The BAPE reacts to leader of the Opposition suggestion to use membrane bioreactor technology to tackle the South Coast Sewage problem –“… these complex infrastructural decisions must not be taken in the heat of political rhetoric, but after careful, deliberate, methodological and professional consideration that is led by our best experts …”

The Barbados Association of Professional Engineers (BAPE) has responded to the BU blogmaster questioning if that association should be the one to inform on the recent suggestion by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to use membrane bioreactor technology to solve the South Coast sewage problem.

BU Blogmaster

Sir, you asked for BAPE’S comment on the matter raised about membrane bio reactor (MBR) technology as an option for use on the South Coast.

The Barbados Association of Professional Engineers is not a functional engineering consultancy. It is the national body that represents the interest of such consultant groups; of individual engineers; and of the engineering profession itself. It is therefore not within BAPE’S remit to engage in the technical specifics of any particular engineering solution – such as the use of membrane bio reactor technology or even options such as secondary or tertiary level sewerage treatment. There are multiple viable and valid options that are available for such solutions.

Our concern is that, in the national interest, these complex infrastructural decisions must not be taken in the heat of political rhetoric, but after careful, deliberate, methodological and professional consideration that is led by our best experts – who truly understand the ramifications of the decisions made.

The original final design choice was a poor compromise that was taken largely on short term political and economic considerations. The lack of an emergency back-up outfall, and the pairing of different pipe systems in a common duct clearly point to this fact.

Now that the inevitable crisis has come, millions of dollars are being assigned to deep injection wells, bypass systems and other expensive fixes, while the environment and economy suffers the bad decisions taken by non experts over 20 years ago.

Recent suggestions, that whole new philosophical approaches such as MBR technology should now be introduced is exactly the kind of thinking that gave us the flawed level one plant in the first place. Clearly these political decisions are well intentioned and genuinely conceived, however we continue to reiterate that the technological world of the 21st century is far too complex and sophisticated for such decisions to be made without full involvement of the experts and even the public, in the various pros and cons, and the justifications for the final choices made.

Unless we establish a new regime for decision-making with respect to national infrastructural projects such as the SCSP, our road and transport network, the water works system and other critical assets, we will only encounter even worse failures. It simply is not possible to successfully conceptualise and manage such complex, large-scale, projects in the absence of professional, dedicated, and transparent management – empowered with full control of the resources needed to follow prescribed construction standards and maintenance schedules.

118 responses to “Barbados Association of Professional Engineers Responds to Mia’s Membrane Bioreactor Recommendation to Solve South Coast Sewage Problem”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

William…..again….Mia would be a fool not to pursue criminal charges against Fruendel and his gang for that level of criminality against the people,…the treasury, the NIS Pension Fund, she will never hear the end of it”.

2. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU

What a tangle web we do weave,when others we try to deceive.( My apology to Shakespeare).

Hind sight is always 20/20.

Were the engineers who worked on these projects members of BAPE?

Do politicians make engineering decisions in this country?

Do we not all make decisions based on the information available to us?

Are we not all playing the Blame Game?

Are we not all limited by financial constraints ?

At this rate soon from now not a man will make a decision; since sooner or later ,he will make a mistake.

What a boring ,boorish world it would be?

May the Lord help us.

What a waste of taxpayers money that was spent on education.

JUST THINKING LOUD.

3. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Well Well and Etc. at 2 :21 PM

We in this country are well aware of the uselessness of commissions of inquiries and law suits to recover wasted public funds. We would be throwing bad money after good money if MIA follows your suggestion.

From where I sit , there is a lot of work for any new administration to do to get this country back on track. That is where all public effort should be directed. The Electorate are not interested in vengeance. We want effective and efficient management of our affairs. Your approach suits the USA. We have limited human and financial resources.

4. Isn’t Grenville Philips an engineer? Where is Solutions solution to the problem?

5. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Prodigal Son at 3:00 PM

Political and economic problems are difficult to solve because we are dealing with humans whose behaviours /reactions are not fixed.
    Engineering problems should be easier to fix in theory. Our experience over the past two years with the South Coast Sewerage system indicates that a mechanical problem is just as difficult to fix.
    If Mia getting so much licks , what would you do with Grenville? Burn him at the stake?
    Grenville II, tell them you will publish your solutions to this particular problem when you form the GOB.

6. Hasn’t Grenville address the issue of the South Coast? He said he would need to see the as built plans and to be included in the information sharing on the issues affecting the plan. It is fair comment.

7. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Tron March 4, 2018 at 2:02 PM “The sewage crisis and braking down of many buses is so typical. How can you expect the local elite to handle international loans, offshore financial statutes, diplomacy, Supreme Court blacklogs and many others complicated things, if they are not able to manage more simpler things like cleaning pipes and repairing gears? Independence and wealth through independence is an illusion like smoke from wead.
    However, I do not wonder. In the past, UWI let everybody pass with a degree. “Nobody left behind”. That must stop. To achieve the same standard as in overseas territories around Barbados, we must forge a new type of barbadian. We need an IQ test as entrance requirement besides school grades and need to sort out at least 50 % of all candidates in each university exam.”

Don’t worry. UWI did not let me pass. LOL!!!
    But it looks as though we need not only IQ tests, but also spelling and grammar tests.
    So that you would not come on the blog and write:

braking when you mean breaking
    blacklogs when you mean backlogs
    wead when you mean weed
    so that you would not write more simpler, when you mean simpler

And please explain to me why you would “sort out at least 50 % of all candidates in each university exam.” when for example 80% of the candidates answered the questions correctly?

8. It is amazing how the past comes back to haunt you.

9. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Prodigal…Grenville is busy trying to gather jesus freaks and mindless idiot sheep to follow vote for him…he dont have the time..for anything else.

Bernard…thats the problem right there..the police and DPP get paid to investigate thefts, corruption and crimes, the Auditor Generals report is available as evidence…there is no need for any commission of inquiry to thief more taxpayers money when all the lawyers are in bed together…

there is an active DPPs office…..minus the late corrupt DPP….and an active police force…and a shitty supreme court…but it exists…

i have not missed the irony and rush to put yardfowls in place…

a new DPP
    appointment of the Commissioner of police
    appointment of a new GG

all political appointments and government supporters…who can still be directed by a new attorney general to investigate that 60 million US dollar theft….presuming any money was paid at all…the company is a scam company owned by scam artists and the ministers are corrupt…dont put anything pass any of them.

according to what is being said…there is no evidence of a money transaction, the sale was not recorded, yet there is a conveyance in the newspapers claiming the sale took place….more than enough grounds for a CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION.

a very good reason why the government should not get one seat.

Fractured Criminal…dufus that.

10. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@William Skinner March 4, 2018 at 5:26 AM “Don’t they understand that the solution is very simple: 1. Divert traffic 2. Close the businesses and pay the workers.Once these two things are done, there will be no more shit in the streets.”

So how is this going to make the seewage go away?

And for how long do you intend to close the businesses, Schools? and homes?

One day?

One week?

One month?

One year?

One decade?

An eternity?

And what about people’s jobs?

And what about people’s love of place? Does that count for nothing?

11. One man gets it…….
    The Miller
    “You are just full of yourself, aren’t you? What “complex large-scale projects” you are talking about which can ever be done in Barbados?

Why don’t you stop thinking of Barbados as some massive place with rivers to be bridged, dams to construct and tunnels to dig through mountains?

You cannot even get your 21×14 miles public transport system (a vital player in any advancement towards greater social and economic gains and productivity) sorted out despite being left a template of functionality by your colonial masters.

Barbados is not the center of this planet; neither does the sun of ‘infrastructure projects’ revolves around it.”

We have become so accustomed to hearing that “we are punching above our weight” that we actually believe we are in a “higher weight class” than what we are in. The only thing that can save us is to give therapy to everyone on the island so that they can see these things as they truly are.

12. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@John March 4, 2018 at 8:34 AM Something is wrong at the IADB …money laundering perhaps, but its behavior is not logical. No bank should lend a bunch of near do wells the amount of money it has and sit by and watch the collapse of the projects into which it has invested its lenders money…unless that was the object from the start! Who are the lenders to the IADB?”
    https://publications.iadb.org/handle/11319/8218
    Inter-American Development Bank Annual Report 2016: The Year in Review

Here you are John. Have fun. It is probably not money laundering, since even the bad guys, or especially the bad guys, expect a reasonable return on their investment.

13. Has anyone checked any of the Central Bank reports to see if and where the proceeds from the sale was accounted? Did it reflect in the foreign reserves?

Did the money even come into Barbados?

I told you all on BU that I saw the little weasel from the BTII cozying up next to Jada in first class recently on a flight from Miami…………..I said to myself I wonder what they are up to …….what deal they just put to together to the the detriment of taxpayers!

14. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

sorted out despite being left a template of functionality by your colonial masters.

actually, Rocklyn, Elite and a few other bus companies were started and successfully operated by Black ambitious people with no university degrees in the 60s and 70s, am sure none of them had CXCs either…

the government took over management of public transportation, the last bus purhase was in 2006 and not one bus has been purchased since this government took over 10 years ago…

all the ministers got a whole load of CXCs and shit degrees, can steal hundreds of millions of dollars, many are lawyers, some doctors and other business people, but not one of them know how to successfully manage a bus service….they do know how to infest it with corruption and bring it to its knees.

hundreds of millions of dollars taxpayerswasted on educating thieves.

15. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@jean March 4, 2018 at 8:52 AM “the joke market, bus covering, et al is so accurate… they are ugly and not functional.

Rule number 1 in architecture is:

According to Frank Lloyd Wright, the greatest American architect ever, and no he did not have a university degree, LOL!!! he dropped out of university because he was better that any of his professors “Form follows function.”

“Form follows function.”

That is the function/usefulness of a space HAS to come first, and then the fancy forms if any can come afterwards.

I know that that TRUTH is taught in BCC’s architectural drafting program. BUT I don’t know if that concept is also taught in its engineering programs and UWI,\’s engineering programs.

So if a ting does not work, it is NOT a good ting, don’t care how pretty and expensive it is.

16. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

And right now the south coast sewage project ent wukking.

17. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

And all spaces, all buildings, all structures MUST be designed to serve human needs, even a dog house, becausin’ if my dog ent happy, I ent happy, and neither are my neighbours.

LOL!!!

And right now the south coast sewage project is not serving the needs of the humans for whom it was intended.

18. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

Spoke to a PS whom I have know since I was <5 last week and was told that the governments (plural) of the day erred in accepting AND implementing the lowest bid for the south coast sewage project. I was told that governments and individuals must be careful when reviewing bids, that in fact the lowest bid is not always the best bid, and that governments (plural) would be better served if they would take the advice of the professional/technical civil servants whom we have educated to be able to make just such decisions.

But as we know economics and politics does tend to interfere with optimum decision making.

19. Miller gets what again?

Barbados is small but dont we have roads to build costing millions? Sewage plants to build costing millions? Possibly overpasses and underpasses to build that will cost millions? And other large projects that require efficient engineering design and monitoring that will add up to millions?

20. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Hal Austin March 4, 2018 at 12:58 PM “I spent an entire professional life fighting against negative forces, the main one being my ethnicity and nationality.”

Sad.

There is nothing wrong with your ethnicity and nationality.

I think that black Bajan men rock.

21. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

am sure Fractured Criminal peed on himself when he realized a couple hours ago that the conveyance for the 4 seasons scam, is now in the public domain.

only this morning he was boasting to me that….all the money is in.....

that conveyance was out there since last night….how bout that…

22. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@William Skinner March 4, 2018 at 1:07 PM “her only advice to her country men was very simple: She once said that men should learn to take a horn.”

We all know that a faithful lifelong marriage is the ideal option for those who choose to marry, but if a marriage is not that, and you can no longer pretend that it is, then Mia’s advice iss not wrong. For surely it is better to take a horn, that to take 25 years at Dodds.

Of course divorce is also an option.

As is permanent separation without divorce.

23. David
    They must be guided by development infrastructure funding studies, and fair, implementable funding mechanisms identified.

Dr.Simple
    Jane Jacobs ain’t had nuh degree either.

24. Dr. Simple Simon March 4, 2018 at 4:58 PM #

Many thanks. You should try being a black professional in the UK – but I am not complaining.

25. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

Please note that I am NOT, repeat NOT in favour of horns.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

“need to see the as built plans”
    good luck. At best, as built drawings, are original plans altered to reflect changes made during construction. Typically, 50% of the mandatory hold back (aka final payment), is contingent upon the supply of these documents. However, many times the construction drawings have so many markings on them, ‘as built’ can be difficult to determine.
    The key is frequently the reports of the Independent QC engineer. They are the most likely to note the variances and changes to what was drawn or specified.

27. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

Degrees are not a necessity of life, if you are naturally gifted, talented and blessed with commonsense and intelligence…..you have everything you need…you become in demand, opportunities look for you…

many geniuses drop out of universities, some never attend, but their contributions to their countries and the world are unparalleled…cannot be easily matched.

28. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well well

Your arguments shows how demented your mind is !!

If according to you , degrees are not necessary, why is Mia Mottley promising free education for Barbadians to UWI from September 2018 ??

You FARTHOLE !!!

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured Criminal…I am nio the one created the shut system, I am just telling you what is documented about naturally talented people who either dropped out of universities or never went…but excelled anyway….something you obviously dont know,

Did Steve Jobs have a degree
    Did Bill gates have one
    Did the 15 year old who dropped out of Bronx Science, created Tumblr and sold it for many millions have one.

I can site many thousands more…

How about your creatives in Barbados, oh I forgot, you destroy them, stagnate and marginalize them, steal their inventions and sell or give it away to minority crooks for bribe money. ..cause yall are too dumb to create or invent…with all ya degrees and CXCs.

Ya should take a look at Nekkid Departure.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP March 4, 2018 at 5:41 PM

The same way Fumble got 3 along with the top brass of the current Cabinet with their worthless output from the paper qualification mill.

But we want to agree with you further.
    For if that is the quality of the output from the UWI what a waste of taxpayers’ money to spend on corrupt incompetent jokers totally bereft of the most important degree in life called Commonsense.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Miller…could you believe these clowns, what the hell kind of sale of 4 seasons was that….they sold the property for amount the same crooks owed the NIS pension fund in loans…60 million US dollars…but where is the money..

I gotta give Nation News their props for investigative journalism..

But the office of the DPP and police are the ones to investigate, when this gang of thieves are thrown out on their asses…never to return.

People are speechless.

32. @BAPE President March 4, 2018 at 9:28 AM #

“Where there is a serious weakness has been in the ongoing failure of local authorities to make this (or any) code mandatory for local construction. BAPE, BIA, and the BNSI have been asking for such action now for decades without any political / legal action being taken.”

The above quote says it ALL, BAPE CODE IS NOT MANDATORY, therefore there is NO CODE.

BARBADOS HAS A RULE FOR EVERYTHING, ENFORCEMENT OF NOTHING. Any self respecting engineer would not promote the Barbados CODE system, period. In most developed countries their engineering associations would terminate their membership for allowing such incompetence.

33. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service March 4, 2018 at 6:11 PM “I gotta give Nation News their props for investigative journalism.”

Looks like the Nation might be hiring some of the brightest and the best.

34. Fractured BLP Avatar

Ah wonder why these 2 BLP doomsayers ( Well well & Miller ) don’t go to their workplace at Westbury Cemetery to keep watch over their ” Dead Predictions ”

• DLP government will be a one term government !!

• DLP government – with a 2 seat majority – after the 2013 General Elections won’t survive 6 months after !!

• The Barbados $$$ will be devalued by 2015 !!

• The Barbados government HAVE to go the IMF before 2017 ends !!

• General Elections must held by December 2017 !!!

And just imagine that these 2 DUPPY WATCHERS ..,,,,,were outfoxed by a DLP that these FARTHOLES…….,claimed to be WEAK & INCOMPETENT !!!

These 2 are really BLP Rat Botsies !!!

Dems AGAIN !!!

35. Note the Nation newspaper front page story comes a week after BU published one of the conveyances.

#steupe

36. Talking Loud Saying Nohing Avatar
    Talking Loud Saying Nohing

BY:
    SIR HENRY FRASER
    Both the wider world and the whole Caribbean are suffering from a crisis of leadership – The Americas from North to South and from Argentina to Venezuela; Britain, the middle East, Korea and much of Africa. World news and Caribbean news items provide a daily diet of crises, corruption or alleged corruption, and confusing claims. Where does the world turn for solutions or role models?……………….

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/columns/things-matter-leadership-leadership-leadership

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David March 4, 2018 at 4:57 PM

What BAPE ought to do is to explain the ‘unprofessional’ behaviour of three of its members in the entire South coast sewerage fiasco now about to become a full-blown economic and public health disaster.

Despite being armed with the hindsight knowledge of the poor design and sub-standard construction of the same sewerage system why did the former BWA GM- himself a high-flying world class engineer- seek to blame vandals and political operatives for the seeping shit although fully briefed by his consultant(s) about the pending disaster?

Why did two of BAPE’s longstanding members- no less in the persons of the MoH & MoT, both highly competent and successful engineers- make asses of themselves by trying to’ swim away’ the sewage by dressing like political clowns in Tintin-like swimsuits while telling naïve Bajans that all was well with the South coast just a minor electrical hitch with the plant which will be rectified, “shortly”, ‘very soon and before the start of the 2017 tourism winter season’?

Why would we want to rely on anything you or your members have to advise regarding the shambolic South coast situation when you took a backseat in the whole Cahill miasma which turned out to be nothing more than a scam to rip off taxpayers?

Let’s bring in the experts instead of relying on you incestuously incompetent lot.
    You can act as the local sidekicks as you usually do anyway where foreign funding is the piper calling the engineering tune.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Noted

39. @Miller

Dont you get the impression that these associations are as effective and visible as who leads them?

40. Fractured BLP Avatar

David BU

How many candidates you entering in the 2018 General Elections ??

If you have money 💰 to burn – you can enter Enuff , Lorenzo, Prodigirl , Artax , Miller and the weaker candidate of the lot Well well !!

The Treasury Department would be glad for their deposits !!!

41. @ David,

You don’t get Government contracts by criticizing the Government.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP March 4, 2018 at 6:20 PM #

Good one, Fcukuptured!

You are getting good with your old wine fermented in the greenhouse at Greenland costing 500 million dollars and stored in the $700 million cellar called Dodds.

Now where would we be win(n)ing and dining at Mia’s expense on the South coast since she is the one being blamed for the disaster?

All the predictions we are making are just the messages passed on through regular séances with the dead king in the St. John Parish Church yard all written on the cursed letterhead “I will never lie, cheat or steal”.

These predictions are made in the same crucible of lies, deceit and propaganda just like the many DLP promises made from 2008 to 2018.

All now marked ‘RIP’; just like your loitering incompetent corrupt administration trying to avoid the grim reaper; just like the dead King tried to do and which not even Rev. Durant the reincarnated Supreme being and raiser of the dead could have kept away.

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dr. Simple…the Nation is following BUs lead, that is an A for effort, and we can recognize that they did some investigative work to find the cockroaches hiding behind the shell company Pharcipicle.

….they would never have done that fine piece of investigative reporting 5 years ago,

44. It should be obvious that some sort of engineering will be done and will be required, but let us not get the notion that every effort is a Herculean task. And the fact that they cost millions seem to come with an element of corruption.

Sometimes, I wonder if overpasses and underpasses are really required or are they taken as a sign of being a nation or as being developed. More symbolic than necessary. Could punching above our weight be a euphemism for doing shit?

I will stop here as a spirit of negativity seem to have overtaken me.
    Carry on!

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured Criminal…why are you so upset, when it’s the taxpayer’s who did not get an accounting of the 60 million US loan to the 4 seasons scam artists…they pension fund.did not get repaid as the Auditor General said….. and the people still have no idea about the sale of 4 seasons or the 60 million dollars US yall allegedly collected from the same 4 seasons scam artists for an over 16 acre property.

I do believe it’s the taxpayer’s should be upset and cussing.

I suppose that money is marked as not accounted for in the report right?

Well cussing is not going to make the money magically appear, it’s been 3 years….

Tick, tock.

I see the nation story said 40 acres sold……did yall thief someone else’s property and sell it to the scam artists.

46. THE DEVELOPERS who came together to build the multimillion-dollar Four Seasons Resort and Private residences ten years ago have dissolved the company.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84904/investors-day

47. ” Building of villas on the $380 million development started. In February 2008, the Four Seasons website proclaimed their adjacent hotel and spa would open in 2009 ”

In 2018, the $60 million site COULD be used for a $500 million hotel / villa project.

48. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well well

Why you don’t remain your cage …..yuh mongrel !

The Government of Barbados took US $ 60 million from the NIS Fund and put in the Four Seasons project ?

It is you & the BLP lies and propaganda tat that have wunnah in opposition !!

Just like wunnah peddled the lies ….Chris Sinckler owns a house in St. George !!

5 more years in wunnah deceitful..,,,FARTHOLES !!!

Keep it up !!!!

49. There is a blog dealing with the NIS.

50. William Skinner Avatar

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service March 4, 2018 at 2:21 PM #
    William…..again….Mia would be a fool not to pursue criminal charges against Fruendel and his gang for that level of criminality against the people,…the treasury, the NIS Pension Fund, she will never hear the end of it”.

Mia Mottley is incapable of cleaning up any corruption. Mottley is part of the problem and should she become prime minister , she would continue to bluff. She has held every important ministry and has been a deputy prime minister forever and has never moved one finger in fourteen years of power to even suggest that she will fight any corruption, inside or out.
    Mottley is the political god child of “uncle Errol”. Mottley was on the verge of joining her “uncle’s” party, when the strategists in the DLP, advised her to run in the constituency she now represents. In other words, she like David Thompson was the chosen one and the Democratic Labour Party big shots ensured her path to Parliament.
    It is common knowledge that Arthur’s preference was Reginald Farley, a bright well centered young man , with all the ability to become an outstanding leader. Arthur had always confided in his close friends , that Mottley’s only ambition was to become the first female PM.
    She is now on the verge of leading this country because within her party , the talent pool is equally limited to that of the Democratic Labour Party.
    No wonder that Arthur is trying his best to ensure she never becomes Prime Minister. Unfortunately her chances are excellent and this means that the same mediocrity now being
    endured by the country because of Freundel Stuart will continue accompanied by the emptiness of Mottley, who continues to be accused by others, as being brilliant.