we should get rid of Brexit, play a central role in the EU and press for greater union,”

What you are hoping for isn’t going to happen.

46. You have so immersed yourself with a critical mindset that anything posted by this blogmaster will be filtered through your jaundice lense.

#shoofly

47. @ Robert

I do not know the future. But thanks for the tip.

48. @David
    It is, for what that is worth!

49. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Simple Simon “+++ One party won all 30 seats because the PEOPLE so decided.+++”

@IronsideNovember 1, 2019 4:37 AM “If this is your best response to Proportional Representation we can safely say you are ignorant as shiite! You don’t understand one shiite about PR. You say that 70% voted for the Bees. Presumably 20+ voted for the Ds? Then under PR, both main parties would have gotten seats; so also SB! ”

I understand proportional representation PERFECTLY. You and the DLP would have more credibility if you had advocated for proportional representation during the many, many years since the 1960’s when the DLP was in office. But the party NEVER did so. Advocating for PR now just makes you seem entirely self interested. Nobody is persuaded that you are being genuine. The PEOPLE do not owe the DLP any seats in Parliament. The people do not owe Solutions Barbados any seats in Parliament. If the DLP and SB want seats they will have to WORK for them. I have been a long time DLP voter, and I look forward to voting for a renewed DLP.

In the 2008 election the DLP won 77,681 votes; that is 55.55% of the votes, and 20 seats; that is just barely over half of the votes, but 2/3 of the seats. I did not hear any call from the DLP for proportional representation then. Why not?

I am any ordinary Bajan, but NOT a simpleton. You can ask any of the boys of BU. The PEOPLE have spoken. If the DLP and SB are wise, they will listen.

Simple Simon
    Neither B nor D
    But looking forward to voting for the DLP again

50. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Nobody owes the DLP, nor SB nor any other party a seat in our tax payer funded Parliament.

If parties want seats they will have to WORK for them.

Now go…

And WORK.

P.S. I don’t want a seat. I am happy to live on my pension.