Didn’t we all grow up understanding that bribes and payoffs – – by whatever name or rationale – – were bad? And that people were supposed to be the focal point of society, not money?” ― Ray Bourhis, Revolt: The Secession of Mill Valley

The current governing administration is persuaded that anti-corruption and transparency in public affairs merit a statute prohibiting and criminalizing any behaviour that would offend these ideals. To its credit, it has sought to engage formal public discourse on the matter, a national conversation, if you will, by convening a select committee of Parliament to entertain oral and written submissions from individual and corporate members of the public on the adequacy of the text of the proposed legislation.

Two observations need to be made in limine [from the beginning] in this context. The first is that a form of such legislation already exists in the Prevention of Corruption Act 1929, a statute that, as recent events demonstrate, already criminalizes the cruder form of corruption; bribery, even though it is cribbed, cabined and confined by the relatively minor nature of the offence; a misdemeanour, the comparatively mild, although not entirely lenient nature of its penalties on conviction (a) to imprisonment for two years, or to a fine of two thousand four hundred dollars or to both such imprisonment and fine; and

(b) To be ordered to pay to such body, and in such manner as the court directs, the amount or value of any gift, loan, fee or reward received by him or any part thereof; and

(c) to be adjudged incapable of being elected or appointed to any public office for seven years from the date of his conviction and to forfeit any such office held by him at the time of his conviction”

and the restrictive nature of the mode and time limit for its prosecution in certain cases in that first, “a prosecution for an offence under this Act shall not be instituted except by or with the consent of the Director of Public Prosecutions” and, second. that “proceedings instituted with a view to obtaining a summary conviction for an offence under this Act may be commenced at any time before the expiration of six months after the first discovery of the offence by the prosecutor”.

The second observation relates to the rather earthier point that it ought to be recognized that legislation by itself is ineffective to prevent corruption or any other form of criminal conduct. As the text of the epigraph above suggests, we, certainly those of my generation and then environment, all grew up understanding that certain things, including your good name and that of your family, were not for sale at any price. We did not need to be reminded that selling your trust for a mess of filthy lucre bordered on criminality or infringed a statute. I suppose we were too poor to know otherwise.

Given the failings of the existing legislation identified above, a new statute, the Integrity in Public Life Act, has been drafted that is more comprehensive in its formulation to prevent public corruption.

That Act, still in draft Bill form, grandly purports in its statement of Objects and Reasons its intention to establish a regime, including an integrity commission, to “promote the integrity of persons in public life and strengthen measures for the prevention, detection, investigation and prosecution of acts of corruption”. [Emphasis added].

I propose, over the next few columns, to analyze the draft Bill for the benefit of my readers. I shall do so through (i) an examination of the nature, form and function of the Commission, (ii) the mandated declarations of financial affairs; (iii) the treatment of gifts; (iv) what constitutes an act of corruption; (v) the contents of the Code of Conduct in public life and (vi) the Act’s provision for whistleblower protection.

Clause 3 of the Bill establishes the Integrity Commission, while the First Schedule stipulates its composition and other matters. The proposed Commission comprises six individuals as listed, paying due deference to the skills that would ordinarily be associated with the forensic detection and determination of acts of corruption. Thus there is a designated position of a chartered or certified accountant, a retired judge, a senior attorney at law and two individuals in effect selected by the Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition respectively.

I am minded to question the stipulation that there must be a member of the Clergy on the Commission, although I suppose that this provision is a sop to the moral nature of integrity. Which leads inexorably to the issue of whether the legal and accounting functions are not more competently treated by the members of the staff of the commission rather than have the membership of the Board of the Commission itself consist of individuals skilled in these areas. On this argument, the sole qualification for membership of the Board should be a perception of personal integrity rather than possession the forensic skills necessary to root out corruption. The patent attempt to constitute a politically bipartisan Commission is to be commended.

As I similarly found to my chagrin when I chaired the Fair Trading Commission, the text of the Bill in its present form fails to make an adequate differentiation between the Board or the directors of the Commission and the staff of the Commission itself, using the omnibus expression “the Commission” to cover both.

For instance, Clause 4 (1)(c) of the Bill provides the following as a function of the Commission-

to make inquiries and carry out investigations as it considers necessary in order to verify or determine the accuracy of a declaration, statement of registrable interests or report of a gift filed under this Act…”

It is at least doubtful whether the members listed in the First Schedule will perform these duties personally. Yet, according to the definition section, these individuals are precisely the ones referred to as the Commission. I consider that there is a need for a redrafting in this regard if only for the purposes of clarity. The Commission is not solely the Board that is targeted rather to providing general oversight of the stipulated functions by the staff.

114 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On the Prevention of Corruption 1”

1. What a lot of verbiage. Any person directly or indirectly involved in disbursement or allocation of public monies who seeks personal benefit from such shall be imprisoned for corruption. There.

2. @45govt

It is not often the blogmaster agrees with your extremism but your suggestion seems relevant to the times.

A doctor prescribes the medicine appropriate to fit the diagnosis.

We have a situation in Barbados where corruption has taken root even if the indices we hold so dear say not to worry. We must send the strongest message to those who serve in pubic and private sector that malfeasance will suffer the heaviest punishment.

3. Extremism? Give me a break David, I espouse ordinary common sense, which USED to be commonplace. Now we suffer under a mealy-mouthed PC curse on free speech.

4. LOL @ 45govt
    Commonsense used to be commonplace….?
    …yuh mean like back when people like Bushie were yard boys? …and wunna albino-centrics had the plantations organised to suit wunna own dastardly desires?
    Boss … common sense has deserted us now for eons…. if ever it even visited.

@ Jeff
    Thank you for agreeing with Bushie that it is bullshit to stipulate that the commission be reserved places (especially chairmanship) for lawyers and judges – or even accountants or clergy.
    Demonstrated, long-term HONESTY, BALLS, and forthrightness (à la Caswell) should be the ONLY (and MANDATORY) considerations.

Of course you put it much more succinctly using fancy terms like ‘being minded to question the stipulation…’, but we all know that by YOUR standards, you are calling it the lotta shiite that it is….. 🙂

This is yet another ball of jobby by government that amounts to a knee-jerk reaction to UNIVERSALLY known dishonesty …. something that they have NO INTENTION of addressing – BECAUSE it is already so ingrained, and so deep-rooted, that any SERIOUS attempt to address the matter will be SUICIDAL to anyone with the authority to address the matter….

….with the notable exception of Caswell … who is so poor, transparent, open and frank that he is a RARE national asset – worthy of special esteem and protection…..

Jeff ALSO has potential … if he would “grow a pair” and start telling shiite hounds where to get off in language that the brass bowls UNDERSTAND – rather than using juicy terms such as ‘in limine’ …… which they don’t even bother to look up…

5. Meanwhile an ex minister in a previous government is accused and charged with money laundering in another jurisdiction stemming from bribe taking. The question is “Have any steps been undertaken in the home country to initiate an investigation in relation to this charge and further, are any others under investigation and/or are there plans for so doing?

To shy away from taking this action to avoid the appearance of vindictiveness would be a dereliction of duty and a massive abandonment of the people’s interest.

Further, to delay taking this step until the eve of another election would negate the true effect of seeking justice and relegated the action to just that of a cheap political charade.

In a country of 280,000 people with a ministerial cadre of 27, to say that concentrating on other more important matters would be an excuse too lame to limp on.

6. @Fearplay

Agree with your comment. Surely the admission by the parent company that senior managers were disciplined as a result of wrongdoing presumably to do with the bribe should have interest the local FIU and police.

7. What a lot of verbiage. Any person directly or indirectly involved in disbursement or allocation of public monies who seeks personal benefit from such shall be imprisoned for corruption. There.

@45govt -And how will we do this? By your mere assertion or after investigation of the facts and a fair trial by an impartial tribunal?

8. It is not often the blogmaster agrees with your extremism but your suggestion seems relevant to the times.

Et tu, David?

9. rather than using juicy terms such as ‘in limine’ …… which they don’t even bother to look up…

@ Bushie, Why would you need to look it up. I translated it for you-

Two observations need to be made in limine [from the beginning] in this context.

10. @Jeff

The comment expresses the frustration by many. We need to investigate of course but there is nothing to prevent the sanction from being extreme to signal how serious the matter will be treated.

11. Where do they still speak Latin? Thank Heavens for Livy Greaves.

12. Some will see the Commission and Board combined as a way to create jobs, at taxpayers expense, for those who will sit on their tails getting fat and will not lift a finger to change anything, investigate or prosecute corruption, corrupt lawyers, judges, government ministers or business people..

.until the bill is enacted…the statute of limitations revised to an ideal 20 years…no one will trust, believe or take any of those involved in it’s implementation seriously..

13. Inniss is the talk of the town in London.

14. re Where do they still speak Latin?

THE FACT THAT FEW STUDY OR APPRECIATE LATIN TODAY IS REFLECTED IN THE VERY POOR VOCABULARIES , AND THE PROPER USE OF SYNTAX OF THOSE WHO DID NOT HAVE THIS EXPOSURE.

15. I hope they know that the corruption and bribery factor, whether Judges are taking bribes from their fellow lawyers/QCs or insurance companies will make things even worse and harder than ever to fix…just look at the current state of the Supreme Court…certain people I know do not even want to be associated with it anymore…some have ran as far away as they can get….I met some recently and I was glad for them they got out of that pit before they too become infected..

“There should be no rush to appoint temporary judges unless there is a change in the process for judicial officers.
    That is the view of Queen’s Counsel Philip Pilgrim, who has researched the state of the judiciary in Barbados, including the method of judges’ selection, the backlog of cases, the excruciatingly slow delivery of justice and whether the public’s confidence in the system has been shaken.
    In June, Attorney General Dale Marshall QC, in response to the ongoing environmental issues at the Supreme Court Complex that has scattered the Supreme Courts and other related judicial offices from the central location at Whitepark Road, St Michael, thus further contributing to the backlog problem, suggested that at least three judges would have to be temporarily appointed to deal with the backlog.
    However, Pilgrim a former president of the Industrial Court of Antigua and Barbuda and a long-standing civil attorney, in a paper completed in 2017 entitled The Delivery of Justice In Barbados – Is Public Confidence Now Shaken? pointed out that the selection method does not conform to international standards. (AC)”

16. “that has scattered the Supreme Courts and other related judicial offices from the central location at Whitepark Road, St Michael,thus further contributing to the backlog problem”

Did we not tell them the move will make the backlog even worse because of the stupid, slow way they all have of doing everything…people are still not getting dates…the Court has been closed since April…5 months..and they still can’t get anything done..

17. the Court has been closed since April…5 months..and they still can’t get anything done..
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    What do you want the damn people to do…?

Can’t you see that the BLP currently has all these lawyers on the various Boards – busily working to bring the rest of Barbados in line with our justice system?

Shiite – one of them claimed to be working EVERY NIGHT till 3.00 am with the water authority to resolve the sewerage problem in Maxwell…. what time does he have to get court dates?

You need a new broom WARU….

18. Have these people ever heard of the fine art of picketing? Just appear at the offices (or public appearances) of the individuals and the PM with the appropriate signage and it could get vey interesting.

19. Wrong thread

20. @Sargeant

There you go bringing that North American approach to advocacy to Barbados. Even if Bajans protest as they have on a few times in the past the directorate is inclined to ignore without fear.

21. Really?? have you and Sergeant seen the Manor Lodge location…employees can’t breathe without inhaling each others discarded oxygen, fights will soon break out, ya done know when black people are in too close proximity to each other for too long, they fight..lol

There is no damn space even on the outside of the building to picket..

Worse still, the new District D building that Adriel Nitwit took credit for…photos were on Facebook last week with high grass all around the building…try picketing there and the first thing that will greet you will be Zika, Dengue and Chickungunya infused mosquitos and if ya got my luck…they will infect you, make ya deathly sick and kill ya anyway….that would defeat the whole purpose of picketing..

I ain’t need to new broom..WE need new ways of throwing gasoline on the present flames..cause apparently the new government seems to be in no hurry…and seem intent on giving us the same old story in 5 years….they cannot exactly blame the old government for this Judiciary/Supreme Court mess, they are now at the controls..

22. OK David

Abandon hope all ye who enter here

23. We keep search for that spark to fire the masses.

24. Fear Play at 9 :43 AM

Should one person be tried and censored for an offense twice , irrespective of the jurisdiction.

@ Jeff
    We may have reached the stage where the society no longer trusts the current legal and justice system. Recently we have been rewriting laws where their precedents were not enforced. What is there to convince the man- in- the street that the succeeding revisions and replacements will be enforced.

The honour system reinforced by ethical and religious principles seemed to have worked,at least for the underclasses in the past. I think it is time for moral rearmament approaches.

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

The comment expresses the frustration by many. We need to investigate of course but there is nothing to prevent the sanction from being extreme to signal how serious the matter will be treated

.54.(1) A person who commits an act of corruption under section 51, 52 or
    53 is guilty of an offence and is liable
    (a) on conviction on indictment to a fine of $20 000 or to imprisonment for 5 years or to both;

@ David, So I take it that this is to be considered a joke then?

26. Sargeant…ah like the American way of getting results too, I spent enough years there so can appreciate….Ameicans have been culturized to not tolerate these types of mediocre behaviours from those leaders whose salaries they pay..

.but the clowns in Barbados…with their UK titles that gives them a sense of invincibility …DO NOT CARE…who is going to do them anything if they do nothing…and they are doing NOTHING to change the rot in the Supreme Court..unless their shields of protection from accountability …those same confounded, blighted, and cursed titles…are removed.

27. Non tibi gravis!!!

28. Jeff..ah don’t know if the Blogmaster made that photo bigger, but am here happily getting lost in ya eyes..lol

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Where do they still speak Latin? Thank Heavens for Livy Greaves

I do not know who Livy Greaves might be or might have been, but no one is “speaking: Latin simply by the use of a single legal term of art, Prima facie, ex parte and id est are in common usage today…

30. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Jeff..ah don’t know if the Blogmaster made that photo bigger, but am here happily getting lost in ya eyes..lol

Ha!

31. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Non tibi gravis!!!

@ David, Constat!

32. ” And at Combermere it was Gladstone Holder, Charlie Best, Charlie Pilgrim, Livvy Greaves, Livvy Goring, Frank Collymore and C.deV. Moore. Then, there was no difficulty determining by their vocabulary how abundant was their knowledge ”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/38470/oh-read-lips

33. Jeff,

In the UK, there is a reluctance to use Latin phrases in legal disputes. In any case, I understand they no longer teach Latin or Greek in Barbadian schools.

34. Lawyers use Latin for the same reason that the Catholic Church originally did its Mass in Latin.
    To keep the ‘masses’ ignorant – along with 99.9% of the damn retarded clergy…

Why would you call a spade a spade ..and have everyone understand…when you can call it a ‘spathe’ (or some such shiite) and sound like you know something that others don’t..?
    This is why GP has fallen for the lotta Trinity nonsense…. he like playing with latin, greek and jobby…
    But not stinking Bushie…. bushie calls shiite – jobby, and ‘wee -wee’ is piss…. SORRY.

Bushie has been warning Jeff about this ‘in limine’…. but he hard ears…just like Caswell.

35. Today’s Sun redacted the names of those others listed by the Feds in their updated indictment.Based on the article the former VP of ICBL a citizen and resident of Barbados is now employed in a high profile position in another local company.It would be interesting to know what the CoP has in his possession on this case.He said ‘wait and see’.Is that citizen a citizen by marriage?

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Jeff Cumberbatch September 2, 2018 1:30 PM
    “a fine of $20 000 or to imprisonment for 5 years or to both”
    Yes Jeff, a $20,000 fine is a joke. It is worth much less than the $2,400 fine was in 1929.

37. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Yes Jeff, a $20,000 fine is a joke. It is worth much less than the $2,400 fine was in 1929

Observant and telling, Peter, Especially since public officers would have been paid a comparative pittance back then!.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea September 2, 2018 2:39 PM
    Quidquid latine dictum sit altum videtur.

39. Tai TP admonition ‘wait and see’ calls to mind …..Conticuere omnes,intentique ora tenebant.

40. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Ducunt volentem fata, nolentem trahunt

The fates lead the willing and drag the unwilling

41. RE Lawyers use Latin for the same reason that the Catholic Church originally did its Mass in Latin. To keep the ‘masses’ ignorant – along with 99.9% of the damn retarded clergy…

I do not know why lawyers use Latin for some purposes; but I would guess it is partially for the same reason that Anatomists use Latin universally to describe the muscles of the body.

It is generally known that until the adoption of the printing press in the 15th century, almost all books in Europe were produced in Latin (or in ancient Greek) because all educated people learned classical Latin and it thus functioned as a “universal” language for the “in” crowd.

It is noteworthy that the Latin Vulgate is a late-4th-century Latin translation of the Bible that became the Roman Catholic Church’s officially promulgated Latin version of the Bible during the 16th century. When the Roman catholic church conducted its Mass in Latin, this was quite normal..
    Persons with a reasonable quantum of intelligence might appreciate the truth of this article below
    https://unravellingmag.com/articles/latin/

42. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@Jeff

Ducunt volentem fata, nolentem trahunt

The average bajan might mispronounce the first word. He might thing you addressing a certain fella. lol

43. I was just in the local COSTCO and it was quite busy being the last shopping day before back to school and I heard someone say “rasshole”, when I locked in the direction I saw a couple of black men accompanied by a black female.

That is the Bajan “Latin”

44. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

The average bajan might mispronounce the first word. He might thing you addressing a certain fella. lol

@Sirfuzzy, Or giving him an instruction…Hahahaha!

45. Nuhbody kahn onerstan whuh wunna sayin’, deed en faife – none of us lesser mortals are able to understand what you, the more privileged and educated are saying.

46. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

Nuhbody kahn onerstan whuh wunna sayin’, deed en faife

is the above pig latin? or one of the several unspoken Latin dialects?

47. @ David please translate ” Non tibi gravis “. Google has not been helpful. lol

48. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Gabriel

Today’s Sun redacted the names of those others listed by the Feds in their updated indictment.Based on the article the former VP of ICBL a citizen and resident of Barbados is now employed in a high profile position in another local company.It would be interesting to know what the CoP has in his possession on this case.He said ‘wait and see’.Is that citizen a citizen by marriage?

+++++++++++++++++++

You are making reference to Alex Tasker current CEO of Digicel Barbados.

He is a FRAUD and has been involved in many corrupt acts unknown to most locals.

His brother is Trevor Tasker President of the Barbados Golf Association (BGA).

Unfortunately the apple does not fall far from the tree with these two brothers.

Very, very shady dishonest characters.

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

From the INNISS indictment:
    “3. Barbados Company Executive 1, an individual whose identity is known to
    the Grand Jury, was a citizen of Canada and a resident of Barbados. Barbados Company
    Executive 1 was the Chief Executive Officer (“CEO”) of the Barbados Company.
    4. Barbados Company Executive 2, an individual whose identity is known to
    the Grand Jury, was a citizen of Barbados and a resident of Barbados. Barbados Company
    Executive 2 was a senior vice president of the Barbados Company.
    5. Barbados Company Executive 3, an individual whose identity is known to
    the Grand Jury, was a citizen of Barbados and a resident of Barbados. Barbados Company
    Executive 3 was the Chief Financial Officer of the Barbados Company.”

Ingrid Innes was the CEO of ICBL in 2015 and there is a reference in the 2016 ICBL Annual Report that she had “resigned from the company.”
    Alex Tasker was the Senior Vice President Business Development and Marketing of ICBL in 2015 and 2016 according to the ICBL Annual Reports for those years. His LinkedIn page pointedly omits any reference to his tenure at ICBL and attempts to create the impression that he has been working at Digicel from 2006 to the present.
    Kamante Millar was the CFO of ICBL in 2015 and 2016 according to the ICBL Annual Reports for those years. Her LinkedIn page shows that she left ICBL at the end of 2017.

If these are indeed the individuals mentioned in the INNISS indictment, When are they going to be charged in Barbados? The clock is ticking because the DPP has only six months to press charges from August 6th 2018, when the alleged crime came to public notice.

50. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Peterlawerencethompson

There is an obvious reason why Alex Tasker would omit his ICBL stint from his Linkedln that would be to have a smokescreen to those who would have not known.

Alex Tasker left Digicel where he was a Senior Manager to go to ICBL for about 2 years and then returned after this ICBL FRAUD after his FULL involvent was discovered back to Digicel Barbados as their Barbados CEO since their last one a white CEO went back to Ireland.

Alex Tasker is Digicel’s 1st black CEO having being in Barbados more than 10 years with a minimum of 4 previous white CEOs all previously from Ireland.

Digicel Barbados an Irish company is known for some not above board dealings so he would fit right back in.

That is the way most Irish companies roll it is about the $$$ not how it is acquired and by whom.