Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

This first budget provided all of us with the Government’s priorities during economically challenging times.  They evidently consist of sustaining both people and businesses for as long as possible, while giving them bitter medicine with a smile.

To be fair, this was the stated priority of the last administration during their budget speeches, but their medicine was unpopular, and delivered with a frown.  What a difference a smile makes.  We must now  continue working as before, and see whether the planned revenues will meet their targets.

Once the Prime Minister made that fateful decision to pursue the austerity option, the best that we could hope for was that the pain would be spread equitably.  In the current economic circumstances, the Prime Minister must be congratulated for a responsible effort.  It is not a sustainable solution, but it does carve out enough of a breathing space to enter binding negotiations with the IMF – which is their plan.

Despite the salary increases for public workers, it seems that households will generally have much less disposable income with this budget.  That is not a criticism, since one would expect to have less disposable income in an austerity-based budget.  If the Prime Minister can convince the IMF that this is the outer limit of austerity, then she would have done exceptionally well in managing an austerity-based solution.

Now that the bitter medicine has been administered, and given their preliminary discussions with the IMF, the Government needs to tell us how long we are expected to keep taking this medicine.  Prior to the general elections, the austerity duration normally mentioned was between 5 and 15 years.  Knowing the duration will allow people and businesses to assess planned spending risks.

If we are to remain on-board this ship of austerity for close to 5 years, then couples may consider deferring a new house mortgage for 5 years.  However, if it is closer to 15 years, then a couple with a new mortgage can better assess the foreclosure risks, and may decide that now is the best time to consider selling their house.  A similar assessment may be made for any type of medium to long-term purchases.

If the BLP’s austerity is of a long duration, or if the IMF prescribes severe austerity for us, then the Prime Minister is well-advised to seriously look at Solutions Barbados’ non-austerity plan, which provides a surplus of over $1B in the first year without austerity.   It has been published on SolutionsBarbados.com for the past 3 years, together with the implementation plans, so that any administration can start implementing the plans at any time.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

62 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Bitter Medicine with a Smile”

1. bajanfreeparty Avatar
    bajanfreeparty

Massive land Fraud and Ponzi as I told you SB before, If the people had their title deeds then all would be paying land tax that will help , We have many and too many squatters looking to pay, land tax to get a deeds, instead of getting a Clear Title deed to get a land tax bill, No Deed no land tax Bill, it can not be enforced without a title deeds, , We all want to be landowners, VAT for 21 years and still no deed? VAT and UDC was a scam and now VAT is to be part of the fabric of Barbados Life that was only to be for 18 months? Like NSRL that was to be for 6 to 12 months? checking to see if it hurt Business Owners? When they will raise their Prices to suit to get their money back , And the BBLP government pick up more VAT on the higher prices, ,, You Love Red, now Bleeding RED and in the RED, Get in to the Black of BFP/CUP , When MIa is done telling lies to the IMF we shall tell them the Truth these crooks are trying to hide, More Pain to come, BFP/CUP

2. Bittersweet medicine with a smile.maybe PDYR can ask his gran son to make a stoopid cartoon with that slogan and send it to Mia
    Good one Granville thanks for the tip

3. I am aware of an owner paying land tax and a number of squatters erected homes with water and electricty attached.The owner and his surveyor were threatened and ran off the site.This owner is at his wits end.Not one cent in rent is paid for his land and he gave no one authority to build on it yet the local laws allow BL&P and BWA to supply light and water respectively without first ensuring the owner has given approval.Land theft aided and abetted by Barbados Light and Power and Barbados Water Authority.The law must be changed to have the owner approve any request for services to be supplied.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ next party 246 aka the good ship GP 11 caught in the doldrums of political insignificance:

“Now that the bitter medicine has been administered, and given their preliminary discussions with the IMF, the Government needs to tell us how long we are expected to keep taking this medicine. Prior to the general elections, the austerity duration normally mentioned was between 5 and 15 years. Knowing the duration will allow people and businesses to assess planned spending risks.”

What we would like to hear from the next party vying to be Her Majesty’s ‘246’ Opposition in waiting is what you would have done to earn enough forex in the month of June to avoid a default on the foreign debts.

Given what has been revealed, which rock of financial refuge would you run to in order to save the inevitable balance of payment crisis other than the hard-currency rock clearly signposted IMF?

How would you, as the duly elected political party to government, have handled the current fiscal mess facing your administration with $15 billion plus arrears of debt?

Would you have been prepared to sell your Xtian soul to a foreign god of dialectically opposing views like the UAE or China to meet your foreign obligations in order to stave off the hovering devil of Devaluation of your sacrosanct Bajan dollar?

All we ask of you at this stage is for you to be intellectually honest and recant by withdrawing your ‘too-often repeated’ assertion that the previous BLP (OSA) administration left a national debt of $9 billion when in truth and statistical fact it was more in the region of $ 6 billion.

5. @ Mr. Grenville Phillips

It is good to see that you are still in the arena so to speak.

There are a few things I would like to mention as it relates to your “presence”

1.Your website needs some serious revamping as you go into “shadow mode” while keeping present and pertinent.

Someone needs to help you with its layout and User Experience UX so that you understand that having a video that is sized to take up the whole page, of a topic that is long past, is ammmmm well it just is not cutting it.

2.Your content is dated May which IS NOT KOSHER with persons who are reviewing your proactivity Additionally it would appear as if you are the sole person who is responding on your site and that shows in your style of responses which some might say that you are sanctimonious and condescending.

For example on July 5th you were responding to a blogger about the sargassum issue and you said and I quote “…Hi Anon: This type of comment does not further the discussion. It is certainly not a type of response that is taught in any Barbadian Primary or Secondary school, but it is typical with political activists in the US. Please reject this approach, recall your former Barbadian education, and provide a better response….”

3.Lines of pure condescension when instead of all the insulting narrative (which is more like something that the ole man would do all you needed to do was to ask that question that you delayed which was ” What specifically are you disagreeing with.”

I know that I dont know everything but that which I do know I know well.

You suffer from the same thing that Adrain Loveridge & David Come Sing Along and that Consultant Brathwaite and (to a lesser degree) Heather Cole suffer from.

Greatness, wunna is too great to leave the comfort of your sacrosanct blogs and mingle with the people.

Let me show you why many of us here have such respect for the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch.

Here is a man who as Dean, and erstwhile Chairman of the Fair Trading Commission (note that I dont call it Fear Trading out of deference to him) will mix it up and move through several articles here on BU, other than his own, and rub shoulders with the bloggers.

Fellows like Senator Caswell Franklyn, even though a blogger said that he is arrogant etc., will do the same thing.

And therein comes the thing that people have been suggesting that you do, reach out and engage, tek you licks…

One final thing is that websites, UNLESS THEY ARE PROMOTED AGGRESSIVELY, they are static windows to the world euphemism for they stay pretty and die.

Your challenge is twofold.

You are promoting a Political Party within what is traditionally a duopoly landscape. THat is a task in itself which means that your materials and their presentation MUST BE SUPERLATIVE EYE CANDY and its content must be attractive. then you have to have a mechanism that drives the outreach of that site

Then you HAVE TO HAVE A BLOG that is interactive with your audience and that is respectful of that audience.

Personally I do not feel that you have the HR to maintain the two of these elements together at this time.

And you should not do that either. What you are doing now is the better way to go.

Bump up your website’s UX and static content AND THEN REACH OUT ON THIRD PARTY PLATFORMS like BU, and engage with meaningful topics.

For example – A topic like “Why Do You feel Solutions Barbados Lost?”

That gives you the elements for being seen as someone who genuinely wants to learn why you got 4,000 votes and to be blasted by your detractors and learn from your mistakes while hardening your skin.

It also gives all of your candidates, the serious ones, the opportunity to be seen as real people by the public PEOPLE WITH OPINIONS, contrary to what happened right up to a few weeks before this election.

At the point where you get the critical mass necessary then you go back to your site ELSE YOU ARE WASTING YOUR TIME AND YOUR RESOURCES in your current manifestation.

But i is only an ingrunt ole man who doan know nuffin bout these things…

6. Isn’t it amazing we were saddled with a government prepared to sell the Hilton, BNTOL and other national assets to create forex inflow to be able to service debt. Instead of getting up of their asses and creating opportunities for investment? As a people the country responded emphatically in a way it has never done since we have been able to vote. This should send an unequivocal message to the political class. Enough is enough!

7. This is a lot of food for thought PUDRYR and it was free.

8. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

What Mr Grenville Phillips and others in the Third Party Movement attempted is a critical and pivotal direction that Barbados HAS TO MOVE IN.

WE need to disrupt this duopoly lest the country dies in this sophisticated musical chairs that is bringing the very dredges of society to our HoA.

as the Sage Anunnaki said earlier what Mr. Phillips needs to be doing at this time is showing what his alternatives are, EVEN AS HE IS OUT OF THE House of Assembly.

He has to come to this Gateway for Citizen Participation – Barbados Underground and show what he can do by putting his ideas for government out there.

Unlike others here heheheheheh he has nothing to lose and EVERYTHING TO GAIN.

He needs to take one superlative idea which he indicated that he has and present it and permit it to be dissected for public consumption.

His campaign styling has to change and he, and all the other serious fellers got to UP DE VOLUME.

His website is “labourious” and does not give “spirit” …but that is just my take on this thing.

We are at 30-0 AND THE COUNTRY NEEDS a solution and he still has the name Solutions Barbados doesn’t he?

9. Agree he needs to learn form the experience first time at the poll. UPP has a leader like himself who are not politicians i.e. charisma to endear. They will have to look at succession plans etc.

10. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

This is also a problem with the existing Third Party Movement players (emphasis on players)

They do not understand the voter psyche.

Take for example the Deceased DLP (I say deceased because MAM has no choice but to kill it if she wants to maintain her PM seat in the next General Election )

If de ugly man fumbles had relinquished his PM title to say Pornville (he could not choose any of the short me crutch fellers like Lil Caesar nor the ugly ones like Michael Lashes, or James Paul.

He would have had to have appointed a successor who was visually acceptable and not dimunitive like me with my 4ft 9ins self.

Now you understand that you got to have some looks and even though de vodka does swell up Pornville’s Physihog and his cheeks, he still commands some currency EVEN THOUGH HE CANT SAY FRUSTRATED TO SAVE HE LIFE.

These fly by night fellers simply doth understand grooming and looking a certain way and smiling at the camera remember Fumble whuloss, it is true dat we ent mek weself but whuloss ( i hope my dearest SSS ent heah listening to me talk these things cause …0

But seriously they do not know when to fold, or to step away from the batting plate gracefully OR HOW TO BECOME A KING MAKER or BREAKER. heheheheheh

11. Grenville is a socialist like 80 % of the Barbadian establishment. He wants to keep the Barbadian socialist welfare state with many regulations, high taxes and minimal prospect for growth.

Just read the latest statement of the very arrogant economist Avinash Persaud. He wants to teach the Canadian business banks how to operate in the Caribbean, AFTER the last Barbadian gov forced them to suck up as many rotten Barbados bonds as possible. I would not wonder if the Canadians abandon Barbados.

Avinash: What about telling the locals instead that their lavish lifestyle with all the excessive wage and pension hikes, SUVs, villas and freaky holidays in Disneyland is not possible anymore, given the bad work ethic and laughable productivity?

Avinash and Grenville behave like dinosaurs, believing they are the master-race on earth and everybody, esp tourists and foreign investors must obey and pay for their many failures.

The unwillingness and/or inability to adapt to changing circumstances is the very core of the Barbadian malaise.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

We did try to toughen up Grenville and rid him of all the Barbadiana brainwash he absorbed in primary and secondary schools, uppityness, condescending persona and know it all attitude believing there is nothing else left to learn…, and we warned him repeatedly about getting rid of the weatherhead dead weight, but did he listen or learn….nah…doubt it, his intent is dictatorial, not the listening nor learning something new type. .

Those types pay to learn repeatedly and are never aware of it.

He may want to take a read of the UK created Barbados Constitution. ..3 times….. and see if he can learn anything from that eye opening document.

Piece…we got 2 jobs ahead of us…

1……make sure the island is never subjected to the blight of a duopoly…2 party system again…ever….

2….make absolutely sure that what the good people of St. John worked hard to accomplish on May 24, 2018 lives on for centuries, written about in books, made history and that bajans never forget to NEVER vote political party again, vote candidate, if the candidate does not represent you and your constituency adequately….vote them out, get rid of them, fire them next election starting with the Mia government……..vote individual candidates based on their performance. …you want to see bang for your tax dollars.

The constitution does not make provisions for political parties, they should be all made redundant in the days leading up to every election….and seen as redundant by the electorate.

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Grenville…for the million and one time…the Constitution ratified in the British parliament and given to Errol Barrow in 1966 for Barbados…does not recognize political parties, you will have to draft your own constitution for the island, your political party constitution does not count. …you can manage your party to your liking but you cannot violate your member’s rights..

….what you did to your party members was dead wrong and dictatorial….and illegal…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/15/bitter-break/

Consult Jeff or Comisiong when you dream up these illegal ideas to see if they will fly…

And imagine we were just discussing this Piece.

“Three weeks after the May 24 general elections, one of this island’s newest political parties appears to be falling apart.

Barbados TODAY understands that major splintering has occurred within three-year-old Solutions Barbados, with at least a dozen of the 28 candidates who contested last month’s poll under the party’s banner having left the party and are now in the process of putting together their own political grouping.

The bitter break up stems from the refusal of several former Solutions candidates to give in to their leader’s demand that they sign contracts binding them to severe financial penalties in the amount of US$1 million if they opt to leave Solutions Barbados to join another political party.

While confirming to Barbados TODAY that nine unnamed members had left the party, Solutions Barbados leader Grenville Phillips II sought to suggest that there was no conflict to speak of within the party,”

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The only people allowed to make decisions outside of the parameters of the constitution and local judiciary and its legal commission are the GG and the local arm of the london privy coincil who must take directions from the civil servants in buckingham palace. …familiarize yourself with the real Constitution provided for you in 1966..

15. @ Tron

You are misrepresenting Mr. Philips. either you have not been following his submissions or you are being malicious

Mr. Philips proposed a radical plan that included lowering personal income tax and a complete overhaul of the tax system which included the elimination of VAT.

My concern with such a radical departure from the current system was that it lacked a comprehensive numerical analysis to support it. For example VAT revenue is approx $1 Billion, Mr. Philips needed to show clearly how this revenue would be replaced.

16. Dr. Clyde Mascoll referred to the SB plan as voodoo economics.

17. @ Redguard ” Mr. Philips proposed a radical plan”.

Bajans do not like ” radical changes “.

18. @Redguard June 15, 2018 9:41 AM

No, no, no, I understand the propositions. Alteration of taxes and ISO won´t help, as long as the Barbadian welfare state is not cut down, the civil service is not reduced and all the public enterprises are not privatized. The very high wages in Barbados are not competitive and they damage the main income called tourism. Also: The Dollar peg is not in line with the very low productivity and must be adjusted to economy reality.

Grenville´s plan is nothing else than a minor variation of the mainstream view that the socialist welfare state must be preserved even at the cost of the total destruction of the economy and the financial system.

What we need are deregulation, flexibility and privatization in the public sector and lower prices in the private sector, esp. tourism.

Barbados is too expensive as a tourist product. There is no other income left after the offshore financial brand was destroyed.

19. There is not a single example in the history of public administrations that a bloated unit of civil servants and public enterprises achieve high productivity. The overhead is the very reason for the low productivity.

Parkinson’s Law is still intact.

Barbados might need more police officers, but also less ministries, typists, maids and other useless posts.

20. Hopefully in those new changes will include a caveat that no PM or ministers or any employee of the people can just up and tief as much crown land as they want and give it away or sell it for personal gain to foreign or local minorities, business people in the private sector or their leper friends, bribers and business partners, without them all going to prison…

Hopefully included in those changes will be access to land for those who did not have access before and the land does not remain overpriced in the millions of dollars and out of reach of the people and their children and grandchildren into the future, in the majority population…, who are the owners of the land bank.

hoping to see some real changes finally.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/15/changes-to-be-made-to-town-planning-act-prime-minister/

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has announced that there will be changes coming to the five-decades-old Town and Country Planning Act that could impact on how land development is done in Barbados.

While not providing details, Mottley told the annual general meeting of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on Wednesday that her administration was keen on working on “the investments that are critical for growth”.

In this regard, the Prime Minister said she had met for approximately four hours on Tuesday with officials in the Town and Country Planning Department, adding that Barbadians will have the opportunity to have their say on any proposed changes.

“We are putting ourselves in a position to have public consultations starting from June 27 going to July 29, to be able to reframe the policy that is necessary to renew a piece of legislation that was passed in the year that I was born, 1965,” Mottley said.

Among other things, the Act makes provision for the “orderly and progressive development of land in both urban and rural areas and to preserve and improve the amenities thereof”.

21. @Tron

I disagree on privatization, that ship has long sailed away. It is not the solution

The world is trending towards AI; human labour is becoming less valuable. many of the mundane jobs will disappear. Governments will need to maintain a well run and capable “welfare state” to ensure citizens are protected.

Just imagine privatized social services with decisions made by an AI that a government has no control over (ie no access to source code or algorithms). Granted a government run AI could still be a problem but at least there is some measure of control.

We need to invest in Data scientists now. Information is now the most valuable commodity, but the quality of it and how you use it will depend on the skill of your data scientists. Facebook and Google have shown that collecting information does not need to be done in the dark (a la NSA) and most citizens will hand over information willingly. The key is for governments to harness the potential and effectively use it to improve delivery of services, predict where to focus or pull resources and stay ahead of the curve.

Mr. Philips is correct on the merits of a QMS like ISO improving delivery of service, but I do not agree that it necessarily improves the economy. His view appears to be that poor service is the cause of a struggling economy, I believe it is correlated. In economics correlation is reasonably easy to show, causation on the other hand is not.

22. Previously I stated… “In my opinion since Bajan’s love Socialism SB logical Solutions seem to be more Free Enterprise Based WITHOUT Advocating an Ideology that may put them at odds with most of the populace.”

What is happening with Barbadians is because of fewer Opportunities that stems from the Fact of Government Overreach? Big Governments are always very inefficient and because of pandering to the people and corruption we are in the position now where 2/3’s of Government revenue is paid to Service Debt. Imagine 2/3’s. Lots of people believe they’ll be getting free stuff. However a few people actually ARE getting free stuff, at the expense of others. Do you understand what happens when a nation defaults on its loans? Never has a society prospered from taking from someone else by force via uncontrolled Taxation.

From my Simple observation, how does the BLP & the DLP differ in their Ideology??? A Vote for B is a Vote for D…

The Goal of the IMF and first order of business is that we repay our debt by making foreign exchange so expensive we will all have to do without so that the foreign exchange we earn goes to repay debt. When the IMF has rendered us Poverty Stricken after we have repaid everyone, we then are left alone to mess up if we have the same Type of Leadership with the Same Ideology.

I am very concerned that unless we practice Free Market Principles with less Burdensome Rules, Regulations and Controls, the Reaper lies at the Gate!!

Society always prospers when the Entrepreneurial Spirit of each individual creates wealth. Collectivism, on the other hand is a scourge on humanity while Individualism is a boon to all humanity. We should always promote individual responsibility, virtue and respect for others and to beware of Envy (It breeds all manner of discontent).

Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leaves each individual free to think, work, and make as much money as he is willing and able to earn. No other social system on earth does this. In a capitalist society, if a poor person wants to work his way out of poverty—as countless poor people have done—he is fully free to do so. Of course, if he doesn’t want to, he doesn’t have to; the choice is his to make, and no one can force him one way or the other….

We can all make a difference in making Barbados Great, starting with the importance of Individual Responsibility and using our God Given Talents and Abilities To Improve Our Lot!

Economic Entrepreneurs are a Boon to society; Political Entrepreneurs are Another Animal Entirely….

https://blog.studocu.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/entrepreneur-quote-1-picture-quote-1.jpg

23. @ Redguard

You were able to encapsulate the reason that Solutions Barbados failed in one go when you said

“”…My concern with such a radical departure from the current system was that it lacked a comprehensive numerical analysis to support it. For example VAT revenue is approx $1 Billion, Mr. Philips needed to show clearly how this revenue would be replaced…”

Here is “a plan, by the Man, in the Solutions Barbados van…” that says “$1 billion is going to manifest itself out of the air” and vote for me cause we are men of integrity.

Whu that is almost like the proposal that my grandson’s friend is proposing to the new MAM administration for a $10M contract to push Barbados’ one donkey economy!

What is the difference in this public proposal to the GoB to invest in an “unknown” marketing solution that will generate millions of $$ and create several hundred jobs?

The subtle difference is “the existing currency” of the proposed concept which, unlike Granville’s Voodoo Economics is supported by an actual, existing US$ 500,000

At the end of the day, this all comes down to “WHAT CAN YOU SHOW YOU HAVE DONE in support of what you are proposing to do”, AS OPPOSED TO “what you think, you can do” with the FREE MONEY in the Treasury.

But we know that Bajans LOVE well written “VAPOURWARE Curriculum Vitae” an euphemism for “baked resumes from over and away” ESPECIALLY for senatorial appointments heheheheh

24. @Red Guard.

“This Silicon Valley start-up wants to replace lawyers with robots”

http://www.afr.com/business/legal/this-silicon-valley-startup-wants-to-replace-lawyers-with-robots-20170914-gyhzot

AI will also affect the legal profession. LOL, i guess a parliament full of lawyer will not legislate away their livelihood?

Barbados really needs to wake up and see that the light at the end of the tunnel may not lead to prosperity.

Automation and globalisation, and the ruthless adherence to some economic model will possibility dislocate million of potential workers across the globe. Some form of state assistance maybe required as jobs of all type will disappear from high cost regions, states and nations. There will be a race to the bottom for labour. But the citizens of that country will still need shelter and food, at the minimum. That may have to be provided by the state.

JMT

25. Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leaves each individual free to think, work, and make as much money as he is willing and able to earn. No other social system on earth does this. In a capitalist society, if a poor person wants to work his way out of poverty—as countless poor people have done—he is fully free to do so. Of course, if he doesn’t want to, he doesn’t have to; the choice is his to make, and no one can force him one way or the other….

@ Freedom Crier.

In the US and EU why do we have lobbyist? The powerful will always try to influence the Capitalist(Free enterprise) system in their favour. True capitalism is a system that ignores the influence of the powerful. If left to its own devices the capitalist system will devolve into a monopoly or oligarchy; because once you start making money and start to have influence you look for way to make more money etc, and capitalism is slowly replaced by the Greedysm. History gives up the examples of Standard Oil(it was broken up), The Bell Telephone(it was broken up) and OPEC. You may say that there are examples of capitalism gone awry but this is recorded history.

Even with tight rules and close regulations of certain industries when they come face to face with the power brokers in the industry often they step back or give way to the wishes of the greedyist?

What exist in Barbados or most pseudo capitalist economies is “crony-capitalism” like communism or socialism, capitalism cannot contain the imagination and machinations of of the human spirit. Humans are capable of extremes. From self sacrifice to to human sacrifice; and all in-between.

26. If media reports are to be believed we maybe witnessing the implosion of Solutions Barbados. This would be ashame given it garnered the most votes of the third parties, 4000 plus:

27. Some thoughts from Peter Laurie…worth exploring..

“In Latin America, it might be worth trying to further explore our economic relations with Brazil, Peru, and Colombia. Not many people know that Colombia has the second largest African-descended population in South America, some 10 million people.

And of course, we must try to re-invigorate a sclerotic CARICOM which has such unrealized potential.

In Africa, we should look at the possibilities offered by Ethiopia and Ghana, two fast-growing and buoyant economies.

We might try to develop informal special people-to-people relationships with the Nordic countries, whose small size and liberal social democratic policies provide a useful basis for cooperation.

Most important of all, we should stop thinking of embassies abroad as the most effective way of managing our foreign relations.

C’mon, let’s move into the 21st century.

(Dr Peter Laurie is a retired permanent secretary and head of the Foreign Service who once served as Barbados’ Ambassador to the United States)”

28. With Solutions Barbados being a new political party consisting of members without any political experience, what Grenville Phillips II should have done was to hire a political strategist.

I recall when Phillips II began to post articles to BU. Two weeks after, he decided not to respond to certain BU contributors that asked him probing questions. I asked him what he would do if he is elected to parliament and encounters “robust debaters” such as Sinckler, Estwick and Lowe.

That was his first mistake.

Secondly, he should have chosen a “shadow Cabinet” to “shadow” the various ministries. Instead, he chose to speak on all topics, some of which it was clear he did not understand.

Thirdly, Phillips II said SB’s economic policies (unaccompanied by statistics) were on-line for 3 years and had undergone “rigorous scrutiny” was not enough.

Rigorous scrutiny by whom?

He said a member of ICAB…….an ACCOUNTANT….endorsed his policies. I have not seen a critique of the policies from Barbados Economic Society, his new found friend Michael Howard or any of the other noted economists in this island.

Grenville Phillips II is a weak leader. Managing a business is not the same as managing an economy.

I believe SB should move forward without Paul Gibson and Scott Wheatherhead.

29. I read information which suggested SB’s candidate for the City, Fallon best, was willing to meet with Opposition Leader Atherley in hopes of being appointed an Opposition Senator.

If this was true, then Mr. Best would have had to look for $1M to pay Grenville.

30. True, Artax………we kept warning Grenville that he could not micromanage the party. He was the shadow minister for everything and it was only at the end at People’s Parliament that he allowed others to speak on behalf of the party.

It was a mistake to only want to recruit business persons many of whom were sucking at the government’s nipples as per Grenville’s own words. He bragged that he did not have a lawyer among them then you and I had to point out that he would need a lawyer to be the AG…….he ignored us.

It was a mistake for Grenville to be attacking the BLP as if it was the government .

A party that was formed just because it hated MAM was doomed to fail as all of them especially the UPP did.

Lynette Eastmond is next…………much as the demon name caller who ran away because she did not want to face defeat…….say that she is coming back, she too is doomed……..all of them started a party out of hatred for MAM to cut votes so as to ascertain a DLP win again. But the people were determined that no such thing would happen and they went out in their numbers and vote viciously!

Just imagine on the last sitting of the House, the demon name caller declared that she was the UPP leader in the House just so that they would get government funding for the election…….and Lynette out there talking about bitter medicine…….hypocrite.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Mr Phillips
    Just prior to the election, you mentioned that due to some threatening behaviour, it was mutually decided to withhold the private independent analysis of SB’s financial proposals.
    As echoed by Artax above, it should be clear to you now, that many Barbadians did not buy into your plans.
    When we discussed the SB platform, we also asked “how do you get around them” (avoid). For this is what the professionals will be faced with providing their clients. And “how does it work”, what is needed to implement.
    Rather than continuing down the path which yielded negligible results; I urge you to share that analysis. The same way the electorate rejected it, a continued hammering of it by you, displays a certain “deafness”.

32. Would it have mattered if Grenville had shared the analysis and named the SME who blessed it? Maybe 10,000 more votes? Are we agreed the electorate is not disposed to embracing a new political party ‘overnight’?

33. @Artax June 15, 2018 9:02 PM “…SB’s candidate for the City, Fallon best, was willing to meet with Opposition Leader Atherley inpes of being appointed an Opposition Senator….If this was true, then Mr. Best would have had to look for $1M to pay Grenville.”

If a person can leave parents, spouse, children, siblings, church, job, without paying a single cent, why should it cost money to leave a political party? Especially as the Constitution give us the FREEdom to associate or not to associate?

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

This is the single biggest thing about a third party and the Third Party Movement

IT’S CANNOT AND WILL NOT FIND A FOOTING OVERNIGHT!

It almost has to be a moving breathing thing in the community DOING THINGS ON THE GROUND THAT PEOPLE SEE before anyone is going to take them seriously

They have to have a serious presence and structure and policy and program and message and marketing programme

And they have to have money to sustain themselves for the long haul

And while it might seem ironic that I am saying this, they have an ally in the Leader of the Barbados Labour Party unlike the small minded people in the DLP.

I say this because Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley IS ABOUT GROWTH and if a third party is effecting such SHE IS NOT GOING TO KILL IT LIKE FUMBLES AND HIS GROUP OF SHORT ME CRUTCH BVHKUNTS WILL.

35. @”If we are to remain on-board this ship of austerity for close to 5 years, then couples may consider deferring a new house mortgage for 5 years. However, if it is closer to 15 years, then a couple with a new mortgage can better assess the foreclosure risks, and may decide that now is the best time to consider selling their house. A similar assessment may be made for any type of medium to long-term purchases.”

And where will the couples live when they sell their house? Under a bridge? Up a tree? In a cave?

And since mortgages are not a couple’s major expense–children are–and since most couples have children–what are couples to do with their children?

Sell the children too?

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well and Consequences

You said and I quote that the now retired Peter Laurie said

“…Some thoughts from Peter Laurie…worth exploring..

“…In Latin America, it might be worth trying to further explore our economic relations with Brazil, Peru, and Colombia…”

“…Far have I traveled and much have I seen
    Dark distant mountains with valleys of green.
    Past painted deserts the sunsets on fire
    As he carries me home to the mull of kintyre…”

Paul McCartney’s song Mull of Kintyre speaks volumes to what is a critical part of being able to understand the how behind a vision beyond the shores of this 2×2 island.

FAR have I travelled DOES NOT, contrary to popular opinion, mean that one has to have racked up miles on your American Airlines Advantage Card like Maxine McClean did at the expense of Bajan taxpayers or Coke Hamilton does at the expense of the European Union WITH NO BENEFIT TO THEIR RESPECTIVE MANDATES.

You have first to be able to measure the depth of Luurie s statement and “walk in your mind” through the distant valleys of green…even WITHOUT LEAVING THE SHORES OF BARBADOS to contemplate what economic opportunities exist there first.

And this is unfortunately a bridge too far for these brass bowl minds that Fumbles had or Mia,bless her dear soul, has.

Foreign powers ARE NOT INTERESTED IN WANT YOU COUNTRY WANTS TO GET the want to know if what they need to expand their economies CAN BE DONE WITH WHAT YOU HAVE else there is no deal!

Let me break this down for those of us who are challenged.

Having Sandra Phillips in Brazil as an Ambassador promoting stupid wares and hairbrained ideas between our countries is a waste foop idea.

However HAVING THE COMMODITY OF AN ADVANCED TAKING OF ENGLISH AS A FOREIGN LANGUAGE AT CAVE HILL IS NOT ONLY A PRODUCT FOR BRAZIL BUT ONE FOR ALL THE LATIN AMERICAS cause all of them need it.

But herein comes the hitch (I nearly said bitch)

Ambassadorial roles are always rewarded to senile ole menses or women who have NO EFFING CONTRIBUTIONS NOR VISIONING SKILLS.

We have traditionally awarded our incompetent friends and long serving civil servants these critical jobs and then we wonder why the badword our country is dying when our ambassador in China, the most populous country in the world, is a man with dropsy who goes to sleep when invites to meetings with ORC President Xi

Steupseee

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please…

38. Solutions Barbados can spend the next 5 years building a party for the next election.

The DLP can also spend the next 5 years rebuilding their party.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

There is a significant difference between “building and resurrecting”

And while many of them thought after 10 years they were demigods that power IS NOT RESIDENT IN THESE IMPS FROM DAT PLACE.

And de ole man and me grandson would win for free on a specific campaign to mek sure not one of the effers get back in again IN 15 YEARS and GOD sparing life

40. 🤐

41. NorthernObserver/David BU

Grenville’s explanation re: the accountant not wanting his name called on the political platform because he did not want his “family’s name dragged through the mud,” I believe though it is a genuine concern…..…it is a poor excuse. The analysis could have been presented without revealing the name of the “analyst.”

Saying that an SB administration would abolish VAT & the NSRL, implement a 10% tax rate across the board and reduce corporation tax to 10% on revenue……..was enough for the island to pay off outstanding debt and realize a surplus within one year….without financial assistance……and without presenting data to explain how these overly ambitious plans would have been achieved was unacceptable.

The analysis should have been presented for Barbadians to scrutinize and discuss. After all, SB was pushing these policies as enough to solve Barbados’ economic woes.

Additionally, having the policies on line for 3 years for rigorous scrutiny, as well as sending them to the BES and ICAB………..only ONE individual, a member of ICAB, endorsed them……

…….not any member of the BES……and Grenville using this as the only basis that the policies would have achieved the desired objectives is ludicrous.

Does this indicate the economists in the BES rejected the policies?

42. Grenville also added the argument that has a chartered engineer he is held to a high standard i.e. cannot be found out to be lying. He must admit now that it was a weak position. We all accept that he means well and has a thick record of public service, this is not being questioned. We need more good people like him getting involved in public service.

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“We have traditionally awarded our incompetent friends and long serving civil servants these critical jobs and then we wonder why the badword our country is dying when our ambassador in China, the most populous country in the world, is a man with dropsy who goes to sleep when invites to meetings with ORC President Xi.”

Mia better get with the program and realize awarding the talentless, visionless yardfowl brigade who are not articulate enough to string 2 sentences together intelligently or converse in 2 or 3 foreign languages ….with these foreign diplomatic posts….has run its course and as Laurie has hinted will be even less useful now ……..when they cannot speak the countries languages and will never understand the culture unless they immerse themselves locally.

It is time to make the knowledge of foreign languages mandatory for senators permanent secretaries and ministers who seek to hold diplomatic posts …….start in the secondary schoools….primary school is even better..and more successful.

……the younger children are the better they soak up foreign languages like sponges…I know 4 -6 years olds speaking chinese, french and spanish….but english is their first langusge…there are schools just for that…

End the yardfowl postings that deliver nothing in return.

44. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Grenville does have something to offer the island as a civil engineer. ..maybe he should work more on that…

“Especially as the Constitution give us the FREEdom to associate or not to associate?”

What Grenville did can be seen as extortion, forcing his members to buy their way out of his political party and that stupid made up constitution he dreamed up.. …that is tantamount to imprisonment of his own members ..locking them into his madness.

What then would he do with a population of nearly 300,000 people if the population was crazy enough to give him that type of power…he needs to calm down and read the real constitution…a few times….and get a real lawyer, familiar with legal language to interpret for him.

ALL of the members are free to join whichever party they want…or not….free from Grenville’s crazy.

45. I think the real lesson to be learnt from these elections is that in the future, Independents or small independent groups will dominate Parliament,

This will be a sign of Barbadians becoming adults when each candidate must fully explain his/her beliefs and demonstrate willingness to work with other independent groups and individuals to make Barbados work.

They will need to show they can behave as independent, accountable adults.

I believe the days of Party politics are close to an end.

Notice, the best performing non B/D was Randall Rouse (admittedly a former D), an Independent with 700 votes, 2-3 times what any member of the small parties received.

Believe it or not, Bajans are growing up!!

If the Bees happen to be outrageously successful in whatever time they have left living their illusion, the change may take longer but we are in the process of making the change,

If the Bees perform as they have in the past, they are history, like the Dees … and it will be swift as it was for the Dees!!

The time for independent minded, ethical, “uncontrollable” “non-party, accountable adults as MP’s has I believe returned!!

But … they got to earn that badge the hard way like adults have to, foot slogging and publicly taking positions which are honest, clearly thought out and logical!!

They need to be able to call a spade a spade …. like our ancestors did,

They cannot be the mere pawns (D and B) we have seen operating in our country and causing its destruction.

They cannot just be there to make up a number …. or to fill the “Absence of a Presence”.

46. @ sirfuzzy
    June 15, 2018 7:16 PM

Most of what you have said is good and very Insightful and I am happy that you have this understanding. Now you are coming close to the Proper Role of Government. In a Free Society, Part of that Role is to Prevent Fraud. Men have a Propensity to peruse single-mindedly their goals to the exclusion of all else.

Lobbying has been used to Twist the Law but we are all mankind and if we are Law Makers the Laws we make are imperfect. Lobbyist when it works right should show the Lawmakers the Consequences of their proposed Law. This is called Listening to the People, but the Nature of man comes into Play and Special Carve Outs are made for certain Industries which lead to Corruption of the Intent of the Law.

In Isaiah the Monopolies that you mentioned were recognised and it is a warning to us about excluding the opportunities for the Small Entrepreneur. Isaiah 5:8
    “Woe unto them that join house to house, that lay field to field, till there be no place, that they may be placed alone in the midst of the earth!”

Freedom and Free Enterprise is made and is the Best System for creating Wealth to the Benefit of all, but is meant for a Moral People. Without that sure Underpinning of Moral Absolutes we will forever have Crony Capitalism, Socialism et al.

We who’s Eyes have been Opened and are seeing what is around can only offer a Voice of Warning against the Moral Decay, and words of Encouragement of the True Spirit Prosperity and Fairness for all, to show what can happen when we Embrace the Moral Foundations we have been taught by our Fathers.

https://pics.me.me/of-all-the-dispositions-and-habits-which-lead-to-political-19643571.png

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    agreed the electorate takes time to embrace.
    They also have to embrace something? In discussions both pre and post election, SB’s financial projections were questioned, and doubted. Nobody I communicated with, could get the math to add up. Particularly the $1 billion surplus within a year. The inference becomes ‘SB are still as off base as before, ignore until they make sense’ (ie…nothing to embrace). One starting point is understanding how a professional numbers person got the projected numbers to make sense.

48. Does it bring into the question the creditability and reputation of the professional that signed of on the SB plan?

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son June 15, 2018 11:03 PM
    “It was a mistake for Grenville to be attacking the BLP as if it was the government .
    A party that was formed just because it hated MAM was doomed to fail as all of them especially the UPP did.
    Lynette Eastmond is next…………much as the demon name caller who ran away because she did not want to face defeat…….say that she is coming back, she too is doomed……..all of them started a party out of hatred for MAM to cut votes so as to ascertain a DLP win again. But the people were determined that no such thing would happen and they went out in their numbers and vote viciously!
    Just imagine on the last sitting of the House, the demon name caller declared that she was the UPP leader in the House just so that they would get government funding for the election…….and Lynette out there talking about bitter medicine…….hypocrite.”

Bull’s eye! With one single shot you have hit the target bang on.

That was clearly the raison d’être for the birth of SB and some of the other nuisance parties.

SB, driven with misplaced and hypocritical Xtian zeal, was the main phalanx in the anti-MAM brigade which fought a long war in the most futile fashion against MAM becoming PM.

Now that ‘cause’ no longer exists as a result of the BLP’s overwhelming Victory the inevitable outcome could only be the ‘final solution’ in the disappearance of the same SB with the UPP, etc being the unavoidable collateral damage to those who follow the wicked to do evil behind God’s back.

If Grenville P is so patriotically concerned about saving Barbados from economic ruin which he claims would result from PM Mottley’s reign of fiscal terror, let him first join the demolished DLP and inject a new lease of life in that dying political institution and run to become its President and chief mouthpiece instead of the immoral and badly decomposing Pornville Inniss who will never be trusted (again) by the Bajan electorate.

50. He said a member of ICAB…….an ACCOUNTANT….endorsed his policies. I have not seen a critique of the policies from Barbados Economic Society, his new found friend Michael Howard or any of the other noted economists in this island.
    Grenville Phillips II is a weak leader. Managing a business is not the same as managing an economy.(Quote)

I could not have put it better myself. Accountants should know their station in life.