The traditional calypso composition, with its penchant for the risqué expression and the saucy double entendre, not to mention the frequent boast of the performer’s substantial sexual prowess, always sails close to the edge of what may be considered permissible for airplay in these regional societies.

These factors doubtless place the legal publishers of the material to the public, the radio stations, at a severe disadvantage at times such as the current Crop-over season finely to balance their core mission of entertainment with their ethical obligation not to breach the terms of their broadcasting licences by transmitting material for public consumption that may fairly be considered obscene, improper or liable to corrupt public morals and, most important, with their legal obligation not to defame as one leading Barbadian case on the matter has already demonstrated.

This is all outside of the context of the dark tendency, now happily extinct seemingly, of banning from airplay those compositions whose lyrics did not accord with, or parodied, the political dogma of the then governing administration.

Over the years, it would seem, certain protocols have been developed by way of compromise in this context. Thus, verbal or nounal usage of the old Anglo Saxon four-letter word for sexual intercourse, even if only thinly disguised because of a combination of its susceptibility to easy ellipsis and the local dialectical pronunciation of the word “for”, apparently passes muster, no matter how puerile the construction.

In this regard, readers will have heard previously broadcasts of calypsonians using such expressions as singing “Fuh Cree”, and “fuh crown” or “fuh king”; of those people who are “fuh cup”; who are going “fuh cane”; and we recall one effort that pointedly advised another individual “fuh queue”.

Explicit and not so explicit references to assorted sex acts have also gained local airplay periodically. Sparrow’s “Congo Man”, “May May”; Mac Fingall’s “Eating Bacon”, Krosfyah’s “Zak Passé” and Lil Rick’s “Eating too much Conch”, all follow an identical theme of cunnilingus to varying degrees of explicitness. To our best memory, this reference did not serve to ensure their prohibition from the local airwaves.

In such contexts, therefore it may be reasonably understandable that another local radio personality and calypsonian, Mr Ronald Clarke, who performs in the latter guise under the sobriquet, “ De Announcer” would be highly incensed that one of his contributions for this year, the tamely-titled “Reading for Pleasure” has been deemed unfit for broadcast by both of the main local radio stations including, in what must have been the most unkindest cut, the very one at which he is employed and at which he served until recently as lead host of its Crop-over afternoon music show.

Argue as cogently he might that there are other compositions of similar ilk that have not been treated likewise; that the word in dispute is in fact the real name of the author being referred to; and that he does not graphically describe a sex act as others have done before him, Mr Clarke must understand that the limits of airplay are not determined by fairness or reason or even logic, but rather by the extent to which the appointed determiner, using his or her best judgment subjectively, considers the lyrics to be inappropriate for public broadcast.

Of course, his supporters will point out that this level of discretion is likely to lead to inconsistency. This assertion cannot seriously be denied.

But how else might one explain why the popular local expression for the male penis as repeatedly voiced in De Announcer’s song should be deemed verboten while equivalent expressions for the female genitalia should find favour as where a woman was exhorted in one relatively recent effort to “poke he in ‘e eye”. Did not Lord Kitchener once defiantly promise to park his pee-pee [PP car registration] any place? And does anyone really believe that Lord Blakie was singing about a feline when he referred to the thieving pussy they held one night up in Sangre Grande?

Mr Clarke has reportedly threatened suit against the radio stations, probably, I imagine, on the assumption that they have infringed his constitutional guarantee of freedom of expression. There are some difficulties in this scenario, however.

As a private entity, at least one of the stations is not susceptible to constitutional action on the basis of the state action doctrine that renders such infringements actionable only where these are caused by the state or statal entities, while the other, even if not identically immune from suit, will nevertheless be able to contend that the local freedom of expression is qualified in that “nothing contained in or done under the authority of any law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of this section to the extent that the law in question makes provision that is reasonably required for regulating the administration or technical operation of telephony, telegraphy, posts, wireless broadcasting, television or other means of communication…”

63 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Limitations of Airplay”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The song is crass vulgarity at its best.

2. When a applying a judgement as to whether the Announcer’s song meets the smell test for airplay one must factor that value changes occur as people and by extension societies mature. We have had risqué songs in the past however the question we have to answer given the current state of mind – do we have the same appetite.

The blogmaster is on the side of opinion which says the song offends. This is no classic double entendre, it is more a barbaric form.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The song is crass vulgarity
    THIS STATEMENT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

re one must factor that value changes occur as people and by extension societies mature.

WHAT EXACTLY DOES THIS STATEMENT MEAN?

HOW DO VALUES CHANGE as people and by extension societies mature.

WHY SHOULD VALUES CHANGE as people and by extension societies mature.

ON WHAT STANDARDS AND AROUND WHOM SHOULD VALUES REMAIN CONSTANT

IS IT NOT TRUE THAT OUR SO CALLED CHANGING OR DEVOLVING VALUES DONE SO TO THE DESTRUCTION OF OUR “MATURING SOCIETY”

WHAT HAS THE ENDURING BENEFITS OF OUR CHANGING VALUES AS OUR SOCIETIES MATURED?

WHEN I WAS A LITTLE BOY AT PRIMARY SCHOOL 60 YEARS AGO THE PREVAILING VALUES OF OUR COUNTRY WERE ENCAPSULATED BY THESE ENDURING WORDS

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you. (PHILIPPIANS 4:8&9)

IT IS OBVIOUS THAT WE HAVE LOST OUR ONCE SUPREME VALUES

YOU MAY TAKE OUT YOUR KNIVES NOW AND CUSS

I AM OFF TO BREAKING OF BREAD WHERE A FEW OF THE MEN WILL COMMENT ON SIMILAR ENDURING WORDS FROM THE WORD OF GOD, AND SING SOME ENDURING AND MORE LYRICS SUCH AS ……..

OH WHAT A SAVIOUR THAT HE DIED FOR ME
    OR
    SINNERS JESUS WILL RECIEVE, SOUND THIS WORD OF GRACE TO ALL
    OR
    JESUS IN THY HEAVENLY TEMPLE
    OR
    BEHOLD WHAT LOVE WHAT BOUNDLESS LOVE THE FATHER HAS BESTOWED ON SINNERS LOST THAT WE SHOULD BE CALLED THE SONS OF GOD
    OR
    THOU ART COMING OH MY SAVIOUR, THOU ART COMING OH MY KING

4. There is more than one way to muzzle freedom of expression. All that is sometimes necessary is to be quietly reminded that your imagined independence of thought and freedom of expression is intricately tied to your financial dependence or independence on other more powerful players for your very survival. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240842/us-monitoring-imf-loan-barbados

5. The song is simply garbage like a bunch of words stringed together to garnish attention
    Not to mention his total disrespect for the female
    Whatever his motive it seems as if the writer and singer of the song has bowed down to the alter of lewd and offensive language which attacks the character of the female gender
    Language which initself is degrading and derogatory
    Glad it was taken off the airwaves

6. Note the date of the article.

Starcom defends calypso ban
    Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    July 5, 2017

Local broadcaster Starcom Network is defending its decision to ban some Crop Over calypsoes, insisting it was sheilding itself from possible lawsuits.

Amid on outcry over the banning of one of this year’s favourites, Not My Vote by young calypsonian Sir Ruel, the station was forced to explain its position.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/Ronnie.jpeg

Programme Manager Ronald Clarke said there was no truth to suggestions that Starcom was restricting freedom of expression.
    Ronald Clarke

Instead, he said, the station had heeded legal advice not to air the song.

“There is a history of media outlets being engaged in legal action with persons, not only in calypso but also in call-in programmes and other things that may be transmitted over radio programmes, etc. Calypso is not any different. You have to understand that it’s very costly to go against solid advice and it’s not a matter of being thin-skinned. I’m sure if you hear a lot of songs on the radio you would see there’s no obstruction on freedom of expression,” said Clarke, himself a calypsonian. In fact, the radio announcer said two other songs from this year’s crop, If You Don’t Know by former monarch Classic and You by Fabee have also been kept off the air for similar reasons.

However, he said the station had been in contact with all three artistes and “it’s totally up to them whether for radio they’re going to make any amendments or not.

“At the end of the day we are just waiting for what the calypsonians decide to do,” he explained.

“In the case of Sir Ruel he doesn’t have to do much to move on. In fact the song would do even better if it’s correctly amended. He is a brilliant young calypsonian, he’s naturally gifted, and I believe that he will be making his way to Kensington Oval [the Pic-O-De-Crop final].

“It’s in his interest to have a version that shouldn’t attract legal scrutiny as it currently is, that he would be able to present something immediately that he is comfortable with,” he advised.

Clarke cautioned songwriters to be careful of what they put into songs which they would like to have played on the radio, hinting that the writer of Sir Ruel’s song ought to have known better.

“When someone is writing for you, especially someone who is senior and serves with distinction within the calypso arena, in this instance for a young man, they should have been aware that there would have been issues with certain parts. They should be aware of which parts can lead to obstruction, albeit temporarily. How certain things have been missed are questions that they themselves would have to ask,” he said.

7. It appears to be opened seasons for song writers to used females in their lyrics portraying them as sexual objects ones that can be used and abused within in the contents of their lyrics
    Not only is this song disgusting but it also reveals the thought process of the writer and singer of the song who belives that woman are not entitled to respect at any level
    Over the years they have been women movements who have spoken about the issue of lewd and disrespectful lyrics and also provocative antics used to place women in a category sell stellar as one of being wholesome
    This song is another avenue by which the writer and singer has used to place woman back in an era when woman was treated with total disregard and disrespect
    Kudos to VOB for seeingthe song as of an object of disgust and highly offensive

8. @ Caswell Franklyn July 21, 2019 7:38 AM
    “The song is crass vulgarity at its best.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What’s the difference between that ‘dickey-bird’ song and the broadcasting from the local talk shop by a minister of the realm to the world that somebody should strip naked and run down Broad Street?

Where was the censorship, or call for a public apology, in the island of genuine hypocrisy?

Shouldn’t VOB, an arm of the fourth estate, be asking more pertinently pressing answers of public concern such as why Courts owes, according to you, over $25, million in VAT to the Treasury?

Whether the duties and taxes waived on the Mercedes for a non-existent Sales Director at the Hyatt imaginary hotel has been recovered?

Or the VAT ($223,404) paid by the BWA on that non-VAT compliant invoice submitted by a law firm ( of which a copy was laid in Parliament as a document of the house) has been collected by the BRA?

Poor people (the Bajan underdog) need their tax refunds, some going back as far as 2013.

9. @ Mariposa July 21, 2019 10:16 AM

Should the blogmaster of BU have banned you when for 3 long years (2011 to February 2013) you nauseatingly referred to a former PM as OSA the liar and drunkard who destroyed Barbados while sleeping in gutters to allow dogs (and bi****ches like you) to lick the rum-laced saliva from his dirty mouth?

10. Miller
    I read your lyrics and version of what u stated i said about OSA
    BUT for clarity and linguistic integrity i would prefer you reference BU archives and present my words specfically and post them

11. The song could be re written to eliminate the vulgarity so we could enjoy the ” double entendre “.

However the target audience may have been the ” bashment crowd “.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, you have -as usual- made a quite succinct post that has a lot more to tell depending on how real we want to explore!

The Dean listed many interesting examples of older calypsoes and to your point of meeting smell test for airplay … one can only surmise how some of those VERY risqué songs would have been handled now “given the current state of mind”. Is it that we have matured in truth re the lyrical offerings, or do we have a greater or lesser appetite, as you suggested, for this continual expanded menu before us!

Some weeks ago I viewed a clip of a very elderly Mighty Sparrow doing a real-sweet rendition of his Mae Mae song… his voice was still as captivating and his smirk and turn of ribald lyrics still amusing…BUT…. as sweet as he sings that calypso (a quick search tells me it won him Road March honours in 60-61) it was sexually explicit, brash and made no pretense of double entendre…in short, it could surely be described as *”…on the side of opinion which says the song offend

Be reminded: Making love one day with a girl they call Mae Mae… before we lie down pun de carpet she start catching fits, her she bawling, ‘dahling don’t bite me don’t do dat honey, I never had a man who do dat to me , aie yi yah yi yah, do do dahling … you making me feel so sweet, stop Sparrow, stop’

Conversely Sparrow sang quite tamely and decently 😁 that 60 million French men followed Napoleon’s example and thus caused him to get licked also…that song could be considered lovely double entendre surely as nothing could be directly attributed to sex….but Mae Mae or the also bluntly obvious Sell the Pussy..definitely very saucy and raw!

Well ah hungry and ah more broken than a louse
    It ain’t have nothing left for me to pawn in the house
    Meh girlfriend have a pussy cat they call big fat lazy puss
    Ah tell she to sell it get some cash cause he ain’t no use

If you hear me sell the pussy and bring all the cash to me
    Ah love you baby but ah cyah remain hungry
    This starvation it could finish just like that
    But you got to sell the pussy, sell the pussy cat…

She complaining, how she have this cat since she born
    She won’t sell it, she won’t even put it in harm
    But before I have to choke and rob and perhaps end up in jail
    Let meh tell meh friends that you have your pussy for sale!

As the Dean said re Lord Blakie’s song… does anyone think or thought back in the 60s that this was a four legged pussy cat being described!

And what about Conga Man…that one is a doozy…can we in our supposedly mature years of today and too the political climate of go back home to your shi–ole countries really deal with *I never eat a white meat yet” blasting across the airwaves!

So to restate you Mr Blogmaster “do we have the same appetite’ for a very warm – soothing even – let’s say Jacuzzi scene of …

Two white women traveling through Africa (Africa),
    Find themselves in de hands of a cannibal headhunter (headhunter)
    He cook up one and he eat one raw, …..
    Dey taste so good he wanted more, more!
    He want more!
    Aye yi yah, I envy de Congo-man,
    I wish I could’a go and shake he hand,
    He eat until he stomach upset and I… I never eat ah white meat yet,

But then again that was 1965…following the various writers here its probably quite passé that most of us have long satisfied all our varied culinary interests …afterall I ate some awesome Thai flavored food last evening, regularly do Chinese, Mexican, Greek etc etc.. I personally refrain from sushi (too dangerous) myself but anything well cooked and presented by a good chef I am willing to explore!

But that said, clearly Sparrow’s Congo Man is a song too raw for even modern day consumption!

So yes we have changed dramatically over the years…De Announcer has to change his lyrical renderings to suit current tastes!

13. @ Mariposa July 21, 2019 10:57 AM

Which version has just written on behalf of your pen name fan club?

To which version of the multi-personalities Ms Many Pussies should the miller present those well-archived lyrics?

Should it be to the doubly loquacious DLP yard-fowl ‘ac’ or Ms Skeete the angelic liar incarnate or simply Ms Tight Weave?

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE ne can only surmise how some of those VERY risqué songs would have been handled now “given the current state of mind”. Is it that we have matured in truth re the lyrical offerings, or do we have a greater or lesser appetite, as you suggested, for this continual expanded menu before us!

&

RE clearly Sparrow’s Congo Man is a song too raw for even modern day consumption!

So yes we have changed dramatically over the years…

NO. NOT AT ALL!
    WE HAVE JUST BECOME GREATER HYPOCRITES AS WE HAVE “MATURED AS A SOCIETY!

THE VULGAR VIBES IN THE SONG HAVE BEEN HEARD FOR AGES IN OUR VILLAGES!……AND PROBABLY UTTERED OFT TIMES BY MANY OF THE HYPOCRITES WHO BLOG HERE.

JUST A FEW YEARS AGO PACHAMAMA, ONE OF SATAN’S SONS EXPLICITLY SAID HERE ON BU THAT MUELLER HAD ONE OF THOSE SAME OBJECTS FOR TRUMP. MUELLER APPARENTLY LOST IT OR IT WITHERED DECAYED AND DIED! THERE WAS NO MORAL OUTRAGE THEN.

WE HAVE “MATURED AS A SOCIETY AT ALL!
    ALL THAT HAS HAPPENED IS THAT THE WANTON REPETITION OF VULGAR VILLAGE VIBES ONCE ENJOYED AND UTTERED BY THE VILLAGES ARE NO LONGER ACCEPTED BY THE HIGH AND MIGHTY AND HOIGHTY TOIGHTY IN THE HEIGHTS AND TERRACES

THE TRUTH, HOWEVER, IS THAT MOVING TO THE HEIGHTS AND TERRACES DOES NOT REMOVE THE OLD SIN NATURE FROM THE HEARTS OF ANY WHO THINK THAT THEY HAVE ARRIVED

AND THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

15. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

I am always curious about this unhealthy obession we have around the male and female genitals, along with acts of sexual intercourse (implicit or explicit ) coming from especially the various genre of popular black music form. Whether it’s classic R&B “lets get it on”, double entrende calypso hits like “saltfish”, crude dancehall or rap lyriics: we seemed to have this undying penchant for the flesh.

16. Is it cultural?

17. @ de pedantic Dribbler,

Have you listened to Ri RI ” Love on the brain ” ? Sweet song especially when sung by my fantasy girlfriend G G.

The use of some words has become acceptable to some people.

18. That song want carrying up Christ church and putting in the feeder main in the new outfall so it can share with similar matter, what should be its final passage into the marine resting place for human waste.

19. @ John A,

The song can be re written in a radio edit form.

Surely De Announcer has a good command of the English language and Bajan dialect.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

what do you suggest, de i run,
    I said i going, I dun,
    and all they want is i run

21. @de pedantic Dribbler July 21, 2019 11:37 AM

Yuh disappointed muh man…I was expecting the lyrics to Elaine and Harry, BG Plantain, Mr. Bendwood Dick, Mr. Herbert, Steering Wheel and many more of Sparrow’s offerings – lol.

22. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Hal. I guess culture might explain some aspect of it…. a degenerated part of the culture in my opinion. Now I see a lot of the African entertainers on the continent copying the same behavior, especially, the raw and explicit danchall music.

I listern to all genre of music. I am yet to find a crude and ”dutty lyriics” Country and Western song.

23. You Tube

Crazy – For Curiosity (CLASSIC) 1992

24. @ Hants

Don’t even bother trying to put this up against Sparrow or real local calypsonians like Gabby, Grinder or RPB, who not only had a command of lyrics but could actually sing. tell me what you have here to offer worth cleaning up for radio.

It amazes me what past for calypso today, then I was blessed I supposed being from the local era of songs like ” Mr T, Boots, Volcano” and others that still are the measuring stick for calypso today.

Sparrow though in his hey day I still hold as the master of the art form.

25. @ Fortyacres

I am on You Tube listening to David Ruffin, Clarence Thompson and Shirley Stewart. Great music. This used to be Barbadian popular culture. Michael Wilkinson, Norma Stoute, The Opels, Tony ‘Fat child’ Norville. What happened?

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Q.What happened?
    A. WE ARE TOLD THAT WE MATURED AS A SOCIETY. wuh loss!
    It amazes we that we would want to discuss vulgar lyrics in a song, when routinely vulgar language and curse words are the daily, and perennial norm on BU.

27. @ Hal

You left out Wendy Alleyne and the Dynamics and Zorro and Fowl.

Lord I getting old and admitting it now in public. Lol

28. @ Georgie Porgie July 21, 2019 3:51 PM
    “It amazes we that we would want to discuss vulgar lyrics in a song, when routinely vulgar language and curse words are the daily, and perennial norm on BU.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You mean like referring to the first President of color of the USA as “bulling Shitbama”?

We will never forgive or forget you for your lowest-of-class attacks on Pres. Obama unless you get on your pissy little black knees and pray to Yahweh for forgiveness and who has heard and recorded in the book of judgment every little dirty nasty word you said against Pres. Obama in support of the devil incarnate the morally dingy dirty Trump.

Only those who are without sin or blemish should cast any moral stone of condemnation as advised in the Biblical injunction of which you ought to more than familiar:

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?

How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye?

You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

29. I knew them as the Draytons, Jiggs Kirton, Mighty Sugar, Jackie Open, Johnny Braff, Vere and Vern, Madame Yvette….. the Zodiac Combo,……

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“FearPlay July 21, 2019 8:56 AM

There is more than one way to muzzle freedom of expression. All that is sometimes necessary is to be quietly reminded that your imagined independence of thought and freedom of expression is intricately tied to your financial dependence or independence on other more powerful players for your very survival. ”

An entire blog is needed for this rubbish here…some things need to be aired, idiots are trying to change the narrative.

Yall never know when to STOP..we already know that.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHENEVER A PUERILE PUNK ATTACKS ME ON BU AND I HAVE TO SEND HIM HOME TO HIS MOMMY, MY POST IS TAKEN DOWN WHY?

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

We will never forgive or forget you
    NONE OF WUNNA IN THE BU RUM SHOP CAN FORGIVE ME OF ANY THING

IT IS WRITTEN If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

“HE” ABOVE DOES NOT REFER TO ANY OF THE MORONS IN THE BU RUM SHOP

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Only those who are without sin or blemish should cast any moral stone of condemnation as advised in the Biblical injunction of which you ought to more than familiar:

IF THAT IS TRUE THEN HOW CAN YOU CAST ANY moral stone of condemnation AT ME

CLEARLY AS THE STANDARD BU BIBLE ILLITERATE YOU HAVE TAKEN A TEXT OUT OF CONTEXT, MADE IT A CONTEXT AND AS USUAL, WRONGLY DIVIDED THE WORD OF TRUTH AND WRESTED THE SCRIPTURES AS PETER PROCLAIMS IN 2 PETER 3

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MADE IT A PRETEXT

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE There is more than one way to muzzle freedom of expression.

to muzzle freedom of expression IS THE NORM IN THE BU RUM SHOP
    ONE MUST SING FROM THE SAME HYMN SHEET AND FOLLOW THE HERD AS YOU “.JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, NEVER KNOWING HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Bajan in NY, you should offer up those lyrics…I am unfamiliar with those tunes…frankly I know only some of Sparrow’s more popular calypsoes…a music geek I am not!

The point I would grasp from your comment though is that the Mighty Slinger Francisco had quite some works with “dutty lyrics”… and that is absolutely to be expected along with his more cerebral offerings … he as all musicians, poets, writers and so on simply mirror the society from which they come.

@Forty, but doesn’t Country and Western have lyrics which speak of other “dutty” aspects of the folks who those musicians mainly represent!

You are being less than genuine to suggest that the genre is prisitine simply because there is no proliferation (not absense) of the dance hall, rap, RnB or Rock n Roll mention of sex, drugs and illicit behaviour.

Again, I am just a general music fan… no expert here, but when I recall songs from Conway Twitty or the very sexual Dolly Parton there were quite explicit suggestions of a similar sexual healing a la Al Green…so let’s tame the hypocrisy a bit!

Music is poetry in song… we had Shakespeare, to name one high brow name, giving us ribald verse along with his deep works … there is no genre of music (save classical and instrumental of course) which does not reflect the sexual nature of basic life….life itself is built or founded on sex so how could our artists and art form not reflect that.

How much or how badly they do that is the issue of course!

37. My contribution

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Double entendre does not connote decency or vulgarity. It simply a phrase or word with a double meaning. The audience is free to make his own interpretation. If one chooses the vulgar meaning then it is ones choice. The fault with the Ronnie Clarke song is that there is no alternate decent interpretation. To master double entendre one must be clever and more creative than Ronnie Clarke displays in his lyrics.

I would say that Sparrow shows a little more ingenuity.

39. —key so hard,—key so hard,—key so hard,—key so hard,

That line makes the song objectionable to be played on Barbados radio.

De Announcer should do a radio edit and preserve the salacious political commentary.

40. @Hants

His intonations makes a mockery of it.

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

In many instances @Vincent yes he does and very masterfully too… In others he is direct and brash about his intent!

But yes this Ronnie Clarke song is just in your face with his Dickey refrain… He assumed that the reference to it as a name of an author (that was the gist I got from a very brief listen) would save him…but as the Blogmaster states his intonations and link to hard were just too blunt.

Of course the irony is lost on no one that he is a station program manager and part of the team deciding what’s playable lyrics!

He was just being too cute for his own good or said another way it can be argued he was hoisted up by his own cajones !

Suitable entendre double there of his own making!

42. William Skinner Avatar

I agree with Caswell that the calypso is crude. In my opinion it’s crude and badly written.
    However I have no doubt that the ban was executed because the prime minister’s name was mentioned in one of and perhaps the best line of the entire calypso.
    Malik’s Sonia could ride and Gabby’s Dr. Casandra are perhaps two of the better calypsos of the last quarter century.

43. And does anyone really believe that Sach Moore was singing about his house keys when he referred to “de key”?

The song can be heard at: https://youtu.be/n3pcTMch-RE

44. @WS
    After so much noise, there emerges one man who was willing to bell the cat.

Last night I was listening to the song and enjoying it and then I heard the name, Mia. All I could think was “no wonder he got banned”.

We all know this is the reason, but on BU we prefer to write treatise with the aid of a thesaurus ….

Here we go round the mulberry bush,
    The mulberry bush,
    The mulberry bush.
    Here we go round the mulberry bush

45. Comment not directed at the original post… only at the comments

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WILLIAM

RE I agree with Caswell that the calypso is crude. In my opinion it’s crude and badly written. TRUE

RE However I have no doubt that the ban was executed because the prime minister’s name was mentioned in one of and perhaps the best line of the entire calypso. EXACTLY !

otherwise the song contained the perennial and seasonal vulgarities
    whereas for ages in Barbados the commodity which is the subject of the chorus of the song is widely prescribed and is accepted as the need for women, it was not to be suggested that such a common commodity should or could be adduced to wunnah know who for which well know reason

THEO
    RE Last night I was listening to the song and enjoying it and then I heard the name, Mia. All I could think was “no wonder he got banned”.EXACTLY ! LIKE IF SHE IS A SAINT

We all know this is the reason, but on BU we prefer to write treatise with the aid of a thesaurus
    THIS IS ABOLUTELY TRUE OF THIS PARTICULAR COLUMN

SMALL MEN MUST USE BIG WORDS AS THEY SEEK TO IMPRESS….

47. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Depedantic. Dolly Parton and Twitty comparison is a stretch. Give me any examples in country and western music or even hard rock that explicitly talk about cunnilingus, daggering, sexual positions, and all manner of sexual acts. I have never heard one, and I bet you would be hard press to find one. However, you can’t say the same for eg, Rap or Dancehall.This overwhelmingly primitive desire for the flesh in our musical art form shows a lack of creativity.

Arguably, rap music is the most popular genre of music internationally right now, and most of the songs are lyrically crude and filthy. When it’s not bitches and whores they are rapping about it’s ass, titties and dicks. That’s not black excellence at all.

48. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ DPD

Is Sparrow direct and brash ? No way. May be brash but not direct. Moreover, he tells a story with a moral that is imaginative and funny. Lying men . “The bird began to peck and he had to wine”. Hilarity at its peak,me thinks.!

49. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Calypso is supposed to entertain and amuse. If it offends,it does not serve these purposes. The emphasis should be on social commentary not necessarily political.

50. @William

Can you list calypsos banned in 2017 and 2018? Following up on your comment that reading for pleasure was banned because Mia was mentioned.