The news that Barbadians will have to pay more for a ham in 2017 has generated heated conversation in Barbadians- the land of ‘porkmouts’. The baking of a ham on Christmas eve night is part of a rich tradition practiced by all households. Now that the NSRL has taken full effect Barbadians will have to be smart about the household budget. Is it worth it for those with limited discretionary income to buy ham reported to be selling at $12.00 per pound? Does it matter if there is ham on the table in the Yuletide season?

The bigger issue for BU is the lack of a vision by the leadership of the country to ensure we import less, integrate local agriculture production in the hospitality sector, encourage a consumption behaviour that aligns with the national interest, adherence to a  healthy regimen and so on.

146 responses to “Removing the Ham from a Bajan Christmas”

1. Every Bajan’s request to their relatives/friends up North coming home for Xmas is “bring some ham”, we recently sent two.

If anyone is thinking about taking home hams mek sure wunnah have the relative permit otherwise it will be confiscated and someone else will be dining on ham at your expense.

2. The ham I saw at Massy cost $18.00 lb.Compare that to Hants buying his at CA$2.00 lb and Sargeant at US$0.90 lb……All this is just to pay starve out dis eased dems like RH lowedown to make a mess of the environment and stupid leaders like dumbboy to lead we down the path of failure compliments of his S team monster of fine ants.

3. Theophlius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophlius Gazerts

Permit? What are you talking about…..??

4. Theo,

The permit is for the black elite (consisting of cabinet ministers, judges, high bureaucrats, QCs, Sirs, government consulants and their families and courtesans) plus their white business donors. Like the privileges of the aristocrats on the plantations 200 years ago.

Do you really think that any person of the said group ever paid customs, duties and taxes on their German premium vehicles? Not me.

5. The high price of the ham and of all other food reflects the internal devaluation of the BBD. Soon external devaluation will follow and add up. This is the price for the independence of a small island in the Atlantic ocean under the condition of bad governance so typical for many, many countries. Would Barbadians still opt for it, if Barrow had told people in 1966 that they had to follow his party on a path of grief, hardship and decline?

6. @TG
    You have to get a permit from Ministry of Ag. To import hams, they cost about $20.00 Bds per and allows up to 50 lbs. of meat, but you may be one of the guys who say “no meat to declare” and waltz out but yuh neva know. You can get your contact at the other end to pick up one and meet you at the Airport with same.

7. Backyard slaughtering of pigs was common for centuries.

A family would raise the pig on scraps and then butcher it at Christmas.

Someone who knew about butchering would do the honours, probably paid a bit out of the proceeds from the pig.

More adventurous families keep many pigs.

Up until the 70’s, my mother kept four pigs, her piggy banks if you will!!

This was all part of the agricultural economy which made sugar economic if not financial.

Pigs eat anything, cane tops, table scraps whatever.

Zero imports, zero NSRL, all the ham in the world ….. happy smiling faces, propa pork and nuff ham!

My aunt used to inject the pork with I think salt to turn it into ham.

Sometimes she was known to miss her mark!!!!

All added to the drama and fun of Xmas.

Point is, NSRL can be minimized by simply getting back to core values!!

… and people don’t need to be so miserable and can eat ham as they please!!

Health standards established can be maintained, it is for centuries that it worked!!

This is not rocket science … no university degree is required!!

8. You can make your ham too!!

Question to a highly educated Bajan … from where does ham come?

Answer: “de supermarket” … an it cost nuf money!!

My guess is not many even know ham comes from pork!!

Once you get pork you can get ham!!

… plenty time before Christmas for it to cure too!!

9. A salty tar wrapped ham was a heavenly delight back in the 50’s.We watched it and the approaching festive season with salivating impatience.

10. My aunt used to do the honours!!!

Fond memories of happy times gone by.

11. Get permits every year. Checked by female customs officer a few years ago screaming meat, meat, until I handed her the permits. The agriculture guy said how much do you have I said 50 he said pounds I said no we deal in kilos he just laughed shook his head and wished me a merry christmas.

12. @John
    Point is, NSRL can be minimized by simply getting back to core values!!
    What are core values in this case? Are you advocating a return to backyard slaughtering of animals? The Gov’t is correct to ban the sale of meat to the public that came from backyard butchers, I grew up next to a butcher who killed pigs every Saturday while your family only killed occasionally. People didn’t know much about what they bought as their only contact was by the owner who “engaged” the pork.

I can recite chapter and verse about the Saturday “foreday” morning ritual of animal slaughtering, want to hear about catching blood in a container for puddin’n souse?

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lawson…if you did not have those permits, she would have feasted..lol

14. @Sargeant

John means well!

Why is a health certificate required anyway, once you show there is one the officer waves you on.

15. @David December 16, 2017 at 2:13 PM #

Sarge said it cost $20…maybe that is the reason.

16. Not true , the meat has to be sealed and in manufacturer package no homemade sausage or meats etc the fellow made sure everything was reputable not chicken parts in a zip top.

17. In more simple and plain English ……

Once the price of pork is less than ham make your own and don’t complain!!

Any differential is for the skill of the “ham curer”!!

Buy your pork and make your ham!!!!

How difficult can that be!!!!

Sheesh!!

18. My take on the reason backyard slaughtering stopped is the intervention of the Government in a money making economic activity and the wresting of control from multiple individuals.

Once that happened there was all sorts of red tape … the pigs had to be engaged … the equipment broke down … but if you were a party member or could pay no sweat.

Most small farmers just quit something they had done for years and which they came and found their parents doing.

If you listen to D’Souza on Fascism you will realise that this is a mark of a fascist regime … the state takes control of economic activity.

Barbados could be described as a fascist state.

Does anyone know who controls the production of pork … and hams … in Barbados?

19. Mr Blogmaster, your 2:13 PM seems to be the everlasting painful epithet of our failing society: “…but, they did mean well, cud dear”!

@Sargeant’s response was exactly my view after reading @John’s post.

Considering that we (John included) all have international exposure and too have ‘positive’ experiences of household farming at our parental/youth abodes it’s rather amazing that the experienced and very intelligent technical guy would offer such a solution now.

As Sargeant suggests re backyard farmers and as John surely knows, there would be great conniption in the Terraces, Heights, Gardens and such like if folks really started anything more that a lil kitchen garden at their homes.

That’s number two…as in literally and figuratively managing the smells and poop from any pigs or chickens being raised.

Number one of course is maintaining those health standards mentioned.

Our now very litigious folks would surely put some ham-making aunt or uncle in possible legal jeopardy when that needle misses it’s mark and that delicious ham is ridiculed as just some piece-a pork that then allegedly cause a good ‘towmay’ (as in food poisoning).

Lovely concept to return to backyard farming but the realities of a very hi-faluting society does not practically support that good ole days concept.

20. As Sargeant suggests re backyard farmers and as John surely knows, there would be great conniption in the Terraces, Heights, Gardens and such like if folks really started anything more that a lil kitchen garden at their homes.

Kind of obvious with current thinking!!

What will the thinking be next Christmas?

Will we have foreign exchange to import food?

21. For an answer to the last question, watch Jingle Bells!!

22. ALL OVER THE WORLD EVERY DAY SIMPLE FOLK CONTINUE TO DO BACKYARD ANIMAL SLAUGHTERING.. AND CURING OF MEAT PRODUCTS AND THERE IS NO FOOD POISONING..NONE

DOES THE JACKASS WHO SPEAKS OF TOMAY HAVE ANY IDEA OF HOW ONE GETS FOOD POISONING OR IS HE JUST HAVING ONE OF HIS FREQUENT BOUTS OF DIARRHOEA ON THE BLOG

23. No one is going to be able to go out, buy a piglet now and get a pig ready for butchering this Christmas.

So the heights and terraces point is not worth discussing at this point in time.

But if you could look into the future, it might make sense to buy a pig or three!!

If the supermarket shelves are bare it doesn’t much matter where you live.

It takes about six months to be ready for slaughter so you have some time to make your decision over the next couple of months!!

Watch the indicators and see what they tell you!!!

24. The lifestyle of today’s consumer suggest that people may be more inclined to buy ham by the slice from Chefette or KFC than cure a ham at home, those days are long gone…lol

25. The lifestyle of today’s consumer suggest that people may be more inclined to buy ham by the slice from Chefette or KFC than cure a ham at home

THIS INDICATES THAT WE ARE DEALING WITH A SET OF REAL FOOLISH PEOPLE

ANY ONE WHO WILL BUY A SLICE OF HAM from Chefette or KFC than cure a ham at home
    IS A BIG JACKASS

ALL OVER THE WORLD THERE ARE SEVERAL SANE PEOPLE WHO MAINTAIN THEIR CULTURAL PRACTICES WHICH ARE TRIED AND TRUE AND PASSED ON ASSIDUOUSLY FROM GENERATION TO GENERATION

THESE FOLK ARE PRACTICAL THEY DONT EXHIBIT CHAMPAGNE TASTE WITH MAUBY POCKETS

WE NEED SERIOUS FOLK TO DECIDE WHAT SHOULD BE IMPORTED INTO BARBADOS AND SERIOUS FOLK TO ENFORCE SOME COMMON SENSE RULES

26. John December 16, 2017 at 1:27 PM #
    Backyard slaughtering of pigs was common for centuries.
    Health standards established can be maintained, it is for centuries that it worked!!
    This is not rocket science … no university degree is required!!
    JOHNISCORRECT
    SIMPLE CURINGTECHNIQUES ARE ALL THAT IS REQUIRED
    EMPLOYMENT OF SUCH TECHNIQUES ARE SHOWN ON TV DAILY
    John December 16, 2017 at 3:54 PM #
    In more simple and plain English ……Once the price of pork is less than ham make your own and don’t complain!! Buy your pork and make your ham!!!! How difficult can that be!!!!
    ACTUALLY IT IS NOT VERY DIFFICULT
    AN OLD HEADMASTER FROM ST JOHN WHO WAS DOING IT FOR YEARS TAUGHT
    US TO DO IT AT CHRISTMAS TIME 1981

David December 16, 2017 at 2:13 PM #
    @Sargeant
    John means well!
    1. AND HE IS MAKING SENSE Once you get pork you can get ham!!

THE PROCESS OF CURING MEAT HAS BEEN DONE AND CONTINUES TO BE DONE TODAY IN MANY PARTS OF THE WORLD VERY SUCCESSFULLY BY OBEYING SIMPLE MICROBIOLOGICAL PRINCIPLES

John December 16, 2017 at 4:13 PM #
    My take on the reason backyard slaughtering stopped is the intervention of the Government in a money making economic activity and the wresting of control from multiple individuals.
    Once that happened there was all sorts of red tape … the pigs had to be engaged … the equipment broke down … but if you were a party member or could pay no sweat.
    Most small farmers just quit something they had done for years and which they came and found their parents doing.
    If you listen to D’Souza on Fascism you will realise that this is a mark of a fascist regime … the state takes control of economic activity.
    Barbados could be described as a fascist state.
    Does anyone know who controls the production of pork … and hams … in Barbados?
    AGAIN THERE IS MUCH MERIT IN WHAT IS SAID HERE
    EVEN IN THE DAYS OF THE FATHER OF PUBLIC HEALTH THROUGHOUT THE CARRIBEAN backyard slaughtering WAS PERMITTED
    YOU ARE MORE LIKELY TO GET LEPTO FROM MEAT SLAUGHTERED IN AN ABBATOIR THAN BY THOSE WHO DID IT FOR A LIVING IN BACKYARD FOR AGES…….AS IS DONE STILL IN MANY PARTS OF THE WORLD

IT IS AMAZING THE SHITE THAT IS ESPOUSED ON BU BY PEOPLE WHO PRETEND TO KNOW AND ONLY EXPOSE THEIR IGNORANCE BY THE CONCENTRATED SHITE THEY TALK

27. @David…seems to me that you are hiding important information from your blog guests.
    You have kept your Bdos scholarship success silent all this time, seems to me! : -)

I endorse like DaCosta Allamby your at 8:13 PM. Your scholarship and common-sense allowed a practical interpretation of earlier remarks.

Most definitely the same life style choices that sends us to KFC, Chefette and Chicken Barn as the norm rather than for a date night treat for some ‘fast food’ every blue moon is the same one that would see us “…[buying] ham by the slice from Chefette or KFC than cure a ham at home..”

It may be necessary to revisit how those old ways can be resurrected but for the moment, as you said “those days are long gone” in this misguided Bajan middle-class society.

@John, you said you CAN read, so may I ask that you do so with better comprehension then, pretty please.

Distill the scholarship that brought you to “So the heights and terraces point is not worth discussing at this point in time.” Who is referring to this year other than you.

Since 30 years ago and more that was an issue.

Neighbors complained of foul smells from those who had the audacity to bring their farming mentality into the new residential areas. I know that first hand from eons ago. In fact some of those activities were likely forbidden by the various covenants of the areas.

Do you really perceive that animal husbandry would be accepted in Ventnor Gardens or Wanstead Heights or down in St. Peter in that lovely development adjacent to the old Heywoods hotel (don’t remember its name these days).

No one disputes the problems ahead nor that home made hams and other food curing is very possible and even desirable… good heavens Carmeta Fraser taught us that over 25 freaking years ago and Martha Stewart and other preach their own versions today.

…BUT it is a nonsense to really contemplate any of those the folks in those developments truly facilitating their neighbors “… going … out [to] buy a piglet now and get a pig ready for butchering [next] Christmas” from their backyards.

But heh it could offer an opportunity for those country dwellers to offer the ‘city slicking’ development home owners to ‘raise’ their own piglet out in de country farm…opportunity knocks!

28. de pedantic Dribbler December 16, 2017 at 9:49 PM # STARTS OFF ASS LICKING AS USUAL, AND TRYINMG TO PULL DOWN JOHN, BEFORE GIVING A LONG DOSE OF SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHIT!
    ANYONE ANYWHERE CAN BUY A LEG OR SHOULDER OF PORK AND MAKE A HAM SIMPLE! JOHN HAS INFERRED THAT SIMPLY
    EVEN THE JACKASS OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO UNDERSTAND WHAT WAS SAID

29. Do you really perceive that animal husbandry would be accepted in Ventnor Gardens or Wanstead Heights or down in St. Peter in that lovely development adjacent to the old Heywoods hotel (don’t remember its name these days).

If it comes to pass, empty supermarket shelves will affect everyone!!

Doesn’t matter where you live.

The folks in the 2×4 lots at Villages obviously can’t keep pigs individually but together they can get access to the unused land at Coverly (lots of it with all the mold scraped off) and raise livestock in pens.

The folks with 4 acre agricultural lots could make a killing.

COW and Bizzy will thrive with their access to land!!!

Paying back NIS could be a breeze!!

Necessity is the mother of invention but the effectiveness of the invention depends on what processing power resides in the heads of Bajans when faced with that necessity.

I looked at pork and ham prices today …. if what I see is right you could get two and a half hams if you took the curing option instead of buying a ham ready cured.

Pork prices were not that good for pig producers in 2014 yet more joined the market..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/11330/pork-taking-beating

Perhaps Rihanna might come and give a concert and take our minds of the mess.

Next year will be a challenge

30. Friends bringing in meat may have a problem

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g147262-i230-k8011112-Price_of_Meat-Barbados.html

…. and what if their luggage goes missing?!!

Years ago my uncle went to Canada and returned with a ham and a turkey in his luggage.

It went to Trinidad!!

Must have been sport at the airport when he finally went to collect it!!

31. JOHN
    TIME TO WATCH TEST CRICKET AT THE WACA

32. Regency Park was among the first development to be widely sold to middle class Bajans and the conveyances expressly forbid residents from keeping certain domestic animals at their homes. Dogs and cats yes; pigs; sheep; cows and chickens -No.

I’m sure future developments followed the same script……..…….

33. I’m sure future developments followed the same script……..……

Any covenant can be set aside once all parties agree!

It will amaze you what people will agree to once necessity forces the issue!!

I have actually heard a prediction that by June 2018 the Supermarket shelves will be bare!!!

Comes from a business man.

He holds no brief for either set of clowns!!

Would love to dismiss it as doom and gloom but I have two eyes in my head and ears with which to hear!!

Foreign exchange is an issue and has been for a while, I get that from other sources.

How much is it that we spend on imported foods?

… and then there is constant talk of devaluation.

We all get that constantly.

I am not saying it will happen, just that there are many who think it will.

Look at Jingle Bells

“Future developments” include Frere Pilgrim, Ashford St. John etc., …. 4 acre agriculture lots used ostensibly as a way to keep land in agriculture but allow housing as well.

For the moment, forget the doom and gloom, it is Christmas.

But … unless you show me different, one cured supermarket ham = two and a half home cured hams.

I saw a ham for over $300, $39 per kg if I read and remember right.

It makes financial sense to cure your own hams!!

That way you can eat ham well into the new year and have fun doing it!!

“Cut, contrive and think”!!

34. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@Sargeant December 16, 2017 at 2:01 PM “want to hear about catching blood in a container for puddin’n souse?”

Remember to constantly whip the blood while catching it in a bowl. We used “trash bones” as a whisk. But we were only making pudding and souse and only for the immediate family. None for sale.

Trash bones=the dried center of the sugar cane leaf.

35. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@de pedantic Dribbler December 16, 2017 at 9:49 PM “…BUT it is a nonsense to really contemplate any of those the folks in those developments truly facilitating their neighbors “… going … out [to] buy a piglet now and get a pig ready for butchering [next] Christmas” from their backyards.”

To tell the truth i would rather that my neighbour keep one pig rather than three dogs as at present. At least with a pig there would be pork or even ham.

Stupseee!!!!!!!

36. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

I don’t understand why we prohibit the keeping of pigs, and of even vegetarian sheep and goats in the suburbs of Barbados and yet we permit the keeping of unlimited numbers of smelly, useless and sometimes aggressive dogs.

Stupssseee!!!!

37. @Simple

It is all in the covenant, who determines the covenant wording? This is where you need to start the conversation.

38. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@David “who determines the covenant wording?”

I expect a bunch of stupid, full of themselves male lawyers, who have forgotten where they came from.

If I am wrong anybody can correct me.

39. @Simple Simon

Who is the consumer read signs on the dotted line?

40. @ David
    Don’t mind Dr Simple
    She knows full well that the purpose of the covenant rules was to ensure that the ‘riff raff’ from the villages and tenantries did not follow her to the heights and the gardens…
    She wanted neighbours with ‘collar&tie’ jobs…

41. @Bush T
    Simple is not de kinda gal that moves to the Heights & Terraces, her goal is to remain near de tree where her “nable” string is buried.

42. Man, people, move over, do. My family in the country still raise and slaughter their pigs. They take orders too. Moreover, my uncle the self proclaimed butcher, slaughters for others as well. I have the Ready Cure curing salt. I don’t make hams but use it for my own salt pigs tails, snouts and salt beef. Hams here cheap, especially over on the Quebec side where we get them @99 cents a pound. But the west indian shops charge an arm and a leg for salt meat to season your rice or soup.

Good think I am anonymous or some squealer would probably have him picked up and the pigs confiscated. They buy the piglets from another neighbour who breeds to sell to the villagers.

43. @Bajans

Don’t worry, de police aint coming behind god back to “lock up” yuh family, BTW is he selling cow milk too? Back in de day we used to get milk from de cow and scald it and yuh got a meal. Pine Hill came along and that went through de eddoes, don’t know if there are laws against what is called “raw milk” in Bim but if you buying “raw milk” in Ottawa I gwine sic de Police on you.

44. sIMPLE SIMON
    IT IS THE AUTHORS OF ALL DE COVENANTS AND CONSUMER SIGNS TO BE READ THAT GOT BUBADOS IN PERENNIAL AND PERPETUAL AND LITERAL SHIT TODAY

45. Dr. Simple Riff-Raff Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Riff-Raff Simon Phd.

@Bush Tea December 17, 2017 at 3:30 PM “Don’t mind Dr Simple She knows full well that the purpose of the covenant rules was to ensure that the ‘riff raff’ from the villages and tenantries
    LOL ha ha ha.”

LOL ha ha ha

46. Dr. Simple Riff-Raff Simon Phd. Avatar

But seriously, these covenants were something cooked up by johhny-come-lately “new-N-word” lawyers and real estate agents.

The buyers were just looking for a house spot and did not ask for any covenants.

Alas most of us riff-raff have never inherited any property.

47. Dr. Simple Riff-Raff Simon Phd. Avatar

Sargeant December 17, 2017 at 3:54 PM “Simple is not de kinda gal that moves to the Heights & Terraces, her goal is to remain near de tree where her “nable” string is buried.”

Not my goal, but my crowning achievement. How many people can tell you “My navel string buried right here, while standing on a piece of family land?

I can.

48. @Simple Simon

Covenants are not unique to Barbados you know. With the explosion of housing development in Barbados it is something we borrowed from the US.

49. Dr. Simple Riff-Raff Simon Phd. Avatar

@bajans December 17, 2017 at 3:55 PM “Man, people, move over, do. My family in the country still raise and slaughter their pigs. They take orders too.”

I think that I may know your family…but not a word outta me.

50. @bajans

‘Take orders’ or do you mean engage the pork!