Screenshot 2018-12-28 at 19.26.37
Submitted by Melissa Martin, Ph.D., is an author, columnist, educator, and therapist. She lives in USA

The United States celebrates Black History Month annually. Let the world celebrate the history of all black women as well. Daughters of Africa (published in 1994) and the new volume New Daughters of Africa: An International Anthology of 20th and 21st Century Writing by Women of African Descent (published 2019) by editor Margaret Busby is an anthology about African women writers. Set the World on Fire: Black Nationalist Women and the Global Struggle for Freedom (2018) by Keisha N. Blain highlights black women leaders who demanded equal recognition and participation in global civil society.

Let us teach our black daughters and our white daughters about civil rights and activists for freedom. Let us care about black womanhood. Could the civil rights movement have happened without black women? No, indeed. Let It Shine, Stories of Black Women Freedom Fighters (HMH Books for Young Readers, 2013) authored by Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrated by Stephen Alcorn is recommended.

Bold. Gutsy. Plucky. Scrappy. Determined. Spirited. Sojourner Truth, Biddy Mason, Harriet Tubman, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Mary McLeod Bathune, Ella Josephine Baker, Dorothy Irene Height, Rosa Parks, Fannie Lou Hamer, and Shirley Chisholm are featured.

Born into slavery as Isabella Baumfree in 1797, Sojourner Truth was an Afro-American women’s rights activist. Her famous “Ain’t I a Woman” speech was delivered in 1851 at the Ohio Women’s Rights Convention. “…And ain’t I a woman? I have borne thirteen children, and seen most all sold off to slavery, and when I cried out with my mother’s grief, none but Jesus heard me! And ain’t I a woman?”

“Nobody’s free until everybody is free.” Fannie Lou Hamer dedicated her life to fighting racial injustice. In 1964 she co-founded the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party and ran for Congress in Mississippi in 1965.

The first African-American woman elected to Congress, Shirley Chisholm of New York, won election to the House in 1968.

More Brave Black Women

Of the 127 women serving in the United States 116th Congress, 22 are Black. In 1993, Carol Moseley Braun became the first African American female to serve as U.S. senator. Gloria Jean Watkins, known by her pen name bell hooks, is the author of Feminism is for Everybody. The bell hooks Institute in Berea, KY, celebrates, honors, and documents the life and work of this acclaimed intellectual, feminist theorist, cultural critic, artist, and writer. www.bellhooksinstitute.com. Known as the “Mother of the American Civil Rights Movement,” Septima Poinsette Clark was an activist, teacher, and advocate for education. www.biography.com/.

“In the 20th century, African American women formed the backbone of the modern Civil Rights Movement. They were the critical mass, the grassroots leaders challenging America to embrace justice and equality for all,” according to The National Women’s History Museum. www.womenshistory.org/.

There were countless unnamed black women who struggled for freedom and justice. Let us remember them as well. NASA’s employees Katherine Johnson, Mary Jackson, and Dorothy Vaughan were black scientists featured in the film Hidden Figures. Astronaut Mae Jemison became the first African-American woman in space in 1992. Oprah Winfrey, Michelle Obama, Condoleezza Rice, Joycelyn Elders, M.D., Maya Angelou and other black women stand as female icons for civil rights and equality.

The Civil Rights Movement was triumphant in 1964 and 1965, with the federal government’s passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965.

White women, let the named and unnamed black women of struggle, freedom, and equality nationally and internationally be nestled in our spirits and let their struggles be on our lips.

“There are still many causes worth sacrificing for, so much history yet to be made.—Michelle Obama

254 responses to “Remembering Black Women Around the Globe”

1. @Vincent

We have some on the blog who see their role as fulfilling a predetermined script. Thankfully some of us will not allow our minds to be boxed.

2. @ Vincent,
    There is no discussion. There is the usual Bajan fit of pique. People make statements and if someone makes a counter-statement they either go quiet, or become abusive. Learning by rote does not prepare one to be critical.
    You got one contributor talking about his/her white friends and how much they enjoy his/her company and visiting Barbados. This is the behaviour I would normally expect from someone in the 1950s. A mature debate is not having a tantrum.

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ WARU at 12:39 PM

In the Caribbean,it is not necessary to write or teach about our strong and powerful black women. We experience their strength and power everyday.

4. But how Hal Austin know who learned by rote or not?

5. SSS

I have a lot of white friends here in the States, but they aren’t the problem; they racist family members and friends are … so having a lot of White friends does not mean that you are going to escape racism.

6. Vincent Codrington

I am not saying the Caribbean women aren’t strong …but a lot of them are still more codependent than the international woman …

7. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Vincent…more the reason to honor Black women in song and books for prosperity…let future generations look up to them for guidance in spirit..the only song i can remember honoring black women is Caribbean Queen by Billy Ocean….and from Africa ….African Queen by 2 Face Idiba…

Have yet to see a book, just one.

Never once heard a politician, minister, no one saying they will write a book about the strength of the black women, without whom none of them would be where they are…..not in my decades on this earth have i heard even one of them honoring black women.,,,ah heard them cussing them…and that is good compared to when they want Mia to run down Broad Street naked….

All i have ever seen or heard is disrespect for Black women, coming from the island nuisances, from the blights in parliament on down.

8. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Was it the same airhead Symmonds that called the women in his own party…1,000 pounds of blubber…if ah blaming the wrong lowlife, please correct me….they have no respect at all for Black women….they were never raised to..

9. @William,

You have misunderstood the arguments. White women are free to write about whatever they like and do. I said, and I am right, that having such published on a blog which professes to be aimed at black people is misappropriation. @Adrian writes a weekly column here on tourism which is much appreciated. There is a difference between what Adrian writes about and a white woman telling us who are brave black women. WE DECIDE WHO ARE OUR HEROINES.
    It is not a non-issue; but goes right to the heart of who defines black history; the issue of reactionary black people is not the same and is irrelevant to this discussion (even if it is to Bajan culture). To say it is a non-issue is to reveal a serious misunderstanding of post-war black history and culture.
    We already have the capture of our culture: white journalists and television and film producers writing and making programmes about our music; about our sporting heroes; about black theology; the sociology of the black experience. Are you saying all those people who struggled in the 1960s got it wrong?
    Have you ever been involved in an event and when it becomes part of written history you have been written out, not only that but the history is misleading. I have been involved in the initial reporting of the Stephen Lawrence case and the official history is not one that I remember. That is what being written out of history means.
    Who’s next? Muslims writing about Rap music? Russians telling us what is the right course for decolonisation? Englishmen writing the history of colonialism?
    @William, you are wrong on this issue. Publishing that article was a misjudgement. There is no equivalence. White voices have no place in a black debate about its history.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lexicon

This conversation is not about who is racist. This conversation is about those whites who are not. The friends I have and their families do not exhibit a racist bone. They were not raised to hate. You certainly do not know or understand the SSS. I do not associate myself with white shites. I have had my encounters with these idiots so I know very well how their hate spirals. Europe has many of them. Covert and overt. The stories about those European countries who engage in the enslavement of other races, not just blacks, are well known. There are also stories about those whites who opposed the racist ideals of white fools believing themselves to be superior. Those stories are also true. So do not think that I am oblivious to the obvious. Just that persons on here want to paint every darn white person with the same brush base on what? Are they not promoting and showing the same behaviour tendencies that keep the hate alive. Do you think all white people look down on black people? Why should I judge a good friend on the sins of other family members when they are not like them? The thinking by some is just too extreme. Me believe the fuel for all of this is how whites behave in Barbados.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hal Austin

Europa

12. @SSS
    Stop talking nonsense about your white friends, you fool. Do you think you are special? Maybe they have poisoned your mind in Europa.

13. @SSS
    Stop talking nonsense about your white friends. Are you suggesting that you are special?

14. If we can address what the author has touched on in her submission. She has highlighted the achievements of Black women all agree is an accurate position. What is the issue again?

15. Nothing wrong with a woman writing about Black history
    But what is wrong is some where in the foreseeable future just as thehistory of the blacks were used in instrumenal ways to declassified the blacks race as Whites tampered with the historical works of black writings inventions and artistry
    Blacks should be adamant and holdfast in not allowing or giving whites a lead way or impression that they would not be watched or taken to task
    Just like other ethnic races blacks should be keepers of their History

16. @ David,
    If David Duke or Hitler say something that is historically and culturally accurate about black people they should be embraced? Grow up and work your brain.

17. Are we discussing the future? We are critiquing the article submitted by Martin. What you posted conflicts with your previous comment. We should welcome all people of race and ethnicity working together to make the world a better place as the creator possibly intended.

18. @ David,

So if David Duke or Hitler say something that is historically or culturally accurate about black people should they be embraced?

19. @ Mariposa,

You are right.

20. What most here who are defenders or simply gloss over or refuse to understand about the white Race is that this group is an unified power house having economic power and political power all of which is missing from within the black race
    Taking a few whites out of bunch and identifying them as friends is foolhardy because at days end what matters is an established system having all influence that teaches that blacks are second class race of people.

21. @ David

I’m afraid to admit that Mr Austin is standing on very solid ground here.

Black people just love white validation.

The timid responses here like, “oh, I have white friends”, “all white people ain’t bad” , etc. just serve to miss the wider point and reinforce what Hal is trying to say.

In fact, the general opposition to Hal does not surprise me at all. These attitudes play a big role in why Black people continue to suffer and be mistreated globally.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

There is no issue. I see no colour in this article nor the person who wrote it.

23. @ Prof A. Dullard,

Why are you “afraid to admit”……..? And what Hal is “trying to say…”

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hal Austin

I thought better of you. Look where you going with your rubbish. I have provided examples, where are your examples. How is that being special when these people are like family to you. Wow.

25. @ Prof A. Dullard

Why are you “afraid to admit”……..and what is all this about “what Hal is trying to say….?”

26. @SSS

You seem to think you are privileged. What examples do you want? That I live in Europa and have white friends? I also have Chinese friends, Africans friends, a couple Japanese friends?

27. @Dullard

Do not agree.

This is a simple matter, a person of Caucasian likeness penned and article with a positive message. We need people supporting good causes if we are to make the world a better place for our children. Until somebody can prove that this is a false positive we will stay with it.

28. Blacks who are defenders of the white establishment in regards to whites being writers of their past need to revisit and re-read what present day black historians have been able to revealed and unraveled by the contents of white Historians the lies and misleading information that helped in keeping blacks docile and afraid to fight and formed a unified group against the white establishment

29. What is the article about?

Is it about women who deserve praise? How was the issue twisted to be about race? Can anybody here address the view of the author regarding race? We get it, a heavy dose of generalizations per usual.

30. I do agree with David that it is partnerships that will take us forward and we should not rebuff the empathy or refuse the assistance of well-meaning white folks in our cause.

I do understand how it rubs us the wrong way to have a white person tell us our history even if she gets it right. It is as though we need a white person to make us feel good about ourselves. Strangely enough though it is the only tactic that might work for some of us who are mentally enslaved. That is of course a double-edged sword because the object is to free our minds to define ourselves.

Lexicon is correct in saying that we are often our own worst enemies. That is because some of us really do hate ourselves, having internalized the white man’s opinion. We give them plenty of ammunition to justify their opinion. How do we prove to them that it is their oppression that causes us to be that way? They will have none of it because they don’t want to shoulder any of the blame. Facts will not matter. History does not matter. There is no convincing them

So what do we do?

We have to work on ourselves. We have to learn our history before slavery. We have to understand the damage done to our collective psyche during slavery. We have to consider and understand the battle we still fight with the residual covert racism that still is the current system. We have to examine ourselves HONESTLY and confront our issues that prevent us from progressing. Then we have to find ways to embrace ourselves and our heritage and forge a path forward in the face of adversity. We must break the vicious cycle. We must determine that we are not going to play into their hands but that we are going to defy them and spoil their fun. We have to do this knowing that the world is a hostile place for us. We must have no illusions but we must have hope that with time and patience and action a gradual change will come.

Our white partners must not be turned away. We must remember that civil rights leaders were largely invisible until white sympathizers showed up. Then the media paid more than cursory attention. Then it became a headline.

But I do agree that the main job of the empathetic white man is tell our history to others of their kind who often do not have a clue. It just is not a priority on their packed ‘To Do” list.

I recommend to those who have not considered these things before that they read “Brainwashed” by Tom Burrell. His ideas are not entirely novel but his approach is systematic and sets out our problems and solutions all in one place. It is not an academic exercise and so it is easy reading.

If we don’t pause consider I fear we will be forever doomed.

31. @ Hal
    I read the article. There is nothing written in there that you and I do not know! To claim that such an article is defining black people is a bit far fetched.
    I note that the author made a plea to white women to embrace the strengths of black women. That is the usual theme in such offerings. Some even call it guilt.
    In the wider scheme of things, this article is nothing to shout about.

32. @William

Have you missed the so-called discussion so far? It was not about the article, the focus is on the colour of the authors skin. Like Donna as stated, there is nothing wrong with people not of our colour restating what we know fo it to resonate.

33. David,

My posts seem to be getting lost somewhere.

34. Never mind.

35. The United States celebrates Black History Month annually. Let the world celebrate the history of all black women as well.(Quote)

If you are writing about the history of black women you are writing about colour, race, ethnicity. Will we be happy with the British writing the history of colonialism? A better article will be one on the role of white women in racist attacks. What role did white women play in lynchings? I am sure Emmett Till will speak from his grave on this matter.
    Even in contemporary society what role do they play? A couple years ago the white wife of a Yorkshireman, in Barbados as part of a group, was taken to Oistins by me and my wife on a Friday evening and she complained that she felt threatened by the number of black people around her. Even her husband had to tell her to grow up. The most racist woman have ever worked with was the mother of mixed race children and a Jamaican husband. It was always her excuse if you made a complaint: how can I be racist when I have black children and a black husband.

36. A woman whether White Black Indian or Chinese can write about what she damn well pleases.

37. David,
    An English family and neighbourhood of ALL WHITE PEOPLE nurtured my self-esteem from the age of six weeks. It made me strong enough to withstand the battering that I have received from many black people.

38. @ William,

The objection is not about the content, it is about legitimising the author’s alleged expertise by having the story published on a black blog. She is free to publish her article in any white publication.
    I will give an example: for years a national newspaper in London had a white woman reporter specialising on the black community – and, for all the reasons we know, she got some of the best stores.
    But her ‘success’ – black men giving stores t o an attractive single white woman – meant there was no need to employ black people because the paper was not missing any stories.
    Equally, if you have a white woman who is such an expert on black gender politics that even a leading black blog celebrates her by publishing her articles, then why employ a black woman when they already have a white woman who knows about the subject?
    It was a bad decision to publish, but I do not expect @David BU to understand.

39. I read the article and did not come across anything written therein that I would consider or interpret as a white woman writing or rewriting history of black women.

What I saw was Martin making references to information she perhaps gathered from websites and publications of black authors and commented thereon. She included in the article, the names of authors and websites that are controlled by Black people.

For example, she made references from books written by Keisha N. Blain PhD who is a writer and historian; Margaret Busby, a Ghanaian-born publisher and writer; and Andrea Davis Pinkney who is an author of children’s books. And all these women are BLACK.

And I note with interest that she did NOT mentioned ONE book on “black history” written by a white man or woman.

She mentioned the names of black women who, perhaps by their deeds, caused her to describe them as “Bold. Gutsy. Plucky. Scrappy. Determined. Spirited.”

Miller also used this information to briefly discuss and REMIND us of the social and political achievements of black women……for example, black women who took part in the civil rights movement, etc.

And in the penultimate paragraph of the article, she issued the warning, which, in my opinion, gives us a gist of what she was trying to “say”: “White women, let the named and unnamed black women of struggle, freedom, and equality nationally and internationally be nestled in our spirits and let their struggles be on our lips.”

I could understand the “up roar” if she was attempting to rewrite history from her perspective.

But is there anything untoward about a white woman who, during Black History Month, is more or less encouraging ALL people not to forget the struggles and contributions black women made to society.

And I’ll go as far as to bet anything that, if anyone in this forum is honest, they have never heard about or read any publication of the authors Miller mentioned in the article.

(Well……. yuh dun know dat Lexicon and WARU gine say dem hear ’bout dem peepul and dem read duh books).

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hal Austin

Stuuuupse! Carry on smartly with your bias. Glad to know you got friends from other races. Yippee!!!!

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

What most here who are defenders or simply gloss over or refuse to understand about the white Race is that this group is an unified power house having economic power and political power all of which is missing from within the black race.”

I made 2 attempts to ignore this comment, but ah can’t…despite my low energy levels..which i see Mariposa has no such problems….now when we were begging Mariposa to join us to condemn Cow Williams and his nasty attitude toward his black Apes Hill workers while dipping his hand in and tiefing their NIS Pension money, ehy did you not join us, why did you defend that tiefing demon who has been robbing your people their lands, tiefing their beneficiaries futures and tiefing the money from the treasury….why did you have no voice then, ya even cussed us for that criminal.

Instead, you found a way to justify his crimes against your people…the same error black people have been making for centuries…we need to and can do better, much better.

Artax….also what she was taught in school….grade school…as i said…from grade school, 6 or 7 years old, kids are taught in the old racist US…how powerful and strong the black women who were enslaved were, how strong Black women are…

the Caribbean has no excuse for their indifference and self hatred toward themselves….they need to get over themselves and their own self induced mental enslavement.

42. @Hal
    Why are you “afraid to admit”……..and what is all this about “what Hal is trying to say….?”

I’m not afraid to admit at all. And you “were not trying to say”. You said.

How’s that?

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

A Friday bait and hook by the blogmaster. Classic. Imagine if he didn’t post the author’s picture. As GP would echo, bare sport in de rum shop.

44. @ Prof A. Dullard

Thanks.

45. @Northern Observer

Dont be sly now. The author is a prolific writer touching many subject areas. The blogmaster receives many submissions on a weekly basis we do not publish because of the generic content. This is the second article posted recieved. Thought it to be relevant in February for obvious reasons.

Now go to the corner and behave!

46. @David

Hal is correct.

I think it is you who are missing the subtleties. You need to consider the author’s piece in the wider context of global racial politics- and apart from power and wealth, contemporary politics is largely racial.

Here we have a white female author, who could be be well-meaning. There are any number of angles for her to examine. As Hal said :

A better article will be one on the role of white women in racist attacks. What role did white women play in lynchings? I am sure Emmett Till will speak from his grave on this matter.

In fact an ever better angle would be the modern role of WW in propagating negative stereotypes about black men.

But the author knows that Blacks love White validation.

I think you may confusing White paternalism with genuine concern.

47. @Dullard

The reminder that slavery was institutionalized adds value how?

48. @David
    The reminder that slavery was institutionalized adds value how?

You’ve lost me here. No entiendo.

49. RE A woman whether White Black Indian or Chinese can write about what she damn well pleases.

CAN BLOGGERS SEEKING TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, NEVER KNOWING HOW EXPRESSING THEIR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE write about what THEY damn well please TOO?

I JUST ASKING.

50. @Dullard

Here is a snippet from your comment:

A better article will be one on the role of white women in racist attacks. What role did white women play in lynchings? I am sure Emmett Till will speak from his grave on this matter.

We know slavery was par for the period administered by Whites?