In response to an an exchange between David of BU and Hal Austin on the NIS Dumps 21 Million Dollars in Apes Hill Development blog, respected Barbadian actuary Walter Blackman responded with a comment deserving of deep thought and rich discussion by Barbadians everywhere – Barbados Underground

Hal Austin March 31, 2017 at 11:53 AM #

I know it is fashionable to blame individuals, but should we not be blaming the minister, who is ultimately accountable; the chairman of the NIS, Justin Robinson, and members of the investment committee; and the person(s) who carried out the due diligence? In any case, this is not an investment, but a loan. Is the NIS authorised to make commercial loans to private businesses without the approval of parliament?

David March 31, 2017 at 3:29 PM #
@Walter
Know this is a busy time for you but an opinion on this matter given your expertise would be valued.

I don’t believe that the governance structure of the NIS has undergone any radical change in its 50-year existence, so I will state these pointers from memory, as a means of steering the discussion in the right direction:

The NIS Board is a corporate entity with a corporate seal. It can transact business in its own right. The National Insurance FUND was established under the control and management of the NIS Board. However, when it comes to the fund, there are two instances where the practical power of the Board either intermingles with, or is superseded by ministerial power.

One, the Board with the approval of the Minister responsible for Social Security, may write off sums of money from the fund as losses.

Two, any monies belonging to the fund may be invested by the Board in whatever manner, and in whatever securities, that the Minister responsible for Finance may direct.

The Minister responsible for Social Security, and the Minister responsible for Finance are two political positions which, by nature, tend to put political considerations first. For example, in the realm of extreme probability, whilst a directed NIS investment decision can end up in hundreds of millions of dollars forever being lost, it may provide invaluable political benefits. Additionally, hundreds of millions of dollars can be written off as losses to the fund, in instances where borrowers have the capacity to repay. Such decisions might prove to be injurious to the fund, but may be calculated to provide excellent political payoffs.

The governance structure does not subject these extreme positions to any “prudent man” rule at the transactional level, so any “blaming” would have to manifest itself in political terms at election time. Of course, this depends on how vigilant or sensitive the electorate is to the management of NIS funds.

In the 2013 general election, our current Minister responsible for Finance, the Hon. Chris Sinckler, would have been subjected to a great amount of “blame” for the millions of NIS funds which were considered to be wasted on ill-fated projects. The electorate held him to be “blameless” and returned him to parliament. It is highly likely that the electorate will return him to parliament when the next general election comes around.

Our current Minister responsible for Social Security, the Hon. Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, is seeking to avenge the political defeat she suffered in 2013. With respect to the NIS fund and any associated problems, her political opponents will be expected to highlight instances, if any, where she injudiciously approved the writing off of monies, owed to the NIS fund, as losses. If they cannot do this, then she must be viewed by the electorate as totally and completely blameless when it comes to any mismanagement of NIS funds.

I tried to keep this comment short and simple whilst simultaneously tackling Hal’s questions. I have also deliberately left some dots to be connected by the more thoughtful and discerning BU readers and bloggers.

190 responses to “When Political and Investment Considerations Intersect to Affect the NIS Fund”

1. Sinckler with glasses. Since when pays Sinckler a styling consultant to make him more intelligent?

2. The 2011 NIS Actuarial Review is the most recent that we are aware. We have to assume the 2014 is available?

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Walter though being forthcoming with information is delusional to believe that with pensioners money under threat by ministers who clearly have no investment skills, who have lost millions of taxpayer’s dollars and pensioner’s money through Bizzy, Cow, Maloney and any fly by night scam that comes along, who could have invested the pension money in safer securities that Walter knows exists in other countries, securities which have quadrupled in value since 2008 and have now peaked….that the electorate would love suffering and punishment and their lives and those of their children and grandchildren destroyed and filled with hardship, suffering, high food prices, no job creation and threat of economic default, to actually be stupid enough to vote for more of the same is clearly insulting and reaching.

4. It would seem as if this government is doing as it likes with our NIS funds.

Some other questionable investments are the Four Seasons, two buildings at Warrens, the Police Station at Arch Hall, the Police Station in Hastings and it is alleged that they paid for the houses at Coverley just before the 2013 election………….

No wonder honest Barbadians who faithfully paid into the fund cannot get their claims and pensions in a timely manner. I know of a case where a lady has been off sick from April last year, the first cheque she received was in October.

This cannot be fair to Barbadians. When are we going to be able to see financial reports in a timely manner. Are we in the 21st century or what?

Look for the stupid minister to come out soon and say that the fund is sound!

5. CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

3 good crooks

6. The NIS is rum-soaked with government bonds. What should Barbadians expect? NO payment at all. Look at the losses with bonds from Argentina or Greece. Barbados will repeat the story and the following warning: Do not invest in junk bonds.

When the sham collapses very soon, NIS will incure losses of at least 80%. Barbados will become the almshouse of the Caribbean just after Haiti.

7. The last I heard, the NIS was holding 75% of their funds in government bonds. The minister boasted that they have now ‘repaid” the NIS in government bonds.

I wonder if the Director took the bonds to the Central Bank if he would be able to get cash!!!!!!

8. This is a very sad state of affairs.Here is a minister overseeing a Fund of billions who is only ‘answerable’ to another incompetent and can write off at will according to Walter.We need Henry Forde to tighten up these rules and introduce laws(similar to what he did for women)to stop this rot.Peoples’ hard earned money must be accounted for in a more serious manner.Byer is not an elected member of parliament and knows nothing of Finance nor Wealth Management.The chairman of the NIS should be one with a commercial background in Money and Investments with a solid track record in commercial banking,who has a reputation to protect.Byer is a proven incompetent,just slightly worse than Sinckler and Stuart.JA’s awl.Dont expect any help from the nitwit AG.Has he found Mia’s LEC yet?

9. Prodigal,

Each government bond translates into a total loss. At the end, Barbados will keep nothing. Overseas, the embassies hire flats and houses – no assets, here in Barbados, government hires buildings – no assets. The land? In the hand of the Williams bros. & Co. The golden doubloons in Central Bank – away!

10. As it is currently the norm, the Minister under whose portfolio the National Insurance Department falls, usually appoints their political party associates, benefactors and friends to the Board of statutory corporations. More often than not, many of these political appointees do not have the prerequisite qualifications or experience to effectively “manage” these boards to achieve the desired objectives. And they often usurp the authority of the officially appointed CEO/General Manager/Director.

Case in point, Joey Harper who, under the previous BLP administration, acted OUTSIDE his mandate as Chairman of the Child Care Board, to become the “chief spokesman, cook and bottle washer” of that establishment, and the current DLP Chairman of the National Assistance Board, Senator (Apostle, Prophet, Reverend, Pastor) Dr. David Durant, who is NOT a QUALIFIED SOCIAL WORKER, but for REASONS of POLITICAL EXPEDIENCY, goes to the media to comment on issues ahead of the qualified Assistant Director of the NAB.

What special skills do Mark Maloney or Bjorn Bjerkhamn contribute to LIAT and the Central Bank of Barbados, respectively, other than being financial contributors to this inept DLP administration?

As such, I believe at least two (2) independent individuals, one of whom should be an actuary, should be appointed to the NIS Board as REPRESENTATIVES of Barbadian contributors to the NIS fund.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    “What special skills do Mark Maloney or Bjorn Bjerkhamn contribute to LIAT and the Central Bank of Barbados”
    Go further…..what do the plethora of PS’s, diplomats or politicians contribute to the LIAT BoD? None of them have ever worked for a “for profit” company!!!!!! And are now expected to make a meaningful contribution in the profit sector?

12. Aren’t government appointees to Boards guided by regulatory?

13. A previous National Assistance Board’s (NAB) board of directors, for example, comprised of Dr. Farley Brathwaite, Rev. Errington Massiah, Richard Sealy, Derek Alleyne, Astor Watts, Reggie Hunte, Michael Yearwood and a Mr. Jordan who once operated the canteen in Central Police Station and provided refreshments for Parliament.

Dr. Brathwaite, was a former Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences, UWI Cave Hill. He is a qualified sociologist and his specialized field of academic study included social inequality, poverty, and socially disadvantaged and excluded groups including the unemployed, the elderly, and victims of crime, youth and children. Obviously, Brathwaite’s academic credentials could be deemed synonymous (or clearly associated) with the mandate of NAB, thereby making him suitably qualified to be Chairman of board.

As you may be are aware, Sealy is Minister of Tourism; Hunte is a DLP stalwart and Senator; Alleyne was a former DLP candidate for St. Michael West Central and current Director of UDC; and Watts is another DLP stalwart who is still “knocking ‘bout” George Street.

Based on their academic qualifications or experience, what made the other individuals suitable candidates to be members of NAB’s board of directors, other than being closely associated with the DLP?

Under these circumstances, perhaps you may be willing to explain how “government appointees to Boards (are) guided by regulatory?”

14. And these types of situations occur under both BLP & DLP administrations.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95355/bizzy-treasury-election-funding

The newer politicial parties trying to continue the same cycle of corruption with the minority business people like Bizzy that has disenfranchised the majority black population for the last 50 years do none of these mediocre politicians have any original ideas, no shame, no self-respect..

Bizzy needs to take his eyes off the treasury, it’s not anyone’s personal ATM.

“FUNDING FOR ELECTION CAMPAIGNS should be pulled from the Treasury and not the private sector. This is the opinion of prominent businessman Ralph “Bizzy” Williams, who said that he has had to decline some of the newer political parties which asked him for financial support. “I have been approached and I have said I am not interested. You can be a businessman and you can be a politician, but the two of them don’t mix,” Williams said.”

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Overseas, the embassies hire flats and houses – no assets, here in Barbados, government hires buildings – no assets.”

Tron….over a decade ago the Barbados government under Owen Arthur bought a diplomatic residence iin the swanky Forest Hills area of Queens NY….fpr a couple millions dollars of taxpayers money, that property, given the length of time of purchase, should have quadrupled making it a valuable asset, at the time I wondered if they would maintain it or whether they understood the real value of such an asset, after I read about it in one if tge tristate dailies. .

I understand the property burned some years ago, was it repaired and upgraded, it was a taxpayer property. It is bad enough that they are employees in the Barbados mission who were not paid that can attest to scams in NY.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95351/usd10-plea

These mediocre government ministers got some nerve, the taxpayer’s and pensioner’s money they have taken over the decades and given away to Bizzy, Maloney, Cow and Bjerkham could have built 5 national stadiums, an investment in the future of the island’s children and young people, but no, instead they invested millions in selfish, self-absorbed minorities. …I would ignore Lashley.

And here is the same Bizzy, who confessed to bribing politicians with taxpayer’s money in election campaigns over the decades because that is wgere he git the money to begin with, openly bribed the police, not wanting to do the same with the newer political parties, but will certainly hide to fund the 2 old parties, because there are free contracts to be had going forward, more taxpayer’s and pension fund money down the drain..

18. The comment about if appointment of civil servants to the Board is regulatory was made in the cont!ext of the LIAT discussion. As you are aware LIAT is an incorporated commercial legal entity compared to wholly owned government owned statutory agency.

19. Judging from your response, it is clear I misinterpreted your question re: “Aren’t government appointees to Boards guided by regulatory?” (and without you making any reference to LIAT) to mean you were specifically referring to government statutory corporations.

However, taking your explanation into consideration and within the context of LIAT, I have to agree with you,

20. Yes the original comment was meant to respond to James Lynch and his LIAT prosecution.

21. @ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger April 5, 2017 at 5:26 AM
    Treasury empty now, so this is a novel way of raising money for Maloney.

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The population shoukd not give Lashley a dime Bushman…stupid negroes in parliament will never learn, Cow, Bizzy, Maloney et al get millions of taxpayer’s dollars, give back 5,000 at a time to various causes, tennis, a couple benches etc…and these jackasses dont realize that they are getting back peanuts of their own money that was stolen from them to begin with, by wicked, clueless, corrupt government ministers.

To make matters worse, the new political parties are willing to continue the Cow, Bizzy corruption when they approach begging them for money……. they got no damn shame.

As for Grenville, he should realize by now that campaigns cost money, tens of millions of dollars, more than his family is worth.

23. There are many reasons I can share that justify there is no way that I would give any money or any time regarding anything that this outrageously incompetent DLP government sets forth to raise money..First and foremost,the DLP is riddled with corrupt ministers.Secondly the Dlp cannot be taken at their word.No guarantee would convince me to part with any money for these punks to plunder and waste.Thirdly,if lashley looking for campaign funds go to the 31000 that voted the DLP in 2013.And I could go on.Bottom line lashley “eff off!”

24. Corporate Barbados could ( help) build and brand a new stadium.

The EmerLimDigiBhlCowBizz Stadium ?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MORNING FOLKES FROM THE WRONG PARTY

Couple weeks ago a story about an elderly white couple from St John appeared in the nation tabloid news paper the story said how this family needed help with they house and went to several Government agencies and the MP and no help was being offered Nothing could be further from the truth but I will left that right there.

A friend of mine asked me what’s my take on the story the day it appeared and without divulging anything specifics I just said this is the silly season expect alot more of these hard luck stories the next place would be St Lucy and would you believe the next week a next story appeared with this elderly gentleman from that Parish and the dilapidated house he calls home and how it falling down on him. So my friend called me and ask how I know it was going to be St Lucy next?! I said because every election when there is a reigning DLP Government these stories appears in the Nation paper. There always start with such stories from these two parishes, I said but it won’t stop there it will get even more ridiculous just wait you will hear and see some stories. Now its not to say that these stories appear because the DLP Government don’t look after the poor that would be a blatant lie. I sure there are stories I personally know of when the BLP was the Government, of people who were seeing real hardships then too but the paper never printed these stories wha even Arthur admitted that he didn’t realise there was so much “poverty”(his word not mine) in Barbados during the St Michael North West by elections that saw Clyde Mascoll(formerly of the DLP) being elected to parliament beating out Mark “smart” Williams of the BLP.

But did the Nation try to find out where these poverty stricken people lived exactly and what was they story NO cause it was a BLP Government then so that wasn’t important.

As stated previously the silly season is really upon us and how you can tell is when we see people like Reverend Joseph Atherly,Maryann Redman aka “redwoman” and no one else jack but Reverend Charles Morris all up in the medias talking this or that. Now I am very concern when men of the cloths(Charles Morris and Joseph Atherly) can be saying and doing some of the things I hear them saying or see them doing. Remember when Reverend Joe Atherly paraded a lady from the St Michael West constituency and a man in a DLP shirt,the lady was begging for help and food etc saying her MP don’t help her with nothing and how she been the the office and he never helped but I later learnt this was a big lie as I may have suspected anyway, and the man was searching through the garbage looking for meal and his picture was taken and he was paraded for political points and a part of the story said look how he have on a DLP shirt but can’t get help from the party who’s shirt he’s wearing.

I have serious concerns when vulnerable members of the society can be used to further people’s political agenda and by people of the cloth. If he was really a Reverend in the true sense of the word politics aside why would you do this to a human being instead of offering help without seeking political publicity as men of the cloth I would think that you should refrain from sinking to this level just to score political points especially when it’s a lie.

We are all Barbadians and Humans and if you genuinely saw that situation in a constituency why can you along with the current MP sit together and come up with a comprehensive programme to aid these vulnerable constituents, since that story was publish I saw three people in BLP campaign shirts rummaging through garbage too but I refused to sink to that level or become so inhumane and take they pics and parade them on social medias and other media.

Now to Reverend or Priest Charles Morris I can’t remember since this party came to office Charles Morris ever offering constructive criticism it’s always destructive and in a very aggressive,combative and arrogant manner. Nothing that this Govt have ever done is right for him and he always verbally attacking the Minister of Education,nothing the Minister does is good enough for him nor have I ever heard him publicly thanking the said Minister nor Government.

Of course I am not saying that these holders of these titles can’t have an opinion ohhh no siree bob cause I believe as a citizen everyone should have an opinion on any issue even if it’s to criticise the Government of the day but yuh mean to tell me they haven’t seen anything good at all that this Govt. done? It can’t be normal for individuals to be so critical alllll the time because they party ain’t the Government! Something would have to be very wrong with them.

And Mary Mary quite contrary. I’ve heard some people saying if she spent as much time teaching as she spend dealing with union business and trying to create controversy after controversy because her party ain’t the Government she won’t have so much time on her hands but I won’t say that cause she was elected to do a job. But what I want to know is if she or the BSTU as it’s presently constituted had these same issues during the BLP’S time as a Government? If yes why is it now the DLP is Government are we now hearing of these concerns especially the hot one of teachers marking SBAS?etc. These teachers that supporting her stance of not marking SBAs are they parents of secondary school children? If yes how does your child or children feel about this situation?

26. Many years ago when the Investment Section was started at National Insurance Office,I said it should never have been implemented or attached to the NIS since it’s the people’s money and we hear when it is lent out but Never that it has​ or is being repaid!

27. Even better …….how about a Hyatt hotel and conference centre as part of the NEW Stadium complex.

28. We need greater discussion about the management of the NIS Fund, many other issues discussed are not as important.

29. @ David wrote, “We need greater discussion about the management of the NIS Fund”

The NIS fund should not be used as a piggy bank for government and their corporate children.

The NIS fund should invest in safe and secure financial instruments.

The NIS fund primarily is to ensure that retired Bajans receive their pensions until they die.

I will leave to the highly educated BU experts to ” discuss ” the management of the fund.

30. To quote Mr. BLACKMAN…..

“Our current Minister responsible for Social Security, the Hon. Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, is seeking to avenge the political defeat she suffered in 2013.”

My question is WTF is an individual who LOST in the last general election doing as the MINISTER OF SOCIAL SECURITY. DOES NOT LOSS MEAN LOSS. In all other democracys a loss at the polls means your out of government, you sit on their sidelines tweaking your twot until they next election and try again. Only in Barbados does one LOSS in an election and get to be a minister in the government. Talk about a funked up system.

31. Agreed, David. Based on the information I have read here on BU over the last few years it actually seems that the NIS is lurking towards either insolvency or at minimum major financial distress.

That is certainly a debate (sans the political diatribes) that is crucial. I commend you and team for keeping this matter top of mind

@Cayote…so can one assume that former Sec of State Clinton does not operate in a ‘democracy’ then! LOL.

We do really get caught up in this ‘Bajan system is the pits’ way too much.

Unfortunately, we are as ‘funked up’ as everyone else. But yes, being so small it is 100 times more problematic.

32. An aside from the real topic. Would anyone reading these responses believe that “Carson C. Cadogan” is a government minister and a lawyer with all that dribble? I think not. What irresponsibility.

33. @de pedantic Dribbler April 5, 2017 at 8:59 AM

At least the USA political system had a TRUMP card, ha, ha.

34. @ abajanhowe

Do you actually waste time reading anything written by Carson C. Cadogan?

His/her main objective is to disrupt BU.

35. Violet CUP
    Here is another tiefing lawyer in the Region.We just read of one in Guyana and now this one in Trinidad.They abound, despite the track record of disbarment and/or confinement.Not to mention those like Simmonds and Watson of Cottle notoreity who are hoping Trump’s ICE personnel don’t kick them back to Barbados sooner than they think.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170404/news/top-lawyer-arrested-in-land-fraud-probe

36. Bajan @9.21a
    That’s a joke!

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Trinidad has it’s issues, but locking up tiefing, dishonest, unethical lawyers is not one of them…the useless DPP and attorney general in Barbados should try it.

38. David/Walter,
    It is rather nice to see a level of mature and intelligent discussion on a rather sensitive subject, even if I will have to question Walter’s memory or the flawed nature of the legislation.
    Since my old copies of the Official Gazette and the relevant legislation are in storage, I will apply three metrics on which the measure the way the fund is performing.
    First, the Westminster/Whitehall model, which the political elite likes to quote so much; seconds the demographic crisis facing the country; and third, the hybrid nature of the NIS and English Common law as practised in England and Wales.
    Walter’s observation that the scheme is self-governing may be right in terms of practice (this is how we do things in Barbados) but it is wrong in terms of the principles of public policy.
    State pensions and social security are major public policy issues and carry enormous responsibility on the part of the elected government.
    It would be highly unethical, and unconstitutional, for any government to delegate the governance of the state social security policy to an independent body, and out of the scrutiny and over-view of parliament.
    If that is what happens in practice, and the poor drafting of legislation in Barbados is now laughable, then there is a case for a judicial review of this legislation – even 50 years late.
    Just imagine for a minute, that any crisis in the pensions system can be passed off as the responsibility of a body corporate, even if the taxpayer is the sole shareholder. It is not tenable.
    I will also dispute the many freedoms that Walter seems to allow the NIS, even if it is just a recall of his memory. Under our Corporate Law, which has been in the same form since the 1920s, companies are owned by the shareholders and as such the government (as the steward of the taxpayer) will still be able to direct the NIS Board on strategy.
    More importantly, government has certain obligations to the retired and poverty-stricken therefore executive freedoms to write off debt will be highly contested. No such power should be allowed, even if it exists.
    Most of all, all Walter fully knows, government’s long-term pensions liabilities means that the investment policy of the scheme is of crucial importance.
    As things stand, this is the fundamental risk in the scheme and one that calls for public debate. Investing nearly 50 per cent of the fund in debentures is unnecessarily high-risk and irresponsible. Although debentures are long-term investments with fixed incomes, meeting the scheme’s long-term liability obligations, it is still not made clear which companies these unsecured investments are in. That is a smoke and mirrors policy.
    Secondly, to grow the fund, it is necessary to invest in equities; however, in both the gilts and equities, asset allocation and stock picking are jobs for experts – and in any case, it is also high-risk to invest in the same markets.
    The key to good investing is to spread the investments in different markets, so that if one is down, the other is up and they smooth each other over the cycle. The NIS does not do this.
    Then we come to the policy of investment in local businesses, such as Apes Hill. By any stretch of the imagination, this is a risky business investment – the begging letter says that itself: a collapse in the local property market, and has been so since 2008; the business had also applied for a loan in 2014, of Bds$176m, this is a red flag that should set alarm bells ringing, especially when the application talked of repayment on the Apes Hill bond (borrowing money from the NIS to repay a loan from the NIS?). Then they wanted a further Bds$2m to completer that part of the project. Over-runs are serious failures of pricing and heads should roll.
    Who did the original cost/benefit analysis? Who did the due diligence on this further loan application? What securities were demanded? For example, did COW Williams and his business partners signed over any of the property to the NIS? If not, why not?
    I can go on about this loan application in particular and the general management of the NIS in general.
    The bottom line is that the NIS is badly run, its policies are chaotic and it is risking the benefits of ordinary people to satisfy the arrogance of people without the skills and knowledge to run a state pension and social security fund.

39. @Hal

The key to good investing is to spread the investments in different markets, so that if one is down, the other is up and they smooth each other over the cycle. The NIS does not do this.”

Your quote -government operatives are of the view that the NIS should be used to build Barbados. Their view; Darcy Boyce, Denis Kellman, are of the view if Barbados were to fail then the NIS Fund will be flushed.

40. David,

There is the way things are done in the rest of the world, and the way they are done in Barbados. If you invest in a single market and it collapses then what? Ignorance has never prevented Barbadian politicians from making important decisions without consultation.

41. When are the numbers for the foreign reserves 1st quarter 2017 released?

Maybe it takes a bit longer to “enhance” them politically? Anyway, will not trust the numbers anymore. The Central Bank, the business and consumer banks of Barbados and the whole country have an evident interest to cover the true state of emergency. – As did Greece until 2010.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Secondly, to grow the fund, it is necessary to invest in equities; however, in both the gilts and equities, asset allocation and stock picking are jobs for experts – and in any case, it is also high-risk to invest in the same markets.
    The key to good investing is to spread the investments in different markets, so that if one is down, the other is up and they smooth each other over the cycle. The NIS does not do this.”

Some years ago, it could be as much as 15 years, a portion of the NIS funds were in some safe securities portfolio on the NY Stock Exchange, why would any sensible government stop doing that to invest in the Cow, Bizzy, Maloney, Bjerkham scams, those are high risk investments that can go nowhere. ..a robbery of the NIS pension fund by these creeps.

43. Speaking of Maloney and Hotels, brings up the eyesore , unfinished Harlequin Hotel in Hastings…I notice the yard being cleaned up, and all signs to do with Harlequin , Buccament Bay St Vincent, have been removed. Has someone bought it ? Could it be Maloney, whose Preconco was owed a large sum of money for work they did?It would be great to see a nice hotel or apartment building there.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Artaxerxes

“”Do you actually waste time reading anything written by Carson C. Cadogan?
    His/her main objective is to disrupt BU.””

I have no such objective.

I am merely showing how jaundiced the opinions on this blog are. You refuse to accept what is staring you in the face and persist with a lot poppycock. All of what you write don’t make any sense whatsoever.

This is almost ten years you lot have been writing the same foolishness over and over and over. In the vain belief that it will make a difference with the voting public. Clearly it is not . The Barbados Labour Party has been defeated on three different occasions in spite of all that is being written on BU

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Any of you can ask DAVID about “ÖLD ONIONS BAGS”. They were great buddies. OLD ONION BAGS castigated the Govt. at every turn much to the delight of DAVID.

He was certain that the Barbados Labour Party would win all or nearly of the seats in the last elections. DAVID was his cheer leader. And what happened?

So you all fool your selves that what you write here on BU inspires someone besides BLP minions to vote for the BLP is just a fantasy.

All that happens here is that a group of geriatrics with their canes, wheel chairs, depends and too much time on their hands try to mislead themselves that their opinions are still relevant.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No doubt DAVID makes a ton of money off them with his blog. I sure that this blog is monetized and DAVID laughs all the way to the bank.

47. @Artaxerxes I cannot disagree that political appointees are often the proverbial square pegs trying to fit into holes which truly need cylindrical pegs. But my understanding of the role of Boards – particularly government – informs that a different perspective must be considered.

There is David’s regulatory point. And then there is a need for ‘varied’ experiences/backgrounds to better inform society’s feedback in the governance.

Per your point re “Dr. Brathwaite […] academic credentials … making him suitably qualified to be Chairman of board”, why couldn’t another academic let’s say Dr. Bariteau or Dean Cumberbatch with no specific study in social work but excellent skills dissecting, defining and driving an agenda, successfully managing a large budget and strategizing their team’s mandate not be just as suitable!

A Board’s role is guidance and strategy.

Even with an actuary as Chair of course an NIS Board would still need to commission actuarial reports and related technical analysis to do their work, of course.

My simple point is that on any and all Boards we must have ‘regular’ competent people of different disciplines who can digest all the verbiage and highfalultin details and be able to use solid judgment to strategize and basically be brave enough to ‘call LBW’ even if it’s the equivalent of Lawrence Rowe on 99 on a raucous Sunday at Sabina Park!

That is the key test for any Chairperson or Board member…(calling Yagga out LBW on 99 at Sabina, LOL).

But alas, I suspect if we could actually find such Board members then that canteen entrepreneur you mentioned (aka my cricket umpire) who sits on the Board would be accused of bribe-taking for his call!

In sum we are damned, regardless.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

This is what the NIS website says on the topic

“The Minister responsible for Social Security makes appointments to the Board, and the National Insurance Office falls under his control.

The Board is made up of nine members and is tripartite, meaning that it’s made up of representatives of the government and workers’ and employers’ organisations.

The Minister may also, as necessary, devise regulations under the National Insurance and Social Security Act to regulate the scheme. The functions of the board and the director are outlined in the relevant act and regulations.

Generally, control and management of the fund are entrusted to the Board. The Director, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the department, is responsible for determining matters such as the right to benefit, and for the day-to-day management of the office.”

There is no reference to who the current Board members are.

49. @abajanhowe April 5, 2017 at 9:21 AM

In the real world, cabinet ministers, federal judges and high bureaucrats work from 8 AM to 8 PM and this from Mo to Sat. In Barbados, the figure in my favourite car MP54 drives at 9 AM to work and comes back at 2.30 PM. He is nearly as brilliant as the figure in MP68 who desired a BMW X5 after he crawled out of the bushes of low life. Such figures have plenty of time to troll the internet after their TWENTY hour week.

Wake up, abajanhowe, this is Barbados 😉