Liesel Weekes

On many occasions in which clients have brought disciplinary proceedings against their attorneys for misappropriating or unduly withholding their funds, once the funds have been repaid the client is no longer interested in pursuing the matter at the disciplinary committee – .Liesel Weekes, President of the BAR

The President of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) Liesel Weekes delivered from legalese text last week an insensitive rebuttal to the public. It is no secret lawyers have withheld client funds, misappropriated client funds, ‘misplaced’ important documents, been unresponsive and unprofessional. Weekes found the time to steadfastly defend her Association as any lawyer is trained to do.

She stated that unless members of the public presented evidence the ‘talk’ about lawyers being crooked is not sufficient to discipline the lawyer being accused. What Weekes and her predecessors have failed to do is update the public on the following just to name a few items:

• The date complaint was received and responded to by the Barbados Bar Association/Disciplinary Committee
  • The number of complaints received and the number actioned by the BBA/Disciplinary Association
  • Give a listing of the nature of the charges contained in the complaints received by the BBA/Disciplinary Committee
  • How many complaints were not followed by the BBA/Disciplinary Committee because accused lawyers frustrated the process
  • Provide an Ageing Report’ of complaints outstanding with the BBA/Disciplinary Committee

No we do not accept that as President of the BBA Ms. Weekes has no idea the status of complaints lodged with the Disciplinary Committee. A commonsense approach would have been to have the Chairperson of the Disciplinary Committee append to the statement issued by Weekes.

Barbados Underground over the years has posted many blogs to highlight a dysfunctional court system including the ancillary services. The blogmaster is aware the BBA and Disciplinary Committee have not been given the resources to provide a quality service to the public. In fact one would deem it a nobrainer given the volume of complaints about the legal system from the public at home and abroad that successive governments would have addressed the matter. One is therefore left to assume tthe obvious.

At the town hall meetings in Canada recently Prime Minister Mia Mottley – a lawyer- admitted that the justice system is failing those who are forced to seek justice. A Barbadian in the diaspora also shared an experience with David Ellis last week where he travelled from overseas to attend a hearing in Barbados and he was not notified that the lawyer defending the matter would have been unavailable.

Over the years the blogmaster has observed some of our ‘best’ lawyers elected to the role of President of the BBA or appointed  to Chair the Disciplinary Committee. However,  service to the general public has not improved. Despite many of our ‘best’ lawyers having been elevated to become members of parliament and ministers of government where they have the opportunity to influence policymaking.

In the same way the BBA is always quick to comment on legislation harmful to the power brokers, why not recommend a change to the law that would permit the Crown to prosecute lawyers accused of stealing clients funds when there is evidence monies were repaid? The practice of lawyers repaying monies to clients on condition they do not prosecute is immoral and continues to compromise the justice system. Michael Carrington the former Speaker of the House is a good example.

To the lawyers that are members of the government- enough is enough!

Relevant links:

Tales from the Courts

177 responses to “Barbadians Cry Out as Barbados Bar Association Continues to Protect Crooked Lawyers and Dysfunctional System”

1. I have no trust in the local judiciary (I include lawyers in the group),Look at Avenatti in the US. He has been charged with stealing clients’ funds. In Jamaica lawyers are jailed. In Barbados they are elevated to high positions. Remember Ezra Alleyne and the client’s money or for that matter, Elliot Mottley and Bermuda? When I worked at the Barbados Development Bank I had to be up to date with the lending laws of the land. I was amazed to discover that these parasites on the community had managed to get intrenched in the laws of Barbados their levels of remuneration. For example five percent of the bill of sale goes to the lawyer. In the case of a mortgage ten percent. It is the only profession that has its remunerations backed by the law of the land. The cases of lawyers stealing clients funds will only cease when the funds earmarked for the client are paid into his/her account less what is due to the lawyer. This can be easily be done by an act of parliament. Of course such an action will never be done unless there a revolution and the entire constitution is rewritten. Barbadians are too peace loving to enter into such an enterprise. One has to remember docile slaves were retained in Barbados and the more rebellious ones shipped else where. The explosion of the number of lawyers in the land attest to the inherent crookedness of law as a profession. It also explains why there has been no major effort made to diversify the pillars of economic development of this country(there is too much money to be made from selling land and mortgages).

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I dont know what has rattled the Honourable Blogmaster over the last few days.

But, whatever it is, do ole man Hope’s that it may continue

And I say this with some reservations knowing how serious things have to get before we act on something.

Your submission above reads like something out of a Software Requirements Specification for a Online Ombudsman in the matter of monitoring Lawyers

You said and u quote

“… S1. The date complaint was received and responded to by the Barbados Bar Association/Disciplinary Committee

S2. The number of complaints received and the number actioned by the BBA/Disciplinary Association

S3. Give a listing of the nature of the charges contained in the complaints received by the BBA/Disciplinary Committee

S4. How many complaints were not followed by the BBA/Disciplinary Committee because accused lawyers frustrated the process

S5. Provide an Ageing Report’ of complaints outstanding with the BBA/Disciplinary Committee

You are kicking up a serious storm Honourable Blogmaster

Hmmmmmm I am starting to wonder….who is reading Tsun Tsu…

3. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for you

4. (Bread and butter – not for the cerebral folks)

We have been down this road before and so I will avoid the circuitous route and try to get to the heart of the problem. I am only addressing the theft of money, for a dear one is a victim,

Monies::
    The simplest fix is to change the way monies are received and paid out.’

I purchased a book by a Bajan lawyer who ran into similar problems. It would be good if we could have him as part of a committee whose sole task is to determine what can be done to separate Bajan lawyers from their client monies (as early and as quickly as possible).

I am not well versed in these matters, but would suggest the following
    (a) The lawyers fees be established and that three checks be made as follows:
    (1) lawyers fees in the lawyers name
    (2) the remaining fees (minus 10% of the lawyers fees) must be in the clients name
    (3) That 10% of the lawyer’s fees is held in some escrow account or a 3 month CD and and is for situations where lawyers underestimated their fees.. The monies must be paid out in full and as reconciled, at the end of 3 months.

Let bankers and lawyers tidy up (1) , (2), and (3), but the client walks away with a hard check and not just a promise “We gun talk bout this tomorrow”.

We all know that you that there will be a hell of a fight over that 10%, but most Bajans would be glad to get 90% and fight over 10% than to receive nothing and fight for something. Don’t tell me I am reinventing the wheel, for the wheel needs fixing.

We need to fix how monies are disbursed are paid out.

5. @Robert Lucas
    Read your contribution after I made my post.
    Seems as if the problems and possible solutions are known.
    But no progress towards a “fix’ has been made.

6. The issue is bigger than following money, it is process, an inefficient one.

7. Some things can be easily fixed and fixing them solve other problems.
    Putting in burglar bars will not stop “John” from stealing, but he must go elsewhere to ply his trade.
    Let’s forget
    treason
    sedition
    computer abuse
    Imprisoment/ no bail; for two years
    etc.
    Forget the ‘ole’ talk and go for the small wins…

*We need to fix how monies received are paid out.

8. I’m a bread and butter man. If you owe me money, I want to get paid. My process is simple… Give me a check and let me run to the bank/side chick…

More seriously …. I never bought into the 3 blogmasters, but for the past two days you have been a different person (in my opinion, you are back to punching above your weight)

9. For example, why do we need a lawyer for buyer and seller if the purchaser in a simple land deal is agreeable to the transaction? A search of title does not require a lawyer, it is the registry which validates the result of the search.

Why do we need two lawyers to process a divorce?

Some transactions are non financial but impact the pocket anyway.

We could go on.

10. I never could understand why monies should be disbursed to the attorney rather than to the client. Just a few weeks ago I met a man who used to work for a lawyer. He told me it was routine for said lawyer to send him out to tell clients that the proceeds of the sale of their property had not yet been received when HE HIMSELF HAD COLLECTED THE CHEQUE. He told me how the lawyer would wave dismissively and say,” Tell him I am not ready for him yet!” It was as though the client was overstepping some boundary in inquiring about his money. It was as though the lawyer felt ENTITLED to hang on to it.

“How dare he ask ME for his money when I am not finished with it???!!!! Who the hell does he think he is???!!!!!

This is the extent of the depravity of many of these lawyers. It is hard to find anyone who does not have a horror story to tell. It tends to happen to those who are too polite. I am not and so I have only minor difficulties that tend to get cleared up quickly. Bajans are intimidated by them, defer to them and are quickly silenced by put downs such as –

“I am speaking to you as an ATTORNEY……” translated, “These things are soooo complicated that a layman like you could never understand.”

Not true in most cases!

But remember what happened to the aforementioned Ezra! The slave masters let a few aggressive ones slip through.

11. We need a lawyer because they are in parliament and they say so??????

But seriously though in some cases it is better to have separate lawyers because one lawyer cannot represent two separate interests.

12. Look at Avenatti in the US. He has been charged with stealing clients’ funds.

Do you realise Avenatti was at one time touted as the front runner in the Democrat party to take down Trump?

Trump, a non lawyer, is now proven by Mueller to be squeaky clean!!

America has never had a cleaner president!!

Extensive investigations to the tune of $20-30 million USD have revealed nothing.

Maybe we need Mueller to come down here and investigate from the PM back down …. except, price tab is high!!

13. Hi David:

You have identified the root cause of the problem – lawyers’ fees are legislated.

For your information, the FTC tried to address this in 2004 to encourage competition among lawyers to benefit the public. Something seemed to have spooked them, so they abandoned this effort entirely and directed their resources against all other professions. In 2007, they intimidated all professions except lawyers to abandon a minimum scale of fees.

14. The people of Barbados have to grow up. They have to understand that they too can sit in judgement of lawyers and therefore conduct their business as such.

This means that when transacting business the only money which should be payable to any lawyer should be their previously agreed fees, or estimated costs. and only afterward. What is to be so special about these people, lawyers, to be prepaid in all or most circumstances.

Yes, this attitude may require taking some risks as this writer did when once purchasing a property, in Barbados. In those circumstances, a deposit was paid directly to the vendor in exchange the deeds were given and a purchase agreement signed, as prepared by yours truly. A clerk was engaged to do a search. These are the conditions carried to a lawyer.

The English colour of law systems are maybe the most notorious in the world for they vicious controls of populations. In most other places citizens can transact a wider variety of matters without the involvement of a single legal thief. Why not Barbados? Why must adults be like wards of tieffing lawyers? Asked to suspend regular good judgement and be made to run down behind thieves for decades at a time.

15. @ Robert Lucas,

You are right. All this is the result of having lawyers making our laws. If a property is valued at $10000 the conveyancing involved is the same as if it is valued at $5m. Basic conveyancing can be done at a flat fee; the reason why it is not is because lawyers run our politics.
    There is also no real reason why lawyers cannot compete, such competition will drive down prices. It is a state-defended cartel that would be illegal in any civilised country. There is also no reason why we cannot have licensed conveyancers to compete with the attorneys. That too is a protection racket. It is gangster capitalism.
    If I want to be a conveyancer in the UK I can do a course and function freely. I do not have to be a solicitor.

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

” A search of title does not require a lawyer, it is the registry which validates the result of the search.”

You do not need an attorney for most things…all they are good for…if skilled enough, is filing the correct documents and skilled at good arguments…nothing else.

They have brainwashed Bajans into believing that lawyers are so smart and everyone else who looks like them are so stupid, that they can do whatever they like…and they have…so it’s time to BREAK THOSE MENTAL CHAINS.,

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheOgazerts at 9 :33 AM

Theo, did I not alert you and the rest of BU household that Piece and the Authentic David were up to some mischief? I know the two of them like the palms of my hands. You just have to follow their Brownian motions. Brownian as in particle Physics. Not the other browning’

LoL!!!

18. Here we go with the lies from the Sick One! Ignore button engaged, David. No warning necessary.

ONWARD AND UPWARD!

19. 🙂
    I like the way Bajans play with words and how we change some phrases
    prime wicker
    crime minister
    But I never thought we could invent a second meaning for Brownian motion
    Go to the head of the class.
    🙂

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

This article highlights the problems that occur when a profession polices itself. It is a matter of ethical and moral principles that have to be inculcated not legislated. Of course there is relief which one can get from recourse to the Law Courts but the same lack of trust exists there as well.
    So we are back to the same old conundrum:”Who will guard the guards?”. The Bar Association will have to take its responsibilities more seriously if we want to install ” the Rule of Law”. It is no consolation that it was always been so.

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I should have typed”It has always been so”

22. I have written to the Bar Association regarding the attorney I was dealing with because I cannot get the deed to my cash-paid home and they have not responded. This was months ago.

23. nextparty246
    April 14, 2019 9:56 AM

Hi David:
    You have identified the root cause of the problem – lawyers’ fees are legislated.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Actually, they aren’t … atleast not in litigation!!

I have seen fees on bills of cost that bear no relation to reality and defy mathematical explanation.

I have seen them plucked out of thin air, by both the lawyers … and the judges!!

Formulae in the CPR rules go through the window!!

In 2010, the CCJ had to deal with the security for costs which Goodridge J. awarded, plucked out of thin air by the lawyers!!

The Court of Appeal upheld her award.

Ok, yeah it was half what the lawyers had previously plucked out of the air but still, completely outrageous.

She was rewarded by elevation to the post of Justice of Appeal!!

In 2012 the CCJ tossed out the award of security for costs and ordered the appeal be heard.

It took 4 years to get the appeal heard.

Gibson, Mason and Burgess were the Justices of Appeal making up the panel.

So far, no decision, 2 years and 9 months later!!

Mason is now the GG and Burgess is elevated to the CCJ … reward I would imagine for work well done!!

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Theo at 10 : 20 AM

Thanks ,O Theophillus. I did not realise how easy it is to get a promotion and a diagnosis in one blog. Things really looking up.

25. Jean, I guess you are one of the polite ones. Prepare for a loooooooong wait!

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

“Once the funds have been received the complainant is no longer willing to pursue the case”.

The behaviour of the complainant is quite rational. His purpose in making the complaint has been achieved. It is not an easy mental ,physical and financial matter to fight the System. The complainants are happy that they have recovered something. And the perpetrators know this. That is why they take the risks.
    In this Barbados, the poor black man still has to fight to get what is rightfully his.

27. … hang on every word I say!!

28. Can anyone tell us why money in a Client’s account should not be available to the client within 10 days ?

A few years ago I sold a property in Ontario and my lawyer deposited the proceeds of the sale into my bank account 5 working days after closing.

If “We Gatherin ” in 2020 to ” Invest ” and not just fete it would help to gather up some changes to the laws relating to CLIENT’S ACCOUNTS.

29. @David BU:

I come here every Sunday looking for Jeff Cumberbatch’s column, It is missing today.

30. Hi David:

I attended the presentation of that follow-up report in 2007. However, the FTC have been unsuccessful in addressing lawyers’ fees for at least the past 15 years (since 2004). Unless there is a significant change in management, we should not expect a change of this issue.

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“If “We Gatherin ” in 2020 to ” Invest ” and not just fete it would help to gather up some changes to the laws relating to CLIENT’S ACCOUNTS”

good one.

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, lots of things are immoral and some of those immoral acts are also legally punished as crimes however even those latter matters when amicably/quickly resolved to the consent of all concerned can be thus fully ‘dismissed’ by the courts .

That to lead into your remark: “The practice of lawyers repaying monies to clients on condition they do not prosecute is immoral and continues to compromise the justice system.”

As noted above, if the monies are repaid (with interest) why is the moral equivalence of the ‘theft’ any longer a real concern!

There is a problem surely but our mores have long forever been badly compromised … The legal profession is NOT the only culprit in this regard.

And @Dr Lucas why throw in the slavery trope re Bajans docility!

Aren’t most of our lawyers descendants of the same people! … So are we docile and polite or greedy and aggressive … Or is it that lawyers are from a special ancestral group…🤔

In sum let’s cut the BS emotive clap trap and deal with your valid blunt realities like the entrenched legislative structures etc. … Those are the reasons there will be no escape from this legal pergatory … Has not a freaking, damn thing to do with our fore-parents status!

33. @Dee Word

You are saying citizens should detach themselves from the needs of the country? It comes back to ordinary citizens understanding the power that resides in their domain.

@Bajans

No Jeff colum today.

34. @Grenville

This is a matter that would resonate with the people, more than ISO? Once goodwill is generated the ISO narrative can be attached.

Go for it!

35. Aren’t most of our lawyers descendants of the same people! … So are we docile and polite or greedy and aggressive … Or is it that lawyers are from a special ancestral group…

From the top to the bottom the legal and judicial system is populated by the poor black man.

His/her behavior is no different from the standard poor black man we meet every day on here.

It is a poverty of spirit that the poor refers to more than it does actual riches.

They have no wealth, lots of riches, but no wealth.

… and that’s why the poor black man will always remain poor!!

Colour and gender have nothing to do with it because you will find the poor black man can also be white and female!!

It is what goes on in the head of the poor black man that earns him/her the description “poor black man”!!

36. There is a friend of mine who was divorced in 2017. The Court ordered she should pay her ex-husband a percentage of the value of her house. Unfortunately for her, he remains living there, waiting until she “pays him out, while verbally abusing her and her children……. or anyone who may visit the house.

She decided to get a loan from the bank to “pay out” the ex-husband and gave the cheque bearing her ex’s name to her lawyer, to pass on to his (ex) lawyer. Her lawyer said it cannot be done that way and explained he has to meet with the ex’s lawyer, as well as to draft up legal papers to facilitate the “paying out.”

For this service, the lawyer said his charges are $600 for legal fees and $800 for rendering legal services, which, to my mind, is an easy $1,400.

My questions are:

(1). It is necessary to have a lawyer involved in this matter, when the lady could have easily ascertained the percentage amount to be paid and pay the ex according to the Court’s ruling?

In other words, if the value of the house is $40,000 and she has to pay him 20% of the value, which is $8,000…… why could she not give him that amount, without the intervention of a lawyer?

Or, why could she not draft an expenditure voucher, describing the nature of the payment and have the ex sign along with two witnesses for both parties?

(2). Why would a lawyer charge two different fees for providing, which is, in my opinion, the same service (unless I’m informed otherwise)?

37. Greed coupled with laziness … a deadly combination!!

Unfortunately, that’s the lot of the poor black man.

That’s what keeps him/her poor.

38. Two of the seven venal sins

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seven_deadly_sins

Mind you, we all have to some extent these sins within us and so any one of us can very easily become a poor black man.

39. That is such a fucking, racist lie

40. William Skinner Avatar

All yuh need to note how rapidly the constitution can be changed to protect and advance the movers and shakers but it is like molasses going up a hill when it comes to protecting the masses from the parasites. People who spend twenty five plus years in parliament now pretending that they only became aware of what is wrong wid de country last week and the apologists gobbling up the crap like land turtles thrown into a pit toilet. Eating crap and calling um ice cream. This is tragic comedy.
    People in power who practice law all their working lives suddenly have a revelation that the profession needs regulation. Man this is clown prince stuff. Crop over start !!!!!

41. @John
    “Greed coupled with laziness”

Guess we would have gone around in circles and solved nothing.
    Racist BS seem to be your contribution to this circle

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. Vincent Codrington

I am but a simple man devoid of any reasoning skills and understanding of these things physical as you,one versed in multiple disciplines, would be more familiar with.

However it would seem to me that you are alluding to something deeper than this “…Brownian Motion, named after the Scottish botanist Robert Brown, or pedesis, the seemingly random movement of particles suspended in a fluid…”

In fact, seeing you to be a “man of letter” and possibly even a travelling man? I would seek to disavow (you, or is that not disabuse?) any collusion in what is a random “collision” in the ideas of the Honourable and my own.

In fact you may recall that when asked about other online ombudsman like initiatives the Honourable Blogmaster graciously declined.

I am genuinely discombobulated by what is his 360 degree turnaround in this matter.

2 days ago, my Dearest SSS made two submissions that caught me unawares.

Both were directed at the Original David of BU.

I will tell you truthfully, they caught me midstream, their intensity transcended this digital medium and knocked me back a few paces.

I understand that running a blog one has to become good at juggling diverse opinions and ideas and, periodically, to get things moving, be confrontational, even if it is not your position.

There are 3 people who facilitate this blog, but the one who is the Centre of Gravity is David.

And articles like this show that he, while under great pressure from the Office of the Attorney General Teets, continues to fight the good fight.

I may be wrong cause I am not omniscient BUT HOPE SPRINGS ETERNAL…

43. bajanfreeparty Avatar

April 14, 2019 9:56 AM

Hi David:

You have identified the root cause of the problem – lawyers’ fees are legislated.@@@

You have no clue, the fee is made to make them self rich and to have status, the main problem after the fees is that the lawyers know what you have and then try to teeefff it right from under you,

When you lawyers and you to be paid the lawyer get the check in his name and cash it and they will not give you your money, , NOW you have to go and pay another lawyer to get your money, and hope this one doesn’t do the same , The banks seem to in this for then that money in some cases never leave that BANK it may say in a different account , year will pass as that lawyer make money from loans and interest on the account of the lawyer and even when paid you get no interest on the fund for those years so the lawyer are paid twice as they wait for you t die so now your family may have to get another lawyer to get those funds depends on WILL and Probate, all along they are living and the game keeps going, They need to give you your funds no later than 30 days after the funds are cleared and the bank also need to keep you informed instead of telling you to go talk to your lawyer who is not talking to you,

44. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

45. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I actually see how the demons in the bar association wear down their victims on the island……i saw this article sometime last week, and looked at this beast in all her deceit and said to myself…she will not suck my energy on this topic that we spent years exposing the criminality of the lodge clique for a fraternity…

… in that i was able to understand how they broke the spirits and souls of their victims/clients…while robbing them…

All the crap she is talking, Therold Fields dragged a senor citizen from UK he robbed f THROUGH THE SUPREME COURT FOR 8 YEARS FOR HER OWN MONEY, OWN PROPERTY…BEFORE THE APPEALS COURT DISBARRED HIM…so for her to tell these outrageous lies knowing what these lawyers’ victims are subjected to …she herself has no goddamn soul…

Pacha…we really gotta stop black people from referring to themselves as poor….the most they are, are victims of useless black leaders…but black people are the wealthiest people on the planet…by virtue of their African ancestry…ya done know how that galls greedy, lazy poor ass racists…

46. I left the UK and visited Barbados in October of this year to seek advice from a lawyer named Sharon Carter. Who supported my now deceased grandfather in getting his 92 year old sister who has dimenture to sign away her land to him that is located in Barbados. When I confronted Sharon Cacillia Ida Carter to question her unlawful action. I faced many brick walls. I made other calls to obtain legal advice and support in Barbados but no one would assist. I left Barbados after recognising that the whole legal system in Barbados is corrupt and in need of a full investigation.

47. It is clear as a matter or urgency there should be a judicial inquiry in to the legal profession in Barbados. Over to you, prime minister.
    But the governor general is a lawyer; the prime minister is a lawyer; the president of the senate is a lawyer; and the speaker of the House is a lawyer. Help! Bring back Donville.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

No Mr Blogmaster, I would never want “citizens [to] detach themselves from the needs of the country” …. However, trying to be morally righteous/just re ANY professional group in this era of tremendous widespread moral depravity is the problem … NOT the engagement to societal problems!

@ John, you are shockingly amazing 😂

You had the gumption, cajones or otherwordly temerity to mouth the outlandish lie that “Trump, a non lawyer, is now proven by Mueller to be squeaky clean!!…America has never had a cleaner president!!”…what a lark.

And then to offer the philisophically sounding mumbo jumbo about poor Black men. Amazing!

And for the record our Auditor General has “investigated”
    ‘from the PM back down’ for years at a very cheap price tab!

Lots of info on how squeaky clean we are as well too…

49. I think this client/lawyer/bank/money is one of the easiest things to fix.
    We get fixated with treason and hacking of the Government which will involve at most two or three Bajans…
    Let’s go for the easy fix that will help many… separating lawyers from their clients’ monies.