Many have struggled in recent days to recall a period in history when weather systems developed to Category 4 & 5 before leaving the space of the Northern Caribbean. Clearly there is enough evidence to draw a reasonable conclusion that we have entered a period in which the region will have to contend with more intense weather systems. While it seems a simple conclusion for the BU household to make others argue that it is a manufactured idea.
CLIMATE CHANGE and the BIG CATs Irma, Jose & Maria

314 responses to “CLIMATE CHANGE and the BIG CATs Irma, Jose & Maria”
-
No one said that GP…again, you are straying outside ya field of expertise, more qualified people than you are understand what is occuring, tthe environment never stayed the same, it could not, neither are the carbons and chemicals being used…
…., so dont care how you twist it, you are wrong.., dead wrong.
-
whereas the environment never stayed the same,…………………. the chemistry of carbon atoms have and so have the chemical pathways being used by men and mice LOL
THAT IS IN MY AREA AS A BIOCHEMIST LOL
O=C=O IS THE STRUCTURE OF CARBON DIOXIDE
IT CAN NOT CHANGE WHO EVER SAYS SO THE BONDING CAN NOT CHANGE TH STRUCTURE CAN NOT CHANGE NEITHER CAN THE REACTIONS IT CAN ENGAGE INYOU CAN CITE ALL THE SO CALLED EXPERTS YOU LIKE BUT THE CHEMISTRY OF CARBON CAN NOT CHANGE LOL LOL
I AINT GOT TO TWIST A THING
USING STRAIGHT UP AND DOWN BASIC CHEMISTRY LOL LOL -
Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 3:06 PM #
Point taken.
-
WW&C
Chuckle…..umh….dem lashes so reglah dem mussee ge’ing yuh rass rale rale warm nuh.
Ask your buddy Bushie for a translation as you are not a Bimmer…..but where is he,your braying side kick to defend you…..lol….he knows when to hide.
-
Crusoe
I dont know how much Chemistry you bothered with after your HC days, but if you apply it you dont need an an environmentalist to tell you what carbon dioxide can or can not doif you change the environment or the habitat you will change animal of plant populations that do not adapt but you cant change the structure of chemicals or biochemical pathways or the basic biological principles that control life
we had hurricanes in FL in 2004 with all the warming in FL we have not had a hurricane until 2017
this year we have not had the daily thunder storms and rain in central florida that we get every summer despite all the climate change and global warming -
Thank you Jeremy for that first hand report. Thank you BDF and RSS.
-
car·bon di·ox·ide
- a colorless, odorless gas produced by burning carbon and organic compounds and by respiration. It is naturally present in air (about 0.03 percent) and is absorbed by plants in photosynthesis.
-
Amen!
-
Vincent…grow up.
GP knows he is wrong, but we cant allow false info from the 60s and 70s to determine our fate or cost small islanders their lives…….
……besides you are just desperate now ya realizing ya cant pull anymore scams to get free subsidies from taxpayers using ya begging bowl and government ministers…that has to be a defining moment and rude awakening, but wait…there is so much more to come, dont blink or ya will miss it..
Don’t worry about Bushman…worry about yaself, we are on the ball.
-
“It is naturally present in air (about 0.03 percent) and is absorbed by plants in photosynthesis.”
Which clearly means that any amount over that percent ile, is not natural, therefore the overabundance can in no way be naturally absorbed by plants only…it has to go somewhere…
…..no one needs to take a test or have a degree to understand the concept…ya only need commonsense.
-
“It is naturally present in air (about 0.03 percent) and is absorbed by plants in photosynthesis.”
BOTH STATEMENTS ARE TRUE AIR HAS 0.03 percent CARBON DIOXIDE
CARBON DIOXIDE IS ABSORBED BY PLANTS IN PHOTOSYNTHESIS
Which clearly means that any amount over that percent ile, is not natural, THIS is THE FALSE STATEMENT Of A SCIENCE ILLITERATE
if you burn any compound containg carbon cARBON DIOXIDE WILL BE EMITTED
BURN SOME GARBAGE OR OLD NEWSPAPERS
THE SMOKE GOING UP CONTAINS CARBON DIOXIDE……that is natural
BREATHE OUT ……….THE GAS COMING OUT IS CARBON DIOXIDE ……this occurs all day every day NATURALLY and has been happening since the beginning of time and IT DID NOT CAUSE GLOBAL WARNING ALL THAT TIME LOL LOL
ya only need commonsense to know and observe this .
and “the overabundance can in no way be naturally absorbed by plants only…it has to go somewhere…” and IT DOES IT COMBINES WITH WATER TO FORM H2CO3
AND IT IS TRUE …..no one needs to take a test or have a degree to understand thIS concept…TRUE TRUE WE ALL KNEW THIS TO BE TRUE WHEN WE OBSERVED THIS IN THE SIMPLE
EXPERIMENTS WE NED IN THE LAB LONG LONG BEFORE WE DID THE TESTS AND GOT THE UNIVERSITY DEGREEya only needED commonsense to know and observe this AND THERE WAS NO GLOBAL WARMING OR CLIMATE CHANGE BECAUSE OF THE “PRODUCTION OF THIS “UNAATURALLY PRODUCED CARBON DIOXIDE LOL
THIS IS LIKE BEATING UP ON A CHILD.
-
GP knows he is RIGHT AND THAT THE SIMPLE TEACHING from the 60s and 70s IS TRUE
CO2 EMMISSIONS WILL NOT determine our fate or cost small islanders their lives…….THAT IS HYSTERICAL EMOTIONAL TALK SUCH AS IS CURRENTLY COMMON IN CONTEMPORARY USA SINCE THE 2016 ELECTION VERY COMMON IN WOMEN ESPECIALLY
IT IS VERY HILARY-OUS
-
CARBON DIOXIDE COMBINES WITH WATER TO FORM H2CO3
THAT IS BASIC BASIC CHEMISTRY
THE H2CO3 NOT USED BY PLANTS IS ABSORBED IN LAKES RIVERS DAMS AND THE SEA
THAT WHICH FALLS ON THE GROUND ETC EVENTUALLY BECOME CARBONATES OF SOME SORT DEPENDING ON WHERE IT FALLS
THIS HAS BEN HAPPENING NATURALLY FOR EONS
I DIDNT LEARN MUCH IN SCHOOL BUT I MASTERED CHEMISTRY AND LATIN AT LEAST LOL LOL
-
Tell that to Skerritt GP…am sure he will agree with you right before he tells you ya talking nonsense….stick to ya field of expertise. ..general medicine. .
“Skerrit to UN – I come to you straight from the front line of the war on climate change
Added by Desmond Brown on September 23, 2017.
Saved under Dominica, Local News, Regional
Dominica’s Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit addressed the United Nations General Assembly on Saturday, calling on countries around the world to lend “rescue and rebuilding equipment” to his decimated country which he said, “reflects a zone of war”.“With physical and emotional difficulty, I have left my bleeding nation to be with you here today because these are the moments for which the United Nations exists,” Skerrit said in an address which lasted 17 minutes.
The Dominican leader used his address to focus on the challenges faced by Caribbean countries as a result of climate change and appealed for help to rebuild his country which is home to 72,000 people.
“In the case of Dominica, it has been only two years since we lost lives and endured substantial physical and infrastructural damage from the ravages of the floods and mud slides of Tropical Storm Erika,” he said.
“To deny climate change is to procrastinate while the earth sinks; it is to deny a truth we have just lived.
“It is to mock thousands of my compatriots who in a few hours, without a roof over their heads, will watch the night descend on Dominica in fear of sudden mud slides and what the next hurricane may bring,” Skerrit added.”
-
Keep talking rubbish GP…dont stop, the next Car5 might knock on your door, hope ya ready..
“Skerrit to UN – I come to you straight from the front line of the war on climate change
Added by Desmond Brown on September 23, 2017.
Saved under Dominica, Local News, Regional
Dominica’s Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit addressed the United Nations General Assembly on Saturday, calling on countries around the world to lend “rescue and rebuilding equipment” to his decimated country which he said, “reflects a zone of war”.“With physical and emotional difficulty, I have left my bleeding nation to be with you here today because these are the moments for which the United Nations exists,” Skerrit said in an address which lasted 17 minutes.
The Dominican leader used his address to focus on the challenges faced by Caribbean countries as a result of climate change and appealed for help to rebuild his country which is home to 72,000 people.
“In the case of Dominica, it has been only two years since we lost lives and endured substantial physical and infrastructural damage from the ravages of the floods and mud slides of Tropical Storm Erika,” he said.
“To deny climate change is to procrastinate while the earth sinks; it is to deny a truth we have just lived.
“It is to mock thousands of my compatriots who in a few hours, without a roof over their heads, will watch the night descend on Dominica in fear of sudden mud slides and what the next hurricane may bring,” Skerrit added.
He pointed out that Dominica and the rest of the Caribbean did not start this war against nature, neither did they provoke it but the war had come to them.
And he said there is little time left for action.
“While the big countries talk, the small island nations suffer. We need action and we need it now. We in the Caribbean do not produce greenhouse gases or sulphate aerosols. We do not pollute or overfish our oceans. We have made no contribution to global warming that can move the needle. But yet, we are among the main victims on the frontline,” Skerrit said.
“In the Commonwealth of Dominica, we have long pursued and respected an existence that preserves our Little Eden.
“But what is our reality at this moment? Pure devastation, as Dominicans bear the brunt of climate change. We are shouldering the consequences of the actions of others. Actions that endanger our very existence and all for the enrichment of a few elsewhere.
“We dug graves today in Dominica. We buried loved ones yesterday and I am sure that as I return home tomorrow, we shall discover additional fatalities, as a consequence of this encounter. Our homes are flattened. Our buildings roofless. Our water pipes smashed and road infrastructure destroyed. Our hospital is without power and schools have disappeared beneath the rubble. Our crops are uprooted. Where there was green there is now only dust and dirt,” he said.
Hurricane Maria hit Dominica as a category five storm on Monday leaving 15 confirmed deaths and more than 20 missing and presumed dead.”
-
“The nation of Dominica has come here to declare an international humanitarian emergency. One that is centred in Dominica but also encompasses many of our neighbours including our sister isle, Antigua which had to evacuate its citizens from Barbuda.
“The time has come for the international community to make a stand and to decide whether it will be shoulder to shoulder with those suffering the ravages of climate change worldwide. Whether we can mitigate the consequences of unprecedented increases in sea temperatures and levels; whether to help us rebuild sustainable livelihoods; or whether the international community will merely show some pity now, and then flee; relieved to know that this time it was not you.”
The Prime Minister called on the UNGA to let these extraordinary events unleash the innovation and creativity of global citizens to spark a new paradigm of green economic development that stabilizes and reverses the consequences of human-induced global warming.
“We will rebuild our Garden of Eden again for our children and for future generations,” Skerrit promised.
But right now, he said the country needs all the things required in a natural disaster.
“We need water, food and emergency shelter. We need roads, bridges and new infrastructure. But we also need capabilities of delivery,” he said.
“I call upon those with substantial military capacities to lend us the rescue and rebuilding equipment that may be standing idle waiting for a war; Let Dominica today be that war, because currently, our landscape reflects a zone of war.
“The battle we face has brought us to our knees. We need resources now so that we may move with purpose to the task of rebuilding our beautiful island home.”
-
“I call upon those with substantial military capacities to lend us the rescue and rebuilding equipment that may be standing idle waiting for a war; Let Dominica today be that war, because currently, our landscape reflects a zone of war.
“The battle we face has brought us to our knees. We need resources now so……..”
Just in case the bottom feeding minorities from Barbados… think they can go into Dominica looking fir contracts…p
PARASITES ARE NIT WELCOMR….., unless ya volunteering ya services..Skerritt is specifically requesting help from countries with military might….so there.
-
GP…all the crap you are talking about burning newspapers and burning rubbish…do your own research and see how much carbon is emitted by China, US, UK and several others and see if you can equate it to burning a newspaper or rubbish, all those smoke stacks and other emitters of carbon and dangerous chemicals……..again ya talking rubbish,,
…….you cannot change what real scientists have found and are sharing with the world…like everything else science has evolved…they know more today than they did in the 60s, 70s, 80s,……that you can know since science is continually evolving.
They even accurately track and forecast the very movement of the hurricanes days in advance, something that seemed impossible couple decades ago,…
…..so ya wasting ya time…the real scientists know what they are speaking about…hell…science students in today’s HC high school and at university will tell you the same thing…50 years after you left there…everything has changed…including science.
Just in case the bottom feeding minorities from Barbados… think they can go into Dominica looking for contracts…..PARASITES ARE NOT WELCOME….., unless ya volunteering ya services..
Skerritt is specifically requesting help from countries with military might….so there.
-
Dont for one minute believe you are safe in Florida, because you are not…1950s to 1970s science cannot save you.
-
@ David who wrote ” Clearly there is enough evidence to draw a reasonable conclusion that we have entered a period in which the region will have to contend with more intense weather systems.”
The sad reality is that “Barbados” will do nothing….. an wen de hurricane come…mash up… and go, Government will have Aid dollars to squan… sorry uh mean to spend.
-
LOL WELL WELL
RE Keep talking rubbish GP… NOT RUBBISH SIMPLE CHEMISTRY THAT YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND
SEE IT AGAIN WRITTEN WITH NO EMOTION
CARBON DIOXIDE COMBINES WITH WATER TO FORM H2CO3THAT IS BASIC BASIC CHEMISTRY
THAT WHICH FALLS ON THE GROUND ETC EVENTUALLY BECOME CARBONATES OF SOME SORT DEPENDING ON WHERE IT FALLS
THIS HAS BEN HAPPENING NATURALLY FOR EONS
RE dont stop, the next Car5 might knock on your door, hope ya ready.
IRMA DID PASS OVER SANFORD FL AND THERE WERE 22 PREDICTED TORNADOES BY THE MET PEOPLE THAT AFTERNOON
YOU SHOULD SEE THE CARBON IN UNNATURAL QUANTITIES HOVERING IN THE AIR LOL LOL MURDAH THE CARBON DIOXIDE WAS WAS PLAYING HANDSY PANSY WITH THE WATER MOLECULES TO FORM H2CO
IT WAS ORGASMIC MURDAH
THAT DOMINICA WAS RAVAGED AGAIN BY A BIG HURRICANE THAT IS TRUE
THAT THEY HAVE PHYSICAL NEED IS ALSO TRUEIT IS ALSO TRUE THAT THERE HAS BEN HURRICANES FOR EONS
ONE REMEMBERS HURRICANE DAVID IN 1979
THERE WERE TWO HURRICANES IN THE USA THIS YEAR
THERE IS A RECENT EARTH QUAKE IN MEXICO
THERE WAS BAD WEATHER HERE AND THERE AND EVERYWHERE RECENTLYI DID NOT HEAR ANY EMOTIONAL RANTS FROM YOU ABOUT THESE
AND THERE WILL BE MORE SO HOLD ON AND WATCH
THE PREDICTIONS OF THE OLIVET DISCOURSE ARE COMING TO PASS
AND YOUR EMOTIONAL RANTS OR UNBELIEF WILL NOT STOP IT
-
GP you wrote, “Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 1:47 PM #
yOUR GRAPH SHOWS ONLY THAT THERE HAS BEEN INCREASED CARBON DIOXIDE CONCENTRATIONS”You also wrote: “and “the overabundance can in no way be naturally absorbed by plants only…it has to go somewhere…” and IT DOES IT COMBINES WITH WATER TO FORM H2CO3”
and “CARBON DIOXIDE COMBINES WITH WATER TO FORM H2CO3
THAT IS BASIC BASIC CHEMISTRY
THAT WHICH FALLS ON THE GROUND ETC EVENTUALLY BECOME CARBONATES OF SOME SORT DEPENDING ON WHERE IT FALLS”
So are you saying that there has been NO sustained increase in measured carbon dioxide concentrations in the atmosphere?
-
Barbadian doctors and nurses to assist Dominica
https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/09/23/barbadian-doctors-and-nurses-to-assist-dominica/
-
Hants September 23, 2017 at 6:17 PM #
@ David who wrote ” Clearly there is enough evidence to draw a reasonable conclusion that we have entered a period in which the region will have to contend with more intense weather systems.”
THE PREDICTIONS OF THE OLIVET DISCOURSE ARE COMING TO PASS
LET WELL WELL RANT SOME MOREDID YOU DO THE EXPERIMENT AT SCHOOL WHERE CO2 WAS MADE IN THE LAB AND BUBBLED INTO WATER AND THE WATER CHECKED WID pH PAPER?
they still do those experiments today you know in CANADA THE USA THE UK AND THIS CHEMISTRY AND BIOLOGY ILLITERATE WANT TO TEACH ME WHAT I KNOW AND HAVE EXPERIENCED
-
GP…you keep regurgitating what was taught to you and me in an ever evolving world using ever evolving science…….it’s just that your science never evolved,
…..you will be so shocked to know what I know about science….how far I pursued it at UNI level.
…….but like with everything else on this ever evolving earth…I keep an open mind for the rapid changes…..you think I will keep regurgitating that crap I was taught when I am well aware of the significant changes in science……… and changes to the earth which is now killing people….
What you keep regurgitating will not be applicable in 200 years…why….major changes due to man and/or nature…which will bring about differences in the way science will view occurrences.
Ah bet ya if ya were allowed to live another 200 years ya will still be talking that rubbish…why, cause you are not capable of evolving with science or the earth….so in your stagnanted mind…all the scientists on earth will always be wrong and you will always be right……because nothing ever changes in your world.
….ah glad no one has to depend on your scientific mind or everyone will die.
-
Ping Pong September 23, 2017 at 6:25 PM #
GP you wrote, “Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 1:47 PM #So are you saying that there has been NO sustained increase in measured carbon dioxide concentrations in the atmosphere?
i DID NOT SAY THAT
I AM SAYING THAT carbon dioxide IS RELATIVELY INERT ENGAGES IN VERY FEW CHEMICAL REACTIONS, IS NOT INHERENTLY SELF COMBUSTIBLE AND IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR GLOBAL WARMING OR CLIMATE CHANGE
NOTE I DID NOT SAY THAT GLOBAL WARMING OR CLIMATE CHANGE DOES NOT EXIST BECAUSE THIS PHENOMENON CAN BE FELT
POSTING ON BU IS LIKE PICKING WILTS SOMETIMES
-
GP…we should make you pick wilts all night…lol
-
So carbon dioxide concentrations are increasing. (I am making no claim that increased CO2 concentration is the cause of global warming). What I am trying to understand is your assertion that “THE H2CO3 NOT USED BY PLANTS IS ABSORBED IN LAKES RIVERS DAMS AND THE SEA
THAT WHICH FALLS ON THE GROUND ETC EVENTUALLY BECOME CARBONATES OF SOME SORT DEPENDING ON WHERE IT FALLS” and your acknowledgement of increased sustained measured concentrations of CO2 in the atmosphere.
-
GP…you keep regurgitating what was taught to you and me in an ever evolving world using ever evolving science…….it’s just that your science never evolved,
THE VOLUME OF SCIENTIFIC KNOWLEDGE HAS DFINITELY INCREASED BUT THE CHEMISTRY OF CARBON DIOXIDE HAS NOT
…..you will be so shocked to know what I know about science….how far I pursued it at UNI level.FRANKLY I DO NOT CARE WHAT YOU KNOW OR WHAT YOU DID AT UNI LEVEL
YOU CLEARLY DID NOT GET THE CHEMISTRY AND BIOLOGY OF CARBON DIOXIDE CORRECT
AND YOU WANT TO INVENT THE WHEEL…….but like with everything else on this ever evolving earth…I keep an open mind for the rapid changes…..you think I will keep regurgitating that crap I was taught when I am well aware of the significant changes in science……… and changes to the earth which is now killing people….
YOU CAN DO WHAT YOU LIKE
THE BASIC CHEMISTRY I LEARNED AT SCHOOL AND UNIVERSITY IS STILL BEING TAUGHT
ONLY THING IS THAT THE BOOKS HAVE BETTER LAY OUTS AND BETTER ILLUSTRATIONSWhat you keep regurgitating will not be applicable in 200 years…
why…
BECAUSE YOU SAY SO?
ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE BASIC BIOLOGY AND CHEMISTRY OF CARBON DIOXIDE THAT HAS PREVAILED AS ORDAINED BY THE CREATOR SINCE ADAM WAS A LAD WILL CHANGE BECAUSE YOU BELIEVE THAT CARBON DIOXIDE CAUSS GLOBAL WARMING ? MURDAH.major changes due to man and/or nature…which will bring about differences in the way science will view occurrences.
BUT IT WILL NOT CHANGE THE STRUCTURE OF CARBON DIOXIDE OR THE REACTIONS IT CAN UNDERGO
Ah bet ya if ya were allowed to live another 200 years ya will still be talking that rubbish…why, cause you are not capable of evolving with science or the earth…
GIVE ME THE REFERENCES THAT SAY THAT THE CHEMISTRY OR PHYSIOLOGY ETC ABOUT CARBON DIOXIDE HAS EVOLVED
.so in your stagnanted mind…all the scientists on earth will always be wrong and you will always be right……because nothing ever changes in your world.
NOT REALLY THE HURRICANES ARE MORE INTENSE IS A REALITY WE HAD NONE IN FLORIDA SINCE 2004 WHEN WE HAD FOUR
WE HAD ONE THIS YEAR LOL THAT IS CHANGE….ah glad no one has to depend on your scientific mind or everyone will die.
I GLAD TOO IT IS MUCH MORE FUN TO WATCH GUNSMOKE LONE RANGER AND ROY ROGERS RERUNS WHEN I AM NOT TEACHING WHAT IS THE CONTEMPORARY THOUGHTS ON THE BIOLOGY AND CHEMISTRY OF CARBON DIOXIDE
-
PING PONG
WHAT IS HARD TO UNDERSTAND ABOUT THE assertion that “THE H2CO3 NOT USED BY PLANTS IS ABSORBED IN LAKES RIVERS DAMS AND THE SEA
THAT WHICH FALLS ON THE GROUND ETC EVENTUALLY BECOME CARBONATES OF SOME SORT DEPENDING ON WHERE IT FALLS”
ARE YOU IMPLYING THAT THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN OR HAS NOT HAPPENED?
-
Not at all. If I have understood you correctly you are implying that there can be no increase in CO2 in the atmosphere. Yet you acknowledge that there has been increased concentrations of CO2.
-
@ GP,
I will not debate ” climate change “. Not well enough educated.
I have been observing the destruction of recent hurricanes and how difficult the recovery process is.
I was hoping that some bloggers would be interested in discussing what Bajans should do
before the next hurricane hit Barbados but no one is interested.
For sure if one does hit and I am still alive I will send money to help friends and relatives.
-
Hahahaha…..muh belly……WW&C….yuh damn illiterate……at least Bushie did chemistry at Cawmere an know better than to argue the bovine effluence you are discharging presently.
-
All Bimmers can do with a Cat 5 is look for the caves that the Tainos used before leaving Bim some years before the arrival of the Potuguese…..underground bunkers are for the wealthy…..crapaud smoke we pipe if we are hit……Guyana offering land survivors can evacuate.
-
Ping Pong September 23, 2017 at 7:07 PM #
Not at all. If I have understood you correctly you are implying that there can be no increase in CO2 in the atmosphere.i DID NOT SAY THAT ANYWHERE SIR
WHEN CO2 IS EMITTED OBVIOUSLY THERE WILL BE increased concentrations of CO2 UNTIL THE CO2 IS ABSORBEDTHE GRAPH INTRODUCED BY THE POSTER POINTS OUT THAT INCREASING CONCENTRATIONS WERE MEASURED ON A YEARLY BASIS NOT THAT THE TOTAL CARBON DIOXIDE CONCENTRATIONS HAD INCREASED
IN ANY CASE ONE WOULD NOT EXPECT THAT ALL EMISSIONS WOULD BE IMMEDIATELY ABSORBED
-
Build stronger roofs, perferably concrete..they have perfected the product…utilize storm shutters..the amount of taxpayers and pensioners money government wastes on crap…they could create programs that would fortify houses fir the next batch of intensely fuel filled, heat filled hurricanes crossing the atlantic into the small, very vulnerable islands..
It’s their call or they will find themselves in the position Skerritt now finds himself…having to institute and upgrade to better building codes.
-
GP…I will take you seriously about anything else…except for that.
Too many lives are at stake, particularly in the Caribbean.
-
@ Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 6:29 PM
“THE PREDICTIONS OF THE OLIVET DISCOURSE ARE COMING TO PASS”Dr. GP, are you arguing here (sorry, stating as ‘gospel’) that the recent hurricanes and earthquakes (and even rumours of nuclear wars) are all planned and deliberate Acts of your god Yahweh and were predictably described in the Judeo-Christian book of myths and legend even though the word ‘hurricane’ is of Amerindian origin and that weather phenomenon was unknown to Middle Eastern and European biblical scribes and scholars prior to the disastrous arrival of Columbus?
Why would your loving caring god want to destroy innocent babies and children as he did by allowing Herod to slaughter the innocent boy children thereby depriving an entire generation of females from experiencing the joys of motherhood like the virgin Mary did with sweet baby Jesus?
-
Hants
I was hoping that some bloggers would be interested in discussing what Bajans should do
before the next hurricane hit Barbados but no one is interested.
YOU ARE THE ETERNAL OPTIMIST
BU POSTERS ARE MORE INTERESTED IN SPILLING HATE AND PUTTING DOWN OTHERSTHE SOCIETY IS INTERESTED IN EXCLUDING THOSE WHO TRIED TO IMPROVE THEIR LOT
ONE CONSULTANT WONDERED HOW I COULD LIVE OR OWN A GREAT HOUSE………THE FOOL DID NOT KNOW THAT THE PLANTATION WHOSE NAME WAS BORNE BY THE VILLAGE IN WHICH I LIVED HAD BEEN SOLD OUT 50 YEARS PREVIOUSLY
ANOTHER WONDERED HOW I COULD BUILD HOUSES ON A GOVERNMENT SALARY
HE DID NOT KNOW HOW MUCH LABOUR WORK I DID ON THEM -
MILLER
THE VERY HIGH CONCENTRATION OF YOUR BULL SHIT IS NOT WORTHY OF A RESPONSE -
@ Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 7:36 PM
No! No! Because you just can’t.
You are the one spewing theological bullshit.
Go run it to the Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists and Taoists who have their own interpretation and explanations for same weather phenomena and natural disasters that have been around long before humans dare to leave Eastern Africa.
-
@Miller
Why don’t you follow Hants, Ping Pong and the BU household and pay attention to the Chemistry class101?
-
@ David September 23, 2017 at 8:44 PM
Then there is absolutely nothing difficult or ‘morally’ wrong with seeding hurricanes to rearrange their chemical composition to make them less destructive to humans and human habitats.
And all along I thought the sole role of hurricanes in Nature was to remove the annual build up of heat at the Equator to more northerly or southerly latitudes depending on whether the Sun’s intensity is greatest in the Northern or Southern hemisphere with the devastating impact on human habitat being mere collateral damage.
-
Miller
I am a person without a belief system as you know close to agnosticism….. Yet I find GPs scientific arguments worthwhile……Davids point is taken.
-
Vincent Haynes September 23, 2017 at 7:22 PM #
All Bimmers can do with a Cat 5 is look for the caves that the Tainos used before leaving Bim some years before the arrival of the Potuguese…..underground bunkers are for the wealthy…..crapaud smoke we pipe if we are hit……Guyana offering land survivors can evacuate.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++I got a story handed down to me via my Great Grand Mother of my ancestors after the 1831 hurricane.
That is just what they had to do in the Atlantic Shores area.
We do not realise just what advantages our location gives us.
Four major Hurricanes in 237 years.
Whoever put Barbados where it is did us a huge favour.
-
http://www.weathermodification.com/cloud-seeding.php
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/cloud-seeding-china-snow/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Popeye
I always thought cloud seeding was used to increase precipitation.
I guess if it is done far enough away from the islands it might draw the sting, except that the sting gets put in when the systems are near the islands.
I don’t know if that is something that should be tried willy nilly!!
-
I am not in possession of the CO2 data but the trend line indicates that CO2 concentration in the atmosphere is increasing regardless of GP’s specious distinction between yearly levels and total concentrations.
https://www.skepticalscience.com/CO2-emissions-correlation-with-CO2-concentration.htm
If I recall estimates correctly from my association at NOAA, it is believed that even if humans were to stop burning fossil fuels now it would take centuries for natural systems to absorb the CO2 presently in excess of that managed by natural sinks. GP’s chemistry references do not address the issues. As he has acknowledged, the CO2 levels are increasing. However the effect of this increase of CO2 on climate is for some debatable.
-
here are some good pictures of the structure of carbon dioxide
https://www.google.com/search?q=structure+of+carbon+dioxide&rlz=1C1LENN_enUS622US622&tbm=isch&imgil=BDSSyY-L_E3kOM%253A%253BzYVFa2MCqbpDVM%253Bhttps%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.youtube.com%25252Fwatch%25253Fv%2525253DdD0Xl4acUFg&source=iu&pf=m&fir=BDSSyY-L_E3kOM%253A%252CzYVFa2MCqbpDVM%252C_&usg=__fXPXdBn9j5X3rsXGaAwqysNu57k%3D&biw=1366&bih=662&ved=0ahUKEwjHp7_r5rzWAhVLKCYKHbDcBTQQyjcIfA&ei=KBzHWcfzOcvQmAGwuZegAw#imgrc=BDSSyY-L_E3kOM: -
re it is believed that even if humans were to stop burning fossil fuels now it would take centuries for natural systems to absorb the CO2 presently in excess of that managed by natural sinks.
AND THIS WILL CAUSE CLIMATE CHANGE AND GLOBAL WARMING AND HURRICANES RIGHT?
re GP’s chemistry references do not address the issues
gp’s chemistry references were made so that one can understand the simple chemistry of carbon dioxide, and you can not refute the basic chemistry I put out there or the biology or biochemistry
re As he has acknowledged, the CO2 levels are increasing. However the effect of this increase of CO2 on climate is for some debatable.
yes indeed…….. the more of a relatively inert substance like carbon dioxide and H2CO3 we have the more debate we should have
the carbon dioxide molcules that are chemically relatively inert will act as electrophiles or nucleophiles and attack each other and eventually we will have a carbon dioxide hurricanes–in abundance probably of the CAT 5 type right?
tell us what is a NATURAL carbon dioxide sink Sir
what is debatable any way……….. talking shite like Maxine Waters? -
You are a funny wamker!