Fifty years since Independence is a sufficient period to evaluate the performance of the Prime Ministers we have elected.  How they have performed, what is the skillset a Prime Minster of today requires to be effective.

Vote for the person who in your opinion represented the office best. Explain in the comment box reasons for your selection if you are inclined to share.  The individual with the lowest % vote gets to wear the label of the worst prime minister Barbados has elected.

175 responses to “Vote for Barbados Worst Prime Minister Since 1966”

1. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

We are spending more and earning less.

There is a gap between what we are earning and what we are spending not only because we have not been able to reduce our spending on employment the government wage and salaries bill and the government pensions bill are very very high, that is why people call for a reduction in the number of jobs in the Public Service. But one of the other issues that we had to deal with is that is that in the year 2007 before we came to office the Canadian government introduced a budget in which they took certain measures that would effect our international business and financial services sector and those measures took effect from around the year 2011 and if we did not respond to those measures business had already begun to leave Barbados and go and be domiciled elsewhere and a committee was set up to look at the issue and to advise the government and that committee had advised that if we are going to stop businesses from leaving Barbados, businesses in the financial services sector we have to lower the tax rate for the businesses at the top…The sacrifice of revenue that we are talking about is that the government has had to give up $200 m per year or more every year for the last six years. Over a billion dollars in tax revenue over the last six years. So we are earning less but still had to maintain the obligations which we came and found.

THE RIGHT HON. PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Panchama

You surprise me, really. Coming from you, one of the few people on here that even bother to read their contributions, this is a bunch of shite talk. First of all, do Barbadians speak about Errol Barrow, Tom Adams, or even Owen Arthur as Prime Ministers as being worst, the most ruthless and very highly despicable? Did Barbadians draw such negative inference from these Prime Ministers the way that they are doing with Freundel Stuart? The poll has some merit if you are looking at it from the point view that all the things other Prime Ministers did before Freundel Stuart took office, simply do not add up to the nonsense that Freundel Stuart has displayed in his two terms as PM. Of course the poll is meant to show the ridiculous leadership of Freundel Stuart, for he is indeed ridiculous and repulsive; but at the same time, it is misleading and obviously bias. Because, it and can easily sum up the contribution of the DLP under Stuart, as the failure of the Democratic Labour Party under a Barrow leadership as a total and irrelevant party, as well.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela Skeete July 26, 2017 at 9:21 AM
    “Listen Hal does setting the tone call for calculated attacks on a person
    I have been a victim of such attacks even to the point of David purposely and maliciuosly giving and presenting some personnel information on this forum which he perceives to be the person connected to my moniker
    Who does that when it is clearly stated in the privacy agreement”

Now you know how Lisa (Marshall???) who was fired from the Transport Board felt when you and the other DLP goons exposed the woman’s confidential and personal details on BU.

Those who are without sin cast the first Bajan big rock.

BTW, Hal Austin is fanatically and ferociously out to unmask people like you, angela Skeete aka ac, for hiding behind monikers and attacking decent people like him.

You might just be next on his radar should you dare call him a competent hypocrite even though he thinks your abjectly incompetent DLP administration is clearly not fit for purpose and needs to leave the scene tout suite just like the deceased Guyana-born DPP.

4. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

Carson

How could Denis Kellman edify anyone? He is too much of a simpleton for that time be possible.

5. FJS seems very similar to Lloyd Erskine Sanidford.

As far as stubbornness

His consistent denialist attitudes toward national crises

His deafening silence amid forest fires of national discourses

His over-reliance on a classical mis-education

His timidity in approaching new ideas

His reluctance to demit office even when it became clear he had little to offer

His propensity to absorb all manner of corruption operating in his face. And pretensions that it has nothing to do with him.

His craven desire for power in light of other indications

His slavish dependence of useless traditions

Both men know well that they had no right being PM. But once they did, were prepared to sit on the necks of Bajans like a useless pest.

Stuart now risks the fate of oblivion to which Sandiford has been assigned.

6. Listen bro miller in all my time on BU i have never once indicated or assume or presented presented private information which i deemed or determined should factor or play a keyrole about anyone
    Now for you to get on your proverbial political high horse and state that my have a difference of opinion with a blogger is one and the same as actively disturbing private information is an untruth and libelous

7. Come to think of it, I do not remember seeing any persons in the march wearing Jada or Preconco shirts………..ac, these two white men may be the only ones that will still support you arrogant dems.

Keep cursing Charles Herbert………..

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela Skeete July 26, 2017 at 10:23 AM

So Lisa Marshall ??? from the Transport Board is just a figment of someone’s imagination?

Do you want our resident archivist Artax to expose you to be one big nasty deceitful lying DLP pimp?

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

I dont know why anyone would curse Charles Herbert, he knowingly or not, did a great service to the coutry…just look at the outcome.

Ignore the yardfowls….cause after publicly marching for a meeting with the unions and thousands of workers and supporters to discuss the very public issues that are negatively impacting the people, the private sector cannot now refuse to meet with Fruendel…..no matter where.

So Angela…..what did Herbert do wrong, .

I am speaking only of Herbert, because ya can guarantee that there were others from the private sector in that march with less than honorable intentions, one of the reasons Eddie Abed stayed in the background and away from the march to see how it played out.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And when ya see Bizzy, looking exactly like, because he is taking on all the attributes and appearances of a parasite, you know, if ya not stupid, that all intentions for the march to get the attention of the government for that government, union, private sector meeting were not all good.

Even the US Embassy sent out a notice of caution to it’s citizens re…the best intentioned march can go wrong.

11. Pachamama @10.09am
    That post just about sums it up as far as LES and FJS are concerned.Two stubborn men who were both of the view that authorized power lasts for ever and ever.
    Leadership is about exuding and inspiring CONFIDENCE.Tom Adams is my choice for best Prime Minister of Barbados.Head and shoulders above all the others.A commanding presence,at ease all the time especially before a TV camera,beautiful language clearly understood by Gearbox and me,clever,brilliant,of fertile mind,quick thinker,a reader,didn’t waste time sleeping his life away but to crown this colossus of a bajan,respected every where he went was his sense of occasion,his sense of humour and his love and admiration of the beautiful females with which our country is blessed in abundance.”Who en looking good in front,looking good behine,and I and Tom lookin fuh we we kin fine”

12. Yeah go ahead and archive any information that shows where i used private information to pursue a political agenda against anyone on this forum. You are a goddam liar miller
    David has allowed and permitted including himself as well as anonymous fellow bloggers on this forum to go on a witch hunt in pursue of political agendas which would deliberately invade a person privacy
    David ought to be ashamed of being drag into a cesspool of malicious and verbal libelous slander pertaining to a persons privacy
    There are laws against such egregious actions which in effect provides legal easements for such victimization and David should refrain from activating or allowing or encourgaging others on this forum to pursue such dangerous paths

13. Jethro,
    Once more you appear to be on your mind-bending substances which encourage you to imagine the world as it ought to be. Again you attribute motives and imagined attacks by me on the late Guyana-born DPP. Again, give me a single example of a personal attack on the DPP by me. But, what is truth to an uncouth, envious failure.
    On the other hand, I can list numerous barbaric personal attacks on the late DPP, even within hours of his untimely death, from fellow commenters in the forum.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea July 26, 2017 at 8:33 AM #
    “ Dribbles
    So he is a poor leader because he was NOT well-bred, I presume ….
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    So exactly what do you NOT grasp …about him being a poor leader ..AND not being well bred too..?”

Bushie, you are right on the money with your assessment of Fumble being a classless poor-bred lucky political devil.

People of political class do not get up in the highest law making body and announce his unending love and support for a conman like Greenverbs who not only swindled millions from policyholders but a launderer of the same ill-gotten gains and a blatant tax evader.

Neither would a man of class stand up in the same “honourable” place and describe the same policyholders as a bunch of greedy Bajans deserving of being scammed while threatening to produce a list of those to be named and shamed in public for merely begging for justice.

These are the same policyholders who were promised prior to the 2013 elections to be reimbursed at least the principal amount of their investments just to get votes some of which were bought and still awaiting the much promised investigation.

We will not be so equally deceitful as to forget to mention the deliberate lie told to the little school boy about the last election date knowing full well it was predetermined just like the contents of the Leonard Shorey report on the inevitable adjustments which must be made to the funding of the UWI and the resulting impact on the BCC students aspiring to attend that tertiary education institution.

A man of class would not sign a Cahill agreement and then deny (until BU exposed him) any knowledge of such agreement which conveniently disappeared like the many other files forming a mountain on his desk.

How can a man of class can drive around his once beautiful country and see the environmental neglect and decay taking place before his very eyes without hauling his ministers over the goals for such a dirty state of affairs but can find time to dedicate a monumentally expensive temple to Satan on the Garrison while an excessively insensitive leader rides around in a merc?

If he were a person of true class after Monday’s massive show of disgust he would have made up his mind to let the people determine their future by either reelecting his administration or allow another party to lead them wherever they might wish to go.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And ah damn proud of them attacks too.

Just this week 2 bajan men were exonerated by CCJ from their death sentences, only charged because the corrupt DPP deceased, did not think he needed to have evidence against them to charge them..

16. What are the current results of the poll? I cant give a fair vote as I only knew myself from the days of Owen.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela Skeete July 26, 2017 at 11:59 AM

I agree it wasn’t you, angela Skeete, who maligned Lisa but an unknown quantity who went by the moniker “ac”

Peter denied Jesus Christ before the paling cock like you had crowed three times. Now don’t do that to your identical twin liar ac.

Next you will be blatantly denying you were ever against the government’s privatization programme but only under OSA’s BLP?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin July 26, 2017 at 12:12 PM

Listen up you xenophobic Bajan-born boy from jump-up land living in the UK, next minute you will declaring your undying love, cultural admiration and respect (even if out of Jihadi fear) for all Muslims especially those living in North London and those in Kensington New Road.

19. Now after having my say of what i belive is a wrong of the assassination done to an individual privacy on BU and being upheld and accommodate by David.
    I will only issue a one warning that if a continuation of a perceived connection is associated to any moniker which i am using on the grounds that the former is one of the same as the latter and a willingness to divest or distribute any private information by the administrator or other bloggers pertaining to me personnal
    I will pursue all legal channels to protect all or any information private or othewise which can be attributed to me personnally which by agreement between myself and the administrators of Barbados Underground was not to be published or distributed in the public domain
    Enough said

20. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Hal…blows with the wind…lol

21. What is goating the blp yardfowls is that Stuart is a man of integrity that even after the march he has kept his cool after delivering a message that has exposed the nastiness between the Unions and barbados biggest unpatriotic traitor and blackmailer Herbert . Herbert who has used black people to disseminate their own interest
    If Stuart as the blp yardfowls would want all and sundry to belive stuart is the worst of the worst.
    Then what does that make Herbert an unapologetic traitor and one armed bandit who on Monday all but single handily led twenty thousand sheep to slaughter guided and directed by mischievous hands with glorious pretense

22. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Angela…ya aint suppose to be helping Fruendel prepare for his meeting with those Mangoose them, to avert another mini renverser.

yall should know as long as it started the threat will always be there…

instead ya on here haunting and threatening the blog…

the other threat is real…lol

23. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

…or are yall waiting for a real coup de tate.

24. For those who need to know:

“Well-bred” certainly can be intended to mean “born to parents considered to be of good stock”.

But it usually means more than that. The additional meanings include personal character attributes, such as being urbane, refined, and familiar and comfortable with, and knowledgeable about, upper-class etiquette.

25. Speaking of PM’s and their value to a country.Anyone belives that if Herbert had dare to write a letter by which to direct or insinuated choas or blackmail of this country during the reign of Tom Adams or OSA he would have been given permission to stage a walk further less a march
    The permission given to Herbert( a well known as of present day) to be a traitor and permitted by the Right Honourable PM Stuart speaks to his integrity and his high level of respect for the democractic process even in the face of being told that there was an intent of having chaos in the street under the guidance of Herbert

26. The fact is that Herbert would not have had the situation to write either Barrow,Tom or Arthur.Those 3 knew better.The fact is that Stuart has not a clue how to interface or interact with people of superior intellect.He is at home with the likes of Kellman,Blackett(lord have mercy look what Buhbaydus come to when a huge JA like Blackett get name a Minister)De Lashleys,Braffit,Byer,Jones and the other unruly,ill bred,below average intelligence yahoos in cabinet.Lies seem to be the cornerstone of DLP politics.Sandy told a monumental lie prior to the ’91 election.Henry said time and again that the Barbados economy was in deep trouble and 3000 to 4000 govt employees going home.Sandy say no way,the economy performing like Sobers….Thompson has been telling lies from early and in the ’94 election he called the party faithful to Queens Park the night before the election,where he would read the correspondence between Owen Arthur and the IMF.Party faithful still waiting to hear the details.Then more lies in ’99 with Lazio and then more lies with Paris and Clico.The only lie I can recall Barrow told was when he could not handle Tom’s superior debating skills and appealed to the speaker saying Mr Speaker,Sir,the only thing in which I seem able to beat the honourable member for St Thomas is a General Election.The following GE soon after that plea was a resounding victory for Tom which gave birth to the Great Combination,the greatest and most brilliant Cabinet in the history of Barbados.Serious ground breaking and earth shattering laws tumbled out of that honourable chamber and that is why the CCJ pouring scorn on the fools Barbados elected to oversee its judiciary today.

27. The fact being Herbert would not have dared or have the mitigating gall well and fully knowing at first glance that all the perks private sector was afforded at tax payers expense would have been pulled right under his nose in the dead of night
    The man is a devious self serving character with little regard or respect for this country.
    How dare Herbert use covert actions to destro the basic foundations of this country.

28. What us even worse that Herbert would use the Unions asa mechanism if he was given his way to carry out his threats against their country.
    Who does that? unless one hates the country with such vile and venom
    What an unpatriotic bile that Herbert
    Hope govt dismiss any of his proposed advice which he might use to advance his self serving agenda
    A word to Herbert from govt should state ” Once bitten twice shy”

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

Everybody talking bout dis letter…..a copy en drop off the back of some truck yet? The PSA is an ASSOCIATION, the members must be privy to what its governing body does? Nuff folks must have access to this letter? Seems odd it hasn’t surfaced yet?

30. If any one on BU dare criticise Mark Maloney on the blog, these two resident JA’s come on and defend him to the hilt lashing out at whomever………..does anyone find it passing strange that they are out everyday with butcher knives to juck into Charles Herbert.

What happened yardfowl?………..The Goddards group are not big donors to the DLP cesspool?

You are passed pathetic!

31. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

DAVID

It is a big habit of yours to post all kinds of pieces of paper.

We are all waiting for you to post HERBERT piece of paper to our Prime Minister.

32. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Yipe.

It will be televised on CBC TV 8 for all the World to see and hear.

Somebody panty will get exposed.

33. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

….and every other social “partner” meeting will be done under the glare of TV cameras going forward.

Too many liars in the private sector and trade union movement.

34. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

prodigal

HERBERT will be forced to speak the TRUTH. If he can still remember what that is.

35. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

…if they stupid enough to think that Maloney who also is the front man for Cow, Bizzy and Bjerkham was not involved and that he didnt remain quietly in the background,in the shadows, like the other cockroaches of the Mangoose variety, who have all kinds of grand parasitic plans….to enrich themselves only, while everyone else suffers…..well they are all more stupid than we been saying.

and as all the Mangoose know, they all have very short memories when it comes to their own welfare, wellbeing and that of their people.so all they gotta do is sit back and wait for all of them to forget…lol

36. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…..ya also need it legislated that going forward, all private sector and other meeting related to public interest held with any government ministers or their representatives, must be held in the public forum, just like all modern societies and democracies do….lights, cameras, action.

i know Fruendel must have been pissed, but in so doing finally made a decision to benefit the majority population…..lol

37. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

The trade union leadership will soon find out that you be friend of the chicken and the mongoose too.

38. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Carson, the difference between Herbert, Moore, McDowell and Stuart is that Stuart has been proven several times in the public domain to be a liar.

His exposure as a stranger to the truth is a matter of public record. He has also been exposed as the some-time leader and all-time representative of some of the biggest villains and vagabonds the House of Parliament has ever provided sanctuary and corrupt opportunity.

The man has lied to me to my face as casually as anyone on the Monday March said ‘good morning’.

His racist views are common knowledge; there was no surprise when your panic defence was to blame the march on the ‘white slave masters’ (never mind most of their ancestors came to Bim as slaves); it was also your mistake to dismiss the black business people and employers in Bim who make up the vast majority of us. They will not forget.

And so now you have a problem. Only a complete and urgent reversal of the 2017 budget can put us on the right path and Stuart is too ignorant to understand the maths involved and too stupid to reel in the other idiot Sinckler. He is also too stupid to debate facts, only someone as oblivious to facts as he could be so arrogant.

Scum, the lot of you.

There will be no economic, ethical or moral recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

There was never any chance of it.

Now everyone else knows it too.

39. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

particularly meetings held with them foreign thieves them like Canadian Clare Cowan…..Alvin Cummins Cahill scam friend…must be recorded…

40. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

….see the position of the government`s own making ya put yaselves in…now fix it.

no more excuses and long talk will suffice.

41. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

THE OLD BAJANS HAD A LOT OF COMMON SENSE

An old Bajan song which since 24 July 2017 has taken on great relevance once again.

The old people really knew what they were signing about.
    ……and it goes something like this:

Sly MONGOOGE de dog know yuh name
    Sly mongoose you aint got no shame
    Mongoose went into the lady’s kitchen
    Tek up half of she big fat chicken
    tuck into he waistcoat pocket
    Sly mongoose.

42. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Sign along wid me

DAVID

PRODIGAL

BUSH TEA

43. Herbert is a sewer rat bar none and David has allowed himself to become a byproduct of Herbert callous self serving dis regard for this country.
    Remember the fire storm that erupted when Boyce told a truth only now seen to part and parcel of Herbert actions
    As for the letter which Herbert wrote do not expect it to fall off the back of any blp truck and if so David would not dare published it.as this letter sooner rather than later would tear apart these two groupings Union and private sector would for the time being are chained at the foot

44. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

“Scum, the lot of you”

With a statement like that you really expect some one to take you seriously?

45. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

“….lights, cameras, action.”

I like that.

46. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

The trade union leadership will soon find out that you cant be friend of the chicken and the mongoose too.

47. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

and as for any meetings between government ministers and those scam artists and thieving insurance executives with all their ready made scams and fraudulent ponzi schemes to work on the people, there should also be a police presence, the hierarchy…all recorded.

so, yall publish the damn letter already and stop wasting time…Fruendel is PM with all the powers he needs to expose anything and he has the power of the judiciary and armed forces behind him, the private sector can do nothing if the letter is exposed….they are not elected leaders…though they want yall asses gone.

besides, if yall had done ya damn jobs as everyone been begging ya, paying ya salaries yet begging ya to do ya jobs for the last 7 years, ya would not have boiled yaselves into this stew.

48. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

That song is the Anthem for the next elections.

Straight from our Bajan ancestors.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

Why should the union leadership be a specific “friend” of either, over and above anybody else with whom they must interact? Isn’t their role to represent the best interests of their membership?

50. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…well ya will like this even more.

for decades elected ministers, politicians and those in leadership roles have all treated the minorities and private sector like they were the elected governments on the island…

maybe it`s time that warped perception by those in leadership roles come to an end….

they are not your masters or your leaders, they are citizens of the island, as any citizen, they should be treated with respect, but not reverence, and the respect they are entitled to….your own people are also entitled to the same level of respect, not less….

yall been disrespecting ya own people for decades…that has to end.

new beginnings.