Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. I guess it all depends on which history book one picks up to ascertain the history of Barbados, because I have just discovered in this article that Barbados was one of the poorest British colonies … when I have read as a child that Barbados was the richest British colony because of its production of sugar cane until Jamaica surpassed Barbados. So this revelation comes to me as a shock to hear that my Little island was one of the poorest British colonies, and here I am boasting about our place in the Caribbean during our enslavement not knowing I was fed misinformation…

2. Tee White,

not a bad submission at all.

but it seems to me something is missing.

if Bim has not yet reached the point where social programs are gutted why protest against something that may not occur?

beyond that, what are your alternatives to what is labelled as neo liberalism whereby the rich get richer and the poor get rhetoric?

i posit that neo liberalism (the feudal system) is nothing novel. we just got blinded by a short period – the FDR and LBJ years- when unions and the politics of the day, much to the chagrin of the rich, managed to wrestle away a small piece of the pie for workers. other than that, the feudal system, dressed up in the language of the day, has always been with us.

3. William Skinner Avatar

In historical journeys such as these, we should look at the sequence of events. After the abolition of slavery, Barbados was considered a well developed economy by colonial standards. in 1859 Barbados was described thus:
    “There is very little doubt, and it cannot be intelligently questioned,that Barbados under the regime of slavery, never approached her present prosperous conditions; and , in comparing her present with the past, whether that comparison be made in her commercial, mechanical, agricultural, industrial , or educational status, I can come to no other conclusion than that the island offers a striking example of the superior economy of the free system.” (Sewell)
    The reference to Barbados being the most impoverished is fixed between 1937-1966 , when the early signs of organised labour had emerged prior to the granting of independence in 1966. What we are witnessing here is the declining political power of the plantocracy and their determined desire to systematically sabotage , the emergence of black political power. This sabotage continues to this day , unfortunately in some instances , with the help of the black political managerial class.
    It is indeed interesting that the period 1937 -1966 , could be the most progressive politically while according to the article it was the worst in terms of social decline. We should bear in mind that it was during this period that there were riots and the introduction of adult suffrage . This period would have also seen the rise of Sir Grantley Adams , who was hailed as the peoples’ Moses and then Errol Barrow , who is seen as the Father of the Nation.
    We must remember that the plantocracy was bitterly opposed to both organised labour and independence and therefore they would have systematically undermined any services designed to benefit the poor black working class. The remnants of this plantocracy are just as agile today , in their attempts to block the desire to be a republic free of the so-called queen in England. I would not go so far as to suggest that there was ” a historic compromise” between the planter class and black politicians . The demographics of the island basically guaranteed the rise of black political power and the ill gained wealth of the small number of whites guaranteed that they would control the commanding heights of the economy. That has not changed !
    Therefore I would suggest that is a mere convenience not a historic compromise.

4. William Skinner

A very informative synopsis of our island’s history …

5. Any country existing under a bondage system cannot be described by anything but a poor country in the context of working to achieve a progressive society.

6. David

Why then it is said in most history book regarding Barbados that our island was the richest of the British colonies in the Caribbean prior to Jamaica surpassing it due to its successed with sugar cane?

Remember David, Barbados was a predominantly white island and as the slave population increased the white Barbadian population started to migrate …

7. There are many capitalists who are recognizing that this form of capitalism, where the true producers, the lower level workers, are given just enough to keep them usable is about to implode. In many “white” countries they are redirecting the white working people’s ire towards another “enemy” – immigrants and people of colour.
    Others are accepting that they need to make a change to Stakeholders’ Capitalism rather than Shareholders’ Capitalism. Books are being written, conferences are being held and some are even volunteering to pay more taxes.

But the grip of greed is too ingrained in most of them. They are sadly addicted.

It’s going to take some “tough love” to push them into rehab.

When will they realize that it is better to offer the masses the hope for a better life if they work hard? All the masses need is HOPE. They really don’t need handouts. Just HOPE that they can make it if they try.

The world right now is a pressure cooker. That can’t be good for ANYBODY!

8. @ Donna

that is it in a nutshell. how will it turn out? nobody gives up power (riches) easily

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The world right now is a pressure cooker. That can’t be good for ANYBODY!

NOT TRUE!
    ITS GOOD FOR ESCHATOLOGISTS
    PROVES THAT GOD IS STILL ON THE THRONE AND THAT BIBLE PROPHESY IS CORRECT AND THAT WE HAVE COME TO THE END OF THE TIME OF THE GENTILES

NEXT THE RAPTURE
    THEN THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST
    THEN THE RIGORS OF THE GREAT TRIBULATION

10. @Lexicon
    You raise an important point about what we actually mean when we use phrases like ‘rich country’ or ‘successful economy’. It is a fact that particularly during the mid and late 17th centuries, when the plantocracy had perfected their system of using enslaved Africans to produce the much coveted commodity of sugar, the Barbadian economy generated significant amounts of wealth and the island became known as a place where fortunes could be made. The thing is that these fortunes belonged to those who were running the slave system, namely, the plantation owners, the slave ship owners, the insurers and so on. The plantation great houses in Barbados and the stately homes in England are a testament to the luxurious lifestyles that this wealth could provide. At the same time, as Professor Beckles points out, many Africans viewed Barbados as a place worse than hell and the life expectancy of a healthy young African man arriving in Barbados to begin life in slavery was no more than 7 years. Literally, people were worked to death. Whether you see this situation as signs of a successful economy or not is down to the individual’s political point of view.

11. Any country existing under a bondage system cannot be described by anything but a poor country in the context of working to achieve a progressive society.(Quote)

What is this in simple English? I will tell you. We have a chairman who spends all his time chasing away the core of his custom – older people with lots of time on their hand. He is obviously a marketing genius. I am not sure how he is monetising BU, but he is clearly smarter than all of us. Maybe BU is a CIA front.
    As one with a lot of time on my hands, I can promise him had I not I won’t be reading BU. I do because I have the time.

12. Well it seems that there is only to be one type, or interpretation, of ESCHATOLOGY

13. ”I don’t take these things personally; the people have spoken, and they are the voice of God. My one thing is this, I don’t think we have to apologize to anybody because I am not buying the other people’s narrative. There is one narrative that I have, which is that the economy was so bad that holding it together was a miracle, but the cost would have been heavy and therefore we got beaten,” said Morris, who was delivering the Astor B Watts’ Lecture at the DLP’s George Street headquarters.””

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/05/04/dlp-defence/

The above is Bobby Morris, the campaign manager in the 30/0 devastation.

How could it be that people of his ilk could be left around the place to ‘rewrite’ recent history with such a misguided determination?

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well it seems that there is only to be one type, or interpretation, of ESCHATOLOGY

INDEED! YOU ARE IN FACT 100% CORRECT……..THIS TIME

15. Planet earth is estimated to be 4.5 billion years.There are those who posit that its 6 thousand years old.Billy Gray Ham and Franklyn Gray Ham,Michael Pompei and the other racist ignorami who litter this blog with piffle should go find meaningful employment.

16. Yes Tee White , Something is Missing, Beatrice Evangeline Jemmott -Henry1892-1985 and Violet Caroline Agard- Beckles,1918-2010 they and over 300 People were removed from the records or hidden for 30 years, But in that time span I caught the Crooks, Liars, and Scumbags all the way up the UWI, Land Registry and Archives liars,of the facts. Yes this is what is missing and that only about the Slave which you live to bring up even in America there are only 8% imported slave all other so-called Black Nergoes were Native American Well before the WHITES, and they are still there reclassified, Were are all the records after slavery?1838-2019? missing under the Crime Minister and GG beds,

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Gabriel May 6, 2019 10:31 AM

Planet earth is estimated to be 4.5 billion years.There are those who posit that its 6 thousand years old
    PLEASE KINDLY NOTE DEAR SIR THAT ESCHATOLOGY HAS TO DO WITH THINGS TO COME NOT WITH THE AGE OF THE EARTH WHETHER ESTIMATED OR CALCULATED OR OTHERWISE MEASURED

18. Slavery had little to do with the generation of riches in Barbados!!

The wealth that was generated in Barbados has to do more with a philosophy of life than it does with riches.

Profits were generated in trade and through the business relationships Barbadian families had with Guyana and to a lesser extent Trinidad …. and mostly after slavery had been abolished!!!!

The slave population grew constantly in Barbados up to emancipation.

The sugar output fluctuated up and down but did not grow.

Any profits from sugar and agriculture were eaten by the growing population!!

The East Indian and Chinese indentured labourers in the colonies with the land mass to generate a volume of output from which profits could be and were made that subsidized Barbados in the 1800’s.

… and then there was America, most Barbadian families had relatives who were Americans and who subsidized them!!

Schomburgk wrote there were 506 stone windmills in Barbados and 491 sugar estates in 1848 with one steam engine.

In the early 1830’s the Austin family in Guyana was profiting from steam plants and the dry sugar produced by centrifugals.

Guyana had the size, output, profits and most importantly WATER to justify steam power.

The 1859 Taylor Map of Barbados a decade or so later shows perhaps a half a dozen steam plants.

Historians claim Bajan planters would not invest in new technology in this period forgetting that without WATER there is no STEAM!!

… and oblivious to the fact that without profits there is no capital to invest!!

My bet is the first steam plant was at Newcastle Factory under the cliff in St. John.

My reasons are these.

Benn Spring produced a constant supply of water which flowed to the sea.

The Haynes family had by then bought as much of the productive land in St. John as they could and had interests in Guyana!!

19. @Tee White

Thanks for your submission. It is a long time now the blogmaster has become resigned to the fact we lack the ability to discuss the underlying issues that affect our country.

20. John

If slavery had little to do with the richest in Barbados … Why were the African slaves brought to Barbados in the first place? John, it must be noted that prior to the introduction of the African slaves white indenture servants were brought from the British isles to Barbados to work on the cotton and tobacco plantations … but cotton and tobacco which were being producted in the southern States of America derailed the Barbadian economy … so white Bajan planters turned to sugar cane which was being producted in Brazil … and with the introduction of sugar cane in Barbados came the importation of African slaves and consequently the resurrection of the Barbadian economy…

21. John

And with the importation of African slaves came the great Exodus of the majority white population in Barbados …

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lexicon
    “… not knowing I was fed misinformation…”
    For heaven’s sake, how have you reached 2019 and just be finding out now that you were lied to? I was educated at the ‘best’ secondary school in Barbados in the 6os and 70s and everything that I was fed about the history of Barbados was utterly false.

It is simple to discover why… when they told you “Barbados was the richest British colony…” what they were saying was that English owned plantations in Barbados were unusually efficient in extracting riches by their exploitation of enslaved people and exporting those riches back to Mother England. This ‘efficiency’ was purchased with the blood and suffering of my ancestors. The truth that your “… Little island was one of the poorest British colonies…” is simply a statement that living conditions for the [majority] population of Barbados were among the poorest in the entire British Empire.

23. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

Can you Imagine, that Barbados being is such close proximity to Venezuela, that they are Marxist like Tee White Lies, Pulling the Wool Over the Eyes of Bajan’s, Selling the BS Bill of Goods to have you purchase his Snake Oil Dogma! He Like Chavez believes that Socialism (Free Stuff) by way of the State is the answer to their needs, while using his emotional dialogue of Slavery, to have you purchase his Snake Oil Dogma!

Disbeliever like the one Tee White Lies do not believe in the Law of Increase as is taught in the Parable of the Talents or By the Sweat of thy Brow Thou Shall Eat Bread…He believes in Social Injustice of taking from those that Produce and giving to those who Refuse to magnify theirs.

Chavez was a Radical Marxist Dictator who Beguiled the Venezuelan people by incrementally introducing Socialism that has been the Cause and Destruction of Venezuela and its people… He was an Anti-Capitalist who believed like previous Dictators that Socialism/Communism was the answer…Even amid the Starvation/Death/Destruction they are still those among us and in the Caribbean who have this same mentality…

Hear Chavez in his own words…”and should come to understand that their enemy…that their enemy is the Capitalist System”, “and their Solution is Socialism” and we’ve got to be convinced…

https://venezuelanalysis.com/video/14447

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I was educated at the ‘best’ secondary school in Barbados in the 6os and 70s and everything that I was fed about the history of Barbados was utterly false.

I WAS EDUCATED AT THE SAME SCHOOL IN ABOUT THE SAME TIME PERIOD
    I WAS ONLY TAUGHT ENGLISH AND EUROPEAN HISTORY
    I WAS NOT FED ANYTHING about the history of Barbados AT ALL OR ABOUT ITS GEOGRAPHY

25. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

It is time that you grew out of your flagrantly racist rose coloured reinvention of the history of enslaved people in Barbados. It is revolting and ethically unworthy of you as a human being.

The theft of labour from enslaved people had everything to do with the generation of riches for English plantation owners in Barbados.

Your pathetic misdirection about the adoption of steam power is irrelevant… the economics of steam power depend on the availability of plentiful fresh water all year round as well as extensive forests to provide cheap wood for fuel (bagasse is insufficient). British Guiana (Guyana) had these and Barbados did not. Period. It had absolutely nothing to do with not having capital to invest. The planters in British Guyana must have envied the plentiful wind power available to their competitors in Barbados.

26. @PLT

The ‘best’ secondary school in Barbados….how did you reach this conclusion?

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    The ‘best’ is in quotation marks to indicate that this was widely circulated anecdote of the era. I personally loathed and despised Harrison College as an incubator for house negros, but chacun son goût.

28. @PLT

Quotation marks do not negate the fact you are endorsing this claim. Plse justify it, in any form, quotation marks or not. Your personal views do not matter.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    The scare quotes DO absolutely indicate that I am NOT endorsing this claim. According to the Meriam Webster:
    “Definition of scare quotes
    quotation marks used to express especially skepticism or derision concerning the use of the enclosed word or phrase”

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I ENJOYED MY DAYS AT HC THOROUGHLY

PITCHED MARBLES

PLAYED MARBLE CRICKET

ENGAGED IN CORK STICKY AND BRUISE

KICKED ABOUT BALLS ON THE BIG FIELD BEFORE SCHOOL WITH BOYS WHO WENT ON TO PLAY FOOTBALL FOR BARBADOS

PLAYED “TEST MATCHES” AT LUNCH ON THE BIG FIELD AND IN LATER DAYS WE PLAYED LOTS OF TABLE TENNIS

ENJOYED THE LARKS IN CLASS
    HAD A BALL GENERALLY

SOMEHOW I ESCAPED THE HOUSE NEGRO INDOCTRINATION WAS PROBABLY TO BUSY IN MY LAST FOUR YEARS BECOMING AN EXCELLENT SCHOOLBOY PHOTOGRAPHER.

A FEW MEMBERS OF OUR PHOTO CLUB OF THAT ERA BECAME DOCTORS——ONE IS A PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHER IN CALIFORNIA

31. @PLT

Did the ‘best’ secondary school in Barbados teach its pupils to think for themselves, or do they simply look for the endorsement of Google, Webster’s or some other authority? I asked for your opinion. YOUR own. It is called learning by rote versus critical learning.

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I enjoyed my teenage years immensely despite my contempt for Harrison College: made life hell for teachers I disliked, made explosive compounds in the Chemistry Lab, enjoyed Divinity class in particular logically showing the lessons to be childish nonsense, also became a very good photographer, but that was by working for Willie Alleyne and talking to Ronnie Carrington rather than anything to do with school.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    I simply quoted the dictionary because you made a statement which seemed to betray an ignorance of contemporary English language usage.

I gave you MY opinion in crystal clear language: “I personally loathed and despised Harrison College as an incubator for house negros…”

Did HC “… teach its pupils to think for themselves?” No it did not. It prioritized rote learning and imitating colonial manners. I learned critical thinking on my own despite HC. Every time I tried to think at HC it got me punished. I got punished a lot 😉

34. Here we go as per usual.

35. robert lucas Avatar

@Tee White
    A beautiful article, Well written and argued. Over Christmas I borrowed the book “The History Of Barbados” by Sir Robert Schomburgk from the National Library. He explained the geography and geomorphology of Barbados in detail. He also gave an in depth description of the socio-economic conditions at the time in Barbados. Yes Barbados was one of the richest countries in the world at one time. Unfortunately as Tee White described, the wealth did not trickle down to the blacks who lived in abject poverty. The situation has not changed much today. We have exchanged a white master for black puppeteers who basically jump to the biddings of their masters. Any one who expects this country to soon come out of the present debacle is living in a fool’s paradise(it will take about 20-30 years). The island’s leaders over the past years haven’t been endowed with much vision apart from tunnel vision of which there is an excess.

36. @Doctor Lucas

A study of the Barbados landscape will support the view (which is yours) the financial slice of the Barbados model is controlled by the same masters who yanked the chains back in the day read colonial/slavery.

37. @ David re “Here we go as per usual.”

I enjoyed my teenage years immensely at Harrison College. I will not pontificate. lol

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I enjoyed my teenage years immensely at Harrison College.
    SO DID I HANTS SO DID I
    I KEPT IT SIMPLE AND ENJOYED THE FUN

39. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Power does not relinquished its staus without a fight.

40. Me three!! HC was the best!!

41. @William Skinner
    If we take Sewell’s comment in context, it is clear that his reference to prosperity is actually to the prosperity of the plantation owners and not to prosperity of the previously enslaved Africans and their descendants. The point he makes is that the plantocracy was making even more money in the post emancipation period than they did during slavery. This stand was part of the ongoing argument at the time, particularly in the USA where he was from, between the plantation owners who claimed that abolition would lead to their economic ruination and those who favored abolishing slavery and turning the ex-slaves into ‘free labourers’. For a good overview of that period of our country’s history, you might want to check out the following book ‘Great House Rules: Landless Emancipation and Workers’ Protest in Barbados, 1838-1938′.

42. Schomburgk is available online and can be downloaded for free.

Here’s what he says on page 197 about the average tonnage of ships entering Bridgetown – 88,917 tons.

Value of imports 624,630 GBP … and 10 shillings.

Value of exports 685,630 GBP …. 6 shillings

Whatever sugar was produced for export was tiny when compared to the total value of trade.

He says the sugar exported amounted to 21,051 hogsheads 1500 tierces and 930 barrels.

A hogshead of tobacco is about half a ton.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hogshead

Of sugar it varies between 800 to 1500 pounds – about 1/2 a ton!!

Sugar exports were slightly over 10,000 tons or 1/8 or 12.5% of the tonnage of the ships.

There were more slaves employed in St. Michael than in the three agricultural parishes combined in 1817.

Non – sugar trade thus accounted for more than 87.5% of the trade in which Barbados was engaged.

Ergo, Barbados became the richest colony not by sugar but by trade.

In the days of sail it made sense to break a trip from England to America in the West Indies, and Barbados was perfectly located.

Unless someone can point out the error in the logic, this is simple, basic stuff!!

43. By 1848 the sugar output had not changed since slavery for one simple reason … milling capacity.

A windmill according to Colin Hudson generates between 3 and 4 HP, about what a lawn mower did at the time he was alive!!

In addition, the wind is not constant and there are periods during crop when the sails of a windmill would stand becalmed.

Steam in British Guiana permitted 24/7 milling operation.

In addition, there could be one central factory to which canes were transported for milling by river and canal.

Not possible in Bim with only animal power!!

Anyone who would dispute the huge advantages British Guiana has … or had .. over Barbados needs to have their head examined!!

44. The first steam vessel to enter the Demerara River was the Cambria, 11 November 1826.

So moving canes along the river was easy …. no animal power required.

Page 424/5 Schomburgk

If you download Schomburgk just search for steam!!

45. John

Question: in Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana from 1838 to 1918 planters went India and China for the labour to fill the vacuum left by the Africans who refused to work on the plantations after emancipation … how does Barbados play into this equation since Barbados does not have an Indian or Chinese population?

46. @ John
    Errors
    1. Ergo, Barbados became the richest colony not by sugar but by trade
    Trade does not create wealth. By definition, trade is the exchange of goods of equal value. The goods arrive at the trade transaction with their value already in them and are exchanged for different goods of the same value. It is of course true, that using non-economic means like political power and military might, it is possible for some to impose unequal trade on others. But even in this scenario, no new wealth is created. It is simply a matter of sharing out already created wealth. The gains of the trader with the upper hand are exactly equal to the losses incurred by the trader who is taken advantage of. Therefore, from an economic point of view, it’s impossible for Barbados to have become a wealthy colony on the basis of trade. Wealth is created in the process of creating goods and services. That’s its only source. You can’t trade if you have no goods or services that others want.

Schomburgk describes Barbados in the 1840s, after abolition and long after Barbados was considered as Britain’s richest colony in the late 17th century.

2.Whatever sugar was produced for export was tiny when compared to the total value of trade.
    This is inaccurate. According to Schomburgk, in 1846, there were 491 sugar estates operating in Barbados with 506 windmills. Between them, they produced around 10,000 tons of sugar and 4720 puncheons of molasses which is equivalent to around 330 thousand gallons of molasses. Since Barbados produced nothing else, we can assume that these products accounted for the value of exports from the island which he states was £685,000 or in today’s values equivalent to £77 million. The weight of sugar and molasses is irrelevant since what is important is the value of the commodities. The economic importance of this trade is highlighted by Schomburgk who states that 835 ships manned by 6413 seamen entered the port of Bridgetown. Why would merchant companies who are focused on making a profit deploy so many ships and seamen to take part in an activity from which they couldn’t gain a profit? In fact, such was the economic value of the trade in sugar and molasses that Schomburgk estimates that the country had a trade surplus to the value of £76,852 which is the equivalent of some £8.7 million in today’s money. So, far from sugar being some tiny insignificant part of Barbados’s trade, it was actually its beating heart.

There were more slaves employed in St. Michael than in the three agricultural parishes combined in 1817
    During the period of sugar cane production, there were no agricultural parishes since the whole island was a sugar cane plantation. The fact that more people lived in St Michael, which of course is not Bridgetown, is simply a statement about the demographic patterns on the island and is not relevant to the discussion.
    Non – sugar trade thus accounted for more than 87.5% of the trade in which Barbados was engaged
    Please explain what non-sugar trade Barbados was engaged in. What exports other than sugar and molasses left Barbados?

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I ENJOY IT WHEN DUMMIES ON BU CHALLENGE THE REAL SCHOLARS
    HILARIOUS

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ Tee White
    It is quite obvious that any wealth discussion at that time would have been in reference to the colonial masters. My point was that by the time we reached 1937 -1966 , the colonialists were determined to undermine the emerging black political class and the workers movement. When we speak of Barbados being the jewel in the English crown, I think we understand what that meant. I think that From Columbus to Castro by Eric Williams gives a very detailed account of the entire period , as the title of the book implies. It is also known that after the abolition of slavery a black business class throughout the region emerged. However that is apparently a closely guarded secret. Not even my learned friends from Harrison College, were apparently exposed to such history. And many of them have led us to exactly where were are today because “our brightest” as PLT posits were taught to be little englishmen and exposed to what happened in ancient Rome and not what was happening on the wharf.

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR SKINNER

IN THE 8 YEARS I WENT TO HC NO ONE EVER TAUGHT ME to be A little englishmAn
    THAT IS BULL SHIT AND A NASTY STINKING LIE SPAWNED IN THE PITS OF HELL

I SUSPECT IT WAS NO DIFFERENT AT THE OTHER SCHOOLS LIKE THE ONE YOU ATTENDED

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie
    It was one PLT who said that HC was an incubator for house negros. Everybody knows that the house negros were taught and expected to mimic the master in every fashion.
    My comment was facetious at best.
    Now in terms of where I went to school, I must say that I was very early exposed to several teachers who enlightened me on true history.
    Quite frankly I find the whole back and forth about HC rather amusing.