Prime Minister Mia Mottley has hit the ground running and less than 48 hours after receiving an overwhelming mandate to govern, she appointed her Cabinet. It is a large Cabinet but one can argue two points 1. the enormity of the task requires the resources to efficiently manage, AND, there is the politics, she has 30 members to manage! As she solidifies her powerbase one expects she will consolidate as required or face the political fallout. The blogmaster will be fair and allow a few weeks for the BLP action plan to emerge before critique.

Full list of Ministers:

• Prime Minister Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment – Mia Mottley
  • Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs – Dale Marshall
  • Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training and Leader of Government Business – Santia Bradshaw
  • Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development – George Payne
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade and Leader of Government Business in the Senate – Senator Dr Jerome Walcott
  • Minister of International Business and Industry – Ronald Toppin
  • Minister of Environment and National Beautification – Trevor Prescod
  • Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs – Cynthia Forde
  • Minister of Tourism and International Transport – Kerrie Symmonds
  • Minister of Transport Works and Maintenance  – Dr William Duguid
  • Minister of Health and Wellness – Jeffrey Bostic
  • Minister of Home Affairs – Edmund Hinkson
  • Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce – Dwight Sutherland
  • Minister of Energy and Water Resources – Wilfred Abrahams
  • Minister in the Ministry of Finance – Ryan Straughn
  • Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment – Marsha Caddle
  • Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade – Sandra Husbands
  • Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations – Colin Jordan
  • Minister in the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development – Charles Griffith
  • Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment – Adrian Forde
  • Minister of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy – Kirk Humphrey
  • Minister of Agriculture and Food Security – Indar Weir
  • Minister in the Ministry of Transport Works and Maintenance – Peter Phillips
  • Minister of the Creative Economy, Culture and Sports – John King
  • Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology – Senator Kay McConney
  • Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs- Senator Lucille Moe

Full list of Senators:

• Senator Sir Richard Cheltenham
  • Senator Rudolph ‘Cappy’ Greenidge
  • Senator Dr Jerome Walcott
  • Senator Kay McConney
  • Senator Lucille Moe
  • Senator Rawdon Adams
  • Senator Lisa Cummins
  • Senator Rudy Grant
  • Senator Dr Rommel Springer
  • Senator Lynette Holder
  • Senator Damien Sands
  • Senator Dr Chrystal Haynes

Related information:

• Arthur Holder – Speaker of the House
  • Glyne Clarke – Deputy Speaker
  • Sonia Browne – Chairman of Committees
  • Ambassador at Large and Plenipotentiary – Dame Billie Miller
  • Ambassador/Chief Economic Counsellor in the ministry of finance – Clyde Mascoll
  • Jessica Odle-Baril – Prime Minister’s Personal Aide
  • Pat Parris – Director of Public Affairs (to replace traditional press secretary)
  • TBD – Director of Communications
  • TBD – Czars in critical areas

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=953294554835357&id=271334199698066

216 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Appoints Cabinet”

1. David
    We are thinking alike.Yes it is an interesting choice and we will see how he uses his expertise in finance to help steer the ship of state out of these murky waters left by the “esteemed” untruthful Sinkliar.Mia has an array as of talented comrades.We expect nothing short of excellence.I was not impressed by the twice delayed press conference times however her explanation is reasonable.

2. Adams could be useful.

“Rawdon JH Adams has been appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Bitt Inc.

He will lead the company as it accelerates the evolution of the financial ecosystem in the Caribbean, the company said in an announcement this evening. Adams will also join the company’s board of directors.”

3. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Tron I am Hearing you Loud and Clear…you may find this interesting…

Here is a Perfect Example of these Bureaucratic Failures that have Handicapped Barbados. All of these Agencies are Losing Money. Hence my argument from the Beginning that the Bureaucratic State hinders Development and what is the Proper Role of Government. I would like to thank Mr. Peter Webster for bringing these things to light…

@ Mr. Caswell Franklyn

Dear Sir:
    I usually read your column because of your fair and balanced commentary, not like some of the other contributors. Your column on Sunday May 20th dealing with the Barbados Civil Service was however too defensive and not as realistic as it should have been. You write off as “anecdotes” the Service’s failures implying that since they were not substantiated they could not be correct.
    Having worked in and with the Barbados Civil Service all my working life (39 years) I can give you endless first hand examples of the Service’s failures. Let me also point out that it was not just a matter of bureaucracy or that the personnel themselves were bad. In fact I know that over 90% were/are decent, honest, “salt of the earth” people. I have seen some sections really working and producing while others are not.

For more than 15 years of my working life I was involved with the World Bank, Inter-American Development Bank and the Caribbean Development Bank in Public Sector Reform. Why? Because there was an obvious need. The mistake we made was in calling it “Reform” which focused on an action rather than the goal of “performance improvement”. The Public Sector Reform Unit’s focus on systems, procedures and processes has therefore been a failure in terms of “performance improvement”.

Allow me to back track first to the Hon. Mr. Errol Barrow’s failure. The British Colonial power never had a standing army in any of its territories. The occupying army of the Colonial power was in fact the Civil Service hence the Hon. Mr. Barrow’s reference. The Hon. Mr. Barrow’s biggest error was not in “politicizing the Civil Service” – I do not agree that this was the outcome of his actions – but in creating the 40-plus State-owned Enterprises (SOEs) with which we are currently saddled, rather than fixing the problem! This was done to circumvent the established bureaucracy but ended up creating worse bureaucracies that are even less productive because they are unaccountable.

In 2007 I listed the charges made by the then Opposition against the then Government and 80% of these from the cost over-runs on the ABC Highway to the issues with the Prison were all failures of the Civil Service and the situation has not changed. Six months ago a team of consultants visited Barbados to investigate the potential for a major capital project that would have resulted in a much needed massive capital investment in Barbados. After two weeks of consultations with senior Civil Servants in Barbados they reported that they (the consultants) were “none the wiser”. Barbados International rating for “ease of doing business” is the worst in our region.

After 40 years and hundreds of millions of dollars on the St Joseph Hospital in St. Peter our Civil Service has now determined that it should not be there in a Zone 1 water protected area. This same Civil Service some years ago built a playing field, pavilion and parking lot at the mouth of a drainage gully in the process diverting the drainage from one watershed to another costing close to a million dollars in damage to roads down-stream. These are but a few of the substantiated examples not anecdotes – the tip of the ice berg – and I have not yet touched on the true facts about the South Coast Sewerage system or the poor maintenance of the transport and garbage vehicles, and Government buildings or the lack of civil justice. I have often equated the experience of working in the Civil Service as swimming upstream in a river of molasses.

A problem analysis (cause and effect) reveals that the root cause of the problems in the Civil Service is a lack of incentive. No entrepreneur or business person in the private sector can survive if they do not perform and produce – survival is their incentive. The Civil Service has none! Unless Civil Servants are offered rewards and sanctions for their performance there will be no change. The big question is whether the Unions will also recognize the need and work with the Public Sector Reform Unit in establishing a valid, transparent performance evaluation system on which the rewards can be based.
    Regards
    Peter Webster

https://pics.me.me/you-cant-be-for-biggovernment-big-taxes-and-big-bureaucracy-5906597.png

4. Such restraint! 25 Ministers instead of all 30. If they manage the economy with similar prudence we would be well on the road to Valhalla.

5. Just so wunna know, there could be billionaires willing to ease de pressha.

6. @Gabriel

A cursory gace at the large Cabinet and supporting cast reveals a focus on the traditional ministries and at the same time there is focus on building out a new economy i.e. blue, smart technology, entrepreneurship etc.

7. David

Fuckoff, we don’t respect ignorance.

8. @Pacha

Relieve yourself, the blogmaster will heed Michelle’s advice. You go low, we go…

lol

9. Pacha…if the DLP don’t accept the offer, it can be interpreted another way, by the population, which will not help them in the long run.

10. Serious question (not trying to be facetious): What is the “Blue Economy”?

11. Isn’t it amazing that all up to last month Mia and her followers on this blog and on social media and elsewhere were condemning the last govt for having too big a cabinet and saying the country couldn’t afford it?

All we can hear is silence.Now 24 of the 30 elected members have been given positions and are now a drain on the economy and we have even included those in the senate.Well well indeed!

Is it a case of different strokes for different folks.If it was wrong then ,it must be wrong now not so.And then again the last govt had only about 14 – 16 positions

12. No wonder they press conference was delayed for 2 and a half hours.I can see poor Cinty now kicking and screaming that she will not take no ministry of the people and elderly affair.Now pray tell me what is that ministry about.Isn’t every ministry a ministry of the people.And would will young Neil rowe be doing as junior minister?

13. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

I kept on telling you all — worse horse, different colour.

Watch out for many “Big Fetes” coming up soon.

QEI is quoted as saying “If you can’t feed the people, keep them happy”.

Imagine Robin Fenty was the only endorsement that PM Mottley received. Like WOW! What has our country degenerated into — ever read the book “Don’t Stop the Carnival”? Herman Wouk — suggest you read it. You might find exactly what is written there manifesting before your very eyes.

Unless Barbados follows the Scriptural injunction of 2 Chronicles 7:14 you all could look forward to WORSE than what you have seen so far.

Turn back to your Creator before it is too late.

14. The next promise from MAM will be to lay (on the first working day of parliament) and IMPLEMENT integrity legislation .

15. Indeed interesting times ahead

####….show we the money

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, you make a wondrous rematk with “Yes it is spin, people will not buy it but she will be given a little time to deliver. She will pay a price if she does not.”….. And that price will be what exactly and when will it be due??

Not only is it spin but it’s the type of nonsensical stuff for which pols are well known. As suggested by other bloggers our situation demands contraction and lean management NOT a bloated bureaucracy.

I therefore hope that Ms Mottley has a man or women in the post of Adviser to the PM/Chief of Staff or simply Pitbull, German Shepherd mix badass. She will need that type person to control all these egos and allow herself the freedom to deal with the major economic affairs and other matters of state. …. Because there will be lots of sniping and control issues…as too many ministries overlap.

She should have shown real gumption and spun the situation in exactly the opposite direction: ‘I am reducing the clutter of the previous administration and streamlining to fewer ministries to get us back on track.’

The minister in ministry role is needed in a large bureaucracy; not here. Are these secondary ministers being paid above the rate of parliamentary secretaries , at same level as the principal minister or what?

BTW, David Mr Blogmaster Mia has clearly set her tone and will shrug off any critiques easily for some time. We can’t get ahead of ourselves but it will be five years and more before the DLP are ready to mount a credible campaign….payment due way down the road!

@Hal, yep some disparite ministries it seems….alas Foreign Trade and International Business seem so legitimately connected this must be a Bajan ting.

And being unkind, Creative Economy deals with the black-arts finess of economic growth…those unmentionables. The other tangible and properly regulated economic business falls under the Ministry of Economic Affairs. Enuff said!

17. Yes the DLP was criticised for a large Cabinet that was UNDERPERFORMING if one were to judge from 20 plus downgrades etc.

18. Wuhloos a prepared text reading from a teleprompter while addressing the need for a large cabinet

19. Mia is off to a bad start there’s no justification for 26 cabinet ministers. These people have to be paid Ministers salaries with perks which is twice what you pay an ordinary parliamentarian. The Czar of Mia’s lackeys David BU groping for excuses. She better start working on the promises she’s adamant would be enforced within days and weeks e.g. pension reform and the sewage crisis. She hammered the last government will she follow Estwick’s plans laid to solve the sewage. What will the mob a ton of Ministers do besides get in each other’s way and make live a living hell for civil servants? They will drain the empty treasury. Your honeymoon is on Mia its up to you how long it will last. What 26 ministers what. Its the height of foolishness and money wasting.

20. Kathy Yearwood Avatar
    Kathy Yearwood

Will Mia make the tough decision and ask the ministers which she just appointed to forego 3 months salary so that the civil servants can get at least cost of living allowance raise?
    That would be welcomed

21. I am having a sinking feeling that it’s Edutech all over again. Fascination with buzz words, fuzzy concepts with grand promises sounding more like a new age religion, plenty money and time expended to come up a fancy piece of chalk and in the end nothing really changed.

It’s early days yet. I hope to be wrong.

22. @Dunks Gripe aka waiting

A simple question DLP yardfowl who must still be smarting.

If a Mottley government is able in 6 months to show performance compared to an underperforming former DLP government that was booted out of office by 70% of the vote what say you? If she cant she will pay a price.

23. David
    Thanks for the link.

24. Stop begging Kathy Mia said her first order of business was to increase civil servants salaries
    Wuh happen Kathy dont you trust the pied pipe bearing gifts

25. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Willy E Coyote

You said and I quote “…MIA’s first and only option is IMMEDIATE FORENSIC AUDIT OF ENTIRE GOVERNMENT AND ALL SOE’s including all debts, loans, repayment schedules etc. by a competent and non Barbadian entity to accurately determine the exact and detailed state of the countries finances.

Only then can MIA make any creditable plans for the future…”

De Ole Man endorses your suggestion but would mention that you forgot a critical component of those audits.

This item would be that all substantive parties under whom the respective departments to be audited fall, WILL BE REQUIRED TO SIGN AND AFFIRM STATUS BRIEFS or whatever they shall be called, to indicate that they are to be held personally responsible for any irregularities found.

Whistleblower legislation shall be enacted as part of the Integrity Legislation regulations to be announced soon

26. There is no such thing as a dlp yardfowl the dlp no longer exist as a political party.

27. Integrity legislation as far as I can recall has already been passed by the last government and now only needs to be proclaimed.

28. Am too exhausted to even comment…yardfowl says DLP political party no longer exists…no DLP = no yardfowls…who would have thunk it….damn, what a thing.

Look how easy it was to ge rid of thousands of yardfowls, it took mere hours, now we know..

29. Nearly 30 new Mercedes E class for all the new ministers. And not to forget more German cars for all the new senators, state secretaries and new judges.

Congrats to the workers at Sindelfingen MB plant, congrats to the Daimler shareholders and – of course – to the German gov for an even higher trade surplus.

Barbados does everything to ensure that Germany remains the super power of international trade.

No wonder Trump complains about Germany and Mercedes Benz.

Well done! LOL.

30. You not shame, after the DLP promised to enact transparency legislation in 2008 in the first 100 days?

Obviously the incoming government has disregarded your party’s feeble attempt to implement because it is considered not fit for purpose?

31. Fractured BLP Avatar

Barbados 🇧🇧 now have a 26 member Cabinet !

It is clear that the celebrated novel ” Animal Farm ” may have helped influence this decision !

Particularly with reference to the powerful lines :

” All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others” .

32. Now?…they been sitting on integrity legislation for 6 years and refused to proclaim it, if any government worked hard for that humiliating defeat, it was them.

33. Here is some advice to the DLP yardies,assemble, discuss why the DLP was rejected at the polls in an unprecedented manner by the electorate i.e. DLP based shifted to BLP. This should be your priority.

34. Please go read the manifesto again. In doing so, focus on connecting dots. It will then become clearer what the BLP means by transformation. This is about cohesion and coherence. Y’all ain’t see nothing yet–wait fuh it. Pay close attention also to the final appendage to the Minister of Finance: “Investment”.

35. The most annoying yardfowl around is David BU. A pimp yard fowl at that. We are watching Mia closely. Those wonderful promises made must be kept. Restoration of free University education is a big one. Yardfowl pimp David BU will find all species of red herring to deflect people away from critical analysis of the government’s performance. Wont happen.

36. So I guess we will no longer hear from Alvin and Carson Cadogan either….aves de corral perdidas….is that how it is….look how suddenly everything can change, just like that.

37. David
    Nooo, Dem have no shame! Got wiped out at the polls and continuing as if it is business as usual. Mottley eviscerated the entire RH DLP, put out Owen and Lynette lights; and now decent enough to amend the Constitution to grant the Dems 2 seats in the Senate. Yet those chararacters still on BU behaving as though what just happened is a dream. I feel they should keep the Dems outta the Senate yuh hear cuz cldarly, based on the Mariposas et al, Dems ain’t serious.

38. @Dunks Gripe aka waiting

You didn’t lable David BU a yardfowl in 2007 2008 when the blog was pro DLP and David Thompson did you?

MAM says watch muh, BU David says, Bring it.

39. On Monday the prime minister must start sorting out the central bank, NIS and CBC, and with Jerome Walcott, start choosing our diplomat corp. London is key. Herbie Yearwood for London.

40. It is indeed heartening to see so many new contributors on BU since the election was held eons ago…..wait, was it only two days ago and the critics are already crying foul? Where were these conscientious critiques for the last ten years? Where were these thoughtful suggestions on how many ministers would be ideal for a government to function efficiently when the 16 bumbling baboons were befuddled by simple math?

As we approached elections 2018 my advice to those who were unsure where to place their vote or if to vote at all was “If you are happy with the government we have and how they have administered the country for the past ten years, then you don’t have to make a decision, your decision is already made for you. If however you are unhappy with same, then you don’t have to worry about what decision to take, that too has already been decided for you.” Apparently, many seemed to have been unhappy with the way the government operated and voted accordingly. Apparently, a few still considered that after ten years of failed policy, the Dems deserved to continue on their dastardly path of destruction, hence they voted for them…..and now those poor misguided souls find themselves here on BU venting their venom at a government that is only 48 hours young.

May I suggest that if you did not see it fit to complain for the past ten years and was complicit with the nonperforming DLP, then you shut to face up and let some others who have meaningful contributions to make for the improvement of Barbados and its better governance, do so.

Some on here today remind me of “Ringside boxers”. Never thrown a punch in their lives but can tell the champion in the ring how poor a boxer he/she is….aka Pavilion Batsmen.

41. Freedom Crier Avatar

A Picture is Worth a More Than a Thousand Words.

Make Barbados Great… More Love… Less Divisiveness

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10214518704233716&set=gm.648461752170030&type=3&theater&ifg=1

42. Freedom Crier Avatar

Make Barbados Great… More Free Principles Market…

Less Corruption/Cronyism/Socialism.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DdTqN2CXkAAIKSa.jpg

43. Fractured BLP Avatar

pachamama @

May 26, 2018 6:34 PM

David you would do well to go back and read or re read the comments of Pachmama given on this article at the time & date shown above.

You will do well to HEED Pachamama advice !

44. isn’t life grand though..lol

45. That 30-0 will corrupt.
    Instead of 17 we now have 25.
    But I am still saying to give her a honeymoon period …..
    I see some have not given up on Rawdon…..

46. Rawdon? Some people like being servants.

47. Love it, the horns!

Always wondered how a man memorized so many lyrics so.