Every person in Guyana is entitled to the basic right to a happy, creative and productive life, free from hunger, ignorance and want. That right includes the fundamental rights and freedoms of the individual.” – Article 40(1) of the Constitution of Guyana

The first part of this extended essay last week treated the arrests, convictions and subsequent unsuccessful constitutional challenges both at first instance and in the Court of Appeal of the four accused in that each one, being a man, had appeared in female attire in a public place for an improper purpose contrary to section 153 (1) (xlvii) of the Summary Jurisdiction (Offences) Act of Guyana. They then appealed to the Caribbean Court of Justice [CCJ]. This week, we seek to analyze part of the leading judgment of Saunders PCCJ respect with which the other members of the panel unanimously agreed. The decision is of clear precedential importance to Barbados, among other jurisdictions.

In his view, there were four issues that arose for determination by the Court. These were, namely, whether the section violated the appellants’ rights to equality and non-discrimination guaranteed to them by the Guyana Constitution; whether it violated their identically guaranteed right to freedom of expression; whether it offended the principles of the rule of law in light of the vagueness of the provision, especially with regard to the terms “improper purpose”, “male attire” and “female attire”; and whether the reproving remarks of the Magistrate were appropriate and, if not, their consequence.

First, he sought to place the section in its historical context, and found that it was part of a suite of nineteenth century laws enacted against vagrancy and designed originally to “regulate and exercise control of both the ex-slave population and, in places like Guyana, the newly imported indentured labourers” in order to curtail mobility, to keep close to the plantations those whose labour was essential for continued exploitation.

Second, as a preliminary point, he examined the question of whether the section might be considered an existing law and thus be deemed immune from inquiry as to its conformity with the fundamental rights provisions in the Guyanese Constitution. It is submitted that special attention ought to be paid locally to the observations of the CCJ on this point, since it has been sometimes urged as likely to defeat any challenges to laws that conceivably infringe the fundamental rights of individuals, and was in fact used to validate the 1991 eight per cent salary cut imposed on public officers in spite of forceful informed argument to the contrary. Our provision, section 26, reads as follows-

Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any written law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of any provision of sections 12 to 23 to the extent that the law in question–

(a) is a law (in this section referred to as “an existing law”) that was enacted or made before 30th November 1966 and has continued to be part of the law of Barbados at all times since that day;

(b)repeals and re-enacts an existing law without alteration; or

(c) alters an existing law and does not thereby render that law inconsistent with any provision of sections 12 to 23 in a manner in which, or to an extent to which, it was not previously so inconsistent

(2) In subsection (1)(c), the reference to altering an existing law includes references to repealing it and re-enacting it with modifications or making different provisions in lieu thereof, and to modifying it, and in subsection (1) “written law” includes any instrument having the force of law; and in this subsection and subsection (1) references to the repeal and re-enactment of an existing law shall be construed accordingly.

One traditional defence for the existence of this clause is that it was enacted to secure a smooth transition of the law from earlier times to independent status, but the President gave this argument short shrift-

After more than 50 years of independence it is quite a stretch to say that Guyana (or indeed any other independent Commonwealth Caribbean state) is still in that transition phase.

And he noted its corrosive effect on the guaranteed freedoms and the supervisory power of the Courts –

The broad effect of the savings clause, read literally by many, is that these human rights, so carefully laid out in the Constitution, must give way to the dictates of a pre-Independence law until and unless the legislature amends the pre-independence law…The hallowed concept of constitutional supremacy is severely undermined by the notion that a court should be precluded from finding a pre-independence law, indeed any law, to be inconsistent with a fundamental human right. Simply put, the savings clause is at odds with the court’s constitutionally given power of judicial review.

He referred too to an earlier decision of the Court in a recent appeal from Barbados, where the Court had noted that-

With these general savings clauses, colonial laws … are caught in a time warp continuing to exist in their primeval form, immune to the evolving understandings and effects of applicable fundamental rights. This cannot be the meaning to be ascribed to that provision as it would forever frustrate the basic underlying principles that the Constitution is the supreme law and that the judiciary is independent.”

The sustained hostility demonstrated by the CCJ to the savings law clause should give some encouragement to those local individuals and entities who now consider themselves hamstrung in challenging legislation on the basis of its perceived fundamental rights infringement, simply because such legislation existed prior to 1966.

Indeed, the court itemized no fewer than four principles on the basis of which the clause itself may be impugned. According to the judgment-

Firstly, even if one were to apply the clause fully and literally, because of its potentially devastating consequences for the enjoyment of human rights, the savings clause must be construed narrowly, that is to say, restrictively.

Secondly, assuming again a full and literal application of the clause, the clause only saves laws that infringe the individual human rights stipulated in the clause itself. It does not preclude the court from holding a pre-independence law to be invalid if in fact the law runs counter to some constitutional provision that falls outside the specified individual human rights,

Thirdly, application of the clause may result in placing the State on a collision course with its treaty responsibilities and it is a well-known principle that courts should, as far as possible, avoid an interpretation of domestic law that places a State in breach of its international obligations.

The fourth approach is the most contentious. But it has support from very distinguished jurists. It is that courts should first apply the modification clause to the relevant pre- Independence law before attempting to apply the savings law clause. We consider each of these approaches in turn.

Legal scholarship has also been generally antithetical to the savings law clause. In an article published in the University of Miami Inter-America law review in 2004, Professor Margaret Burnham of the Northeastern University School of Law, pulled no punches in her withering assessment-

The clause eliminates the plasticity, organicity, and elasticity that fundamental rights adjudication requires to respond effectively, as it must, both to evolving universal standards” and to culturally specific normative shifts.” In sum, it violates the time- hono[u]red rule, cogently expressed by Alexander Hamilton, that constitutional framers must “look forward to remote futurity.”

One other justification for the savings law clause that I am aware of but that was not treated by President Saunders or the Court is that the guaranteed fundamental rights are not entirely new, but have existed, at least in embryonic form, since earliest times, so that the clause does not detract from the essential nature of the existing right. Given the history of the region, this view is at least of dubious cogency.

Next week -The s.153 offence and the fundamental rights

112 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Criminalizing Attire and the Rule of Law [II]”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Hal Austin at 11:04 AM

As human beings we do read minds on a daily basis. It is the nature of man to do so. Very often we are right. If a man points a gun at me I assume he intends to shoot me. Is it rational for me to assume he entered my physical space to play a game of cops and robbers?

2. A criminal act is not a criminal act unless the mens rea is formed before or during the commission of a crime …

3. Vincent Codrington

“If a man points a gun at me I assume his intends to shoot me”

Stupid…

Not if the man has a justifiable reason for pointing the gun at you … such as you threatened to caused him bodily harm … or threatened his life … he also point the gun at as a means to hold in place to the police arrived …

4. I can agree with that in certain serious cases but the “dressing up in female attire for improper purposes” I think is going too far.

I am not going to comment further until I have read the rest of the article for this week.

5. Jeff, knows that to win a conviction a prosecutor must prove four elements:
    1) actus reus
    2) mens rea
    3) concurrence
    4) foreseeability

6. @Vincent,

I have now found out my grave mistake, my inability to read minds. |Do I have to be in front of you for you to read my mind, or can it be done down the telecommunication line? Is it clearer in the morning, or afternoon?
    Sir, I am not lawyer, but as I understand it, reading minds is not the aim of the prosecution.

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 11:48 AM

Who is it that introduced the reading of minds into this discussion? Certainly not I ?
    Please read your submission at 11:04 AM.. You moved from “intent’ to “reading mind”. I knew you would have set up that straw man to come back and knock it down . So yes I read your mind ,as defined by you to mean” intent’ in that referenced submission.

Some body ought to warn you that you have to come very very good when you are dealing with me.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Lexicon

This is intended to be a serious debate not an occasion for you to try out new phrases and concepts. Hal would describe that as learning by rote.

9. HERE IS SOME BULLSHIT FROM BUSH SHITE

– Give and you shall receive MORE in return …. ALWAYS work.

NOT TRUE! MANY PEOPLE ARE LIKE THE 9 LEPERS THAT DID NOT RETURN TO GIVE THANKS. SO IT DOES NOT ” ALWAYS work.”

– Seek and you SHALL find the answers…. ALWAYS works
    NOT TRUE! MANY PEOPLE ARE SEEKING ANSWERS IN MANY SPHERES OF LIFE. AND THEY ARE NOT GETTING ANY ANSWERS

E.G MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY AND CREW AND HER PROPAGANDIST ON BU ARE SEEKING FURTIVELY FOR ANSWERS TO PREVENT THE ALREADY FAILED STATE FROM FALLING (that is a deliberate oxy moron. since their attempts are moronic) BUT THEY HAVE FAILED. SEEKING FOR ANSWERS DOES NOT ALWAYS WORK!

– A people ALWAYS get the results (leaders, wealth, health, love) that they DESERVE.
    THESE are REAL laws…..

THIS IS NOT TRUE EITHER PEOPLE get the results (leaders, wealth, health, love) that they THAT IS THE THEIR LOT……..THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE THEM

WHAT IS TRUE IS THAT MANY PEOPLE GET MORE THAN THEY DESERVE WHEN YOU CONSIDER WHAT VILE SINNERS THEY ARE . THIS IS WELL DOCUMENTED IN SOLOMON’S OBSERVATIONS IN ECCLESIASTES, AND PROVEN BY SOME OF OUR OWN

ALWAYS IS OFTEN A BAD WORD

I USE ALWAYS IN EXAM QUESTIONS WHEN I WANT TO TRIP UP STUDENTS, AND IT OFTEN /USUALLY WORKS……..BUT NOT ALWAYS

10. Vincent Codrington

“Lexicon this intends to be a serious debate and not an occasion for you to try out new phrases or concepts”

I love to see how wunnah so dos try tah underestimate people who live in America … don’t you know every black man in this country is lawyer or paralegal … ? and not be choice …

11. @ Vincent,

Intent= the reading of the person’s mind.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal at 12 :32 PM

As defined by you at 11:04 AM.

Here is another straw man at 11 :48 AM

“reading minds is not the aim of the prosecution”. Who proposed that?

Please take a time-out. You need to recharge the batteries. I know how it is when we reach a pensionable age.

13. Vincent Codrington

The difference between murder and manslaughter is the act of premeditation:

So if man pull a gun on you … you automatically assumed that his intent was to shoot you?

Why wouldn’t you assume that his intent was also to scare you? Why would he wanted to shoot you? What was on your person that he saw the need to shoot you in order to steal it? So he just looked at you and assumed at face value that this guy look like he has money … so let me shoot him and steal it? I just get done telling you that the actus reus and mens rea can be formed before or during the commission of a crime …

14. @Vincent Codrington November 26, 2018 10:51 AM “So any male cross- dressed and liming on Bush hill after 6 pm is assumed to be picking fares.”

Maybe the gentleman in a dress at Bush Hill, or elsewhere is just airing the ‘crown jewels”. Unless you have worn a dress you have no idea how nice and cool dresses keep down there.

15. One of the grans has been trying to understand “Mother Sally”

Was shocked to learn that Mother Sally, is not a person, but a characer, and that “Mother Sally” can be danced by a woman or a man.

Is a man in a Mother Sally dress, fake botsie and bubbies and all, doing dixie on Kadooment day committing an offence?

And is the offence the dress, or the very “improper” dance?

I am sure that the good Professor Cumberbatch is very glad that he has never had any of we wufless people in his class.

16. “So if man pull a gun on you … you automatically assumed that his intent was to shoot you?

Hmmmmm……….

My friend…… are you suggesting if you are confronted by a gun touting individual, rather than being SCARED in ANTICIPATION of being shot…….

……….. you will take a few minutes to differentiate between premeditated murder and manslaughter;

…………ponder on assuming whether or not it is his intention to scare you;

…………ask yourself why he wants to shoot you or if he saw the need to shoot you in order to steal;

………or say to yourself “I don’t have any money, so he won’t shoot me?”

Sometimes I understand why Georgie Porgie refers to some contributions as “daily drivel.”

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artax at 2 :02 PM

Yes .That makes two of us who subscribe to GP’s observation.

18. Lexicon

It seems you’re slowly returning to the thinking of your old Dompey persona.

My friend Hayden Mayers was shot and killed as the result of an attempted robbery. He was buried this morning at Coral Ridge. His sister, who was married to a mate of mine, died from cancer in November 2016.

What do you believe Hayden was thinking at the time he was confronted by those gun wielding mask men who shot and killed him in Mansion Road?

Do you believe he was thinking about whether or not it was their intention to scare him or why did they wanted to shoot him…… or about “actus reus” and “mens rea”…..

………. or was he SCARED and perhaps thinking “I hope dese men doan kill me, yuh? I got my daughter and wife to live for?”

What about his wife and daughter? Do you believe they care about “actus reus,” “mens rea” or “The difference between murder and manslaughter is the act of premeditation?”

19. Artax

Here is Vincent Codrington own words: ” If a man pulls a gun at me I assume he intends to shoot me.”

The question in of itself doesn’t even give one enough information as to why the man pulls the gun on him in the first place…

Yes … if the man fear for his life because of Vincent threats of violence … then one can assume that he intended to shoot if necessary to protect his own life …

But if Vincent is standing on a street corner and a young man invaded his personal space and brandishing a gun … then Vincent can rightfully assume that the young man’s intent was to shoot … but what if the young man is holding a mock gun?

20. Artax

What if the young man is brandishing a toy gun unbeknown to Vincent?

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Lexicon

In your other manifestation as Dompey, had you eavesdrop at the shooting range a little longer you would have learnt that even pointing a toy gun at another person is a criminal offence.

Take a time out from this moot ,please.

22. Lexicon

It seems as though you’re in the frame of mind for jokes. I don’t intend to take this “argument” any further…….. but……..you are basically interpreting the scenario into an issue to impress upon us that you have some knowledge of criminal law. You’re behaving as though you’re the guy in scenario lawyer and is cross examining Mr. Codrington.

Mr. Codrington clearly stated: “If a man points a gun at me I ASSUME he intends to shoot me.”

Are you suggesting that BEFORE assuming if the guy intends to shoot you or not……. you have to get enough information as to why the guy pulled the gun on you in the first place……

…….. and then wonder if the gun is real or “mock?”

In other words….. a guy pulls a gun on you…… you calmly ask him: “Skippa, why you pull dah gun pun me? I threatened you before?”……….Wait, dah is a mock gun or wuh?”

Lexicon……. you continue to harrow me with fear and wonder.

23. @Artax and Vincent

You guys have to learn to ignore sometimes.

24. Artax and Vincent the both of you are missing point … it doesn’t matter what Hayden Mayers was thinking at the time he was killed … what matters most in what was the perpetrator intent ( or state of mind) when he killed Hayden Mayers … did the go off accidentally and killed Hayden Mayers …just speculating …

25. O lord Vincent gine tell me pointing a toy gun at a person is crime … you how many people here were killed for pointing toy guns at cops and others …lol …

26. BU SAYS JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

THIS REFERS HOWEVER ONLY TO THOSE WHO ARE THOUGHT TO BE DESIRED CONTRIBUTORS

27. Artax

Go and research direct and indirect intent … the intent was to rob but Hayden Mayers got killed in defending his person or home during the robbery … that is best I can do to get these two concepts in wunnah hard heads…

28. Makes me really wonder who put actus rea and mens rea in Lexicon’s head.

29. WARU

The both of them are
    concepts in American jurisprudence… such as supremacy of the law … etc

30. WARU

Have you heard of a concept in American jurisprudence call … State Interposition which fade away during reconstruction? …

I took the time to study these concepts and believe I have pretty good grasp of them … and consequently … I wouldn’t argue anything that I am not familiar with …

31. Mr. Lexicon……..I’m curious.

If a man pulls a gun on YOU, Mr. Lexicon….. would you ASSUME he INTENDS to SHOOT you?

Or would you discuss concepts in American jurisprudence with him?

32. Artax

Brigadier Lewis pulled a gun on Tom Adams for missing with his wife … but I am quite sure Adams believed that the Brigadier was joking … because Adams supposely died of a myocardial infraction…

33. Artax

You still missing the point because it is not was I think … it centers more on the perpetrator intent … Obviously, I can assume that a man who pulls a gun on me … does so with the intent to harm me … but that does not means he does … when you examine the relevant facts…

34. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Obviously, I can assume that a man who pulls a gun on me … does so with the intent to harm me … but that does not means he does … when you examine the relevant facts…

@ Lexicon, But that is precisely the crime [and tort] of assault!

35. Artax

A while back when I tried to call my wife I found that the calls were going directly to voicemail … so I assumed that she was trying avoiding me … until I finally got a hold of her … and she says to me: her phone was dead that why my calls were going to voicemail… the point I am trying make is this: you really can assume until you have ascertain the relevant facts …

36. Only in the USA

Man pulls gun at his surprise birthday party, bet the party goers were surprised too!

Lexiclown can fill us in on the law

37. Jeff

The issue isn’t whether or not it is a crime that is quite obvious … the issue is whether perpetrator intent was to shoot the victim because he pointed a gun at him as Vincent assumed … and that determination has to be made based of the facts related to the circumstances surrounding crime …

38. My learned friend, Mr. Lexicon

You wrote: “I took the time to study these concepts and believe I have pretty good grasp of them … and consequently … I wouldn’t argue anything that I am not familiar with.”

However, you have demonstrated that, although you may have read the concepts, you do not fully understand how they are applied.

Do you know “the relevant facts are” that if Lexicon pulls a “mock gun” on Dompey, makes a “shooting gesture” at him with his fingers formed in the shape of a gun, or pulls a gun on Dompey and says “I WOULD shoot you” or “I FEEL LIKE shooting you”……

……….or issues a threat which makes a man of reasonable firmness fearful for his personal safety or he fears the threat or an act of violence may be perpetrated against him……..

…….. Lexicon can be charged for assault?

So, you see….you’re the one who is “missing the point”……. “it centres more on” WHAT the victim THINKS……. and NOT what is the INTENTION of the perpetrator.

Lexicon, I hope you realise it’s also a crime to impersonate a lawyer?

39. Sargeant

The man came home to a surprised party and saw unfamiliar faces in his home and put pulled out his gun: question: did he left work or way he may have been with intent to shoot the unfamiliar people in his home? Certainly not … would he have be arrested had he injure someone in the home probably … but it all depend on state prosector… where is the mens rea in the case …?

40. @ Vincent,
    The post is about criminalising intent and the rule of law, therefore the reference to the prosecution authority. Or do you think that is a digression?

41. “A while back when I tried to call my wife I found that the calls were going directly to voicemail … so I assumed that she was trying avoiding me…..until I finally got a hold of her … and she says to me: her phone was dead that why my calls were going to voicemail…..”

Lexicon

Is this a regular occurrence…… or is it happening since she read your BU contributions?

42. Artax

lexicon I hope you realised that it is also a crime to impersonate a lawyer …

stupid … not in America … every accused has a right to represent his or her self … what he cannot do is practice law without a license …

43. Artax

Maybe you were still in pampers …?
    but you ought to remember that the Jamaican subway shooter … Colin Ferguson represented himself in the 1990s?

44. Lexicon

I wrote: “I hope you realise it’s also a crime to impersonate a lawyer……..

………to which you responded: “stupid … not in America … every accused has a right to represent his or her self.”

People in Barbados also have the right to represent themselves in Court.

Are you suggesting that in America, when an individual represents him/herself in court he/she is essentially impersonating a lawyer?

45. Could you please explain to me what is the correlation between an individual representing him/herself in court and impersonating a lawyer?

What relevance does “the Jamaican subway shooter … Colin Ferguson represented himself in the 1990s” have to do with someone impersonating a lawyer?

………..or are you suggesting that by representing himself, Colin Ferguson impersonated a lawyer?

It seems you have heard of “reductio ad absurdum” or “argumentum ad absurdum?”

You have essentially attempted to disprove a simple assumption by forming absurd and impractical conclusions.

46. Artax

You need to stop talking because your are beginning to sound more stupid by the minute… isn’t obvious that if you have a right to represent yourself … that you obviously have to knowledge the law…? How would I know how to invoke my 5th Amendment rights if a police arrest … me if I do not study it?

47. But Lexicon, did you not realize that Jeff Cumberbatch (lawyer and law lecturer), Vincent, Sargeant, WARU and I were essentially “telling” you that “You need to stop talking because you are beginning to sound more stupid by the minute?”

And you allowed me to expose your stupidity just for the fun of it?

48. @Artax

You have done nothing of the sort. BU regulars are familiar with Dompey’s fuzzy logic.

49. Lexicon….. it was a learning experience and I had a lot of fun.

All this time I thought I had to study for a law degree and LEC to become an expert in law…… when I could have taken the easy route, ……..

……………live behind a police station and read concepts in American jurisprudence.

50. Lexicon,

Are you a masochist or what?

Artax,

Leave poor Lexicon alone nuh! I am not enjoying this. This is not a fair fight.