Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

Last week, the first part of this column treated the submission by Sir Hilary Beckles, Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, that the statue of Lord Admiral Horatio Nelson had outlived its incongruous presence in Heroes Square and that its continued presence there makes Barbados a deviant and a pariah in the community of progressive nations that oppose publicly revering persons (such as Nelson) known to have committed โ€œcrimes against humanityโ€.

In that first part, I also bemoaned the absence of a popular discourse on the Vice Chancellorโ€™s proposal, an absence that I found mystifying. In the past week, however, there has been some public reaction to the proposal, most of it predictably defensive of preservation of the status quo rather than of its alteration by one jot or tittle.

For example, in last Fridayโ€™s edition of the Barbados Advocate, a correspondent, Mr Michael Rudder, chose to pray in aid the undeniable reality of the criminally forcible mix of the races present in most if not all slave societies and to wonder โ€œif any of my African ancestors were responsible for selling any of their โ€œbrothersโ€ to those who carried on the slave tradeโ€ while he admits knowledge that the family of one Caucasian ancestor did have slaves.

He then proceeds to make the amazing rhetorical point that since we are all mixed, โ€œwhat does it matter that some ancestor was a so-called white supremacist? And he continues still rhetorically, โ€œDid your ancestor see him/herself as such? Do we see ourselves as black supremacists?

Essentially, he makes the point that we should acknowledge our history and move on and not โ€œkeep holding up the rear mirror of our pastโ€.

It is tempting to read this opinion in a sense clearly not intended by the author and to treat it as an agreement with Sir Hilaryโ€™s thesis that officially to maintain the statue of Lord Nelson in its current location is to hold up the rear view mirror of 1813 Barbados when Nelson was a hero to the existing societal structure, the identical structure that was to be the target of a slave rebellion a mere three years later, officially recognized by the elevation of one of its reputed leaders to the highest national status. Indeed, there is a bit of a paradox in having both of these men elevated to this lofty status, even if that status of one of them is now merely situational.

It is a conundrum that seems to pervade Barbadian society, where the general attitude appears to be โ€œI do not really care what they do about Lord Nelson, but he is part of our historyโ€ OR the more extreme and silly, โ€œif we move Nelson then we should remove all traces of English influence, including place names, titles and perhaps surnamesโ€ฆโ€

Veteran columnist Patrick Hoyos in his column last Sunday required โ€œsome sort of consistent rationale if Nelson should be movedโ€ although he did not spell out what would constitute such consistency or who would be the ultimate arbiter of it.

Mr Hoyos also appears to have interpreted Sir Hilaryโ€™s letter in a way different to me. He construes the following passages from the Beckles letter as indicating that Sir Hilary would not have minded Nelson remaining standing so long as he was overlooking Carlisle Bay contemplating his exploits beyond the horizonโ€ฆโ€

โ€œ The Democratic Labour Party turned it around and deepened its roots when it had the opportunity to move it to a marine park on the pier.

โ€ข The Barbados Labour Party did not wish the Right Excellent Errol Barrow at the centre of Parliament Square and placed him out of sight of the Assembly in what was a public car park. Nelson remained in the more prominent placeโ€.

Perhaps owing to my professional training, I prefer to base the gist of an opinion on the interpretation that what is stated later should generally overrule an earlier statute or decision that is inconsistent with it through the doctrine of implied repeal. I prefer to ascertain Sir Hilaryโ€™s sentiments from his final paragraphs-

โ€œThe assumption is growing, I have been informed, that the Government might rather citizens, in an act of moral civil disobedience, to take matters in their own hands, and remove the offending obstacle to democracy. This has been the case in the United States and South Africa.

Quietly, state officials could slip away and say that the people have spoken. Such alliances of active citizens and passive state have moved many societies. Barbados must move on.โ€

This most assuredly does not read as a paean to a mere relocation of the statue to me.

O Dominica!

I should wish to express my sincere best wishes for the full renaissance and recovery of the island of Dominica after its devastation by Hurricane Maria during last week. Owing to my occupation, I have come into contact with many of the people of that island whether as teachers, classmates, or most latterly students, and they have been without exception, some of the most gracious and warmest people you will ever encounter. Dominica was also the first country that I slept in outside of Barbados when as a member of the Animation Choir under the leadership of Mr Harold Rock, I sailed there by the Federal Palm, I believe, in 1968. I do not remember much of it now; except partaking of the sweet lime fruit and hazarding a taste of stewed mountain chicken.

My more recent visits unfortunately have been severely limited in duration and in free time, but I have seem the photographs of the recent destruction wrought and I weep for the country I remember.

O Dominica, the land of beauty

The land of verdant and glorious sunshineโ€ฆ

499 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – “…The Ball that Shot Nelson” (2)”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin September 28, 2017 at 10:39 AM #
    “Of those the most reliable is the RPI”

On the contrary, the Retail Price Index (RPI) is a very poor way to estimate the relative value. No significant percentage of the ยฃ20m was expended on food, clothing and other retail consumables; furthermore, technological improvements in the production of retail consumables since 1838 means that this methodology produces a severe underestimate of value. Since the ยฃ20m was expended out of public revenue it makes much more sense to use the share of GDP methodology.

2. The Achilles heel in Johnโ€™s contributions in trying to justify slavery as a good Christian act ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Flawed premise … find where I justified slavery as a good Christian Act.

Crime is relative and at the time, slavery was not a crime.

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John September 28, 2017 at 11:08 AM # said
    “… slavery was not a crime”

Each time you make excuses for evil, John, your own soul takes on a part of that evil.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin September 28, 2017 at 10:39 AM #
    “I was curious to find out how we arrived at ยฃ16-ยฃ17bn”

If we use the average earnings methodology, we get ยฃ14.3bn
    If we use the per capita GDP methodology, we get ยฃ19.3bn

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John September 28, 2017 at 11:08 AM

We agree with you that slavery was not a crime at that time. Until Wilberforce and Lord Mansfield with his โ€˜mulattaโ€™ great niece Lady Dido Lizzy Belle came on the scene.

Moreover it is consistently approved in your god-given Bible but with some morally redeeming terms and conditions attached to the master/slave relationship.
    Now you donโ€™t want us to quote verbatim, do you now?

John, haven’t you argued profusely that Christians treated their African cargo much gentler and kinder than the Arab Muslims where 80-90% of the captured cargo got lost crossing the dark continent compared to a 10 to 20% rate crossing the Atlantic and, despite increasing the supply easy food for the shoals of accompanying sharks, proved to be tolerably acceptable to Lloyds of London?

Remember that period of acclimatization (restful vacation extended in advance) on arriving in a โ€˜whiteโ€™ sandy paradise compared to the cultural blackness and ignorance of Christianity they left behind in Hell called Africa?

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

None of them had the right to say slavery was not a crime until they said it was……

..,…those savages should still be alive today to hang for their slave crimes..but their successive generations will all be greated by Karma.

7. Peter

On the contrary, the Retail Price Index (RPI) is a very poor way to estimate the relative value. No significant percentage of the ยฃ20m was expended on food, clothing and other retail consumables; furthermore, technological improvements in the production of retail consumables since 1838 means that this methodology produces a severe underestimate of value. Since the ยฃ20m was expended out of public revenue it makes much more sense to use the share of GDP methodology.

Education, Education!!!!

We have already established that first Foundation (1671), Combermere (1682), Lodge (1710), and Harrison College (1733) were the result of bequests made by Quakers, planters.

Generations of Bajans of all colours benefitted from these bequests from the planters, even you and me too!!

I am hesitant to use the word plantocracy because I know the word only came into being in 1835!!

Before and after Emancipation, further massive contributions are evident. Go look at “Historic Churches of Barbados”.

“And, first, in regard to the impulse invariably given to the extension of the Church system by the appointment of a Bishop, it may be affirmed, without fear of contradiction, that the results of Bishop Coleridge’s exertions far exceeded the most sanguine expectations. Every portion of his scattered Diocese (consisting of thirteen islands and British Guiana) enjoyed; in turn, the benefits of his personal superintendence; for he was usually out on his Visitation-tours during three months of every year. The entire result of his labours cannot be understood without the help of voluminous statistics, but it may be sufficient here to insert an extract from the Address of the Clergy of Barbados on his retirement, which certifies, that in that island alone, since the Bishop’s arrival, the number of Clergy had increased from 15 to 31; the places of worship from 14 to 35; the sittings in Church from 5,000 to 22,500; the schools from [5/6] 8 to 83, and the children receiving their education in those schools from 500 to 7,000.”

http://anglicanhistory.org/wi/coleridge_memoir1850.html

If you look at the source of the schools and churches you will find they came out of your despised plantocracy even before 1835 when they first came into existence.

So, between 1824 and the time Coleridge left in 1842, the number of children receiving education had risen from 500 to 7000, still a fraction of the numbers of children in Barbados.

Bishop Parry continued and it is no small coincidence the Coleridge and Parry are so named.

The problem with the Reparation argument is that it is being advanced by persons who either don’t know their own history or are so desperate for money they are reduced to begging.

Of course, the “half ass, lamefoot racist ideology” informs their thinking as well.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

….successive generations have and will all continue to be GREETED by Karma.

9. John, havenโ€™t you argued profusely that Christians treated their African cargo much gentler and kinder than the Arab Muslims where 80-90% of the captured cargo got lost crossing the dark continent compared to a 10 to 20% rate crossing the Atlantic and, despite increasing the supply easy food for the shoals of accompanying sharks, proved to be tolerably acceptable to Lloyds of London?
    Remember that period of acclimatization (restful vacation extended in advance) on arriving in a โ€˜whiteโ€™ sandy paradise compared to the cultural blackness and ignorance of Christianity they left behind in Hell called Africa?

How doe this translate to your claim that “The Achilles heel in Johnโ€™s contributions in trying to justify slavery as a good Christian act “?

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 28, 2017 at 11:59 AM #
    โ€ฆ.successive generations have and will all continue to be GREETED by Karma.

You know how I feel about Karma!!

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

John’s lies will never stop the REPARATIONS movement…he will live to see that debt paid to every descendant of the slave trade and it will drive him mad…both him and Vincent, Chadster and whoever else justifies evil…..against the Black race.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

This notion advanced by John that “Crime is relative and at the time, slavery was not a crime” is a pernicious and slimy evasion of moral responsibility.

The holocaust inflicted on the Jewish people was not a crime either under this ridiculous perspective because the Nazis passed laws to make it all perfectly legal… but it WAS a crime… a crime against humanity. Anyone who does not recognize this is collaborating in that crime and that evil.

And so it is with slavery… it WAS a crime despite the laws passed to attempt to disguise its criminality. It was a crime against humanity. Anyone scurrilous enough to try to hide their evil behind the purported legality of the infamous Barbados Slave Code of 1661 is simply collaborating in this crime.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Karma does not care how you feel about anything, since ya cant stop her.

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“And so it is with slaveryโ€ฆ it WAS a crime despite the laws passed to attempt to disguise its criminality. It was a crime against humanity. ”

Karma only cares about your evil actions and the debt owed for crimes against humanity.

15. No significant percentage of the ยฃ20m was expended on food, clothing and other retail consumables; furthermore, technological improvements in the production of retail consumables since 1838 means that this methodology produces a severe underestimate of value.

So lets take a look at just how severe an underestimate this method will yield and why it no doubt makes Peter so uncomfortable!!

Real World example, Valentine Jones III and confederates defraud the British Army in the 1790’s of 922 GBP’s!!

Two centuries later ….. estimated value, 60 million GBP’s.

https://books.google.com/books?id=5wFtBQAAQBAJ&pg=PA34&lpg=PA34&dq=valentine+jones+fraud+british+Army&source=bl&ots=ffAyX5_Ees&sig=gdNu6g2G4FHUp89f9tQRzCjp5Kw&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiUjerqmMjWAhWE8CYKHdOVAeEQ6AEIJTAA#v=onepage&q=valentine%20jones%20fraud%20british%20Army&f=false

The factor used is about 60.

So, if this is used, the million or so GBP’s in 1838 translate to 60 million GBP making Peter’s estimate is out by a factor of thousands!!

No person with any scientific background would accept this discrepancy!!

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John September 28, 2017 at 12:03 PM # said
    “How doe this translate to your claim that โ€œThe Achilles heel in Johnโ€™s contributions in trying to justify slavery as a good Christian act”?”

John asserts that Quakers were “good Christian” people. The historical record establishes that Quakers enslaved people. Hence John is “trying to justify slavery as a good Christian act.” Quod Erat Demonstrandum

17. The holocaust inflicted on the Jewish people was not a crime either under this ridiculous perspective because the Nazis passed laws to make it all perfectly legalโ€ฆ but it WAS a crimeโ€ฆ a crime against humanity. Anyone who does not recognize this is collaborating in that crime and that evil.

The difference is some of the perpetrators of the Holucaust were prosecuted in a court of law.

Where are you going to convene a court of law to prosecute a bunch of dead people?

Leave God to do his business and don’t assume his mantle?

18. @John September 28, 2017 at 12:03 PM # said
    โ€œHow doe this translate to your claim that โ€œThe Achilles heel in Johnโ€™s contributions in trying to justify slavery as a good Christian actโ€?โ€
    John asserts that Quakers were โ€œgood Christianโ€ people. The historical record establishes that Quakers enslaved people. Hence John is โ€œtrying to justify slavery as a good Christian act.โ€ Quod Erat Demonstrandum

Quakers did not invent slavery, they ended it!!

19. …. and so you see why Education is so valued!!

Even Sparrow extolled its virtues!!

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John September 28, 2017 at 12:18 PM #
    “The difference is some of the perpetrators of the Holucaust were prosecuted in a court of law.”

John, don’t be so moronic as to contend that the fact that nobody stood trial for the crime means that the crime did not take place.

21. On a different note, we had 55 parts yesterday and since midnight, another inch and eight parts has fallen.

The manholes will be rocking!!

Will check later

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John September 28, 2017 at 12:19 PM #
    “Quakers did not invent slavery, they ended it!!”

The Quakers participated it it John! The people who assaulted you did not invent the crime of assault, but they still committed a crime.

Honestly John, your arguments are even more pathetically weak than usual.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ peterlawrencethompson September 28, 2017 at 12:07 PM
    โ€œThe holocaust inflicted on the Jewish people was not a crime either under this ridiculous perspective because the Nazis passed laws to make it all perfectly legalโ€ฆ but it WAS a crimeโ€ฆ a crime against humanity. Anyone who does not recognize this is collaborating in that crime and that evil.โ€

Excellent point there PLT!

We shall see how John, if he dares, can counter that analogy. Both are crimes against humanity.

But he could argue, with others keen to accept, there is a major the difference in that the Jews of Europe were his god’s chosen people as confirmed in his book of myths; whereas the enslaved Africans- many of whose bones still rest like Davy Jonesโ€™s locker- were a lost tribe living in darkness and in need of salvation and good Christian indoctrination before they could come into the light to be recognized by his Jew-created god.

Now John, should the modern Germans who did not take part in any holocaust ask back for the โ€œreparationsโ€ paid to those โ€˜whiteโ€™ Jews whose connections to the Jews in the Bible are as far as finding a pygmy child in the Congo Basin with blue eyes and blond year pretending to be an albino Nordic reindeer farmer?

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John September 28, 2017 at 12:15 PM # said
    “No person with any scientific background would accept this discrepancy!!”

Your sources are pathetic. Do yourself a favour and give yourself a very basic education about scientific methodology of comparing value across time frames. https://www.measuringworth.com

25. โ€œcrimes against humanityโ€

Even Jeff knows there is a difference.

Read his opening paragraphs.

True lawyer, would never call him moronic!!

26. The people who assaulted you did not invent the crime of assault, but they still committed a crime.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

You just can’t get your head around legal concepts!

Jeff, can you help him?

27. de pedantic Dribbler September 28, 2017 at 8:26 AM #

Kindly reread my post…..I never said anything about new findings.

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

You really shouldn’t embarrass yourself like this John… after all you used to be good at arithmetic, so even if you were not familiar with the arcane methodologies of comparing value across historical time frames you could have simply figured out that ยฃ20m invested in 1838 at a modest 4% per year has a present value of over ยฃ22bn.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John September 28, 2017 at 12:35 PM #
    โ€œcrimes against humanityโ€

Jeff quotes Beckles directly in characterizing Nelson as a perpetrator of โ€œcrimes against humanity.โ€ The quotes are not there with ironic or subversive intent. You need to read more carefully John.

30. Your sources are pathetic. Do yourself a favour and give yourself a very basic education about scientific methodology of comparing value across time frames. https://www.measuringworth.com

Ok, so use your superior techniques and estimate the worth of the education plant in 1838.

Remember, taxes were paid usually based on property ownership unless you can show different.

When did income tax come in?

31. You really shouldnโ€™t embarrass yourself like this Johnโ€ฆ after all you used to be good at arithmetic, so even if you were not familiar with the arcane methodologies of comparing value across historical time frames you could have simply figured out that ยฃ20m invested in 1838 at a modest 4% per year has a present value of over ยฃ22bn
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That would make the million or so that came to Barbados worth about 1 billion GBP’s.

What’s your estimate of the worth of the Education plant if you start in 1671?

Lets, see, 300GBP’s from Capt. John Williams in 1671 at 4%!!

… plus the 10 acres a bit later …

32. Jeff quotes Beckles directly in characterizing Nelson as a perpetrator of โ€œcrimes against humanity.โ€ The quotes are not there with ironic or subversive intent. You need to read more carefully John.
    +++++++++++++++++++

Silly me, I thought no law, no crime, will have to ask a lawyer!!

33. โ€ฆ plus the 10 acres a bit later โ€ฆ

Actually it isn’t 10, it is 100 acres

34. Miller

For the inheritors of that large windfall of blood money not only built stately homes to become born-again Christians of Lords of their dirty ill-gotten manors but ardent financial backers of those 19th Century privateers who sailed to Australasia and committed similar acts of genocide and exploitation against the aboriginal peoples.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I tend to agree with your above,which ties into John’s point that the plantations in Bim were not profitable as brought out by the number of times they went bankrupt(chancery) and were auctioned.

Which begs the question how did they get the fortune that everyone talks about and the only answer has to be the pay out at emancipation which precedent was set by the same King paying the Kings of the Niger delta in lieu of the cessation of the slave trade some decades before.

I find the role of the Quakers as developed on here by John with his facts very interesting as its giving me a new insight into Bim’s history. Contrary to you I am not interested in his or their belief system only the end results.

For the life of me I cannot understand why we want to waste time after 200 years,begging for money as opposed to using our time wisely in developing means of extracting wealth from the world by the use of our brains.

35. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

just like Vincent…posted a big able british article directly related to the enormous profit slave traders earned, not only from slavery, but the sugar slavery produced, the money paid to the enslavers for their loss of property and earnings, as well as the Bussa rebellion…

……all meticulously archived in british museums with accurate documentation….and the jackass never bothered to read the article properly…

he only read the parts that denigrated and demeaned black people, to bolster his useless arguments….and got caught in lies…lol

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes September 28, 2017 at 12:57 PM #
    “Johnโ€™s point that the plantations in Bim were not profitable as brought out by the number of times they went bankrupt(chancery) and were auctioned.”

I have comprehensively disproved John’s point. John then did me the favour of disproving it himself by posting the profitability records of the Codrington plantation. It is ridiculous to infer industry profitability from bankruptcy records. As I pointed out, the most profitable sector of the current US economy, silicon valley, also has the highest rate of bankruptcy.

37. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

and the hypocrite still wants to extract wealth from the world…that none of them put there …read rob the people, by using brains…read schemes and scams…like they do to the majority population on Barbados….for the last 50 years…but the people of the world are waiting on those thieves and so should the majority population on the island.

here comes the conman, running with his con plan.
    BOB MARLEY

38. @ PLT
    “Crime is relative and at the time, slavery was not a crime”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    As man Peter….

ANY one who could seriously contemplate the above – far less to to say it in a public forum, can best be described in terms that Pachamama has come to use on BU when pushed…

Such persons are able to justify all kinda shiite….and it is logic such as this, that drives persons of the ilk of Hitler, Trump, George Bush….. and the many others bout here – JUST like John – but who may be actually intelligent enough to NOT expose themselves publicly with such asinine comments.

According to his Gospel then, there is probably ‘no crime’ committed when a DLP lawyer is paid $1.5M for attending three meetings; …. or $3/4M for reading a shiite contract; …or even being ‘awarded’ a million dollar ‘finders fee’ in a CAHILL – type scam.

If John …or any of the other “shiite Christians” – who are able to convince themselves of such fallacies – REALLY think that they are on a sound footing, then they must be even bigger brass bowls than Bushie thinks thought to be currently possible.

Karma awaits their sorry donkeys….

39. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

it was still a crime against nature and humanity……even if manmade penal codes did not exist to arrest the criminals who practiced it for 400 year…it was a crime, still is a crime will always be a crime, with or without manmade penal codes.

….Although there was no specific law against slavery, the attorney general advised that โ€œsuch … declared that human slavery shall not exist in these Islands, . . . no law, so far as I can discover, has … Tomรกs Cabanag had been convicted for the crime of illegal detention and sentenced to eight years in prison. …

40. A flood warning is in effect for Barbados until 4 p.m. today.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100885/flood-warning-issued

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes September 28, 2017 at 12:57 PM # said
    “For the life of me I cannot understand why we want to waste time after 200 years,begging for money as opposed to using our time wisely in developing means of extracting wealth from the world by the use of our brains.”

I will explain it to you Vincent. The reparations negotiations are using our time (for historical research and public discourse) to develop means (embarrassing history of the British empire which we use to manipulate British public opinion the UN and the international Court of Justice) of extracting wealth (out of you yourself and other British taxpayers) by using our brains (when your ex PM Cameron went to Jamaica he denied that Britain would ever pay reparations… however he signed a cheque for a ยฃ300 million infrastructure fund, but we had to promise not to call it reparations ;-)). That is the first very small installment.

42. Peter

You are confusing crime and sin.

You can’t accept the concept of sin because you are an atheist and to do so would be accept God.

So you invent “crime against humanity” when all you need to call it was sin.

But you can’t … can you?

Because God deals with that.

43. As slave trade abolition is celebrated, millions of Africans continue to …
    http://www.dw.com/en/as-slave-trade-abolition-is…of-africans…slaves/a-18337189
    Mar 24, 2015 – More than 200 years ago today (March 25, 1807) the transatlantic slave trade that brought some 17 million Africans to the New World over four …
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

…..yuh likkle bwoi….a wa yuh ado ’bout yuh enslaved brothers and sisters in Africa.

wha ’bout BBE….how come he has not stopped the practice.

Continue your braying my friend .

44. Not surprised flood warning in effect.

http://www.meteofrance.gp/previsions-meteo-antilles-guyane/animation/radar/antilles

Guadeloupe Radar shows the mess.

Looks like there is a lot more to come.

45. it was still a crime against nature and humanityโ€ฆโ€ฆeven if manmade penal codes did not exist to arrest the criminals who practiced it for 400 yearโ€ฆit was a crime, still is a crime will always be a crime, with or without manmade penal codes.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Why not just call it a sin!!

46. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

these slave laws were enacted by man and embedded in bibles, by man, i give no credence to the bible because of its content of pure evil…that is what you get from anything man touches or creates…..this evil was created by mankind for mankind.

….but nature also has much more powerful laws, much more powerful.

The Law Of Slavery..from encyclopedia brittanica.

SPOTLIGHT / HISTORY

Britannica Kids
    Sources of slavery law

By definition slavery must be sanctioned by the society in which it exists, and such approval is most easily expressed in written norms or laws. Thus it is not accidental that even the briefest code of a relatively uncomplicated slave-owning society was likely to contain at least a few articles on slavery.

Both slave-owning and slave societies that were part of the major cultural traditions borrowed some of their laws about slavery from the religious texts of their respective civilizations.

Principles regarding slavery that proved to be either unprofitable or unworkable were among the first to be discarded. An obvious example is provided by the biblical law that Hebrew slaves were to be manumitted after six years (Exodus 21:2; Deuteronomy 15:12).

A similar general recommendation that slaves be freed after six years in bondage was adhered to by many Islamic slave-owning societies; it helps to account for the ferocity and frequency of their slave raids, for they had a need for constant replenishment of their slave supplies. In Christian slave societies, on the other hand, the principle that the tenure of slavery should be limited was almost completely ignored.

Practically every society that possessed slaves wrote about them in its laws, and thus only a few codes can be mentioned here. The ancient Mesopotamian laws of Eshnunna (c. 1900 bce) and the Code of Hammurabi had a number of articles devoted to slavery, as did the Pentateuch. In ancient India the Laws of Manu of the 1st century bce contained numerous laws on slaves.

Little is known about the Athenian law of slavery, but the Roman law of slavery was extraordinarily elaborate. Roman law was summed up in the great Pandects of Justinian of 533 ce, and some of its slave norms later found their way into the Byzantine Ecloga (which incorporated Syrian norms as well) of 726 ce and, more deliberately, into the Procheiron Nomos of 867โ€“879 ce. Romano-Byzantine norms also found their way into the Bulgarian Court Law for the People (โ€œZakon Sudnyi Liudemโ€) of the end of the 9th century and the 13th-century Ethiopian Fetha Nagast.

The European barbarian (Germanic) codes, which first appeared in the 5th century ce and remained in effect for about half a millennium, were derived from customary law influenced by Roman law. The slave statutes of the Russian Russkaya Pravda of the 11thโ€“13th century were all clearly of native East Slavic origin. T

he same was true of the Muscovite court handbooks (Sudebniki) of 1497, 1550, 1589, and 1606. The Muscovite Russians had a special government office to deal with slavery matters, the Slavery Chancellery (1571โ€“1704), and its practice became the basis of chapter 20 of the great Ulozhenie of 1649, which constituted 119 of the 967 articles of the code; other articles dealt with slavery as well.

The Qurสพฤn was the fundamental starting point for Islamic law (Sharฤซสฟah), including the law of slavery. It was supplemented by the ijmฤสฟ, the scholarly legal consensus, and the qiyฤs, juristic reasoning by analogy. Islamic law regulated in detail every part of the institution of slavery, from the jihad (holy war) and the distribution of booty to the treatment of slaves and emancipation. The last Islamic slave law was promulgated in 1936 by King Ibn Saสฟลซd of Saudi Arabia, which restated the teachings of the Qurสพฤn. It also required owners to register slaves with the government and licensed slave traders.

Some sub-Saharan African societies followed Islamic law; others had their own. The latter ordinarily were not systematized until the European colonization movement, and so their law of slavery was oral common law.

TEST YOUR KNOWLEDGE
    A circus poster from about 1900 announces the upcoming arrival of Buffalo Bill and his Wild West show. American Personalities
    Slavery was a relatively prominent institution in the Chinese Tang Code of the 7th century ce. Subsequently it was mentioned in every Chinese law down to the 20th century and was also important in the Korean legal system. The slavery norms of the Mongol Great Yassa of Genghis Khan were locally generated, but subsequent Mongol law reveals considerable influence of the Tang Code.

The circum-Caribbean world had several basic laws of slavery. The slave law of the Spanish-speaking colonies and then independent countries was based on the Siete Partidas of 1263โ€“65 of Alfonso X of Castile and Lรฉon and the Spanish Slave Code of 1789. Another important code in Latin America was Louis XIVโ€™s Code Noir of 1685. The Louisiana Slave Code of 1824 was based on the Siete Partidas and the Code Napolรฉon.

The Danish Virgin Islands had two largely locally generated codes of 1733 and 1755, although they were approved by the colonial administration of Denmark. The English colonies were completely autonomous, for England had no law of slavery from which to borrow.

The first code was that of Barbados of 1688, whose origins are unknown. It was imitated by the South Carolina code of 1740. Beginning with Virginia in 1662, each colony in North America worked out its own ex post facto law of slavery before independence, a process that continued after the creation of the United States and until the Civil War. Slavery is mentioned only three times and referred to at most 10 times (and then only indirectly) in the U.S. Constitution, and, except for a handful of measures on fugitives, there was no federal slave law. The basic protection for the institution of slavery was the Tenth Amendment of 1791, the reserved powers clause, which left the issue of slavery and other matters to the states.

Legal definitions of slavery

47. Sin against God, not “crime against humanity”

Stop thrashing about in your linguistics.

48. @ Vincent
    Sugar was an ‘intoxicating drug’ of the Plantation days ….that helped to make Europeans wealthy. While not on the level of India, Barbados (the sugar plantations) created much personal and state wealth in England.

See if you can figure out why so many British soldiers were stationed here, and for so long, in the midst of mosquito infested Garrison swampy area…. No wonder the Pitchfork monument is there…

What made what losses what…?!?

After Massy and Emera extract their pounds of flesh UP FRONT, you will probably find that these modern-day ‘plantations’ will claim unprofitability too….
    …but like the old ones, they will persist for centuries in exploiting local brass bowls such as yourself.

49. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

they were crimes…what sin what..

its too easy for you to ask ya nonexistent fraud god to forgive ya sins….

..crimes against humanity, against nature and against the earth carries a much more powerful and potent penalty….for the descendants of enslavers…though many changed their names…Karma undoubtedly knows who they are and where to find them.