The local credit union has 150,000+ members.

Two articles in the Canadian Globe and Mail newspaper caught the eye of those who are not fixated on navel gazing on the shitty affair โ€˜unfurlingโ€™ on the South Coast.ย  The obvious question is what does it mean? Clearly CIBC- and we include the other Canadian banks operating in Barbados- are concerned about the current and future state of regional economies and have taken decisions to mitigate risk driven by concerns by shareholders whose concern is always to create share value and to satisfy the forecast of the financial analysts.

Some suggest there are indigenous financial intuitions that can fill the void if the Canadian banks were to withdraw from the Caribbean, the credit union unions come quickly to mind. Some question if the credit union movement in Barbados is ready to operate at the level required to deliver a best in class service in a global market fraught with regulation. We are not questioning if the cooperative model can deliver financial services to participants, a look at the balance sheets of the leading credit unions in Barbados suggest there is work to be done to ensure key acid ratios are met.

The Canadian Globe and Mail articles highlight the level of debt which Barbados has accumulatedย  and the volatility of oil price that has negatively impacted Trinidadโ€™s economy. These are two of the key markets in the English speaking Caribbean that have undergirded the stability of the regional economy in the post oil-crisis period of the 70s. The trivializing of credit rating downgrades and an inability by regional governments to address structural fault lines in our economies that are known by the policymakers must not instil confidence in the boardrooms in Toronto and elsewhere.

The reality is that replacing international institutions with indigenous ones will not address the underlying factors at the root of failing and poorly performing regional economies. The lack of interest by Canadian financial intuitions is symptomatic of a lack of leadership with the result, conspicuous consumption behaviour driven mainly by the globalization construct. Just look at Barbados to confirm the ease with which we- through our representative the government and private sector- have sold our best companies to non Bajan interest. What assets and symbols do we have left to define who we are as a people? How will our children define success in the context of nurturing Bajan esprit de corps?

The BU household has written voluminously for 10 years about the need to remove the weeds from the lawn. The weeds have sprouted to bush. ALL of the regional economies are now heavily indebted nations with decaying infrastructure and limited fiscal space to drive development. Our politicians who โ€˜leadโ€™ in the model of government we practice continue to rollout policy directives that pander to feathering popularity and satisfying those behind the curtains with the money to finance political campaigns. The people can be characterized as โ€˜sheepโ€™ in the process.

History is the teacher to portend how this will play out- Crash, Burn, Rise!

Here are the Canadian Globe and Mail articles.

• CIBC aims to double share of profits from U.S. operations
  • CIBC mulls offering Caribbean subsidiary on U.S. stock markets Subscriber content

The footnote to this submission is that in Barbados we pride ourselves on being an educated people yet we have demonstrated a lack of ability to manage home grown institutions and to leverage the investment in education to separate Barbados from the rest. Why bother to invest in education if this is the result?

111 responses to “Canadian Banks Looking Elsewhere to Sustain Profits|Can the Credit Unions Do the Job?”

1. @Northern Observer

Read your postings to the Entrepreneur Corner, thanks!

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I was wondering why the credit unions have not been able to purchase these accounts, they should be liquid enough, although I dont think they have the greenlight to offer wide ranging services as banks do.

…. better yet, Bajans should take their money out of the foreign banks and use their local credit unions more…there is no telling who will show interest on the NY stock exchange and why…none of which will bode well for local account holders…because sharks reside and swim in the stock exchange waters.

3. credit unions could easily over take banks if they allowed people to inherit there parents place in the teller line.

4. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Canadian Banks are doing what they are established to do, make profits. Nothing wrong with that. Barbadians should do the same. Set up and own businesses to make profit. Consumers and owners benefit there by. And so do the taxpayers. The world does not owe Barbados anything.

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

If these clowns for ministers really gave away the Hilton, they are the most stupid, backward fools to ever sit in parliament and should be severely punished by the electorate…for the secret sale.

“This newspaper has been reliably informed that the authorities here have signed off on the sale of Hilton Barbados, this countryโ€™s internationally branded showpiece hotel, for US$80 million.

Our information is that London and Regional Properties, owned by Richard and Ian Livingston, who control the prestigious Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel on the West Coast, will be the new owners of Barbadosโ€™ piรจce de rรฉsistance of our year of Independence, 1966.

We have been further informed that a company known as Broadspan Capital, that specialises in cross-border financial transactions in the United States, the Caribbean and Latin America, are the brokers engaged in the sale.

London and Regional Properties is a privately held Baker Street, London real estate company that oversees luxurious properties in the United Kingdom, Europe and the United States. Broadspan Capital operates out of Miami, Florida, in the United States.

The acquisition of Hilton Barbados would add an iconic island resort to the impressive collection of global leisure investments held by London and Regional Properties. (BARBADOS NATION)”

6. @Bernard

You state the obvious, do you think Bajans would support a local bank in the same way we do the entrenched Canadian banks. A comparison to the citizens in the EC sites, Jamaica, Trinidad clearly shows that Barbadians are inclined to support foreign first.

7. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

David 1:14 AM
    You are gazing so far into the past and future that you do not see the obvious right in front of you.

We recently owned Hilton we have allegedly given it away at a price far below its cost and true market value.
    We set up and owned BNB and ICBL and sold them below their market values.

Barbadians supported all three of these institutions. I need not go farther into the past and mention substantial holdings which Barbadians held in BL & P , Cable and Wireless, Banks Brewery , Barbados Mutual etc.

I am not here to engage in idle discourses . I am here to correct misinformation and faulty logic .

8. BERNARD
    I am not here to engage in idle discourses .
    YOU REALIZE THAT THAT IS MOSTLY WHAT HAPPENS ON BU…….I HAVE LONG DECIDED TO JOIN THE CLUB

I am here to correct misinformation and faulty logic .

I WISH YOU GOOD LUCK THERE SIR BUT WHAT YOU STATED ABOVE IS VERY ACCURATE

9. @Bernard

You divorce the action/decision of the government from the people? The BNB was sold because of alleged poor management and losses and as Arthur opined with a miniority shareholding the government was able to earn greater profit. As far as the Hilton goes this is an entity in the hospitality sector not so? etc etc. The government is the people Sir.

10. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

It is worth plagiarizing a parable attributed to Archbishop Desmond Tutu. He is reported to have said” The European missionary gave Africans the Bible and said :” Close your eyes and let us pray”. When the Africans opened their eyes, they had the bibles but no land”.

We spend plenty of time discussing reparations and perceived symbols of racism and are swiftly losing the fruits of the labour of our forefathers. But David you may carry on smartly.

11. Not sure Bernard what you have stated that conflicts with BU’s position. If there is a disagreement you appreciate this will occur in a public forum right?

12. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 11:45 AM

If you believe that private corporations buy unprofitable government institutions you are certainly misinformed.
    Furthermore, the International Finance Corporation, a subsidiary of the World Bank ,does not lend money to buy nonprofitable state corporations. It would be useful to look past the messengers and analyze their statements meticulously. Better still review the financial reports of these corporations before they were sold.

Smoke screens and mirrors. We do like Magic Shows, do we not?

13. @Bernard

A man of your know how must be fully aware that the agriculture/sugar loans were hived to the agency created by government to sweeten the BNB deal?

14. You div orce the action/decision of the government from the people?

The BNB was sold because of alleged poor management and losses and as Arthur opined with a miniority shareholding the government was able to earn greater profit.

The sale of the BNB was sold the worst act of economic sabotage to have occurred in Barbados since independence, and was the outcome of the most appalling and unforgiveable act of ignorance of financial economics this side of the Second World War.
    The simple nonsense of bad management and losses could have been out right. But undermining the great opportunity to stabilise the financialisation of Barbadian businesses and households will keep us underperforming for at least another decade.
    Also, the fact that people in London were told before the employees of the BNB is the most outrageous act of industrial relations. Sadly, even now, Barbadians do not even want to discuss the matter. Preferring to be at the beck and call of foreign-owned banks. We are still paying the pric e.

15. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 12:06 PM

You are quite right. A man of my know how will never fall for that ploy. But from where were they hived and put in BNB’s portfolio? A partial truth is worse than a lie.

16. @Bernard

Are you suggesting that the sugar loans which were carved from BNB’s balancesheet did not make the deal attractive to RBL? Are most of those loans still outstanding? Further, was the BNB not operated under the public service act and therefore was contrained by said rules which made it uncompetitive with the private banks? We want to be enlighted here Bernard.

17. Without prejudice to the real story behind the sale of BNB,I recall OSA submitting that the sale of BNB was to raise money to pay for the new Hilton Hotel.BNB was profitable but not commercially well managed however better managed when Louis Greenidge was brought on board.Small might be beautiful but small island politics of interference in state run commercial entities is notoriously prevalent in these island nations.What the heck does an elected government know about banking.They just frustrate well meaning managers.
    The repeated downgrades of our economy even if the PM disagrees with that, is now a cited factor in the financial risks of the banking sector.Sagicor left and re-established its business in a more stable country.CIBC is serving notice Barbados where its operations are headquartered is not immune to further high risk factors associated with more downgrades.Disregard the hurricane risk.That has been a factor in our region for centuries.I suppose climate change and duncy politicians now running the ship of state present some real challenges going forward.Governments might collapse in a few years owing to lack of confidence by the private sector

18. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 1:19 PM

The annual reports and Financial Statements of BNB from its inception can answer all your above queries. BNB competed with the private commercial banks even with the perceived handicaps you mentioned above.

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Speaking of lack of confidence. Gordon Seale is right.

It appears all these miseducated ministers know to do is give away everything belonging to the people, especially their futures, generations of it.

MoneyB….first time I am seeing Seale , remember the blog about when he tried to purchase the Blue Horizon hotel for 11 million…and the stupid house negros in parliament gave it away to the 2 scamps Maloney and Bjerkham for 5 million dollars instead, the rats….am sure 96% of the people forgot about that scam against them already.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/12/13/hotel-blues/

“Hotelier warns more Sandals-like tax breaks could lead to mass closures
    Seale warns more Sandals-like tax breaks could lead to mass closures

Added by Marlon Madden on December 13, 2017.
    Saved under Business, Local News
    The controversial Hyatt Centric Resort planned for Bay Street, The City, and the Wyndham Grand Resort on the site of Sam Lordโ€™s Castle in St Philip may be given tax concessions similar to that received by Sandals, one local hotelier has suggested.

However, owner of Sugar Bay Barbados Resort Gordon Seale is warning that if this happens, local hotels will not be able to compete and could be forced to shut down.

โ€œWe will not be able to compete, if, as rumour has it, Hyatt is given the same things that Sandals was given and Wyndham would get those and the new Beaches [Resort] gets it as well. You will effectively knock out a lot of the local successful hoteliers. The chances of us being able to survive โ€ฆ are very, very slim,โ€ Seale warned today during a panel discussion at Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on the topic, The Importance of Local Direct Investment in the Tourism Industry. The discussion formed part of the fourth quarterly meeting of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association.”

20. So lemmuh get this straight, yuh sell yuh house to buy a car, now yuh selling de car to buyโ€ฆ..? Hope wunnah got good underwear patchy pants days aint too far off.

โ€œFor the want of a nail the shoe was lost,
    For the want of a shoe the horse was lost,
    For the want of a horse the rider was lost,
    For the want of a rider the battle was lost,
    For the want of a battle the kingdom was lost,
    And all for the want of a horseshoe-nail.โ€

21. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Sargeant at 1: 45 PM

You sure got it right. As I said before, any new administration coming into office is going to need the best brains in this country.

22. @Sargeant

The money is being dumped in a deep hole, one getting deeper because of rampant consumption habit by Barbadians.

23. Are we going o discuss strengthening the credit unions and how they can contribute to economic growth, or lose our way in discussing the politics of incompetent economic management?
    Whatever happened to the report by Sir Courtney Blackman?

24. @ David
    You are correct. All Caribbean economies
    are in trouble. All the talk about going
    to IMF is nonsense! The IMF just told
    Jamaica to Punlic servant salaries.
    @ Hal
    You are correct. There has been serious
    discussion about the economy for years.
    All we get is pure party posturing .

25. Should read IMF just told Jamaica to
    cut public servants salaries.

26. Whether true or false, insider claims RBC is gearing up to exit. BNB was sold, now the possibility of FCBC/CIBC exiting.

Pray tell me, those accounts in the name of SPIRTUAL WHITE BOY to the tune of 213 trillion, which has been deposited in BNB, FRIST CAR. and CDB, ……WHAT PROVISIONS WERE MADE for these accounts when the entity BNB was SOLD or in the case of FCB TAKING FLIGHT.

In the case of BNB was the deposit declared and accounted for and still exist?
    Is the account of the SPIRITUAL WHITE BOY recorded at now Republic Bank?
    Will we hear in the near future of some plan for CDB?

Disclosure of practices and collusions are eminent.

To whom it may concern,
    Your plots, schemes and devices hatched behind closed doors were witnessed by the unseen guests, now you will be required for accountability.
    as always
    KARMA is attached.

27. In the case of Credit Unions, they must always seek to diverse their operational structures from those of the commercial banking sector, maintain individuality, legally challenge Central Bank or Political pressures when it is clear that any stipulation is NOT in the interest of members, its operations or expansion.

Be regulated by a body made up from the Credit Union collective geared at protecting the interests of the collective membership, providing fairness, products and services in easy reach of ALL its members.

Critical is the removal of full interest being required on reducing balances as per loans and mortgages.

Resisting any false and misleading advertising of products and services.

Halting any practice of issuing one party contracts written in verb adverb.

Start issuing FACTUAL contracts written in PARSE SYNTAX GRAMMER in large print.

Resist the issuance of legal documents with photo-copied stamps.

THESE SIMPLE ADJUSTMENTS WILL PROMOTE THE CREDIT UNIONS INTEGRITY from what lies ahead.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    “IMF just told Jamaica to cut public servants salaries”
    my interpretation of the comments was “the public sector needs reduction”, and the plan outlined was one of ‘early retirement’.

I don’t think there is any question Barbadians can operate local financial institutions, to be competitive with foreign entities. The Caribbean as a region, versus Latin and South America, has ‘fallen off the radar’ of the 3 Canadian banks who operate here. This is as much of an opportunity, as it is a problem.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@9o9
    is this realtruth or keltruth.

30. Credit Unions are not regulated by the Central Bank.

31. Is it not feasible for the Credit Unions – who by all accounts are looking for ways to invest money – to combine their resources and establish a local bank? there are many experienced competent bankers available in Barbados qualified to profitably manage such a bank. I suspect that such an undertaking would be well supported by Bajans.

I recently spent 5 hours in different 3 visits to FCIB to add a signature to an already existing account, Scotia and RBC are really no better.

32. @Tudor

Having the management expertise is only one requirement, what about the capital required to setup the bank? Who will put up what is required? How much is required and will credit union members agree to take on the risk?

Word on the ground is that the credit union league is working with Capita to convert to a bank. This is unconfirmed.

33. @ Northern Observer

You may want to define “keltruth” as it a new addition to the vocabulary.

For insight, these links will entertain your curiosity.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCN5FZVgUW4 … M1, the interview
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4N4DYVr3LdA … M1 World Address
    http://swissindo.news/un-swissindo-debt-burden-liberation-at-a-glance/
    http://swissindo.news/official-swissindo-world-trust-international-orbit-documents/ … payment 1-11 http://www.americanswissindo.com/heirship-economy.html
    http://swissindo.news/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/301449733-WORLD-DEBT-BURDEN-LIBERATION-CERTIFICATE-4-3-2016-ENGLISH.pdf ..the Debt Burden Liberation Certification.

A MUST READ…
    http://inteldinarchronicles.blogspot.com/2016/04/global-debt-facility-gold-backed.html?spref=fb&m=1

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE2npDOSWd4…releases that were “stolen”.
    ………………………………………………………..

UBS, Switzerland certified gold bullion CACHES. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UBS then to issue CVACS (LATER MORPHED into the Ukadia system) to relevant countries.
    The cabal infiltrated the Organic United Nations via the Ferderal Reserve.
    ……………………………………………………………

http://www.wakeupkiwi.com/downloadpapers/20151222_Neil_Keenan_History_and_Events_Timeline.pdf ….MALAYSIA THEFT.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aw7RS3eMjNU …NEIL KEENAN LAWSUIT
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7w2-T2XDbA …. SOVEREIGNTY
    ………………………………………………………………………….

AN INSIDER STORY OF SWISSINDO some info declared is incorrect and some has been upgraded since the interview.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEHx-XVkaSM .. part 1
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7omHeoXLF8M .. part 2
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE2npDOSWd4 .. part 3 ..Germany’s Merkel and Martin Blessing (https://www.ubs.com/global/en/about_ubs/corporate-governance/group-executive-board/cv-martin-blessing.html) collusion, Egypt’s reveloution and the Bank of Japans’ defaulted.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiyqHQd6Uaw .. part 4
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RnUms9TkDaU .. part 5

34. @ David
    The sad truth is that the credit unions will do no better at running a bank than did our politicians.

The ONLY reason that credit unions work in Barbados is the OVER RIDING co-operative PRINCIPLES that require the brass bowls to operate in a VERY SPECIFIC manner, and the operating STANDARDS (think ISO) that benchmark their annual financial and other PERFORMANCE against INTERNATIONAL best practice, and drive corrective actions.

Banks are private corporations that are run by Boards based on much looser Central Bank guidelines. But our central Bank is currently performing money laundering services for a known leper …. so what could THEY tell another institution about standards?

The VERY best thing about local credit unions is that they have stuck to the co-op services.

The Insurance company works, but if you dug deep below the surface you would probably find various questionable scams similar to the games that our politicians play – when it comes to hiring, car rentals, overseas travel etc.

As Bushie said from the very beginning when Arthur FOOLISHLY sold the BNB, perhaps we should just go into the business of creating new local banks to be sold to albino-centric foreigners…

..Create a Bank of Barbados …… sell dat
    …then create a Bridgetown Bank of Commerce ….. sell dat too
    ….then a Stinkliar Bank of Fine Ants….. and GIVE that away to someone who we dislike….
    etc…

35. @ David

Morphing into a bank wouldn’t it bring the fundamental structure of the Credit Union under the regulations and control of the Central Bank? It is duplication in the making.

36. As the regulation presently stands credit unions are regulated by the Financial Services Commission and banks the Central Bank of Barbados. If what is being discussed here is to have a commercial bank owned by credit unions then the above regulatory / oversight applies.

37. @Bush Tea

Attempted to make a similar point to Bernard yesterday. The government, people it is or should be the same – a government always working in the interest of the people.

38. Creating a commercial bank owned by credit unions vs converting credit unions into banks is a different ballgame, still makes little sense unless being a bank carries certain benefits not presently granted to credit unions, why a bank? …. for benefits?…. when those said benefits can also be had by simple policy adjustments and legal instruments.

If the focus/objective is profitability, then the operations of the credit unions for benefit of its members maybe putting that initial policy at risk due to the changed mindset of it administration towards gains and enrichment.

We are aware of the many stealth schemes practice by banks. not so?

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ nineofnine December 15, 2017 at 9:31 AM

The major challenge facing the black owned and controlled credit union setting up its own local bank is one of arranging and managing a Correspondent Banking relationship with an overseas internationally recognized brand.

Don’t think the local credit unions can provide the guarantees to ensure the implementation of the necessary checks and balances and internal controls required to meet those international banking standards unless you might want to use some Nigeria-based outfit to be in bed with.

40. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ nine of nine at 9:31 AM

I agree with you 100 %. Credit Unions and Commercial banks have different social and economic functions.
    The BNB was an attempt to keep the costs of borrowing for the small man and the agricultural sectors low. Yes it made lending competitive but at high risks of its long term survival.
    As you know agriculture in all countries require government subsidies direct and indirect. This is done in the interest of food security.

After the general elections the interests of the people and the elected diverge. We elect oligarchs in some instances dictators.

41. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Miller at 10 :52 AM

Money is being transferred internationally as you write. The system of correspondent banks is becoming an anachronism. The difficulties that you described are the same in the more developed countries as well. The know your customer rule is applied world wide. The latter came at a cost which the customer has to pay.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington December 15, 2017 at 11:17 AM

The money being transferred in NOT Bajan Mickey mouse dollars but in hard currency; mainly US dollars.

Now where would credit unions have ready access to foreign money?
    Payments to Overseas suppliers represent the bulk of foreign exchange transactions.
    How many business people in Bim would want to deal with a black owned, managed and controlled financial institution?

Not even the government would be prepared to shift its business to such a credit union bank as operated under the BNB and probably still do under the Republic Bank

43. nineofnine December 15, 2017 at 9:31 AM #

That is not necessarily the case. Individual credit union balance sheet banks can operate in Barbados successfully. A joint credit union banks can also operate successfully, only on a higher level.

44. Credit Unions are not regulated by the Central Bank.

Another flaw in the regularly system.

45. @Bernard

Agree with you, this is our system?

46. regulatory

47. @ Hal
    ….A joint credit union banks can also operate successfully, only on a higher level….

Care to share your thoughts of ..”a higher level”?

Some recent feedback from members claim to be experiencing some negative challenges as per loans and mortgages, certainly I hope this is not a sign of difficulty in its service and policies.

I do believe that not always a decline of a genuine is due to economic ability but by ones hue and association determined by the interviewer.

How much of the labour force can successfully navigate assistance when scrupulous business owners/ managers pay workers way below par, who really is the profit machinery of these businesses? Commercial Banks snob these low paid workers demanding much security. There’s a need for a creative policy in this regard to help these folk manage their lives meaningfully.

@ Barnard

Food security?…. where?… Bim? just how is local agriculture really creating this security when just about everything is being imported, they hardly penetrate the hotel market, where is the vast exporting when nuff fields idle with river tamarine..and the BAS pompaset production

48. nineofnine December 15, 2017 at 1:25 PM #

Bigger business. A single balance sheet bank will obviously have limited capability, but will meet most household and small business needs. A joint bank would be able to take part in more bancassurance activities, including cross selling.
    Whether big or small, lending will be based on affordability.

49. nineofnine December 15, 2017 at 1:25 PM #

โ€œFood security?โ€ฆ. where?โ€ฆ Bim? just how is local agriculture really creating this security when just about everything is being imported, they hardly penetrate the hotel market, where is the vast exporting when nuff fields idle with river tamarind..and the BAS pompaset production.โ€

@ nineofnine

Interesting you mentioned the BASโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ

James Paul has been an abysmal failure in his position as CEO of the BAS. I have never heard him articulate any meaningful suggestions for the advancement agricultural sector.

Paul is a member of this inept DLP administration and should have worked with the MoA, Dr. David Estwick to establish a comprehensive agricultural development plan for the next 5 yearsโ€ฆโ€ฆ. reviewing the process every year, to accommodate/incorporate operational & technological changes that may occur from time to time.

Unfortunately, while Dr. Estwick seems to have INVOKED his โ€œright to remain silentโ€ on agricultureโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. we recently discovered the individual who is most often heard discussing issues about the sectorโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. is a PRAEDIAL LARCENIST.