Heather Cole
Open Letter to:
The Director, Tourism Product Authority
The Director, National Cultural Foundation
The Chief Labour Officer

Dear Sirs,

RE: Cane Piece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey

It is February and it is Black History month. It is the month when black people celebrate the little that we know of Africa, the persons who have paved the way for the rights that we enjoy today and the dignity of our people.

I was therefore horrified when I read an article which was carried in both local newspapers on the 8th of February, 2018. In Barbados Today the title was “From Canepiece to Cask” while in the Nation Newspaper the title was ‘Hard Life on Plantation.’ Both articles were with regards to a production of the Barbados Tourism Product Authority in association with the National Cultural Foundation. The production was entitled “Cane Piece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey.” In the production, several individuals are cast as slaves.

Quoting Barbados Today, the Director of the skit Allison Sealy Smith said the purpose of the re-enactment was “to tell the story of plantation life through the slave’s perspective.” It may have been cute because I was not there to see it but based on the debauchery recorded in the history books; this was nothing more than a distortion of the truth.

In 2016 one Elizabeth Dolson in Brazil had the same brilliant idea of using persons employed as slaves on a plantation in Brazil and it was a tourist attraction.

Just imagine that Barbados is re-opening the gates of hell to descend on us just as it did to our ancestors. Slavery was not pretty. That skit can never repaint it in another colour. It was cruelty to blacks beyond measure and stripped them of their dignity. The slaves were abused, tortured, ravished and worked to death from morning till night on the sugar plantations and lived under conditions not fit for human habitation.

How can we find the sorrowful plight of our ancestors entertaining? Something has to be fundamentally and psychologically wrong if we are going to parade our people under the word “slave” to get a tourist dollar. It is dehumanizing. The entire idea of this is so offensive. It is an affront to every black Barbadian. It was a painful part of our history and no one should be so insensitive as to try to bring it back to life. Some may wish to glory in that former heyday but it no longer has a place in modern Barbados as we are all equal under the law. There are no masters and no slaves.

What is bothersome about this skit is that apart from distorting history it is normalizing slavery and is repackaging it as culture. It is nothing more than labour exploitation disguised. If it is not halted now, it will take root and we may very well find ourselves in a situation similar to Brazil where persons are hired to act as slaves for their employment at a local plantation to the whims and fantasies of the tourist. Slavery was abolished by the Emancipation Act of 1834. It is therefore illegal for anyone to work as a slave; skit or otherwise in Barbados. Does the Chief Labour Officer know that persons were hired to play the roles as slaves?

I am therefore seeking to have the production halted and never again be enacted in Barbados. It is disturbing on so many levels.

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

242 responses to “A Heather Cole Article – Canepiece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey Must be Stopped!”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yes John Liesalot…and who did they learn all that practiced hate from.?

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ya so full of crap with ya idiotic contradictions.., the opposite of self love is self hate…educate thineself.

3. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

” Slave owner compensation was still being paid off by British taxpayers in 2015″

Well, well, well!

https://www.rt.com/uk/418814-slave-compensation-bristol-taxpayer/

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…and these idiots in Barbados produced a skit hiring people to act as slaves although slavery was abolished, while demanding reparations from UK FOR SLAVERY….and expect anyone to take them seriously…damn idiots.. lol

This has to be one for the history books…and titled. ..The Slaves In Barbados Who Never Want To Stop Being Slaves.

5. IMAGINE WHAT LITTLE CHILDREN MUST GO THROUGH TODAY

NOTE WHO ENDORSED THIS NONSENSE

6. Idiots tend to follow idiots, Limbaugh is no exception…

Rush Limbaugh, the idiot did not do too bad where riches are concerned!!

I know this means a lot to many on here so I quote just to rile you all up a little!!

“Limbaugh earned $79 million in 2016, including income from revenue-sharing and stock compensation. His net worth as of April 2017 was $500 million, according to Celebrity Net Worth.Apr 14, 2017”

He broadcasts 3 hours a day, 5 days a week!!!

Not bad for an idiot or imbecile!!

7. He is a university drop out.

http://www.eduinreview.com/blog/2011/04/rush-limbaughs-education-background/

Now he has his own “university”!!

8. Bonn E. Peppa and manwivnoname February 14, 2018 at 1:06 PM #
    This just isn’t working out for you, John.

It does, every day without fail, you can’t imagine how well.

Today I feel like sharing some of the joy and happiness my beliefs bring me!!

So enjoy it while it lasts, tomorrow I might be real busy!

9. THIS IS A POWERFUL MESSAGE
    (2017 – 2018) USA — A NATION BEGGING FOR DESTRUCTION

10. SAME THING HAPPENING IN BARBADOS
    AND WE BAWLING AGAINST THE DEMS?
    WE AINT START TO BAWL YET

11. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service February 14, 2018 at 2:27 PM #
    Yes John Liesalot…and who did they learn all that practiced hate from.?

Here is what I suggest you do.

Look at the glum miserable faces on Bajans today.

The take a trip back in time to say the 1930’s.

That’s a good time because there is a film Bajan faces in existence at Nicholas Abbey.

Look at the demeanor of those person now long dead.

What you will see is happy smiling faces.

There is a joy to living and a contentment and hope that is difficult to miss.

Sometime between the 1930’s and now something major went wrong!!

12. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

you mean the 1930s when they had the riots because of slave wages, when people could not eat nor feed their amilies..

aka the 1937 riots..

i dont need to, its well documented…i do not live in a bubble..

see fuh yaself.

On July 26, 1937, social unrest erupted in Bridgetown. Intensifying on July 27, it soon spread to some rural districts. Known as the 1937 Labour rebellion, these events ushered in a period of socio-political change that culminated in the attainment of independence on November 30, 1966.Aug 24, 2012

13. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

when Black people could not eat nor feed their families..

14. @ John
    Based on how you write about slavery one will immediately “get the impression” that you are pro slavery.
    Have you ever come across the term “drapetomania” and it’s implication on black people?

If not, then you are definitely a sick bastard.

15. drapetomania

Never heard of it.

… but I have heard of the “Miasma theory”!!!

Long since discredited

16. @ John
    Based on how you write about slavery one will immediately “get the impression” that you are pro slavery.

… not really, it is financially unsound.

However I am aware of the fact that it was in use for millennia … until the Quakers came along.

17. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service February 14, 2018 at 6:17 PM #
    you mean the 1930s when they had the riots because of slave wages, when people could not eat nor feed their amilies..
    aka the 1937 riots..
    i dont need to, its well documented…i do not live in a bubble..
    see fuh yaself.
    On July 26, 1937, social unrest erupted in Bridgetown. Intensifying on July 27, it soon spread to some rural districts. Known as the 1937 Labour rebellion, these events ushered in a period of socio-political change that culminated in the attainment of independence on November 30, 1966.Aug 24, 2012

Which begs the question, why the smiles on the people?

BTW, slaves got no wages, just food housing clothing and free medical attention.

18. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

ah guess Liesalot is one sick bastard..lol

19. Parents were married and so far, knock wood, I am in good health!!

20. Which begs the question, why the smiles on the people?

But the most difficult one to explain is why Bajans volunteered and died in WWII

EWB was one.

https://www.caribbeanaircrew-ww2.com/?p=394

Look at the smiles!!

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Parents being married or not has nothing to do with you being a psychological damaged and very sick bastard, told you already I am not interested in the nonsense links you search out and post.

I have never ever opened one of yours, GPs, as long as it was not medical, Zoe’s and a few other crazy people’s links on BU..

My time is valuable and should be treated accordingly.

22. Those 12 volunteers, left Barbados after the Battle of Britain had been won to make up the numbers of lost pilots in the RAF..

The entered into “the valley of the shadow of death” but they did so cheerfully and with confidence and assurance because they were raised in an era when God was important.

Six of those smiling, confident expectant faces never returned.

Their mortal remains are buried all over England and Europe.

This was at the end of the 1930’s when supposedly, we should not be seeing such confidence and exuberance expressed on the smiling faces of young men.

I think the 1937 riots were made out to be that they never were ….. kind of like Bussa.

The real Barbados was very different.

23. Parents being married or not has nothing to do with you being a psychological damaged and very sick bastard, told you already I am not interested in the nonsense links you search out and post.

You have an over inflated view of yourself!!

Some would say it is a psychological defect but not me.

I think it has more to do with the era in which you were raised and the mental conditioning going around at the time.

People far saner than you were impacted similarly!!

24. I have never ever opened one of yours, GPs, as long as it was not medical, Zoe’s and a few other crazy people’s links on BU..

Ok, since you didn’t look, let me tell you that the smiling, confident expectant faces were mostly black!!

…. and the people did not look like starving people!!

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yeah…and I will believe John Liesalots…modern day slaves smile a lot too.

And the flaw in your analysis is…I am not mentally deranged, i see reality for what it is, react accordingly and am not the one trying to reenslave the majority Black population in Barbados or trying to convince them that because their ancestors were criminally enslaved by enslaver countries, that they should voluntarily allow themselves to be enslaved to enrich lazy ass, greedy ass, semi literate, mediocre white minorities on the island, who are the the descendants of criminals and indentured servants.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 15, 2018 at 12:47 AM

Sir John, what’s up these days with your Quaker whitewashing propaganda about the halcyon days of slavery in Barbados?

Are you ashamed of your Quaker past since Benjamin Lay’s biographer exposed you lying lot for what you really were?

Just another gang of slave-owning abusers and tall tale biblical spinners in cahoots with the local sugar barons!

“From Colchester he went to Barbados with his wife Sarah Smith, also a Quaker and a dwarf, to open a general store, but his experience “was a nightmare”.

“It was the leading slave society of the world,” said his biographer. “He saw slaves starved to death, he saw them beaten to death and tortured to death, and he was horrified,”

The Quaker spoke out against the plantation owners and, angered, they told him to leave.”

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot is a criminally deranged sociopath, who should be locked in a dungeon, far, far away from any Black population.

Ah told yall to chase these racist demons out from Barbados, there are not a lot if them, it can be done systematically….if they cant behave and leave the majority population alone, rid the island of them once and for all.

They are working on the weakest link, by design, the mentally weak and intellectually impaired, brainwashed present black leaders….to reverse the freedoms of the Black population.

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

For BUs resident trumpturds and Obama haters…lol

“BLAME IS HERE: LOSER bozo45 his PARASITE CABINET For those of you that want a TOTAL OF THESE BRIBED GOP Representative’s $35,082,190.00 MILLION, Which I’m certain is a DROP IN BUCKET FOR THESE NRA BILLIONAIRE’S and of course THE LIVING DON’T MATTER, just like LOSER bozo45’s plans to CUT ALL PROGRAMS FOR We The People! AMERICA YOU DON’T MATTER TO WHO’S RUNNING THE COUNTRY! Time to WAKE UP!!!NRA PAYMENT’S TO REPRESENTATIVE’S

Richar Burr $6,986.620
    Bill Cassidy $2,861.047
    Rob Portman $3,061,941
    Thom Tillis $4,418,012
    Cory Gardner $3,879,064
    Joni Ernst $3,124,273
    Roy Blunt $4,551.146
    Todd Young $2,896,732
    Marco Rubio $3,303,355
    Joni Ernst R $3,124,237 HeartLESS bitch is TWO FACE, VOTE HER OUT!”

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Exposing the lies and nastiness of John Liesalot…

Coming directly from the great Federick Douglass…who would know the malicious actions of slaveholders.

“Douglass makes it a point to nail the boastful lie put out by slaveholders – one that persists to this day – that “their slaves enjoy more of the physical comforts of life than the peasantry of any country in the world.”

“But if deprivation was one form of control, a far more insidious and malicious one was the annual Christmas holidays, where gluttony and binge drinking was almost mandatory. During those six days, the enslaved could do what they chose, and while a few spent time with distant family or hunting or working on their homes, most were happy to engage in playing sports, “fiddling, dancing, and drinking whiskey; and this latter mode of spending the time was by far the most agreeable to the feelings of our masters. … It was deemed a disgrace not to get drunk at Christmas.” To encourage whiskey benders, the “masters” took bets to see who could drink the most whiskey, thus “getting whole multitudes to drink to excess.”

Frederick Douglass, circa 1879.
    George Warren/National Archives

“The nefarious aim of these revels was to equate dissipation with liberty. At the end of the holidays, sickened by the excessive alcohol, the hungover men felt “that we had almost as well be slaves to man as to rum.” And so, Douglass wrote, “we staggered up from the filth of our wallowing, took a long breath, and marched to the field – feeling, upon the whole, rather glad to go, from what our master had deceived us into a belief was freedom, back to the arms of slavery.”

“Douglass sounds even angrier at these obligatory orgies – he calls them “part and parcel of the gross fraud, wrong, and inhumanity of slavery” – than at other, more direct forms of cruelty.

“It was a form of bread and circus,” says Opie. “Slaves were also given intoxicated drinks, so they would have little time to think of escaping. If you didn’t take it, you were considered ungrateful. It was a form of social control.”

30. Coming directly from the great Federick Douglass…who would know the malicious actions of slaveholders.

Frederick Douglass was born in 1818 and lived in America.

Clearly he could not have been speaking about slavery in Barbados because it had been abolished before he became a man!!

It was over by the time he was 16!!

31. … oh, poor baby!!

32. Benjamin Lay lived in Barbados for 13 years between 1718 and 1731.

100 years after he left, the slave population was about 80,000, almost twice as much as when he was here.

I think we can rule out starvation from the equation!!

33. … the rapid increase in the population is the key reason why slavery could never yield sustained profits.

The profits would have been eaten!!

34. Theophilius GAzerts Avatar
    Theophilius GAzerts

On some matters, discussions with John are a complete waste of time.

35. Facts are difficult to deal with!!

36. “Facts are stubborn things; and whatever may be our wishes, our inclinations, or the dictates of our passions, they cannot alter the state of facts and evidence.”

Read more at: https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/john_adams_134175

37. John February 16, 2018 at 2:09 AM #

You are bringing some useful empirical data to the website, keep up the good work. What information do you have on women who owned plantations? People like Ann Trotman, Mary Skeete, Ann St John Adams, Marie Ann Worrell, Margaret Ann Simpson, and numerous others? How did this impact on the plantation economy?

38. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot is exactly that, I posted only couple exerpts from the journal, i did not post every experience Douglass had as a slave, he was there in that era with the horror, Liesalot wasnt….and he ran with that, with his ill informed hypocrisy and lies..

….dont have to waste time on that idiot, just have to continually expose him with truth, liars dont like the truth, they just go searching for more lies to cover up the truth…lol

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

John, facts are NEVER hard to deal with for people on integrity. One confronts the reality and address the circumstances fully making practical modifications as required to improve a bad situation.

You as said by one critic “need help”. You cite basic facts and dress them in your rather disturbing interpretations pretending that you have established more facts…you have done no such thing. Simply stated the best description of many of your remarks is ‘alternative facts’: a euphemism for dissembling, very imprecise commentary.

By your own words one sees your blunt dishonesty on the issue of slavery.

You quoted : ” the rapid increase in the population is the key reason why slavery could never yield sustained profits….The profits would have been eaten!”

Apparently you find is funny that human beings were forced to perform work to the benefit of others who could not make profits because these happy smiling folks procreated so wantonly that their food consumption ‘ate the profits”.

You are indeed a sick puppy.

I am glad that @ Hal has still found great use for your research skills…

40. Hal Austin February 16, 2018 at 3:56 AM #
    John February 16, 2018 at 2:09 AM #
    You are bringing some useful empirical data to the website, keep up the good work. What information do you have on women who owned plantations? People like Ann Trotman, Mary Skeete, Ann St John Adams, Marie Ann Worrell, Margaret Ann Simpson, and numerous others? How did this impact on the plantation economy?

Pretty sure I have seen a book on the topic … will have to rack my brain.

If I don’t have a copy someone sent me a link years ago I will research.

Once you realise that women and men were considered equals in the Quaker faith you easily get to the fact that women were involved in the business aspect of the day.

Besides the fact that Quakers did not see the need for a priest and some were always in trouble for not paying their church dues, it was with some abhorrence that they were viewed because of their espousal of equality of the sexes.

They believed that God’s Light was present in all mankind so even children were treated accordingly.

Small wonder they are responsible for the abolition of slavery.

As Quaker numbers dwindled in Barbados their property was managed by the few remaining ones.

I have come across the names Widow Connell and Widow Gibson in the 1760’s or thereabouts.

All the family names you mention above I found to have been Quaker.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 15, 2018 at 8:53 PM
    “Benjamin Lay lived in Barbados for 13 years between 1718 and 1731.
    100 years after he left, the slave population was about 80,000, almost twice as much as when he was here.
    I think we can rule out starvation from the equation!!”

So Sir John, are you that bold as to look into the mirror and call Benjamin Lay and his biographer ‘strangers to the truth’ by purposely distorting the ‘facts’ of slavery in Barbados?

What dirty lengths would you go to create ‘alternative’ facts reflecting your own image of racist propaganda?

What next do you have on your menu of bullshit propaganda? That the findings of the Moyne Commission 100 years after the so-called emancipation of slavery in Barbados were figments of their communist-inspired imaginations?

We would never downplay the role played by the Quaker branch of your ancestral family tree in the fight for the abolition of slavery early in the trenches and later on the open fields after it became economically unsustainable with the advent of the industrial age.

However, we just cannot accept carte blanche your angelic-like Joan of Arc picture painted in their memory of fighting the Christian war against slavery to make Boudica look like the Virgin Mary.

42. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Anti-Slavery_Convention

Here you will see the participation by women in the first world anti slavery conference was an issue.

“The World Anti-Slavery Convention met for the first time at Exeter Hall in London, on 12–23 June 1840.[2] It was organised by the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society, largely on the initiative of the English Quaker Joseph Sturge.[2][3] The exclusion of women from the convention had important ramifications for the women’s suffrage movement in the United States.[4]”

“The circular message, distributed in 1839 provoked a controversial response from American opponents of slavery. The Garrisonian faction supported the participation of women in the anti-slavery movement. They were opposed by the supporters of Lewis Tappan. When the latter group sent a message to the BFASS opposing the inclusion of women, a second circular was issued in February 1840 which explicitly stated that the meeting was limited to “gentlemen”.[2]”

“Despite an earlier statement that women would not be admitted, seven female abolitionists, including Lucretia Mott and Lady Byron, appeared at the World Anti-Slavery Convention in London. Wendell Phillips proposed that female delegates should be admitted, and much of the first day of the convention was devoted to discussing whether they should be allowed to participate.[2] ”

Full equality for women took time but like the abolition of slavery, it originates from Quaker thinking.

Incidentally, you will see the image of Samuel Jackman Prescod who also attended.

Was he a Quaker too??

43. SJPP …. Jackman … definitely Quaker

Hinds, Quaker too!!

Prescod, probably but would need to check.

SJPP is a product of Quaker thought!!

44. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot got his little slave followers on BU…at least 2 of them Miller, reading all his junk and begging for more……lol

45. it is noteworthy that NO ONE reads YOUR junk and begs for more….ah lie?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 16, 2018 at 8:05 AM
    “Besides the fact that Quakers did not see the need for a priest and some were always in trouble for not paying their church dues, it was with some abhorrence that they were viewed because of their espousal of equality of the sexes.
    They believed that God’s Light was present in all mankind so even children were treated accordingly.
    Small wonder they are responsible for the abolition of slavery.”

Well done Sir John you are coming into the ‘Light’ of spiritual understanding and not with your usual fairy tales of white lies and religious mumbo jumbo.

The question which remains to be answered is who or what is this “God” whose ‘Light is present in all mankind’?

Is this the same Light which shines today in Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, Sikhs, Shintos, Taoists, Jains, and even black Jews calling themselves Rastas?

Is this the same Light of Ra which shone in Egyptians, Zoroastrians, Hebrews, Greeks Romans and all other pagans on Gaia too?

No please, for JHC sake, please don’t tell us about your white Jesus being the black man’s god made in his image.

You could as well give your ‘copied’ religion a facelift of a bit of credence by iconoclastically cleansing your shrines of misleading ideology and idolatry and replace your graven images of your white god with those painted in colours that absorb the same Light instead of rejecting it.

For every ray of ‘Sunshine Sunny Sunshine’ (SSS Enlightenment) there is a catcher, even a ‘black’ religious brainwashed nutter like Dr. GP or his sidekick Zoe (the python which swallowed a whole jackass and now suffering from heart congestion) or even a half-baked one like you, slavishly sunbathing in the warmth and beauty of Our God reminiscing about the good old days of ‘white’ Christian-inspired slavery when God went to sleep for 400 years while a biblical load of child-like folly was offloaded on his fully-baked favourite children.

So to end this epistle of true Christian enlightenment, here are a couple of quotes from an inspiring elder of John Quincy Adams who accepted, in principle- even if not putting it into practice- the advice to: “Always vote for principle, though you may vote alone, and you may cherish the sweetest reflection that your vote is never lost”.

“The whole religious complexion of the modern world is due to the absence from Jerusalem of a lunatic asylum.” ~Thomas Paine

“The Christian religion is a parody on the worship of the sun, in which they put a man called Christ in the place of the sun, and pay him the adoration originally payed to the sun.” ~Thomas Paine

“The World is my country, all mankind are my brethren, and to do good is my religion.” ~Thomas Paine

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Obviously you do GP….what do you think about the gun laws Obama put in place to protect innocent people from murderous, disturbed hatefilled trumpanzees that you were boasting just this week that trumpturd rolled back and now 17 ppeople are dead because of it….1 Asian and 16 whites….what do you think about that now, let’s hear more boasting from you. .lol.

48. Jeremiah 17:9
    “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?”

17 people are dead because a SINFUL 19 YEAR OLD KILLED THEM AND BECAUSE HIS “EVIL HEART WAS DARKENED”!

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“The teenage gunman charged with unleashing one of America’s worst school shootings had been trained by a white supremacist paramilitary group. According to one of the group’s leaders, Cruz trained with Republic of Florida, which campaigns for a “white ethno-state”.

Jordan Jereb said Cruz had probably relied on his training to carry out the attack”

Stop lying GP….yall are always responsible for your own demise with your stupidity, there are millions more like him who are members of hate groups and trump supporters, now fully armed and ready to murder anyone because trumpturd reverse the Obama law, they will even murder dumb trump supporters like themselves, no one is safe.

All the talk i know ya scared shitless to leave ya Florida home with so many millions of trumpturd terrorists armed and waiting for you,….good luck…hope I dont read about you as a statistic of trump rolling back and reversing Obama’s laws..lol

Ya cannot delude yaself as much as you want, but you wont be able to run, nor hide, that is what happens when yall support, enable and condone evil while pretending to be christians, it always finds a way of returning to bite you.