The blogmaster read the following article over night while perusing the financial newsfeed.

Patriotic Barbadians that understand these matters are obviously concerned negotiations have stalled with external creditors. We have to go with communications being dropped in the public space.

Commonsense support that it is not unusual creditors will push back against having to take a haircut. Barbadians wish the White Oak negotiating team well, as a country we have a lot riding on the best outcome.

Both sides agree the country of 300,000 people needs to cut debt levels. Yet talks have soured in recent weeks over how much of the burden should be borne by creditors in the form of deep haircuts or other terms. For its part, the government said it isn’t willing to negotiate targets established when it took a bailout from the International Monetary Fund last year – extracted from the Bloomberg report

Both sides seem to agree a restructure of the debt is necessary given the high debt burden and current state of the economy. What is at dispute is the amount creditors are being asked to leave on the table. Creditors have to protect their interest and the government having opted to SD will have to make it count given the damage to country’s credit rating and how it will be perceived by lenders.

However the foreign creditors will know that they have an overlapping interest with the government of Barbados. If the economy that is precariously perched on the economic cliff continues were to tank all that will be left is Hobson’s choice.

Time to close the deal!

Barbados Clashes With Creditors in Talks to Cut Greece-Like Debt

Barbados’ prime minister is butting heads with creditors over how to cut one of the world’s largest sovereign debt loads, creating a sticking point in the year-long negotiations to restructure the Caribbean nation’s defaulted dollar bonds.

Talks with foreign creditors have dragged on since last June, when Prime Minister Mia Mottley said she would restructure the island’s “unsustainably high” debt burden. While both sides said they are open to continued negotiation, they appear far from consensus.

A committee of creditors, who hold 55% of outstanding dollar debt, said Wednesday that they plan to unanimously reject a government proposal to exchange defaulted bonds for new debt unless the two sides negotiate together.

“The committee strongly believes that the launch of a unilateral exchange offer by the government of Barbados without the support of the committee will be highly detrimental to the country’s economic stability,” they said in a statement.

Both sides agree the country of 300,000 people needs to cut debt levels. Yet talks have soured in recent weeks over how much of the burden should be borne by creditors in the form of deep haircuts or other terms. For its part, the government said it isn’t willing to negotiate targets established when it took a bailout from the International Monetary Fund last year.

No Compromise

At that time, the government estimated debt had ballooned to about 175% of gross domestic product, meaning it owed around $9 billion. That would have made it one of the world’s most-indebted countries, trailing only a handful of others, including Greece, according to IMF figures. Mottley said she “will not compromise” on the goal of bringing that ratio down to 60% by 2033.

“We leave it to creditors to decide whether this is achieved through a par deal with long tenors and low interest rates, or face value haircuts with shorter tenors and higher interest rates. But the targets must be met in full,” she said in a written response to questions.

Mottley inherited a troubled $5 billion economy when she took office last May. The island known for its white sand beaches had been struggling for years amid competition from less-pricey Caribbean tourism destinations, crumbling infrastructure, and a currency that’s pegged to the U.S. dollar. She quickly struck a $290 million deal with the IMF and restructured about $6 billion in local currency debt.

The government owes around $700 million in dollar bonds, plus bank loans and other foreign debts, according to a spreadsheet posted to a website for creditors in January. Bonds maturing in 2035 have rarely traded in recent months, according to data compiled by Bloomberg.

The creditors committee said it put forth an offer two weeks ago “based on terms that aim to support the government’s debt and reform objectives while creating restructured instruments with broad market acceptance.” The committee said it is made up of long-term investors, regional central banks, individual bondholders and financial institutions and represented by advisers Newstate Partners and Washington-based law firm Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP.

The creditors contend that their offer would have allowed the government to reach its debt target a year later than it wants, according to people familiar with the committee’s negotiations. The committee’s position is that the government’s estimates fail to take into account certain revenue variables and that it is trying force severe restructuring terms on creditors to meet its debt targets, said the people, who were not authorized to discuss the negotiations.

White Oak Advisory, which is representing the government in negotiations, said the creditors’ offer “fails to meet IMF test for debt sustainability, and by quite some margin,” according to an email statement. “It is disappointing that Barbados continues to be faced with this kind of position after almost a year of negotiations.”

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-05-30/barbados-clashes-with-creditors-in-talks-to-cut-greece-like-debt

374 responses to “White Oak and External Creditors: Flirting with Hobson’s Choice”

1. So once you don’t agree with you and David you talking shite! So wunna is the divine gods on finance then? You ever stop to think it might be you that taking shite and spewing terms which you know little about.

I had a parrot that knew 50 words, however if I asked him the meaning of one of them he could not tell me the meaning of it.

2. Where the proof there is higher taxation?

3. Fellows who I got to apply to for a little pick if I tow the party line too? I ain t want much I would even discard my right to free thought and public scrutiny. Actually for a little more I would even wear the red blinkers, even though they might restrict my view and opinion and force me to engage in the defence of yardfowlism!

Wait for that I would dead first!

My mother ain’t raise no sheep. To tell me therefore to proceed smartly and drink from your well of financially tainted wisdom will therefore never occur.

See how eloquently I dispatched you without sinking into the gutter of vulgarity Pachamama and I wasn’t even really trying! LOL

Ok wunna now carry on smartly.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Outside of the poodles who lap up the duopoly’s cool aid, I would say that the discussion about the current mis steps of the government, have been quite interesting.
    Political PR convinced the gullible, that just going to the IMF and then refusing to pay external creditors, was genious.
    Non partisan contributors have exposed this nonsense. It was stated from the beginning that 2033 will be when we are completely out of the woods.
    To join the chorus of those who are suggesting that criticism of the government is somewhat unreasonable because they inherited a difficult circumstance is a sophisticated red herring.
    You have stated repeatedly that the current financial system is under collapse. Yet we find ourselves going begging the very apostles of that system , in the form of the IMF. By your own offerings over the years, it is destined to fail.
    Non partisan contributors are therefore analyzing how best we can utilize this inferior system to our advantage. I repeat that you have already condemned it to failure. I have never heard of a “ successful” IMF program. I said from the out set that it is a medicine and not a cure. The operation may be successful but the patient , as you gave often predicted, will die.
    If you maintain that the system is broken it stands to reason that we are putting ourselves at greater risk by getting on a boat that is springing leaks or buying a house with a roof that cannot be repaired.

5. @ John A

Have you seen the pattern? I have said before it is cultural. No matter the logic, or illogic, the baying dogs keep on barking, while ignoring the substantive issues. It is our educational system. Get used to it.
    I have balance and I hope you do too; I talk to friends and former colleagues, neighbours and strangers who at the very least are rational. There are lots of good people out there, seek them out.
    A returnee once told me that she tried to avoid locals, except when she had to make contact in banks, shopping or paying bills. It was her strategy for remaining sane.

6. Sir William Skinner

This is certainly not the first time Barbados has gone to the IMF. And it maybe not the last either. Were the others not successful if the country was able to get out of such programs previously.

And we have no love for the IMF and certainly not the BLP, it is necessary to approach this matter with a certain kind of determination. Why? To see whether in the short and medium term Barbados can navigate itself out of this mess. That is our interests.

We stand by our master narrative about the future of capitalism, financialization. The financial system, as you put it.

But within that we have a particular set of circumstances to judge. A minor narrative.

We see no contradictions between master narrative and minor narrative.

You may think about this level of analysis with concentric circles, if you will. With master narrative the outer circle and minor narrative the innermost circle.

Sir William, we invite you to examine other economic and financial failures of a similar magnitude to that we have been predicting.

Because we have made prediction about the future, how do you then convince everybody else about your concerns? Do we stop doing everything else because of such predictions? Must life enter stasis and await the inevitable collapse predicted? Then there is the gap between predictions and actual outcomes, how is that to be measured with accuracy?

We are sure that your answers will demonstrate the realities of life.

7. Barbados became a member of the IMF in the 70s. It is there for a reason. When countries f**k up. Barbados in May given its low level of foreign reserves and junk status credit rating (one above SD) was in danger of defending the peg.

You guys and gals can take it from there…

8. This is my final reply to the naysayers on here like john A,Barbados 2019 , Hal Austin and particulaly William Skinner.This government inherited a government in crisis due to poor management for 10 years,that Mr Skinner is a fact not a red herring which you cannot dispute.Hence they had little option than to default or run out of foreign exchange.Therefore they took the sensible option.What is interesting is Dr Worrell who was a key figure in the last government is now an advisor to these creditors.In my view something smells rotten here but everything will be worked out in the interest of Barbados not the overseas bellyaching bajans.

9. Can the DLP say they inherited a government in crisis after 14 yrs of BLP rule? Grow up, you idiots. Stop blaming each other and come forward with workable plans.

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Pachamama

Carry on smartly. If you do not want material, that is irrelevant to the issues at hand, to be discussed,do not introduce them. Bloggers are not as ignorant as you would like them to be. But I am glad you did. It revealed a lot more than you intended.

11. The DLP inherited a government with foreign reserves at what level again?

The IMF intervention in 2018 was triggered by our inability to earn and to and extent borrow to defend the peg and maintain adequate import cover.

Will resist using the idiot word at you.

#idiot

12. Hal re your post of 5.09

Yes I noticed that once you question anything the government does you are anti government, even if you use facts to support your questions.
    Did you read the earlier comment by a loyalist who said people who question the state should be gassed? Hail Hitler to you too then.

The next approach is to use the DLP did this and the BLP did that. Now if that fails they then move to name calling and obscenity. When the fails they disappear for a while.

13. William Skinner Avatar

I don’t reply to apologists. Pacha isn’t an apologist. The duopoly continues to destroy the country. May they all burn in the political hell.

14. David I agree with you about us going to the IMF as we needed low interest financing and oversight. I also don’t fault the debt restructuring as it will save us money on debt service. Where I think many differ is they are not convinced that government has done enough to cut their spending and has instead placed too much of a burden on the bond holders. We have all heard persons speak of the bloated cabinet etc. Again all are entitled to their view.

On the foreign debt restructuring I think reading the FT article and Bloomberg, that the creditors are not happy with the level of discussions that have taken place. They basically confirmed this in both articles. That combined with no payment for 12 months and being told that no payments will be received for the next 12 , is not the best basis for the discussion of debt restructuring can we agree on that?

15. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

“A returnee once told me that she tried to avoid locals, except when she had to make contact in banks, shopping or paying bills. It was her strategy for remaining sane.”

Like a minefield, with live mines, the mis-education system does more harm than good.

the leaders are destructive forces.

16. William Skinner Avatar

Cuss those living overseas but accept the barrels and money they send and invite them to a reunion in 2020 to give the economy a boost. BTW don’t forget the hotel rooms, fetes and hired cars the Bajan Yankees use forex to help the struggling economy during crop over.
    Imbeciles !!!!

17. Barbados 2019 Avatar

@ Hal

Can the DLP say they inherited a government in crisis after 14 yrs of BLP rule? Grow up, you idiots. Stop blaming each other and come forward with workable plans.
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Spot on.

Most of the people living overseas I highly respect their opinions as most times they are not looking through blinkers but at the big picture.

Why I also have respect is that they have made a good living for them and their families outside of Barbados and don’t have to be a part of a suppresive culture limiting their thought process and freedom of expression.

The reason Mia wants them in 2020 not because of their vision and experience but to take their financial gains made overseas.

I am however happy they are able to see the thorns from the roses.

It is good to question everything especially by these Politicians who are now on the same levels as the corrupt in Guyana and elsewhere.

18. “The ugly man from England seems to be asking some questions which, in just briefly looking at them, seem to veer miles away from the issue raised initially. That question related to the importance of non-payment for up to 24 months on sovereign debt. He cited the Chinese to suggest that a SD and nonpayment for 24 months means the end of the world for his paradise-home.”

Oh RH, have I not reiterated over the past few weeks that the neck and height challenged former Editor vacillates, moves the pole and practices intellectual dishonesty to save face? I know wunna doan listen to me because of my 🐝 status but don’t forget that I am not ac.😂😂

19. Barbados 2019 Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    This is my final reply to the naysayers on here like john A,Barbados 2019 , Hal Austin and particulaly William Skinner.This government inherited a government in crisis due to poor management for 10 years,that Mr Skinner is a fact not a red herring which you cannot dispute.Hence they had little option than to default or run out of foreign exchange.Therefore they took the sensible option.What is interesting is Dr Worrell who was a key figure in the last government is now an advisor to these creditors.In my view something smells rotten here but everything will be worked out in the interest of Barbados not the overseas bellyaching bajans.
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcx

Divide and Rule.

NOW you have local Bajans versus overseas Bajans.

BLP vs DLP.

All smoke and mirrors to deflect from the real issues of lack of transparency, no Integrity Laws as promised, No Minimum Wage increase for the Masses as promised in BLP MANIFESTO and Mia in first 6 months.

We have continued mismanagement and GROSS corruption still ongoing in 2019.

20. Why was Colin Jordan so misleading the public on brasd tacks
    Almost on every issue to which he responded their was evidence of halftruths

21. William Skinner Avatar

Minister’s blanket statement: White Oak saved 3500 jobs.
    Question:How ? Where ? Why was this not stated before ?
    Answer: You want Barbados to fail.
    You are a traitor .The government took over a bad economy. You are a naysayer. You live overseas. You are a Dee.
    Question: Why did Stuart refuse to level about Cahill:
    Answer: it’s in Barbados interest. Why so many questions. Go and live somewhere else. You are a Bee.
    Anybody seeing hope in BLPDLP needs serious help.

Duopoly Rules.

22. Really amazed at the answers Jordon gave as to how White Oaks saved jobs when govt intent was to send home less
    When this fiasco is finished the courts cost and fees paid to White Oaks would put barbados in free fall
    It is obviuos that govt has not been at all truthful in its dealings and Jordon utterances spoke well as sufficient proof
    Jordon was a dismissal failure on brass tacks

23. Enuff

Everybody on BU, maybe elsewhere as well, knowns the modus operandi of Halton Austin, aka the ugly man from England.

He’s been doing the same said operation for decades now.

This is how it goes. First, he raises a question to test his adversary’s knowledge. Not that he necessarily knows the answer, himself! Most times he’s just fishing.

Once a more than adequate reply is given, he quickly changes the subject away from the specifics of the original question or inquiry.

God help yuh if any aspect of the response is unclear, imprecise, or beyond his tiny circle of knowledge.

Austin will then see such as a chink in one’s armour and would bring up the slightest mis-statement, again and again, for years. Halton Austin is nothing less than an internet parasite!

At times this writer finds it most difficult to try to explain complex subjects in fewest words possible. Yet Austin seems to expect contributors to transfer 30 years of expertise in a soundbite.

24. David

Lord have mercy!

Did we ever see any such timely communication about critical matters from the last DLP duopoly regime forces.

25. @Pacha

No but if we accept that government is a continuum one expects the BLP to do the job. It will be interesting for example to see how the government responds to Guy Mayers’s column about the whispered sale of LIAT shares. Mind you these people were part of a government dubbed the ‘the government of silence’.

26. @ Pachamama
    ””’Carry on smartly. If you do not want material, that is irrelevant to the issues at hand, to be discussed,do not introduce them. Bloggers are not as ignorant as you would like them to be. But I am glad you did. It revealed a lot more than you intended.”””

There must be a misunderstanding. We just wanted to answer a single question raised, not be drawn into teaching a PhD course around the areas of strategic default (SD) on a blog.

We would never associate the word ‘ignorant’ with you and most other bloggers. However, there are clear and notable exceptions to that general disposition.

This writer has not in the past, is not now, and will not in the future, deliberately withhold information which maybe in the public’s interest.

What you might have sensed was a reluctance to present overly complicated issues to a readership which might not be as knowledgeable in your area, as you obviously are. That’s all!

You may have the last word!

27. David

What is the recent political or journalistic history of this Guy Mayers.

28. @Pacha

He is a policeman by upbringing. He is one of many policemen who studied law as a pathway from the force. Given his DLP bent he has become entangled in the DLP party hierarchy. To augment the effort he was allowed a column in the Barbados Advocate whose publisher SIR Anthony Bryan has been a supporter in the DLP years. He also raised his profile along with Verla and Hal by speaking to legal matters not withstanding his rookie status.

29. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Mayers’ journalistic “ path “ is consistent with every other party columnist in the country.
    Nothing new or unusual here. Ask Ezra Alleyne of the Nation.

Duopoly Rules

30. @William

You need to expand your comment to provide context. Ezra Alleyne limits his content to matters related to the Constitution (Westminster system)_and related legal matters about which he is labelled a subject matter expert. Guy Mayers writes about anything.

31. So what if he is a policeman
    By all accounts he is a citizen
    However his comments in the Advocate today speaks volume of an altruistic attempt by present govt to avoid publicly engaging the public on a right to know how and where they taxes are being dispersed in the case of Liat
    What Myerson underscore was a blantant attempt by Mia to hide information behind close doors( unlike Browne) who scolded Mia as being pretentious and manipulative

32. You should reread the comment this time with comprehension. On second thoughts this maybe a challenge for you.

33. William Skinner Avatar

Ezra Alleyne writes a pro BLP column. He stoutly defends all BLP policies.
    Mayers writes a pro DLP column. He stoutly defends all DLP policies.
    Occasionally they both surprise readers with a general column.
    Please lift your game. Stop your puerile attempts to mislead people who take time to contribute to your blog.

Duopoly Rules

34. Sir William

We read the article cited and were amazed that such a writer could make a leap from an issue relating to a slight difference between the public relations cultures/strategies of two (2) Caribbean prime ministers and Germany’s Third Reich under Adolf Hitler.

It was jarring to see such a leap. Wow!

35. @William

You should calm down and stop showing your yellow johns. Check the question asked by Pacha and see the blogmaster’s response.

36. Freedom Crier June 1, 2019 1:00 PM

BARBADOS PROSPERITY STARTS WITH THE INDIVIDUAL. IF YOU DESIRE CHANGE BETHE CHANGE, DREAM BIG, WORK HARD, CREATE WEALTH! THE RESULT ‘EVERYONE BENEFITS’. THE PSYCHOLOGY OF SUCCESS AND WEALTH…

NO, THE RICH DON’T GET RICH AT THE EXPENSE OF THE POOR

“Most rich people do not become rich because they take from the poor, but because they create a great benefit for others.”

Many people believe that the rich only become rich at the expense of others. This world view is also called zero-sum thinking because its adherents regard economic life as a zero-sum game, just like tennis, where one player has to lose for the other to win. In his poem “Alfabet,” the German poet Bertolt Brecht formulated this zero-sum mindset as follows:
    “Said the poor man with a twitch:

Were I not poor, you wouldn’t be rich.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240058/bwa-pay

This is how the rich get rich, ya igrunt bleep!

Poor people have been keeping the BWA afloat so that the rich can make their money and pay a pittance to their workers.

Now you have almost zero taxes to pay. Pay ya damn water bills, you thieves!

37. William Skinner Avatar

For you to say that Ezra Alleyne “limits” his offerings to constitutional and west minister matters is a blatant lie.

@ Pacha
    You should not be surprised it is no different from the apologists on BU calling people traitors and unpatriotic because they don’t defend the duopoly. That too is” jarring. You should realize by now that a collective ignorance has invaded the country.

Duopoly Rules

38. Dsvid BU ,this Guy William Skinner is a Dem apologist.Therefore do not be fooled by him.He normslly starts by trying to equate the BLP and the DLP Anyone with a modicum of common sense to compare a government wbo had 24 downgrades leaving us at virtual junk bond status to any other government would have to be a madman.However,this isr Skinner,s way of operating in his effort to pull down the BLP at all costs, in the hope that they fail and his Dems can return but it will not happen.

39. @William

You forgot to mention that he wrote about related legal matters?

Can you point to any articles written by Alleyne which do not fit the parameter outlined? The blogmaster is always willing to apologize if proved wrong unlike a few commenters on the blog.

40. Lorenzo instead of attacking
    Why dont u speak to the on going issues that are affecting the people because of govt policies
    We have people protesting the insenstive actions of this govt some of which are horrfic
    Hiding behind close doors to implement measure that would erode at the social network of this country
    Hence a lady having to resort to shaming govt while in view of public eye asking govt to do the right thing on her behalf so she can feed her family
    This is not the first time also another lady took to social media shaming govt to give her the benefits that she had earned while she was employed
    Lorenzo dont u have no shame to poked your face and put pen to paper in defense of this insenstive govt

41. William Skinner Avatar

@ for those who have not consumed the cool aid of Roebuck and or George Street

I have long been anti B and D going back to the mid seventies . First with Barrow and the 1974 Public Order Act and then as very active trade unionist when I came to grips with the legislation of salaries by both parties.
    Attempts to define me on BU have all failed because I have been consistent. For those who have some comprehension left, from these comments , they would see that I lost all respect for the duopoly going back forty plus years. Long before downgrades , IMF Cahill White Oak etc.
    I maintain close friendships within both parties. They all know my position. In conversations they tell me that both parties are the same and that people like me should choose one or the other because they know that I cannot be bought or sold.
    Please note: I never respond to apologists. Only to those who have demonstrated an ability to comprehend basic debate and or subject matter.
    Whenever any controversy comes up any body can draw comparisons and discover we don’t change governments. We simply change parties.
    Hyatt Sandals Cahill White Oak
    Same old same old. Pot calling kettle black.
    May the BLPDLP burn in the political hell they equally deserve.

Duopoly Rules.

42. both DLP and BLP mismanage Bim. they just do it in different ways. where as the BLP is arrogant the DLP is indifferent.

it seems to me that since 76 or thereabouts there seems to have been a political understanding in place where the BLP would borrow and spend and the DLP would come in and impose measures to pay for the BLP’s borrowing. the DLP would then lose and the BLP would come back in and borrow.

that is why you hear voters saying that when the BLP is in power money circulates and the white business people spend. not true. white business people have never invested in Bim beyond what is necessary to survive. they wait and depend on the largesse of the govt. -either one but mostly the BLP.

however in this cycle silent Stewart would not play his part either through stubbornness or incompetence and it is now left to the BLP to do a DLP job- how ironic.

sometimes i believe that is what angers the BLP the most- that this time around the DLP did not impose austerity measures to rescue the economy. instead the DLP worked with whites, added to the deficit and left it for the BLP to fix.

who says life is fair

43. @David

In the interest of full transparency the Dullard thinks you should come clean and declare your interests. Why pretend to be a neutral observer when your argumentation continues to betray your position?

@Pacha
    The abstract to the article you posted doesn’t really convince. It is but one way to broach and approach the problem. If you search a bit more you will find equally sophisticated methods which reach different conclusions. But of course you already know this.

44. @Dullard

Come clean by saying what?

Please state the reason to inform your statement. Some of you are if the incorrect view the blogmaster of Barbados Underground should be afraid to share his opinions. You are so wrong!

45. What Guyson Mayers should tell Barbadians is how transparent was his appointment to the $300,000 consultancy he got under the DLP. Was it advertised or put out to tender as he now sees fit for the appointment of sovereign debt consultants? Or was it a selective contract because of his “expertise”? At least we have evidence that White Oak has actually done work. Where is similar proof of Mayers’ results prior to the $300,000 contract and after? Don’t forget his stint as Chairman of the Police Services Commission.

THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT is spending big bucks to ensure it has the right systems in place to fight money laundering and terrorism financing within our shores.

THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT is spending big bucks to ensure it has the right systems in place to ght money laundering and terrorism nancing within our shores. So serious is the Freundel Stuart Administration that two weeks ago the Cabinet agreed to hire attorney at law Guyson Mayers for 15 months and pay him $300 000 to lead the effort. And it has set aside almost as much to support the exercise, including spending $224 000 to purchase “technical tools” from the World Bank to get the job done. Mayers, a former acting director of the Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU), will oversee the National Risk Assessment and Mutual Evaluation Exercise of the Anti-money Laundering and Counter Financing of Terrorism Regime of Barbados. To undertake the assessment and evaluation, the project will bring together 26 state and private sector agencies, including the Central Bank, police, customs, Director of Public Prosecutions, Solicitor General, Barbados Bankers Association, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados, the Credit Union League, Barbados Bar Association, dealers in precious metals and stones as well as trust and corporate service providers.

In explaining how it arrived at the selection of Mayers, the Office of the Attorney General said that the expertise required was not widely available in Barbados “and is limited to people who worked at the FIU, the Central Bank and similar.

46. Dullard

Yes, of course!

All we wanted to do was to show that the leading conceptual models employed are rigorous enough to account for nonpayment of sovereign foreign debt for a period, or periods, of time. That’s all!

In addition, when one looks at the abstract, it is also possible to gleam, even compare/contrast some of the initial actions by the GoB, even in the same order, as those proffered.

Lastly, the full document is available by request to the authors.

47. Only on BU to ask a question is to become a suspect. I asked before, and do so again:

Plse explain the economics of cutting off the automatic stabiliser, not only will the income of consumers be reduced, but they will become more cautious and save more. Is this not true? Does fiscal contraction make a recession worse?
    If we have six more years of this stagnation – leading to falling taxation and a rising deficit – won’t government austerity make the situation worse? And, given that government has defaulted on its foreign debt, does that not rule out gilt sales, off loading the debt, to big financial institutions and shadow banks?
    Apart from the conventional macroeconomic remedies, won’t such a policy pose a threat to the social order? Is there a case for fiscal stimulus? Do you believe the prime minister is being badly advised?(Quote)

48. “In explaining how it arrived at the selection of Mayers, the Office of the Attorney General said that the expertise required was NOT widely AVAILABLE in Barbados “and is limited to people who worked at the FIU, the Central Bank and similar.”

Isn’t the hiring of White Oak taken from the same old playbook,,, expertise not available (widely available) on the island.
    At some stage we all have to admit, different set of players but always the same game.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    You are a traitor. You want the government to fail. You are a die hard Dee. You should not even be talking because you live overseas.
    BTW please come home in 2020 to the big family reunion; continue to promote the country to people you meet overseas.

Duopoly Rules