Mia Mottley and Freundel Stuart represent the duopoly

“Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.” –
Shakespeare

The headline in one of the newspapers blazed Eye to Eye on violence supported with a picture of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. The immediate thought by the BU blogmaster was that the leaders of the two main political parties had joined forces in the national interest to serve as a calming influence on the country days after the Kadooment Shootings. After perusing the opening paragraph of the newspaper article such a lofty expectation was dashed. It was the usual political palaver full of sound and fury, signifying nothing!

In 1978 the great Bob Marley staged the One Love Concert that will be etched in history when he called for Michael Manley and Edward Seaga who represented the two main political parties operating in a fractious political environment at the time to shake hands. One senses that the Barbados landscape has become fractious- not to the same degree as Jamaica but trending- and there is the opportunity for a signal act by relevant parties to send a message to the population that we are Bajans first and must come together to make it work.

The contentious meeting of the Social Partnership will be held within the next 24 hours to address the call by the unions and private sector for government to engage in greater dialogue. On the agenda is the request by the unions for government to implement a coping subsidy to soften the impact of the National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL) on public workers. The decision by the government to publicise the event (we wait to see if it happens) is a clear indication that there is distrust of the partnership by a key member. Many fear it will an opportunity for grandstanding by political participants with a few months to go until the next general election. BU is of the view there is the opportunity for the heads of the various stakeholders of the Social Partnership to publicly demonstrate to the country that despite the contentious issues on the agenda, it is ONE LOVE. Why not invite Mia Mottley and a couple leaders from the religious community to participate at tomorrow’s meeting, it would be unprecedented but viewed favorably as being in the national interest. Will NEVER happen!

Whether by accident or not, the Acting Governor of the Central bank Cleviston Haynes has scheduled a press briefing for Friday 11, 2017 at 11AM to review the performance of the Barbados economy for the first six months.  It promises to be an interesting 24 hours.

284 responses to “Social Partnership Meeting | Come Together and Make it Work…”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP August 11, 2017 at 12:46 PM

Go and tell that to Deliar Worrell! Isn’t he preaching the same crash and burn warnings if you fail to go to the IMF doctor?

What you are going to do next? Give poor Cleviston his marching orders for not printing anymore Mickey mouse dollars to feed a bunch of parasites or are you going to keep him acting and afraid to tell the truth like the other clowns in Hollywood?

You a big nasty liar, Fractured. In 2008 the miller didn’t even know or even heard of BU. But I can say one thing that the Privatization programme has been on the table for the taking for a long time now. Now look and see who are its biggest promoters.

2. miller,

Do not respond to these dlp goons……..I know that it is hard to ignore their ignorance but try…….

3. What is the format of this meeting suppose to achieve?
    All a childish waste of time….
    Rearranging the deckchairs on the Titanic….

All that this do now, is establish for ALL Bajans that we have brass bowls leading us, ….brass bowls to the right of us, ….brass bowls to the left of us …and a bunch of bullers bringing up the rear….

The ONLY possible outcome from such a circus is further public loss of confidence…. if THAT is even possible…

A perfect storm…..

4. Miller

This meeting was/is an exercise in futility as the NSRL reduction was a non starter as 0 from 0 leaves 0….the budget of itself was the problem and the march should have been about seeking an election date……as we agree that a govt cannot be dictated to on its budget,it has to be told by its bosses the electorate to seek a new mandate as we disagree with it ……simple so/…..leave out the lotta long talk.

I await a walk out and further action until a date is given.

5. No miller you look and see who will be the biggest losers if govt listen to the private sector recommendations which include big lay offs and the Toni Moores marching orders and even Mottleys big foot plan to privatise

6. What he heard today from the acting Governor is that the economy is in trouble yet he still manged to create a 2% growth.

Huge fiscal deficit

Falling foreign reserves

Low investor confidence

High debt repayment ratios.

But we have growth……………….

7. Why was it necessary for all the ministers to be at this meeting?

Do they usually attend such meetings?

One would think that with all that happened on Monday the AG would be so busy that he would not have hours to sit in such a meeting but in the meanwhile Rome is burning……..

8. Prodigal All that you heard now go ask Mottley what are her plans to make better

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Despite the political claptrap from others…

I thought the central bank governor Haynes laid out the reality very articulately, I am sure many missed what he said.

He says the country’s economic growth is 1% in 35 years….that’s it, no more in the last 35 years

….. there is no way ya can get more than 1% ya may get even less, in economic growth, in another 35 years, dont care how many lies whichever government that is elected tells…..

…..no matter how many lies either of the political parties tell the people to be elected.

…..the only thing that will ever grow in such small economies is debt, as long as you remain dependant on outside forces.

At least bajans know a whole lot more than they did before when they were all keeping secrets and feeling proud of themselves for being secretive slaves..

…they cant borrow anymore money from central bank Miller…they surpassed their quota.

10. sorry, should have posted that in the Diaspora corner.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The only thing any government can ever grow in Barbados…is debt, that is how the system is structured….

…..the other islands with very little natural resources also have the same problem….

the governments who focus on food production first and local manufacturing second ….exportation third…..are the winners.

None of them are intelligent enough to reverse that trend or create a new debt free system….without growing their own food or manufacturing their own products.

12. Well well
    Manufacture and export what?

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Enuff……what can I tell ya …they screwed.

Smaller islands than Barbados manufacture and export….in huge quantities.

I cant tell them what to do…

I am glad my life and future depends on none of them.

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I cant believe they never even put the gun trafficking/importers and violence on the agenda.

15. In 2008, the people of Barbados voted for a change in government. By the stoke of pure luck and a set of unusual circumstances, the government retained power.

In 2008 Donville Inniss shouted across the floor in his usual arrogant manner backed by the man who mash up this economy………..we aint want to hear nothing from wunnah, wunnah had wunnah time, wunnah had 14 years, we gine do things we way, any ideas wunnah got, keep to wunnah selves.

Well, ASS, Mia and the BLP will keep their ideas to themselves until you see them laid out in their manifesto.

16. Did Toni Moore state this morning that it took 2 six hour meetings to flesh out the agenda for today’s meeting? We are willing to be corrected.

17. After this nice, polite, vapid talk shop what happens? It wasn’t even entertaining! Anyway World Athletics Championships on You tube.

18. The MOF is talking about where to cut………….did they not turn the BTA into two separate entities paying to CEO’s….just to give a loyal dem a CEO position?

19. The CB governor’s report highlighted the promise to look at revenue at the end of September was just an effort to delay the news of the govt inability to give a salaries/wages increased a couple months down the road.

20. This great failure on his political soap box. Just admit that you cannot handle the job and resign, no more excuses. You are poor!

21. increases*

22. What a bunch of failures…….Sinckler, Stuart, Byer Suckoo, Kellman, Lowe, Jones…..a line up of absolute failures who have screwed this country up.

He is admitting what a filure he is, does not know what to do.

23. The MOF is saying that the private sector depends on the government to survive……………..

Yes Minister, businesses like Mark Maloney’s who has so far gotten 500 million dollars of this said money.

24. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Pachamama August 11, 2017 at 6:47 AM

The more you write the more you show me how stupid you are.

You living in another man’s country in peace and safety but advocating “”social Unrest”” in Barbados just like HERBERT.

It will not affect you in any way, shape or form. So you don’t have to care what happens here. Yet you see calls being made to DAVID to ban myself and Angela who make very rational statements, who is very balance and fair in our postings. But idiots like you can post willy nilly all types of garbage..

25. Charles Herbert’s face listening to the MOF………..is like what a ignorant lying buffoon!

26. @ Carson C Cadogan August 11, 2017 at 2:53 PM #

Yet you see calls being made to DAVID to ban myself and Angela who make very rational statements, who is very balance and fair in our postings.

Balance and fair…….yuh don’t think yuh stretching it a bit – lol?

27. Ignore him, Bajan in NY!

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

But Sinckler is clearly pointing out that even if the population was larger, the numbers of employers and employees larger, even if the tax net was wider, the income from taxes even higher…the government still would not be able to manage it either.

And where do they get all that taxpayer’s money to waste on feting tourists and feting yardfowls…given the economy is as tight as they claim….

…where do they get all that taxpayer’s money to waste on consultants.

29. Charles Herbert must be thinking………….look how I here wasting my day listening to this idiot.

30. Chuckle……the wannabe preacher just delivered a load of bs and I cannot understand why the unions and the private sector are allowing themselves to be led by this individual.

Good for Herbert putting him on the spot for a date.

He delivered a load of cold soup warmed over without dealing with system restructuring redundancies IMF access to grants and low interest loans……this is what can happen.

31. Toni got the idiots good and has sighted the case that the IMF programme is less harsh….what is magical about 9 months and a balanced budget.

Why the urgency……..elections coming is the answer.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The population should not be hearing that the government can still find 1/2 million dollars to give away to Maloney and others in the private sector….all of it taxpayer’s and pensioners money…but can’t give public sector workers a raise in 10 years.

33. I agree with you Well Well.

The MOF is outlining all of what is necessary expenditure……….that is understandable.

But tell me how does he explain or justify the unecessary expenditure for:

………..the Independence celebrations and the ignorant monument that no one can understand what it is or represents

…….the decision to host carifesta

…….the party for the so called 40,000 (a big dlp lie) at Illaro Court

…….the many parties for visitors at Illaro Court

…….two new top of the line expensive vehicles for the PM

…….the return of the so called 10% salary pay cut with back pay

It is time for this government to go!

34. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

How did HERBERT become head of the Private sector?

Because he is white?

Nothing that the man has said so far makes any kind of sense. I maybe

35. The MOF is clearly frustrated with hearing the truth from Toni Moore……….the camera keeps showing him getting agitated.

36. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Prodigal Son August 11, 2017 at 3:04 PM

I understand you.

HERBERT is white but the Finance Minister is BLACK. So therefore the BLACK man does not know what he is saying and he is wasting the White man’s time.

37. @David

Yes, Toni Moore just said that they met for 6 hours to iron out an agenda.

38. MoF waffling after Toni asked him 5 questions…..lol….lookah sport….waiting for another lash from Toni.

39. I am totally impressed with Toni Moore, she’s articulate, well versed, strong views using simple but smart language that simple people can understand. She’s is firm in getting an answer with this nagging NSRL and I agree, Why is the rush to close a deficit in 9 months when other governments were unable to put a dent in a 200 million deficit. The more you tax the less you are going to receive. Free up the tax structure so that more money will be in the hands of the consumer.

40. It would be interesting to see if the MOF will allowed the CBB governor to release the figures for the foreign reserves and NSRL as Toni Moore requested.

41. That is scare tactics, MOF.

42. Hahaha……the idiot going all over BIM and would not answer Toni’s question……I hope she sticks to her guns……..the NSRL is not taking in the anticipated revenue…….go to the IMF.

43. Now we have heard it….the govt wants the private sector to finance the govts expenditure…..so this is the bottom line.

44. But minister, how did we get here? Admit it, you are a failure.

You have now admitted that you have mismanged this economy so badly that the local banks are not going to lend you, the NIS tell you dont come to me, the CBB told you we have reached our limit……….you now want to know the unions to tell you what to do.

Sinckler, no one is going to invest or lend you a cent, they have no confidence in you…..period.

45. You go Toni…….speak, the MOF will not understand what you are saying………..but looka this iite for me!

46. Carson Cadogan
    Why don’t you stop telling lies on us. We will chastise you later.

47. I am listening to Toni Moore and i cringe she almost reminds of a child who is told by both parents that the item that it wants can not be afforded the child response and agrees then insert the word BUT
    Some if these Union Heads behaves as if govt only responsibility is to their membership cant they not realise the enormous strain the debt has on the country.
    I will bet that if Govt take their advice and cut the levy by 5 percent they still would not be happy because govt would have no other choice but to displace many public servsnte

48. The problems that the economy is experiencing has to fall solely on the head of this MOF.

It was revealed in the House that when Michael Lashley was minister of housing, Sinckler was sending money without parliamentary approval to NHC by the millions for him to employ his lackies and for him to build match boxes to sit empty to this day. Sinckler never explained why he committed that crime and he has gotten away with it.

Every week Sinckler was bringing supplementaries to the House to the point where one year he said that there would be no more supplementarties……….yet they continued.

He has to be blamed for all this rut.

49. A day of sound and fury signifying nothing.