You are wealthy when the money you have invested is giving you enough money to pay for your monthly expenses.  Responsible investment guidance was clear until the end of 2018.  Now, much of that guidance has been proven not to work, and must be revised.

Before November 2018, there was near unanimous agreement that the most secure investments on our planet, were the treasury bills of governments that respected individual property rights.  Therefore, every person on Earth with a retirement savings and/or pension plan, likely had much of it invested in such treasury bills.

In October 2018, our Government passed a law to confiscate a significant amount of our collective retirement savings and pensions.  There was no opportunity for the vast majority of investors to be heard.  The financial institutions that managed our investments appeared to be politically compromised.  They stopped acting in the best financial interests of investors, and instead appeared to support grand larceny, by allowing the confiscation of our money without our consent.

Confidence in the Government’s ability to properly regulate private investment companies in Barbados was already shaken by the Trade Confirmers and CLICO scandals.  However, the confiscation of our retirement savings and pensions was a warning for us to seek better investment guidance.  That is the focus of the remainder of this article.

Steps to Investing

To put investing for wealth in context, consider a mortgage.  Each of us may deposit money in our bank account.  The bank pools this money and offers a family a 30-year mortgage of say $300,000.  The family must repay the $300,000 of our money, plus interest of about $400,000 for a total repayment of about $700,000.

What we get back is essentially the $300,000 we invested.  The bank keeps the $400,000 interest payment and gets wealthy.  You receive whatever you put in and get to live hand-to-mouth.  Do not worry, most of us are in the same stupid boat.  So what can we do about it?

Deciding to get out of the boat is the first step.  Avoid paying interest is the second, and making wise investments is the third.  To demonstrate that you have taken the first step, and to prepare you for the third, start to freely invest in others.

There are several Barbadian products that are of an international standard.  We can facilitate them getting global recognition if we all agreed to promote, at the same time, one product on our social media sites each week.  Why should we unselfishly promote others’ products?  Because we would want others to unselfishly promote our products.

The second step is to avoid paying interest.  Credit cards should be paid in full or not used.  Potential homeowners can avoid mortgage interest payments by working together.  For example, 100 families can form a company to construct 100 starter houses for themselves, by paying the company $2,000 each month for 8 years, instead of paying the bank $2,000 for 30 years.

Each 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom house can be constructed for under $200,000, and within 6 months.  To reduce defaulting risks, each participating family should have already secured their land.  This risk can also be managed by allowing those who have secured their land to have their houses constructed first.

The final step is to make wise investments.  You are likely to get a faster return on your investment if you pooled it with others.  For example, 100 people can invest $1,000 each to manage an event.  To protect your investment, the event should be cancelled if it cannot attract enough participants to make it profitable.

Losing It All

Can you lose your entire investment in such initiatives?  Yes.  If the person managing the business intends to steal your money, they can easily do so.  The risk of losing your money in this manner is significantly reduced by investigating the professional reputation and personal integrity of the persons managing the investments.  In Barbados, the pool of trust-worthy managers has been muddied considerably, so that selecting a competent and honest person is like a lottery.

Previously, trusting a politician, lawyer, banker, professional, or senior manager was automatic.  However, politicians regularly accuse each-other of gross corruption, lawyers are commonly accused of misappropriating their client’s money, and many managers received unmerited promotions for political reasons.  Therefore, the risk of selecting an unqualified person is unacceptably high.  Tragically, the risk of overlooking a highly qualified person is even higher.

Political operatives normally try to damage the good professional and personal reputations of our most accomplished citizens, if they deem them threats to their political party.  They have also interpreted their instructions to mean that the national economy must be reserved for supporters of the political party they worship.  These irresponsible actions can sabotage promising wealth initiatives that can lift many out of poverty.  Their political masters can change this divisive and corrupting system any time they wish by issuing new instructions, but they never do.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

136 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Get Out of the Stupid Boat”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Thank you.
    “What would they be for?”
    The Local Innovation Bonds would be to provide a secure investment for Bajans as well as to provide local entrepreneurs with a source of investment funds.

“What are the features?”
    Not sure what you are asking here

“Who will underwrite them?”
    A nonprofit organization with robust governance and access to international development grant capital.

“Will they be tradable?”
    No

“Will they be regular, savings or structured bonds?”
    Savings bonds

“Will they be commercial or government bonds?”
    Commercial

“Will there be a secondary market?”
    No, not necessary

“What about the coupons, would they be payable monthly, quarterly, half-yearly or when redeemed?”
    No coupons; payable monthly

“What is the proposed fiscal advantage of investing in local innovation bonds?”
    Guaranteed return unlike mutual funds; much better returns than savings accounts; better returns than investment certificates provided by the likes of Sagicor or Consolidated Finance

“What about distribution: through the central bank, retail banks or corporates?”
    Distribution through the nonprofit corporation that underwrites them

P.S. I NEVER swipe ideas. Sharing with attribution is NOT swiping.

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “What about the coupons…”
    +++++++
    By answering no coupons I mean that I don’t think that these would be bearer bonds. I envision that there will be records of the purchaser kept by the issuer; the purchaser’s name will be recorded on the certificate and the monthly interest payments will be due to the purchaser. I don’t think that it would be an advantage to create or facilitate a secondary market in these instruments or encourage any derivative investments based on them.

3. @ Georgie Porgie May 8, 2019 1:41 PM
    “ASSTIN
    YOU ASKING PLT FOR HIS ORIGINAL IDEAS………….YET YOU DELIGHT IN NAME CALLING ABOUT ALL THE FOLK YOU READ AND HOB NOBBED WITH AND YOU CITE THEIR OPINIONS
    DO YOU YOURSELF HAVE ANY ORIGINAL IDEAS”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“Ass tin” the name-dropper does promulgate “original ideas” alright.

Like spending the country’s foreign exchange reserves borrowed from the IMF to convert the country’s post offices into branches of a national bank called the “Small & Poor Piggy Bank of the Failed State Barbados”.

Barbados cannot even properly manage its toy-sized public transport system far less a bank with branches in every two-bit parish no bigger than a village.

4. @PLT

Just as I suspected. I am out of this discussion. Do some more reading and come again. Stop bluffing. You are misleading Barbadians/BU readers.

5. In a perfect world no one would pay interest on a mortgage
    But since the most powerful are in charge of the financial structure of an economy
    There will be a guarantee which will ensure those without financial might pay interest on mortgages
    All these financial apparatus are built on legal scam mechanisms to enpower the most wealthy
    Reason why Amazon does not pay taxes and Trump says only idiots pay taxes

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grenville
    I think that it would potentially benefit anyone to reduce the interest that they pay in order to own their home. The way you framed the idea seemed to restrict it to new builds, not purchasing a home on the secondary market… is this so?

I am not certain how you would structure the entity that managed the financial assets of the group of 100 homeowners… a cooperative structure seems appropriate. However we already have financial cooperatives called credit unions… why have credit unions not innovated in making home finance more rational?

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I am out of this discussion
    GOOD IDEA ASSTIN
    COCKROACH AINT GOT NO CALLING BEFORE FOWL COCK

YOU ALWAYS, LIKE DPD, TRYING TO PUNCH ABOVE YOUR WEIGHT CAUSE YOU DONT KNOW THAT YOU IN DE BULLSHIT CLASS

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “I am out of this discussion.”
    I am disappointed. If I am misleading Barbadians/BU readers that should be very easy for you to demonstrate. I would honestly be very grateful for the opportunity to learn.

9. Plse say that in Patwa. It has a certain rhythm when you say it in your country accent.

10. this is what you two call insulting each other….pathetic
    I can’t fault the HC scholar, he is sensitive snowflake who is always worried about people not wanting him around or David blocking his posts. He would not have survived a week at Cawmere.
    But you Hal, you went Cawmere, you should be a skilled practitioner at trading barbs

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

when my mother calls, I will ask her how to respond to you in French creole OK
    you see my granny and daddy did not permit mummy to teach us patois——what a shame
    i enjoy our bajan patois as well as the jamaican patois

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

who is always worried about people not wanting him around or David blocking his posts.
    NOT AT ALL
    I JUST TINK THAT IF HE ALLOWS THE VOLUME OF SHIT THAT IS POSTED HE SHOULD ALLOW MY POSTS WHEN I AM HAMMERING A MORONt

RE He would not have survived a week at Cawmere. THANK GOD FOR DELIVERING ME FROM AMIDST THE———————– LOL

13. @ Redguard,

I can swap punches with the best, but sometimes I try to be serious occasionally. Here is a man calling for investment bonds, which he is calling saving bonds, who des not know the features of the instruments, and the purpose is to fund entrepreneurs ie small and medium enterprises.
    In other words they are high risk (70 per cent of new businesses fail within three years) and, joke of all jokes, under-written by an NGO. Further, when asked about fiscal incentives talks about guaranteed returns. He is clearly a Bernie Madoff.
    THAT IS NOT A FISCAL INCENTIVE, DO DO. Further, he is making this proposal less than a year after the BLP government defaulted on its debt obligations.
    If a sixth former had made these proposals in an essay I would mark him/her down. It is financial illiteracy.

14. Redgaurd
    Did you see ASSTIN at Cmere? The guy keep saying it but the piffle he writes suggests he learned nothing if indeed he went there.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ASSTIN

MY MUM TELLS ME TO TELL YOU TO CHOU MA MOW AND CHOU MAMA MA NOW OK?

16. William Skinner Avatar

Grenville
    Have you heard about school halls and community centers? Your ideas need to be put to the masses.
    You have a major problem because you apparently believe that your votes will only come from some group that you think possesses the ability to understand your positions.
    Until you get into the community and contest your convictions, you are merely wasting time.
    The BLPDLP are bankrupt of ideas and have nothing of true significance to offer.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Glad to see you back. I am making this proposal BECAUSE the BLP government defaulted on its debt obligations. We need to get political manipulation away from the investment markets.

If you had actually read the article and analyses written by the financier who invented this type of instrument you would have a more cogent critique. I encourage you to indulge your curiosity.

Yes, 70% of new businesses fail within a few years because most people starting a new business don’t have a clue. It is actually not difficult at all to sort the ones that are hopeless from the ones that have promise. Venture capitalists do it routinely, but they also reject the businesses that will be simply successful but not make them rich as Croesus. Venture capitalists reject 99% of the proposals that they get, including many for good profitable businesses.

18. Small brain visitor entering.

I see that the brainiacs are going to put you out of this room. Looks like they called up the red, blue and green guards.

I gun try to support ya but my brain is like a hand scanner… these guys using truck scanners.

19. Nice to know an elderly woman is telling her elderly professionally trained son what to tell me in Patwa. Says a lot about parent and son.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@GPII
    so your desire is we avoid the lead in banter and focus on the house/mortgage idea.

#1 You can produce a max of 12 houses/yr with the funds inflowing $2K x12mths x100families
    #2 12.5 families will get a house in yr1, while the other 88 have to wait, and “pay for’ living accomodations elsewhere
    #3 another 12.5 will get a house in yr2, leaving only 75 to provide alternate housing ETC ETC

This is stumbling block A? The #96 occupier has housing costs for 7.5 years, that occupier #2 does not have? 8 years is a long time, costs are sure to rise over 8 years? To build at the rate suggested, you must have buy in from all 100 families, or you are short the money to pay for current construction. And these lots are scattered, meaning construction economies of scale are lost? If any family backs out at any time, you are ‘short’, unless they can sell their investment to date to another. Do you plan to be the builder?

Since you known local costs well, my question is what would be a house which costs you $192,000 to build, be worth if resold to a ‘non-investor’?

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Nice to know an elderly woman is telling her elderly professionally trained son what to tell me in Patwa. Says a lot about parent and son.

YES INDEED SIR
    WE ARE VERY VERY CLOSE EVEN THOUGH SHE IS SO FAR AWAY IN BIM
    I SHARED THE BULLSHIT THAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN HERE ON BU ABOUT HER ——SHE LAUGHED JUST AS I LAUGH AT YOUR IGNORANCE

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ NorthernObserver

I wonder effin dese feller knew who you is financially effin dem would write down dis pup heah pun BU?

Look how you jes put a torpedo through The Lied Grenville Phillips half baked shy$e idea bout self financing su su.

So why you mean to tell me is dat effin I was investor 100 in he su su, and I was to support he jackas idea dst 8 years later I would not be in my house, but would still be paying money into Lied Grenville Phillips su su

AS WELL AS PAYING TENT???

And he want to be prime Minister??

Whu he jes as foolish as Stinkliar!!!

23. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

• peterlawrencethompson
    May 8, 2019 1:39 PM

…@Freedom Crier
    RE..The venture capitalist behind BITT is an American, Patrick Byrne (the entrepreneur who owns Overstock.com).
    There are no venture capitalists in Barbados….

BITT is a Financial Technology company that utilizes blockchain and distributed ledger technology. BITT is not a venture capitalist.

THE NUCLEOLUS OF BIT WAS STARTED IN BARBADOS BY THE YOUNG ENTREPRENEUR GABRIEL ABED WHO BROUGHT IN A PARTNER IN HIS BITT COMPANY… GABBY FURTHER SOUGHT OUT TWO VENTURE CAPITAL PERSONS, THE FIRST ONE BEING A TRINIDADIAN WHO FUNDED BITT TO TAKE IT TO THE NEXT LEVEL…

SO PLEASE DO NOT GIVE AWAY BRIGHT IDEAS OF A BAJAN BY GIVING THE CREDIT TO OTHERS…

http://mikekerr.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/bigstock-Bright-Idea-5453884.jpg

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Freedom Crier
    You are confusing venture capitalists with the Trinidadian angel investor. In any case you have proved my point… there are no venture capitalists in Barbados. There are very few angel investors either.

25. @ Redguard
    this is what you two call insulting each other….pathetic
    I can’t fault the HC scholar, he is sensitive snowflake who is always worried about people not wanting him around or David blocking his posts. He would not have survived a week at Cawmere.
    But you Hal, you went Cawmere, you should be a skilled practitioner at trading barbs.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxcxxx

You give the fake Doctor GP posting under an anonymous alias way too much credit.

No one has a way of verifying who he is portraying to be.

Just like his sidekick with the defunct GoFundme Account amd madeup firebombing by Mia and Associates.

No one knows WHO these 2 madeup characters really are including schools attended and qualifications if any.

Beware of false Prophets and schemers.

26. @PLT

It’s imprecise to state that there are no angel investors or venture capitalists in Barbados.

Given that there are no developed markets for such, that business interactions might not be so called, however there is nothing about the struggles of Bajans which would preclude us from having some formation of such, even as ‘unsophisticated’ as it maybe.

This writer has seen, many times, cooperation between individuals and/or entities which equate to such.

We can also cite several cases in which there was personal involvement.

27. Hi Northern:

Thank-you for your queries.

The benefits are that you can own your house in 8 years, and save $400,000 in interest payments.

In response to your concerns.

A-The last set of 12 persons will get their houses in 8 years, the previous 12 in 7 years etc. This can be addressed by having those in the 100-investor group who are willing to get their houses at different times. Those who want their houses later may be single persons living with their parents, or anyone who wants a long-term investment.

B-The increase in construction costs is included in the contingency amount to bring the total to $200,000. The cost does not include any savings for neighbouring lots.

C-If the business cannot attract 100 investors, then each will have to pay over a longer period of time. It is better to attract close to 100 investors or not proceed.

D-If any investor back-out, then another investor can take their place. If their house has been constructed, then it can either be sold or an investor whose house has not yet been constructed can occupy it.

E-I am not a contractor. So no, I will not be building the houses.

F-The house can be sold to a non-investor for about $250,000.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

fc
    re THE NUCLEOLUS OF BIT WAS STARTED IN BARBADOS BY THE YOUNG ENTREPRENEUR GABRIEL ABED

do you mean NUCLEOLUS OR NUCLEUS

SIGNED
    fake Doctor GP posting under an anonymous alias
    MURDA

29. So Piece calls my name once more. Let me again warn the gallery.

Piece, by his own admission, had dedicated himself to Atherley’s party on a BU post dated 18 August 2018. He then dedicated himself to attacking me on 26 September 2018 – for no discernible reason other than I am standing in his way.

Piece’s actions appear to be one of a lunatic – you may examine the evidence and decide for yourselves. He publicly plotted to overthrow PM Mottley, and even tried to get crowd-funding for his stupid treasonous initiative – which he actually boasted about here on BU. His own documented actions are ample evidence to convict him.

The authorities will sort him our shortly since treason does not go unnoticed. Since misery loves company, and he knows his time is limited, he is trying to bait people to attract similar treason and defamation burdens that he is already laden with. Why? To see how many he can take down with him.

They are coming for you Piece.

https://youtu.be/EimfRBK5yx0

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

They are coming for you Piece.

YOU GOT TO RUN AND HIDE UNDER YUH MUDDA BED
    YOU GOT TO BE NIMBLE NIMBLE NIMBLE LIKE KIMBLE

STOP INCITING FOLK TO JOIN YOU IN PROCLAIMING THAT SOLUTIONS BARBADOS AINT GOT NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

FC AND DUMBVILLE ARE FUNNIER THAN THE DUMBOCRATS IN DE USA

BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

31. @Grenville;
    “He publicly plotted to overthrow PM Mottley, and even tried to get crowd-funding for his stupid treasonous initiative – which he actually boasted about here on BU. His own documented actions are ample evidence to convict him.”

Grenville for goodness’ sake, dont be ridiculous. Trying to organize a third party movement does not equate to treason; saying that she is a one term government, does not equate to treason. if that were the case all the posters and blogs he wrote to help bring down the DLP would also be treasonous, no? But at that time you were running and thought you would at least get a few seats. That did not materialize, so now that Mia, who Piece was instrumental in electing, gave you a pick, he is now treasonous and should be arrested. For what? Mia is not a monarch. Trying to defeat a political party at elections is not treasonous.

32. Freedom Crier Avatar

Georgie Porgie May 8, 2019 6:45 PM

FREEDOM CRIER
    RE GP’s your Parting words to Freedom last evening were “PEACE AND PIECE AND LOVE MUH DEAR…Georgie Porgie May 7, 2019 3:08 PM
    In my Discernment and Interpretation of your departing comment, that was not well wishes but a dog whistle for Pieces the Legion to come after me…
    ACTUALLY THAT WAS A PUN………A PLAY ON THE WORDS “PEACE AND PIECE” LOL ding dong you are wrong”.

AM I GP? YOU HAVE STILL HAVE NOT CALLED OUT YOUR PATHOLOGICAL FRIEND PIECES THE LEGION FOR HIS FOR HIS REPROACHFUL AND SEWER COMMENTS TO FREEDOM…YOU KNOW WHAT THEY SAY, “SILENCE IS CONSENT”. ‘NO’ GP FREEDOM IS NOT WRONG.

PLEASE CONSIDER THIS EXCERPT FROM…Understanding, Part 12: Perspectives Building on what we know…Soon to be Published …“THIS IS RUBBISH”
    WHY GP, BECAUSE YOU HAVE NEVER CONSIDERED THE INSIGHT OFFERED BEFORE…
    RE… “NO because I am a serious scholar who read serious commentaries, and the writings of serious establish writers, not the writings of jokers.”

‘NO’ GP, you cannot Humble yourself enough to see that others besides YOU and those you quoted, WHOM YOU DEEM “writings of serious establish writers”, YOU CANNOT FATHOM, that they are others who are also Serious Scholars of the Scripture WHO SHARE THEIR INSIGHTS HERE ON BU and that goes against your Image & Self IMPORTANCE. That is a Treat to your SELF-IMAGE…GP UNFORTUNATELY YOU BELIEVE IN DEBASING OTHERS, THAT WAY YOU INFLATE YOURSELF TO RISE ABOVE OTHERS.

Freedoms Aim is to share knowledge and understanding that freedom has gained over 4 decades both Scripturally & Politically with those that are open to receive. That is what dedicated teachers do. FREEDOM SPEAKS WITHOUT EQUIVOCATION… AFTER ALL, ARE WE NOT COMMANDED TO SHARE TRUTH, STARING WITH THE GOSPEL?

RE… “Why don’t you stick to your rants on Socialism and Communism and other isms”…

There you go with the rant scenario, stating it twice actually…Because you are VERY DEFICIENT in your understanding of Socialism and Communism and other Isms, so you must put down Freedom that has an understanding of these “ATHEIST IDEOLOGIES DISGUISED AS POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY”…that is called ENVY GP. THOSE LIKE YOU THINK OF THEMSELVES AS BEING ABOVE OTHERS. You share that trait with Pieces of an EGOTISM AND GRANDIOSE PERSONALITY! REMEMBER HUMILITY IS OUR FRIEND AND PRIDE IS OUR ENEMY.

AS FREEDOM RECENTLY SHARED, “IT IS BECAUSE FREEDOM IS GROUNDED IN RESEARCH OF BOTH POLITICAL & SCRIPTURAL KNOWLEDGE THAT FREEDOM UNDERSTANDS AND CAN SPEAK WITH CONFIDENCE ON WHAT FREEDOM BELIEVES AND SAYS WHITHER YOU OR ANYONE ELSE BELIEVES IT OR NOT!

FREEDOM BELIEVES THAT I HAVE ALREADY SHARED WITH YOU PREVIOUSLY THAT NO MATTER ALL THAT WE DO WE ARE STILL INDEBTED BECAUSE OF HIS GRACE SINCE HE DOES IMMEDIATELY BLESS US. SO FRANKLY YOUR STATEMENT THAT FREEDOM BELIEVES IN “SALVATION BY LAW (OR WORKS) VS SALVATION BY GRACE” IS INGENUOUS.

ONE CANNOT FOLLOW HIS COMMANDMENT TO “BE YE THEREFORE PERFECT, EVEN AS YOUR FATHER WHICH IS IN HEAVEN IS PERFECT. (MATTHEW 5:48)”…UNLESS ONE STRIVES TO IMPROVE ONES LOT. THAT IS THE LAW OF INCREASE.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/e4/83/5a/e4835a35e1e6a4ad43c1a03dc53342f1.jpg

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I do find it comical to read the lied rather liéd Grenville Phillips comments here on BU

When his lies about his national programs are disclosed to be fanciful he rushes after the person who says that he is a liar

AND THE SIDEKICK SAND DEVIL comes out to defend her black bird

He brings another bird brained idea AND, NorthernObserver torpedoes that idea and asks him about the 100th investor and in his inimical style he rushes out and tries to give an explanation about finding replacement investors for his susu concept.

The problem with this Non Solutions Political Wanabee lies in his non practical solutions not ever being tested.

Even if the autocrat was to say I Dumbville (being no relation to Pornville) have had success with 10 people attending Wentbridge then we would at least have a track record.

But like Peter Lawrence Thompson said, de man does not deliver shy$e all.

@ Baje

I was thinking about you just this morning

Yes you crossed my mind when I was bathing and discovered a hair on my a.ss while showering

It was a long hair and after I suffered through pinching it out I realized that it was grey.

And you came to mind since I had tasked you with “counting every hair in my a.ssh.ole”

Your task, when you decide to accept it, is now one grey hair less, if it does not grow back.

As to the success of the GoFundMe heheheheh there are millions of campaigns are there not?

You counting them too?

34. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@GPII

I cannot provide an average monthly rent of those families renting and buying into the ‘syndicate’. It would seem to me those single persons living with mum and dad are small, so one’s rental and occupancy date will certainly impact the “mortgage savings”.
    Personally, I get concerned, when those selling me something do not have “skin in the game”. And organizing such a group, plus dealing with “issues” takes time. (time is money?) You will know that if you let contractors ‘run free’, not even the good Lord knows all of where they will substitute and cut corners.
    Clearly this will appeal to those, who for financial reasons could never imagine themselves in a $250,000 (incl land) home.
    I have seen similar proposals before, yet they only seem to work where the accommodations are multi-storey buildings, and where the land cost, relative to the structural improvements, is high.
    One of your aces, is the high cost of borrowing. The prevalence of ‘private lenders’ is on the rise, due to both the low to non-existent deposit rates and the recent default. You may find that one can acquire ‘short term’ private money (4-8yrs instead of 30) at a far more reasonable rate than commercially. While this will add to costs, it will also speed up the occupancy date, and allow you to work with a smaller group. 100 is a lot of people?

@PUDYR
    I was not blowing holes in anything, I was asking questions. Mr GP answered them. It may not be for you, or for me (unless I could be 1-6 and flip it and make a buck), but its a concept. I know you and he have a lil thing going, and I choose not to get between you two.

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dame Bajans

Go to the head of the class…

“… But at that time you were running and thought you would at least get a few seats.

That did not materialize, so now that Mia, who Piece was instrumental in electing, gave you a pick, he is now treasonous and should be arrested.

For what?

Mia is not a monarch.

Trying to defeat a political party at elections is not treasonous…”

I1. It is evident here that with Lied Grenville Phillips ‘ writings HE NEVER ASCRIBES ANY BLAME TO HIS POLITICAL MASTER Mia Mugabe Mottley!!!

NEVER!!!

Theophillus Gazerts mentioned this phenomenon months ago and so did Mr. William Skinner

And now you.

Not only is Grenville Phillips an autocrat but he is also a poochlicker who is sucking the botsie of Mugabe

The reason the Leader of Nosolutions Barbados failed then, AND WILL FAIL AGAIN, is because he all up in Barbados Underground with his susu ingrunt ideas INSTEAD OF GETTING INTO THE TRENCHES WITH PO PEOPLE.

But he is a stuck up man who does not think he should be among the people HE LIKE TO THEORIZE as Peter Lawrence Thompson said

I2. Be careful how you say that statement about “…who Piece (the Legend) was instrumental in electing” because it will get Nameless Ones #1 and #2, Baje, GOERRING, and the Honourable Blogmaster the BLP’s Minister of Disinformation VERY ANGRY…

I3. Have you noticed how the Minister of Disinformation has started blogging about the same topics twice???

And splitting up de blog with the inconsequential???

I4. Very few people ESPECIALLY GRENVILLE THE LIAR understand the effort it takes to run an election campaign.

Especially one against Mugabe the Despot.

If we were among people then one could intellectualize through this subject matter with equals

BUT YOU HAVE A POPULATION OF MAINLY SHEEPLE and the fight against them is really hard.

Couple that with a yet to be ready Third Party Movement candidature AND YOU START TO UNDERSTAND THE DIFFICULTIES THAT ARE PRESENT

Then she starts to change the simplest laws about Treason and High Treason and immediately the warning lights go off for those of us who are awake and we say WTF!!!

What is so important about Piece the Legend that requires this change in the Laws?

What does he signify? What is his message? And why must it be killed?

De old man’s objective is to reach 20,000 people with each encounter, I am at 500!!

Encounter is variously defined as “sitting” whether you mean BIOPIC OR URL TRACING OR LIVE STREAM or ***

So to do this takes time and you must remember that it is only me and the grandson on me team.

You would have noticed that I recently have not been doing many Biopics because the grandson got a promotion so…

But Rome was not built in one day so Upward and Onward…

37. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ NorthernObserver

You are correct, me and Lied Grenville Phillips do have a thang here on BU.

It is called Northern Exposure and you are key in that Exposure.

The thing us that you will be modest with your interactions with Lied Grenville Phillips BUT HE HATES YOUR GUTS FOR SHOWING HIM UP.

As you will soon see, the same way he has struck out at Peter Lawrence Thompson he will soon hit at you.

You keep asking him questions and you will see when you Express a divergent opinion how you going become an imp and the son of the Evil One….Sand devil

I do find it comical to read the lied rather liéd Grenville Phillips comments here on BU

When his lies about his national programs are disclosed to be fanciful he rushes after the person who says that he is a liar

AND THE SIDEKICK SAND DEVIL comes out to defend her black bird

He brings another bird brained idea AND, you NorthernObserver have torpedoed that idea

You asked him about the 100th investor and in his inimical style he rushes out and tries to give an explanation about “finding replacement investors for his susu concept.”

Now you point out him having no skin in the game, and the issue of tricky contractors YOU DEFINITELY PUSHING IT TOO FAR.

But doan tek my word for it.

The problem with this Non Solutions Political Wanabee lies in his non practical solutions not ever being tested.

Even if the autocrat was to say “I Dumbville (being no relation to Pornville) have had success with 10 people attending Wentbridge” then we would at least have a track record.

But like Peter Lawrence Thompson said, and you have confirmed here above, de man Grenville does not deliver shy$e all.

38. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Baje

I was thinking about you just this morning

Yes you crossed my mind when I was bathing and discovered a hair on my a.ss while showering

It was a long hair and after I suffered through pinching it out I realized that it was grey.

And you came to mind since I had tasked you with “counting every hair in my a.ssh.ole”

Your task, when you decide to accept it, is now one grey hair less, if it does not grow back.

As to the success of the GoFundMe heheheheh there are millions of campaigns are there not?

You counting them too?

39. We continue to squabble among ourselves when there is a more important ‘battle’ to be waged. What does it say about how serious we are?

40. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Mia is not a monarch.”

It’s about time she realizes THAT SHE IS NOT…ya cannot change bloodlines to suit yaself…..

To WHOM ROYALTY BELONGS..it BELONGS..you cannot TIEF ROYALTY…or DENY IT TO ITS RIGHTFUL OWNERS.

…, what is supposed to happen as written in the stars…CANNOT BE CHANGED.

#toomuchgrandiosedelusionsofgrandeur.

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“What does he signify? What is his message? And why must it be killed?”

They KILL PEOPLE when they know they cannot convince the public that you are crazy….that the information you have is accurate…

BUT…..no matter HOW CRAZY it sounds…I WILL BE BELIEVED.

42. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

David May 9, 2019 3:14 AM

RE.”We continue to squabble among ourselves when there is a more important ‘battle’ to be waged. What does it say about how serious we are?”

DAVID THE MOST IMPORTANT BATTLE BEING WAGED IS GOOD VERSUS EVIL…IT STARTED IN THE PRE – MORTAL EXISTENCE WHEN A THIRD OF THE HOST OF HEAVEN WHO FOLLOWED THE ADVERSARY WERE CAST DOWN OUT OF OUR HEAVENLY FATHERS PRESENCE.

THAT BATTLE RAGES ON EARTH TODAY AND WILL CONTINUE TO RAGE UNTIL CHRIST COMES TO REDEEM THE WORLD.

UNFORTUNATELY THEY ARE THOSE WHOSE USE THEIR AGENCY TO CHOOSE EVIL OVER GOOD AND THAT IS LAMENTABLE AND THE HEAVENS AND GOD THE FATHER MUST WEEP OVER SUCH BECAUSE IN THE END THE ADVERSARY WILL NOT SUPPORT HIS OWN AND THEIR SOULS WILL BE CAST DOWN TO AN ENDLESS TORMENT.

IT IS ALWAYS ABOUT CHOOSING, AS OUR CHOICES WILL DETERMINE OUR ETERNAL DESTINATION.

SO CHOOSE THE RIGHT AND LET THE CONSEQUENCES FOLLOW.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/4e/03/c3/4e03c3afded9440725c60c00f7d21311.png

43. The big lie
    “He publicly plotted to overthrow PM Mottley, and even tried to get crowd-funding for his stupid treasonous initiative – which he actually boasted about here on BU. His own documented actions are ample evidence to convict him.”

My friend,
    Khasoggi knew he was dealing with wicked men and took precautions when he went into the Saudi embassy. Sadly, he underestimated how wicked and determined his opponents were. It seems as if he expected to be held for a few hours and then he would come out and walk off into the sunset with his girlfriend. In his worst imagination, he did not think of a team with a bone saw as part of their persuasion techniques.

I do not believe that Barbados has reached such a stage, but I would urge you to be careful in your dealings with these folks. We now have the big lie being repeated over and over. This lie is now repeated by lackeys and even by ‘third’ parties. At some stage ‘the big lie’ may gain currency and even become the truth.

As I said, I doubt if we have reached a Khasoggi’s level of wickedness, but I wouldn’t like to see you become entangle with the legal system in Barbados. I suspect that it would move quickly or rather slowly depending on the outcome that least favor you,

Be careful and remember this expression
    Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean that they’re not after you.

And Have a great day

44. PIECE, David

Politicians and their acolytes are always plotting to overthrow the political ‘masters’ – not the masters of ‘masters’ though.

This writer has heard OSA saying that his political success, as it was, was due to him effectively ‘overthrowing’ the DLP government. And no doubt he was long plotting so to.

Now, that is the cut and thrust of politics, some would say

Certainly, nobody has sought to bring Arthur to account for what would now seem to be an act of treason, if these ‘blandishments’ regarding PIECE hold any currency.

Other real acts of ‘treason’ were routinely committed by the last DLP government and we have not seen anybody beheaded publicly.

So if PIECE is to be brought to book and charged with treason for actively seeking to overthrow Mia Amor “Mugabe” Mottley, what then would you say of those who contend that the whole ruling order needs dismantlement.

45. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“My friend,
    Khasoggi knew he was dealing with wicked men and took precautions when he went into the Saudi embassy. Sadly, he underestimated how wicked and determined his opponents were.”

Exactly…to the MOST EVIL ON THE EARTH…nothing is SACRED…they respect NOTHING and would go to ANY lengths to change the NATURAL order of things…just to ELEVATE THEIR RIFFRAFF NOBODY PARASITIC SELVES..

where we REMAIN VULNERABLE…is that we do not know that we do not know..

…..but these filthy, useless governments have access to the INFORMATION…and they do not hesitate ..TO USE THAT INFORMATION AGAINST US..

46. @Pacha

Regarding Arthur the politics of inclusion?

47. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“I do not believe that Barbados has reached such a stage, but I would urge you to be careful in your dealings with these folks. We now have the big lie being repeated over and over. ”

oh you will be SO VERY SURPRISED..

There is an AGENDA…there always is..

48. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“As I said, I doubt if we have reached a Khasoggi’s level of wickedness,”

It has ALREADY SURPASSED THAT..by decades….lowlifes in the Saudi palace could learn a thing or two from these local demons..

SPIRITUAL WICKEDNESS IN THE LOWEST OF PLACES…the Barbados government.

49. William Skinner Avatar

There was no policy of inclusion under Arthur. You are confused . It was the politics of opportunism and seduction.
    Hence you had Dems whose main ambition was to thwart the rise of David Thompson who swore their allegiance to Arthur and not the BLP.
    Arthur was never accepted by the elites in the BLP. Quite frankly his survival was possible because of the so-called Arthur Dems.
    A similar occurrence obtained in the DLP where people such as Ramses Caddle and John Connell were never accepted by the elites in the party.
    Both of these parties are steeped in classism.
    You need to really understand what inclusion means in its purest form. It has never been practiced here.

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Those 2 filthy political parties need to be DISBANDED…

DBLP LEGACIES..will ALWAYS BE ONE OF OPPRESSION AND SUPPRESSION..against the BLACK majority..

the majority population HAS TO UNDERSTAND THIS…come next election…they have to see this and make the APPROPRIATE CHANGES..