IMF Press Release No:18/370

IMF Executive Board Approves US$290 million Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility for Barbados

October 1, 2018

• The IMF supported program aims to help Barbados: restore debt sustainability, strengthen the external position, and improve growth prospects.
  • Approval of the program allows for the immediate disbursement of about US$49 million immediately.
  • A comprehensive debt restructuring will complement the fiscal consolidation. The authorities have identified parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability.

On October 1, 2018, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) approved a four-year Extended Arrangement under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) for Barbados for an amount equivalent to SDR 208 million (about US$290 million, or 220 percent of Barbados’s quota in the IMF). The Board’s decision enables the authorities to purchase the equivalent of SDR 35 million (or about US$49 million) immediately. The remainder will be available upon successful completion of seven semiannual reviews.

The EFF-supported program aims to help Barbados: restore debt sustainability, strengthen the external position, and improve growth prospects. Upfront fiscal consolidation, meaningful debt restructuring, and structural measures to support growth should put debt on a clear downward trajectory. The program will seek to protect vulnerable groups through strengthened social safety nets.

Following the Executive Board discussion, Mr. Mitsuhiro Furusawa, Deputy Managing Director and Acting Chair, said:

“The Barbadian authorities have developed a homegrown economic program to address longstanding challenges, which will be supported under the IMF’s Extended Fund Facility. Over the last decade, Barbados’s economy has experienced low growth, while fiscal and external imbalances have gradually widened to reach an unsustainable situation, with very high debt and very low reserves. The authorities’ reform program seeks to address these challenges with a combination of front-loaded fiscal consolidation, measures to boost growth, and debt restructuring, while protecting social spending.

“Fiscal consolidation is key to the adjustment effort. The authorities aim to increase the primary surplus to 6 percent of GDP in FY2019/20 and maintain it at that level for several years thereafter. Reducing transfers to state-owned enterprises will be key in reaching the primary surplus targets. The program aims to reduce these transfers with a combination of much stronger oversight of state-owned enterprises, improved reporting, cost reduction, revenue enhancement, and mergers and divestment. A planned comprehensive review of tax policies is expected to lead to improvements in the tax system. The adoption of a fiscal rule and reforms in public financial management will help sustain the fiscal reform effort.

“A comprehensive debt restructuring will complement the fiscal consolidation. The authorities have identified parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability, and an exchange offer for domestic debt (Barbados dollar-denominated) to private creditors was launched on September 7, 2018. The proposed debt restructuring includes features, including a natural disaster clause, that are expected to help the authorities stay current on their future debt obligations. It is important to continue good faith negotiations with domestic and external creditors.

“Bold structural reforms are needed to improve Barbados’s growth potential and competitiveness. There is significant room for improvement in key business facilitation processes, including speeding up the process for providing construction permits and faster clearing of goods through customs.

Adequate social spending and an improved safety net are key priorities for the program. Targeted reforms, to be pursued in close collaboration with development partners, aim at improving the efficiency and effectiveness of social spending.”

ANNEX

Recent Developments

A new government that took office in May 2018 has inherited a precarious economic situation. Over the last decade, Barbados’ economy has experienced very low growth, and fiscal and external imbalances have gradually led to an unsustainable situation, with very high debt, and very low reserves. Public debt has increased to 157 percent of GDP, while international reserves dropped to 5-6 weeks of import coverage.

Although the fiscal deficit has decreased over the last few years, it remains large, at about 4 percent of GDP in FY2017/18. In 2017 and early 2018, the economy slowed owing to measure taken by the previous government to tighten the fiscal stance and uncertainty about the road ahead, with the Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) reporting a contraction of 0.6 percent in the first half of 2018 (over the same period last year).

The new government announced a comprehensive debt restructuring, including commercial external debt and treasury bills, on June 1, 2018. Significant progress has been made in discussions with domestic and external creditors, and an exchange offer for domestic debt (Barbados dollar-denominated) was launched on September 7, 2018.

Program Summary

Key element of the authorities’ homegrown economic reform program are:

(i) upfront fiscal adjustment: the authorities aim to increase the primary surplus by 2½ percent of GDP to reach 6 percent of GDP in 2019/20 and maintain it at that level for several years thereafter, while protecting vulnerable groups through strengthened social safety nets. Adjustment measures include reduced transfers to state-owned enterprises, higher taxes on tourism, and increased personal income tax and corporate income tax rate rates. The fiscal adjustment effort will be supported by the adoption of a fiscal rule, and Public Financial Management (PFM) reforms.

(ii) reform of state-owned enterprises (SOEs). At 7½ percent of GDP, transfers from the central government to state-owned enterprises are very high, and a major contributor to fiscal risks. The program aims to reduce transfers by about 2 percentage points of GDP, by a combination of much stronger oversight of SOEs, supported by improved reporting; cost reduction, including reduction of the wage bill; revenue enhancement, including an increase in user fees; and mergers and divestment.

(iii) structural reforms to support growth. The program seeks to address weaknesses in the business climate, including slow processes for obtaining construction permits, getting electricity, and registering property, and will include financial and labor market liberalization policies.

Table 1. Barbados: Selected Economic, Financial, and Social Indicators
I. Social and Demographic Indicators (most recent year)
Population (2016 est., thousand) 280.4 Adult literacy rate 99.7
Per capita GDP (2016 est., US$ thousand) 17.8 Poverty rate (individual, 2010) 19.3
Life expectancy at birth in years (2013) 75.3 Gini coefficient (2010) 47.0
Rank in UNDP Development Index (2014) 57 Unemployment rate (2016 est.) 9.9
Main products, services and exports: tourism, financial services, rum, sugar, and chemicals.
II. Economic Indicators
Est. Projection
2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
(Annual percentage change)
Output, prices, and employment
Real GDP 2.2 2.3 -0.2 -0.5 -0.1
CPI inflation (average) -1.1 1.5 4.4 4.2 0.8
CPI inflation (end of period) -2.5 3.8 6.6 0.0 1.4
External sector
Exports of goods and services 3.2 6.6 0.8 2.9 2.8
Imports of goods and services -3.9 0.2 -0.4 4.3 3.1
Real effective exchange rate (average) 8.0 0.9 2.5
Money and credit
Net domestic assets 3.0 7.1 2.6 1.7 3.1
Of which: Private sector credit 0.5 1.1 3.0 1.0 3.5
Broad money 3.7 3.6 -0.6 3.0 4.7
(In percent of GDP, unless otherwise indicated)
CG Public finances (fiscal year) 1/
Revenue and grants 25.9 28.2 28.4 29.6 31.1
Expenditure 34.9 33.6 32.7 30.9 28.5
Fiscal Balance -9.1 -5.3 -4.3 -1.3 2.6
Interest Expenditure 7.1 7.6 7.6 4.7 3.4
Primary Balance -2.0 2.2 3.3 3.3 6.0
Public Debt (fiscal year) 1/
Central gov’t gross debt (incl. guaranteed and arrears) 146.7 149.1 157.3 123.6 116.7
External 33.9 31.2 28.3 26.9 25.9
Domestic 112.8 117.9 129.0 96.8 90.8
Balance of payments
Current account balance -6.1 -4.3 -3.8 -3.1 -3.4
Capital and financial account balance 4.5 0.8 0.8 5.4 6.8
o/w Public Sector -0.8 -1.8 -1.4 2.0 3.2
o/w IMF disbursement 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.9 1.9
Private Sector 5.4 2.6 2.2 3.4 3.6
o/w FDI 5.5 3.4 3.1 3.4 3.6
Net Errors and Omissions 0.0 1.0 0.3 0.0 0.0
Overall balance -1.6 -2.5 -2.6 2.2 3.4
Memorandum items:
Exchange rate (BDS$/US$) 2.0 2.0 2.0
Gross international reserves (US$ million) 478.4 358.5 227.7 342.0 516.7
In months of imports of G&S 2.8 2.1 1.3 1.9 2.8
In percent of ARA 105.3 72.6 43.8 65.8 95.1
Nominal GDP, CY (BDS$ millions) 9,451 9,681 9,979 10,343 10,414
Nominal GDP, FY (BDS$ millions) 9,509 9,756 10,070 10,361 10,480
Sources: Barbados authorities; UNDP Human Development Report; Barbados Country Assessment of Living Conditions 2010 (December 2012); and Fund staff estimates and projections.
1/ Fiscal year is from April to March.
IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONS

PRESS OFFICER: Randa Elnagar

Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

197 responses to “IMF Approves Extended Fund Facility for Barbados”

1. The weak points of the IMF programme are as follows:

(1) “Bold structural reforms are needed to improve Barbados’s growth potential and competitiveness.”

There is NO substantial reform of the Barbados civil service. Nearly all civil servants remain and will drain public finances.

(2) “reform of state-owned enterprises (SOEs).”

Given the local NATO-principle (no action talk only) it is hard to believe that the SOEs can be reformed. It is also simply insane to introduce user fees for organizations like the Barbados tourist authority which offers ZERO value for its customers.

(3) “A comprehensive debt restructuring will complement the fiscal consolidation.”

NO plan for international debt in USD and the forex problem.

(4) NO plan for economic growth in the private sector.

PREDICTION: The IMF programme will fail.

If you have such economic consultants like the present or last gov, you do not need a headsman but you can hang yourself at the next tree …

NOTES:

(1) There is no fixed exchange rate for 2018 and 2019. So devaluation is ON THE TABLE!!!

(2) Read the following words: “Gross international reserves (US$ million)”. GROSS means EXCLUDING obligations to pay back former loans like CS etc pp. The NET international reserves are FAR lower, but the IMF tries to cover up how much.

2. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

More teefing to come.

Watch Muh Now.

3. @David Didn’t I say a few days ago that the root of our problems are the SOEs and that some of them will need to be sold and the rest of them reformed? We didn’t need the IMF to tell us this we knew this all along. That is why the main points in BERT were obvious, you just have to work out the extent and range of each policy.

You usually have to come up with a home grown plan the IMF only approves or disapproves.

4. @Backooful Jack

We agree the SOEs are a drain on the Treasury BUT what is the cause?

5. Congratulations to Team BLP led by PM Mia Amor Mottley for prima facie passing the crucial home grown first test of IMF support for her government’s plans for Barbados.From this position Team BLP is now better positioned to attract more and better concessionary development loans at rates less onerous than those visited upon the now disgraced Stuart/Sinckler excuse for fiscal and monetary management of Economy Barbados.
    Confidence is gradually returning to Country Barbados.This is good for all.

6. 15 Billion Missing and you get a 290 Million dollars loan, how sweet, The Crime Minister and her lackeys will try to teeeffff some and will not get the rest when Audit is done, BFP/CUP

7. @David Inefficiencies (lack of use of technology), Too many people doing too few jobs, outdated practices, User fees too low and inconsistent with cost recovery (this is why bus fare has to rise to take the Transport Board off the consolidated fund) (politicians sending people for jobs whether the SOE could afford to pay them or not and general corruption)Political patronage and democratic socialism, and corruption are the ills of Latin American economies, Barbados is just the latest victim. The aim HAS to be to take these SOEs off of the consolidated fund this will include privatization: the government should currently be working on this behind the scenes, merging those which ill not be privatized, and increasing or introducing user fees to make them profitable. I don’t think many people understand what is happening with the water bill, those are three bills being placed in one, it is not really a tax. The government has simply stopped subsidizing the SSA and they are making we the consumers pay for the service by putting it on the same bill as the water. The SSA is pretty much now running like a business instead of a social programme. It has bee taken off of the consolidated so it will not appear in the Estimates in 2019.

Mottley has already merged and privatized the Tourism boards, These will also be taken of the consolidated fund by the next estimates. They also said they will privatize the operations at Harrison cave which currently is $8 million in debt. They will also need to privatize a few more entities. The Barbados government’s finances are in a mess. It will take a while to sort each of these SOE’s are companies and each will take a few months to correct their corporate culture and make viable.

8. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Any country which is a member of the IMF and is destitute like Barbados can get an loan so no great accomplishment.

Whoever thought the day when Jamaica and Guyana would be on par with Barbados.

Is that something to congratulate?

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Who would have thought that Barbados who had a reputation for prudent management of its affairs could reach this sorry pass.

10. Who would have thought JA ‘s masquerading as Cabinet Ministers, ably supported by an equally big JA for a Central Bank Governor,another disgraced minion of the lying party,would have brought Country Barbados’ pigs to such a fine market as to have 23 downgrades of its management of the economy by money market watchers and commentators visited and pronounced upon in a short 10 year span,further to have ratcheted up a 15 billion dollar debt in those same 10 short years largely by mistake after mistake by wild boys,to quote a former comrade in Parliament..
    This thing called the Westminster model want throwing out the window if there is not going to be an investigation into the corruption the electors have been told about and which the Team BLP is doing nothing about thus far.We are watching allyuh.

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

There is a rumour circulating out her in the Diaspora that October 3rd is a Public Holiday on Srping Garden in appreciation of the IMF money and that the same people who supplied syrup to the Ministry of Education in 2004 will be catering for a US $5 million dollars.

Grateful if the BLP horde and hoares could confirm

https://i.imgur.com/onN3cFA.png

@ Gabriel (Archangel)

because your business partner is at the table supping, you must not be so overly exuberant with the application of the lips heheheheheheh.

It ill becomes you and she would not be pleased heheheheheheh

12. Piece,

The money is not for free … 😉

Even if BB gov negotiates some discount for the external USD debt, say 49 mio. USD, the new loan of 49 USD will offset such relief. In other words, Barbados gets a debt swap from CS loan et al to IM loan.

We call that zero-sum-game.

Now you could reply that the IMF loan has lower interest than the CS shark loan. Yes, but the interest for future loans from private financial institutions will be even higher thanks to Bim´s grand history.

So the interest rate is also a zero-sum-game.

We can play it as we want. Nothing saved. There is no way out. There is no alternative to devaluation or emigration.

p.s. If you want I check Simpson Motors, MQI and Miele Caribbean for you on Wed. and ask if they received additional orders for SUVs each 500,000 dollars and washers each 10,000 dollars … 😉

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Two lines caught my eye….beyond the failure to state an exchange rate in 2019.
    i) and will include financial and labor market liberalization policies.
    ii) the adoption of a fiscal rule, and Public Financial Management (PFM) reforms.

Elaboration on both will be watched for in the weeks ahead. Typically, Governments do NOT like IMF-style fiscal rules.

14. If the B’DOS GOV is looking at ways to proffer “FOREIGN EXCHANGE” ways & mechanisms to its biggest & brightest in Bajan society without the “CRAZY RISK MANAGEMENT” which does include “BLOCKCHAIN” technologies – the answer is right here GUYS* & I don’t even have to fly to BIM* to teach you how to make $$$$$$$£££££€€€€€€€€ – it’s self-taught through our online university tutorials…

PLEASE SEE: https://affiliate.kcbank.io/?s=dreamstarworld

15. did you see how low the percentage was of people that speak english?

16. Barbados should rejoin the OECS grouping fully.No Sinckler clones should make Barbados this poor again.The EC dollar should become again the currency of Barbados and no politician can fire a Governor who is like the CCJ independent to make decisions after gathering all the evidence.

17. Mia Mottley both CON ARTIST AND CLOWN- see the article written by a Bahamian in Carribbean NEWS Now – giving a very balanced and astute observation of Mia ‘watch muh’ Mottley.

Well,well,well, WE WERE TOLD ABOUT ALL THE APPLAUSE SHE RECEIVED AT CARICOM MEETING BUT THE TRUTH IS WHAT IS SAID BEHIND CLOSED DOORS WHEN MOTTLEY IS NOT PRESENT AND NOT WHAT IS SAID IN FRONT HER FACE.

The Emperor has no clothes people.

I told wunna this .

18. “Ahwrite people, we on de road to recovery”….. but can anyone enlighten me on how Mr. Avinash Persaud, B.Sc. became a Professor????

19. T. Inniss. I tried posting the link three times
    David block it .i have concluded David is corrupt

20. KS

Ah trick question. Ah….try Gresham College.

21. David never thought that you would stoop to a level so low that you would hide alternative views about. Mia Mottley now being defined on Carribbean Media news as a clown and con artist
    Remember birds of feather lump together
    Heres to you David

22. Mariposa

The people’s eyes are opening based on all the talk on the ground.You could only fool some of the people for so long.

23. KS

-Keep asking the question.Listening to david ellis yesterday – sucking up to him and calling him professor Avinash – is really sickening – no journalistic integrity remaining at all (How about Mr Persaud).The man as everyone knows is not a Professor.

Its like someone calling Gearbox – Doc – and people running with that and saying he is a doctor.

He got straight hair and he got an exaggerated british accent – so he must be a Professor right ?

24. Mariposa

Not Caribbean Media News – Its Caribbean News Now .

Note this writer was not for the Dems or the Bees.Just straight up , plain talk – bad manners kinda guy.

25. Also in the article mention of the Ross departure which alludes to Mottley statements as being untruthful and not supported by Skeritt
    David never in the history of Barbados politics has ever been an article printed on any Carribbean Media that refers to a PM as a clown and con artist
    I knew that the Ross departure under the watchful eye of Mia would cause long standing rift between barbados and the rest of the Carribbean people
    For all that it is worth her grand aura of pretense would not be enough or be a Saviour to save Barbados character from being boombazzled across social media and local news outlets

26. David so sad that younhave become a member of the corruption gang.
    Now going about curtailing news articles that challenges Mia truthfulness
    For those who want to read the article. Check Carribbean news now

27. test

28. For those interested just google:

“mottley more clown than con”

29. Very interesting Blogmaster…

30. Here’s to u David
    Extract.

The first time Mottley audaciously clowned us is when she responded to claims that her administration had poached the Ross University away from her sister island of Dominica — citing the fact that the country had just not made a sound enough rebound after the devastating Hurricane Maria that destroyed the country in December, 2017. A move she alluded to on Facebook Live was done with the full understanding, knowledge and tacit approval of the prime minister of Dominica, Roosevelt Skerrit.

31. Minister Skerrit came out and denied ever having any such discussions with Mottley on the relocation of Ross University to Barbados, quite obviously. And anyone would wonder why Skerrit would agree to such a thing when Dominica needs all of the help and economic input it can get

32. If all else fails the legalization of the biblical sin industries is next.

Gambling Casinos, LGBT acts, Marijuana.

33. Former DLP leader negotiates for the BLP.

” This disclosure came from Chief Economic Counsellor and lead negotiator with the IMF, Ambassador Dr Clyde Mascoll, who said the money would be given at a rate much lower than the private market. “

34. By extent this article expands on my tireless comments about Ross
    Btw David a few days i mentioned to u two Words ” intellectual Corruption
    I advise u to google and understand how intellectual Corruption is a con game wherby those of higher intellect use to sway people into a dirrection of immoral conduct under the pretense they know what is best
    Mottley fits such a mold as the article simply states that a wrong cannot be a right simply by altering the meaning of words or gestures as an effect

35. Avinash. Professor of BS well known as bull sh..it
    Today one will hear the blp yardfowls geelfully accepting that barbados is on a new patch of economic recovery as if barbados has paid all debts due and owes nobody not even the lowly pensioners nothing

36. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

T. Inniss. I tried posting the link three times
    David block it .i have concluded David is corrupt
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

David BU is indeed part of the new BLP corruption Brigade bandwagon.

The article which is on Caribbean News Now is an excellent one and written by someone who is objective with no ties to the island.

No one can accuse the author of being a DLP yardfowl as the ignorant in Barbados love to do to dismiss people.

Barbados you are truly fucked.

37. Here comes the clowns Mariposa ,t Inniss,Piece ,how you all feel now the IMF loan has been officially confirmed,in spite of all the doom and gloom on these blogs.It appeared to me these three along with persons like Hal Austin,A Dullard and a few more,are not bajans and want to see Barbados fail,maybe they plan to emigrate,not Hal of course as he is already off island.In my view ,this loan will open other loans,as well and investor confidence will gradually return,in time,as we now have decisive leadership,going forward therefore I congratulate Ms mottley and her team,and wish her well in the future,as there is a long road ahead,with sacrifices to be made.

38. Lorenzo go find something to do with yuh time
    With all the punishing policies inflicted on the people by MIa
    You got nerve to clap hands on receiving 290million loan on a billion dollar plus debt
    Where is the reward
    You got to be an ignorant Johnnie

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Truth Will set you free at 10 :48 AM

We can only hope that there is a conception and that the progeny is as pure as baby Jesus. Wuh Loss!!!

40. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Vincent

Barbados is a bankrupt failed island and people are rejoicing on an IMF loan and other debt through loan funding.

Well well well.

The money is not a Grant or lottery winnings.

All the Free education in Barbados has been truly wasted.

41. Heres to u Lorenzo

By Youri A Kemp

While Barbadians and Caribbean folks at large bask in the glow of a female leader taking the helm of one of our beautiful islands, making the honeymoon phase of the new Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration longer than it would normally be, we must now begin to get down to the serious issues that: 1. Barbadians have a life and a country that needs to be healed; 2. Facts need to be set aside from the fiction of the campaign slogans and promises; and 3. Barbadian problems before the elections still exist and need identifiable solutions that can be tracked moving forward.

42. @ Lorenzo October 2, 2018 10:53 AM

To make it very clear, Lorenzo:

This forum is not made up of paid yes-men.

IF the economy recovers and IF the foreign credits in USD are settled and IF the NET (!) foreign reserves go up
    I will be the loudest cheerleader of PM MAM.

43. The loan all byself is microscopic of how foolish the blp yardfowls has become
    Here is a loan that binds all barbadians lives to harsh austerity policies brelative to commitments and presented as sureties for the IMF in order for the loan to be approved
    Now the blp can easily and readily accept punishment over past govt plan to sell the boondoggle Hilton with an exorbitant potfolio of economic losses which will continue to ride bare back on the shoulders of the people

44. As Barbados move forward into a cycle of harsh austerity plans
    The front door of Intelluctual corruption will be flung wide open as words and meanings would be used to coverup all mistakes and flaws by govt
    Even hidden agendas as being exposed by the blogmaster would become known

45. Why Sinkler didn’t sell Hilton earlier? it was a drain on the public long before 2018 and it would have ease the strain if he had gotten rid of it in 2014

The BU resident cuny now admitting that under the DLP the economy was tanking?

46. Mariposa,

There is no intellectual corruption, because there are no intellectuals.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

“the boondoggle Hilton with an exorbitant potfolio of economic losses”

the Chairman’s Report from the 2015 annual report, the most recent one laid in Parliament in October 2017.

“On behalf of the Board of Directors, I have the honour to present the annual report of
    Needham’s Point Holdings Limited (NPHL) for the year ended March 31, 2015.
    During the year, the company recorded revenues of $60,730,540 from the hotel’s
    operations, which resulted in a comprehensive profit of $1,528,221.
    This would be the largest annual profit to date.
    This positive performance has increased the company’s total
    equity to $134 million. The Board is pleased to
    present these results in this report.”

Either the Chairman Mr.Gittens is lying about the financial condition, or you are lying. Which is it?

48. YES , why didn’t he sell Hilton instead of getting the CS loan?

49. By the way, how was the CS loan and all the others loans (like the one for the new sugar factory) spent? buying big screen TVs and food hampers for the people in black rock?

50. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ John2

Go and get your corrupt COP and DPP to arrest Chris Sinckler and the DLP band of thieves and they can also take up Date Marshall and George Payne and prosecute them all.