Before the crap hit the fan on the South Coast the blogmaster was haunted by a pronouncement of Dr. John Mwanza almost three years go. It was at the height of the embarrassing period the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) was unable to supply water to rural parts of the island. Mwanza reminded Barbadians that besides Barbados being a water scare country, an old mains network had continued to undermine the quality of BWA’s water distribution network.

Wise heads in this forum have often cautioned about successive governments failing to make quality decisions be it the management of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), Public Transportation, Waste Management, Judicial System, Enforcing the Financial Rules to name a few. A reminder that all members of parliament should have to complete a mandatory training the Pros and Cons of Good Decision Making?

What some of us cannot process is the decision by the BWA to construct a 50 million dollar headquarters in St. Barnabas. Key decision makers would have been aware that the BWA distribution network has been compromised by a 100 year old mains network in some parts of the island.  Some commentators estimate the mains are leaking greater than 50%. The blogmaster would add that until recently all the pumping stations- many in a bad state of repair- were totally dependent on fossil power.  Despite the 60% hike in the water rate. The inability of the BWA to honour its financial committent to Innotech under a lease purchase agreement comes as no surprise to sensible observers.

While arguments can be made for housing the operations of the BWA in a modern structure – one does not need the benefit of hindsight to judge that it was a poor decision to commit millions of taxpayers dollars to construct a state of the art building while at the same time 104 water tanks needed to be installed in parts of the island- standpipe style.  We should be embarrassed.

On a related note the SSA built a modern building at Vaucluse to house the operations at a time the authority was unable to maintain a fleet of garbage trucks. Bare in mind the authority has also been unable to oversee a comprehensive waste disposal system. Up to the time of posting this blog the new SSA building estimated to have costed taxpayers 30 million dollars remains unoccupied.

The preamble is to sound a warning to the Mia Mottley government.

As a people – represented by our elected government – we cannot afford to continue making poor decisions. In this instant the supply of potable water. With the exception of a very few government and parastatal agencies the consensus is that they are poorly managed. Minister in the ministry of finance Ryan Straughn recently pronounced:-

…that Government will be taking a closer look at the process by which people are appointment to boards…Minister Straughn says a key provision of the draft law will be the introduction of the fiscal responsibility principles, which will hold government accountable for fiscal policies it implements. Sanctions will also be introduced against public entities, which rack up excessive debt, or fail to supply financial statements. An audit committee is also to be established.

As a people we have to hold elected AND public officials accountable. Whether it is Dr. John Mwanza or Prime Minister Mia Mottley crying SABOTAGE without being pressed by civil society to support with credible evidence. Whether it is civil servants not adhering to the financial rules of government. People must be held accountable.

Big up the Auditor General Office!

86 responses to “Sabotage What!”

1. Agree

As a people we have to hold elected AND public officials accountable. Whether it is Dr. John Mwanza or Prime Minister Mia Mottley crying SABOTAGE without being pressed by civil society to support with credible evidence. Whether it is civil servants not adhering to the financial rules of government. People must be held accountable.

Now lets see how much longer is PM Mia going to ignore the cries of those ho unheard who have accused some of her ministers of unethical practices
    Starting at the top tier is where it must begin with a clean broom and a well sharpened axe
    Expecting to store wine in old bottles and get chamoagne is ludicrous
    I read the article and the first thing that comes to mind is the expensive and hog tied bill called Dodds

2. @Mariposa,

Public officials must be held to account. That is the flaw in our democracy. In fact, now is a good time to have an objective analysis of the Mottley government, it strengths and weaknesses. Is medical marijuana part of the BERT policy? Is the Great Hotel Corridor part of the BERT policy? Is Professor Persaud’s plea for greater financialisation part of the BERT policy? Is the bilingual (Spanish? or is it Mandarin?) policy part of the BERT policy? Or, is the fake aggression and bogus attacks part of the fog deliberately created by Mr Jong a part of the BERT plan?

3. In America there is an ethics committee which oversights the wrongdoing of the members of the Congress … and an
    another committee which oversights the ethics committee … so it is vertically impossible to get away with wrongdoing … now I am not saying that some people do not get away with wrondoing, but eventually it is brought to light…

4. “As a people we need to hold elected official accounble”

What method do we employ to achieve this aim? And that are the consequences to be had for a member of parliament found guilty of corruption either than a public shaming?

5. David

We are not engineers, let alone water engineers. But over recent years were involved in a project where a country used a plastic liner to stop the leakages now experienced in Barbados.

For you cannot, for long, continue to loose 50% of water pumped from reservoirs. This is madness! It is certainly more expensive, when capitalized, than a fix like this may cost.

The fix was guaranteed for 50 years, took a fraction of the time normally required. No major excavation was required. Even this maybe too expensive for Barbados given the present state of affairs, but is was costed at a small percentage of the traditional method.

Of course, one downside is that you will loose about a quarter of an inch in the diameter of the 100 year old narrow pipes currently in place.

6. “Up to the time of posting this blog the new SSA building estimated to have costed taxpayers 30 million dollars remains unoccupied.”

David BU

I don’t want to stray from your substantive point…. …..but on a similar note, as the tenure of the former inept DLP administration was coming to an end, there seemed to be a “mad rush” to officially open buildings that were not completely prepared.

Perhaps the intended purpose was to have a minister’s name and “legacy” “forever immortalized” on a plaque.

The first building that came to mind was the new Constitution River Terminal, which was officially opened on Tuesday, May 15, 2018, by former Minister of Transport & Works, Michael Lashley, although it was not fully operational.

Then how about the former Black Rock Police Station, which was refurbished at a cost of $2M and now called the “Black Rock Police Station Annex,” where the Family Conflict Intervention Unit and Truth Verification Unit will now be located? Although this facility was reported to have been officially opened on Tuesday, March 28, 2017, by former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite, I have not seen any signs of activity to suggest it’s being used. However, I could be mistaken.

And there is the $13M Cane Garden, St. Thomas Police Station & Magistrates’ Court Complex. On Friday, November 23, 2018, while addressing the Barbados Police Association General Meeting, former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite made reference to the Cane Garden Complex……..

………… but acknowledged the fact they were “awaiting furniture and a few other minor touches.” Yet, despite not being fully prepared, Brathwaite officially opened the complex on Sunday, February 25, 2018. As at Tuesday, 18 December 2018, the police station remains unoccupied.

The question is, what is the Mia Mottley administration’s plans for this complex?

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, I read the comments before I read the blog post so…my first response was a loud steuuupse to see the DLP syncophant commenting so bodly on ineffective BLP governance … then a hearty laff when I read @Lexicon’s vertically impossible”!

And then after reading the actual essay it was sorrow almost to tears….

… to what avail the BS about ”…Minister Straughn says a key provision of the draft law will be the introduction of the fiscal responsibility principles, which will hold government accountable for fiscal policies it implements. Sanctions will also be introduced against public entities, which rack up excessive debt, or fail to supply financial statements. An audit committee is also to be established.”

That particular BS evoked the same disgust as that from the DLP yardie…what is the Min talking about when – as you summed up – an AUDITOR GENERAL has been providing detailed reports on all the failings of govt depts and their leaders for years and both sets of elected officials have done nothing about the problems.

Frustration…laughter…tears… this (our political life) is utter cyclical absurdity.

And @Lexicon, one gets your misstatement but I still find your assertion quite hilarious … so u think that it’s virtually impossible to get away with wrongdoing in US House/Senate…and to extend that to all State govts … Well if you really believe that even 50% of the various shennanigans are exposed then someone has some vertically imposing edificies to sell you…cheap, cheap too!

8. @David

All good points in your article with maybe an exception of the title, SABOTAGE, unless title is meant to be satirical.

GOB, SOE’s, managers etc do not need any sabatoge help in system failures, the one thing these organizations and individual’s are is EXPERT in FAILURE. The BIG QUESTION IS how can Barbados correct this malfeasance and get onto a sound practical operation path. Does Barbados continue down the present path to ultimate total FAILURE or is REVELOUTION rebellion in its future.

It’s time to think OUTSIDE THE BOX.

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD at 9:46 AM

You are right on the ball again.
    Some times when I read the twaddle reported to have come from some people’s mouth I am moved to tears. Who are making the selections for BoD of State Corporations? I think we should stop talking and enforce existing laws and conventions.
    Is implementation deficit the new NCD in Barbados? The bad decisions made by the past administration need not to be repeated by the current administration…unless we are having a competition to decide who can do worse. Is that what we are trying to do?

10. “In America there is an ethics committee which oversights the wrongdoing of the members of the Congress … and an
    another committee which oversights the ethics committee … so it is vertically impossible to get away with wrongdoing..” – Lexicon.

Some obvious nonsense spouted there by our self-proclaimed wordsmith since wrongdoing is patently unchecked in the US political system as Obama, Holder, Lynch and the Clintons’ shenanigans have proved. Still one has to thank him for the laugh at his virtually unmatchable malapropisms!

If only the Dems and their bought and paid for MSM went after their own criminals and thieves with even 10% of the application they show in their efforts to destroy Trump, Lexicon might have a point. As it is, they don’t, as he doesn’t, as usual. Just illiterate blather.

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD

“vertically imposing edificies” you wrote.
    Is that a Freudian slip?

Fama est, rumour has it , that vertically imposing edifices require a lot of steal to make them earthquake resistant. But I am not a structural engineer. Just looking at it from a financial engineering perspective.

12. I had forgotten about this blog here…MaRiposa..I though that is what we have been doing on BU, Barbados FReepress and ND for years, holding ministers, lawyers, CORPORATE CROOKS and their other fellow crooks criminal activities in the public domain for EVERYONE TO SEE…it is both governments REFUSE TO HOLD THEIR FELLOW CRIMINALS ACCOUNTABLE.

“As a people we need to hold elected official accounble”

So…because of the 15 second attention span and short memories many seem to suffer from…I will repeat..

….It’s the seemingly little things that trip ya up…yall renewed Bizzy’s SCAM IONICS contact…he once again gets 25 million dollars or more a year for the next 15 years for doing very little or nothing with the water processing…just like the scam contract with the sewage AND BIZZY AGAIN…

…ya mean to tell me government could not buy 104 water tanks for the suffering water scarce communities, have the BWA taxpayers paid employees maintain the tanks…AND crooked Bizzy who is already being paid 25 million dollars a year by taxpayers for doing very little…TREAT THE WATER FOR THE TANKS…..what did they need Innotech for, besides the obvious bribery corruption???

…..both governments keep GIVING AWAY the people’s money to CROOKS….in EXCHANGE FOR THEIR CUT.

ya see…the seemingly little things tend to trip ya up.

Better yet….it is time to TRAIN BWA EMPLOYEES on how to TREAT TANK WATER…HOW TO TREAT and PROCESS SEA WATER …….. it is time to CUT OUT ALL THE CROOKED MIDDLE MEN…stop paying out all these millions of dollars at taxpayers and pensioner’s expense..

The optics are too ugly and are unsustainable..

….ya have a fraudulent corporate sector who KNEW there were people suffering for years for water in various PARISHES ….YEARS…and that includes Hallam Nicholls……. during those years not one of these HEARTLESS BEASTS in the corporate shite environment…NOT ONE…offered these WATER STARVED VILLAGERS one tank…not one…but suddenly they are all pretending to be good corporate citizens and offering tanks because they are well aware they can manipulate the CURRENT ministers in the Mia Borrows government cause they are ALL ENVISIONING NUFFF, NUFF IDB and other LOANS…coming down the pipeline..

13. @VC
    “require a lot of steal”….apparently they DO.

14. “Perhaps the intended purpose was to have a minister’s name and “legacy” “forever immortalized” on a plaque.”

All their names need removing from those taxpayer funded buildings across the country….

…..that is their 2nd goal in life, having their blighted names attached to buildings involved in their bribery corruption..

15. ” “The City experiences an average of 1,400 water main breaks annually.”

https://globalnews.ca/news/4546154/bayview-avenue-closed-river-labatt/

16. Interesting.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at11:27 AM

That amounts to 120 per month. Do you see the need for a large labour force and overtime payments now? Of course you may digitise an appropriate robot to replace labour. But will it assist in achieving our social and economic objectives?

18. There is a bureaucratic ‘sabotage’ going on in the Parliament of Barbados this day.

Under the Public Finance Management Bill we see a lot of talk bout passing more laws.

However, the most recent set of political criminals are still walking free

How many times have we been here, and still.

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 11 :37 AM

As usual, thanks very much for your upload. Very graphic piece of education.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Pachamama at 11 :47 AM

Give this Septuagenarian a break nuh. More bad news? Do you know what the ancient Greeks used to do with”news carriers” like you?

21. @ Vincent Codrington,

Barbados. ” 100 year old mains network in some parts of the island. leaking greater than 50%. ”

I have no engineering qualifications to solve the problem.

Fortunately, Barbados has a bariffle of people with Engineering degrees some of whom work at BWA and some work for Grenville Phillips II. lol

22. @Atax

It is relevant. There is also the issue of the inability of BWA and BWU management to resolve the issues that substantially delayed the mains laying project.

23. @Vincent Codrington, I am a Sexagenarian and will be a Septuagenarian 4 years from now. lol

24. “Give this Septuagenarian a break nuh. More bad news? Do you know what the ancient Greeks used to do with”news carriers” like you?”

lol..lol

25. @Vincent

Integrating technology with existing processes must be done smart. It should not be a wholesale adoption, it must be relevant in the same way all decisions should be made.

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, actually I was trying (and obviously failed) for a Pryor (Richard) or Foxx (Red) ‘slip’…you know … dat I gotta bridge to sell you line.

…but as @Northern so aptly highlighted maybe you did steal your way to my bad joke.😂

27. @Pacha

It says a lot about the choices we continue to make as a people. This is not a BLP or DLP problem. This is our problem right there.

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Q Hants at 12 :02 PM

Enjoy your time as a sexagenarian’ There is much more fun. LOL!!!

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 12:05 PM

Are you implying that we have a scarcity of smart people as well?

30. Theo…just follow the DRAMA..quickly before they REWRITE IT..lol

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/17/water-twist/

“The BWA general manager Keithroy Halliday told Barbados TODAY that he contacted Innotech Chairman Anthony Da Silva, who revealed that the equipment in question was being sold off because his company needed the cash.

“I contacted Mr Anthony Da Silva, who subsequently called me back and I questioned him on the matter. He indicated to me that my understanding was correct and that the group of companies is cash-strapped and that they had to resort to selling assets like the community tanks and pumps to secure cash,” Halliday reported, adding that the chairman suggested to him that neither the BWA nor the Government was being responsive to their request for payment.

At Horse Hill, one resident recounted receiving horrifying news that their source of water was in jeopardy. “We woke up on Monday, the water was off, and the water truck came and gave us some water at around 8:15. Then the people from Innotech came and took up the tanks. We assumed they were going to clean them and bring them back, but the people said the tanks weren’t paid for, so they’re carrying away their tanks”

31. This is the wicked shit both governments have done to taxpayers and pensioners…MISUSING THEIR MONEY FOR DECADES..WITH LOWLIFE, LOW CLASS CROOKS..

“Don’t forget there was the April 2013 so-called storage tank lease contract entered into by the DLP Government with the Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham owned and/or managed company known as Storage Solutions Limited.

Under this contract, our Government-owned (and taxpayer-funded) Barbados Agricultural Management Co. Ltd (BAMC) is obligated to pay Storage Solutions Limited the sum of $2,150,000 plus VAT every year for 20 years for the privilege of using three molasses storage tanks at the Bridgetown Port. Thus, under this contract, our Government (and ultimately the taxpayers of Barbados) are saddled with a payment of some $50 million over the 20-year period!

All of those “storage tanks” contracts — the BWA and BAMC — were awarded under the Ministries led by Dr. David Estwick!”

32. @Vincent

We have to define ‘smart’ based on results.

33. Can everyone now see the STEAL in everyone of these CONTRACTS that both governments negotiate with their crook masters in the business community…they are ALL inflated by MILLIONS of dollars…EVEY CONTRACT SIPHONS off millions of dollars in the LOANS both governments SIGNED FOR IN THE PEOPLE’S NAMES.

“The NATION published an investigative report of further ministerial meddling at the BWA. It revealed “Dr David Estwick, the then Minister of Water Resource Management sent an email to former chairman Dr Atlee Brathwaite, on July 31, 2016, recommending that Ortus Plumbing and Plumbing Supplies, be granted the contract totalling $5 288 025.34, to provide pipes and fittings for 36 months to the BWA as part of its mains replacement programme.

“That decision was made less than a month after the board had short-listed three other tenders out of ten local and overseas companies; and recommended that the BWA enter into negotiations with two – HD Supply Water Works, an American company with over 80 years experience, which had submitted a bid for US$1 588 825.00 and SCL Sales and Services Inc. a local company in operation since 2009 and which submitted a bid for US$1 683 099.50.”

“One thing about Estwick, he sure had a liking for water pipes and storage tanks — $$$$.”

34. EVERY CONTRACT SIPHONS off millions of dollars FROM the LOANS both governments SIGNED FOR IN THE PEOPLE’S NAMES.

35. Where is the evidence of sabotage? Is this just an attack on the civil service? Or is it an excuse for an expected failure of BERT? We need a proper and detailed analysis on BU of the Mottley Government’s first six months in office.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 12 :47 PM

I now see the real problem. You identify smart people from their results? I am glad you are not a member of the Political Class. By the time you recognize the smart people we would all be grass.

37. re By the time you recognize the smart people we would all be grass.
    is it not written that ALL FLESH IS GRASS!

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@45..fah trute @Lexy does wordsmith rather enjoyable with his ‘Lexisms’ but all good, cut the bro some slack.

Because if in trute you can proclaim that basically the Dems, tanti Merle, the out-man, Sam pouchie and the duppy and all assorted family are out to destroy a fella who says he will intervene in a supposedly LEGITIMATE case against a Chinese exec in order to sooth his US/China trade war; or the same fella who said the a legally valid order to execute a search warrant was part of a conspiratorial witch hunt; or that the Crown Prince of Saudia Arabia had nothing to do with the journalist’s death when a detailed Intel report said HE DID or any of the other greivously WRONG things this man said, then he should be gotten rid of.

It is very SAD that basic, FUNDAMENTAL acts of law and order are being SHATTERED by this man and so many folks REFUSE to separate their desire for conservative POLICY success and realize we as a world as sliding into a deep and dark abyss.

You may be very right Just illiterate blather but I suggest not from the Lex mainly.

Just saying…love Trump’s policies to ur heart’s content but his methods subvert the very system he lyingly said he would uphold!

39. Where there is no vision the people perish
    The vision for barbados now completed have “us” shiwing up like beggars on americas door
    I wonder who wrote the script the script with all the writings of Sabotage for the economy
    Now we talking trivia about what coulda !wudda! Shudda in the mean time we have once again put the same ole wine in new bottles

40. @Vincent

It is a real problem to judge people based on results performance?

Good one!

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Expecting to store wine in old bottles and get chamoagne is ludicrous…..we have once again put the same ole wine in new bottles”

So first you storing wine in old bottles, now you putting new wine in old bottles…..wha next?

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    I wonder if those molasses storage tanks are for INCOMING or outgoing molasses?

43. Where there is no vision the people perish(Quote)

What is the BLP government’s vision for Barbados?

44. @dpD would you care to affirm that the treatment, or rather hounding of Trump is merely on a par with that if the Clinton gang? Multiple charges of rake, Whitewated, tall the unexplained ‘suicides’, Benghazi, the Clinton Foundation’s grasping of Russian and Ayrab loot have all received the massed condemnation of the media the Establishment and the Lefty judiciary.
    I support Trump in spite of his obvious inadequacies simply because he has upset the cosy depredations of the vile gang of the Left. Long may he continue to disrupt their rape of the US.

45. Of, rape, Whitewater, all – sorry for the typos due to using the small screen of a smartphone rather than PC, added to a little Lexiconesque laziness.

46. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Hal Austin,

You have been hollering for a long time for someone to give an account of this government’s achievements during their first six months in office. Well the empress herself – Mia the first – will be addressing her underlings this evening at 18.30 hours on the Nation’s facebook page.

“Prime Minister Mia Mottley is set to deliver a ministerial statement to report on Government’s performance during its first six months in office.
    Mottley will give the address at 6:30pm during today’s sitting of Parliament, which will be streamed live on the Nation facebook page.” (The Nation).

47. @Talking Loud,

Many thanks.

48. Good question Northern…they are trying to tell us government could not buy 3 storage tanks from the MANUFACTURERS…directly from the makers of storage tanks , but needed 2 old crooks like Maloney and Bjerkham to sell THEM storage tanks …ripping off taxpayers 50 whole million dollars in 20 years to rent them….and they already got 10 million dollar out of that 50 million….2 million per year …2013 x 5 years.

.it’s just like the water tanks…they could have brought in water tanks directly from the manufacturer’s at government rates…….they did not need Innotech for one damn thing except to INFLATE THOSE INVOICES…

……Estwick needs to go to prison…all of them engaged in ripping off the treasury, the pension fund, siphoning off loans that. generations of bajans NOT YET BORN will have to REPAY…they all need arresting for THEFT and FRAUD….and they are all taking this for a blasted JOKE…making up lies, forgetting their original lies and rewriting MORE LIES.

This reminds me of when people are TOO GREEDY…

https://youtu.be/dIQ6xBW3UTc

49. Estwick needs to go to prison

It is alleged that Estwick has a very large impressive house somewhere in St. Philip.

50. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

“Plain English is not plain at all”. Very often we use words loosely. “Smart” , ” technology” and “results” are three of them. Mine was an attempt to get you to be more specific.

Leave a Reply to WARUCancel reply