Every person in Guyana is entitled to the basic right to a happy, creative and productive life, free from hunger, ignorance and want. That right includes the fundamental rights and freedoms of the individual.” – Article 40(1) of the Constitution of Guyana

The first part of this extended essay last week treated the arrests, convictions and subsequent unsuccessful constitutional challenges both at first instance and in the Court of Appeal of the four accused in that each one, being a man, had appeared in female attire in a public place for an improper purpose contrary to section 153 (1) (xlvii) of the Summary Jurisdiction (Offences) Act of Guyana. They then appealed to the Caribbean Court of Justice [CCJ]. This week, we seek to analyze part of the leading judgment of Saunders PCCJ respect with which the other members of the panel unanimously agreed. The decision is of clear precedential importance to Barbados, among other jurisdictions.

In his view, there were four issues that arose for determination by the Court. These were, namely, whether the section violated the appellants’ rights to equality and non-discrimination guaranteed to them by the Guyana Constitution; whether it violated their identically guaranteed right to freedom of expression; whether it offended the principles of the rule of law in light of the vagueness of the provision, especially with regard to the terms “improper purpose”, “male attire” and “female attire”; and whether the reproving remarks of the Magistrate were appropriate and, if not, their consequence.

First, he sought to place the section in its historical context, and found that it was part of a suite of nineteenth century laws enacted against vagrancy and designed originally to “regulate and exercise control of both the ex-slave population and, in places like Guyana, the newly imported indentured labourers” in order to curtail mobility, to keep close to the plantations those whose labour was essential for continued exploitation.

Second, as a preliminary point, he examined the question of whether the section might be considered an existing law and thus be deemed immune from inquiry as to its conformity with the fundamental rights provisions in the Guyanese Constitution. It is submitted that special attention ought to be paid locally to the observations of the CCJ on this point, since it has been sometimes urged as likely to defeat any challenges to laws that conceivably infringe the fundamental rights of individuals, and was in fact used to validate the 1991 eight per cent salary cut imposed on public officers in spite of forceful informed argument to the contrary. Our provision, section 26, reads as follows-

Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any written law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of any provision of sections 12 to 23 to the extent that the law in question–

(a) is a law (in this section referred to as “an existing law”) that was enacted or made before 30th November 1966 and has continued to be part of the law of Barbados at all times since that day;

(b)repeals and re-enacts an existing law without alteration; or

(c) alters an existing law and does not thereby render that law inconsistent with any provision of sections 12 to 23 in a manner in which, or to an extent to which, it was not previously so inconsistent

(2) In subsection (1)(c), the reference to altering an existing law includes references to repealing it and re-enacting it with modifications or making different provisions in lieu thereof, and to modifying it, and in subsection (1) “written law” includes any instrument having the force of law; and in this subsection and subsection (1) references to the repeal and re-enactment of an existing law shall be construed accordingly.

One traditional defence for the existence of this clause is that it was enacted to secure a smooth transition of the law from earlier times to independent status, but the President gave this argument short shrift-

After more than 50 years of independence it is quite a stretch to say that Guyana (or indeed any other independent Commonwealth Caribbean state) is still in that transition phase.

And he noted its corrosive effect on the guaranteed freedoms and the supervisory power of the Courts –

The broad effect of the savings clause, read literally by many, is that these human rights, so carefully laid out in the Constitution, must give way to the dictates of a pre-Independence law until and unless the legislature amends the pre-independence law…The hallowed concept of constitutional supremacy is severely undermined by the notion that a court should be precluded from finding a pre-independence law, indeed any law, to be inconsistent with a fundamental human right. Simply put, the savings clause is at odds with the court’s constitutionally given power of judicial review.

He referred too to an earlier decision of the Court in a recent appeal from Barbados, where the Court had noted that-

With these general savings clauses, colonial laws … are caught in a time warp continuing to exist in their primeval form, immune to the evolving understandings and effects of applicable fundamental rights. This cannot be the meaning to be ascribed to that provision as it would forever frustrate the basic underlying principles that the Constitution is the supreme law and that the judiciary is independent.”

The sustained hostility demonstrated by the CCJ to the savings law clause should give some encouragement to those local individuals and entities who now consider themselves hamstrung in challenging legislation on the basis of its perceived fundamental rights infringement, simply because such legislation existed prior to 1966.

Indeed, the court itemized no fewer than four principles on the basis of which the clause itself may be impugned. According to the judgment-

Firstly, even if one were to apply the clause fully and literally, because of its potentially devastating consequences for the enjoyment of human rights, the savings clause must be construed narrowly, that is to say, restrictively.

Secondly, assuming again a full and literal application of the clause, the clause only saves laws that infringe the individual human rights stipulated in the clause itself. It does not preclude the court from holding a pre-independence law to be invalid if in fact the law runs counter to some constitutional provision that falls outside the specified individual human rights,

Thirdly, application of the clause may result in placing the State on a collision course with its treaty responsibilities and it is a well-known principle that courts should, as far as possible, avoid an interpretation of domestic law that places a State in breach of its international obligations.

The fourth approach is the most contentious. But it has support from very distinguished jurists. It is that courts should first apply the modification clause to the relevant pre- Independence law before attempting to apply the savings law clause. We consider each of these approaches in turn.

Legal scholarship has also been generally antithetical to the savings law clause. In an article published in the University of Miami Inter-America law review in 2004, Professor Margaret Burnham of the Northeastern University School of Law, pulled no punches in her withering assessment-

The clause eliminates the plasticity, organicity, and elasticity that fundamental rights adjudication requires to respond effectively, as it must, both to evolving universal standards” and to culturally specific normative shifts.” In sum, it violates the time- hono[u]red rule, cogently expressed by Alexander Hamilton, that constitutional framers must “look forward to remote futurity.”

One other justification for the savings law clause that I am aware of but that was not treated by President Saunders or the Court is that the guaranteed fundamental rights are not entirely new, but have existed, at least in embryonic form, since earliest times, so that the clause does not detract from the essential nature of the existing right. Given the history of the region, this view is at least of dubious cogency.

Next week -The s.153 offence and the fundamental rights

112 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Criminalizing Attire and the Rule of Law [II]”

1. Notions about a ‘right to be happy’ are under-developed.

As far as we know there is only one country in the world with a happiness index, and is serious about it. Happiness or joy, as some may want to say, meaning that happiness denotes a less desirable state of being. While for them, joy connotes a sense of spiritual bliss.

Generally, modern society uses political-economic measurement which are supposed to cover, but cannot, the joy people yearn for.

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

If rights evolve and are ” plastic”, can we really describe them as fundamental? Does not the constitution give the court discretion to interpret the law. Interpretation is the vehicle in which evolution travels. There is no absolute truth;only what is satisficing at a point in time. Just my two cents worth.

3. Lordie, Jeff! It will take me a while to sort this one out.

4. Guyana Underground now?

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ 45govt at 9:33 AM

Jeff is a lecturer in Caribbean Constitutional Law. We share a common legal history and culture with Guyana. His citation of case law from Guyana is very relevant.

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Lordie, Jeff! It will take me a while to sort this one out.

Sorry, Donna, It treats a very technical point of Constitutional law-the extent to which the savings law clause should be permitted to limit the guaranteed rights in the Constitution. It is of necessity recondite….

7. @Donna

Looks like lesser mortals will have to up d ting!

8. ” had appeared in female attire in a public place for an improper purpose ”

What exactly was “the improper purpose” in this case ?

Did it involve prostitution or disguise to facilitate a robbery ?

9. Guyana Underground now?

@45govt -A judgment from our highest court on a point of law that might equally have arisen here is not to be restricted to the jurisdiction from which it emanates.There, but for the grace of God…

10. What exactly was “the improper purpose” in this case ?

Did it involve prostitution or disguise to facilitate a robbery ?

@ Hants, it is never stated in the judgment. Probably prostitution, given how they were dressed-

McEwan was dressed in a pink shirt and a pair of tights along with a black hair piece. Seon Clarke, wearing slippers, had on a jersey and a skirt.

11. Will have to read again, but the “There, for the grace of God …” caught my attention 🙂
    Just kidding.

12. @ Donna,

I read Jeff’s writings to improve my “use of English”. I only pass O level .

13. Jeff

The CCJ has me confused and I am wondering if you could point me in the right direction.

I have always heard that the common law develops with time but statute law only changes when parliament does so. It seems to me that the CCJ has now substituted itself for parliament both in Barbados and Guyana. Firstly, that court is of the view that the saving law clause in the Barbados Constitution is a transitional provision. Where is that stated in the Constitution.

In Guyana, it appears that they are so daft not to understand what is an improper purpose in circumstances where a man dons women’s clothing and stands on the corner waiting for men to pick him up. Could the court be saying that it is proper for a man to pick fares?

14. Thanks Jeff. Those of us living in cities in Canada are used to seeing cross dressers in ” broad daylight “.

@ Donna, ” broad daylight ” is Bajan slang.

15. @Hants

The use of the Bajan slang is apropos in the month of independence.

16. I have always heard that the common law develops with time but statute law only changes when parliament does so. It seems to me that the CCJ has now substituted itself for parliament both in Barbados and Guyana. Firstly, that court is of the view that the saving law clause in the Barbados Constitution is a transitional provision. Where is that stated in the Constitution.

@Casweii, The truth is that the lines between merely interpreting what the law says, the judicial power to review legislation to see that it complies with the Constitution and the act of legislating itself, are hopelessly blurred. So when the CCJ says that a law is unconstitutional, it is not telling us what the law is to be changed to, that is entirely a matter for us. Rather, they are saying that under our Constitution, that law offends a fundamental right as they consider it to be. I had the same question from a colleague yesterday who considered that the CCJ analysis of our savings law clause was going against the clear text of the provision…I suppose that this is what you call judicial activism- the use of the judicial power to shape the society in its own image through the interpretation of the law.

I promise to answer your second question later…I have to go out now!

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Caswell at 10 :12 AM

You are right on the ball. The legality of men ” picking fares” is a reasonable inference from the ruling. But Jeff may retort that women picking fairs is not illegal. Or am I wrong. LOL

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I think that Bushie needs a digital wacker for the law and law makers.

19. CCJ is ENTITLED to interpret law, at least that is what the constitution says is their role…suggestions for upgrading and maintaining the rule of law without dictating it….seems to be the intent..Jeff can correct me if I am missing something…

ah know….the words upgrading and maintaining are not recognized in Barbados’ parliament neither in their judiciary.

20. Is a transgender/transsexual person also a crossdresser? What about gender dysphoria? Does an allegation of crossdressing for a suspected improper purpose over-ride any psychiatric issues the person may have? Can dressing unconventionally in itself be a criminal offence? Does this apply equally on the streets or on stage? Can a man dressed as a woman, or a woman dressed as a man, who is in search of love be accused of importuning or must there be an offer and acceptance of a service?
    What is the legal definition of ‘female attire’? Is the law a jackass?

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Caswell, the Dean has answered expertly but if I may, I question your strict interpretation of how the common law and statute law must be handled.

Is there not an acceptance that a review by the courts offers judges the ability/opportunity to examine if a statute in any way actually contravenes the provisions of existing law…in short “a process under which executive or legislative actions are subject to review by the judiciary”?

In the US context it’s often noted that there is a ‘separation of powers’ or ‘checks and balances of legislative/executive power’ by the judiciary but is this not true in degrees of scope of most democratically governed nations like ours!

Why is is so sacrosanct that a team of objective law experts cannot question legislative dictates if they consider them flawed or ‘unconstitutional’ particularly if that nation is a signatory to international human rights conventions and the judge experts are fundamentally seeking to align the local laws to the ACCEPTED conventions!

Does the burden then not fall on the local Parliament to decide if they will be governed by the international conventions or will be a ‘rogue’ nation….are you a ‘signatory’ to those who would have Bdos remove itself from this alleged ‘activist’ court so that our leaders can legislate to suit our supposed ‘traditionalist’ way of life!

How can we have it both ways: enjoy the family of nations’ embrace when it suits us but reproach the judges when their decisions which relate to those accepted conventions go against our ‘righteous’ code!

@Dean Jeff: The term “judicial activism” sends shivers of displeasure through the bones of the conservatives who believe in this ‘interesting’ (in my view, of course) concept of originalism.

In these cases of the CCJ, is it really a determined ‘activism’ for these judges to pull our legislatures and people into the conventions of the international family and re-codify the old rules and traditions which DO need updating…or is it exactly what they SHOULD be doing!

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, like many of us…you know only too well that the law is indeed often a JA….and many of the law officers too! 🙂

You are very funny with the remark: Can a man dressed as a woman, or a woman dressed as a man, who is in search of love be accused of importuning or must there be an offer and acceptance of a service?

…since when does LOVE involve those strict contractual terms of ‘offer and acceptance’….clearly you are talking about some base level, old-fashioned, good sex ! Anyhow, for Sunday fare lets close it there 🙂

23. Jeff’s articles presages the coming debates, if a man dresses in “feminine attire” illegal, if a woman dresses in male attire legal? The social network has been alive with the marriage of two females (Bajans) and one of them was dressed as a male but I digress, in Europe (France) there is a ban on Muslim women wearing attire common among those group of citizens. In Canada (Quebec) there is a proposed secularism law which will prohibit the wearing of any religious attire by public servants these will include crosses, skull caps, niqaabs etc.

Did I also read that there have been objections in Barbados to Muslim women wearing certain clothing (Niqaab) for official Gov’t photographs?

The Court’s decision may be more far reaching than at first glance.

24. But Jeff may retort that women picking fairs is not illegal. Or am I wrong. LOL

@ Vincent, you will remember from an earlier submission of mine that only the public display of prostitution – soliciting and accosting passersby on the street for that purpose- and the commerce in prostitution -keeping a brothel and living off the earnings of prostitution- are unlawful.

25. @ WARU, correct is right!

26. Does an allegation of crossdressing for a suspected improper purpose over-ride any psychiatric issues the person may have?*

@Hal, that would have to be established by the accused, that his or her mental state prevented him or her from forming the required intent.

27. What is the legal definition of ‘female attire’? Is the law a jackass?

Hal, the CCJ agreed with you… although in moire delicate language!

28. Could the court be saying that it is proper for a man to pick fares?

@ Caswell, Not really, but if they want to prohibit it this must be done by a law that forfends that evil…and not the right to express oneself by being attired however one pleases!

29. for·fend also fore·fend (fôr-fĕnd′)
    tr.v. for·fend·ed, for·fend·ing, for·fends also fore·fend·ed or fore·fend·ing or fore·fends
    1. To keep or ward off; avert.
    2. Archaic To forbid.

30. @ David, Thanks!

31. @ Jeff,

Is wearing a robe or gown cross-dressing, or can it be interpreted as such? What about Kilts? Scottish men like putting on skirts and dancing. It must be the weather.

32. Is wearing a robe or gown cross-dressing, or can it be interpreted as such? What about Kilts? Scottish men like putting on skirts and dancing. It must be the weather.

@ Hal, I imagine the purpose for the attire would be relevant then. Judges, academics and choristers wear gowns/robes. And the kilt is most definitely not feminine…

33. @Jeff,

Some UK schools also wear gowns (Eton, Christ’s Hospital, et al)

34. Are we seeing the emergence of a new breed of lawyers on the island’s landscape…less selfish, brutal and arrogant, more caring…it would be a breath of fresh air, a more feminine touch of concern to what challenges people are subjected to every day.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/sade-jemmott-answers-unvoiced-plea-unemployed-entrepreneurs?fbclid=IwAR2_2psNmGqqC7IDwdOCHPLIy2diYtxcSAW-LJuGo9mOw0vP4A07lYKp-cA#.W_p_6RGJ-gg.facebook

“Attorney-at-law Sade Jemmott is offering her services free of charge to retrenched workers following the announced approximately 1500 job cuts from central government and across the public sector.

She is being the change she wants to see.

However, she did not expect the response when she posted her willingness to help freely on Twitter.

But what led to the gracious tweet?

“To whom much is given, much is expected, so service has always been very important to me. I had been thinking for a while about the plight of retrenched workers and the whole prospect of starting over in those circumstances. My heart really breaks for everyone affected even though I understand that it is a necessary evil given the state of the economy and the recovery efforts. I wanted to help but did not know exactly how. Then one day on Facebook, someone shared a post from a young lady named Joy-Ann Haigh which said that she wanted to offer her marketing and communication talents free of cost to any displaced public servant who wanted to start their own business. I immediately shared her post with the thought ‘This is a fabulous initiative! Selfless and timely. I too am happy to give free legal consultations re: those businesses. What can you do to help?’

35. Vincent Codrington

“There is no absolute truth”

Man what are,you saying … isn’t DEATH an absolute truth…?

36. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Maybe Jeff Cumberbatch can shed why ALL Strip Clubs and sex bars whose workers are 99 percent visitors to the island and contravene Immigration Act Section (17) 1 why are they allow along with the owners of these establishments to break local laws so easily.

The exotic dancers/strippers are not issued work permits thereby engagingly in criminal activities and should ALL be deported like the Guyanese female in the Press Release by Edmund Hinkson.

37. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Maybe Jeff Cumberbatch can shed why ALL Strip Clubs and sex bars whose workers are 99 percent visitors to the island and contravene Immigration Act Section (17) 1 why are they allow along with the owners of these establishments to break local laws so easily

@TWSYF, They are acting illegally because they are working without work permits… I am not so sure that stripping in a club is illegal per se without a complaint being made…

38. @Caswell Franklyn November 25, 2018 10:12 AM “In Guyana, it appears that they are so daft not to understand what is an improper purpose in circumstances where a man dons women’s clothing and stands on the corner waiting for men to pick him up.

Maybe the men in skirts and dresses are waiting for a lift to the supermarket, or church or the bank, or to their grandmother’s home.

39. @Hal Austin November 25, 2018 12:47 PM “Is wearing a robe or gown cross-dressing?

I don’t know

Hoe does one define robe?

How does one define gown?

Is the garment worn by Catholic and Anglican priests a robe or a gown?

How about the garment worn by Muslim men and boys?

How about the garment worn by academics such as Professor Jeff?

Is the garment worn by a bride a robe or a gown?

I think that the court may also need to define these things, especially for simpletons such as myself.

40. Sergeant

That is why those in Europe and Canada need to come and live in America where the Free – Exercise – Clause of the First Amendment ensures your right to wear whatever religious attire you deem fit … now I am not saying that Congress does not have the power to regulate religion in America because of the Free-Exercise-Clause … because it does … however, Congress can only go as far as to regulate the application of religion in America … for example: people in America have right be Satanists … but Congress reserves the right to regulate human and animal sacrifices which are conducive to the practice of such religion …

41. Simple Simon

The law is unsound … because government is overreaching the scope of its legislative authority … when it implemented laws which forces its citizens to dress in a certain attire … then how does this law deals with bag pipers who wear skirts as their official attire? Isn’t that female attire too…?

42. @ Vincent
    I think that Bushie needs a digital wacker for the law and law makers.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Not needed.

What Jeff does most admirably is to demonstrate the idiocy and lack of logic of the various ‘laws’ that we use to guide our societal behaviours. He – better than anyone else of whom Bushie is aware – constantly illustrates that these are shiite rules, made by brass bowls – under albino-centric guidelines … and that the results mostly tend to be brass bowlery.

Jeff has painted a clear picture of the blind leading the blind… towards a cliff that is now so close that we can even HEAR and SMELL the danger ….. YET we continue to put our faith in these shiite ‘laws’ and blind leaders.

REAL Laws are long term, unchanging, consistent, guidelines whose outcomes are BEYOND human control.
    Gravity is a law.
    Force always acts consistently on a given body in the same way….. THAT is a law.

Some Laws are SPIRITUAL in nature (because the physical reality to which we are limited is really only a temporary PROJECT designed to achieve a specific end).
    REALITY is actually 100% spiritual.

Spiritual Laws like :-
    – Give and you shall receive MORE in return …. ALWAYS work.
    – Seek and you SHALL find the answers…. ALWAYS works
    – A people ALWAYS get the results (leaders, wealth, health, love) that they DESERVE.
    THESE are REAL laws…..

Bushie is tired of wasting time whacking shiite rules made by retarded brass bowls typified by Froon, Stinkiar and now Teets and Pain et al.
    When Jeff becomes interested in analysing REAL LAWS, Bushie will be interested in deploying the digital whacker….

43. Still haven’t read it all through but this is the foolish question I had from last week. Why would the “dressing up” for an improper purpose be an offence? Shouldn’t one have to wait until the improper purpose actually becomes an act?

By the way David – there are no lesser mortals. There are only mortals with different talents in different degrees.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 9 :27 AM

The improper purpose is the offence. So the law is intended to be preventative. We accept arresting a known house breaker for carrying a glass cutter and ripping iron.. We arrest a drug addict for having an apparatus for freebasing crack. We arrest and charge a known criminal for carrying a gun. So any male cross- dressed and liming on Bush hill after 6 pm is assumed to be picking fares.

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

That is the logic of an axiom. The ones that John likes to pull.

46. So the offence is not actually the dressing up but the intent to commit a crime.

47. An allegation of intent is an attempt to read the mind of the suspect.

48. And that for me would be the problem with the dressing up thing.

49. Donna

“Barbados camouflage law”

How did an article of clothing associated with a criminal act of violence prompted lawmakers to enacted a law banning that article of clothing? Wouldn’t it have been feasible for police to reduced the incentive for such crime to occur?