Screenshot 2019-04-04 at 02.02.44.png
Extracted from elsewhere

There was a time not long ago Michael Lashley was a minister of Crown. He made his mark building many houses and during his early tenure was perceived as a most productive minister of Housing when Esther Byer-Suckoo did not quite measure up to expectation.

In the days post 30-0 defeat of the Democratic Labour Party, Michael Lashley has become one of the most sought after lawyers in Barbados. The blogmaster must be careful to state Lashley has the right to defend any person in a justice system that presumes the party is innocent. However, one must be honest to note Lashley attracts a fair share of clients not of this world.

Discuss for 10 points.

A reminder to comment responsibly and as always the blogmaster reserves the right to delete comments.

174 responses to “Michael Lashley is Representing”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces why is this a distraction ?

I don’t know the Blogmaster’s motives but whatever they are my takeaway from this blog does not follow any distracting disruption.

This blog brightly highlights (as others have noted) that 1) the pols – both sides – are fully entangled with the drug lords; 2) that being a lawyer and a pol is the most adept way to improve your legal earnings in and out of office and 3) that if we perceive Lashley as ‘impolitic’ that the current crew are vastly much worst yet!

In no way should any rational and non-partisan person read this and NOT grasp the complete and seemingly irretrievable decay of Bajan politics.

This is Jamaica of the Manley-Seaga tribalism writ small, plain and simple …

Let’s not get lost in the weeds of your particular passionate and just rants against the powerful Mottley regime and see everything else as contra that narrative…there are many ways to describe the movements of a mangoose!

Mottley as PM has upped de Lashely ting times 10…

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DeeWord
    yet it is about the decay of politics EVERYWHERE, Bim is just in step with many others.
    There will be little change. As long as there is deep political partisanship, and every situation is viewed through that lens; right or wrong depends solely upon your political persuasion, or, from the benefit received in any given situation.
    When the public service personnel list changes with the administration, you get to appreciate one of the many tentacles of power.

3. This week the Torries and Labourites were forced to the table born of a crisis situation read Brexit.

Why not learn from others?

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster u are being exceedingly facetious at 4:42 because u certainly can’t be serious…learn what exactly rom that debacle of absurdity and ego-tripping!

Learn dat… when u feel boxed in u go for a fraught referendum and then spend two plus years fighting intra your own party and against the other party on how to change the will of half of a select demographic of your people!

… Learn from an admin that goes to Parliament thrice with the basic same proposal to lose every time!

…Learn how to lose chief negotiators, multi cabinet members and countless months of negotiations REPEATEDLY…

This has been an exercise in the most distressing and depressing way to negotiate anything…very tough fah sure but with due respect bro, dat u would herald this last gasp attempt to stall the “execution” so to speak, as a teachable/learnable act is a monumental ROFLMAO moment.

The other day a fella went to the US Supreme court and ask to stay his execution because the warden wouldn’t allow him to kneel with his Imam (person was not an approved employee of prisons)…the Supremes dismissed the ploy…so he dun dead…that was a teachable moment too.. and the only reason I wouldn’t laff at the ridiculousness of his lawyer’s last minute, last gasp is because it involves a human life lost.

But ur suggestion of this last minute ‘come to senses’ gasp is quite hilarious… I suspect what didn’t happen during the heated referendum debates and over these last many years will NOT happen in a week or two…bare nonsense…this teaches us very little.

And yes @Northern, it’s a global decay…

A president way out East (or West) tells you he killed drug dealers without due process and his constituents love him anyhow and his judicial people don’t do a ting…

Another president lies about everything from where his ole-man was born to whether he asked his chief cop to go easy on one of his peeps and his constituents say things like “all politicians lie, so big deal”. They love him regardless.

Either a decay of the pols or a decay of the people. Wha u think!

I going wid the peeps cause the pols come from dem!

I gone gone.

5. David BU i agree with this post which highlights the problems we have.Mr Lashley was a Minister just over a year ago and although a lawyer has been in the forefront representing zr persons ,drug persons etc.However this is not about Ms Mottley, so according to the Dems like Greene,SSS,Hants,Donna,Sarge and the swell headed Piece it is a distraction and should not be discussed.These Dems are unbeleivable,only Ms Mottley and tbis government is to be criticized.

6. One of the cases Michael Lashley had was to spotlight on a deficiency in the transport laws. Laws he helped to inform.

Ready for court > > RACHELLE AGARD, rachelleagard@nationnews.com > > Added 19 February 2019 >

[image: morrislee1]

Morris Lee

This after one of their own was given an absolute discharge by Magistrate Graveney Bannister last Friday after appearing in the Bridgetown Traffic Court.

According to a source in the discussions, following a meeting held with the Association of Public Transport Operators (APTO) over the weekend, operators were now looking to recover all the monies they paid out in fines over the last five years, which they roughly estimated at more than $15 million.

โ€œThis is based on about five to six years because some of the operators have paid $500 to $1 000 in [forthwith] fines to avoid jail time. Some of them were imprisoned because they could not come up with the money. Therefore, a lot of them were imprisoned wrongfully, and to my understanding, compensation for erroneous imprisonment equates to about $1500 per day,โ€ the PSV owner told the NATION yesterday.

He added operators were trying to engage the services of Queenโ€™s Counsel Michael Lashley, the former Minister of Transport and Works, to represent them. Lashley was counsel for the PSV worker who was discharged last Friday.

Subscribe now to our *eNATION * edition.

7. “One of her lawyers, former Barbados Atty. Gen. Henry Forde, said, “Miss Hall went into the case with her innocence and came out with her reputation intact.”

Jagger, the lead singer of the Rolling Stones, was present for the proceedings.”

Hall was accused of going to Grantley Adams International Airport on Jan. 21 to pick up up a box that contained 20 pounds of marijuana.

8. The rich can afford the best.

” In the Barbados courthouse, Paul and Linda appear before Judge Haynes Blackman and plead guilty to possession of marijuana. They are fined 200 Barbados dollars ($100 dollars) each.

Paul’s Barbados lawyer David Simmons tells the judge: “Paul is a very talented and creative person. People who have this talent sometimes need inspiration.”

9. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Brother Hants

Where did you fing that article?

I was looking for it on the internet and could not find it so it seems to be new and is an “internal article” like an online newspaper.

How much Marijuana were the people found with?

What was their melanin content?

You do know that you are being called a DLP supporter right?

Look at 7.32 PM and you will see you name is deah wid de rest uh unnah heheheheh

Dah fuk lik yuh Salemite dat you is

But where is the link?

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Brother Hants

I want you or Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver and Accountant to help de ole man wid something

“…Members of the Drug Squad have arrested and charged a 54-year-old Prison Officer Robin Wesley Wiltshire, of Coach Hill, St John with possession of 262 grammes (rouvhly 1/5 of a kilogram) of cannabis, with an estimated street value of $1 314…”

Then in a next case

“…MEMBERS OF THE Drug Squad have charged a Canadian visitor Mellissa McMillan, 37 years in connection with the seizure of 13 kilogrammes of cannabis, with an estimated street value of BDS$104 000…”

1,000 grams are equal to a kilogram right?

So in de case of Wiltshire one gram is worth approximately $6500 but de white woman own Valued at $8,000/gram

How much time de black man get and what was his fine AND HOW MUCH TIME DE WHITE WOMAN GET.

By the way, is the weight of the drugs in your incident given??

Who were the judges in your matters?

Are you seeing a pattern of corruption here?

But in de case of de Canadian

11. Your assumptions are not correct.

262grams is closer to 1/4kg that 1/5kg.

The difference in value in Kg cost could be if Jamaican weed or Canadian high-grade weed.

The Jamaican weed even of high-grade quality would be a much lesser street price than the Canadian weed.

In Barbados, the cheapest weed is from St. Vincent and then homegrown and Jamaican, with Canadian, US or South American weed priced higher.

12. “The McCartneys, who said nothing in court, were represented by Barbadian lawyer David Simmonds, who told the judge McCartney had a considerable international reputation.

‘He is a very talented and creative person,’ Simmonds said of the former Beatle. ‘People who have this talent sometimes need inspiration.’

https://www.upi.com/Archives/1984/01/17/Former-Beatle-Paul-McCartneys-wife-Linda-was-arrested-for/3382443163600/

13. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

The rich can afford the best lawyers and legal teams in Barbados.

Same in Canada.

14. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Barbados 2019

You are correct about the multiplication issue.

My point though was about the fines levied, the sentencing apportioned and the nature of deportations IF THAT IS APPLIED.

I went a little further and sought to explore IF a matrix merited being built to show a pattern between

(1).the lawyers defending the accused

(2).the colour of the accused

(3).the nationality of the accused vis a vis Tourism is we business do your part

(4).the flexibility euphemism for complicity of the judges in these matters

And generally what appears to be a corrupt court system that releases people with a slap on the wrist depending on who you are

You will note that I did not say Charles Herbert

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right April 4, 2019 12:33 PM “Mindless toddlers”

Toddlers are NOT mindless.

16. The following was sent to BU inbox:

Barbados is the most messed up and classist society in the Caribbean. Imagine, Michael Lashley QC is a qualified lawyer. He was one of the most sought after criminal defence lawyers in Barbados who took a break from 2010 to 2018. Now de man come bk out de blp yard fowls out here on social media trying to defame the man for representing his clients. Why them don’t go and look for work. He is working legitimately. So much cases this man win in the high court, magistrate court and court of appeal now wanna talking foolishness. Well why wanna didn’t curse the speaker when he went to the CCJ trying to get off the Campus Trendz murderer. Why wanna didn’t curse when Bounty and Rubber Guts get invite to parliament. Ya know what, Michael Lashley is a successful lawyer doing a job. If it was one of wanna family in trouble wanna would want the best lawyer and right now he is the best.

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal Austin

“it is really repugnant to hear black people referring to each other as Gorilla and such like.”

My brother you know that we tried to remove such nonsense and inferiority based thinking going back to the 60s.

Very sad…………….

The struggle continues.

18. William do we live in a perfect world? There will never be nirvana although we aspire to it.

There is no need to fixate on a the minority view. Take a pragmatic approach and appreciate there will always be dissenters.

19. The insignificance of this article is mind boggling
    In that it takes all and sundry minds away from an economy that is drowning in joblness high inflation skyrocketing prices across the board and a downward spiral to increased poverty
    David u need to stop being a stool.pigeon for govt

20. it is really repugnant to hear black people referring to each other as Gorilla and such like. we have been so described indecorously by whites and often we do the same to each other.
    My brother you know that we tried to remove such nonsense and inferiority based thinking going back to the 60s.
    Very sadโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.
    The struggle continues.

Oh please. You clowns are full of it, taking yourselves much too seriously.

The Albinos refer to us as ”idle, shiftless layabouts” .

How should the one refer to a person who is an idle, shiftless layabout?

Gorilla Q.C behaves and looks like a gorilla.

@ Skinner
    The inferiority is in always worrying what the Albinos think of us.

21. @Dee Word

Try to pick up the perspective from where the UK finds itself TODAY.

In other words forget the journey to this point.

What is the take away?

Corbyn has a heathy desire to support May resolving this matter because it is one he has no appetite to carry into the next general election campaign. You must be aware the Brexit issue is NOT split down party lines.

22. Yardfowls why wunna cannot put country first? The rackets by politicians such as selling of permits, licenses and bribe taking causes leakage thus higher taxes as well widening poverty line.

23. William Skinner Avatar

I donโ€™t know what color race or ethnicity you are but I happen to be a black man and unlike you and others there are black children who must be protected from such nonsense. I know there is no perfect person or place. I know what pragmatic means.
    To quote Chalkdust maybe inaccurately : I ainโ€™t just come town.
    I guess a white woman saying that Michelle Obama looks like a gorilla in heels should be ignored.
    I guess when a white man shoots a Black man in Barbados and then say he thought it was a monkey we should have kept quiet.
    I guess when one of the other ethnic minorities kicked a black store clerk we should have ignored that,
    You equating pragmatism with a whole lot of reactionary crap being published on BU.
    I am a realist you are whatever………pragmatist, apologist-take your pick Broโ€™

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Actually, David Mr Blogmaster my incredulity is based very much on where they are today and also starkly recognizes that this Brexit conundrum has absolutely no neat political party packaging!

Some folks have said that the Brits have gone crazy and are in total chaos on this matter and for all practical purposes that’s true.

From this distance I see no reason (even ur Corbyn election fear) that there can be an agreement in the UK parliament by the mid April deadline.

The lovely bipartisan chatter u now herald should have been done MONTHS ago…

Clearly the hardliners perceive that Britain is very much Great Britain and she can disentangle from the EU and be restored in time to her former name tag…they seem to want a hard Brexit.

And the remainers are deceiving themselves !

Those who want the so called soft Brexit are just as bad as the hardliners because they too feel the Great in Britain but want that ‘great cake’ and are essentially telling the EU when and how they need the ingredients… How do u expect that to work !

In my crazy world I say let the hardliners prevail: You want out…then get the hell out and forget what went before…as u suggested : discard the history and forge a new today!

Not so easy…is it!

The way forward is mighty difficult and alas the history is the pain!

Corbyn should be glad he is not PM.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@WSkinner all dat at 8:57 is true re other races using derogatory terms but whatelse u want the Blogmaster to be other than pragmatic when there is such nastiness within a racial group!

Have u ever called someone ugly or in Bajan terms boogly!

How about ‘a piece of shi‘ or ‘a shihole’… maybe you haven’t but daily many do to their brethern.

Yes condemn it and teach your youth accordingly but practically and pragmatically it’s rampant, was always rampant and is now more out of control in this modern net 24-7 era.

Alas too many use derogatory terms too loosely to be spiteful, out of envy and because of their own insecurities…that’s as pragmatic as can be….no one ever said it was right or acceptable!

26. @Dee Word

It is the explanation you have offered which trigged this sidebar. In other words, there is no need to wait for a crisis to develop if a use of common sense points to the benefit of solving the issue for the good of the whole. We maybe venturing down the philosophical foxhole now.

27. Lorenzo April 4, 2019 7:32 PM

so according to the Dems like Greene,SSS,Hants,Donna,Sarge and the swell headed Piece it is a distraction and should not be discussed.These Dems are unbeleivable,only Ms Mottley and tbis government is to be criticized.

Donna April 4, 2019 9:31 AM

Soโ€ฆ.. we have descended into nitpicking about minute differences between corrupt acts, who looks like a gorilla and who is a private citizen NOW.

What is the purpose of this discussion again??????
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Poor Birdbrain,

On the contrary, I was simply suggesting that we shift our focus from debating the MINUTE DIFFERENCES in corrupt acts to the fact that they are BOTH UNACCEPTABLE in my opinion.

I did better than criticise the DLP! I helped to vote them out.

Cuhdear! If these are your comprehension skills it’s no wonder you talk so much fowl shit.

28. When is BU going to put articles that focus on a decaying economy and govt hardline applied measures to fixing it
    The blog master seems to no longer care about Transparency
    A promise made by present govt

29. Local economist are daily sounding tge warning bell of an economy that is unsustainable on taxes
    The higher unemployment becomes the less spend would be available for locsl businesses to remain operational
    Why has govt presented a sustainable growth plan for the economy sufficient and enough to buffer the negative fall out from high employment
    The barbadian household is in for a steep nose dive as prsent govt austerity measures depletes them of income

30. @ William,

Morality is learned behaviour. When middle aged and elderly men and women can behave as if in a brothel then it is a good pointer to their upbringing.
    I am a pensioner and find the thought of swearing in front of the elderly unthinkable; my father died decades ago and I had never heard him swearing. So when an elderly woman can tell her mature son or daughter to swear at someone then you have an idea of the home s/he was brought up in.
    @William, you will remember Manners Maketh Man (and woman too).. Many people on BU have normalised foulmouthed behaviour. It is a sign of inarticulacy.

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ha, Ha, go rest ya old ass…what’s the sense of only having manners that say good morning, which is not manners at all but a greeting, a salutation……and nothing else, no other manners that generates progress or positive changes in the society…exists on the island…it is all pretense and hypocrisy, which you are damn good at too.

wuh they even cuss each other and each other’s mothers in parliament…..

32. WARU,

Inarticulacy???? He never hear a sweet cussing yet! Articulacy has to do with getting an idea across. Some cuss words are good imagery. Word pictures. A pictures paint a thousand words. A word picture therefore needs less verbiage.

I really don’t like the reduction of genitalia to cuss words especially when involving mothers in the debasement. I do not think we should routinely portray genitalia or sex as dirty. But there are other ways of skinning a cat. (pun not intended) that I find remarkably appropriate when what spews from the mouth and the anus are indistinguishable.

33. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Caswell my friend…i never knew you had compiled a report on the thefts of lands and estates from Violet Beckles and Beatrice Henry by both tiefing governments…i was shocked to see this report, is this the one where Mia told you to let sleeping dogs lie…like she is letting the theft of billions of taxpayers dollars and pensioners money be written off because she don’t want to lock up her tiefing DLP friends and those in the business community….who bribe both governments..

Ah hope you know that your report on the theft of the Violet Beckles/Beatrice Henry and their beneficiaries 300 plantations/estates by the various lawyers, ministers, PMs of Barbados is all over facebook.

34. Dullard April 5, 2019 7:08 AM

@ Skinner
    The inferiority is in always worrying what the Albinos think of us.

Yuh sure got dat right!

35. @William S
    We share the same hymnal. However, I believe โ€˜you cannot fix stupidโ€™.

Donโ€™t waste your time trying.

36. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Why wanna didnโ€™t curse when Bounty and Rubber Guts get invite to parliament. Ya know what, Michael Lashley is a successful lawyer doing a job. If it was one of wanna family in trouble wanna would want the best lawyer and right now he is the best.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This is a bunch of shite.

I was the one who posted the video of Mia with Bounty and others right after the election on BU.

I have met Michael Lashley previously, he is a very sleazy individual and a criminal that is why he is able to attract and appeal to the major criminals in the local underworld because he is one of them.

Arthur Holder Speaker of the House of Parliament who also represented Lord Evil another Drug Lord is no different than Michael Lashley along with Ralph Thorne.

Ralph Thorne represented Christopher Hawkesworth and two others who the US wanted to extradite for cocaine shipment.

Christopher before he died lived with his wife, the other two Shawn was married to a Guyanese who is back in Guyana for several years after leaving him whilst the third individual lived in St. Philip. I have visited all three at their former homes as I knew them well.

All three were guilty as hell as they admitted to me and opened my eyes about Ralph Thorne and underhand dealings.

These lawyer folks are the sewage of Barbados society playing everyone for fools while they live high off their ill gotten gains while working in collusion with the Barbados Criminal Underworld.

I am not speaking as an observer I know all the parties either personally or professionally.

37. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

The third person with Christopher now deceased, Shawn Gaskin was John Scantlebury who owned a house in St. Philip.

38. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

The third person with Christopher Hawkesworth now deceased as he was murdered by another drug dealing associate, Shawn Gaskin was John Scantlebury who owned a house in St. Philip.

39. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

I should add so as to take way the blinders from many who live locally.

I met David Thompson former Prime Minister about 4 years before he became Prime Minister.

I was at the house of an individual from Canada at that time I was not aware the individual who lived in St. John was a Canadian Drug Deportee.

David Thompson had arrived before I got to the house and both were smoking a spliff. I was also told in conversation David Thompson visited the house regularly where they would talk and smoke marijuana as they were good friends.

I spent about 3 hours at the house in discussion before I was invited to a party in the St. John area the following night to be attended by David Thompson and the individual whose house I was at.

The next night I arrived at what I would describe as a house/bar with loud music inside and full of people all smoking marijuana. David Thompson and the individual was already there with 2 young ladies I met for the first time.

About 10 minutes later I was introduced to a young man whose father owned the property but he was hosting the party.

This young man was later caught about a year later with delivering cocaine on a DHL truck.

ALL Bajans need to wakeup and stop worshipping Lawyers or Politicians whether B or D.

Unfortunately there is now more evil than good.

40. too many use derogatory terms… out of envy and because of their own insecurities

Insecurity? Envious of whom? The Gorilla Q.C.? William Skinner? Hal Austin? The pusillanimous Dribbler? hahaha

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Waru

You have a copy of that report? I need all the information I can get on these people who rule Barbados for personal gains.

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Barbados Underground Whistleblower

You are one man on Barbados Underground who is hated even more than WARU or I

All 3 of us live with death sentences.

WARU for highlighting the thieving Teets and Pain.

Mine for my political enemies and the campaign I fight against the Despot Mugabe

And you for your knowledge of and exposure of the Drug Czars and their footsoldiers the corrupt police and the lawyers like Ralph Thorne and Michael Lashes and the deceased David Thompson

Look at this subject matter

Watch it carefully.

It started to discredit a former DLP minister and take the attention off Mugabe articles.

Usually intelligent people got sidetracked about gorillas etc.

But then the serious commentators like you turn up and immediately 2 things happen.

The idiots focusing on DNA etc get silent and the other blogs on CLICO and other non important things get flooded into the BU space.

Because the subject matter is now focusing on the existing Mugabe thieves

Imagine 3 people who are targeted to die, continuing to say the same things every single day

Warning people who are bent on discussing the frivolous and unimportant minutia about the state of corruption AND WHAT THEY MUST DO TO CHANGE IT

DO YOU THINK ANY ONE OF THE THREE OF US WOULD LAST ONE WEEK on the streets of Barbados?

Yet here we are doing this shy$e daily.

While fellows like ghd Blogmaster tell us we got a lot of time on our hands and others call you Salemites, obsessed, paranoid etc.

Yet we continue…

Why is that Barbados Underground Whistleblower?

Could you send me that link for those drug dealers and Mugabe?

43. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

I have sat in a room with 3 local Police Detectives after being setup by one of their bribers and partner in crime asking and then threatening me to work with them in criminal activity and I refused because no one can bully me or force me to do something I wanted no part of.

Secondly, if I was in their collusion I would always have to be watching my back based on how nasty the individuals were because of their involvement with local major drug dealers and compromised businessmen.

As related to the video with Mia and the drug lords it would have been posted on BU last year just after she was elected in May 2018 so you can search BU articles around that time.

44. BUW

well at least MAM sounds innocent. you dont seem to have any info on her.

it is eyeopening to get inside info

are they any good cops, lawyers, businessmen or politicians?

where do we go from here?

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with the same article that Barbados Underground Whistleblower says he posted

Thank you

46. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

So that it is clear the Detectives were trying to blackmail and extort me for $15,000 on the behalf of a US Drug Deportee who is heavily involved in the local drug trade and trafficking.

Evidence was planted and the US drug deportee sent his boys in the Police Force to put pressure to extort for the $15,000 and to work with them.

In both instances I refused.

This was the first of two attempts where evidence was planted with Police involved.

47. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Barbados Underground Whistleblower

What do you know about the nightclub in Holetown that used to be run by Stewart?

If you are in the know, you would be able to detail that matter.

48. Looks like it’s getting too hot in here. Everybody is leaving the kitchen. Piece, Whistleblower and WARU seem to have scared everybody away. I know nothing of these things so I just read. Stands to reason that “Something is rotten in the state of Denmark” But details I have none other than what i see posted here.

No details to add.