Given the almost weekly incidence of the death, invariably of a young man, caused by a firearm, Barbadians are understandably concerned about their prevalence. In an alarming display of linear reasoning however, the popular assumption appears to be that once we can rid the nation of all unlawful firearms, then there would be no, or at least fewer shooting deaths. That may be logically so, but the fact that death may be caused by other criminal means leaves one to query whether we are bothered merely by those murders caused by the bullet or whether we are equally concerned, as we ought to be, with the murder or maiming of one individual by the hand of another, however caused.

Accordingly, most of the suggested initiatives for combating the current phenomenon have centred on ensuring their absence from the country by restricting the importation of these weapons; by punishing severely their unlawful possession, by initiating a gun amnesty to limit their incidence; by having trials for kindred offences tried in a separate gun court; by having a street march; and the most intriguing one so far from a contributor to “Brass Tacks” two weeks or so ago who expressed the notion of amputating a number of fingers of those convicted of gun crimes and allowing them back into society, I suppose, “pour décourager les autres” For the caller this would be a most effective solution since those so sentenced would be unable to fire another weapon in anger and would even be, as he so risibly put it, unable to clean themselves after defecating (he used the local vernacular to dramatically amusing effect however).

All these suggestions may be likely to reduce or severely limit the incidence of firearms and their unlawful use but, as the National Rifle Association of the US so frequently intones in defence of its members’ Second Amendment rights, “guns do not kill people, people do!” The identical reasoning may be applied to the knife, the bomb and even the nuclear weapon. Each needs to be activated by a mind intent on committing murder and is, without that “mens rea”, a harmless object

This proposition is no less logical however than the obverse notion cited above that elimination of the weapon will thereby reduce shooting deaths, but its further consideration also leads inexorably to the opinion that we need rather to concentrate of the nature of the mind that would form the intention to take the life of another individual by any means including the inanimate gun, or knife, or even poison for that matter.

Of course, the impediment here is that we would prefer to believe that it is much easier to remove the temptation than to cure the mind, even though the admissible evidence thus far would cogently suggest otherwise. The importation and possession of unlicensed firearms have always been unlawful, there have been more gun amnesties than one locally, the Gun Court in Jamaica, apart from having been a constitutional nullity did not stem the number of fatalities owed to the bullet in that jurisdiction and while the caller’s suggestion referred to above would be clearly effective in a number of isolated instances, the imposition of cruel and inhuman dissuasive punishment for an offence has never served effectively to deter the reprise of that conduct by another. But these require much less thought than the concept of altering human conduct.

In the latter context of removing the criminal instinct, the questions become a step too difficult for a society impatient for relief to contemplate. It starts with the grudging recognition that the same individual that would recklessly fire into a crowd of fellow citizens is a product of the society, the political and educational systems that we have created and in which we exist and not merely some extraterrestrial visitor to our space. It continues with the contemplation of what local circumstance might have caused such a mindset in one of our own that the state would have delivered into this world with taxpayer-funded hospital services, offered similarly provided education to at least age sixteen with the prospect of additional assistance, should he need it, to go even further in order to acquire training for a skill that would enable him to become a productive citizen of the society.

Yes, we should seek to eliminate the gun from our society, but we also need to ascertain what force might have intervened to break the chain of causation from that innocent baby born to adoring parents to the sober productive citizen he was s destined to become and convert him into a wild-eyed thug that has no compunction in killing or maiming a number of fellow citizens to “bore” his intended adversary.

The late Prime Minister, Mr. David Thompson, might have been on to a useful concept with his mantra that Barbados was not merely an economy, but also a society”. However, we did not make the logical connection that the creation of a just society should require an abstention from the materialist development that we have pursued in which the acquisition of as much wealth as possible to the neglect of the most vulnerable is perceived as success. In that milieu, the drug baron is of equal status to the successful business magnate or community leader.

Can we then blame the impressionable youngster for wishing to take the easier road less frequently travelled to fame and fortune? To answer my own question therefore, no, it is not the guns only. It is rather our chosen developmental path. And as the weeping man in the rearview mirror seen by Shabine in Derek Walcott’s “Schooner Flight”, we might yet weep for the houses, the streets…

125 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Is it the Guns Only?”

1. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Hal. Sure. They should be taught and be certified. They should be fully aware that bringing a life in this world is no joke and comes with enormous responsibility.

2. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@well well. This new parenting paradigm has to be revolutionary. Your suggestion won’t be sufficed. We are talking about a thorough education from pre-conception to post conception. As a matter of fact, parenting has a scientific endeavor, should be the new status quo.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Forty….birthing and parenting is a natural process which is instinctual…the only thing mothers need is guidance…most mothers their maternal instinct carry them through…quite successfully, it’s the stragglers who need guidance…were your parents certified.., yet here you are.

Since men don’t have maternal instincts and most of them are deadbeat village rams…maybe classes to show them how to be responsible fathers would be a better fit…

This manmade crap you dreaming up to be certified to be a parent.., how well is that working out for the last 50 years re finding jobs…parenting is not like a job hunt.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

How many animals need certification to birth or take care of their young.., lions move in prides..with their families…..humans are animals, mammals.

Human parents who are neglectful need to be taught responsiblity…no one needs certification for that…4 or 5 classes a year would wirk well.

I am very mindful that the destructive slave codes came out of Barbados, developed by evil minds who with nothing else better to do, dream up wicked shit to trap their own people into a special hell people are very wary of these big ideas to enslave others or exploit and entrap others coming out of Barbados.

Your idea is not only disgusting, it’s unethical like hell, go read a book.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Forty.,,,.If ya really want something to do, advocate that politicians become trained and certified to become professional, ethical government ministers so that their present unregulated and unlawful corrupt actions do not devolve the society into the current state of societal destruction we are now seeing which is manifesting in young misguided parents, young men and women.

That is what would be worth a shot.

6. Guns do not kill people people do

never could understand the rationale behind that most useless cliche one that should be considered as meaningless as throwing water in a bucket with holes

the effort to dumb down the people into in a warped sense of denial that the criminal mind and its intent is the cause of crime rather than the object by which is used to commit the crime is borderline insanity as by any stretch of the imagination the gun or whatever object the criminal uses to commit the crime are uniquely tied together with intent and action

7. Well Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch asks , is it guns only ?

Then in the Barbados Today online paper of September 11, 2017 , Mr. Edmund Hinkson, screams ” It’s foolishness ” Mia Mottley does not need an LEC.

Well I believe Hinkson will need Jeff Cumberbatch to represent him – for telling Bajans Mia Mottley has the right to break the laws of Barbados.

Hinkson need to find the relevant Statutory Instrument (S.I) . ………. to prove his point !

BLP jokers & thieves

8. FBLP i read Hinckson slurrpy comments and chuckled at his foisted ambiguity- est pronunciations .
    Isnt this the same Hinckson who give Mia what can be called the assassination of her character under attack.
    Ok Hinckson lets forget the LEC and focused on your damning words of Mia character

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“The AG says cameras will be installed at the island’s ports of entry.”

Why is the AG still TALKING about installing cameras on customs officers and in sensitive areas of the port…, for the length of time we had the discussion, the cameras should have already been installed….

…..any government can do it.

10. Angela Skeete

After all the shiite wunnuh do to f-up Barbados, wunnuh really people really care ’bout if Mottley got uh LEC or not?

Okay……….

Stuart has a LEC and he has proven to be the worst PM in the history of Barbados and admitted to signing the CAHILL deal after saying he did not have any knowledge of it.

Michael Carrington has an LEC and will go down in history as a “thiefing” lawyer who with-held the funds of his former wheel chair-bound senior citizen client.

Richard Byer has an LEC and over-charged the Cave of Barbados $766,000 for a $17,000 job.

Michael Lashley has an LEC and attempted to employ his relative at the Transport Board “through the back door,” he is also sending Transport Board buses to Trans Tech Inc, and is driving a BMW SUV from the same Trans-Tech;

Hal Gollop has an LEC and he collected millions from the BWA deal, which came under heavy criticism from the Auditor General.

Guyson Mayers has an LEC and the Freundel Stuart Administration Cabinet agreed to hire him for 15 months and pay him $300 000 to oversee the National Risk Assessment and Mutual Evaluation Exercise of the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Financing of Terrorism Regime of Barbados, although the Financial Intelligence Unit has an appointed Director.

If Michael Carrington could remain Speaker of the House after his dastardly deed, why can’t Mottley be PM of Barbados?

Does Marston Gibson have a LEC??? Why did this inept DLP administration changed certain laws so as to appoint him CJ of Barbados?

You should remember it was under a former DLP administration that Mottley was allowed to practice law in Barbados.

If she is not qualified, the DEMS should hang their heads in shame.

Rather than concentrating on the state of the economy, fiscal deficit, crime, jobs, housing, facilitating investments, etc……………….. you wasting time about a LEC.

11. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

lol…

what about the corruption allegations against those who have LECs in the government and even those who dont have LECs…but holds the finance portfolio.

more and more allegations of corruption and theft of the overtaxed electorates money is coming to light.

anyone is liable to win the election, anyone except for these very corrupt, dishonest, tiefing government ministers.

12. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

were some of these guns found in the port

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100473/guns-593-rounds-ammunition-seized-hours

Members of the Royal Barbados Police Force, have seized 16 firearms and 593 rounds of assorted ammunition, in four separate operations conducted during the last 24 hours.

During one of these operations, over 400 rounds of ammunition and six firearms were seized at the Bridgetown Port as a result of an intelligence-led operation involving Customs enforcement officers, and members of the Anti-Gun Unit.

A number of people are currently assisting police in their ……..

13. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger September 13, 2017 at 4:57 PM #

Terrible. If six guns were found in one random raid, one random time, just how many have passed through the port over years? Frightening!

Every report demonstrates more corruption and the situation bleaker.

14. Artaxexes innuendo will get you no way .

Mia Mottley not having an LEC (as confirmrd by Edmund Hinkson) is big news .

If Hinkson is correct …….Mia Mottley in deep shit !!!!

Tell Barbadians again , what year did Mia Mottley get her Law Degree ?

A set of BLP jokers !!!!!!!

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Crusoe…exactly.

So much information is being dessiminated out there, people are just waiting to dissect the truth.

Appears those dudes who got charged today in the murder called everyone’s names…so the police should have no problem cleaning up the island of the druga and gund…the government should have no problem stamping out the corruption within their ranks , if they wish, not that it matters, the electorate already know they are not suitable for a 3rd term..

They would really have to clean up the nastiness in the society to stand a snowball’s chance in hell.

16. arterexes all of the above mentioned with the exception of the Hon . PM Stuart have not positioned themselves to be PM of barbados and if so then they should be thoroughly vetted and held accountable
    Mia Mottley should be dubbed the Entiled Queen bee or King Bee of Barbados ( u can pick which of those status you prefer to call MIA)
    From having right of privileged as so eloquently stated by OSA when he delivered those knock out punches towards her to now Mia wanting a right of passage to be PM of barbados without being held accountable
    NOT going to happen, i remember David BU taunts and mischievous questions concerning the LEC issue stating that the AG had made a promise on the issue which he did not deliver.but watch this the delivery is on its way . Hate to tell u David I told u so

17. Wait Mia Mottley hasn’t produced the LEC as yet .The delay is causing more people to tune into a potentially explosive story. Enquiring minds ask is there more in the mortar than the pestle. BLP yard fowls on BU running out of red herrings. Short man accused Mottley of many infelicities he never mentioned the LEC. It would be interesting to hear short man’s take on the LEC mystery. Owen where are you not at John Moore nuh.

18. Fractured BLP

is a moron who used the word “innuendo” without knowing its meaning or how to use it.

ALL the FACTS I mentioned in my contribution were available to the public, through the news media and can be VERIFIED or SUBSTANTIATED………. therefore, “innuendo” does not apply.

But Barbadians are fully aware the DEMS are only playing politics on this issue.

In June 2015, Adriel Brathwaite promised to launch an investigation into Mottley’s legitimacy to practice law in Barbados………………..

If as at August 31, 2017 (TWO (2) years and TWO (2) months after), he has been UNABLE to reveal anything on the issue…………

…………….. does this inept DLP administration EXPECT intelligent Barbadians to believe that the same inept Adriel Brathwaite would be able to reveal anything on this issue within eight (8) months…….. just before a general election?

If the General Secretary of the DLP, Ms Pilgrim, could ask the Attorney General to investigate Mottley………… and he obliges………..

………. then the General Secretaries of BIM, BLP, CAP or the UPP should be able to similarly ask the AG to investigate:

………. CAHILL
    ………. BWA Headquarters
    ………. Leroy Parris and the CLICO invoice for $3.33M
    ………. The legitimacy of the vehicles being used by Denis Lowe, Michael Lashley and Trans Tech inc.
    ………. Why Blue Horizon Hotel was sold to DLP affiliates BELOW market price
    ………. The land deal between Mark Maloney and Coverley
    ………. Why Mark Maloney has been securing all government contracts
    ………. The ABC Highway deal and Rayside Construction (which was then owned by CLICO)
    ………. Why the then PM was using CLICO’s private jet to travel on government business
    ………. The allegations that Denis Lowe stashed millions of tax $$$ on his relative’s bank account
    ………. If Denis Lowe’s PhD is legitimate

And the list could go on, and on, and on…………..

19. angela Skeete September 13, 2017 at 6:44 PM #

“Mia Mottley should be dubbed the Entiled Queen bee or King Bee of Barbados…………”

Angela Skeete

lives in a glass house and should be careful not to throw stones.

If we were to examine the antics and vocal tones of some of her people, a similar characteristic is applicable.

Should George, Ronald, Richard, Jerome, Maxine and Denis “be (likewise) dubbed the Entitled Queen Bee or King Bee of Barbados?”

20. Artexes a.k.a Arthole !!!!!

I have to painfully admit to you that Edmund Hinkson is RIGHT …….Mia Mottley DOES NOT have a LEC qualification.

http://m.sknvibes.com/news/newsdetails.cfm/10892

When and others finished reading the above link , if wunnah care to , the following is obvious :

• Mia Mottley client is proud of his LEC . Mia Mottley have no LEC !!!!

• Mia Mottley does not know what constitutes an Expert Witness . An Attorney with an LEC would have known that !!

By the way Arthole……the AG has all the cards .. … it is just a matter of dealing them ……when the time comes !!!!

By GEORGE , ah gine remain SILENT !!

21. David of BU

Get up off your lazy bum and do some research on the LEC saga as it relates to Mia Mottley .

The blog needs some spice in it – such a story about the possession or non possession of an LEC would inject the right flavour.

Don’t you think ?????

Or you get money 💰 to look the other way ???

22. @Jeff Cumberbatch “The identical reasoning may be applied to the knife, the bomb and even the nuclear weapon. Each needs to be activated by a mind intent on committing murder and is, without that “mens rea”, a harmless object.”

Not really you know.

I will be persnickety as usual.

The first shooting death that I became aware of, occurred when one of my 5 year old buddies shot his visiting 5 year old companion dead with daddy’s gun which was “well hidden” under daddy’s pillow in the parent’s bedroom. That happened about the year you were born and of course the 5 year old could not be prosecuted, and more than 50 years later the other child is still dead, dead, dead.

No mens rea required for death by gun.

And of course it is somewhat unlikely that one 5 year old can kill another with a knife, bomb or nuclear weapon.

23. And of course the anti-gun people say that a gun is the only thing which kills when used exactly as directed.

24. @Chad99999 September 10, 2017 at 7:20 AM “Young boys raised by unmarried or divorced women turn into predatory thugs at very high rates.”

Can you provide which shows whether or not young boys raised by widows turn into predatory thugs at very high rates?

Thanks.

25. @Caswell Franklyn September 10, 2017 at 7:42 AM “there is no grandmother who stays at home.”

Barbados has no shortage of grandmothers. According to the 2010 census Barbados has 33,144 women aged between 50 and 79. There has to be a lot of good grandmothers and or good potential grandmothers in there. a lot of good potential grandmothering.

So if these put a notice in the paper and on social media “grandmother for hire” do you think that theywould be hired?

And if so how much would they be paid?

In other words how much in dollar $ terms is a grandmother’s labour worth? Nothing? A little bit? A lot? As much as a politician, a priest, a Prime Minister, as much as a drug baron, as much as a gun dealer?

It may be an albino centric question, but…

I’ve noticed that highly respected work is also very well paid. Why are grandmothers the only ones expected to work for nothing?

We pay the Prime Minister don’t we?

26. @Chad99999 September 10, 2017 at 7:20 AM “There is no mystery at all about the people responsible for burdening society with more and more young thugs, many of whom will use guns to commit murder and mayhem. The culprits are young women

Yadda, yadda, yadda.

You don’t get tired of hearing yourself?

In the beginning wunna blame woman for mekkin’ man eat de apple.

Get over yourself.

Men do what they want to do.

Women tired of taking the blame.

If you think you so good, then go and raise your own damn unruly boy children.

27. f@ortyacresandamule September 12, 2017 at 1:34 AM # ” We cannot afford nowadays to left our children upbringing to chances, because the consequences of erring is an enormous price for the society. Case in point, the monetary cost alone of crime and violence to jamaica’s society is around(3-5%) of it’s GDP according to a world bank study.”

What if we paid Jamaican grandmothers that 3 to 5% of GDP to positively socialise their grandchildren.

Would 3 to 5% of GDP be too much money to put into the hands of middle aged lower class women?

28. @ David

Former Peterborough MP Dean Del Mastro returned to jail in Lindsay, Ont. on Wednesday after losing a second appeal on Election Act violations

http://nationalpost.com/news/politics/former-mp-del-mastro-back-in-jail-considering-supreme-court-appeal-on-election-charges

29. @fortyacresandamule September 12, 2017 at 3:20 PM “This new parenting paradigm has to be revolutionary. Your suggestion won’t be sufficed. We are talking about a thorough education from pre-conception to post conception. As a matter of fact, parenting has a scientific endeavor, should be the new status quo.

Sounds real neo-nazi to me.

’cause I am here wondering when some fail the parenting classes as some are sure to do, what will you do with them, let them breed anyway or castrate them?

Please take your idea of scientific parenting to its logical conclusion for us.

30. @Hog Plum September 13, 2017 at 7:39 PM ” Owen where are you not at John Moore nuh.”

Like a sensible man at home in his comfortable bed doing those things which keep sensible people happy.

31. Fractured BLP

is grasping at straws and demonstrating to BU that comprehension is not one of his strong points.

George Hinkson NEVER said Mia Mottley DOES NOT have a LEC……….

………… he said she is suitably qualified to become the next Prime Minister of Barbados, even IF she does not have a legal certificate TO SHOW.

The conjunction “IF” in Hinkson’s statement introduced a conditional clause……………

…………i.e. “ASSUMING” or “SUPPOSING” that “Mottley does not have an LEC, she is still suitably qualified to become the next PM of Barbados.”

The DEMS want intelligent Barbadians to believe the first time any current or former DLP parliamentarian heard about this issue, was when Denis Lowe mentioned it in 2015, especially under circumstances where many of them are/were lawyers………… including the “historian” Freundel Stuart.

Knowing the DLP and its yard-fowls, if they had evidence to prove Mottley is illegally practicing law in Barbados, they would have been “overly anxious” to present the proof in public forum, similarly to how information from former Transport Board employee, Lisa Marshall’s personal file was “leaked” to the public.

But we all know Freundel and Ms Pilgrim are bluffing and politically grandstanding.

Remember………. ALL BLUFFERS WILL BE CAUGHT.

32. @Artaxexes September 13, 2017 at 11:03 PM “public forum, similarly to how information from former Transport Board employee, Lisa Marshall’s personal file was “leaked” to the public. but we all know Freundel and Pilgrim are bluffing and politically grandstanding.”

Why you don’t leave george ‘lone.

I like George.

Good looking fella.

33. Artaxexes on September 13, 2017 at 11:03 PM
    Fractured BLP

is grasping at straws and demonstrating to BU that comprehension is not one of his strong points.

George Hinkson NEVER said Mia Mottley DOES NOT have a LEC…..

Arthole

Go an rest your weary soul

Who is George Hinkson ??? As you wrote above ???

A clear case that you have a CESSPOOL of BLP mess to clean !

• Edmund Hinkson called George Payne in Court papers a thief .

• George Payne took Edmund Hinkson to Court for calling him a thief !

• With a few months to go before General Elections – Edmund & George are ” UNITED BLPites ” !!!!!

• George don’t dare drop the case against Hinkson – or else that proves Hinkson to be truthful in calling George a thief .

No wonder you cannot mek up your – MIND – as you have shown to the world above……..whether to shut up GEORGE or shut up HINKSON !!!!

And jokers like you talking bout …..bluffing ?????

You and the others gine sweat 💦 till wunnah get knocked out.

Timing is of the …..essence !!!!

34. @ Simple S
    I like George.
    Good looking fella.
    +++++++++++++++
    Get glasses checked.

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/09/13/comissiong-crime-plan-must-not-trample-bajans-rights/

Adriel Nitwit is jumping out again…that legislation he is swiftly trying to pass should include police access to every house occupied by the white, indian and syrian minorities on the island, instead of unlawfully breaking down the doors of blacks each and every time, have the police search the houses of the real gun and drug distributors and traffickers, the ones who import the drugs and guns on their yachts…and dustribute them into the black communities….search..the whites and indians who have had multiple illegal guns for years, get into their houses and confiscate those weapons.

There are not enough minorities on the island to make a difference for the election, but the majority who the government and police love to target…are the ones to vote theur asses out, they got the numbers.

Lol..Simple, George is ya garden variety scum ball, just like the ones in government, remember he was the one after US election talking about how much good the orange scum ball trump will do for the Caribbean, despite all the hard back black leaders in the Caribbean…who should be the ones DOING good for the Caribbean…all ah dem are the same…no damn good for the people of the Caribbean…and trump is mashing down and breaking up the US.., so just imagine how much destruction he would visit on everyone in the Caribbean..

George is a jackass extraordinaire.

36. Fcuktured BLP

Is pushing a non-issue, because the yard-fowl immediately knew I meant Edmund Hinkson and, other than the name he has NOT proven my comments were INCORRECT.

However, speaking of “CESSPOOL of a mess to clean”……….

There is information posted in a particular forum pertaining to certain activities undertaken by a robust and bombastic individual in “Fcuktured BLP’s” camp.

Please be reminded………..information from that particular source about a certain associated matters has so far PROVEN to be CORRECT. Names of individuals involved in a nefarious or egregious act were mentioned by this source long before they were mentioned by the traditional media.

AG Adriel Brathwaite may be also called upon by the general secretaries of the other political parties to investigate whether or not this bombastic DLP “top gun” wrote a $250,000 cheque, from an UK off shore account, for the purchase of a Range Rover.

The DLP yard-fowl joker is always on “bluffing in innuendo” with this nonsense about Hinkson calling Payne a thief. So what, who cares, has there been a civil suit?

However, the world knows John Griffiths called Michael Carrington a THIEF for WITH-HOLDING his funds for a number of years. Griffiths filed a civil suit against the CROOKED LAWYER and court RULED in Griffiths’ FAVOUR.

Ironically, on Thursday, January 29, 2015, a banker’s cheque for approximately $293,094 was paid on behalf of Carrington to the law firm GEORGE Walton PAYNE and Co.

At least Fcuktured BLP should give me credit for “getting GEORGE name right” on this occasion.

So, Fcuktured BLP, you are a “political bluffer”…….George or Edmund are trivial when compared to the activities in your camp.

All bluffers will be caught!!!

37. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 14, 2017 at 5:52 AM “George is a jackass extraordinaire.”

Don’t you think that it is possible to be a good looking jackass extraordinaire?

38. Wondering which warrants greater investigation; the existence of a certificate or, according to a surprisingly reliable source, a $250,000 check written on a foreign account for one of a number of imported vehicles bought from a since murdered businessman, in one of which a stash of guns has been discovered at the port.

39. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Simple..sorry, i can only see the jackass…lol

..they are trying to distract with the LEC nonsense, but its a waste of time, everyones eyes are focused on the connection to the dead UK dude and the ministers and others likely to be involved, they love to jump into criminal things as long as the criminals are white.

from coast to coast…and i do not mean the island`s tiny coastline, everyone is watching this.

if there exists a 1/4 million dollar check to a UK bank, scotland yard will know for sure, there will be no covering up and hiding this one.

40. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

if it had been done 10-14 years ago, instead of both corrupt governments playing games with it, many lives would have been saved…lets hope its done before the next shipments of drugs and guns arrive at those ports….next week.

am sure others have already taken the place of the dead gunrunner..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100491/securing-ports

CAMERAS will be installed at all of Barbados’ ports of entry. Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite made no bones about that decision yesterday when he announced: “Cabinet has instructed the minister responsible to do all within his power to immediately see that we have cameras at all of our ports of entry.” Responding to a question yesterday…

41. Imagine Mia practicing. Law and is not legally certified by anyb country in no part of the wirld . Only in bubudas would this shit happen

42. Hope Watchman is not affected.

“Holders Hill and Payne’s Bay Road, St James are currently flooded due to heavy rains.”

Some vehicles have become stuck in the flood waters.
    Police have urged motorists to find alternative routes.
    The island is under a flash flood warning until 4 p.m. (BN)

43. Well Well and Mitchlans.

That is a big cheque. How about the other British guy who died. Was he ‘offed’ because he knew too much and could let too many beans spill? Too much coincidence for him to be found hung a week later. Big boys letting the small ones swim, to protect themselves.

44. Angela Skeete,

Just shut up now, no one wants to hear your blather.

But if you refuse to shut up, then do something useful with it. What did the hanged English guy (suicide what) know that caused him to be ‘offed’?

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Crusoe…it’s obviously a very organized criminal network between the two countries and beyond as people who know are saying.

Ah guess someone had to pay the piper, let’s see who else pays, these things just don’t go away because the corrupt wants them to, all who are involved will be called to account, one way or the other…as they well deserve.

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

So Angela Yardfowl can try to distract as much as she wants, it’s a waste of time.

The ministers should give her away to whoever all those guns and drugs belong to, that is all she is good for…a trade.

47. Angela Skeete, how about asking Lowe Down to produce a copy of the “Will” he claims is responsible for a sudden injection of $5m into his mother’s account.

48. Well Well,

The implications are frightening. If they have had to ‘off’ guys to cover tracks, you KNOW that big boys are involved. Clearly a major drug and gun network. I hope the English journalists run with it, Baje’s surely will not. But when those English journalists smell a story this big, they will bite. And they will not have the repercussions that the local guys fear, so they have nothing to lose.

We NEED them to bite and bite hard. Those guys can track money and locate assets etc.

Good luck to them.

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Yep..real journalists will be sicced on that story, the british police will give them updates and they will do their investigative journalism routine…

……real english journalists, not the pretend journalist we got on the blog nor the fraud journalists in Barbados that are easily gagged…the big newspapers in UK will run with the story.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela Skeete September 14, 2017 at 2:57 PM
    “Imagine Mia practicing. Law and is not legally certified by anyb country in no part of the wirld . Only in bubudas would this shit happen..”

We, too, must share your concern about Mia’s capacity to practise Law in incestuously slimy shitty ‘Buy’badus.

For a real real lawyer like the speaker who financially ambushed a pensioner in a wheelchair would point out to the CoP and DPP that the holding of offshore bank accounts by any minister of the Crown without the permission of the Central Bank is totally illegal and a crime serious enough to warrant not only their removal from his or her ministerial portfolio but also the immediate call for a by-elections should that same person be a sitting member of Parliament.

It has to be nothing but pure salacious scandal to assume that a minister who has never queried the necessity of the LoO to possess a LEC but only her ability to ‘nakedly’ streak down Broad St while screaming like a bald pooch cat is nothing more than a money launderer of proceeds from bribery and corruption.

Ac, the metamorphosed Angelic clown, are you dealing cleanly with a clear case of money laundering when a citizen and resident of Bim, allegedly, can issue a cheque drawn on a UK bank account to settle a transaction involving the sale of a vehicle in clear breach of the Customs Act, the Road Traffic Act, the Anti-Money Laundering Act and the Banking Act?

If the rumour of holding a UK bank account used to launder proceeds from bribes while holding public office, then here is the golden opportunity for Mama Mia to fulfill her life-long ambitious goal by bringing down your corrupt DLP administration by way of a coup of infamous disgrace by inviting Scotland Yard to handcuff her political nemesis and neutralize her working-class opponent from the cane-grounds of St. Philip to the white Massa kitchen on the ‘Sunburnt’ plantation of Marchfield.

Mia, you have two aces in the hole along with the Queen of Hearts. Now the ace of spades has been thrown down the river. Why not go” all-in” and play your jack of spades for the gallery to see?

But we shall soon see if the Privileged class and the working class are both ‘trumped’ by the shared philosophy of the Political class:
    ‘Friendship traded among crooks and liars is the only binding currency used by politicians to turn the Law into an ass.’