The following communication was brought to the attention of the BU blogmaster by the Administrator of Facebook page Social Education and Accountability in Barbados.

–NB: This was going to [be] posted last Monday. However there was so much noise on the topic that the concern was that it would be lost in the fog.–

Our aim is to attain accurate information with minimal political rhetoric, preferably from source to reduce concerning levels of misinformation being propagated as fact.

We need to accurately identify those responsible for the failings of Sewerage System and hold them accountable in adherence to the Group’s principles of good governance, participation, transparency, accountability and prediction. There will be a time for accountability. Currently we require participation and transparency.

During a meeting with the BHTA on Friday January 26 2018, I commended the GM Mr Keithroy Halliday for taking the lead, providing key information about the problem and quelling much of the misinformation being spread locally and now internationally.

I reminded him of Principle 10 of the Rio Accord of which Barbados is party. This primarily states that the community/citizenry must be included and be participatory to any discussion on matters relating to the Environment. Accordingly I reiterated that the 285,000 of us are part of his team. We are not adversaries to the BWA. We are not interested in blame or what has gone on in the past. There will be a time for that. We are interested in the current situation and how can we help! What are the issues? How long will we have to endure?

I found Mr. Halliday to be genuine and forthright. He earned my utmost respect.

As a consequence please note the following messages from the GM of the BWA and one from the acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Anton Best

COMMENTS BY Mr Keithroy Halliday GM of BWA

โ€œI hope that by being as transparent and as open as we can be, however cautiously at times, that we can get that Trust.

โ€œI rarely comment openly on fb on these matters but loose speculation without facts and the propagation of misinformation will forever be our damnation. Chlorination increase in the treatment of water supplies to the south coast was done out of an abundance of caution when the sewerage overflows increased and the discovery of breaches in the system was suspected. This is in the most unlikely event that we have a burst pipe/main that results in the influx/draw of water other than treated water into the mains. There is nothing in the least suspicious or hidden about that. Under my watch, there has not and will be no deliberate deflection of information. We have been presenting the facts as clearly and as honestly as understood but in fairness, we are now using the offices of GIS to ensure better dissemination of the information that the BWA been sharing for the past while. For several of the residences tested, they actually have independent mains supply and none are the recipient of potable water from the mains supplying or are even located in the direct catchment area of the south coast where the breaches and fractures are evident. The bacteria could not be determined because neither the BWA or EPD or MOH who have such lab facilities or access to such lab facilities were involved in the process sufficiently early and the [US] Embassy testing only provided very non-specific details but the BWA records demonstrate that our potable water testing in the areas where the embassy tested the water at those US Embassy residences, even as recently as this week is SAFE.

The information from our health officials , ministry of foreign affairs and the BWA through myself has been accurate. Discussion is healthy and should keep those in Authority rightfully on our toes but we must be doubly responsible about our remarks when our health and economy is at stake. In repeating, statements made before and during several discussions, the BWA conducts tests on fifty samples weekly. This was particularly augmented by over 100 tests since December 2017 in addition to near shore water testing. Our tests are rigid and rejected if the protocol has strictly not been observed and fresh samples always immediately redone if there is a failure in result or suspected protocol breach. Based on advices the BWA has never had a failure rate on retesting. We have had fluctuation in levels from time to time but these are never cause of concern, being within satisfactory levels. When visiting properties, testing can never be done in isolation, the point of source or even entry must be tested and compared to tests done on properties and particularly those with water storage capacities or properties that have not been fully occupied for a while or even properties that plumbing was done on. In the latter cases, sometime pseudomonas species is discovered to be a typical bacteria of note as they can grow in stagnant and tank waters. I go further..for clarification we have agreed with the embassy to a regime where simultaneous samples will be take. For all of their 68 properties in addition to the ones already tested.. test at source and on property. Once must test BWA potable water at well sources and on properties, and throughout the distribution system then we can draw conclusions. The Embassy Health Alert to its employees was more detailed that that to the public and in that context as indicated by them was done under the clear direction of their Washington office out of an abundance of caution as would obtain for any other jurisdiction for the slightest of risk.

They only tested 5 for which 4 showed elevated levels of bacteria. All properties have tanks and are not in the area of concern and neither are they connected to the same shared mains.

The announcement/advisory was done at 6 pm on Thursday night. It would be foolhardy to jump and denounce without checks being done; firstly did the BWA have any compromised results recently? Secondly were we (BWA/other affected agencies) a part of the process? Thirdly who were the impacted ministries besides the public that needed to weigh in and give their findings (testing is also done by epd and MOH), fourthly: were we all using the same protocols, same labs, both testing on property and at source? Fifthly – when were the tests done and did ours confirm, sixthly it is our responsibility to ensure that the nature of the results were understood as in the unlikely event pathogens were confirmed to be present we needed to immediately treat from a Public health standpoint and then deal with the fallout seventhly, we responded the very next day as given the above we wanted to back our denouncement by facts and evidence based analysis, eighthly whether someone follows diplomatic protocols to the extent we may like or perceive, there was an agreement to meet and gather more details at the meeting with the embassy officials the next day at ten am before speaking aloud and this had to be respected. The discussion coming out of that meeting rightly informed the way forward. A press release was crafted and a press conference held at 2 pm to firmly address. If you saw the video of the same conference I was at and understanding the nature of all diplomatic relations you would not suggest rash responses but respect the process that was followed and you would have also seen very clear pronouncements made about our water quality. The Minister was also clear about not engaging in tit for tat behaviours.

I am weary of entering any particular space that could be adjudged to be political. As a BWA employee, I support strongly the positions taken by the joint ministries and our responses. Where BWA is concerned, I think the public is aware of our water quality and trust our statements to be true. The south coast challenges are a test of our organizational abilities and that of the supporting ministries but being intimately close to activities on the ground gives me a sense of confidence that all is being done to arrest the situation.

Understandably it was of immense concern to all of the stakeholder ministries which is why we responded immediately. The one thing we have always been proud of is our water quality. We recognise the risks and guard against them and this should not be confused with instances of brown water which I will will tackle this week

It was a collaborative effort by joint ministries to responsibly address the issue with great haste and caution. Centrally, it was and will continue to be made clear that our water is safe. This is an inescapable FACT! Our weekly rigid test sampling of at least 50 per week proves that. Secondly EPD and MOH who performs independent test do not hesitate to rap the BWA if they have the slightest bit of concern regarding health risks. To that end we knew that if near shore testing or any causal link to the recent Viral GI from the south coast was made, business and beaches would have been closed! Thirdly, though a blow as a second advisory of sorts, it was a highly cautionary alert by the US citizens under their care. We understand why we can be circumspect about other motives as individuals but as a Government, and based on enquiry and the meeting held with the US Embassy Officials, the protocols followed and the explanation offered by the US Embassy was officially accepted. Fourthly, what is missing is our data that would have addressed/rebutted concerns about our water quality for source testing and Fifthly the US water test results were based on results ON property only and we simply do not know what protocols were followed.โ€

I think it sparks a healthy debate but if folks are not listening or reading or analyzing, they are in danger of inflicting real harm to our country. All matters of discourse must be properly contextualised. Yes, We owe ourselves a duty of care to give constructive criticism, but I think fairly not to be active participant of the spread of paranoia or fear-mongering.

The meeting with the US embassy officials served to inform the press meeting approach and content. The relationships are cordial and from the US perspective, they had to follow the standard protocols set in place by their Washington office. We obviously do not like the end result, but we have made it clear concerning the quality of our water supply.

They were only able to confirm a very non-specific elevated total bacteria count. This did not include any of the three kinds that would normally raise alarms. The bacteria could be harmless or it could have potential negative effects, but this can only be analyse with further tests [BU emphasis].

Itโ€™s a concern for us, particularly if instances of bacteria elevation are pointed to the BWA, where unfounded and therefore we will assist with the PSAs.

COMMENTS from Dr Anton Best Acting Chief Medical Officer:

Just to reiterate of the 4 types of tests done at the 5 selected residences, the one that was positive was the heterotrophic plate count. The other 3 tests for pathogenic bugs were negative.

The HPC is a very nonspecific test that when positive warrants further investigation to confirm the type of bacteria, then localize the source. If the residences had water tanks on them, it is likely that there was stagnation, declining chlorine levels then lead to a proliferation of pseudomonas. This is speculative! This would not be due to contamination from the BWA, the BWA would however help remedy. To implement a remedial action having not done additional tests is irrational and careless on the part of those responsible for the testing or the management of the problem.

The alert was unwarranted and misleading.

350 responses to “USA Embassy Unfairly Issues PUBLIC Health Advisory on Barbados”

1. WELL WELL

YOU NEED TO LEARN THAT LIFE IS FULL OF OPPORTUNITIES TO KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Unfortunately for you, GP…you will never be able to shut me up..

……again, you cannot speak for me…I already have a doctor.

3. Theophilius Gazerts 263 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 263

A WISE OLD OWL SAT ON AN OAK
    THE MORE HE HEARD THE LESS HE SPOKE
    THE LESS HE SPOKE THE MORE HE HEARD
    AND DO YOU KNOW WHAT BECAME OF THE BIRD
    HE LOST hIS VOICE AND COULDN’T BE HEARD
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    Not bad

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…GP and John Liesalot are from the same tribe of nuisances, becoming less useful, instead of more useful on the earth..

5. Theophilius Gazerts 263 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 263

THE OLD BIRD SAT AND THOUGHT OF HIS FATE
    HE SAID I SHOULD REMEDY THIS BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE
    IF MY VOICE IS TOO LOW AND CANNOT BE HEARD
    THEN I MUST MASTER THE WRITTEN WORD
    HE CAME TO BU TO START HIS LEARNING
    AND BY CHANCE HE READ A POST BY HAL AUSTIN
    HE UTTERED A SOUND OF WOE AND OF PAIN
    HE EXITED, AND WAS NEVER SEEN OR HEARD OF AGAIN

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, Treason..said one blogger…powerful word.

When your leaders are ripping away every fiber of your nation’s self worth and taking us into seeming desolation is it treasonous to partner with others – temporarily – to save your nation from the vagabonds!

But to your point of the wrong doing by the US Embassy. You noted this is a week old and this point was ventilated last week…what has changed.

The US Embassy folks may have been discourteous on the protocol of notification and all that but where did they affect lives in any detrimental way with their advisory more than the Bajan govt was already doing !

It was an advisory which said ‘boil’ your water or buy bottled water because we have found elevated levels of bacteria. Never said anything about typhoid – as we were sensationalized – or ANY other harmful issues. It was blunt but hardly harsh or even uncharitable.

Do we really perceive that the many crappy comments on the various trip sites and the visitors calling their agents or contacts on the island seeking changes from south coast locales or cancelling trips due to the general news is less of an impact to lives than this bland note!

As I said last week place the blame where it belongs… with the Stuart govt. They have allowed this problem to develop as It has.

An advisory is simply an official heads up to take note.. so what’s wrong with the US advisory …particularly bearing in mind – according to Dr Lucas’ detailed analysis – that our own govt was BS’ing us with stunts and half truths rather than being transparent.

Caswell’s traitor is a patriot in the making, seems to me.

7. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service February 5, 2018 at 6:33 PM “Boil and filter your water.”

What about those who can’t afford the fuel to boil their water? What about those who can’t afford filters?

That said I have drunk water from springs here and abroad, and I’ve drunk tap water even in places where I was warned NOT to drink the water.

I am still here.

Just lucky I guess.

8. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Caswell Franklyn February 5, 2018 at 9:23 PM “They did not use staff email or an internal memo because they wanted to inflict the most harm on this administration. I might not support this administrationโ€™s efforts to regain power but I will not join anyone to commit treason.”

I doubt very much that the U.S. Embassy cares whether the BLP or the DLP is in office.

The memo was meant not just for the stff of the U.S. Embassy but for any American who might travel to Barbados. How would an internal email reach all these random travellers.

And how is it treasonous to believe the Americans and not the Barbados authorities.

Do we have to believe everything our government says in order to remain loyal daughters and sons?

9. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Caswell Franklyn February 5, 2018 at 9:23 PM โ€œThey wanted to inflict the most harm on this administration.”

The Canadian government was the first to warn their citizens. Do the Canadians also to inflict the most harm on this administration. If so why?

The government of the United Kingdom also warned its subjects. Do the British also to inflict the most harm on this administration. If so why?

The government of Germany also warned its citizens. Do the Germans also to inflict the most harm on this administration. If so why?

Or are the Canadians, the Americans, the British and the Germans all in cahoots against us?

10. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@David February 5, 2018 at 9:17 PM “Based on the comments posted attributed to the GM of the BWA and the medical officer Best the US Embassy was most uncharitable to Barbados by posting an advisory on its website based on inconclusive results. Why not just email staff or use an internal memo?”

Because in the past when the U.S. Embassy had problems with its own water tanks they “just emailed staff.” Lol!!! This time evidently they felt it necessary to inform ALL Americans who might travel this way, not just those Americans on the Embassy’s internal email.

11. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Caswell Franklyn February 5, 2018 at 7:10 PM “I have not seen this level of undiplomatic conduct by any embassy before. The Americans should have contacted the Ministry of Foreign Affairs if they had a problem.

Hasn’t the Ministry of Foreign Affairs confirmed that the Americans DID inform the Ministry before the alert was published on the American website.

Are you suggesting that the Embassy should have waited for a response from Foreign Affairs before warning its own citizens? Are Barbados government offices famous for their prompt responses?

And suppose Foreign Affairs did not respond promptly was the Embassy supposed to wait one hour, one day, one week, one month, one year, one decade, a lifetime?

You know that Americans like to sue right? And if the American government hid something from its citizens and the citizens come to harm you think that the average American frighten to sue his government?

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    “The Canadian government was the first to warn their citizens. Do the Canadians also to inflict the most harm on this administration. If so why?”

I cannot find any water warnings?
    https://travel.gc.ca/destinations/barbados

13. @Dee Word

You underestimate the effect of a communication from Big Brother which happens to be an important source market for tourists. Also there is the psychological impact to add to the mental โ€˜fatigueโ€™ of a nation having to deal and drive and live through shit on a daily basis?

14. Did you read the comments posted with comment with elevated understanding? The results of the test the US Embassy carried out did not merit the unwarranted decision taken. The bacteria found was inconclusive and possible came from the fact the residences tested store water. Try to understand for crissakes!

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

When US citizens sue their government, they gotta respond, the case must be adjudicated and at the end, there is always AN END to the case, if the government loses…THEY HAVE TO PAY the aggrieved claimants.

I put no stock in anything this present government puts out to distract from the real issues, bajans dont even believe them and these are people who do not have advanced degrees, they do not need them to have commonsense.

If US is being accused, you will also have to accuse the other 2 governments who put out advisories for the sewage leaks, because they HAD TO warn their citizens, just in case of contamination or cross contamination or whatever..

…. intelligent citizens in the real world sue their governments for not warning them about danger..if they believe their government had access to the information and withheld it……their lawyers access that info under FOIA…a basic right still being withheld from Bajans by backward government ministers.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/127012/money

“No money, no votes! That is what residents of Chapman Lane and Emmerton Lane in The City, who were affected by the Bridgetown Sewage Treatment Plant for many years, are telling the Government after not receiving compensation from the Barbados Water Authority (BWA).

The group of angry residents gathered outside the Supreme Court on Whitepark Road, St Michael, yesterday morning, fuming after the class action lawsuit they have had against the BWA for the past 13 years, was adjourned for the umpteenth time.

They had turned up in their numbers expecting to finally receive a monetary settlement. They were now fearful that the authority might delay on the payout because it was now focused on fixing the South Coast sewage problem.

The City residents, some of whom were relocated to Barbarees Hill, St Michael, by Government ten years ago, are demanding the compensation. They are also threatening not to vote in the upcoming general election if the money is not forthcoming. (MB)”

16. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This is the same government who loves to blame everyone else except themselves for their own incompetence and lack of action……more than likely hoping these people would die before government has to pay…as is the norm for people facing the supreme court.

“People who still live in Emmerton/Chapman Lane, The City, next to the Bridgetown Sewage Treatment Plant, say they have been given a raw deal by Government.

While some of their counterparts were relocated to Barbarees Hill, St Michael, ten years ago, some of those remaining said they could not understand why they were left behind even though they were still suffering from the pungent sewage emissions.

They vented yesterday outside of the Supreme Court Complex after the class action lawsuit they brought against Government was adjourned.

The suit was filed 13 years ago by 169 residents against the Barbados Water Authority (BWA). They were successful last year in getting compensation from the BWA for the pain and suffering and disruption of their lives caused by the sewage plant.

However, those who still live there said they were supposed to be relocated by the Urban Development Commission (UDC) but that had never materialised.

Sixty-year-old Brenda Hinkson, who lives directly opposite the plant, said she could not take it anymore.

โ€œThey say that the side I on is for Urban (Urban Development Commission) to deal with, but Urban ainโ€™t do nothing with the houses down there. We still got to stand down there and take that scent.”

17. @Caswell Franklyn February 5, 2018 at 9:14 PM #

I agree with your sentiments entirely, however you have to take “interference” not as such but a gentle “guidance” reminder, in other words WAKE UP AND SMELL THE ROSES.

I’m disillusioned that a once prosperous and beautiful Barbados is/has been reduced to such a degraded state of affairs in such a short time. Is Barbados trying to replicate Zuma’s South Africa.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dr. Simple…you were extremely fortunate, if BUs resident doctor was not so intent and focused on reducing himself on the blog, he would inform the blog about the other diseases that can be introduced to a host who does not boil water…

He would educate the blog about…the other issues besides the known 3..e coli etc that are the only concerns of government…but that can negatively impact people, given their dispositions.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Come now Mr Blogmaster surely no practical person can underestimate the impact of any US advisory on our economy…the little ditty about when the US sneezes we get a cold was as insightful when it was first said as it is today.

So let’s agree to disagree on the ‘virtues’ of the advisory.

There are too many moments in life when we lose sight of the fundamental wrong doing because we distrust who highlights that wrong or how they highlighted it…. unless the US embassy officials deliberately mistested the water or sensationalized the ‘elevated’ bacteria levels when their science officer knew that such elevated readings presaged no harmful effects to Bajans whatever then this long talk is nonsensical and misplaced.

The Bdos govt was ineptly handling this problem for over THREE years, Mr Blogmaster. The continued displacement of raw sewerage in the system had finally flowed into the streets.

The govt had deliberately tried to game the very same US tourist market with that sea bathing stunt and more important they had been continual fooling us Bajans about a possible threat to our health for a long time.

Yet here we are lambasting the US govt for issuing ‘unwarranted` advisories. Are we living is some alternate reality show or some such freaking folly!

I thank the Americans and all the other nations for smacking our nation rudely upside its head…maybe that will finally knock some sense into our noggins!

20. @Dee Word You noted the US advisory slurred our potable water supply compared to the others centered on the health threat posed by the sewage leaking?

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

please, please, please…the US embassy was not WARNING BAJANS about any threat to them….they were warning THEIR OWN US CITIZENS to be cautious….by emails, and in a public advisory for those who dont have emails…as is their right,….,as I posted to BU certain portions….and they advised their citizens…to check the CDC LINK…for more information on travel to Barbados, what is possible and how to safeguard themselves, info that has been on CDC website for years…and new info that was updated to the link in 2016 or 17.

……I still have the email….which of course I will not share because I already shared portions of it..

There is a big difference, they have local people employed in the embassy…naturally, they had to give their host government notice…BEFORE the advisory.

22. According to โ€˜hockeyโ€™ Donovan trucks have been seen dumping in the GHS?

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

See how they attack poor Adrian for caring that people dont die from disease.

Miller “comfort (able)” woman for russian agent Lawon?…really, lol

24. korean security has been pulled from Olympics because of vomiting and diarrhea … they cant figure out source of problem since no-one will admit to ever being in barbados

25. The ultimate definition of a brass bowl must include the fact that such beings have the unique ability to see the mote in other people’s eye, while missing the beam in their own damn face.

For YEARS, authorities here ignore the fact that shiite is liberally flowing down a main tourist street.
    Cars, buses, taxis, ZRs and pedestrian – including hoards of tourists -TOTALLY ignorant of the nature of the liquid – splash through this shiite DAILY.

Did local authorities warn Bajans of the OBVIOUS danger of splashing around in shiite?
    Did they warn tourists?
    Did they divert traffic?
    Did they cordon off the worse areas?
    Did they post persons or signs to divert traffic -especial pedestrian traffic?
    Did they provide regular updates about safety measures to be taken?

The answer to ALL of the above is NO!!
    The ‘plan’ was to do nothing and hope it goes away.

Another country – after years of observing – and probably concerned should one of their citizens fall ill (or even NOT fall ill) and decide to sue someone for failing to warn them of the CLEAR danger – issues a warning to its citizens that they should boil drinking water – and that some bacteria was found in domestic drinking water. (‘some bacteria’ will be found in almost ANY drinking water)

What the hell!!!
    The damn beam is in OUR eyes ….for our pissy management of the whole situation.

The same way that the BWA manager could be on TV every night after the USA warned THEIR citizens – assuring everyone that all is well – WHY was he no doing so for the two years BEFORE?
    Where the hell were the Water technologists before? was VOB off limits to them?

If WE had been up front and OPEN from the start, NO COUNTRY would have needed to issue warnings to their citizens….

Bajans are simply the most absurd set of brass bowls on God’s earth.
    We do a piss poor job, and are upset when someone points this out to us….

But “hard ears you won’t hear – own way yuh going feel….”

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dr. Simple look, maybe you got a cure for the “rat botsie” and the “incubus”..lol

“Addressing suporters of his ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) during a political meeting at Queenโ€™s College last night, the Prime Minister proved that he could play just as dirty as anyone in the political arena, as he dismissed Symmonds as an โ€œincubusโ€, who the people of St James Central would soon see the back of.”

27. William Skinner Avatar

The US govt fed up with the DLP
    govt so they issue a bogus warning
    to their citizens about contaminated
    water.
    The gospel according to Caswell Franklyn.
    An airplane crashed at Grantley Adams.
    Nothing was not wrong with the plane
    but the pilot is so fed up with the DLP
    govt that he crashed de plane to help
    get rid of them.
    A mini bus turned over nothing wrong Folks
    de driver just trying to get rid of the govt.
    This is no longer the silly season it just
    Get real igrunt

28. The Ghost of Hunter S. Thompson Avatar
    The Ghost of Hunter S. Thompson

So, what you’re saying is that I shouldn’t have told my friends and neighbours that I saw shit flowing through your streets while I was visiting your island? Asking for a friend.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It gets worse, much worse, because IF TRUE…as is being said on another forum…that the dudes now charged with robbing Golden Sands, which has for years belonged to former politician Dennis Tull…..told police in their statements that Dennis Lowe supplied the guns they used to rob the place…….

IF TRUE….you have just entered another realm, another level.

30. RE former politician Dennis Tull

WHEN WAS Dennis Tull EVER A POLITICIAN? NEVER EVER
    HE WAS A POLICEMAN
    HE LED THE MOTORCYCLE TROUPE CALLED THE ROCKETS
    HE HAS BEEN A HOTELIER
    BUT NEVER A A POLITICIAN

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 6, 2018 at 7:36 AM
    โ€œAccording to โ€˜hockeyโ€™ Donovan trucks have been seen dumping in the GHS?โ€

This is the same โ€œHockeyโ€™ a true patriot and highly respected community-centred man whom the MoH (โ€˜accidentallyโ€™ Adrianโ€™s MP) while looking in a mirror described in rather dismissive style as if Mr. Donovan is a nuisance and street character with time on his hands to spread anti-DLP propaganda.

As DpD pointed out in an earlier contribution this administration has no one to blame but its โ€˜collectiveโ€™ self.

From ignoring their own (in-house doctor) water consultantโ€™s serious concerns to dismissing Miaโ€™s October 2015 early warnings as a siren looking for something he as the boss man couldnโ€™t provide to the unprofessional outbursts from the then GM of the BWA about operatives vandalizing the manhole covers to the MoH & MoT public relations cover-up stunts of bathing in the sea and illegally removing warning signs in true political shit(e)hound fashion.

So how can the authorities expect people to trust what they are saying about the high quality of the water after all of this betrayal of the same peopleโ€™s trust?

Is this another phase of the ongoing cover up strategy like trying to play down the recent outbreak of gastroenteritis at some unnamed food outlet?

Why must the public be left to guess and pull short straws dipped in shit as to where to dine on the South coast? Isnโ€™t this a clear case of tarnishing the entire area with the same shit-coated brush?

Where are the ministers responsible for the same sewerage system and the environment (GHS) who are being paid by the taxpayers to look after their interests?

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…my CAVEAT AGAIN……IF TRUE…

That applied to the whole comment.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie February 6, 2018 at 8:57 AM

Stop splitting hairs, GP! We are not talking about good bacteria versus the bad ones multiplying on the South coast.

Just point out to WW that it is his brother Louis who was the politician.

BTW, you omitted one important fact from Dennis’s impressive bio. He is/was an early entrepreneur in the minibus trade.
    Now where is that money?

34. @Bush Tea

No need to be emotional. The US Embassy couldโ€™ve issued an advisory about the sewage on the South Coast without slurring the water based on inconclusive test results from houses with water tanks read harmless bacteria presence. We need to separate the arguments.

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Thanks Miller…the idea is to confirm whether any of this is true, the accusation is too serious not to confirm.

Like the government, GP is well aware but acting nontheless, like it’s only 3 water borne bacterias that can cause disease in humans.

36. miller
    you are correct, Dennis was one of the pioneers in the minibus trade.

I am not splitting hairs, and whereas ” We are not talking about good bacteria versus the bad ” (what ever that is) and we are not talking about inconclusive testing either.

WE ARE SAYING THAT THE US EMBASSY JOKERS IN THEIR TESTING FOUND AND APPARENTLY REPORTED BACTERIA THAT WERE NOT SPECIFIC OR RELEVANT TO THE ISSUES.

BACTERIA ABOUND! THEY ARE FOUND EVERY WHERE IN THE ENVIRONMENT WHERE THEY HAVE A GOOD PURPOSE GENERALLY

CERTAIN BACTERIA ARE PATHOGENIC I.E WILL CAUSE DISEASE ONLY IN CERTAIN SPECIFIC AREAS OF THE BODY

THE EMBASSIES TESTS WERE “INCONCLUSIVE” FROM THE POINT OF VIEW THAT THEY DID NOT FIND ENTEROPATHIC ORGANISMS. WHICH ARE THE RELEVANT ORGANISMS TO THE CURRENT PROBLEM.

THE EMBASSY HAS NOT PRACTICED KOCH’S POSTULATES IN RELATING THEIR FINDINGS TO ANY DISEASE PROCESS ON THE ISLAND OR AMONG THEIR STAFF MEMBERS

IMHO DAVID & FRANKLIN ARE THEREFORE CORRECT IN DEEMING THEIR ADVISORY AS MALICIOUS AND UNWARRANTED

37. The blogmaster associates with sentiments expressed by Caswell, we love Barbados and although it ripe us apart to observe the decline in standards we have been accustomed, it does not mean we allow these imperialists heavy handed measures to go unpunished. The US Embassy must be made to understand that based on the results of water testing at a few of the embassy staff residences as reported, it was unwarranted to blast a message worldwide in the way they did. Wrong is Rh wrong.

38. RE GP is well aware but acting nontheless, like itโ€™s only 3 water borne bacterias that can cause disease in humans.

AS A TEACHER OF MICROBIOLOGY GP IS WELL AWARE THAT THERE ARE MORE THAN THREE BACTERIA RESPONSIBLE FOR DISEASE IN HUMANS.

HOWEVER, THE REPORTS HAVE PROCLAIMED THAT NONE OF THESE WERE FOUND.

IN ADDITION, NONE OF THE EMBASSY STAFF FROM WHOSE ABODES THE TEST SAMPLES WERE TAKEN HAVE REPORTED ILLNESSES…….ELSE ALL HELL WOULD HAVE BROKEN LOOSE INSTEAD OF THE ISSUANCE OF AN ADVISORY.

BESIDES AN OUTBREAK OF GASTROENTERITIS ASSOCIATED WITH ONE EATERY THERE IS NO EPIDEMIC OF GASTRO OR OTHER DISEASE OF BACTERIAL CAUSATION REPORTED IN BARBADOS.

OBVIOUSLY COMMON SENSE IS NOT COMMON AMONG CERTAIN MALICIOUS AND MALEVOLENT BU BRIMBLERS.

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The question now is, how will the government stop the embassy from issuing health and wellness advisories to THEIR CITIZENS….traveling to the island.

40. Have a listen to the experts from the relevant government departments who make perfect sense. They were on the talk show yesterday.

http://vob929.com/downtobrasstacks/

41. Such weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth all because of those bad Yanks, the bunker mentality is settling in and the word treason is being bandied about, Sydney Burnett-Alleyne must be on the horizon.

Will those who have confidence in the Govโ€™t โ€˜s/BWA handling of the Sewage mess raise their hands? No doubt the Yanks observed how the Govโ€™t/BWA was floundering and out of its dept in its handling of this issue that they decided to look at the water quality that the Govโ€™t/BWA was responsible for and voila their worst fears were realized. I am not a scientist and wonโ€™t quibble the information about present or missing bacteria and perhaps it is diplomacy at work for the Yanks at the local embassy to say โ€œwe are just following ordersโ€ in relation to the warnings given.

Here is what the Govโ€™t should do if it feels so strongly about what the Yanks did, haul the resident Ambassador to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs with a strongly worded diplomatic note and advise the US State Dept. that it will be withdrawing the credentials of the Ambassador until the US apologizes to the Barbados Govโ€™t and rescinds its misleading communication about the quality of water at its local residences.

That should ensure that la merde will truly be hitting the fan.

42. https://travel.gc.ca/destinations/barbados

Why has the Canadian High Commission in Barbados NOT issuing an alert about the water ?

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 6, 2018 at 9:59 AM

These same ‘experts’ in watery shite talk were around when Dr. Pat Inniss wrote her memo warning the same authorities of the inevitable outcome of the collapsing South coast sewerage system if nothing was done in a โ€˜timelyโ€™ fashion.

And what did they do but play an โ€˜unprofessionalโ€™ game like Dr. Jorge of hide and seek and the Bajan variety of โ€˜hiddy biddy shut your lap tight tight tightโ€™ while trying to place the blame for the spillage of shit on the residents of the South coast.

Why canโ€™t the same experts address what is happening with the โ€˜sleepingโ€™ disaster in the Belle? Where is the long-promised reverse osmosis system and the removal of those โ€˜illegal residentsโ€™ aka squatters?

Isnโ€™t the Belle scenario another preventable accident waiting to happen?

44. @Miller

We must not muddy the issues. Note BU household has concerns about the rising levels of nitrates in their our water supply.

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

There are no guarantees as voiced by those experts, anything can happen anytime, no matter how far apart the distance, how small the chances and despite the separation between water pipes and sewage pipes.

There is no guarantee or proof that the water tanks at the embassy residents are the source of the high bacteria levels they found., testing has not yet been done by the ministry..

They introduced high levels of chlorine in the main water supply since that time, that the second guy nearly said that there was so much chlorine now that people are complaining…but he caught himself.

Whether are not the embassy used a higher standard to do their testing, is semantics…the high levels of bacteria was found and exposing it got action.

They are working hard since all of that drama and exposure……to keep the water safe….a positive.

That is my take on the interview of those 4 experts.

I would not bathe in the sea in certain areas, no matter what they say.

I will not drink any water without boiling and filtering no matter what they say or whether they use US EPA standards or not.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 6, 2018 at 10:34 AM

The current elected administrators of affairs of the Bajan public have lost all credibility in their ability to solve such serious challenges.

And this inability is clearly reflected in the state of sanitation around the country with the piling up of garbage as regular as clockwork. Just look and see how long it takes to remove, as straightforward a task, the detritus left by the decimated street maintenance crews responsible for the weeding of the verges and gutters.

This is not about appointing public sector workers to positions (as required under the law) which will soon disappear under the IMF planned restructuring programme.

This is about protecting the economic future and public health of the country.

47. @Hants
    The Canadian Govโ€™t issues a general warning under health:

In some areas in the Caribbean, food and water can also carry diseases like cholera, hepatitis A, schistosomiasis and typhoid. Practise safe food and water precautions while travelling in the Caribbean. Remember: Boil it, cook it, peel it, or leave it!

This is the same health warning that it gave e.g. those travelling to Mexico that for years were experiencing โ€œMontezumaโ€™s revengeโ€.

48. Q.The question now is, how will the government stop the embassy from issuing health and wellness advisories to THEIR CITIZENSโ€ฆ.traveling to the island.

A. YOU CANT STOP AMERICANS FROM TALKING SHITE AND DOING SHITE.
    THEY THINK THEY KNOW EVERYTHING………..AND THEY REALLY DONT!

E.G THE PRESIDENT HIMSELF IS UNDER FIRE FROM THE UK FOLK ABOUT BULL SHIT HE HAS UTTERED ABOUT THEIR NHS……WHICH HE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT, LIKE THE OTHER AMERICAN BULL SHITTERS WHO PONTIFICATE THEREON.

THE US HAS NOTHING COMPARABLE TO THE UK’S NHS!
    THEY HAVE NOTHING COMPARABLE EVEN TO OURS.

UP HERE IF YOU DONT HAVE INSURANCE YOU ARE SCREWED!
    IF YOU DO HAVE INSURANCE YOU STILL HAVE TO MAKE A COPAY, AND SOMETIMES PAY A HIGH PRICE AT POINT OF SERVICE, AS I HAVE PERSONALLY EXPERIENCED.

OBAMACARE WAS A CONFUSED CONVOLUTED ATTEMPT TO MIMIC WHAT THE UK HAS IN ITS NHS, AND WHAT WE HAVE IN OURS, BUT THEY CORRUPT AND SCREW UP EVERYTHING IN THEIR WARPED SYSTEM OF DOING THINGS.

YOU CANT HAVE A NHS BASED ON A FORCED INSURANCE AS THE MORON TRIED TO DO.

49. RE The Canadian Govโ€™t issues a general warning under health:

In some areas in the Caribbean, food and water can also carry diseases like cholera, hepatitis A, schistosomiasis and typhoid. Practise safe food and water precautions while travelling in the Caribbean. Remember: Boil it, cook it, peel it, or leave it!

THE TRUTH IS THAT THIS APPLIES WHERE EVER YOU GO OR LIVE

IN ADDITION schistosomiasis ONLY OCCURS IN THE SINGLE COUNTRY WHERE THEY HAVE THE SNAILS NEEDED FOR THE LIFE CYCLE OF THE PARASITE

WHERE IN THE CARRIBEAN DO WE HAVE CHOLERA HEPATITIS AND TYPHOID ROUTINELY?

I AM SURE THERE IS MORE HEPATITIS IN CANADA OR THE US THAN IN THE CARRIBEAN