Austerity is defined as a set of economic policies a government implements to control public sector debt. Austerity measures are the response of a government whose public debt is so large that the risk of default, or the inability to service the required payments on its debt obligations, becomes a real possibility. Default risk can spiral out of control quickly; as an individual, company or country slips further into debt, lenders will charge a higher rate of return for future loans, making it more difficult for the borrower to raise capital.

Source: Investopedia

One of the outcomes from an austerity program is criticism from those impacted. This blogmaster addressed the climate at play in the local environment in which BERT is being aggressively implemented by the government – The Rhetoric of Austerity.

Until there is improvement in the economy which took a precipitous dive under the last DLP administration, it is the right of the people and other stakeholders in civil society to express concerns. As always, government’s mandate is to implement policies to breath and sustain life in the economy and supporting sectors.

So far the Barbados austerity program has been following the script. The blogmaster has added our dissenting voice to those criticizing the prime minister for allowing her father to be conferred a knighthood. Against the background of the imbroglio of waiver of tax penalties to Elliot Mottley. And of recent the significant hike in the bus fare, a measure that will impact the most vulnerable in the society. Government’s remit will never change, the vulnerable MUST be protected – Pay the $3.50 or Alternatively Drink the Poison.

Another enduring criticism of the Mia Mottley led administration since the unprecedented mandate from the people on May 24, 2018 has been the size of her Cabinet. It is easily the largest in the world per capita in the world. Mottley’s response at the time of the announcement was – “Given the dire state of our economy and the tremendous work that would be involved in rescuing and rebuilding this country, the salaries of a few extra ministers is relatively insignificant given that there will be tremendous savings from the containment of wastage and the curtailment of corruption in my Cabinet”.

An effective Opposition should file Mottley’s promise and use it to measure government’s performance of the country in the coming months.  In  summary, if the Prime Minister holds the view that many hands make light work, during a time of austerity the optics of decisions and the uninspiring and demotivating influence they may be having must be evaluated AND reassessed if the situation demands it. Does the political reward of employing an unprecedented number of ministers, supported by a bevy of consultants worth the risk of voter disaffection?

The point about the size of the Cabinet is important, it will continue to generate criticism for another reason. The Prime Minister to her credit has demonstrated a high work rate since assuming the office. This cannot be refuted by a simple measure if compared to  a slothful predecessor. She is leading the CSME project, meeting with IMF, World bank and other global players and the list is long. What is disturbing is that Prime Minister Mottley has had to insert her presence into many ministries to lead the narrative or resolve ‘disputes’. Why should she have a large Cabinet if she is always exerting the influence of being in primus inter pares mode?

One example that should give the Prime Minster pause is the meeting called recently with stakeholders in the transport sector. A meeting to deal with the public backlash to the $3.50 bus far hike. Another meeting she had to intervene.

Prime Minister Mottley continues to enjoy good public support informed by the fact John Citizen is aware tough measures have to be taken. And a discombobulated Opposition. Mottley will have to tread clearly to ensure her policies do not create so much opposition that it railroads what she is attempting to do. Perhaps a midterm reshuffle is in the offing.

A word to the Prime Minister should be enough.

325 responses to “An Invisible Mottley Cabinet”

1. William Skinner Avatar

Headline: An invisible bloated cabinet
    Largest per capita in the world
    Conclusion: Opposition in shambles; former leader was slothful; Mottley has a high work ethic………..
    Another piece of lame propaganda!!!
    Visible Ministers :
    Sport
    Transport
    Elder Affairs
    Blue Economy
    Tourism
    Finance
    Education
    Health
    Environment
    Business/ entrepreneurship
    The above have been quite visible. Many of them are new to the job and should soon find their footing.
    The piece written above is pure whatever.
    The problem is not visibility but policy. The only minister who probably found a good wicket is the Minister of Tourism.

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I am genuinely afraid

What is going on here?

Who is this one?

I honestly don’t know what to say now

Thus is a 5th BORG? or the play in the line to catch bigger fish?

But the blows that are being delivered above ent play play blows

These are hard uncomplimentary words

I am watching though because, although George Pain called Bishop Pastor Reverend Joseph Atherley a traitor and cutthroat In June 2018 dem is good friends a year later.

But de ole MSN still very frightened

3. William Skinner Avatar

A man just called me and said: Yuh fuhget the most visible: De Attorney General ! My apologies.

4. @ William,

There are a number of questions to be asked, policy aside. How is the Cabinet constituted? Is the prime minister first among equals, are issues discussed in Cabinet and a majority decision reached? Or, is government more presidential, more autocratic? Who makes the decisions and who communicates them to the public? I have seen so-called consultants and advisers making public political statements.
    Then there is the issue of status and money: why would intelligent well qualified young men and women stay in a Cabinet in which they are regularly marginalised or ostracised (if that is indeed the case)? Why can’t they walk away?
    Then there is the matter of policy-making: no one in the government has every explained, as far as I know, the theoretical drivers of government policy. How were decisions made to default, the massive increase in borrowing, and an economic roadmap as to how the crisis (and it is a crisis) would be resolved.
    Some of us also want to know the boring question of the economic paradigm that informs policy-making. Is it fresh water, salt water, neo-classical, classical? These are not just theoretical questions, rather, they go right to the heart of how the economic engine works. Government does not see any need to explain, nor do government supporters see any reason to ask.
    Some time ago I said that Professor Frank Alleyne, a retired professor of development economics at UWI, has not made any great contribution to economic policy-making in Barbados, and this greatly offended the usual baying crowd.
    I won’t go in to long, tedious details, but about the early 1970s theoretical economics underwent a radical paradigm shift and it took about a further decade before this got in to textbooks. What I look for, in relation to Prof Alleyne and his former colleagues, is any recognition of this new paradigm.
    But it is easier to become abusive than to interrogate government policy, or the public intellectuals who inform it, and retreat to a one-dimensional monist view of the world; in this culture a plurality of ideas become heretical. Macro-economics have undergone a further radical shift since 2008, and again none of this is publicly discussed.
    I worked for a number of years in a trade in which new ideas were like discovering new planets; people got excited at the idea of people who challenged the consensus. In Barbados it appears as if it is the opposite.
    And then of course there is policy: wealth redistribution; criminal justice reforms; education reforms; health and long-term care; housing; the environment; etc. Why can’t we talk in a grown up way about these things?

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    None of the above seems to matter in national debate. Like I have said : National/Public discourse has been hijacked by partisan sycophants.

6. @ David,

Did you mean Invisible or incompetent ?

Clearly some of them like ” photo ops ” and some are still ” campaigning “.

7. All good topics. Start the debate. But remember to space the discussions on each topic out so that they can be absorbed by the average brain.

8. “David” is hard to please, a non- interventionalist PM (Stuart) was not to his liking now there is a PM who is inserts herself in every issue in the mode of Arthur is cause for concern; yuh can’t have it both ways.

Perhaps the PM is keenly aware that many in the Cabinet suffer from “foot in mouth “disease and acts to deter loss of goodwill. As for “opposition” there is a titular “opposition” Leader who is really a back bencher in disguise and content to issue mealy mouth statements that don’t rock the boat.

Talking about “austerity”, the BLP in opposition refused on a matter of principle to take the increase in salary that the DLP Gov’t legislated. We were told that the members would be donating those extra funds to charity, in Gov’t the BLP is accepting those increases and even received the 5% increase that the Civil servants received. How do you like those bananas? Now you see it now you don’t, the politician/magician is at work.

9. You Tube.

IN HER WORDS: MIA Motley

http://www.nationnews.com/

10. @Sargeant

You are right, the blogmaster is hard to please.

Not too long ago he was being bashed by the other side.

A leader at the end of the day has to be measured by results. They are free to use any management style or approach.

Rh results!

11. I worked for a year in the Ministry of Education when Billie Miller was the Minister. She had a competent Permanent Secretary and Deputy Permanent Secretary.

Imagine if she also had two ” Ministers in the Ministry of ” and a full time Consultant.

12. William Skinner Avatar

This is not about a blogmaster being difficult to please. This is about a blogmaster who believes, as the political class does, that people are incapable of detecting sophistry.

13. You are wrong, the electorate has shown that they are for the most part ignorant about the business of governance. This has resulted in the rise of the political class. The current state of things is evidence enough.

14. No one expects the blind or blindfolded to see. #nocomment.

15. @ William

Mussolini made the trains run on time. Dictators are good for productivity. @ William, the blogmaster lives in a fantasy world; it is not just about agreeing with him, that I good, it is his appalling ignorance. In a long life of discussions with people, including in rum shops, he is either the most intelligent person I have ever encountered, or the dumbest. He has no basic understanding of how our societies work.

16. David

Your definition of ‘austerity’ is vacuous

It certainly, regardless of from whence it comes, cannot have any meaning for what is really happening in economy nor indeed the special circumstances of Barbados and all other small developing states, as they say.

For example that definition does not deal with the realities of disaster capitalism as is austerity, nor the willful transfer of wealth to the less than 1% which continues apace, nor the financialization of economy and what that means.

David, something deeper is happening here. And you as a thought-leader MUST do just that. LEAD!

17. @Pacha

The definition is one stripped from the source cited. The commentary which follows serves to give some flesh to a concern many have read the decline of the Barbados society. Before you issue your expected intervention the concern encompasses other societies. We see the UK gripped in a constitutional crisis for many months, the rise of divisive politics in the great USA, in India a government manipulating important appointments to independent entities and do on. All described as leading light democratic systems of government.

What is happening in Barbados cannot be divorced from something deeper as you opined.

What is it?

18. William Skinner Avatar

The electorate is not blind. You sit in your ivory tower and make that assumption. Within our political culture, the masses have always displayed a sense of loyalty to country that people like you mistakenly take for ignorance. The recent slaughtering of the DLP clearly showed that from time to time, this sense of loyalty , if abused , can share some serious political licks.
    Once again you are out of your depth but you hold the masses , in such disdain, that you declare them to be ignorant of the machinations , of your beloved political class.
    Like many on BU, you believe that pseudo intellectual posturing and inferior arrogance , give them the right to proclaim everybody else as ignorant.
    All of the truly great intellectuals and thinkers to whom I have been exposed, have one enduring quality: Humility.
    It is shameful that you will now declare all those who have been sent home by both Dems and Bees as ignorant. These are the same people that you ask to sacrifice for the National good. These are the very ones you told to pay the increased bus fares or “ drink poison”.
    If they were ignorant, they would have burnt the place down! But their loyalty to country does not encourage such ignorance. People who think like you may very well force them to light a match.

19. Still awaiting the PM promised long awaited release of cabinet ministers portfolio and financial statements which Mottley promised to make public a year ago.

20. Is that what the prime minister promised? Did she promise to release the financial statements of cabinet whatever that means.

You are entitled to be rabidly partisan if you wish but try to tell the truth.

21. Soooo…. are the people capable of detecting sophistry or are they easily manipulated fools? What’s the verdict?

22. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You tell the blogmaster that his definition of austerity is “vacuous” and then tell him to lead.
    In pure Bajan I ask: Lead who ?

23. David

On these larger points you are absolutely right.

We’ve even noticed you mentioning this same point to Sir William Skinner recently.

He was wrong then and you were right.

That point is more general. One may even say geopolitical

But definitionally, on the point about austerity, because that is a subset of the global issues. when considering Barbados we have to find another language to understand what’s happening. For Investopedia’s quaint terms will never cover our reality.

24. Unlike you William and others the blogmaster has the capacity to receive feedback even if in the form of criticism. Some of take yourselves too seriously. Continue to critique the issues. Be the difference.

25. Sir William Skinner

Only the sterile definition is. David made a wrong choice, we feel.

There was/is no intention by us to extend the original inference.

Otherwise, and like you, he continues to lead.

Of course, we maintain our respectful distance from both you and David as to the constant demands or need for a ‘leadershiptocracy’

26. Most of the people I meet are not fooled by politicians. They think it is six of one and half dozen of the next. Say the name of most politicians and they let out one long steupse. They have given up hope that an honest politician can be found and settle for what they perceive as the lesser of the two evils at the time. They voted for this government because they thought the odds of getting a worse government would have to be low. But that is only my experience.

What is the membership of the parties? Why do people join the parties? Is it because they believe in the politicians or is it a case of if they can’t beat the corrupt system the only way is to join them?

They may not all be able to understand the finer points of economics etc. But they are not really fooled by the politicians either. Except for a few. And as the old ones die out, it will be fewer.

27. Pachaman u need to sit down and move yourself away from all political issues
    You were wrong about Trump and now your turncoat interest to tailgate on David utterences going to prove u wrong on the politics of Barbados

As fuh u David not unexpectedly for u to jump to the head of the line to protect Mia empty promises
    Still waiting for the promised release of cabinet ministers portfolios as promised by Mia

28. Mariposa

Explain yourself. In which way/s was Pachamama wrong about Trump?

29. We have to be careful not to overdo it with criticism. What is clear is that the cabinet is a bit big … And the public sector is still far too large …

But the first successes are already in sight: The sewage problem on the south coast has been solved, the debt level is falling, the actually worthless Barbados dollar has been saved, to name just a few …

For many problems the government can do nothing (and to a certain extent not even the last government). Many of the country’s problems are the result of a fatal mixture of laziness, arrogance and lethargy.

The personal criticism of the Prime Minister is not justified after all. She works day and night for the country. She interferes in the affairs of her ministers for good reason.

We need a strong woman at the top, no male gossip and total failure as so often in the past. Truly, I say to you: One day Mia Mottley will take Barrow’s place as national hero.

Keep it up, dear Prime Minister Mia Mottley!

30. FREEDOM CRIER FROM A CASUAL OBSERVATION…PLEASE NOTE AS REFERENCING THOSE IN PARTICULAR WHO…

William Skinner April 30, 2019 9:24 AM … “believe that pseudo intellectual posturing and inferior arrogance, give them the right to proclaim everybody else as ignorant.

TAKE FOR EXAMPLE…

• nextparty246 April 29, 2019 7:28 PM “So, Piece, who has been exposed as part of Atherley’s party and a traitor, and who wants to remove Atherley so that he can be the dictator whom he accuses others of being, decides to strike again.”

Mr. Grenville Phillips…Freedom thinks you onto something here however, Pieces/Legion see himself as the IT PR man of the Opposition Tird party. THAT IS A POWERFUL POSITION OF LEADERSHIP OF A TIRD PARTY.

Says Pieces “The OPPOSITION HAS TO UP ITS GAME, and create a vibrant cyberspace presence NOW the digital signature is PODCAST AND SIMULCASTS CONCURRENT with the SUPER TOPICS I mentioned above, the Third Party Movement must convene sessions with the people and sheeple AND RECORD THEM.”…

…He Persists, “But then again my erstwhile sisteren, though you now no longer wish to be one the team THAT IS THE CUTTING EDGE HERE ON BU”…

WHAT PIECES ACTUALLY MEANS BY HIS CUTTING EDGE HERE ON BU IS THAT HE WILL GO FOR THE JUGULAR OF ANYONE WHO OPPOSES HIS TIRD PARTY!!

He will use this method to Bring Down his Challengers with his Cunning and Divisive ways. Pieces @ Donna says “Yes, my sisteren Donna since YOU PREFER TO BE AMONG THE SHEEPLE FOR WHOM I HAVE, and will forever have, nothing but uncomplimentary remarks…

nextparty246 April 27, 2019 4:09 PM “Piece is a bully. The typical response people have to a bully is to either try to avoid them, or to join them. Both responses are driven by the fear of being the next target… DONNA PLEASE NOTE YOU’VE BEEN TARGETED/BRANDED!”

He will do all in his Devious power to make this realised by undermining Atherley…Bit my Bit until he makes his final cut at the jugular to dismantle the Rev…He will Brand anyone who stands in his way whither it be Freedom Crier, Grenville Phillips, Donna or Walter Blackman OR WHOEVER!!

nextparty246 April 27, 2019 4:09 PM Well, I am amazed.

…Piece has trolled my comments and cursed, slandared and defamed me in the worst way, while many of you cheered him on. Every accusation was baseless and easily proven to be false (eg autocratic), yet some of you joined him in his attacks.

Robert Goren April 30, 2019 6:35 AM @PUDRYR

“Are you sure it’s Piece the Legend or should be Piece the Legion, which sounds more appropriate.”

Looks like Pieces the Legion has been Trademarked.

STRANGELY, THOUGH MANY HAVE JOINED HIM UNAWARES BY READING & NOT COMMENTING…THEREFORE THEIR SILENCE IS CONSENT!

FREEDOM CRIER… IT TAKES GUTS, BACKBONE AND GREAT FAITH TO STAND…STAND THEREFORE FOR WHAT IS RIGHT, JUST & TRUE AND LET THE CONSEQUENCES FOLLOW.

https://images-blogger-opensocial.googleusercontent.com/gadgets/proxy?url=http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-7kU9_2na3tA/UuaHvq6zzlI/AAAAAAAAHb4/cr1ViXcqbB0/s1600/silence-implies-consent.png&container=blogger&gadget=a&rewriteMime=image/*

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PUDYR

Do you mean I have to up the manifestations to a PENTA**** ?
    I think I will close my mouth before I get hook Boazee. I have to look out for the tourquoise blue trawling nets too.

I long time tek my eyes off Mia and fastening them on you two mischief makers.

32. Walter Blackman Avatar

Tron
    April 30, 2019 10:20 AM

“The sewage problem on the south coast has been solved…”

Tron,

Are you sure?

From reading between the lines, I have been left with the impression that the first priority was to stop the raw sewerage from bubbling up onto the streets of the South Coast. That short-term desirable objective has been achieved.

Where is the raw sewerage going now that it is not showing up on the streets?

Looking past the “discordant noises”, I have gathered that a real solution will take much money and a long time to implement. However, if you were to ask me to give you an idea of the agreed integrated strategy, the amount of money needed, and the expected completion date, I would not be able to answer.

Can you?

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner
    “The electorate is not blind.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    @Donna further points out that “… people […] are not fooled by politicians.”
    ++++++++++++++++

If we accept the premises that the electorate is neither blind nor fooled, then the only possible explanations for the election results are:
    1. The electorate wants the BDLP, or
    2. The electorate votes for the lesser of two (or however many) evils.

It seems to me that #2 is the more credible explanation; so the question then becomes: why does Bajan political culture produce such a unappealing quality of alternative political movements?

34. “A NUMBER OF COMMUTERS were once again stranded for hours in the Fairchild Street and Princess Alice bus terminals yesterday.”

And as the Transport Board struggles with only having a fraction of its fleet on the road, around 42 of 271 up to last week, there was some criticism that yesterday’s Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) annual picnic at Barclays Park, St Andrew, was diverting valuable resources, leaving the travelling public in even more dire straits.”

Fifteen Transport Board buses were part of the massive fleet of vehicles – 176 in all, as reported by party officials – that ferried some of the thousands of people to the Ermie Bourne Highway venue.

However, Minister of Transport Dr William Duguid, who was at the picnic, said such private work was important to the state-owned agency. “You cannot negate the opportunity for charters as these bring in more profits for the Transport Board than routes,” he said.”

“You cannot negate the opportunity for charters as these bring in more profits for the Transport Board than routes,”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239558/stranded

35. Genius

“However, Minister of Transport Dr William Duguid, who was at the picnic, said such private work was important to the state-owned agency. “You cannot negate the opportunity for charters as these bring in more profits for the Transport Board than routes,” he said.”

36. They were all visible at de BLP picnic but…..

“A NUMBER OF COMMUTERS were once again stranded for hours in the Fairchild Street and Princess Alice bus terminals yesterday”

37. Mariposa/AC

Well …………. Trump was wrong about Trump too.

FYI, we had judged that there were no differences between Hitler and Hitlery

We were however right about the dead DLP.

Four (4) years before the election we had called a 30/0 defeat for your DLP. The only person to so do. Even the great Sir William Skinner had concilled us against such. Or were we wrong about that too.

Yuh better be careful, lest we confine your DLP to another defeat, in yuh crutch hole

38. @ peterlawrencethompson wrote “2. The electorate votes for the lesser of two (or however many) evils.

There is an almost cult like following that forms the ” base ” of the BLP and DLP in Barbados. The ” swing ” voters are probably about 60% of the electorate.

39. @Hants

We know there is a loyal support for the duopoly. This has been analyzed to death. What we want to know is how does a new movement gain traction by attracting credible candidates supported by a compelling vision/mission etc.

40. Fact check.

“A major step has been taken to faciliate the installation of a much needed permanent outfall for the South Coast sewage system.

Minister of Energy and Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams today revealed to Barbados TODAY that Cabinet had given its approval for the permanent outfall to be designed by Canadian marine and coastal engineering consultancy firm Baird Associates.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/25/up-to-par/

41. Walter Blackman Avatar

Tron
    April 30, 2019 10:20 AM

“the debt level is falling….”

Tron,
    Underpinning the existence and rise of our sovereign debt level are two very important factors:
    The good faith that must always be shown by the Barbados Government in accepting the fact that the debt has been incurred, and so it must be repaid in a timely manner, as contractually agreed.
    The ability of the Barbados Government to tax citizens and actually make the debt payments when they fall due.

Have these factors played any role at all in getting our debt level to fall?
    No.
    That shows the drastic measures, including unilateral default, that had to be taken to rescue an economy that was savagely stripped.

National priority number 1: “Somebodies” need to be locked up!

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    There is something called hard work that the new parties do not understand.
    I know because I experienced it. The duopoly is entrenched for now but there are cracks and these would become more evident .

43. @ David who asked ” how does a new movement gain traction by attracting credible candidates supported by a compelling vision/mission etc. ” ?

The answer is above my pay grade.

I remain a loyal BU supporter who focuses on playing guitar and watching videos of performances by G G and other talented singers and muscians.

Occasionally but not often I try to contribute something ” meaningful “

44. Walter Blackman Avatar

Pachamama
    April 30, 2019 10:55 AM

“Even the great Sir William Skinner had concilled (sic) us against such.”

Pachamamum,
    You refuse to take my advice and read a book. Instead, you steadfastly rely on voices in your head to spell words and construct sentences for you. – with disastrous effects.

45. Walter Blackman

Is a congenial asshole and has always been, from birth

We are the only people whose errors you seem to highlight.

This is not the only thing we do and on these devices with thumbs, we can touch the wrong thing.

It is fucking idiots like you, and most of Barbados so contain, that want killing for being the idiots you have always been.

Did we spell everything right, yuh cunthole.

46. We know there is a loyal support for the duopoly. This has been analyzed to death. What we want to know is how does a new movement gain traction by attracting credible candidates supported by a compelling vision/mission etc.(Quote)

This is wrong, both in terms of the history of political parties and of a first-past-the-post electoral system. We have discussed this phenomenon numerous times on BU.
    First, if we look at the history of the Tory, Conservative and Unionist, Liberal, Liberal Democratic, Social Democratic Party, and others in the UK, and at political coalitions in other jurisdictions, you will see the same thing, a political dynamic. (Google them).
    In Barbados, the late Ernest Deighton Mottley was first elected to the House of Assembly representing the City in 1951 for one political party, was later elected for another, which has now merged in to the BLP coalition. In the meantime, the trade union stream has remained in the BLP. At the same time, individuals have been moving to and fro between the two parties, this is @ William’s duopoly.
    @William knows more about this than I do, but I am aware that at the time of his death the late Sir Richard Haynes was toying with the idea of re-activating the NDP. I know it because we both discussed it in Barbados and London.
    A first-past-the-post system encourages a duopoly, a winner and a loser. The minor parties are only significant in the rare case of a minority government. Theresa May’s government is a minority government and look at the trouble it is in..
    But there is nothing historically inevitable about it being the same two parties, this can shift and change. See the Spanish general election or even Scotland, when for generations the two dominant parties were the Tories and Labour.
    The SNP came along and changed all this. The same in Wales. Northern Ireland is a good example. Ian Paisley’s anti-Catholic DUP was once a rag-tag group of protestors, it is now a party of regional government. Europe also is gripped by new populist parties emerging, and seriously damaging the traditional parties. Look at Macron in France or even Ukraine.
    There is no reason why over the next four years that UPP, or Solutions, or any other parties cannot rise up to displace the DLP. It is a battle for hearts and minds but our problem is a conservative political culture.
    To put right the problem we must first understand what it is.

47. David is this not Mr.Phillips is saying…Why keep his Adversaries out of the Equation… Just Asking?

“Austerity is defined as a set of economic policies a government implements to control public sector debt. Austerity measures are the response of a government whose public debt is so large that the risk of default,…

48. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“David” is hard to please, a non- interventionalist PM (Stuart) was not to his liking now there is a PM who is inserts herself in every issue in the mode of Arthur is cause for concern; yuh can’t have it both ways.”

When ya create the shit then insert yaself pretending to fix it..guess what..it just looks like another set up…..because that is what it is…

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “To put right the problem we must first understand what it is.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    In my own opinion “the problem” is that Bajan voters want comforting lies rather than the unvarnished truth.

The Black majority do not want to understand that most foreign direct investment in the tourism industry means accepting dead end, low level, service jobs now followed by an expensive environmental cleanup in a few decades when global climate change eliminates the beaches that are the cornerstone of our tourism product. So they continue to hope that Mia can kickstart prosperity with a string of new FDI hotels. It’s not going to work. The only people who will see significant benefits are the construction magnates and real estate developers.

Bajans do not want to understand that neither the IMF/BLP neoliberal economic orthodoxy (public sector led austerity) nor the opposition throwback to Keynesian economics (public sector led investment) can ever bring prosperity to Barbados… they prefer the comforting lie that either one or the other of these outdated nostrums might work.

50. Pachaman i know u would come out spitting bile
    The fact being that the Dlp can rebuild and regroup and become a formidable force in the next election
    As of now Mia has shown that her leadership would be determined by pain and suffering . Suffering which would be rejected and is being rejected by the people
    So what is the other option left
    Meanwhile your mouthings abour Trump has been met with hostile resistance as the American economy continues to rebound and Trump decision to protect americas borders remains a force to be reckoned by the democrats
    Trump will win once again and so will the Dlp emerge from the ashes