Submitted by George C. Brathwaite (PhD)

The independence of the CCJ and its fitness … should not be a matter in which there is any doubt. In assessing the independence of a court, one looks at the quality and the character of the judges of the court, the institutional arrangements for the selection of judges, focusing particularly on the absence of political involvement, as well as the independence and sustainability of the financial arrangements for the operation of the court. The CCJ meets these standards. – (Sir Dennis Byron, 2012).

Freundel Stuart of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), in what will likely be his last days as the beleaguered Prime Minister of Barbados, has proven once more that on awaking from his slumber, he would rather shoot from the hip while aiming recklessly, than gather his bearings and pierce the intended target with any precision.

Last Friday night, in a desperate attempt to rally the dwindling numbers of DLP supporters and to capture and keep those willing to risk their futures with another term under the DLP administration, Stuart suggested that should the DLP be returned to office, Barbados will be withdrawing from the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) as its final Court of Appeal.

Prime Minister Stuart narrow-mindedly stated:

Barbados is not going back to the Privy Council because we are not going backward; life goes not backward or tarries with yesterday. But once the Democratic Labour Party is re-elected to office, I am determined, to put Barbados on the same level as every other CARICOM country by de-linking from the Caribbean Court of Justice in its appellate jurisdiction. We went in first and we can come out first.” Plainly, this statement by Barbados’ 67 year-old prime minister is arbitrary nonsense!

Several years ago, one of the main architects of the CCJ – Sir David Simmons the former Chief Justice of Barbados and eminent jurist – indicated that the CCJ’s setting up was “not the product of some sudden or knee-jerk reaction to recent decisions of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (JCPC)” but in fact was a conscious decision. Indeed, since 1947 there were forthright discussions on claiming political, and self-evidently the sovereign independence that accompanies such, within the context of the wider Caribbean. Barbados, like all other Caribbean countries, has systematically through processes of decolonization and quest for self-determination operated on a drive for the type of political independence which further implies the autonomy for its legislative and executive affairs.

In my doctoral thesis, I made the point that the discourse and many actions by leading “national actors do not conform to the stated desire of the member states for deeper regional integration and integrated development.” The negative political posturing that can sometimes happen, occurred in Barbados with the DLP’s victory in 2008.

Issues of intra-CARICOM migration and CARICOM citizens living – legally or undocumented – in Barbados consumed the popular discourse over the next couple years to no one’s benefit. Hardly anyone in the region would forget the notorious and inglorious statement by then Prime Minister David Thompson (DLP), when he stated: ‘ever so welcome, wait for a call’. Thompson and the DLP sought to rid Barbados of numerous CARICOM immigrants who were actively and welcomingly contributing to Barbados’ economy and national development. In response, Barbados was accused by Guyana and other member states of abandoning the ‘spirit of CARICOM’ as it related to Article 45 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

This past weekend, the issue of Barbados attempting to walk away from the ‘spirit’ of integrated functionality in the Caribbean Community under the administrative guidance of the DLP is most staggering, particularly when measured against the episodes of a post-2009 era in which Barbados’ reputation became tarnished, and the exit of many CARICOM citizens put pressure on the availability of agricultural produce, other food items, and placed downward pressures on rising labour costs. Numerous households and businesses relying on the valuable input of CARICOM citizens living and working in Barbados were short-changed because of the exits and unnecessary deportations. Thousands of Barbadians were robbed of opportunities for enhancing localised commercial activities while cementing Barbados’ pivotal place in the regional integration movement.

Lest one forgets, it was none other than the Right Excellent Errol Barrow – one of ten Barbados National Heroes – that was a founding father and pioneer of formal integration relations in the region. Although Freundel Stuart prides himself in historical knowledge, it is a definite absurdity that this irksome leader should overlook the cautions of Errol Barrow who warned at his very last Heads of Government Conference of the Caribbean Community in 1986 that: “The promise of the regional integration movement … cannot be realised unless we [the national leaders] find new ways of communicating to the mass of our people the meaning and purpose of all our regional institutions.”

The CCJ came about in February 2001 and would not have become a reality in Barrow’s lifetime. However, and in Barbados, after the Caribbean Court of Justice Bill that was debated in 2003 in the House of Assembly and gained full consensus of the legislature, the CCJ became the final Court of Appeal for the island. The CCJ’s operational and juridical presence, both in its original and appellate jurisdictions, today points directly to bringing access and the ‘rule of law’ to the people of Barbados.

With the CCJ came the development of a Caribbean jurisprudence, providing nationals and foreign entities “the assurance fostered by the existence of an independent and efficient judiciary” together with the capacity to settle commercial disputes, to hear criminal and civil disputes at the appellate stage with the highest integrity and independence of the judiciary, and to lessen litigation costs.

Ironically but not surprisingly, Freundel Stuart is an attorney, and was the Attorney General of Barbados when Thompson made his offending statement and Barbados appeared to retreat from spearheading and upholding CARICOM’s Single Market and Economy (CSME). In these his dying days as primus inter pares and the legitimate Prime Minister of Barbados, Stuart’s statement about “not going to have Barbados disrespected by any politicians wearing robes’ amounts to taking a ‘potshot’ at the judges of the CCJ. Is it a deliberate ploy by Stuart to distract the local electorate from the burning issues of economic mismanagement, wastage and administrative malfeasance that happened under his tenure?

Surely, with mere days left before voters take to the ballot box, it seems unwise and non-strategic to be reckless and gladiatorial when one can prefer to appeal to the passivity of a Barbadian populace known to be relatively tolerant. Why did Stuart not extract the few achievements of the DLP, and expand on those with the hope that the voters would be willing to offer a modicum of a chance for re-election as the government?

The fact that in building a rationale for his unnecessary and unlikely withdrawal of Barbados from the CCJ and, knowing that a two-thirds majority in Parliament is needed to achieve such a caprice, Stuart revealed his character of untimely speech and out-of-touch demeanour with the people. Stuart’s saying that he does not “want to influence any decisions” and that he does not “care what they decide” is a ludicrous position to put oneself in, particularly when the court has exhibited the highest professional integrity in its judgements and general conduct. Stuart himself suggested that he was not commenting on the decisions of the CCJ, because he respects the decisions that courts make.

Yet, while Stuart may fuss and frustrate over the “attitude coming from Port of Spain,” that according to him, “leaves much to be desired in terms of how it is treating Barbados,” it is irresponsible and inflammatory for him to overlook the many long-standing problems being articulated in Barbados’ judicial system. From tardiness to unpreparedness, the CCJ has been justified in highlighting such problems.

In fact, and to draw on Sir David Simmons who used an extract from a contribution of a deceased Prime Minister and Queen’s Council Sir Harold ‘Bree’ St. John, who spoke years earlier indicating the essence of Barbadian complaints and criticisms of the judicial system, said that: “There can be no doubt about it now and it is an open secret all over Barbados that there is a level of dissatisfaction in the community in respect of certain areas of the administration of justice in Barbados. This dissatisfaction arises from the experiences of a number of people with the judicial process. Some people get frustrated by the delays, not only the hearing dates but in the process of hearing and, worst of all, in the process of decision-making after the hearing.”

Certainly, it may be because of the DLP’s paltry performances measured against broken promises and bad policies that may have led Freundel Stuart to grab at any straw. Stuart was at one and the same time being dismissive of the CCJ and vainglorious to Barbadians and regional counterparts despite numerous persons questioning why was the Myrie incident so badly handled at the diplomatic level? Why was the matter not kept away from the courts? Why was the Electoral Commission of Barbados so reticent to uphold the laws and customs of Barbados regarding Commonwealth citizens’ right to vote in the upcoming general elections?

It is therefore, quite okay for Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to say that he is “not going to have a situation where other countries in the Caribbean keep a safe, safe distance from that court while Barbados supports” its functionality and decisions. That seems to be fair ground; but would it not have preferable for him to be part of the formula encouraging member states to ‘close the circle of independence’ for this region?

However, it cannot be acceptable to have a prime minister jump from his slumber and go straight into a bout of political madness, outright clumsiness, or salivate with the drowsiness that comes from trying to implore an electorate to vote for your party out of sheer desperation. Stuart’s anti-CCJ statement takes shape exposing his excremental silliness at a time when Barbadians and the Caribbean region are looking for the transformational leadership that can deliver prosperity and justice for the populations whose very survival is reliant on functional cooperation. As Errol Barrow asserted, our “battle of communication in defence of the unity of the region … beyond the confines of conferences” must be effectively translated at home and in the region. Prime ministerial madness cannot be a part of the future for Barbados or the Caribbean.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a part-time lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, and a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

109 responses to “Prime Ministerial Madness, and Robes that do not Bind”

1. live streaming viewers @ 10:30pm…YOUTUBE ONLY
    DLP……..331
    BLP………2737

2. What is this about George Payne not being a bonafide Attorney and stealing from a family living in England with properties in Barbados worth million of dollars a matter going on for more than 10 years.

This is interesting to me as this man along with a client of his also has tried to defraud myself in Barbados High Court.

I am neither B or DLP.

See below correspondence 21 May 2018 from the UK:

RE: GEORGE WALTON PAYNE. Pursuant to George Payne’s ‘Attorney Profile”, he states that he is a qualified solicitor having trained in England. However, no records can be found in England to substantiate his legal education claim.

Furthermore, it is alleged that George Payne has taken down his online profile.

Here is the letter to Ms. Stewart and another letter to the Barbados Bar Association advising of the Solicitors Regulation Authority’s findings:

Your report about George Walton Payne
    David Clare David.Clare@sra.org.uk
    Today, 7:13 PM

Our ref CDT/1223884-2018

Dear Ms Stewart

Your report about George Walton Payne

I refer to the above matter and our telephone conversation earlier today.

In order to be qualified as a solicitor in England and Wales a person must comply with section 1 of the Solicitors Act 1974 (as amended).

This requires that

No person shall be qualified to act as a solicitor unless—
    (a) he has been admitted as a solicitor, and
    (b )his name is on the roll, and
    (c) he has in force a certificate issued by the Society in accordance with the provisions of this Part authorising him to practise as a solicitor (in this Act referred to as a “practising certificate”).

https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1974/47/section/1

I can confirm that we have no record of Mr Payne ever having been admitted to the roll of solicitors. He has therefore never been qualified to act as a solicitor in England and Wales.

As we discussed, I can make no comment on whether Mr Payne completed the Law Society’s Final Examination.

Given that we have no jurisdiction over Mr Payne, we will now close our file.

I trust the above is of assistance.

Yours sincerely

David Clare
    Investigation Officer
    Solicitors Regulation Authority
    0121 329 6926
    http://www.sra.org.uk

Date: 21/05/2018 15:21 (GMT+00:00)
    Subject: Report to Barbados Bar Association

Dear Ms Stewart,

Please see below correspondence and attachment sent to the Barbados Bar Association.

Your sincerely,

Julia Lovell
    Team Leader
    Supervision

Sent: 21 April 2018 12:33
    To: ‘admin@barbadosbarassociation.com’ admin@barbadosbarassociation.com
    Subject: Mr George Walton Payne QC

Our ref CDT/1223884-2018

Dear Sirs

Report by Pamela Stewart about Mr George Walton Payne

As you will be aware we are the regulatory body for solicitors in England and Wales.

Ms Stewart has brought to our attention the profile of Mr Payne, a copy of which is attached. Ms Stewart enquired if we had a record of Mr Payne being a qualified solicitor in England and Wales.

We have confirmed to her that we have no record of Mr Payne ever having been admitted to the roll of solicitors. As such he is not a qualified solicitor in this jurisdiction by virtue of section 1 of the Solicitors Act 1974 (as amended) https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1974/47/section/1

We have also confirmed to Ms Stewart that we have no jurisdiction over Mr Payne and that we will be taking no action other than to make your agency aware of the position.

Yours sincerely

David Clare
    Investigation Officer
    0121 329 6926

This email, and any attachment, is intended for the attention of the addressee only. Its unauthorised use, disclosure, storage or copying is not permitted. If you are not the intended recipient, please destroy all copies and inform the sender by return email and send a copy to postmaster@sra.org.uk. Thank you for your co-operation. Please note the author of this email is not authorised to conclude any contract on behalf of the Solicitors Regulation Authority by email.

3. Life in Barbados has most certainly gone backward under the corrupt and incompetent Fumble – shiite was always confined to ignorant politicians like him, not floating in the streets.

4. If (when) the DLP is defeated, who will challenge Stuart for leadership of the party?

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

No one can trust a prime minister and lawyer who blatantly and publicly ignored a Judge’s decision, in the case of Justice Cornelius ordering the ex speaker of the house michael carrington, to return money and property he deliberately withheld from his over 70 year old, wheelchair bound client for over a decade, waiting for the elderly man to die…by tellig this well known dishonest lawyer…to get a lawyer even after the judge had made a decision that carrington return the man’s belongings…all in an attempt to prolong the agony of this disabled senior citizen and deprive him of his money and property, as is the norm with lawyers on the island.

Fruendolittle obviously has no respect for the judiciary or for the judges and their decisions in Barbados, he will hardly have any respect for the CCJ..and their fair and balanced dispensation of justice…..since he cannot even accept his own local court’s decisions unless they are unfairing local citizen,s stealing from them and destroying their lives..

The island does not need a prime minister or ministers who lack ethics and a moral core.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Speaking of ethics and moral cores, if this is true and the letter to the bar association is dated only yesterday, then all the political candidates claiming to be qualified lawyers registered in UK or anywhere, and even the lawyers who are not politicians….who have been haunting and destroying the judiciary and terrorizing the lives of the citizens for decades, must all be checked out via background checks into their qualifications.

Apparently Payne has claimed in his online profile, which has since been removed, to be a registered solicitor with England and Wakes for decades, but they can find no evidence of such.

This is the caliber of nuisance politicians infesting both archaic political parties…and its normal for bar association and the disciplinary committee to do nothing about their fraud members.,

“From: Julia Lovell Julia.Lovell@sra.org.uk
    Date: 21/05/2018 15:21 (GMT+00:00)
    Subject: Report to Barbados Bar Association

Dear Ms Stewart,

Please see below correspondence and attachment sent to the Barbados Bar Association.

Your sincerely,

Julia Lovell
    Team Leader
    Supervision

Sent: 21 April 2018 12:33
    To: ‘admin@barbadosbarassociation.com’ admin@barbadosbarassociation.com
    Subject: Mr George Walton Payne QC

Our ref CDT/1223884-2018

Dear Sirs

Report by Pamela Stewart about Mr George Walton Payne

As you will be aware we are the regulatory body for solicitors in England and Wales.

Ms Stewart has brought to our attention the profile of Mr Payne, a copy of which is attached. Ms Stewart enquired if we had a record of Mr Payne being a qualified solicitor in England and Wales.

We have confirmed to her that we have no record of Mr Payne ever having been admitted to the roll of solicitors. As such he is not a qualified solicitor in this jurisdiction by virtue of section 1 of the Solicitors Act 1974 (as amended) https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1974/47/section/1

We have also confirmed to Ms Stewart that we have no jurisdiction over Mr Payne and that we will be taking no action other than to make your agency aware of the position.

Yours sincerely

David Clare
    Investigation Officer
    Solicitors Regulation Authority”

7. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well well

You now wake up ?

Check out the info on Mia Mottley also !

You would be delighted that she & George Payne in the same boat .

Crooks masquerading in SILK ( a.k.a ) QC !

But jail fuh them very soon …..,

8. Fractured yardfowl – yuh mention jail – better hope yuh bought yuh ticket outa de islan’ already.

9. Fractured Fowl..you know well enough that this is the only time the political cabal turn on each other, during an election when parliament, money and exposure to scams against the people are up for grabs…..

…., you know well enough that Michael Carrington and the whole fraternity of rats from the bar association have known about George Payne for decades, but only election time they turn on each other and after election turn on the people who elected them…as one unit and political cabal, like the snakes they all are…ya are not fooling anyone.

Payne’s law firm represented Carrington’s victim Michael Griffith and will cost Carrington his seat, that is the only reason we are hearing about Payne and his lie, because Carrington could not thief the old man’s property and the man refused to die…….revenge is the only driver here…all yall are frauds.

10. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart holding licks on the regional front for his comments.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/remove-options-to-leave-ccj-says-chuck_133734?profile=1373

11. “Chuck told the Jamaica Observer after the meeting that his view has always been that a member country should only be able to withdraw without a referendum decision, otherwise member countries would use the option as a threat to seek favourable decisions from the court”

Fruendolittle is also a very strong supporter of judicial corruption…so he would not like the Supreme Court being told it’s too slow in handing down judgements and that the whole process is compromised and should be fixed by the CCJ, he would not like that one little bit, we only have to refer to the carrington theft case for an example of his being angry at an unfavourable decision from a judge in his own local Supreme Court .

the dude is right, no prime minister should decide he wants to pull a whole country out from the CCJ’s fair and balanced appellate decisions because he don’t like the results..and even when they pull out through referenda, they should never be allowed back in again.

12. The continued ignorance masquerading as political campaigning is embarrassing. Here we are again with the claim that an individual is not qualified to practice law. The accusers, however, have not set out the requirements for a person to practice as a Solicitor in Bdos at the time GP got admitted to the Bar. A real RH circus fuh trute.

13. The note from UK did reiterate that they could not ascertain if Payne had taken some final exam, the issue here maybe he misrepresented his status as a solicitor registered to practice in Wales and UK…I bet it never entered those who inquired to dig a little further…they may even get more dirt..lol

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP May 22, 2018 5:48
    “Check out the info on Mia Mottley also !
    You would be delighted that she & George Payne in the same boat .
    Crooks masquerading in SILK ( a.k.a ) QC !
    But jail fuh them very soon …..,”

At least the other side of your despised BLP triumvirate Edmund Hinkson does have an LEC (unlike the other two) and is a fit and proper candidate to plead cases before the CCJ from which your jackass for a boss would like to see shut down.

How the heck can that braying donkey- stricken by a spike in his diabetes mellitus put his smelly political foot into his big electoral mouth and talk about the DLP giving Barbados 51 years of Independence from British colonialism and being on the road to republicanism to be a major player within a wide Caricom framework while, from another side of his twisted mouth, talk about destroying that fledgling regional institution of Justice which clearly is needed to underpin and to reflect those same goals?

Do you really feel those so-called LEC lawyers in the region can make it in the legal field in the UK even though shit has a tendency to float to the top?

What’s the sense of having these so-called lawyers with their Legal Education certification and training from a regional teaching and learning institution if there are no regional halls of justice to promote a regional esprit de corps in that much maligned but still revered field of Law?

Yes, that same regional institution attended by the same braying ‘mis-educated’ fool to be awarded 3 degrees at the Bajan taxpayers’ expense but now finds it politically expedient and selfishly convenient to massage his arrogant ego by threatening to remove the same ladder of success.

BTW, all three of those ‘bogus BLP-quarrelling’ lawyers are registered as lawyers on the 2018 roll and are fit to practice law in Barbados. Why don’t you look to see which names of the QCs (quintessential crooks) do not appear on that list?

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Do you really feel those so-called LEC lawyers in the region can make it in the legal field in the UK even though shit has a tendency to float to the top?

@ Miller, Undoubtedly…and even surpass them!

16. Only if they follow the letter of the law, practice the ethics they learned at law school and are not like too many lawyers on the island (see how fair I am being) who circumvent the law with low class tricks and scams, disadvantage their clients who are not legally savvy and rob the those who are nor aware of what dishonest lawyers are capable of..

17. @ Jeff
    The problem is not the LEC, the personalities ….or even the place.
    It is the SYSTEM.

Transplanted to the UK, the shiitehounds are quickly shown up by a SYSTEM that works on merit, …while the performers are accelerated forward based on the RESULTS that they achieve.

Where would you expect a so-called QC to be in the UK as a lawyer – after being rebuked again and again by the Privy Council as an idiot?

In Barbados, if he is ‘not a leper’, he continues to revel in million dollar government contracts and to present his ugly personage on TV every damn week talking shiite…

Anyway – you don’t answer that one….

18. The client who has been defrauded by George Payne and who contacted the UK Regulatory after being fleeced for 10 years with several properties in Barbados.

Listen to interview of Ms Stewart and her mother an old woman with one leg outlining how they have been defrauded and given the run-around directly by George Payne.

https://zeno-devlab.s3.amazonaws.com/39047/media/597902.mp3

19. Anyone selling smelling salts in St.Andrew gine be out of stock come early Friday morning.🤣🤣

20. Irene must find a way to swing against a strong current.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch May 22, 2018 8:33 AM
    “ Miller, Undoubtedly…and even surpass them!”

Undoubtedly, you cannot be including Carrington on that ‘estimable’ roll of lawyers who can easily transition to the UK legal club without attracting the attention of its ethics committee?

Where is your evidence to make such a grand claim to excellence?
    Certainly, you cannot be looking to the current state of the local judicial system to substantiate your position?

How can you say the region’s legal luminaries are so outstanding and so capable of cutting show while performing on the international legal stage when the same apex of legal performance (CCJ) is vilified and berated by one of its own in the form of PM Stuart?

There is a saying that when your own dog bites you, then you are well and truly bitten.

So what’s up, Jeff? Is PM Stuart onto something or are his “bad-mouthings” of the CCJ nothing more than a simple case of eating too many political sour grapes (or to be more culturally relevant, sour tamarinds)?

22. So Freundel would withdraw from the CCJ and nix any notion of returning to the PC so what gives? Is there a plan B or in the height of the battle he couldn’t come up with one at short notice. I will entertain the thought of a Barbados where the CCJ is no longer relevant but does that mean a made in Barbados solution with lower Courts, Upper Court and Supreme Court of final resolution? While we are going down that road we should jettison the QC designation as that “honour” is not seen as a reflection of judicial prowess or legal accomplishment but as a reward for political toadies, hangers on and friends of whoever is in power.

But! A made in Barbados solution would curtail the ongoing distress that Bajan lawyers suffer at the hands of the CCJ and may even insulate them from some clients when they hold on to their money until the next sap comes along to give them some funds so they can pay off their other client. The Bar Association should be cheering at this possibility.

I can see a trend, stop subscribing to the IMF because we don’t like their analysis of the Bajan economy…..

23. Payne and Marshall have very bad reputations, this mother daughter Stewart family is where the San Jose Charter on the Rights of Older Persons in Latin America and the Caribbean needs to be tested…Barbados is a signatory.

….as soon as a senior citizens reach the age of 60, it is elder abuse to be dragging them around any court system, supreme or otherwise, all such cases should be immediately expedited to alleviate stress on senior citizens., regardless if it’s lawyers, judges, whomever doing the abusing, you abuse the elderly when you drag them around the Supreme Court using the usual fraud they use …and the elderly have a right to sue your ass.

Time to set an example, wicked bitches.

24. “I can see a trend, stop subscribing to the IMF because we don’t like their analysis of the Bajan economy…..”

Sargeant

Perhaps the “trend” began in June 2010, after Moody’s downgraded Barbados’ credit rating from Ba3 to B3…..

………..and Stuart’s response was: “what they say has as much value as what you would see in any garbage dump collected by the Sanitation Services Authority.”

25. There is another senior Barbados lawyer who also clams to have been qualified in the UK. The Law Society also has no record of his having completed the law exams.

26. Enuff

Are you a BLP yardfowl blindfolded and deaf?

This is not who wins a seat.

This is about the truth and ethics.

If Ms. Stewart and her mother are speaking the truth which can easily be investigated then this dodgy individual and Legal practice needs to be dealt with severely and exposed to the public of Barbados irregardless of Party Affiliation.

I have also suffered at the hands of George Walton Payne & Co., and so for me there is a precedence.

After the election I aim also to make my story public which involves several crooked Barbados Attorneys working in collusion with a crooked client to steal assets.

I have no skin in the race as I will not be voting for any Political party.

27. What does it say about Barbadians when the must rely on FOREIGNERS as a final solution for justice ?

Are you saying that you cannot find 20 Lawyers / Judges of unimpeachable character ?

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, we must wish Irene well in her swim against the strong current …not sure how this ‘old’ assault on Payne’s legal bonafides will help that however but so be it.

I wonder tho what she would do about the major brouhaha in her neighboring St. Lucy at the formerly eponymously named parish secondary school.

Violence in schools has been raised repeatedly in this forum and beyond but it seems that this DLP government is absolutely incapable of appreciating the abysmal and grave problems before us.

That incident could have resulted in the deaths of students and teaches….DEATHS. Just as the gun violence in US there have been MULTIPLE incidents at that school (and others) which could have deeply traumatised the lives of several nieces,sisters, brothers, mums and dads of beloved, hardworking teachers and those too of the bullied and battered students.

The violence has a nexus to the off premises drug trade. Of that there is NO doubt as drug lords have children too and beyond that the tiffs at home must find further avenues for power, control and retribution at that captive arena of school.

WHY are teachers and students not given some protection of security guards and even lunchtime patrols from police officers?….. WHY are we treating and exposing our at risk youth to these deeply traumatic events ?….. WHY does any of this make sense to this administration?

Irene needs help yes but moreso our students and teachers…desperately do. Are we waiting for a tragedy in one of our schools before we aggressively address these problems and work as one to bring school truancy, violence and abhorrent behaviour under control!

But for the grace of God that St.Lucy incident could have damped the importance of these elections for many people… so maybe it can reinforce the need for change…our children and teachers’ lives DEMAND it.

29. David
    The lady’s chance was 2008, and she lost by 43 votes; in 2013, the margin was 298 votes. GP got more votes in 2013 than he received in 2003, so I foresee a beating.

30. The issues for St. Andrewans are the water saga that played out with the challenges of the BWA and then there is the simmering Whitehall matter. These two issues have done Irene no favour.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You asked the question “Are you saying that you cannot find 20 Lawyers / Judges of unimpeachable character ?”

It is a question than many BAJANS have had reason to ask while they have been robbed and raped habitually by this prolific disease

But here are a few questions for you Brother Hants

Up there in Canada is there any mechanism through which a public citizen being discommoded by a teifing lawyer has legal recourse?

And once that lawyer is determined to be a teif is there a place of public record where the average citizen can go and research said party’s outstanding judgements?

Do you think that such a system would permit you to reasonably and satisfactorily answer your question?

Why do you feel such an obvious solution has not been implemented in Barbados?

Do you not think it is time that a Conflict of Interest Register be established to ensure that one lawyer at Farmer and Gotten a is representing the plaintiff and another of the same partners at the same firm is representing the defendant?

Don’t you think that there should be a way that you as a client have access to a Due Diligence Register where you can see that it took Freundal Stuart 25 years as the lawyer for the late Antoinette Thompson to fumble round wigh her estate documents and never get her estate probated?

I sorry for all these questions

By the way you realise that thus Blogger George Braithwaite has like Heather Cole?

He tek all uh whu The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch said about a week ago, IN 500 WORDS, and boil um over and present um here, IN 6,000 WORDS as he ideas.

Steupseee

32. @ Hants

Finding honest Lawyers in Barbados is like finding honest Politicians or honest Police in Barbados and looking for a needle in a haystack.

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a submission

On this Irene topic de ole man would only say NOT ONE RH SEAT lest they sneak back in by pity votes

Leh she go home so no one can rob her in her car again

Let all of them go home for 25 years

34. Dead @ pieceuhderock 🤣🤣🤣

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff

Lololol

You said and I quote “Dead @ pieceuhderock 🤣”

Did you mean to say ” pieceuhderockyeahright is dead?” Lolol not yet but good things come to those who wait lolol

OR “piece of pieceuhderockyeahright is dead” to whichin de ole man would also respond “Not yet, heheheheheh it is quite fine notwithstanding (and I ent lying pun it nor it on me whuloss)

OR did your fingers slip and you meant to say “Dead Right?

All is good wid me Enuff, irrespective of the your meaning. Lolol

We get too caught up in our importance sometimes and miss much of That Which Truly Matters and appreciate it even less

36. @ Hants
    What does it say about Barbadians when the must rely on FOREIGNERS as a final solution for justice ?

Answer: Brass bowls

Are you saying that you cannot find 20 Lawyers / Judges of unimpeachable character ?

Answer: Twenty shiite!!! ..Not even three.
    There were three
    One died
    One does not practise.

37. What is wrong with our PM stating that Barbados will withdraw from the Caribbean Court of Justice? Jamaica not a member benefited from that court with the Shanique Myrie case. Now this elections case as well as the other cases that went against Barbados.
    Prime Minister Stuart do not only withdraw from that Kangaroo Court, but also withdraw from CSME.CSME is more detrimental to Barbados than any benefits that can be derived.
    It is incredible that Jamaica is not a member of the court but they minister can be criticizing Stuart for his suggestion.What weird politics been practice in the Caribbean.

38. Perhaps the question is simply ‘What is wrong with our PM….?’
    Period!!

The Eager 11 thought they had the answer
    …but some shiite like it was wrong with them too….

39. David BU

I read the link…..this is one of the comments to the article:

“jamessakku noshel • a day ago: This whole CCJ matter could be resolved immediately by installing white judges on the court. Mr. Stuart himself would gladly accept their decisions, even if those decisions remained the same as the current court’s rulings. Fact is, the white man is god and the region, especially the Bajans, are devoutly religious supplicants who will never offend and will always appease their Lord and Master, the white man!”

40. @Artax

This is a red herring issue being dragged across the trail by Stuart again. All that it has done is to dim the light on Barbados at the regional level.

41. @piece
    He tek all uh whu The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch said about a week ago, IN 500 WORDS, and boil um over and present um here, IN 6,000 WORDS as he ideas
    De man is a PHD dat gotta count for something, but I don’t know how long you have been on these pages but there was a time when Caswell produced evidence that he was Mia’s water boy/ errand boy/gofer. Now I wonder why David lets him get away as a self- styled “political consultant” but on the internet one can be anything they want to be.

42. My apologies i forgetbthe age. “Dead @” simply means dying with laughter at.🤣🤣

43. David BU

I agree with your assessment.

If we were to follow his logic……… then Stuart should be equally upset at the fact that Barbados is financing the operations of LIAT and subsidizing air fare, at the expense of Barbadian tax payers, and against the background of islands such as Grenada, St. Lucia, Martinique, Guadeloupe, St. Kitts & Nevis, Trinidad & Tobago refusing to invest in the airline……..

……….but demanding more flights and privileges similar to LIAT’s shareholder islands……..

………then Stuart should also promise to sell Barbados’ shareholding if the DLP is re-elected.

Stuart is essentially “pandering to his base.”

44. Negroman
    Wunna too duncey eh! Isn’t Jamaica a member of the original jurisdiction of the CCJ and therefore Myrie had access to the court for her case? Geezus piece man!

45. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Ontario, Canada

“Before you make a complaint to the Law Society, you should try to resolve the problem first. Speak with your lawyer or paralegal about your concerns — most lawyers and paralegals want to solve problems before they become complaints.”

“If your complaint is not resolved after speaking to the lawyer or paralegal, make your complaint to the Law Society as soon as possible.”

http://www.lsuc.on.ca/with.aspx?id=644

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff

You see why I done leh wunna know dat de ole man slow?

You tell de ole man dat once already bout 2? Years ago and me ingrunt self dun forgot it!

Obviously I only just learn lol and using it all over the place

Lol and TH

But de ole man does only use RH after de DLP name or their candidates heheheheh

47. Antigua: Police raid and seize documents from inspector’s home

Officers searched Inspector Ray John’s home for several hours (photo by anonymous source)

(ANTIGUA OBSERVER) – Numerous documents and other items were seized this morning during a three-hour search at the home of Inspector Ray John.

The operation was led by his colleagues from the Criminal Investigations Department, K-9 Unit and other police departments as well as the Office of National Drug and Money Laundering Control Policy.

John, who reported for duty at police headquarters this morning, was taken from his office around 9 a.m. to his Gunthorpes home which was thoroughly searched by officers investigating a passport matter emanating from his nativeland St. Vincent.

After searching his home in his presence and the presence of his mother and other relatives, the police took John back to Police Headquarters where he and his lawyer, John Fuller remained up to the time of this post at 2:15 p.m. today.

John is a senior officer who jumped two ranks up within a year (2015/2016) and later placed 1st runner-up in the 2016 Amalgamated Security Services Ltd (ASSL) Regional Recognition Awards Programme, which sought to honour the ‘Top Caribbean Crime Fighter’ in the region.

But his award was questioned by some of his colleagues and some residents who have accused him of police brutality, including one man who has since sued him.

Some have described him as a “radical” officer.

Two years ago in an interview with OBSERVER media, John said he had his eyes set on becoming a deputy commissioner of police.

https://www.stlucianewsonline.com/antigua-police-raid-and-seize-documents-from-inspectors-home/

48. @ Bush Tea,

You do realise that a lot of Bajan lawyers are honest and hardworking.

They live in the UK, USA and Canada. lol

49. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV and Radio) Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV and Radio)

Sigh….it is more than a red herring…it is a weapon of mass distraction…that mind you it merits discussion but not an issue FOR THIS GENERAL ELECTION!!!..It will not have traction with the MASSES!!!!!! My concern is to this man called Freundel Stuart.a man who happens to hold the office of PM. It is one thing to have respect for him holding the office but Freundel Stuart is the single most thing i dread in Barbados’ politics today ….I also now understand why he does not converse with the public….it is simply painful to listen to him trying to talk in a pseudo intellectual way.
    @ Hal you asked “If (when) the DLP is defeated, who will challenge Stuart for leadership of the party?” i believe there will be multiple challenges….in fact i believed if he did not win the 2013 election he would not have been the opposition leader then. Freundel Stuart is only leader now because no one wants to be the focus of any instability in the party hat would have hurt their chances to win this election….I even heard sometime last year or the year before of a plan to remove him as leader so that the DLP would have a better chance of wining this election…The Eager 11 is only dormant but not dead. It can be said that the 2013 election saved Freundel skin…in terms of leadership of the DLP