BU has not had the opportunity to thoroughly review the delayed release by government of the 15th Actuarial Review of the National Insurance Scheme. It is a very important fund- a safety net and lifeline- hence the reason BU has been uncompromising in our calls for transparency in the management of the fund.

The inability of the fund to publish audited financial statements in recent years highlights a level of incompetence that is informed by a separate blog. To be fair to the NIS management the unacceptable situation has straddled both political administrations and mirrors the wider state of public sector poor financial management. See a decade of Auditor General Reports.

In response to the findings recorded in the actuarial review the Chairman of the National Insurance Board Justin Robinson felt duty bound to release a statement to the traditional media. Unfortunately our resident actuary Walter Blackman appears to have been silenced after receiving a ‘pick’ with the government owned and controlled Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). It seems BU will have to forego his analysis of the actuarial review in this forum. We hope not!

BU’s comment on the Chairman’s response is anchored in commonsense. Chairman Justin Robinson admits what we know, the government is unable to earn adequate foreign dollars to effectively and efficiently manage the issue of portfolio diversification i.e. accept the recommendation to reduce local holdings from 75% to 50%.  What his explanation confirms is that the NIS Fund is under threat from the risk of heavy local concentration in the domestic market, especially government paper, an anemic economic performance and concomitant low yield on investment.

The public relations tactic of the Chairman will satisfy the political partisans, however, independent minded Bajans AND vested actors remain unappeased.

Statement from Chairman of the NIS Justin Robinson

99 responses to “Not So Fast Justin Robinson!”

1. Independent minded bajans and vested actors remain unappeased. Especially when in a nano second the Minister of Labor, the member of a cabinet that has consistently lied to the country attempted to pour cold water on the predictions of the economist lady from Trinidad.

2. Time and again we were treated to Minister Kellman’s convoluted logic as to why it made sense to dip their hands in the people’s “rainy day funds”. Hard cash repaid in practically useless government paper. Should this fund go belly up, I propose the take over of moon town.

3. We have been trying to tell people on this blog for years that there is a deliberate international determination to transfer public assets into private hands. But nobody will listen.

Those efforts take many forms. Whether it is perceived investments in mutual funds, like the Sagicor family, or alleged and currently useless government paper to fund concurrent fiscal deficits, or private sector projects like Four Seasons. The results are the same.

Under any and all guises these public assets are to end up in private hands. How else can the neo-feudal state take form unless a few people have all the resources and the state or public assets are liabilities to be rid of?

4. @ Pacha
    We have been trying to tell people on this blog for years that there is a deliberate international determination to transfer public assets into private hands. But nobody will listen.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    What do you expect?

The very genesis of albino-centric philosophy is for those that ‘have’, to do all in their (increasing) power to take away from those that have only little.
    It is how we DEFINE ‘success’.
    This is really another pyramid scheme where, in the initial stages – where there are hoards of gullible brass bowls available to be fleeced, it appears to work extremely well – and we call it Capitalism.
    Like all pyramid scheme however, time runs out – and it reaches the stage where the ‘haves’ can only continue the game by taking away the very livelihoods ..and even the lives, of the increasingly downtrodden.

It is where we have reached.

“No one listen” because even the poor, hopeless, downtrodden brass bowls have been sold on the warped, albino-centric, pyramid philosophy, ….and instead of CHANGING THE NATURE of their ways, they concentrate on schemes to rob and exploit OTHERS… who are EVEN MORE depressed than they are… much like crabs in a barrel.

The ‘deliberate international determination’ of which you speak is a global, Satanic, spiritual, dark, anti-BBE attempt to distract BBBBBs (especially the black ones who retain some small community-centric inclinations) from their TRUE and righteous heritage.
    The REAL issues of this world are NOT flesh and blood – they are spiritual in nature and the dark forces have been allowed the upper hand of late….

Who do you expect to listen…?

5. “Chairman Justin Robinson admits what we know, the government is unable to earn adequate foreign dollars to effectively and efficiently manage the issue of portfolio diversification.” This is the central sentence in the text. Those telling foreign currency does not matter or a low level is OK are completely wrong. Foreign shares create interest in foreign currency. With 2 billion USD foreign shares, Barbados could create every year 100 million USD foreign currency in interest. Without any doubt, the NIS is one of the worst managed funds in financial history. This is the main reason why the offshore financial sector is collapsing. Foreign investors simply distrust the Barbadian ability to manage financial affairs at all.

No foreign currency, no social welfare. After next election, the public debts in BBD will be restructured at the detriment of NIS. No more pride and industry for Barbadian pensioners, but cry and misery. Broad Street will be their choice to beg the few remaining tourists for food and clothes.

6. “Unfortunately our resident actuary …”

This is one of the reasons why I find it hard to believe that things can or will be any different.

We know the problems; we have the brains to solve these problems but demonstrably able and capable men/women go MIA or refuse to sign-up. We will end up with our usual choice the lesser of the two evils,

7. @ TheGazer
    Enuff is to blame… 🙂

He has convinced Walter that the way to contribute …is to join an existing political party – even though they are both agents of the Devil – and then to work his way to the top….
    As we speak, Walter is being brainwashed by Kellman, Stinkliar and Froon….

Walter foolishly took Enuff’s advice – ALTHOUGH Bushie always take pains to point that Enuff is ALWAYS wrong. …He was wrong about CSME;…He is wrong about Bushie; …and he is wrong about the BLP.

Enuff is not a bad fella …. but the road to Hell is paved with ‘good’ intentions.

#dontmindenuff

8. Look at the kind of persons this curse DLP cabinet get to help them destroy Barbados . Who is Justin Robinson ? what can our so called resident actuary Walter Blackman say after wasting 20 plus years, now back, trying to PICK bones

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tron September 7, 2017 at 9:32 AM #
    “Those telling foreign currency does not matter or a low level is OK are completely wrong. Foreign shares create interest in foreign currency. With 2 billion USD foreign shares, Barbados could create every year 100 million USD foreign currency in interest. Without any doubt, the NIS is one of the worst managed funds in financial history. This is the main reason why the offshore financial sector is collapsing. Foreign investors simply distrust the Barbadian ability to manage financial affairs at all.”

Couldn’t agree with you more!

What the bullshitting chairman has to explain is why was the investment in the local privately managed BL&P liquidated and what was done with the proceeds.

How can a fund such as the NIS squander the right to hold a crucial investment in a long-term economically viable national strategic asset such as the country’s main electricity generation and distribution utility?

Dr. JR is nothing than a quack and a disgrace to the academic discipline to which he likes to associate.

10. Are we happy with the governance framework at the NIS? How was the decision arrived at to guarantee the Paradise Beach loan that was called by the finance company? How was the decision to dump shares in BL&P arrived at? What were the circumstances that led to the departure of Tony Marshall who landed a cushy High Commission job in NY.

11. @ Miller & David

Steupsss … why wunna don’t leave the man alone nuh?
    He did not mek himself….

Justin had a well established reputation LONG before being used by the DLP to F*** up the NIS, Central Bank, and wherever else that they have used him to create chaos…..

IT IS WHAT HE DOES BEST…

A simple check with ANYONE at his base on ‘the hill’ would have confirmed this fact.
    CLEARLY then, he was CHOSEN by the DLP, NOT with any expectation of successful management of these entities….. but merely to talk shiite (with an accent) and to bullshit BBBBBs as he has been doing for YEARS now….

JR is just Dennis Kellman with an accent….

12. *** = ‘rig’

13. And he has a seat on the Board of the Central Bank, a dirctor if you please. You are right Bushie…….brass bowls they all are.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

The smoke screen continues…..simply a new verse to the same old song. All the while avoiding the KEY issue, a CURRENT annual report. All an actuarial review or the auditor general can do, is highlight the delinquency of management and the Board in managing and reporting. As long as this delinquency continues, the truth remains hidden.

We like it so……

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NorthernObserver September 7, 2017 at 1:16 PM

Why should the Board take its fiduciary responsibilities seriously when the ministerial supernumerary, i.e. the MoL, can heap blame on workers pretending to be sick without the obvious collusion of the medical profession or can cast aspersions on those recalcitrant ‘small-fish’ employers while exculpating the biggest employer the government on the grounds of cash-flow challenges?

The burning question is why aren’t the members of the NIS Board not being disciplined or subject to the penalties for breaching its fiduciary responsibilities as enshrined in the legislation governing the same NIS?

Shouldn’t those blatant and consistent breaches of the law caused entirely to an incomparable genre of incompetence and negligence afflicting the members- with the chair the chief artist- be put in the same category of those employers who deduct contributions from the wages and salaries of employees but who refuse, in the most illegal and morally despicable way, to pay it over to the NIS?

16. There is a certain level of stupidity that is hard to understand.

Communists, socialists and other blockheads keep insisting that we TAX people so that (corrupt) governments can use the money build up portfolios of PUBLIC ASSETS. These same socialists will fight tooth and nail to prevent any return of these public assets to private hands.

But what does that mean for the average taxpayer? It means tremendous financial losses. Take the concept of pension funds. The government DEDUCTS money from my paycheque to build up the balances of a pension fund. After paying out a substantial part of the fund in building rents and salaries for paper pushers and financial advisors, they invest most of what is left in LOW-RETURN BONDS that earn interest revenues of 2 or 3%. They will use some of these revenues to pay me a MINISCULE government government pension.

HAD THEY NEVER DEDUCTED ANY MONEY FROM MY PAYCHEQUE, I could have invested the money myself in an exchange traded fund that tracks the WHOLE STOCK MARKET. The average annual return on that fund would be 15% to 20%.

Why the f— do I need the government to make me a poor old man?

17. The MoF is on record as saying that he is comfortable making decisions based on the management reports so no need to worry. This is the mentality we have to tolerate swirling in high places.

18. JR also f.. up his children mother ( not the wife he showed off on face-book ) a woman from lodge hill that have 2 girls for him , before he become Dr.

19. @chad99999

Does every adult possess the finacial and other acumen to do as you suggest?

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David September 7, 2017 at 2:46 PM
    “The MoF is on record as saying that he is comfortable making decisions based on the management reports so no need to worry. This is the mentality we have to tolerate swirling in high places.”

Those management reports are just works of fiction just like the many projects that have been announced in the MoF’s budgetary harangues over the last 6 years.

Can you remember the many projects which were supposed to – the economy and with these airy-fairy big-ticket projects like the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Pierhead marina, Andrews sugar cane project and the game-changing Hyatt erection earmarked to earn the foreign exchange necessary to ensure the comatose economy is firing on all cylinders.

Those NIS management reports so reliably informing the decisions of the IMF would only be of value if the projections are compared with actual outturns or performances.

So if there are actual results on hand and are being relied upon to make so-called informed decisions concerning the future investment of the funds why is it taking so long for the auditors to sign off to affirm that those management representations as being ‘true and fair’ views on the financial health of the various funds?

21. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

In a previous blog I think I had posited the view that the BOD of the NIB are doing the best they can,given the circumstances within which they operate.

GoB bonds offer a higher rate of return than the traditional foreign investments. It seems rational to invest in G o B bonds in order to fulfill the required rate of return set by the Actuarial Report.

Secondly ,foreign investments can only be made in foreign currency . Contributions to the NIF are not made in foreign currency. Contrary to a submission above, the GOB does not earn foreign exchange .The Private Sector does.

There is also a downside risk to foreign investment due to falling rates of return in the foreign capital markets and depreciation in the exchange rates in which investments are made.

GoB bonds are not worthless. They will be, only if the GOB defaults on payment when due . Has that happened?

Ratings by international rating agencies is just another opinion. Very often their predictions are wrong.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@miller

you know this will never happen. It rarely happens anywhere. These board jobs are mostly political in nature. You select friendly “yes” men and women who will follow the lead.

The MoL is a politician, so one expects political spin and deflection, with potentially minimal understanding of the issues. The Board and management are held to a higher standard.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BC
    “In a previous blog I think I had posited the view that the BOD of the NIB are doing the best they can,given the circumstances within which they operate.”

Given the plethora of professionals available in Barbados, how can one posit the absence of an annual financial report since 2009 could be described as “doing the best they can”? Is it a lack of money, a lack of people, or a lack of will?

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington. September 7, 2017 at 3:12 PM #
    “In a previous blog I think I had posited the view that the BOD of the NIB are doing the best they can,given the circumstances within which they operate.”

B C, you can waffle and spin as much as you like.

How can you be so cocksure about the outstanding performance of BoD of the NIS?

The perennial absence of objective evidence in the form of reliabl,e unbiased and attested financial reports can only create an air of suspicion and indeed concern about the financial integrity of the scheme.

What you need to address is why did the same BoD go along with the liquidation of the investment in the BL&P.

Wasn’t this a decision infused with abject madness indicating a clear sign of desperation underscored by the continuing spectre of serious cash flow challenges?

25. @Bernard

Expected better from you.

Our foreign reserves was not always bare. It is not only about yield, there is also pure risk to effectively manage to protect against loss because of poor domestic economic performance. Jusst as we are currently experiencing.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington. September 7, 2017 at 3:12 PM
    “Secondly ,foreign investments can only be made in foreign currency . Contributions to the NIF are not made in foreign currency. Contrary to a submission above, the GOB does not earn foreign exchange .The Private Sector does..”

We can’ let you get away with that bogus assertion made by you!

If the GoB does not earn forex to be lodged with the CBB why is it so keen to sell assets to foreign entities to earn badly needed forex?

Why not put the shares for the BNTCL and the Hilton on the market for locals to participate and bring greater economic enfranchisement to the Bajan savers and investors whether corporate or private individual?

Why were the shares in the BL&P (and prior to that the BNB) sold (back) to foreign owned entities?

27. Bushie

Hahahaha I now get to this blog. I advised Walter to join and change it from within, not get consumed with power or a pick. My version of CSME too high for you,, give it up.

28. Shortly after the 2013 election, it was revealed that the foreign reserves had dropped by 300 million US.

To this day, Chris Sinckler has never explained to the people of Barbados where this money went or who transferred it out of this country.

So to say that foreign money could not be found to invest our NIS monies overseas is unbelievable.

The former governor of the Central Bank should explain why the government insisted on repatriating the money from the sale of the B L & P shares against the wishes of the NIS.

Tony Marshall’s hands are not exactly clean in this either.

29. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

I knew my attempt to shift the debate from persons to the real issues would be achieved by my intervention. Mission accomplished.

The fiduciary responsibility of the BOD of NIS is to the beneficiaries of the Pension and other Social Welfare schemes, not political.

As far as I know Financial reports are made each month to the BOD, It is on these that investment decisions are made and the periodic Actuarial Reports are based, The absence of audited Financial reports does not imply the absence of proper financial management of the pension fund. It is not my place to defend nor explain the absence of audited reports.
    Dare I say it? Evidence again of administrative bottlenecks.

30. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Miller at4:16 PM

The idea of selling Public assets to shore up the foreign reserves is unsustainable and lacking in sound economic reasoning.

31. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 4: 16 pm.
    Should you reread my submission you would understand that the foreign investments were/are under performing the domestic investment vehicles.

32. David

We should pay some attention to these climate change induced hurricanes, in our area, around the world. They are all connected.

Barbuda has been flattened by Irma.

If we think that hurricane FJS and company are bad we should, at least for planning purposes, superimpose a cat 5, 6 or 7 on top this government’s tenure.

Just in case!

Or is god still a Bajan?

33. As I told before, NIS investments in foreign shares, funds or whatsoever actually CREATE foreign currency. You get dividends and interests in USD, EUR or GBP. All you need is a small initial investment in foreign currency.

The MoF already talks about “restructuring” government´s NIS debts. How can THIS be a prudent investment for the Barbadian taxpayer? Why do Barbadians need to support the Apes Hill Plantation and the man who insulted Barbadians as “lazy laggards”? Is the NIS the ATM for the ruling planter class or for the benefit of the masses?

During the dark age of slavery, the master had to PROVIDE clothes and food for his slaves. Today, the taxpayer, the new slave in the age of the social welfare state, has to PAY his master. What a revaluation of all values, as Nietzsche would say!

34. On another, cynical note, Barbados just lost some competitors in the tourism market …

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BC

To suggest that internal reports are being produced on a timely and accurate manner, but they cannot find somebody to consolidate, and audit, those reports into an annual report is a reach?

And the focus seems to have been switched here solely to investments of the various NIS funds. The NIS has several other significant operating divisions?

36. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Prodigal son at 6:56 PM

Would not a simple flow of funds analysis indicate the source of the decline in the foreign reserves ? Did the external auditors comment on the reduction in the foreign reserves? What about the management analysis in the annual Report for 2013?

37. @Bernard

You missed the central point, it is not just about yield,it is about risk mitigation as well.

38. @Pacha

Yes, it is scary. Then there is the economics of it to consider, cost of reinsurance etc.

39. And Bernard you are aware there is a reason why we have audited financials versus management reports?

40. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Northern Observer at 7 :46 PM

I am suggesting no such thing. The accounts are produced by management and presented to external auditors for testing as a reasonable and fair report of the financial operations of the NIB. Neither you nor I know where the failure to complete the audit and publish the report is.

41. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 8 :34 PM

Without appearing to boast, I do have more than a nodding acquaintance with the process of producing Corporate Annual Reports.

42. @Bernard

Good, then you are aware the importance of audited financials for the external actors who have to make investment decisions; inform due diligence by external agencies etc.

43. David

A country like Cuba with infinitely less resources, per capita, has ways to save every human, animal from hurricanes.

44. There is no evidence that Irma is a climate change induced hurricane.

We were told years ago that hurricanes would be more frequent because of “global warming”. That hasn’t happened. Just as there has been no “population bomb”, no global food crisis

45. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 8: 23 PM

Is it not possible that the portfolio manager thought that he was mitigating the risk of a reduction in the value of the investment portfolio by repatriating the funds?

46. @Bernard

Anything is possible. We would want how our most important fund is being managed validated by the external player as is required by statue.

47. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Who are these external actors of the NIB who are concerning themselves with due diligence?

Why do you think I should be defending the absence of NIB audited accounts?

48. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

I an sure that the officers at NIS will answer all these queries. The external auditors express an opinion on the fairness of the accounts NOT the validity of them.

49. @chad99999 September 7, 2017 at 2:32 PM “paper pushers and financial advisors.”

Paper pushers and financial advisors…such as yourself

Managed to f up an economy as large as that of the U.S.A.

So why do we expect that wunna will do better here?