The blogmaster must be honest and admit that the reform and structural changes required to transform the Barbados economy and society will have its negative impact. No austerity program can be rolled out without negatively affecting people. Unless one is rabidly partisan or dishonest it is obvious the work rate of the BLP government is much higher than that of the Stuart led government.  The IMF has given the thumbs up to targets met under the BERT plan. We look forward to the plans to encourage investment to fuel growth.

What the blogmaster will not ignore are decisions that expose the government as engaging in more of the same. A comment posted on another blog by SSS sums it up beautifully.

We know the IMF calling the shots. I have no problem with her BERT plan or the fact that restructuring is necessary. I got a serious issue with her laying off people, and hiring her people; ensuring that her father gets a special gift from her in the form of a Knighthood so he can strut his stuff through immigration officials without check because he is no longer to function as an ordinary citizen;how she did not do enough to ensure the layoff process was fair; how she proposing wire tapping and ensuring that another one of her loyals, Dottin, is not too far from her side when she brings it into fruition. I got a serious problem with the transparency she has shown in writing off tax defaulters millions owed. I want her to publish the names because if you forgiving them and they already sleeping better, you should not have a problem publish names of those who benefited under her tax amnesty – Sunshine Sunny Sunshine (SSS)

IMF Staff Concludes Visit to Barbados

February 12, 2019

End-of-Mission press releases include statements of IMF staff teams that convey preliminary findings after a visit to a country. The views expressed in this statement are those of the IMF staff and do not necessarily represent the views of the IMF’s Executive Board. This mission will not result in a Board meeting.
  • Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program.
  • All indicative targets for end-December under the EFF have been met.
  • Two key pieces of legislation—the Public Financial Management Act, and the Town and Country Planning Act—were adopted in early 2019.

At the request of the Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm visited Bridgetown from February 5–8, to discuss implementation of Barbados’ Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) plan, supported by the IMF under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF). A concluding meeting was held with Prime Minister Mottley in Washington D.C on February 11, 2019. To summarize the mission’s findings, Mr. van Selm made the following statement:

“Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program.

“All indicative targets for end-December under the EFF have been met. The program target for Net International Reserves was met by a wide margin, as was the target for the Central Bank of Barbados’ Net Domestic Assets (NDA). The target for the primary surplus for end-December 2018 was also met by a wide margin.

“Good progress has been made in implementing end-December 2018 structural benchmarks under the EFF. Two key pieces of legislation—the Public Financial Management Act, and the Town and Country Planning Act—were adopted in early 2019.

“Preparation of the budget for FY2019/20 targeting a primary surplus of 6 percent of GDP is well underway. Full year effects of reforms set in motion during the current (2018/19) fiscal year, including the introduction of several new taxes and ongoing streamlining of public sector work force at state-owned enterprises, should help achieve this target. A detailed assessment of the budget will be made when it is finalized.

“Progress being made by the authorities in furthering good-faith discussions with external creditors is welcome. Continuing open dialogue and sharing of information will remain important in concluding an orderly debt restructuring process.

“The team is looking forward to return to Barbados in May to conduct the discussions for the first review under the EFF and would like to thank the authorities and the technical team for their openness and candid discussions.”

IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONS

PRESS OFFICER: Randa Elnagar

Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

277 responses to “IMF Gives Green Light to BERT BUT…”

1. All this IMF good news dont mean a dam thing to the man in the street
    All the man in the street needs to hear from govt is how his family will eat
    How the bills would be paid
    How would a roof be kept over the family head when there is no job
    The IMF bread and butter is being met over the suffering of the poor people of barbados and up to present time almost a year later nothing is being said to barbadains about an economic policy that would serve the well being of the people helping to create jobs and putting money in their pocket
    The IMF is a world unto itself with rules and policies that provide fiscal security for financial.institutions
    So this long drawn out article means buckus to people unemployed and those who would soon become sacrifical lambs marched off to the Bert guillotine at the IMF request and endorsed by govt

:####Steupse

2. IMF is not a court of Law and there is no Rule of Law in Barbados or we would need no IMF , We just need the COP, DPP to do their JOBS and go After the Criminals in Office, So as it stands we all Have to pay the bills of Criminals in Office,The Crime Minister Mia and her BBLP need to Be charged and Jailed . , With Bail of 1 Billion each cash USD and we can clear the debt and get the money back, With the rate they call cases in this BS system they will be dead before getting back the Money they stolen they would use for Bail Which then can be own by the state!
    Lay off to get an IMF Check and then Hire your crook friends and Family , they looking to do the same again if they listen to this full-time crook David Simmons about to start a new group of crooks that will charge no one for he will be the 3rd Man to charge after Richard L Cheltenham and COW Williams, Mia 4th Dottin 5,Owen 6th, Mark Cummins7th Samatha Cummins 8th, Mascall 9th Barbados water!Wayne Forde10th

3. I agree that “All this IMF good news dont mean a dam thing to the man in the street.”

However, if only you had shown at least 5% of this “hypocritical sympathy and concern” for those former Beautify Barbados employees who had to wait almost FIVE (5) YEARS after being retrenched in 2014, before receiving their severance payments.

And rather than being concerned with how Lisa Marshall’s family would eat, “How the bills would be paid” and “How would a roof be kept over her family’s head when there is no job,”………

………… you were more concerned with calling her a thief ……and supporting the DLP agents that leaked correspondence from her personal file to the public.

4. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Mariposa

WELL SAID.

5. The effect of the 30 Love slam dunk continues to resonate with and embarrass the party that has gone down in history as the first political party to be humiliatedly beaten at the polls by a woman and not to win one damn seat in the House of Assembly after boasting of being a party of 63 years of serving themselves and pretending to serve the public,becoming a party of stupid ignorant lowlife uneducated buffoons of liars and corruptors in a class hitherto unknown to Barbados.Nobody wants to hear from the Democratic Labour Party of dullards,wimps and fools.Watch MAM and learn how to serve a Nation.Hard work and strategic planning is not guess work.Guess work was sent packing on May 24 th 2018.Not one damn seat for allyuh ever again.Continue with your stupid lying concoctions and see the result in 4 years.

6. Gabriel u sound like and idiot

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa February 12, 2019 7:37 PM
    “The IMF bread and butter is being met over the suffering of the poor people of barbados and up to present time almost a year later nothing is being said to barbadains about an economic policy that would serve the well being of the people helping to create jobs and putting money in their pocket
    The IMF is a world unto itself with rules and policies that provide fiscal security for financial.institution..”

So which is the more bitter medicine for the people to swallow?

The current IMF-imposed heavy fiscal measures or the Devaluation of the Bajan Mickey mouse dollar along with heavier fiscal measures?

Don’t you understand that the main reason why the vacillatingly incompetent Stuart & Sinckler administration did not want to retain the reins of power after May 2018 is because they did not want the people’s blood of Devaluation on their wicked political hands to be ever known as the Devalued Lying Party; for the Bajan dollar would have worth no more than US 30 cents after September 2018.

If your incompetent deceitful lying party had only listened to the wise counsel of those “Twenty” eminent and patriotic citizens like your prodigal buddy OSA and had effectively managed the implementation of those economic restructuring measures proposed in Sinckler’s December 2013 Ministerial Statement the poor people of Barbados would be today reaping the sacrificial fruits of the DLP labours.

8. Gabriel got four more years to sound like an idijiot

9. Not just ‘well said’.
    Even the paid apologist cannot handle the pace.

Beautiful delivery. You are getting better and better

10. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

MAM would win the Prize for Frequent Flyer Award.

However it seems Barbados is punching above FLY weight, whilst the masses suffer.

Neither interested in D or BLP.

11. Yeah Yeah Miller wuhloss yes we understand all the jobby excuses that would be floating to the top of Mia economic policies
    But what we do understand nor will pretend to understand are the messages sent via the opposition blp during campagain..
    Messages of hope to curtail and stop despair of the people
    Only now to witness the people enduring a year of pain and suffering with much more to come
    How do you miller explain the removal of NSRL taxes to be replaced with double taxation
    How do you explain multiple waivers without accountability or transparency
    How do u explain govt selling land in the dead of night without transparency or accountability
    How do explain taking control of pensioners live savings alloted as a loan to govt without transparency or accountabilty
    Only to hear govt say take whst govt offer or leave it
    This and more acts of unilateral decisions is tantamount to a ruthless govt set loose on the people

12. Wait a minute i noticed something suspicious on my. B. U comment board all of a sudden my personnel information has been erased and some of my comments are not be posted

13. After fifty two years of independence these shameless Bees and Dees are bragging about who passing or failing tests set by outside agencies.
    All of this warm over soup gine result in two outcomes: constipation or diarrhea.
    Not a failed state yet but ………………

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa February 12, 2019 9:13 PM
    “How do you miller explain the removal of NSRL taxes to be replaced with double taxation..”

That’s like asking what is the difference between Stinkliar’s annual Solid Waste Tax and the “Watch muh” SOS monthly contributions to the SSA & BWA spread evenly throughout the year and similar to the Road tax.

Bajans are now overly tax-drunk having to imbibed these annual shots of taxation since 2009.

Look out for VAT of 20 % w.e.f. April 2019 compliments of BERT!

15. When past govt was laying off workers these same paling cocks along with Mia and the Unions were marching in the midday sun
    Now that the IMF has rolled upon the shores of barbados with a Bert drum beat handed to the govt of barbados
    The blp pailing cocks doesnt see nothing wrong
    Now to think the initial stage one has barbadians reeling
    Cant imagine what 2.3 .and four would be like without govt having a back up plan created by productivity to release the back breaking pay load off the peoples back.
    A govt when in opposition had all the answers now finds itself backpedaling and looking in every nook and corner to dispel any crticisms of its policy

16. Miller more jobby talk coming out yuh mout
    Yuh ought to be ashamed of self to bring wishy washy arguments
    Govt when in opposition had ten years to bring their own homegrown plan
    Remember when questioned about their plan govt said it was top secret and any plans they had would benefit the people.

17. @William

Curious to read you view as the approach the government should have taken after claiming the government last year. It is easy to criticize but what were the options. The people rejected the third party option 30-0. Four weeks foreign reserves and credit rating at junk status. Printing 50 million weekly to pay public servants etc. Garbage piling up on the streets for weeks, sewage running on the south coast. You get the point.

18. What is disappointing to the blogmaster is that we are in a deep hole and the same kinds of exchanges are repeating. In this respect William is correct. BLP versus DLP, over and over.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

Was BERT named after Mr Van Selm, and then they just found words which fit?

I get the feeling as time passes, that many Barbadians were living under a rock. They had NO CLUE what junk status meant, what downgrades meant, what Debt meant, or that our finances were in deep deep do-do, and that life could just continue as before. Like GP promised, the financial mess could be fixed without austerity, yet they didn’t vote for him? I have never seen workforce reductions which were pleasant for anybody but the competition.

I notice despite the supposed bevy of B supporters on BU, it is the D’s being heard from. It would seem the B’s have difficulty arguing for the policies of the day.

20. @ Northern Observer,

BERT is a creature of the IMF. So much so they have implanted a Bajan staffer on the team full-time to work on it.

21. What should be disappointing to the blog master are the ten years of an opposing blp party margalinizing the people demanding better from past govt to bring hope for the people exchanging and giving narratives for a better Barbados and now when given a 30-0 opportunity to present policies that would put barbadian households (first) instead present govt pushes barbadians backs against a brick wall of economic pain and suffering while govt moves further foward into putting barbados into a revolving cycle of debt which the Bert plan has all but will certainty to make happen while eroding our social network.
    The make belive applause of Bert is nothing more than a move afoot to push back any noises being heard from the voices of those who opposed the econmic malaise that the country would continue to under go

22. @ David

I expressed my views in an article in BU before the elections and BERT.

23. Here is the bottomline William. The politicians come from among us. The household behaviours which fuel the popularity political parities yearn come from the people. Blaming only politicians is nonsense. New attitudes/behaviours must emanate from the people. This is where as a people the change must begin.

24. The Bees cannot stand bold faced and declare with all honesty that govt is doing an excellent job on behalf of the people
    What they can say without doubt that govt is now relying on IMF policies attached to painful austerity plans for the people and country to pay debt
    No place in the international countries would a Bert plan make headway and received a warm welcome from the people without the people raising their voices in rebellion
    So far in some of these small island nations reeling in high debt the IMF has taken control of govt policies and made these small island nations insignificant in running the affairs of their countries
    Then ever so often IMF send out news reel of “all is well” when these small island social enviroments are
    slowly disseminated
    When govt put plans and policies in place that are productive and beneficial to people only then would Mariposa put hands together and applause
    Hard for anyone who understands the fiscal policies and its totality in the running of a govt not to be inclusive of all areas which to include the social and economic arms of govt (to applause govt policies formed soely on paying debt
    A pipe dream if truth be told

25. Marla Duckaran is echoing a position discussed multiple times on BU, hotels leaking foreign exchange by not bringing money collected overseas onshore.

26. Northern Observer
    I don’t think it is matter of being unable to defend. The objective was to win and now it is to govern. With the annihilation of the other parties and the progress the government is making there is no need for party operatives to frequent the blog to waste time with people complaining about a government meeting its targets. Mind you, after 9 months. If only Sinckler had met targets.🤣🤣 I have been labeled an insider, operative, minister and evahting but I just enjoy winding up the Salemites, TnAl and pick-a-noise crews. One called me a “manipulator”, I call it robust debate. I repeat, it appears to be about legacy. The government is leaving nothing for Verla, Lynette et al to build on-nothing!🚫

27. An example of the type of personalities now in control of the government of Barbados.Recall the Shiprider debacle that the likes of Jamaica fell for in 01.Compare the rigid and powerful push back from 2×3 Barbados.The leviathan of the north had to retreat.Those heady days included David Simmons,Owen Arthur and Lynette Eastmond.The Bees always attract the talented and gifted among the populace.Watch Mia with the Uruguay solution to the Venezuela.A powerful quartet of significant political clout includes the said David Simmons,a man of substance galore.All o wunna who got a political axe to grind when it comes to certain personalities including Darwin Dottin one of the success stories of the life and times of a ‘from the working class to top of the class’,who got a powerful message to tell others can rest assured that this government is showing once again that Barbados is punching above its weight on the world scene.Tell Stuart despite his cavalier style of primeministership Mia will clean up the poop he and Sinckler left and level the playing field once again.

28. Enuff once and for all can you point me to the progress that you are talking about
    What progress?
    A country saddled in billions of dollars in debt and having no growth plan can not in any terms of good comprehensive goverence be called Productive
    Barbadians are tied to top heavy policies set aside for paying debt nothing more and nothing less

29. @ David
    Believe me ; if the attitude of the people were any different ,the society would have totally collapsed eversince!
    Go and tell those who were sent home that; go and tell those who have been seeing the mismanagement for more than four decades that!
    Look in the papers and see who living in dilapidated conditions tell them that- note their skin color.
    Tell the little boy who got victimize that.
    You keep talking about the people and I keep asking : What do you want them to do?
    The people are doing what they have always done: Trying hard hard to survive economic pain while others gain.
    Going to ask you one more time: What do you want the jobless , penniless people to do ?
    Burn down parliament ?
    Answer the question!!

30. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“I repeat, it appears to be about legacy.”

Says the ” intellectual.”

And what a legacy that will be …says Crazy & Unstable….ticktock.

31. Enuff once and for all can you point me to the progress that you are talking about
    What progress?
    A country saddled in billions of dollars in debt and having no growth plan can not in any terms of good comprehensive goverence be called Productive or progressive
    Barbadians are tied to top heavy policies set aside for paying debt nothing more and nothing less

32. @William

We do not live in a perfect system. People will always be retrenched. The poor and the ignorant will always be with us. There will always be greed so long as humankind is around. The challenge of managing in a just/equitable manner will be with us as long as planet earth supports life.

In summary man made constructs are not perfect.

33. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Gabriel

Were you smoking Ganga when you wrote such gibberish?

34. In summary Bert takes away from the local economy having an effect of suppression and regressive snow ball repercussions when policies are foremost targeted at the working stiff
    A policy leading to having more unemployed
    A policy which cannot replaced the necessary and needed finiancial support for the local market when the employed have no more spending power

35. Whistle frog
    I quote. “A proposal to guarantee a peaceful and democratic solution that prevents an escalation of violence,the Montevideo Mechanism includes Mrs Rebeca Grynspan former VP Costa Rica,Enrique Eglesias and Bernardo Sepulveda ex Foreign Ministers of Uruguay and Mexico respectively and Sir David Simmons,former CJ of Barbados to represent CARICOM. PERSONALITIES OF RECIGNISED INTERNATIONAL EXPERIENCE and MORAL QUALITY”
    There you have it.The Democratic Labour Party can plant lies and anancy stories as much as they like.This is the stuff that make Bajans hold their heads up.Similarly Roston Chase ton yesterday.When Barbados cricketers dominate West Indies,West Indies always in the ascendancy and ICC scurry to change the rules to defeat the West Indies. England don’t beat the West Indies.Its the ICC that beat the West Indies on England’s behalf.I will add Antigua to that mix of dominance with the giants Viv Richards and the best fast bowler ever for the West Indies,Curtly Ambrose.

36. @Gabriel

The Blogmaster will send out an APB for Walter Blackman soon to keep you in check!

37. David
    You gone for the heavy roller!🙂

38. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Puff Enuff

My Intelligent one. Rogue-Works did not have to drive a stroke, make any promises or even produce a manifesto. The DLP hand delivered all 30 seats to the BLP on a platter held firmly in place by the amount of shite, shite talking, lies, insulting bajans, and thieving that went on. They destroyed themselves under their power hungry and pow-fuh.foolish selves. So even though Rogue-Works launch her campaign early, and brought certain revelations to light, the DLP self destructed and the electorate who had had enough said exit and stage right wunnah is a bunch of ignorant shites. All the good that Mottley has done so far, and one must give Jackie she Jacket when em is due, she has shown her boldness to express her Prime Minister power towards support for friends and family. Only idiots would not see how she is playing her hand. She working five fingers to improve and the other five for taking care of personal needs., she under handing with the next and that under handing has come in the form of quickly promises of transparency is vanishing, and how necessity dictates that they must be a laying off process, how could she be so bold to fire and hire more friends. There is no justification for it. She already fooled people with this shite about many hands make light work. How much is she going to do as the months past? How much more shite Enuff before you say it is enough?

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Enuff
    You are correct we will not know the true effectiveness of this government for a while. The challenge is the BIG numbers are simply the total of many smaller numbers. And despite a plethora of Ministers, many of the “little” issues still dog this administration. Their job is not to do them, but to see they are done.
    Given the disastrous state left by the former crew, you might think they would make hay of mini victories, because resolving Debt and retrenchments are not sexy news items.

40. One small item is the number of derelict properties and vacant lots all over Barbados and garbage pileup. Are we serious about tourism? Are we serious as a people about the environment?

41. SSS
    Why you don’t go and present your COMPANIES’ intentions and leff me? You are looking for fame and you ain’t getting it from me. So Ms.EU Marketing Manager rest muh. Somethings are too high for you.#iamnotac

42. One can say with much bravdo the effectiveness of any govt will take a while ( especially when the govt one favour is in power)
    However given the boldness of crticisms by blp when in opposition
    One would have expect a bold effect taken from new energized policies which would have been formulated after ten years able ready to put in place
    What the evidence now shows are policies engineered by out side influence to govern barbados
    In effect what tantamounts as having a shadow govt within a govt which was elected by the people

43. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Gabriel

You may refer to myself as a ‘frog’ however no one can accuse me of eating up DLP/BLP propaganda/dogshit and spitting it out as cheesecake.

44. Are we serious about tourism? Are we serious as a people about the environment?

Not at all…But we talk a jolly good game.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Puff Enuff

Me do not want fame me want fun. Man give me more credit than that. I just enjoyed our little exchange and just wanted a bit more of it. But, you high tail out of that conversation and I ain’t heard from you sense or is that since. I just want to know why you trying to give the impression that the BLP won an election because of their campaigning. Just tell the truth if you can, ok?

46. millerthe anunnaki Avatar
    millerthe anunnaki

@ David February 13, 2019 1:29 PM
    “One small item is the number of derelict properties and vacant lots all over Barbados and garbage pileup. Are we serious about tourism? Are we serious as a people about the environment?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The State happens to be the biggest offender. Just look at the awful state of the various buildings and lands owned and controlled by the government and you would see who is the most dangerous environmental terrorist in Barbados.

The very large number of derelict and disused vehicles despoiling the compounds of the MTW and other departments along with the worsening garbage problem is creating the perfect conditions for the rat population to multiply at a geometric rate to make the country’s national debt look like pennies in a child’s piggy bank.

Bajan Nastiness is going to be country’s major public health challenge and economic undoing.

Instead of 3 days of futile prayer why not have a week called “National Clean-up State of Emergency” to protect the public’s health from the daily violence inflicted on the already degraded environment?

Didn’t the last administration commit itself to such island-wide campaign as a mater of emergency with a slogan: ‘Since cleanliness is next to godliness; let’s play our part in pleasing God who ‘happens’ to be a Bajan’?

Hasn’t the current one (MAM administration) made a similar pledge?

Isn’t this low-hanging fruit- the picking of which is well within the pay grade of 26 ministers and 30 consultants- about to rot on the vine of empty promises?

What are they waiting on? Orders from the army’s colonel heading the MoH to fight the pending outbreak of a dengue epidemic?

47. What are they waiting on? Orders from the army’s colonel heading the MoH to fight the pending outbreak of a dengue epidemic?

Not just dengue, how about typhus? That would do wonders for our tourist trade.

Typhus Epidemic Worsens in Los Angeles

Greenwood believes she contracted typhus from fleas in her office at City Hall East. Fleas often live on rats, which congregate in the many heaps of trash that are visible across the city of LA, and are a breeding ground for typhus.

“There are rats in City Hall and City Hall East,” Greenwood added. “There are enormous rats and their tails are as long as their bodies.”

Ignored Trash Piles, Rats Could Be Causing Typhus Outbreak

Last year set a new record for the number of typhus cases — 124 in LA County for the year, according to the California Department of Public Health.

Last October, Mayor Garcetti vowed to clean up piles of garbage throughout the city to combat the typhus epidemic.
    The Mayor allocated millions of dollars to increase clean-ups of streets in the Skid Row area, known lately as “the typhus zone.”

But four months later, the I-Team documented huge piles of garbage just outside the “typhus zone.”
    “You can’t solve it (the typhus epidemic) until you hit the cause,” says Estela Lopez of the Downtown Industrial Business Improvement District, “and the cause of it is that you still have these mountains of trash.”

Embedded video at link:
    https://www.nbclosangeles.com/news/local/Typhus-Epidemic-Worsens-in-Los-Angeles-505166301.html

48. Add to that the sargassum seaweed. It seems we are still at the,”We must turn this into an opportunity” stage. I would have thought that an islandwide cleanup would have figured highly in their action plan. It would have lifted the spirits of the island to have initiated this while we were basking in the glow of the whipping we put on the renegade DLP! It would also have been easier to get communities on board while they were still high on the adrenaline that came with that well-deserved beat down of what they perceived as the oppressors. An opportunity missed.

49. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Too busy promoting Bitt Inc and mMoney shite.

50. What about that Bogus estimate laid out in Parliament
    Good grief as if this woman has not made enough empty promises now once again set goals laid out on promises which are unrealistic unless she has knows were a gold mlne is buried or money tree is planted with barbados name stamped on it