The blogmaster listened recently to an extract from a speech by Minister Ryan Straughn where he emphasized the importance of Barbados investing in our youth because this is where future growth will have to originate. He was quick to clarify for those that would assume the obvious the older demographic will not be neglected given such a focus. The preamble serves to introduce the following article.

CONVERSABLE ECONOMIST

The Jobs Problem in India

Posted: 08 Oct 2019 07:00 AM PDT

One of India’s biggest economic challenges is how new jobs are going to be created. Venkatraman Anantha Nageswaran and Gulzar Natarajan explore the issue in “India’s Quest for Jobs: A Policy Agenda” (Carnegie India, September 2019). They write:

The Indian economy is riding the wave of a youth bulge, with two-thirds of the country’s population below age thirty-five. The 2011 census estimated that India’s 10–15 and 10–35 age groups comprise 158 million and 583 million people, respectively. By 2020, India is expected to be the youngest country in the world, with a median age of twenty-nine, compared to thirty-seven for the most populous country, China. In the 2019 general elections, the estimated number of first-time voters was 133 million. Predictably, political parties scrambled to attract youth voters. It is therefore not surprising that, according to several surveys, the parties’ primary concern was job creation. The burgeoning youth population has led to an estimated 10–12 million people entering the workforce each year.6 In addition, the rapidly growing economy is transitioning away from the agricultural sector, with many workers moving into secondary and tertiary sectors. Employing this massive supply of labor is, perhaps, the biggest challenge facing India

India’s jobs in the future aren’t going to be in agriculture: as that sector modernizes, it will need fewer workers, not more. A common assumption in the past was that India’s new jobs would be in big factories, like giant assembly plants or manufacturing facilities. But manufacturing jobs all around the world are under stress from automation, and with trade tensions high around the world, building up an export-oriented network of large factories and assembly plants doesn’t seem likely. As Nageswaran and Natarajan point out, most of India’s employment is concentrated in very small  micro-firms in informal, unregulated business. The challenge is to add employment is small and medium formal firms, sector often in industries with a service orientation.

The Sixth Economic Census of India, 2013, which combines all types of enterprises, shows that India had 58.5 million enterprises, which employed 131.9 million workers. Nonemployer, or own account firms, constituted 71.7 percent of these enterprises and 44.3 percent of workers. Further, 55.86 million (or 95.5 percent) of all the enterprises employed just 1–5 workers, 1.83 million (3.1 percent) employed 6–9 workers, and just 0.8 million (1.4 percent) employed ten or more workers … Further, comparing India’s formal and informal manufacturing establishments to Mexico and Indonesia reveals the true scale of India’s challenge within this sector. Enterprises with fewer than ten workers make up nearly 70 percent of the employment share in India, compared to over 50 percent in Indonesia and just 25 percent in Mexico.

To put this in a bit of context, India’s Census is finding employment of 131.9 million workers, mostly in very small firms. But India as a country has a workforce of over 500 million, and it’s growing quickly. The other workers are either working for subsistence, in agriculture or cities, or in the informal economy.

Why has India had such a hard time in creating new small- and medium-sized firms? Part of the answer is a heavy hand of government regulation.

India is often considered one of the most difficult places to start and run a business. … One of the biggest hurdles that potential enterprises in India face is the complexity of the registration system—all enterprises must register separately with multiple entities of the state and central governments. Under the state government, the enterprise has to register with the labor department (Shop and Establishment Act), the local government (municipal or rural council acts), and the commercial taxes department for indirect tax assessments. There are also several state-specific legislations—the labor department alone has thirty-five legislations.

Under the central government, enterprises must register with the Ministry of Corporate Affairs for incorporation (Companies Act), the Central Board of Direct Taxes for direct tax assessments, and the labor department’s Employees’ Provident Fund Organization (EPFO) and Employees’ State Insurance Corporation (ESIC). Further, there are registrations specific to sector or occupational categories—for example, manufacturing enterprises with more than ten employees must register with the labor department under the Factories Act.

Based on the application or software employed for each registration, employers also must possess a multitude of numbers: for example, a labor identification number—used to register on the Shram Suvidha Portal, the Ministry of Labor and Employment’s single window for reporting compliances; a company registration number; and a corporate permanent account number. Employees must possess an Aadhaar biometric identity number, an EPFO member number, an ESIC identity number, and a universal account number.

According to current labor laws, service enterprises and factories must maintain twenty-five and forty-five registers, respectively, and file semi-annual and annual returns in duplicate and in hard copy. Furthermore, regular paperwork tends to be convoluted; salary and attendance documents should be simple but instead require tens of entries. In addition to the physical requirements of complying with these regulations—making payments, designing human resource strategies, or meeting physical infrastructure standards—enterprises also have onerous periodic reporting requirements. All these requirements add up to impose prohibitive costs that reduce the success of
these businesses.

This regulatory environment offers a powerful incentive for small firms to remain informal, off-the-record, under-the-radar. A related issue arises because payroll taxes in India are very high–for workers in the formal sector, that is.

Manish Sabharwal, the chairman of TeamLease Services, a staffing company, wrote that salaries of 15,000 rupees a month end up as only 8,000 rupees after all deductions, from both the employer and employee sides. The employer makes deductions for pensions, health insurance, social security, and even a bonus, which are statutorily payable in India and would otherwise increase costs to companies. Consequently, the take-home pay for a worker earning less than 15,000 rupees a month is only 68 percent of their gross wages. Lower-wage workers are far more affected than higher-wage workers, who are protected by the maximum permissible deductions, which lowers the amount of deductions from their gross salary. Further, though international comparisons are often difficult and misleading, a cursory examination suggests that India’s deductions are among the highest in the world and are a deterrent to businesses starting or becoming formal.

Yet another issue is that there are many programs providing support and finance to very small firms. An unintended result is that these firms have an incentive to remain small–so they don’t have to give up their incentives.

Gursharan Bhue, Nagpurnanand Prabhala, and Prasanna Tantri point out that firms are willing to forgo growth in order to retain their access to finances. That is, when certain easier financing access is provided to firms below a certain threshold (say, SME firms), they prefer to forgo growth opportunities that would allow them to cross this threshold: “firms that near the threshold for qualification slow down their investments in plant and machinery, other capital expenditure” and experience slower growth in manufacturing activity and output. The authors also point out that when banks are put under pressure to lend to micro, small, and medium enterprises, they fear the fallout of not meeting those lending targets and consequently encourage their borrowers to stay small.

Nageswaran and Natarajan argue that most of India’s informal firms are “subsistence” firms, unlikely to grow. They cite evidence from Andrei Shleifer and Rafael La Porta that few informal firms ever make a transition to formal status. Instead, the goal needs to be to have more firms that are “born formal,” and which are run by entrepreneurs who have a vision of how how the firm can grow and hire.  In India, this doesn’t seem to be happening.   They write:

Chang-Tai Hsieh and Peter Klenow’s latest work, “The Life Cycle of Plants in India and Mexico,” is instructive in its exploration of the life-cycle dynamic of firm growth across countries. They find that, in a sample of eight countries including the United States and Mexico, India is the only  ountry where the average number of employees of firms (in the manufacturing sector) ages 10–14 years is less than that of firms ages 1–5 years. It is generally expected that, as firms remain in business for longer periods, they would naturally employ more workers. In India, however, the inverse has proven true—employment in older firms is less than in younger firms. Hsieh and Klenow also find that the typical Indian firm stagnates or declines over time, with only the handful that reach around twenty years of age showing very slight signs of growth.

What’s to be done? As is common with emerging market economies, the list of potentially useful policies is a long one. Reforming government regulations, payroll taxes, and financial incentives with the idea of supporting small-but-formal businesses, and not hindering their growth, is one step. Nageswaran and Natarajan also point out that the time needed to fill out tax forms is especially onerous in India.

Ongoing increases in infrastructure for transportation, energy, communications matters a lot. Along with overall support for rising education levels, it may be useful to take the idea of an agricultural extension service–which teaches farmer  how to use new seeds or crop methods–and create a “business extension service” that helps teach small firms the basic managerial techniques that can raise their productivity. India’s government might take steps to help establish an information framework for a national logistics marketplace, which would help organize and smooth the movement of business inputs and consumer goods around the country: “Amounting to 13 percent of India’s GDP, the country’s logistics costs are some of the highest in the world.”

But in a broad sense, the job creation problem in India comes down to a more fundamental shift in point of view. Politicians tend to love situations where they can claim credit: a giant new factory opens, or a new power plant. Or at a smaller scale,  politicians will settle for programs that sprinkle subsidies among smaller firms, so those firms that receive such benefits can be claimed as a success story. But if the goal for India’s future employment growth is to have tens of millions of firms started by well-educated entrepreneurs, this isn’t going to happen with firm-by-firm direction and subsidies allocated by India’s central or state governments. Instead, it requires India’s government to be active and aggressive in creating a general business environment where such firms can arise of their own volition, and it’s a hard task for any government to get the right mix of acting in some areas while being hands-off in others.

158 responses to “Job Creation a Must for the Youth!”

1. Jobs for young people? Provided you have the brains for it, get into cybersecurity, young people. Looks like there will be an expanding demand for those types of services well into the future, especially since the telcos and industry are apparently intent on deploying the 5G powered “internet of things” to make life easier and more pleasant for us all. Of course depending on how comfortable you were with the risk/reward ratio and your personal ethics (or lack thereof) you would also have the option to take your cybersecurity skills and knowledge over to the “dark side” and make even more money that way too.

By the way, Bajan taxpayers should keep their fingers crossed that the QEH now has a robust cybersecurity team in place.

U.S. Hospitals Turning Away Patients and Canceling Surgeries Due to Ransomware Attacks

By B.N. Frank

Being targeted by cybercriminals is no laughing matter – especially for health care facilities. Non-payment of ransomware puts lives at immediate risk.

Thanks to Threatpost for providing details about recently targeted hospitals, as well as plans being discussed to reduce risks:

Ransomware overall continues to be a concern for governments worldwide: The U.S. Senate this week in fact approved new legislation aimed at helping government agencies and private-sector companies combat ransomware attacks. The legislation comes as local governments and schools continue to be hit by sophisticated – and in some cases coordinated – ransomware attacks.

The proposed law, the “DHS Cyber Hunt and Incident Response Teams Act,” authorizes the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to invest in and develop “incident response teams” to help organizations battle ransomware attacks. Part of that means that the DHS would create teams to protect state and local entities from cyber threats and restore infrastructure that has been affected by ransomware attacks.

For many years, security experts have been warning about the vulnerability of 5G and Internet of Things (IoT) technology. IoT already has a 74% failure rate. This hasn’t stopped the U.S. and other countries from forcing its installation (see 1, 2). Cybercriminals must be pleased as punch.

https://www.activistpost.com/2019/10/u-s-hospitals-turning-away-patients-and-canceling-surgeries-due-to-ransomware-attacks.html

2. Jobs!

David, wha happening at the port/airport with this technology upgrade that yuh can’t get nuthin outah dey for weeks?

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The demographic structure of the Barbados population is completely different from that of India. India “is riding the wave of a youth bulge, with two-thirds of the country’s population below age thirty-five.” There is no youth bulge in Barbados… less than half the population is below age thirty-five. We do need to create jobs, but not the damaging parasitic ones that we have been accustomed to creating in the public service.
    Green Monkey is sort of on the right track by focusing on service jobs in the internet enabled economy… but security is only one of many opportunities. The key to success is that the jobs need to provide goods or services to a global marketplace, not simply to shuffle around the few paltry dollars that are already here in Barbados.

4. @Peter

The unemployment among the youth segment is high in Barbados notwithstanding your observation.

5. Some of the youth is unemployable, sorry to say.

6. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT

Do you really think our educational system as currently structured can provide citizens with the skills needed. For example it is now known that the four year university degree is no guarantee of employment.
    We have not even started to play catch up. I keep asking where are we planning to end up. Forget fifty or a hundred years. Where are we going to be in 10, 15, 20 years.

7. @John

You are blaming the youth?

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner
    Of course the Barbados educational system is almost completely useless. A Bajan child entering primary school this September will be retiring in about 2080… nobody in or out of the education system has the foggiest idea what challenges they will face over their productive life. The only rational approach to education is to give them the thinking skills that they will need to adapt to an unpredictable and rapidly changing environment. This means primarily that they need to learn HOW to learn. Rote memorization is a damaging waste of time. Teaching them reverence for established authority is putting chains and fetters on their ability to adapt. Marginalizing their creativity is stealing their future from them.
    Actually I need to rewrite my opening sentence: the Barbados educational system is not simply useless, it is actively toxic to young minds.

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster… There is a major problem before us.

It is obviously beyond cliched for any politician to say that job creation for the youth is a necessity so that requires no response … however, looking forward it’s very difficult to determine how one can employ the new crop of workers and continue apace with the wide scale automation of manufacturing and too agriculture and other areas where large numbers of skilled and unskilled workers are needed.

It’s quite easy to say that the new jobs will be in tech related fields like computer development (hardware and software/apps), repair/maintenance and related services but can the tech growth compensate in suitable numbers to take up a large enough cohort of the youth !

Seems an impossible convergence to me.

10. @ William

Youth unemployment is one of the major policy issues facing the country. Yet, for reasons best known to herself, our president has not spoken about youth unemployment, no strategies, not even a proper public discussion.
    There is enormous empirical evidence that if school leavers do not get jobs within a short period of leaving school they go through life experiencing hardship.
    Maybe the president should stay at home and try and sort out some of these problems; but, then again, it is much easier making an unscripted speech, arms flaring, than it is to sit down and work out policy. Details call for a bit more attention. Our president has an attention deficit problem.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@de pedantic Dribbler
    “… can the tech growth compensate in suitable numbers to take up a large enough cohort of the youth!”
    The answer is yes, without any doubt. Your skepticism is rooted in your mental model of the tech industry… instead of imagining hundreds of independent website builders or cellphone repair shops, imagine instead hundreds of companies like Lenstec Barbados Inc., each employing hundreds of people.

12. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    @PLT

Without radical educational reform there will be no true restructuring of the economy. Unemployment will continue to grow. We are the only country that wants to produce a 2020 model on a 1920 production line. Where are the progressive thinkers?
    But we were the first country to diversify the economy and end up with one viable industry.
    Oh I forgot that by 2033 the full success of the IMF program will be known.

13. Hal

Again misleading the blog. What is the First Job Initiative? What about the Blockpreneur? Only yesterday this was in the news:

“Twenty young persons are currently undergoing training at a Creativity for Employment and Opportunity (CEBO) workshop, being staged by the Ministry of Youth and Community Empowerment and the CARICOM Secretariat.”

Then I am accused of being an insider for simply repeating what I read in the newspaper.

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff,
    The First Job Initiative and the Creativity for Employment and Opportunity workshop are welcome baby steps, but they will not by themselves undo the damage wrought by 12 to 18 years of dysfunctional formal education.

Don’t think that I’m giving you or the government a hard time though, because this is a cultural problem that is beyond the ability of our current government to fix.

They cannot begin to address it until they address their own mindset; until our leaders understand that leadership is being in service, not being in charge, they will continue to replicate the plantation behaviors that have plagued our entire history.

15. William Skinner is correct.

There can be no meaningful talk about jobs without first of all thinking long and hard about what sort of jobs we want to create and whether we are preparing our students adequately. So the discussion must start with what sort of economy do we want and how best do we equip our citizens to take us there.

Without these fundamentals in place we will continue to hand out weed whackers to the boys on the block and call it entrepreneurship.

16. @ Enuff

Nice way to debate. Plse explain the youth employment policy initiatives: start with the First Job initiative, what it is and how many jobs it has created; then the blockpreneur, what it is and how many jobs it has created; and in regard to CEBO, what is youth unemployment in Barbados?

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Dullard

” Without these fundamentals in place we will continue to hand out weed whackers to the boys on the block and call it entrepreneurship.”

It is called mental conditioning. We grew up seeing men sixty years ago , with a hoe througout the neigbourhood weeding bush and grass from around homes. Sixty years later, we replace the hoe with a weed whacker and call it a “new” employment/youth policy.

18. peterlawrencethompson

does not seem to be aware of the successes achieved by the education systems of Japan, China, Taiwan and Singapore.

These systems emphasize order, discipline, hierarchy and what some have called “rote memorization”. They have produced workers who fuel the economic dynamism of East Asia.

In the Caribbean, we produced three Nobel prize winners with a “colonial” education system based on British models. Since replacing that system with a more “student-centered” approach, our best graduates appear unable to match the accomplishments of earlier generations.

An orderly, hierarchical education system based on classroom drills can transmit knowledge more efficiently than a system that burdens young children with the responsibility for being “creative”. Self-teaching doesn’t work for most individuals unless they are experienced learners with a large body of knowledge already under their belts.

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    @Dullard
    @ PLT

Its very simple; replace the hoe from sixty years ago with a weed whacker and hail it as “new” employment/youth/business policy.

20. PLT

I always respect your comments and you can knock the government and me.

Hal

The fact is your initial comment was false. I therefore have no intention of responding further. Once you start with an agenda, I am not interested.

21. @ William
    @PLT

Arthur was in power for 14 years; Thompson/Stuart for 10; and Mottley for one so far, a total of 25 years. Anyone aged 30 years and under had their entire education under these governments, we do not have to go back to Barrow and Independence, so let us do an audit: the ratio of school leavers who went on to higher education; the subjects they studied, and the post–qualification jobs they got.
    What percentage of GDP is spent on education: nursery, infant, secondary, and post-19? We also need to cost the brain drain.

22. Youth unemployment is one of the major policy issues facing the country. Yet, for reasons best known to herself, our president has not spoken about youth unemployment, no strategies, not even a proper public discussion.(Quote)

23. David
    October 9, 2019 9:05 AM

You are blaming the youth?

Just stating the obvious.

… and it doesn’t apply to all youth, just some.

Just as it should be criminal to raise a criminal, it should also be criminal to raise an unemployable!!

24. All you need to do is to watch how cell phones are used to appreciate that many of the youth (older folks too) just will not have an attention span that will match the requirements of many jobs!!

Working on their own is probably a better option where they quickly learn to be more circumspect with the use of their employer’s time!!

25. Business minded Black people, particularly the young should get the hell out of a stagnant island economy like Barbados and spread their wings….your leaders are useles and will never tell you this or give you any encouragement..

https://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0geKen4Ap5dgqwAlCNXNyoA;_ylu=X3oDMTEyNWNiaW4yBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDQjI5NDRfMQRzZWMDc2M-/RV=2/RE=1570665337/RO=10/RU=https%3a%2f%2fwww.expert-market.com%2fbusiness-ideas-investment-opportunities-in-ghana%2f/RK=2/RS=KoMxpeHFNvJjwQUcNxEfaQXNj5o-

Ghana, a country well known for being Africa’s richest country with a rapidly growing economy, also happens to be the second largest Cocoa producer in the World.

Culturally rich and economically independent, Ghana is often referred to as the ‘island of peace’. The country is popular for its picturesque beaches and lush green forests that serve as a home to a diverse range of wildlife. Considering the improving economical conditions of the country, we decided to bring about a variety of small scale business opportunities and investment ideas in Ghana. Accra and Kumasi are two cities in Ghana which is suitable for small business startup. The population in these two cities are 2.5 million and 1.7 million respectively.

Your business choice should not be restricted to a certain idea, instead you should allow yourself to explore beyond your limitations and boundaries. Utilise the most popular places and occasions in your country to make them your unique selling point. For example, setting up stalls at the Bugum Festival or the Gologo festival can be an interesting investment opportunity. Not only this but also the Accra great olympics which can be a good opportunity to promote your football academies. These 20 interesting and profitable business ideas do not require a heavy capital or a large labour force; instead all they demand is the perfect sourcing along with the right decisions made.

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff
    “The fact is your initial comment was false.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    My initial comment read “The First Job Initiative and the Creativity for Employment and Opportunity workshop are welcome baby steps, but they will not by themselves undo the damage wrought by 12 to 18 years of dysfunctional formal education.”

Which part is false: are they not welcome? are they not baby steps? will they by themselves undo the educational damage?

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Sorry Enuff, I now see that the question was not for me.

28. WORTH REPEATING……forget your useless leaders, they have nothing to offer the people who pay their salaries….not even good advice… and head to countries where your skills, talents and gifts are welcomed…do not sell yourself short by being reduced to SLAVES by small island crooks steeped in colonial mentalities…and self-aggrandizement.

“They cannot begin to address it until they address their own mindset; until our leaders understand that leadership is being in service, not being in charge, they will continue to replicate the plantation behaviors that have plagued our entire history.”

29. @PLT

I am yet to hear what is false about my statement. But, sadly, I am used to the negative way some Bajans debate. It is the Bajan Condition. Let us extend it: the president has been making lots of speeches about climate change, but where s the policy. Intuition often runs ahead of analysis then policy. A speech may be a first step, but it is not a journey.
    An argument is a system of ideas, but an idea s not a policy. There is a fundamental difference between being good and doing good. As to the Confucian cultures, we must decide if there is anything we can learn from them, we cannot pick and match.
    By the way, we have had four Caribbean Nobel Laureates, not three.

30. Hal AustinOctober 9, 2019 9:22 AM

@ William

Youth unemployment is one of the major policy issues facing the country. Yet, for reasons best known to herself, our president has not spoken about youth unemployment, no strategies, not even a proper public discussion.
    There is enormous empirical evidence that if school leavers do not get jobs within a short period of leaving school they go through life experiencing hardship. Maybe the president should stay at home and try and sort out some of these problems; but, then again, it is much easier making an unscripted speech, arms flaring, than it is to sit down and work out policy. Details call for a bit more attention. Our president has an attention deficit problem.

EnuffOctober 9, 2019 10:11 AM
    Hal

Again misleading the blog. What is the First Job Initiative? What about the Blockpreneur? Only yesterday this was in the news:
    “Twenty young persons are currently undergoing training at a Creativity for Employment and Opportunity (CEBO) workshop, being staged by the Ministry of Youth and Community Empowerment and the CARICOM Secretariat.”

Then I am accused of being an insider for simply repeating what I read in the newspaper.

Hal AustinOctober 9, 2019 10:59 AM
    @ Enuff

Nice way to debate. Plse explain the youth employment policy initiatives: start with the First Job initiative, what it is and how many jobs it has created; then the blockpreneur, what it is and how many jobs it has created; and in regard to CEBO, what is youth unemployment in Barbados?

If nothing has been spoken about, how could there be something to discuss? I left BU to determine who vacillating and who is not. I don’t have the energy because I am familiar with the way the pole shifting to shift to avoid being proved wrong.BU can even look to the Barbados Youth ADVANCE CORPS, which also addresses school levers and unemployment. But I am an insider, yardfowl, bottom feeder, ‘Bajan condition’…. though all I am doing is posting what it is in the press. I dun on this too.

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Ewart Archer
    You are looking backward instead of forward… a common dysfunction engendered by our educational system. The four educational systems you point to are each radically different from each other, but you radically overestimate the degree to which any of them relies on rote learning in 2019.

“Self-teaching doesn’t work for most individuals…” precisely because we are not TAUGHT how to teach ourselves. This is a cognitive skill that needs to form the core of formal education.

32. @ Enuff

20 young people getting a job is good, but it is not a policy. So young people going to work in a restaurant is a policy? Do you know what social policy is? We all read the press, in my case the electronic press..
    Who has accused you of being an insider, etc. Grow up and behave like a civilised man. I said a proper public discussion. Has there been one? I said your behaviour was typical of the Bajan Condition. I do not indulge in vulgarity and I have not seen anyone referred to you in a vulgar way in this discussion. Admittedly, I do not read all posts to BU.
    Again, I am saying there is no government policy on youth employment. If there is, spell it out for a simple mind like me. THERE IS NONE.

33. Every now and then, I come across information posted on this site that is so outrageously false, I feel compelled to offer a correction.

So, GHANA IS NOT THE RICHEST COUNTRY IN AFRICA. NOT BY A MILE.

It is not even the richest country in sub-Saharan Africa Even if you exclude Egypt, Algeria, Tunisia, etc., Ghana has a LOWER GDP per capita than Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Botswana, Angola, Namibia, Eswatini and South Africa.

To put this in a Caribbean perspective, Ghana is poorer than each and every English-speaking Caribbean country, including Dominica.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal & @Enuff,
    I listened to Avinash Persaud give a presentation on economic growth last Friday that shed some light on this discussion (I know that he does not make policy). He explained that the different programs that are aimed at economic enfranchisement do not constitute the totality of the government’s economic growth agenda because economic growth is fundamentally the responsibility of the private sector. This government’s approach is to make sure that the ownership structure is much different in the future than it has been in the past by changing the investment environment to make the $9 billion in Barbadian savings accounts available for productive investment rather than being channeled into loans for consumption of cars and refrigerators. He acknowledged that the current administrative regime was very discouraging for entrepreneurs in Barbados; in fact he said that the regulatory regime amounted to “criminalizing” entrepreneurship, but that the government was working to change this.

35. @PLT

I hope this is a fair representation of what Prof Persaud said. If it is, it is economic crap. If not, my apologies. Economic growth is an outcome of government macro-economic policy. The private sector is just part of the economy.
    The others are consumers and government (I am surprised Prof Persaud would say something like this because it is Economics 101) . How is government going to get savers to invest their Bds$9bn, apart from sound fiscal policies?
    They have been in power for 17 months. We need more than speeches; we need policy documents to encourage public debate, debates in parliament, bills and Acts. That is called law making. And we need good financial regulation. What we have now is a scandal.
    But, as you said, nobody elected Prof Persaud. We want to hear from our elected representatives.

36. Mia is not an economist. She is a second-rate lawyer.

So it would be better to listen to Mr. Persaud (and other policymakers — e.g., in the Ministry of Finance) for answers to policy questions.

37. Article for the BORG……

https://www.cnbc.com/2019/10/09/stanford-psychology-expert-most-important-work-skill-of-the-future.html

“Some” of the BORG will read the article and “some” of the BORG may even drawl patrolled to Barbados youth, the question is will any of the BORG understand.

38. draw parrellels

39. In a parliament democracy, it is the elected people who make decisions, not technocrats. Advisers advise, politicians decide.

40. parliamentary

41. “It is not even the richest country in sub-Saharan Africa Even if you exclude Egypt, Algeria, Tunisia, etc., Ghana has a LOWER GDP per capita than Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Botswana, Angola, Namibia, Eswatini and South Africa.”

yall to covetous…i was not looking at the rich part…IT IS A GROWING ECONOMY…ya look at the PEACE PART…compared to the ones ya now describing….yall dont want to help build ya only want to TIEF….that’s on U.

42. Run off to South Africa why don’t ya and see those negroes whose minds have been DAMAGED even LONGER then ya own, don’t chase ya greedy asses OUT…it is about BUILDING not seeing what ya can huff…

Some i know took a trip to Uganda and the opportunities they saw were amazing…but go to Gabon and Angola, Equatorial Guinea and South Africa with ya greedy agendas and see what happens…..fools..even Rwanda though they have come back from the brink…..is still easily triggered.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    I believe that I have given an accurate precis of Prof Avinash’s remarks. I don’t think it is crap, although I don’t think it is sufficiently ambitious. The devil is in the details however, so if Barbados is one of the first jurisdictions in the world to implement crowdfunded equity investment technology then that will have an impact. We could also develop Local Innovation Bonds for early stage financing of entrepreneurs: https://hbr.org/2019/01/one-way-to-finance-tech-startups-outside-of-superstar-cities. After all Prof Persaud is chair of the Financial Services Commission, which is responsible for supervising and regulating non-bank financial institutions in Barbados.

44. @PLT

If your precis is accurate, it is economic nonsense. That is why I think something has been left out. Did he mention anything about Innovation Bonds, or is that your idea? Don’t confuse the discussion, let us stick to what Prof Persaud has said, allegedly. The devil is not in any details. The private sector is only part of the story of economic development. It is a virtuous circle: government, consumers, business.
    By coincidence, I have been reading a biography of John Maynard Keynes over the last few days. Do you know he once described himself as a liberal socialist?
    I repeat again, our financial regulation in Barbados is woefully bad, no matter who is chairman of the FSC.

45. From reports it was a brief presentation.

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wily Coyote at 2:18 PM

A very educative upload. Required reading for those of us suffering from information overload on youth education for future employment. Thanks!

47. Hal Austin

Four Caribbean Nobel prize winners? I only know of three: Lewis, Walcott and Naipaul. Who is the fourth?

48. @Ewart Archer

You mention those from the English-speaking Caribbean. One came from the French-speaking Caribbean, a poet, not Aime Cesaire. it was St John Perse, in 1960.
    By the way, why didn’t Cesaire get one, or Kamau Brathwaite, or Alejo Carpentier, or Claude MacKay. can go on. Remember, the Harlem Renaissance was a significant Caribbean experience.

49. @ Peter Lawrence Thompson October 9, 2019 9:17 AM

” The only rational approach to education is to give them the thinking skills that they will need to adapt to an unpredictable and rapidly changing environment. This means primarily that they need to learn HOW to learn. Rote memorization is a damaging waste of time. Teaching them reverence for established authority is putting chains and fetters on their ability to adapt. Marginalizing their creativity is stealing their future from them.”

Beautifully stated. I noticed you didn’t mention the role that UWI needs to play in the effecting change. I have noticed that when positions are advertised at UWI, there is a recurrent phrase used ” A team player”. The new member is expected to be a team player and in the sciences team players are hinderances. Take for example Vannevar Bush ( no relation to George Bush) an American engineer, inventor and science administrator, who during World War II headed the U.S. Office of Scientific Research and Development (OSRD), through which almost all wartime military R&D was carried out, including important developments in radar and the initiation and early administration of the Manhattan Project. He emphasized the importance of scientific research to national security and economic well-being, and was chiefly responsible for the movement that led to the creation of the National Science Foundation…. He was a doctoral student of Arthur Gordon Webster(Clark University), but Webster wanted Bush to study acoustics. Bush preferred to quit rather than study a subject that did not interest him.. Most scientific discoveries are made by one or two persons not by teams contrary to what one may read in the press. This idea of a team player leads to mediocrity (the situation arises where there is no independency of thought; a collective opinion is desired so that if things go wrong there is CYA syndrome).There is need to allow divergent views and to allow those with ideas to pursue them, no matter how outlandish the main stream think them to be.. Until such is done, coping with the future will be difficult.

@Ewart Archer October 9, 2019 11:11 AM

“peterlawrencethompson
    does not seem to be aware of the successes achieved by the education systems of Japan, China, Taiwan and Singapore.
    These systems emphasize order, discipline, hierarchy and what some have called “rote memorization”. They have produced workers who fuel the economic dynamism of East Asia.”

The question that needs to be asked is as follows: Who invented the technology that is being used by these countries? Originality of thought does not depend on rote learning. America is one of the least discipline countries in the world; yet the American environment has resulted in some of the greatest technological events.

50. robert lucas

Please do not encourage PLT in his advocacy of chaotic, student-centered education programs. They are not efficient or effective in primary or secondary schools. They are not even effective at the undergraduate level in post-secondary education.

We do not need “creative” thinkers. Or to put it another way, the Caribbean does not need to come up with original ideas to be globally competitive. For example, Barbados has had a significant tourist hotel industry for 75 years. By now, we should have accumulated enough industry expertise to launch one or two hotel construction and management firms with a global clientele. But nobody has the discipline, the resourcefilness, the brainpower or the organizing ability to make this happen, even though it’s not that complicated.