The following comments by Northern Observer were extracted from the NIS.Government Paper for Trash blog.

Comment 1
WHO is on the NIS Board? WHO replaces Carrington as head executive?

I rarely agree with T.Inniss, but what claims to Chairmanship or leadership of a body as complex and important as the NIS does Mr. G-E have? Being the BEC rep on the last Board is not a ringing endorsement. This has a very smelly political odour. This is a more important role than most Ministerial appointments. And this AP is showing up in too many significant roles, a little separation is a good thing, especially in Financial related roles.

The last Board was a monumental failure, largely I believe, because of persistent political interference. This new one, at least the reported lead directors, is set up for a similar potential failure.

Comment 2

Old Board

• Dr. Justin Robinson, Chairman
  • Mr. Wismar Greaves, Deputy Chairman
  • Mr. Martin DaSilva, Member
  • Mr. Ian Gooding-Edghill, representative of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation
  • Mr. Colin Jordan, representative of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association
  • Mr. Victor Felix, Chief Labour Officer (Ag.)
  • Ms. Avonda Carrington, nominee of the Director of Finance and Economic Affairs
  • Ms. Roslyn Smith, General Secretary, National Union of Public Workers
  • Ms. Toni Moore, General Secretary, Barbados Workers’ Union

Sooooo, The former BHT rep Jordan, is now the Minister in Charge
The former BEC rep Gooding-Edehill, (successful BLP candidate in 2018 election) is now Chairman. Persaud replaces Greaves as Deputy, Lawyer Haynes replaces DaSilva as member.and we await the other 6 who are nominees as shown above.

Remind me….is this the Board of Barbados Hotel and Tourism or the NIS?

Shows the PM is clearly NOT SERIOUS about having the NIS as anything but a continued long arm of the MoF. Pure patronage. After 12 long years of NO Annual Reports and this is the best she can do?

Government’s restructure program requires holders of government debt to agree to new terms and brings into sharp focus the critical role of the National Insurance Scheme, and of interest, its investment policy executed under successive governments.

The NIS is the largest holder of government paper and was mandated by the last government to buy what has translated to be ‘high risk’ government paper. The mismanagement of the fund threatens first to disrupt the peace of mind of our senior citizens who have done what was asked of them in the productive years.

A badly managed NIS threatens the social stability of Barbados.

Has the NIS been true to its tagline- its your lifeline?

The blogmaster has posted many NIS related items in the last decade. Sadly, there has not been any improvement in the perception of the BU household regarding how the fund is managed. Such a position is supported by the most recent 15th NIS Actuarial Review of the National Insurance Fund, Published, AND, the inability of NIS Boards to lay up to date audited financials in parliament for over a decade.

Here is the real issue for the blogmaster.

Successive NIS Boards appointed by DLP and BLP governments will continue to influence investment decisions because it is seen as a ‘lender of last resort’. A new approach would have seen the Mia Mottley government implementing measures to ensure the NIS is ring-fenced from political interference.

The blogmaster has to agree with comments that question the composition of the current NIS Board. It is evident there is no cataclysmic shift in the government’s approach.

132 responses to “New National Insurance Board Reads More of the Same”

1. How much does Cow Williams owe the NIS Pension Fund…

..Robinson should be able to answer that question..

2. @Vincent

Contracting yield on investments?

Increasing pension expense?

3. @Vincent Codrington

I only heard part of Ms Wade’s speech. I believe she based this projection on an actuarial report done in 2014. She admitted that she was not the NIS actuary but based on a “back of the envelope” calculation and the recent decisions of the Barbados Government she reasoned that the situation was even more dire and that the depletion date would be earlier! Ms Wade opined that the NIS needed to diversify its investments away from Barbados government but that little opportunities existed locally. Investment outside of Barbados meant the use of scarce foreign exchange. Other remedies involved pension reform in higher contributions, lower benefits and increased age of retirement.

Dr Delisle Worrell former Governor of the Central Bank has consistently stated that there are many investments which are being held back due to bureaucratic obstruction. It is thus disturbing to read about the shut down of the town and country planning department at this time. I wonder if our civil servants really appreciate the social and economic precipice that we are facing.

4. David
    I meant that when one makes a comment similar to that made by ADullard the egofowls call you a yardfowl.

Hants
    Know your place. I only talk facts, no speculation, scaremongering or cut and pastology.🤣🤣

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 7:38 PM

What about declining contributors and contributions?

Does the $460 million owed to the Fund include the public employees NIS deductions as well as GoB employers contributions?

Does it include outstanding rents for buildings by GoB?

Should NIS pensioners expect a claw-back in the near future?

Who is /was exercising the fiduciary responsibility on behalf of the pensioners?

Just asking on behalf of my fellow pensioners.

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Pimg Pong at 7 :51 PM

Thanks very much.
    That Actuarial Report is about 4 years old. Let us hope things got better in the interim.

The foreign Investment portfolio was re-patriated some time ago, in order to shore up the official holdings of foreign reserves. This is the level of Financial Management to which this country has sunk.

Responsibility. Responsibility. Responsibility.

7. The 15th Aturarial report is hyperlinked in this blog. The 16th is now one year overdue.

@Vincent

Not sure what is the breakdown of the 460 million.

8. @Vincent

You are aware Barbados has an aging population?

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 8:50 PM

And 10 % unemployed? That is 12000 persons not contributing to the Fund,

10. @Vincent

Yes!

11. What if the banks (mostly Canadian) reject the B’dos Government’s proposals re bonds etc?

12. @Ping Pong

This report is for you.

CIBC raises provision for credit losses

Article by
    Marlon Madden Published on
    August 24, 2018
    CIBC FirstCaribbean International Bank Ltd is blaming Government’s debt restructuring for an increase in its provision for credit losses.

In its consolidated financial statement for the nine-month period ending July 31, the bank said due to the announcement by Prime Minister Mia Mottley that her Government would restructure its debt payments it had reclassified its exposures.

“In response to the Barbados Government’s June 1, 2018 announcement of its intention to restructure its public debt, the bank classified its exposures as impaired as at July 31, 2018, which resulted in increased provisions for credit losses,” Chief Executive Officer Gary Brown said in the report, which was published today.

“Given the information currently available, we believe our expected credit loss allowances are reasonable at this time and will continue to closely monitor the situation and work with key stakeholders until the restructuring agreements are concluded,” he said.

Days after her election, Mia Mottley announced plans to restructure the island’s debt of about $15 billion.

In addition, Mottley announced she would suspend payments due on debt owed to external creditors and ask domestic creditors to roll over principal maturities until a restructuring agreement is reached with the International Monetary Fund.

She also said Government would “endeavour to make scheduled domestic interest payments”.

The CIBC report revealed net income of US$38 million for the third quarter, $4.6 million or 13.8 per cent higher than the US$33.4 million reported for the corresponding period last year.

“Results for the period were affected by several items of note including US$20 million (or US$8.2 million after tax) relating to provision for credit losses due to the impairment classification of Barbados Government debt exposures,” Brown said.

The banking executive said income was also affected by insurance recoveries of some US$1.8 million, arising from the impact of hurricanes Irma and Maria in September 2017.

“Excluding these items, the bank generated US$44.4 million of net income for the period, compared with US$33.4 million in the prior year,” he said.

However, for the nine-month period ending July 31, the bank reported net income of $120 million, up by US$15.7 million or 15.1 per cent.

FirstCaribbean International Bank recorded total revenue of US$435.1 million, up US$33.2 million or 8.3 per cent, due to its continued growth in performing loans and benefit from rising US interest rates. (MM)

13. @ Vincent Codrington

Old Age Pension is like social security. You do not pay into it. The law stipulates that if your income in retirement is at a certain level, the OAP is reduced by a percentage. This can move up and down when private income from investments are coming in and depending on the dividends received. My claw back went down about four years ago and since then has been increasing as the markets have been performing well.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC 11.51
    So the former NIS Chair, who was also a Board Director at the CBB, is retained amidst other Board changes at the CBB. The head NIS executive is Promoted by the new administration to Director of Finance. They did a good job? Appreciate, the NIS hasn’t issued an Annual Report in 12 YEARS!!!
    Should we be interpreting that beyond political interference in investment execution, and possibly loan approval, the same interference resulted in the void of reporting?
    Should we expect a deluge of long overdue annual reports next month?
    The level of accountability is appalling.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

For all of you who are upset with the default and haircuts, you should be marching demanding change at the NIS, before you wake up to learn the benefits you are expecting from the NIS have been cut in half.
    You didn’t think default was possible? You didn’t think your bond yields could be cut, they were guaranteed? You have to DEMAND accountability at the NIS. Or bear the consequences of your inaction.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Northern Observer.

Cleviston Haynes currently the Governor of The Central bank of Barbados

Formerly the Deputy Governor under De Wild Worrell Kadooment Wukup specialist (and the only man who got a brand new Mini Cooper to burn out)

Cleviston is one of the brightest persons you could ever have the pleasure of knowing.

But he was deputy under that Wuk Up Governor.

You see my drift? If I were to use the brush of guilty by association on Cleviston like de ole man is inclined to use with the NIS Cleviston would be out too and that would not be fair.

But between the two of us you see dat Justin Robinson feller? He should be gone in a heartbeat as should Holidaying from the Barbados Water Authority

17. The discussion can be best summed up like this
    Same old
    Same old
    Jobs for th

18. The discussion can best be summed up in this way
    Same old
    Same old
    Musical chairs around the mulberry bush
    Jobs for the incompetents
    Some new
    Some resurrected
    Surely political parties have outlived their usefulness

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Northern Observer

@ PUDRYR

As is my wont, I do not discuss personalities. I prefer to deal with issues.Please forgive my bad manners if I treat your relevant queries as rhetorical. Questions to which you already know the answers.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Charles Skeete at 2 :53 AM

How will we form a GoB if there are no parties?

21. 800 million haircut for the NIS
    Govt bonds lost or forever depleted
    IMF gives a measly 49 million as first round of payments with attach austerity measures
    Now yuh see the foolishness in Chairman Mugubee decision
    So let me see
    Hilton expected sale would have been 200million
    BNTCL expected sale would have been 100million
    This govt raises a stink on all propsed sales of these assests now barbadians are caught in a juggernaut of a fast moving policies and plans which will catspraddle every soul that lives on the island
    Have a nice day uh all

22. The Dullard has been saying for a while that the NIS is in a grim state. Political interference and gross, almost criminal mismanagement has brought the fund to its knees.

The NIS issue ought to be right up there on the gov’s to-do list. A depleted NIS will impact tens of thousands of lives at a time when they can least afford.

The entire pensions policy and philosophy, investment strategy and targeted pillars of retirement income needs to be carefully thought out. There is no other way now but to reduce pension benefits and/or increase contributions. It is that simple.

23. Was interesting to listen to Clyde Mascoll make the comment a few days ago how important a functioning NIS Board will be to the process of maximizing yields on investment and looking after its general ‘well being’.

24. William Skinner Avatar

Anybody still unconvinced that we have a one party state should now be treated with the pity they deserve.
    There is one political party whether it has thirty seats or no seats in Parliament/government . It is :
    The Barbados Labour Party Democratic Labour Party. This party has been in power for sixty three years.
    All other parties are the official Opposition whether they have a seat or not ! Case closed.

25. Those who were thinking that 290million would have been given as a lump sum has now been met with a rude awakening
    Another reason govt finds it self scrambling to thief people money out of desperation
    Govt has now found itself dug into a bigger hole
    Having to pay local debt Foreign debt and having to meet IMF expectations of repaying the 29million in a timely fashion in order to receive more additional funding from the IMF

One another note a friend of mine told me that she wrote three letters to the gov. of Central Bank requesting info on how to cash in the bonds
    On last request the bank suggestion wa to cash them at Commercial bank
    So those reading interested in cashing there bonds can use the information given by the bank to my friend
    Unfortunately for my friend cashing the bonds at a commercial bank can not be done since my friend does not reside on the island an issue which govt has not address along with many others in regards to holders of govt instruments living in the diaspora
    It’s as if govt prefer to ignore these investors and prefer to let the chips fall where they may
    As a matter of fact my friend has yet to receive first hand correspondence prior to govt plans
    Outside what correspondence that was done by them( friend) recently solely out of concern for the investment

26. Folks,

You talk about accountability. I show you what it is and share some news. Lee Myung-bak, former prez of South Korea, got FIFTEEN years in jail for corruption charges. FIFTEEN years. Not fifteen months.

Why are the COP and the Babbster-DPP not doing their work? … … …

Now some QCs will crawl out of the sewage system and cuss me for not knowing the so-called local legal system. Oh, I forgot, you need a “complaint” on the plantation called Bim to go after corruption. Sorry. Do we still have slavery as a legal institution in Bim as well? I would not wonder. Just asking …

27. Come on, Mia…. sort out this NIS …… the comments above ain’t providing me with much hope. Please re-think the composition of the Board & get some true independent persons on-board. Enough of the political rewarding which usually end up with square pegs in round holes.

NIS must be allowed to invest outside of Barbados if we are to see any ‘profit’. We can’t print foreign currency!!!

Tourism is our Forex lifeline but sooner or later, it will experience a ‘blip’ & all eggs in one basket will hurt.

Now that we have the IMF loan and a bit of security, confidence will come back but we MUST not squander this opportunity because of political patriotism. Put the right people in the right places….please!

28. Can Barbados be saved? Can Barbadians handle living like Somalians or Zimbabweans?

29. Ping Pong,

Barbadians wanted to eat sh … in 2008 and 2013. They shouln´t complain now about the outfall. I told so ever since that the NIS has to cut benefits. Barbados is a no-investment grade since many years. Only the mentally challenged and/or greedy invested in BB bonds after they went down to B.

Finally the local politicians, judges and high bureaucrats have to hand over the island to those who bring in the forex in big suitcases: to the true Creators of Barbados.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    I was not discussing personality. Rather to say, that if those two senior persons were not fingered, then your “perception” of interference was likely accurate, unless we have a rogue unknown person executing the buy/sell orders who disobeyed the Investment Policy Statement.
    The reality is, even with an independent external manager, the same interference can occur.

31. What do we have here in a simple view?

A country not generating foreign exchange?

A country addicted to consumption.

A country married to the same narrative that has brought us to this point.

Here is the crunch.

A government working overtime to support the old behaviours.

32. @ David who wrote ” A country not generating foreign exchange? ”

The country is generating ” foreign exchange ” but how much of it is leaked.

When I pay for me and my girlfriend’s next vacation by credit card what happens to those US dollars ?

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wait…you got Glennis travelling with you now?

34. @ NorthernObserver, good one.lol

” Prime Minister Mia Mottley says she is looking to double the island’s tourism revenue to BDS$4 billion within the next five years.

She revealed the target even as she lamented that last year’s industry earnings had fallen slightly from BDS $2.3 billion in 2007 to BDS$2.1 billion.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/24/mottley-looking-to-double-barbados-tourism-revenue/

35. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Hants

How is she going to double it by putting her hands in the tourists pockets?

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You have just exposed what has been going on in Canada for a while here on BU.

And NorthernObserver has caught you out. This is why Mr. Codrington said not to deal with personalities heheheheh.

Her claim about Tourism is true.

It can and will be done for Barbados AND ANY OTHER REGIONAL JURISDICTION that is serious about this.

But Nia going have to manage this one alone cause if she leaves this one to Kerrie Oblong head it going get effed up and she knows this.

It is too sensitive an initiative to let a fool manage.

She has to pledge to stop stealing and enact the laws AND THEN ENFORCE THEM so that ministers who steal citizen’s property are going to be fired.

She gots to stop cuddling her thieves and dufuses all the time.

And while that is hard for her, just man up and do it!

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Northern Observer at 10 :21 AM

The NIS Funds are segregated funds. The Board has a fiduciary responsibility to invest the surplus funds in a manner that would yield a flow of revenue to supplement any temporary short falls in the inward flow of current contributions etc. The guidelines for the investment committee are the parameters within which the Board and its subsidiary Investment Committee should make decisions.

There is a tendency for the Public Sector and the Private Sector to view NIS as a source of funds for their projects. It is therefore incumbent on the NIS to subject each proposal to appropriate financial analyses. The Political interference enters the equation when the results yielded by the analysis is overruled by the political directorate.
    The issue is not the CEOs nor the Chairmen nor the directors. They can be removed in keeping with the conventions and regulations governing their appointments. Or they may resign when their professional standards and competence are under threat.

They may have been judge as technically competent by those responsible for their appointments in the cases under review by BU.

38. @ Hants October 5, 2018 11:14 AM

Drive along the Platinum and South Coast. Hotel after hotel, some sites even abandoned.

Tourism has reached its peak in Bim.

I do not know a SINGLE country solely relying on tourism which got rich. Barbadians just live above their very limited means.

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 11:14 AM

We are thinking along the same lines. It is time we examine the leaks in the Foreign Exchange and Tax Revenue systems.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Truth Will Set You Free

It is not hard. It is not hard at all.

Brother Hants said part of the how some weeks ago and again posted part of the solution a few days ago.

She has to remove that asinine US$75 tax immediately though and concentrate on building brand and volume.

Let the ole man explain this with this example.

Alexandra’s nightclub. Noel Charles. And a policy to let every taxi driver in FREE if he brought his guests to The Club.

But what is free when you pay for drinks that have the admission fee appended to every drink!

We black people do not understand marketing like the white man or the Indian.

Volume but this specific issue and strategy, this is lost on the Oblong Heads of our tourism industry.

And that is why Adrian Loveridge is hated for his experience and commentary.

He got a product that works and when you remark on the formula to philistines, oh well…

41. William Skinner Avatar

Why don’t you just admit that for all your interventions, you were just attempting to prop up the system that is broken beyond all the nonsense that is being promoted as economic medicine.
    You either playing devil’s advocate or you are hopelessly lost. I hope that it’s the former.
    Do you ever seriously read your posts. Contradictions abound especially on matters of the economy. You have spent more time regurgitating than analyzing what is really before us: Two parties that simply do not have the intellectual capacity within their ranks to carve a new relevant socio economic policy for the country.

42. Walter Blackman Avatar

Like trained parrots,every single minister responsible for social security has attempted to reassure the Barbadian public that the NIS Fund is being well managed. Whilst the ministers have been uttering these empty meaningless reassurances with one side of their mouth, their respective finance ministers have been systematically raiding the NIS fund by gobbling up the available cash and replacing it with worthless government paper.
    After 47 1/2 years of operation (Dec 31, 2014), the reserves of the NIS Fund were comprised of:
    “Private” Investments = $1.4 billion
    Government paper = $3.3 billion
    Total reserves = $4.7 billion

That $3.3 billion of government’s indebtedness to the NIS represents the single most serious threat to the sustainability of the NIS. Given the fact that $3.3 billion worth of taxes had already been levied on and paid by Barbadian taxpayers, what moral right does government have to turn around and tax the populace again for money that it squandered?

Moral right or not, if the NIS is to be rescued and promised benefit levels maintained, then the government must find a way to get that $3.3 billion in a timely manner back into the coffers of the NIS. Government can therefore choose to solve the problem by raising NIS contribution rates, or raising taxes to repay its NIS debt.
    Did I say raise taxes? Did I say raise contribution rates? Ooops. We can’t afford to forget, not for one moment, that the international credit agencies have been warning us that the Government of Barbados does not possess any more taxing capacity. Increased taxation, therefore, is not looking like a feasible option. Legislated benefit cuts might prove to be an easy attractive choice for the lazy-minded politician..

The last cohort of the Barbadian Baby boomers were born in 1966. With an NIS retirement age of 67, they are expected to retire in 2033. To give you an idea of how serious this problem is, here are the actuary’s words from page 5 of the 15th actuarial review:

“If holdings of GOB debt are excluded from the NIF, depletion of reserves is projected to occur in 2033.”

Interestingly enough, after making some projections and estimates on page 5 of the review, the actuary went on to issue a prophetic warning:

“These results are based on Barbados Government debt being redeemed as scheduled at full face value. Should the GOB restructure any debt held by the NIF through reducing the face amount and/or yields on bonds/debentures, the outlook for Fund finances would be worse than presented above.”

Retired civil servants, and other Barbadians who rely solely on a government pension and/or NIS face a very uncertain future.

43. Walter,

We urgently need to ring-fence the present NIS system and launch ma new long-term saving vehicle. What is so complex about such an idea?

@William,

I have been calling out David for some time now at the risk of giving the impression of a personal attack. I truthfully am trying to save him from making a fool of himself.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 5, 2018 10:29 AM
    “What do we have here in a simple view?
    A country not generating foreign exchange?
    A country addicted to consumption.
    A country married to the same narrative that has brought us to this point.
    Here is the crunch.
    A government working overtime to support the old behaviours.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And what would you recommend as a practical solution to this Bajan self-inflicted conundrum?
    Why not consider, seriously, the inevitable use of the most effective tool to curb and change these old Bajan behaviours?

How about accepting the inevitable outcome of an official devaluation of the Bajan dollar which would cut right across the conspicuous consumption board and forced Bajans to change their extravagant importing habits unless backed by commensurate forex earning performances?

Would the IMF Balance of payment support loans be used to facilitate the continued importation of bottled water, tamarinds from Thailand, chemically-preserved grapes from California, SUVs from Korea and Japan and household trinkets and souvenirs of Barbados from China?

45. Thanks for lending your expertise to this matter Walter. Have you heard your professional colleague from Eckler on the matter? She highlighted all the issues we have exhausted in this forum including the lack of audited financials and the transparency required of the NIS to inspire public confidence.

46. @Miller

We need to have a plan to sell to ALL households and businesses what they need to do to contribute to effort to reduce consumption. We are implementing austere measures however the underlying behaviour is not being addressed. The first sentence is amorphous but is urgently action points required.

47. David,

Devaluation WILL change the behaviour of the local elite and local masses.

At least the forex earners and tourists will have lots of space on the highway since the rest cannot afford gas or diesel anymore 🙂

48. Agree with DAVID/BU – that we need to quickly and seriously address the area of consumption – especially targeting those non essential consumer items purchases which use up the scarce foreign currency..

But as I have said before – Mia is out to sea – She really has no viable plan,and her lack of judgement in rushing to default 1 week into her new administration – is evidence enough of that.

49. @ Walter Blackman October 5, 2018 12:29 PM

Walter,

The said groups do not deserve any mercy. They voted for a failed economic policy again and again – against all common sense. Their so-called leaders, the judges and high bureaucrats have proven again and again that they are in a state of mental apprenticeship and that they are unable to manage the island.

There is no forex earner with substantive growth. The tourist product is outdated and looking like the 1970s. The offshore financial sector left Barbados. When I read “Barbados is receiving 1 billion USD to boost the reserves” I really laugh, since this is borrowed money which must be paid back. However, those telling us how grand another 1 billion debt in USD is, possibly lack the capacity to understand – or they lie to us.

And the oil price is rising.

Now it is time for the grim reaper to cash in.

50. @ William Skinner
    @ Hal Austin

William and Hal, de ole man holds no brief for David BU for indeed he is the noblest of the BU BORG but most assuredly you do understand that there are 3 of the BORG and this one who founded BU is a true patriot.

So I would wish to say that this is an injustice, certainly to The Old David of BU.

Let me ask this question of you both.

Do you think that, among the local bajans, or the Bajans in the Diaspora, that there is HR talent that can recallibrate the Barbados economy and get “all of its pistons firing correctly”?

If your answer is in the affirmative then you cannot in all seriousness be asking why David BU makes what seem to be contradicting statements and observations.

Barring coming pun BU and begging dem to come and help, which he does to a certain degree, what else can a fellerr do?

If your answer is in the negative, and you are of the belief that we dont have the skills, (WHICH IS NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH NOT HAVING THE MECHANISM TO CO-OPT THE REQUIRED SKILLS) then, we could as all shut down shop and retire from BU forever and a day, with the stark realization that all is lost O me miserum!

In the face of all the morass, when we rise each day, it is with the (unfounded?) hope that this day will bring new and improved prospects, else we could as well not rise at all

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply