Didn’t we all grow up understanding that bribes and payoffs – – by whatever name or rationale – – were bad? And that people were supposed to be the focal point of society, not money?” ― Ray Bourhis, Revolt: The Secession of Mill Valley

The current governing administration is persuaded that anti-corruption and transparency in public affairs merit a statute prohibiting and criminalizing any behaviour that would offend these ideals. To its credit, it has sought to engage formal public discourse on the matter, a national conversation, if you will, by convening a select committee of Parliament to entertain oral and written submissions from individual and corporate members of the public on the adequacy of the text of the proposed legislation.

Two observations need to be made in limine [from the beginning] in this context. The first is that a form of such legislation already exists in the Prevention of Corruption Act 1929, a statute that, as recent events demonstrate, already criminalizes the cruder form of corruption; bribery, even though it is cribbed, cabined and confined by the relatively minor nature of the offence; a misdemeanour, the comparatively mild, although not entirely lenient nature of its penalties on conviction (a) to imprisonment for two years, or to a fine of two thousand four hundred dollars or to both such imprisonment and fine; and

(b) To be ordered to pay to such body, and in such manner as the court directs, the amount or value of any gift, loan, fee or reward received by him or any part thereof; and

(c) to be adjudged incapable of being elected or appointed to any public office for seven years from the date of his conviction and to forfeit any such office held by him at the time of his conviction”

and the restrictive nature of the mode and time limit for its prosecution in certain cases in that first, “a prosecution for an offence under this Act shall not be instituted except by or with the consent of the Director of Public Prosecutions” and, second. that “proceedings instituted with a view to obtaining a summary conviction for an offence under this Act may be commenced at any time before the expiration of six months after the first discovery of the offence by the prosecutor”.

The second observation relates to the rather earthier point that it ought to be recognized that legislation by itself is ineffective to prevent corruption or any other form of criminal conduct. As the text of the epigraph above suggests, we, certainly those of my generation and then environment, all grew up understanding that certain things, including your good name and that of your family, were not for sale at any price. We did not need to be reminded that selling your trust for a mess of filthy lucre bordered on criminality or infringed a statute. I suppose we were too poor to know otherwise.

Given the failings of the existing legislation identified above, a new statute, the Integrity in Public Life Act, has been drafted that is more comprehensive in its formulation to prevent public corruption.

That Act, still in draft Bill form, grandly purports in its statement of Objects and Reasons its intention to establish a regime, including an integrity commission, to “promote the integrity of persons in public life and strengthen measures for the prevention, detection, investigation and prosecution of acts of corruption”. [Emphasis added].

I propose, over the next few columns, to analyze the draft Bill for the benefit of my readers. I shall do so through (i) an examination of the nature, form and function of the Commission, (ii) the mandated declarations of financial affairs; (iii) the treatment of gifts; (iv) what constitutes an act of corruption; (v) the contents of the Code of Conduct in public life and (vi) the Act’s provision for whistleblower protection.

Clause 3 of the Bill establishes the Integrity Commission, while the First Schedule stipulates its composition and other matters. The proposed Commission comprises six individuals as listed, paying due deference to the skills that would ordinarily be associated with the forensic detection and determination of acts of corruption. Thus there is a designated position of a chartered or certified accountant, a retired judge, a senior attorney at law and two individuals in effect selected by the Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition respectively.

I am minded to question the stipulation that there must be a member of the Clergy on the Commission, although I suppose that this provision is a sop to the moral nature of integrity. Which leads inexorably to the issue of whether the legal and accounting functions are not more competently treated by the members of the staff of the commission rather than have the membership of the Board of the Commission itself consist of individuals skilled in these areas. On this argument, the sole qualification for membership of the Board should be a perception of personal integrity rather than possession the forensic skills necessary to root out corruption. The patent attempt to constitute a politically bipartisan Commission is to be commended.

As I similarly found to my chagrin when I chaired the Fair Trading Commission, the text of the Bill in its present form fails to make an adequate differentiation between the Board or the directors of the Commission and the staff of the Commission itself, using the omnibus expression “the Commission” to cover both.

For instance, Clause 4 (1)(c) of the Bill provides the following as a function of the Commission-

to make inquiries and carry out investigations as it considers necessary in order to verify or determine the accuracy of a declaration, statement of registrable interests or report of a gift filed under this Act…”

It is at least doubtful whether the members listed in the First Schedule will perform these duties personally. Yet, according to the definition section, these individuals are precisely the ones referred to as the Commission. I consider that there is a need for a redrafting in this regard if only for the purposes of clarity. The Commission is not solely the Board that is targeted rather to providing general oversight of the stipulated functions by the staff.

114 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On the Prevention of Corruption 1”

1. Tasker…..Guyanese

2. […] following was posted as a comment to BU blog – The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On the Prevention of Corruption by Peter Lawrence Thompson – David, […]

3. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ David please translate ” Non tibi gravis “. Google has not been helpful. lol
    @!Hants, literally, “not serious to or.for yo”. Conversationally,” no offense intended”.

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

you

5. Thanks Jeff.

6. “His brother is Trevor Tasker President of the Barbados Golf Association (BGA)”

Now it’s making sense, that’s a whole gang right there, no surprise everything went south.

7. WARU
    You recall Guyanese DPP Leacock was a big guru at Durants,got apartments there and got on like he owned the golf course.Surprise that a Guyanese is president of the golf association?

8. Gabriel ya are on the right track..that is a cartel there all by itself..with Enuff’s friend Vivek as the cartel leader and who owned the DPP deceased…..it is fitting together nicely…this is definitely not over just yet,..am sure everyone is treading extra lightly lol.

9. Did one of our ex ministers not give that Golf Course a large sum of government money….?

10. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Bush Tea

$2 million by John Boyce never repaid by Southern Golf aka Durants/Barbados Golf Club

11. Am I right in saying that Leacock’s wife was manager of the Barbados Gold Club?

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man shall refrain from indulging in the side chat about Tasked or Pornville and shall go directly to your substantive topic with my observation called “fore, four and four

“Fore” — actually, fore! — is a word of warning yelled out by a golfer who hits an errant shot. If your shot is in danger of hitting or landing very close to another golfer or group of players on the golf course, you should yell “fore!” to warn players to watch out.

Four a noun a cardinal number one more than three

And finally 4.

The Corruption act of which you spoke is dated 1929

Add four to that and you arrive at 1933 the year of ENACTMENT of Hitler’s Enabling Act which an illiterati here persist in referencing when speaking of ZeJong’s Integrity in Public Life Act

On this matter of numerology did you know thst it is only in one of the Gospels of my Christ that Jesus said the eords “whom seek ye?” Twice! and on both occasions the men who came to take home were thrown backwards?

In certain literature it is said that if they had asked Him a third time such would have created a Tribune intonation and they would not have been able to have taken him that night.

I jest trying to sound like if I gots sense. Can’t have all uh wunna in here speaking in tongues and not try a ting or two Heheheheh

De ole man ent know no Latin other than “semper fi” which i think is an old high fidelity brand name radio like Blaupunkt (but don’t quote me on that)

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item thank you

14. Golf

15. “$2 million by John Boyce never repaid by Southern Golf aka Durants/Barbados Golf Club.”

Saw that in the Auditor General’s report and was asking who this entity was…so Boyce gave away taxpayer’s money money to a Cartel… even before Bajans understood that was one of several Cartels on the island controlling government ministers AND the Judiciary.,..that they helped destroy the judiciary by bribing a chief justice…judges, lawyers everyone..they destroyed lives of claimants.

.they helped destroy a whole government by bribing government ministers, they helped destroy a whole country by running corruption, drugs, guns, trafficking young women…you name it, they did it.

16. @david

“We keep search for that spark to fire the masses.”

I’ve repeatedly told you in the past what the answer to this question is…. CURRENCY DEVALUATION, NO FOOD ON THE TABLE AND LEAN BELLIES will spur the masses into action. Society will be in turmoil, only then will Bajans sit up and take notice and possibly action.

BERT & Ernie will be a long forgotten retoric.

17. Hal Austin
    September 3, 2018 3:53 AM
    “Am I right in saying that Leacock’s wife was manager of the Barbados Gold Club?”

Yes, was and far as I know, still is.

18. As you know Barbados is a small island which natural breeds incestuous relationships. This is why it is important to insist on transparency and enforcement. Easier said than done no doubt.

19. I don’t often agree with Wily Coyote but I often say that Bajans will just keep cussing, drinking alcohol and wukking up until another 1937 arrives. Escapism is the thing these days. They don’t want to think because rational thought would demand action and that would probably call for a temporary sacrifice in search of long term gain. Many people don’t think about making the world better for their children any more. They want instant gratification for themselves.

20. Ha, GP and I also agree on something. I love Latin. Unfortunately I’ve forgotten most of it. Nothing wrong with a little fancy language here and there. It makes life interesting. If people are too lazy to pick up their dictionaries that is their problem,

21. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hal Austin

Betty June Leacock also controls the books as she was their head Accountant/Financial controller before she became GM at the Golf course.

22. Hello David @ BU, there you’re mocking Sargeant for bringing his north American approach, picketing to the bajans. Concluding that the directorates will ignore without fear. Is the Barbados Under Ground not a copy of many NA blogs? Did I not read somewhere on your blog that this medium and its many contributors were instrumental in killing that Cahill scam? What makes you think that if the bloody nappy head fools would get off their ass… what the hell is wrong with you WARU and this man’s eyes? This is the second time you’re going on about his eyes and he’s not taking you on. I wish Simple Simon would take a look at my eyes, then all her anger toward men will disappear.

23. BU played a small part. It was the effort of a collective lead by the high brown class.

24. Lol.. Whitehill post a picture of your eyes so I can get lost in them too..forget Simple Simon…

25. @ WARU, maybe I will. However, I initiated an offer of apple pie and vanilla ice cream at my place, she accepted contingent upon it being home made. I’ve been looking for a recipe ever since, it’s not a SIMPLE task.

26. lol…at least she accepted your invite, you may get even luckier, don’t give up then…

27. We have seen this movie before: During elections, the opposition accuses the government of being corrupt. The opposition wins, sometimes hold a Commission Of Inquiry and then the whole thing gets bogged down in legal jargon (mainly Latin, Hal) and we never hear of it again. Then the movie “comes back out” when the government changes.
    Bring the popcorn Hal meet me I got the soft drinks .Will it be the globe umpire or plaza? I know they close down but we still living in a place where time just stands still.
    Latin translation: We gine no wey fast…… very fast.

28. MR sKINNER SIR
    wHAT YOU MEAN IS THAT WE INTO “FESTINA LENTE?” OR NOT…. LOL

29. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

William Skinner September 4, 2018 1:50 PM

As we are into dead things lately like LATIN.

Did some research actually i made a new friend in the process “GooGLE”. I think David will be proud of me. Lol

So I discovered the Latin phrase “Per-so-na non Gra-ta”. Is it possible that we can make “Corruption” “Persona non Grata” bout hay?

Your thoughts are welcomed; unless u are named corruption.

30. IN WHAT CAN BE DESCRIBED as a landmark decision, the High Court has ruled that compulsory membership of the Barbados Bar Association is unconstitutional.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/192244/bar-blow

31. @Hants

This is a position some have argued, including the late Amused.

32. “In the 19-page judgment, Justice Beckles determined that no law, including the Legal Profession Act (LPA), was more supreme than the Constitution of Barbados, which spoke to freedom of association.”

Constitution supercedes the Legal Professions Act…

So question to Jeff…can the GG who has supreme power given by the constitution direct the Chief Justice to disbar these rotten lawyers who defile the Supreme Court…without having to go through an 8 year disciplinary side show and court case inclusive of the court of appeals.

33. @ David,

Why would a lawyer NOT want to be a member of a Bar Association ?

34. We already knew the Bar Association is useless, the lawyers already know they are not a real regulatory body, they cannot touch corrupt lawyers, that is why they do what they do…the island lacks a regulatory body to regulate the legal profession and unless the Constitution is amended to add one, nothing changes.

35. Adriel Brathwaite was an extremely LAZY AG..he did nothing to promote changes to the LPA…or the Constitution that would have fixed this, I believe Khan and others had been calling for amendments and offered to draft it themselves…but the corrupt ministers were passing blame from one end to the next and not doing their jobs..Donville Innisss was one who could have gotten Adriel Nitwit his best friend to make the appropriate changes…

Hope he is reflecting on his deceit will wearing his ankle bracelet in US..

36. Nonsense….the Bar Assoc is ONLY useless BECAUSE the lawyers are inept, lazy …and not very smart.

The judge is saying that, “since the constitution speaks of ‘freedom of association’, then the Bar Association cannot mandate that someone MUST join that body.”

That is fine…
    BUT the constitution does NOT guarantee any protection from the CONSEQUENCES of our free decisions on with whom we choose to associate..

You are free to associate with criminals … but you should then expect to be treated like a criminal….
    You are free to associate with unemployed, lazy, bums…. but there is no guarantee then that you will have a salary.
    You are free to do … or to NOT do ….any shiite your heart desires…
    BUT YOU ARE NOT FREE OF THE CONSEQUENCES OF WHATEVER CHOICE YOU MAKE.

OBVIOUSLY the woman is free NOT the join the Bar Association….
    but only a Bajan BrassBowl would then EXPECT to ALSO enjoy the privileges that comes with being a lawyer in Barbados.

Yet…another stupid judgment made without proper thought or application of wisdom.
    No wonder the whole shiite is a mess….

37. @Hants

Some maybe of the few that it adds no value to how they function in the job.

38. “You are free to associate with criminals … but you should then expect to be treated like a criminal.”

A regulatory body monitoring and supervising the lawyers on the island would police that..and penalize those who choose to commit crimes…but as things stand…you have no regulatory body no regulation of attorneys…, hence the lady in UK is now free to have a go at PAIN and TEETS.

Bushman…Justice Beckles is new, not 3 years yet I don’t think, she and 3 or 4 others and this might very well be her very first decision…plus, if you read the Constitution, it pretty much controls everything in every part of government, law and the judiciary…so she is following the Constitution..

…the only person on the island with powers to work outside of the constitution and its mandates is the GG and whomever she chooses as a group to work outside the confines of the Judiciary…

Ya gotta take a few days off, sit in a quiet area and really read that document..

39. Why would a lawyer NOT want to be a member of a Bar Association ?(Quote)

The Bar Association is a white collar trade union, not a regulatory body.

40. I like to be fair..

Karma is real ya hear, just ask Donville..lol

“DON’T BLAME US.

That’s the message from the Barbados Bar Association to Minister of Commerce Donville Inniss: It said that contrary to Inniss’ belief, the Bar has always been advocating revolutionary changes to how the legal system operates in Barbados.

“We assure the minister that we are on the same page and that far from the Bar and the members of the profession hampering the process, we have been agitating for the changes to the Legal Profession Act and have even offered to draft the amendments,” the Bar said in an exclusive statement to the WEEKEND NATION yesterday.

“The process has not been stalled by the Bar but by a lack of political and administrative execution,” the Bar added.”

41. @Bush Tea September 2, 2018 10:02 PM “Did one of our ex ministers not give that Golf Course a large sum of government money…?”

You mean the taxpayers money right?

The named minister should be made to pay it back to the taxpayers out of his own pocket.

42. Yall see the game Donville was playing there…he knew his closest best buddy was responsible for heading up a team to make the necessary amendments to the constitution to upgrade the LPA…and what did he and Adriel Nitwit do instead …play nasty games…the blame game….they did no work to make things better for those who have no choice but to resort to using lawyers from the Bar…they did nothing to upgrade the system..

Ah wish ah could get the person who adjusts his ankle bracelet periodically to tighten it once a week for the next 2 years..he was too damn deceitful and corrupt.

43. So ya really can’t blame Justice Beckles for this one Bushman…she is working with the hand she was given and the Constitution she has no powers to circumvent..

44. @ WARU
    Bushie don’t normally argue with women, children or fools….
    What is to think about…? This is not a game of semantics, this is about LEADERSHIP and NATIONAL interests…
    What constitution what6??!!
    The damn constitution speaks to global issues – like denying a worker the right to join his trade union… NOT giving a rogue professional license to escape professional ETHICAL supervision….

If lawyers are to be given the EXTENT and scope that we give them in Barbados
    If lawyers can have the POOR reputation that ours have garnered for themselves…
    If Bajans can be so STUPID and brass bollic as to allow these lawyers to fleece our donkeys for YEARS now…

How the Hell else would you expect to control the vipers …OTHER than to have a code of ethics established and a supervisory body with the knowledge, inside information, clout and history to keep them in check…?

This is what professional bodies are INTENDED to do…worldwide.

“Why would a lawyer NOT want to be a member of a Bar Association…???”

BECAUSE they want the freedom to operate outside of the code of ethics.
    Because they do not want to be questioned by others who know ALL their nasty tricks…
    Because they do NOT want to play by the rules…

Why do you think it takes a thief to catch a thief…?
    What we REALLY need is absolute CONTROL by the Bar Assoc …
    and then WE hold THEM (Tha Bar) accountable when ANY LAWYER does shiite…..
    But that thinking is above brass bowl pay grades……

Steupsss…

45. “If Bajans can be so STUPID and brass bollic as to allow these lawyers to fleece our donkeys for YEARS now”

Because in the last 52 years…there has never been a regulatory body for lawyers on the island, no one ever wanted one…could you see David Simmons and those of his ilk wanting a body that regulates and punishes lawyers for wrong doing…if he and them did…they would have created one…but it was not in there best interest so they willfully never did..

we could run around with this all day and still arrive back at the same conclusion..

Until a body is created to regulate lawyers…ya will continue to be robbed blind..

Ya ain’t got none that regulates doctors either.

…..ya leaders have a problem with creating regulatory bodies..maybe they think it will cut into their bribery corruption…what so I know..

46. Simple…ya right..Boyce should be made to repay every dime of taxpayers 2 million dollars he picked up like it was his and boldfacedly handed over to a criminal Cartel…every dime..

47. “What we REALLY need is absolute CONTROL by the Bar Assoc” …
    and then WE hold THEM (Tha Bar) accountable when ANY LAWYER does shiite…..

Ya know ah dont agree with Ha, Ha often, but he is right…the Bar Association ya got does not operate like Bar Associations in other jurisdictions…that was not the intent when it was created, it is more of a dues collecting union for lawyers…and with this decision, they will all probably stop pay dues…which will present another problem…because if they do… the Chief Justice/Registrar can withhold their practicing certificate…they won’t be able to practice at the Supreme Court…..the Bar has no teeth, it was not designed to have any..it’s just a glorified dues collector..

What you need is for the Mia government to create regulatory bodies…one for the Bar and its lawyer members and swift justice should be meted out to their corrupt tiefing lawyers ..and if the nuisance ya now have as AG pulls a Donville or Adriel Nitwit…he too should end up in ankle bracelets..

48. Breathe Bushman, breathe.

We will get them all…

49. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ Bush Tea September 4, 2018 4:13 PM

Correct me if i am wrong. Wasn’t the judge a lawyer at some point in their legal career?

if you say yes, then i have no more to say.

50. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

What you need is for the Mia government to create regulatory bodies…one for the Bar and its lawyer members and swift justice should be meted out to their corrupt tiefing lawyers ..and if the nuisance ya now have as AG pulls a Donville or Adriel Nitwit…he too should end up in ankle bracelets..

So what incentive does she have to do this; being a lawyer and Qc herself, and surrounded by senior ministers who happen to be lawyers(QCs) as well

We live in hope

Hope is a city in Hempstead County in southwestern Arkansas, United States.